DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-17 and 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (Highly sensitive, reliable and flexible piezoresistive pressure sensors featuring polyurethane sponge coated with MXene sheets, J. of Colloid and Interface Science, 542 (2019), pp. 54-62).
Regarding claims 12-14 and 24
Li discloses a pressure sensor comprising a polyurethane sponge (i.e., substrate) dip coated in Ti3C2Tx Mxene sheets (i.e., flakes) (abstract).
Li discloses that the polyurethane sponge has a plurality microchannels formed on the exterior surface of the substrate (i.e., micropores) (see Figure 3).
Li discloses that the neat polyurethane sponge is fabricated by two dip coatings (i.e. a multiplicity of at least two film layers will be formed) (3.2 Pressure-sensing mechanisms, first paragraph), which produce Mxene film layers in each of the plurality of microchannels.
Li discloses that the Tx stands for the surface functions groups OH, O and F (Introduction, third paragraph).
Regarding claims 15-16
The electrical resistance and conductivity with a change in pressure or shape is a property of the composition, and when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 17
Li discloses that the PU substrate coated with the Mxene film layers is about 2 cm, or 20 mm (Figure 3(a)).
Regarding claim 19
Li discloses that the Mxene sheets have an average thickness of 1.8 nm and with large lateral sizes up to several microns (3.1. Structural and morphological characteristics, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 20
Based on the methods used in Li, and the fact that the Mxene layers are sheets, they would be expected to stack face-to-face and edge-to-edge, and not face-to-edge. Further, this is expected to have the layers parallelly deposited and anisotropically aligned.
Regarding claims 21 and 25-26
The micropores of Li read on microchannels, given the broadest reasonable interpretation of what a microchannel is. Further, adjacent micropores could be also described as curved parallel microchannels.
Regarding claim 22
When looking at Figure 3€ we can see 3 micropores that are connected and equally spaced apart.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (Highly sensitive, reliable and flexible piezoresistive pressure sensors featuring polyurethane sponge coated with Mxene sheets, J. of Colloid and Interface Science, 542 (2019, pp. 54-62), as applied to claims 12-17 and 19 above, in view of Shi et al. (CN-111592626-A).
Regarding claim 18
Although Li does not disclose the claimed substrate material, Li does disclose the other limitations of the claim. However, Shi discloses that Mxenes can be added to polyethylene glycol diacrylate as a substrate (abstract). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Li by using polyethylene glycol diacrylate as the polymer substrate, with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by Shi.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that Li does not teach or suggest microchannels but instead teaches a porous structure. This is not persuasive as the porous structure is a plurality of microchannels when given the broadest reasonable definition of microchannel.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734