Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument: On Page 2 of Remarks, the Applicant argues that ZTE fails to teach the amended claim 20 as it recites “in response to receiving the first message, release the F1 connect to CU of the source IAB donor node” because ZTE does not describe the release of F1 occurs directly in response to the first message. ZTE describes a multi-step handover procedure in which signaling between both source and target donor CU is required before the release of F1 occurs. Similarly, On page 3 of Remarks, the Applicant argues that ZTE in view of Lou does not teach the amended claim 1 and 11 due to same reasoning because ZTE in view of Lou fails to teach the direct release of F1 connection in response to receiving of first message.
Examiner’s response: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the Applicant clearly explains the difference between the direct and indirect release of F1 in response to the receipt of first message, the claims language do not explain the direct release or the single step of releasing F1 connection in response to receiving of first message. The added statement “in response to receiving the first message,” alone does not teach the direct release of F1 connection. Thus, the following rejection still applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by "Discussion on Inter-Donor
IAB Node Migration Procedure", ZTE, Sanechips, 3GPP DRAFT; R3-206559, November 2-12, 2020, 11
pages “hereafter ZTE.”
Regarding claim 20, A communication system, wherein the communication system comprises comprising a source integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor node (ZTE, Fig. 1,S- donor CU) and an IAB node (ZTE, Fig. 1, descendant/child IAB nodes);
wherein the source IAB donor node is configured to: determine a first message, wherein the first message indicates that a central unit (CU) of an IAB donor node connected to an IAB node changes;
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually.
ZTE, page 3, Step 4: Target donor CU initiates UE context setup procedure for migrating IAB-MT with
target parent node.
ZTE, page 3, Step 5: Target donor CU sends handover request ACK message for migrating IAB-MT,
migrating IAB-DU, each child/descendant IAB-MT/DU and UE separately to source donor CU. And
RRC Reconfiguration message (first message) generated by target donor CU is contained in the
handover request ACK message.
Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with target donor CU
using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message (the first message including IP
address indicates that a central unit (CU) of an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes).
These messages could be initiated in parallel in order to reduce service interruption time.
and send the first message to the IAB node, to release an F1 connection between the IAB node and a CU of the source IAB donor node,
ZTE, page 3, Step 8: After receiving RRC Reconfiguration messages from source donor CU ( sending the
first message to IAB node), descendant nodes and UEs performs reconfiguration. However, since them
serving cells are not actually changed, random access procedure could be skipped to accelerate the
migration procedure. Descendant IAB nodes and UEs could perform the RRC reconfiguration and
descendant IAB-DU could release Fl-C connection with source donor CU after receiving RRC
reconfiguration message.
wherein the source IAB donor node is an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node before the CU of the IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes;
ZTE, page 3, Step 5. Target donor CU sends handover request ACK message for migrating IAB-MT,
migrating IAB-DU, each child/descendant IAB-MT/DU and UE separately to source donor CU. And
RRC Reconfiguration message (first message) generated by target donor CU is contained in the
handover request ACK message.
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually. RRC reconfiguration messages for descendant IAB nodes and UEs could be sent
via source path in parallel. (is an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node the CU of the IAB donor
node connected to the IAB node changes= before step 13 as explained below)
ZTE, page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message (the CU of the IAB
donor node connected to the IAB node changes= once connected to the target node, the CU of the IAB
donor node changes) . These messages could be initiated in parallel in order to reduce service
interruption time.
wherein the IAB node is configured to: receive the first message from the source IAB donor node;
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually.
and in response to receiving the first message, release the F1 connection to the CU of the source IAB donor node according to the first message.
ZTE, page 3, Step 8: After receiving RRC Reconfiguration messages (first message) from source donor
CU, descendant nodes and UEs performs reconfiguration. However, since their serving cells are not
actually changed, random access procedure could be skipped to accelerate the migration procedure.
Descendant IAB nodes and UEs could perform the RRC reconfiguration and descendant IAB-DU could
release Fl-C connection with source donor CU after receiving RRC reconfiguration message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11- 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE in view of Luo et al. (US 2022/0322464 A1) (hereafter “Luo”).
Regarding claim 1, A communication apparatus, which is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node or included in the IAB node (ZTE, Fig. 1, descendant/child IAB nodes), wherein the apparatus to perform operations, comprising: receiving a first message from a source IAB donor node, wherein the first message indicates that a central unit (CU) of an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes;
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually.
ZTE, page 3, Step 4: Target donor CU initiates UE context setup procedure for migrating IAB-MT with
target parent node.
ZTE, page 3, Step 5: Target donor CU sends handover request ACK message for migrating IAB-MT,
migrating IAB-DU, each child/descendant IAB-MT/DU and UE separately to source donor CU. And
RRC Reconfiguration message (first message) generated by target donor CU is contained in the
handover request ACK message.
Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with target donor CU
using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message (the first message including IP
address indicates that a central unit (CU) of an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes).
These messages could be initiated in parallel in order to reduce service interruption time.
And in response to receiving the first message, releasing an F1 connection to a CU of the source IAB donor node,
ZTE, page 3, Step 8: After receiving RRC Reconfiguration messages from source donor CU, descendant
nodes and UEs performs reconfiguration. However, since their serving cells are not actually changed,
random access procedure could be skipped to accelerate the migration procedure. Descendant IAB
nodes and UEs could perform the RRC reconfiguration and descendant IAB-DU could release Fl-C
connection with source donor CU after receiving RRC reconfiguration message.
wherein the source IAB donor node is an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node before the CU of the IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes.
ZTE, page 3, Step 5. Target donor CU sends handover request ACK message for migrating IAB-MT,
migrating IAB-DU, each child/descendant IAB-MT/DU and UE separately to source donor CU. And
RRC Reconfiguration message (first message) generated by target donor CU is contained in the
handover request ACK message.
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually. RRC reconfiguration messages for descendant IAB nodes and UEs could be sent
via source path in parallel. (is an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node the CU of the IAB donor
node connected to the IAB node changes= before step 13 as explained below)
ZTE, page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message (the CU of the IAB
donor node connected to the IAB node changes= once connected to the target node, the CU of the IAB
donor node changes) . These messages could be initiated in parallel in order to reduce service
interruption time.
ZTE does not teach a processor, wherein the processor is coupled to a memory
configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to execute the computer program
a processor.
Luo teaches wherein the processor ( Luo, Fig. 11, Ref. 1104) is coupled to a memory (Luo, Fig. 11, Ref 1103)
configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to execute the computer program Luo, Fig. 11 [0174]; The memory 1103 is configured to store instructions. The processor 1104 is configured to read the instructions to execute the technical solutions of the above-described method embodiments applied to the IAB node.
In view of Luo, ZTE is modified such that the device has a processor and a memory attached to it.
ZTE and Lou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
handover connectivity between IAB nodes.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify ZTE in view of Lou in the manner described above to incorporate the memory and
processor into the system to perform the handover process between the IAB nodes.
Regarding claim 2, The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first message comprises first information, and the first information indicates that the CU of the IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes or inter-donor CU handover occurs.
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually.
ZTE, page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU (the IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes) using the IP addresses (first
information indicating the change) received via RRC Reconfiguration message (first message )
Regarding claim 3, The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first message is an F1 application protocol (FlAP) message. (ZTE, Page 6, [0004]; One potential solution is
that the FIAP message including RRC Reconfiguration (first message) or the child IAB-MT be delivered from source donor CU via target path through target donor CU, which is similar as Fl-C via LTE leg solution specified in Rl6 IAB)
Regarding claim 4, The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein receiving the first message from the source IAB donor node further comprises: receiving the first message from the source IAB donor node through a target IAB donor node,
ZTE, Page 6, [0004]; One potential solution is that the FIAP message including RRC Reconfiguration (first message) or the child IAB-MT be delivered from source donor CU via target path through target donor CU, which is similar as Fl-C via LTE leg solution specified in Rl6 IAB)
wherein the target IAB donor node is an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node after the CU of the IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes.
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually.
ZTE, page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message
Regarding claim 5, The communication apparatus according to claim 4, wherein receiving the first message from the source IAB donor node through the target IAB donor node further comprises:
and receiving the first message from the source IAB donor node through the target IAB donor node.
ZTE, Page 6, [0004]; One potential solution is that the FIAP message including RRC Reconfiguration (first message) or the child IAB-MT be delivered from source donor CU via target path through target donor CU, which is similar as Fl-C via LTE leg solution specified in Rl6 IAB)
ZTE does not teach setting up a first transport network layer (TNL) association with the source IAB donor node based on an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node;
Luo teaches setting up a first transport network layer (TNL) association with the source IAB donor node based on an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node.
Luo [0110]; In this embodiment, the IAB-node 3 is a child node of the IAB-node 1. For the downstream IAB node (that is, IAB-node 3), although the parent IAB-node of the downstream IAB node, that is, IAB-node 1, has not changed, the donor CU has changed. Therefore, the IAB-node 3 needs to be notified that the donor CU has changed. Moreover, in order to establish a new F1 connection, the IAB-node 3 (IAB node 3= IAB node= descendant node) needs to obtain the IP address of the target donor CU (based on an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node), which is because a gNB-DU needs to establish a transport network layer (TNL) connection of the gNB-DU before an F1 setup request message is sent to the gNB-DU and the IP address needs to be obtained to establish the TNL connection (setting up a first transport network layer (TNL) association with the source IAB donor node). This embodiment provides the following manners for the downlink IAB node to obtain the IP address of the target donor CU.
In view of Luo, ZTE is modified such that the first transport network layer (TNL) is set up in association with the source IAB donor node based on an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node.
ZTE and Lou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
handover connectivity between IAB nodes.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify ZTE in view of Lou in the manner described above set up the first TNL based on the IP
address allocated by the target IAB node to explain the connection establishment method during the
handover (Lou [0046]);
Regarding claim 6, The communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first message further comprises second information, and the second information comprises an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node and/or an identifier of the CU of the source IAB donor node.
ZTE, Page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU (IAB node) shall establish Fl
connection with target donor CU using the IP addresses (IP address allocated by the source IAB to the
IAB) received via RRC Reconfiguration message (First message).
Regarding claim 7, The communication apparatus according to claim 4, wherein receiving the first message from the source IAB donor node through the target IAB donor node further comprises:
setting up a second TNL association with the source IAB donor node based on an IP address allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node;
ZTE, Page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message (IP address
allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node).
ZTE, Page 4, Step 14. After migrating IAB-DU or descendant IAB-DU established Fl-C connection with
target donor CU successfully, target donor CU could initiate Fl-U migration procedure to update the corresponding FIAP ID, TNL addresses (setting up the first TNL association), and GTP TEID of Fl-U GTP tunnel. In addition, routing and traffic mapping configuration could also be reconfigured by target donor CU via Fl message in this step. ln order to reduce service interruption time, the FlAP configurations information could be sent from target donor CU to JAB-DU at an earlier stage, e.g. via RRC Reconfiguration message. For example, JAB-DU cell's new NCGJ, routing and traffic mapping
information configured by target donor CU could be sent by target donor CU to source donor CU
during handover preparation phase.
and receiving the first message from the source IAB donor node through the target IAB donor node based on the second TNL association.
ZTE, Page 6, [0004]; One potential solution is that the FIAP message including RRC Reconfiguration (first message) or the child IAB-MT be delivered from source donor CU via target path through target donor CU, which is similar as Fl-C via LTE leg solution specified in Rl6 IAB)
ZTE, page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC
Reconfiguration message (receiving the first message from the source IAB).
ZTE, page 4, Step 14. After migrating IAB-DU or descendant IAB-DU established Fl-C connection with
target donor CU successfully, target donor CU could initiate Fl-U migration procedure (the procedure
occurs after IABA donor receives the first message) to update the corresponding
FIAP ID, TNL addresses (Updated TNL= based on second TNL association), and GTP TEID of Fl-U GTP
tunnel. In addition, routing and traffic mapping configuration could also be reconfigured by target
donor CU via Fl message in this step. ln order to reduce service interruption time, the FlAP
configurations information could be sent from target donor CU to JAB-DU at an earlier stage, e.g. via
RRC Reconfiguration message. For example, JAB-DU cell's new NCGJ, routing and traffic mapping
information configured by target donor CU could be sent by target donor CU to source donor CU
during handover preparation phase.
Regarding claim 8, The communication apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the first message comprises an outer IP header,
ZTE, Page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU (IAB node) shall establish Fl
connection with target donor CU using the IP addresses (IP address corresponds to the source IAB=
outer IP header) received via RRC Reconfiguration message (Fist message).
and an IP address of the IAB node comprised in the outer IP header corresponds to the source IAB donor node.
ZTE, Page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU (IAB node) shall establish Fl
connection with target donor CU using the IP addresses ( IP address of the IAB node comprised in the
outer IP header corresponds to the source IAB donor node) received via RRC Reconfiguration
message.
ZTE does not teach an inner IP header, an IP address of the IAB node comprised in the inner IP header corresponds to the target IAB donor node.
Luo teaches an inner IP header, an IP address of the IAB node comprised in the inner IP header corresponds to the target IAB donor node.
Luo [0116]; Then, the downstream IAB-node (for example, IAB-node 3 in this embodiment) may look up the above-mentioned mapping table, obtain the IP address of the target donor CU (an inner IP= an IP address of the IAB node comprised in IP header corresponds to the target IABA donor), establish a TNL connection with the target donor CU, and then initiate an F1 connection establishment procedure to the target donor CU.
In view of Luo, ZTE is modified such that IP address including inner IP header corresponds to the target IAB donor.
ZTE and Lou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
handover connectivity between IAB nodes.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify ZTE in view of Lou in the manner described above to describe the target IAB donor mode
more specifically by explaining the inner IP header to explain more details about the connection
establishment method during the handover (Lou [0046]);
Regarding claim 11, A communication apparatus, which is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node or included in the IAB node, wherein the apparatus to perform operations, comprising: determining a first message wherein the first message indicates that a central unit (CU) of an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes;
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages (determining first
message) to descendant IAB nodes and UEs individually.
ZTE, page 3, Step 4: Target donor CU initiates UE context setup procedure for migrating IAB-MT with
target parent node.
ZTE, page 3, Step 5: Target donor CU sends handover request ACK message for migrating IAB-MT,
migrating IAB-DU, each child/descendant IAB-MT/DU and UE separately to source donor CU. And
RRC Reconfiguration message (first message) generated by target donor CU is contained in the
handover request ACK message.
Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with target donor CU
using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message (the first message including IP
address indicates that a central unit (CU) of an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes).
These messages could be initiated in parallel in order to reduce service interruption time.
and sending the first message to the IAB node, the first message being configured to cause the IAB node, in response to receiving the first message, to releasing an F1 connection to a CU of the source IAB donor node according to the first message,
ZTE, page 3, Step 8: After receiving RRC Reconfiguration messages from source donor CU ( sending the
first message to IAB node), descendant nodes and UEs performs reconfiguration. However, since them
serving cells are not actually changed, random access procedure could be skipped to accelerate the
migration procedure. Descendant IAB nodes and UEs could perform the RRC reconfiguration and
descendant IAB-DU could release Fl-C connection with source donor CU after receiving RRC
reconfiguration message (in response to receiving the first message, to releasing an F1 connection to a
CU of the source IAB donor node according to the first message).
wherein the source IAB donor node is an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node before the CU of the IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes.
ZTE, page 3, Step 5. Target donor CU sends handover request ACK message for migrating IAB-MT,
migrating IAB-DU, each child/descendant IAB-MT/DU and UE separately to source donor CU. And
RRC Reconfiguration message (first message) generated by target donor CU is contained in the
handover request ACK message.
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually. RRC reconfiguration messages for descendant IAB nodes and UEs could be sent
via source path in parallel. (is an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node the CU of the IAB donor
node connected to the IAB node changes= before step 13 as explained below)
ZTE, page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message (the CU of the IAB
donor node connected to the IAB node changes= once connected to the target node, the CU of the IAB
donor node changes) . These messages could be initiated in parallel in order to reduce service
interruption time.
ZTE does not teach a processor, wherein the processor is coupled to a memory
configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to execute the computer program
a processor.
Luo teaches wherein the processor ( Luo, Fig. 11, Ref. 1104) is coupled to a memory (Luo, Fig. 11, Ref 1103)
configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to execute the computer program Luo, Fig. 11 [0174]; The memory 1103 is configured to store instructions. The processor 1104 is configured to read the instructions to execute the technical solutions of the above-described method embodiments applied to the IAB node.
In view of Luo, ZTE is modified such that the device has a processor and a memory attached to it.
ZTE and Lou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
handover connectivity between IAB nodes.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify ZTE in view of Lou in the manner described above to incorporate the memory and
processor into the system to perform the handover process between the IAB nodes.
Regarding claim 12, The communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first message comprises first information, and the first information indicates that the CU of the IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes or inter-donor CU handover occurs.
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually.
ZTE, page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU (the IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes) using the IP addresses (first
information indicating the change) received via RRC Reconfiguration message (first message )
Regarding claim 13, The communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first message is an F1 application protocol (FlAP) message. (ZTE, Page 6, [0004]; One potential solution is
that the FIAP message including RRC Reconfiguration (first message) or the child IAB-MT be delivered from source donor CU via target path through target donor CU, which is similar as Fl-C via LTE leg solution specified in Rl6 IAB)
Regarding claim 14, The communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein receiving the first message from the source IAB donor node further comprises: receiving the first message from the source IAB donor node through a target IAB donor node,
ZTE, Page 6, [0004]; One potential solution is that the FIAP message including RRC Reconfiguration (first message) or the child IAB-MT be delivered from source donor CU via target path through target donor CU, which is similar as Fl-C via LTE leg solution specified in Rl6 IAB)
wherein the target IAB donor node is an IAB donor node connected to the IAB node after the CU of the IAB donor node connected to the IAB node changes.
ZTE, page 3, Step 6-7: Source donor CU sends RRC reconfiguration messages to descendant IAB nodes
and UEs individually.
ZTE, page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message
Regarding claim 15, The communication apparatus according to claim14, wherein sending the first message from the source IAB donor node through the target IAB donor node further comprises:
and sending the first message to the IAB node through the target IAB donor node.
ZTE, Page 6, [0004]; One potential solution is that the FIAP message including RRC Reconfiguration (first message) or the child IAB-MT be delivered from source donor CU via target path through target donor CU, which is similar as Fl-C via LTE leg solution specified in Rl6 IAB)
ZTE does not teach setting up a first transport network layer (TNL) association with the IAB node based on an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node;
Luo teaches setting up a first transport network layer (TNL) association with the source IAB donor node based on an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node.
Luo [0110]; In this embodiment, the IAB-node 3 is a child node of the IAB-node 1. For the downstream IAB node (that is, IAB-node 3), although the parent IAB-node of the downstream IAB node, that is, IAB-node 1, has not changed, the donor CU has changed. Therefore, the IAB-node 3 needs to be notified that the donor CU has changed. Moreover, in order to establish a new F1 connection, the IAB-node 3 (IAB node 3= IAB node= descendant node) needs to obtain the IP address of the target donor CU (based on an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node), which is because a gNB-DU needs to establish a transport network layer (TNL) connection of the gNB-DU before an F1 setup request message is sent to the gNB-DU and the IP address needs to be obtained to establish the TNL connection (setting up a first transport network layer (TNL) association with the source IAB donor node). This embodiment provides the following manners for the downlink IAB node to obtain the IP address of the target donor CU.
In view of Luo, ZTE is modified such that the first transport network layer (TNL) is set up in association with the source IAB donor node based on an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node.
ZTE and Lou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
handover connectivity between IAB nodes.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify ZTE in view of Lou in the manner described above set up the first TNL based on the IP
address allocated by the target IAB node to explain the connection establishment method during the
handover (Lou [0046];
Regarding claim 16, The communication apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first message further comprises second information, and the second information comprises an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node and/or an identifier of the CU of the source IAB donor node.
ZTE, Page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU (IAB node) shall establish Fl
connection with target donor CU using the IP addresses (IP address allocated by the source IAB to the
IAB) received via RRC Reconfiguration message (First message).
Regarding claim 17, The communication apparatus according to claim 14, wherein sending the first message from the source IAB donor node through the target IAB donor node further comprises:
setting up a second TNL association with the IAB node wherein the second TNL association corresponds to an IP address allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node;
ZTE, Page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message (IP address
allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node).
ZTE, Page 4, Step 14. After migrating IAB-DU or descendant IAB-DU established Fl-C connection with
target donor CU successfully, target donor CU could initiate Fl-U migration procedure to update the corresponding FIAP ID, TNL addresses (setting up the first TNL association), and GTP TEID of Fl-U GTP tunnel. In addition, routing and traffic mapping configuration could also be reconfigured by target donor CU via Fl message in this step. ln order to reduce service interruption time, the FlAP configurations information could be sent from target donor CU to JAB-DU at an earlier stage, e.g. via RRC Reconfiguration message. For example, JAB-DU cell's new NCGJ, routing and traffic mapping
information configured by target donor CU could be sent by target donor CU to source donor CU
during handover preparation phase.
and sending the first message from the source IAB donor node through the target IAB donor node based on the second TNL association.
ZTE, Page 6, [0004]; One potential solution is that the FIAP message including RRC Reconfiguration (first message) or the child IAB-MT be delivered from source donor CU (sending) via target path through target donor CU, which is similar as Fl-C via LTE leg solution specified in Rl6 IAB)
ZTE, page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection with
target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC
Reconfiguration message (the source IAB sending the first message from).
ZTE, page 4, Step 14. After migrating IAB-DU or descendant IAB-DU established Fl-C connection with
target donor CU successfully, target donor CU could initiate Fl-U migration procedure (the procedure
occurs after IABA donor receives the first message) to update the corresponding
FIAP ID, TNL addresses (Updated TNL= based on second TNL association), and GTP TEID of Fl-U GTP
tunnel. In addition, routing and traffic mapping configuration could also be reconfigured by target
donor CU via Fl message in this step. ln order to reduce service interruption time, the FlAP
configurations information could be sent from target donor CU to JAB-DU at an earlier stage, e.g. via
RRC Reconfiguration message. For example, JAB-DU cell's new NCGJ, routing and traffic mapping
information configured by target donor CU could be sent by target donor CU to source donor CU
during handover preparation phase.
Regarding claim 19, The communication apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the first message comprises an outer IP header,
ZTE, Page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU (IAB node) shall establish Fl
connection with target donor CU using the IP addresses (IP address corresponds to the source IAB=
outer IP header) received via RRC Reconfiguration message (Fist message).
and an IP address of the IAB node comprised in the outer IP header corresponds to the source IAB donor node.
ZTE, Page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU (IAB node) shall establish Fl
connection with target donor CU using the IP addresses ( IP address of the IAB node comprised in the
outer IP header corresponds to the source IAB donor node) received via RRC Reconfiguration
message.
ZTE does not teach an inner IP header, an IP address of the IAB node comprised in the inner IP header corresponds to the target IAB donor node.
Luo teaches an inner IP header, an IP address of the IAB node comprised in the inner IP header corresponds to the target IAB donor node.
Luo [0116]; Then, the downstream IAB-node (for example, IAB-node 3 in this embodiment) may look up the above-mentioned mapping table, obtain the IP address of the target donor CU (an inner IP= an IP address of the IAB node comprised in IP header corresponds to the target IABA donor), establish a TNL connection with the target donor CU, and then initiate an F1 connection establishment procedure to the target donor CU.
In view of Luo, ZTE is modified such that IP address including inner IP header corresponds to the target IAB donor.
ZTE and Lou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
handover connectivity between IAB nodes.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify ZTE in view of Lou in the manner described above to describe the target IAB donor mode
more specifically by explaining the inner IP header to explain more details about the connection
establishment method during the handover (Lou [0046]);
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE in view of Luo in further view of Wang et al. (US 2019/0313244 A1)(hereafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 9, The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein releasing the F1 connection to the CU of the source IAB donor node according to the first message further comprises:
and releasing the F1 connection to the CU of the source IAB donor node;
ZTE, page 3, Step 8: After receiving RRC Reconfiguration messages from source donor CU, descendant
nodes and UEs performs reconfiguration. However, since their serving cells are not actually changed,
random access procedure could be skipped to accelerate the migration procedure. Descendant IAB
nodes and UEs could perform the RRC reconfiguration and descendant IAB-DU could release Fl-C
connection with source donor CU after receiving RRC reconfiguration message.
ZTE in view of Luo does not teach starting a timer; and releasing the F1 connection after the timer expires.
Wang teaches starting a timer;
Wang, Fig. 20 [0502] S330; The network node sets a timer
and releasing the F1 connection after the timer expires.
Wang, Fig. 20 [0517]; For example, if the timer expires, the CU-CP instructs, via the F1 interface, the DU to release a UE context and release an F1 connection. The CU-CP instructs, via an E1 interface, a CU-UP to release a UE context and release an Ng-U interface connection, an F1 interface connection, and an E1 interface connection.
In view of Wang, ZTE in view of Lou is modified such that the releasing of F1 connection occurs after the timer expires.
ZTE in view of Luo and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, handover connectivity between IAB nodes.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify ZTE in view of Lou in the manner described above to help measure the time of F1
connection by including the timer in 3GPP technology to instruct the node release the connection after a
period of time (Wang [0056]).
Regarding claim 10, The communication apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the first message further comprises is an F1 application protocol (FlAP) message. (ZTE, Page 6, [0004]; One potential solution is that the FIAP message including RRC Reconfiguration (first message) or the child IAB-MT be delivered from source donor CU via target path through target donor CU, which is similar as Fl-C via LTE leg solution specified in Rl6 IAB)
ZTE does not teach information about duration of the timer.
Wang teaches information about duration of the timer.
Wang, Fig. 20 [0517]; For example, if the timer expires, the CU-CP instructs, via the F1 interface, the DU to release a UE context and release an F1 connection. The CU-CP instructs, via an E1 interface, a CU-UP to release a UE context and release an Ng-U interface connection, an F1 interface connection, and an E1 interface connection.
In view of Wang, ZTE in view of Lou is modified such that the releasing of F1 connection occurs after the timer expires.
ZTE in view of Luo and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, handover connectivity between IAB nodes.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify ZTE in view of Lou in the manner described above to help measure the time of F1
connection by including the timer in 3GPP technology to instruct the node release the connection after a
period of time (Wang [0056]).
Claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE in view of Luo in further view of Xu et al. (US 2022/0166703 A1) (hereafter “Xu”).
Regarding claim 18, The communication apparatus according to claim 17, further comprising: sending,
to a CU of the target IAB donor node, the IP address allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB
node,
ZTE, Page 4, Step 13. Migrating IAB-DU and descendant IAB-DU shall establish Fl connection
with target donor CU using the IP addresses received via RRC Reconfiguration message (the IP address
allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node.)
ZTE in view of Lou does not teach determining a mapping relationship, wherein the mapping
relationship is a correspondence between the IP address allocated by the source IAB donor node to the
IAB node and a backhaul adaptation protocol BAP address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the
IAB node a mapping relationship, wherein the mapping relationship is a correspondence between the
address allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node and a backhaul adaptation protocol
BAP address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node.
Xu teaches wherein the address allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node is used for
determining a mapping relationship, determining a mapping relationship, wherein the mapping
relationship is a correspondence between the address allocated to the IAB node and a backhaul
adaptation protocol BAP address allocated to the IAB node a mapping relationship, wherein the
mapping relationship is a correspondence between the address allocated by the source IAB donor node
to the IAB node and a backhaul adaptation protocol BAP address allocated by the target IAB donor node
to the IAB node.
Xu [0027]; The apparatus may comprise means for: receiving, from a donor centralized unit control
plane, a request to configure a routing table for downlink traffic to the migrating node and optionally
at least one child node of the migrating node; and configuring the routing table based on the
addresses allocated to the migrating node and optionally the at least one child node of the migrating
node.
Xu [0028]; Configuring the routing table for downlink traffic to the migrating node and optionally the
at least one child node of the migrating node based on the addresses to the migrating node and
optionally the at least one child node of the migrating node may comprise: mapping the addresses
allocated to the migrating node (address allocated to the IAB node by the source is used for
determining a mapping relationship) and optionally the at least one child node of the migrating node
with respective downlink backhaul adaptation protocol
identifiers, wherein the downlink backhaul adaptation protocol identifiers comprise a backhaul
adaptation protocol identifier of the migrating node and optionally backhaul adaptation protocol
identifiers of the at least one child node of the migrating node; and activating the configured routing
table subsequent to the migrating node migrating from the source to the target.
Xu [0286]; The new UL BAP ID may be used as a target BAP ID (protocol BAP address allocated by the
target IAB donor node to the IAB node) when IAB11 send UL control data or user data.
In view of Xu, ZTE in view of Luo is modified such that there is a mapping relationship between the between the IP address allocated by the source IAB donor node to the IAB node and a backhaul adaptation protocol BAP address allocated by the target IAB donor node to the IAB node. .
ZTE in view of Lou and Xu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field
of endeavor, handover connectivity between IAB nodes.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify ZTE in view of Lou in the manner described above to incorporate a mapping relationship
between the source IP address allocated to the child node and BAP allocated by the target node
to facilitate the communication between two or more entities.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone number of 703-
756-1834.
Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.
uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478