DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 12-19 in the reply filed on 3/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/5/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (Highly sensitive, reliable and flexible piezoresistive pressure sensors featuring polyurethane sponge coated with MXene sheets, J. of Colloid and Interface Science, 542 (2019), pp. 54-62).
Regarding claims 12-14
Li discloses a pressure sensor comprising a polyurethane sponge (i.e., substrate) dip coated in Ti3C2Tx MXene sheets (abstract).
Li discloses that the polyurethane sponge has microchannels (see Figure 3).
Li discloses that the neat polyurethane sponge is fabricated by two dip coatings (i.e. a multiplicity of at least two film layers will be formed) (3.2 Pressure-sensing mechanisms, first paragraph).
Li discloses that the Tx stands for the surface functions groups OH, O and F (Introduction, third paragraph).
Regarding claims 15-16
The electrical resistance and conductivity with a change in pressure or shape is a property of the composition, and when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 17
Li discloses that the PU substrate coated with the MXene film layers is about 2 cm, or 20 mm (Figure 3(a)).
Regarding claim 19
Li discloses that the MXene sheets have an average thickness of 1.8 nm and with large lateral sizes up to several microns (3.1. Structural and morphological characteristics, first paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (Highly sensitive, reliable and flexible piezoresistive pressure sensors featuring polyurethane sponge coated with MXene sheets, J. of Colloid and Interface Science, 542 (2019, pp. 54-62), as applied to claims 12-17 and 19 above, in view of Shi et al. (CN-111592626-A).
Regarding claim 18
Although Li does not disclose the claimed substrate material, Li does disclose the other limitations of the claim. However, Shi discloses that MXenes can be added to polyethylene glycol diacrylate as a substrate (abstract). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Li by using polyethylene glycol diacrylate as the polymer substrate, with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by Shi.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734