DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species in Figs. 3-4, claims 37-38, 42-44, 49, and 65-70, in the reply filed on 10/14/2024 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the election requirement was unclear. Applicant responded to the election requirement correctly and there are no further issues regarding the election. The election of species shall be withdrawn when a linking claim is found allowable.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-38, 42, 44, and 65-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) in view of Chawla (US 20120175521 A1) and Federici (US 6815683 B2) and Boucourt (US PG Publication 2017/0195634 A1).
Regarding Claim 37, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses A movable body (airplane 900, Fig. 4, [0089]) comprising an imaging system (cameras 380 [0089]), an inspection object (people [0032]) using an aisle (any aisle in Fig. 4) of a common-use portion (any common use portion in Fig. 4, “G” or “L” region, spaces that appear to be emergency exits, partitions between cabins) of the movable body, and a plurality of cameras configured to capture an image of the inspection object (cameras 380, [0089], Fig. 4);
wherein the aisle is defined by walls (walls around the lavatory, “L”, and galley “G”, Fig. 4) and includes a first aisle extending in a first direction (aisle up and down airplane, Fig. 4), and a second aisle extending in a second direction (aisle across airplane, Fig. 4) and intersecting with the first aisle (the aisle across the airplane, e.g., at the center L, intersects with the aisles up and down the airplane, Fig. 4) at a connection portion (by definition, the area where the aisles connect is a “connection portion”) such that the walls include at least two corner portions (each of the G walls and the L walls have corners, Fig. 4) facing the connection portion (The G wall has a corner facing a connection portion and the L wall has a corner facing the connection portion, at the lavatory in the coach section of the airplane, Fig. 4).
Sasson does not disclose, but Chawla (US 20120175521 A1) teaches an imaging system ( plurality of elements comprising emitters 101 and detectors 276 may be arranged in a rectangular grid), the imaging system including a plurality of illumination sources ( plurality of elements comprising emitters 101 and detectors 276 may be arranged in a rectangular grid [0031]) configured to irradiate, with a terahertz wave (Terahertz emitter [0030]), an inspection object (human [0031]), and a plurality of cameras (detectors 276 may be arranged in a rectangular grid [0031]) having optical axes facing directions different from each other (Hundreds of apertures may be needed to cover the entire wall, floor and ceiling surface of the portal [0025], Fig. 2; with the apertures—each having a Thz emitter and camera—covering the floor and ceiling and pointed at the human subject, the axes of each apertures and each camera is different from the other apertures and cameras; see, e.g., the portal arrangement in Fig. 4) and configured to capture an image formed of the reflected terahertz wave (The image reflected from the lens will be sent to an image capturing device 216 [0025], Fig. 2) from the inspection object irradiated with the terahertz wave by the plurality of illumination sources (obtaining the explosive spectrum from both sides of the human body [0031]);
illumination sources at each of the at least two [] portions (the emitter/detector 101/276 units may be arranged in a rectangular grid contained in both the opposite walls 502/504 of the portal booth 500 [0036]).
Sasson does not disclose, but Federici (US 6815683 B2) teaches wherein the number of the plurality of illumination sources is larger than the number of the plurality of cameras (Fig. 1, there are a number of sources to one imaging array);
wherein the plurality of illumination sources (ThZ sources 10, Fig. 1) are concentrated in each of the at least [] corner portions (at the front left corner of the portal, Fig. 1), and are superimposed vertically (ThZ sources 10 are vertically arranged, Fig. 1) at each of the at least [] corner portions (at the front left corner of the gate, Fig. 1).
Sasson does not disclose, but Boucourt (US PG Publication 2017/0195634 A1) teaches wherein the plurality of cameras includes a first camera arranged over the first aisle and a second camera arranged over the second aisle (first, second, and third cameras around the zone of interest monitoring traffic around the cockpit, lateral access door, and transverse aisle, [0005]-[0012]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to install the terahertz threat detection system of Chawla to supplement the threat detection system of Sasson on-board the aircraft because Chawla teaches that the terahertz frequency can detect explosive and other dangerous substances, which Sasson cannot detect [0008], improving the safety of everyone onboard the airplane.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to reduce the number of detectors in Chawla by using the detector of Federici because Federici teaches that it can generate a wide field of view image with high resolution and image multiple sourcs of radiation simultaneously (Column 3 lines 30-50), improving region of interest detection and resulting in a more effective threat detection system.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to install cameras around the zone of interest of Sasson as described by Boucourt because Boucourt teaches that it was conventional practice to install cameras around the entrance to the airplane and the cockpit to prevent terrorists from taking over the airplane [0003].
Regarding Claim 38, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses the movable body according to claim 37, wherein the aisle includes a deck (note, “deck” is defined in the specification as n aisle partitioned by a door, Spec. at [0047]; “main deck” Fig. 5, other aisles that are partitioned, e.g., at row 29/27, 15/6, Fig. 4), and the plurality of cameras include a camera configured to capture the inspection object using the deck (cameras 380 in Fig. 5; cameras around rows 29/27/25/6, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 42, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses the movable body according to claim 37, the plurality of cameras include a camera configured to capture the inspection object passing through the connecting portion between the first aisle and the second aisle (cameras 380 at aisles at rows 29/27/15/6/1, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 43, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses the movable body according to claim 42, wherein the imaging system further comprises a visible light camera that captures an image of the inspection object to track the inspection object (detecting suspicious patterns [0086]).
Regarding Claim 49, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses the movable body according to claim 37.
Sasson does not disclose, but Chawla (US 20120175521 A1) teaches the plurality of illumination sources irradiate the inspection object passing through the connecting portion with the terahertz wave, and the plurality of cameras capture the inspection object irradiated with the terahertz wave (the vertical columns of the grid may be parallel to the height of the subject; located on the opposite walls of a booth or chamber for obtaining the explosive spectrum from both sides of the human body [0031]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to install the terahertz threat detection system of Chawla to supplement the threat detection system of Sasson on-board the aircraft because Chawla teaches that the terahertz frequency can detect explosive and other dangerous substances, which Sasson cannot detect [0008], improving the safety of everyone onboard the airplane.
Regarding Claim 65, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses the movable body according to claim 37, wherein the imaging system is arranged at a position where the inspection object moving in the movable body is rectified (“rectified” means where passengers are lined-up or enqueued, Spec at [0053]; cameras 380 covering the aisles of the airplane 900 capture images where the passengers are “rectified--” it is well-known that airplane aisle are so narrow that passengers are lined-up, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 66, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses the movable body according to claim 37, wherein the imaging system is arranged at a position where the inspection object moving in the movable body makes a direction change (there is a camera 380 at the entrance of the plane, where passengers must make an L-shaped turn to get to their seats, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 67, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses the movable body according to claim 37, wherein the imaging system is arranged at a position where the inspection object moving in the movable body decelerates or stops (there is a camera 380 at the entrance of the plane, where passengers must make an L-shaped turn to get to their seats, Fig. 4; there is also an inspection system near the bathroom [0036]).
Regarding Claim 68, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses the movable body according to claim 37, wherein the imaging system is arranged at a position where the inspection object moving in the movable body rotates (there is a camera 380 at the entrance of the plane, where passengers must make an L-shaped turn to get to their seats, Fig. 4; there is also an inspection system near the bathroom [0036]).
Regarding Claim 69, Sasson (US 20100253781 A1) discloses the movable body according to claim 37.
Sasson does not disclose, but Federici (US 6815683 B2) teaches wherein no illumination sources are arranged on the wall other than the at least [] corner portions (ThZ sources at the front left corner of the portal, Fig. 1).
Although Federici does not explicitly teach sources at two corner portions, installing sources at two corner portions is obvious because duplicating Federici’s arrangement for the purpose of capturing either a second target or the target from a second direction is obvious because it is a replication of an existing system.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to reduce the number of detectors in Chawla by using the detector of Federici because Federici teaches that it can generate a wide field of view image with high resolution and image multiple sourcs of radiation simultaneously (Column 3 lines 30-50), improving region of interest detection and resulting in a more effective threat detection system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 7/30/2025 have been considered but are unpersuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of references does not teach the amended limitations of the aisles, walls, lights at the corners, and cameras on the aisle. However, each of the references teaches some of these features. Sasson teaches the aisles, the walls, and the corners. Most people who have traveled by airplane would know that airplanes have aisles, walls, and corners. Federici depicts emitters vertically arranged at a corner of the gate/portal; and Chawla describes emitters/detectors on opposing sides. Although no reference explicitly discloses cameras over the aisles, this feature is both obvious and also shown by a new reference incorporated into this office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200249156 A1
US 20070235658 A1
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485