Response to Arguments
As an initial matter, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn, as the amendments clarify the claimed subject matter and resolve the prior indefiniteness concerns.
Applicant's arguments filed on September 15, 2025 with respect to claim 1 and 3 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Claim 1, Applicant argues that Hao fails to teach “a difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource”, contending that Hao shows only a downlink split (DL-UL-DL) rather than a structure in which a downlink resource lies between two uplink resource (UL-DL-UL). This argument is not persuasive for the reasons below.
Huang teaches the UL-DL-UL topology: Huang discloses a sub-band full-duplex slot structure wherein a downlink subband is flanked by uplink subband on both sides (UL-DL-UL arrangement)(See Fig. 6, ¶[0067]). Thus, Huang provides the claimed arrangement of UL-DL-UL.
Hao provides the symmetric spacing feature recited in the claim: Hao teaches that, the lower and upper subbands are offset from the center frequency by equal frequency ranges, for example, the lower subband extends from center -50 MHz to center -10 MHz, while the upper subband extends from center + 10 MHz to center + 50 MHz (See Hao, e.g., ¶[0021]). These equal ± offsets establish that the difference between UL-DL and DL-UL frequency boundaries are equal, corresponding to the equality relationship recited previously in claim 2, now amended to claim 1.
Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections over Huang in view of Hao. Since dependent claims 3 and 21 depend therefrom, they remain rejected for at least the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 3, Applicant contends Huang does not disclose “wherein a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first uplink frequency domain resource is equal to a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the second uplink frequency domain resource”, asserting that Huang’s equations merely determine the location of frequency domain resources and that mirrored equation does not imply equal values between the first and second uplink subbands. Applicant further argues that Huang provides no explicit rationale for why the quantities (e.g., NSB2size and NSB1size) would be equal. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons below.
Huang in view of Hao teaches equal-sized subbands within a symmetric SBFD configuration: As shown in Huang (Fig. 6, ¶[0067]), the subband may be arranged in a UL-DL-UL configuration while Hao provides the symmetric spacing feature. Such symmetry requires the first and second uplink subband to occupy equal quantities of resource blocks (RBs).
The mirrored formula for Huang’s RB index equations demonstrates functional equivalence of the subbands: Huang defines resource indices for the first and second uplink hops using mirrored terms (RSB2Start + NSB2size vs RSB1Start + NSB1size). Although Applicant asserts that equal algebraic form does not mandate equal numeric values, Huang explicitly applies the same computational rule to both subbands, which implies that each subband is configured with equivalent size and offset parameters in the standard case to maintain spectral balance across the duplexed channels.
Functional motivation for equal subband sizing is provided by Huang: Huang discloses that SBFD architecture allows simultaneous UL/DL operation while improving uplink throughput (Huang, ¶[0032]) and that “partion(ing) the DL subband(s) and the UL subband(s) within the SB-FD slot 700 based on interference alignment (Huang, ¶[0068])” shows coordinated frequency domain spacing between uplink and downlink subbands. Achieving those benefits would have required symmetric UL bandwidth allocation to maintain balanced guard spacing on each side of the downlink subband. To maintain this alignment and consistent interference margins on both sides of the downlink subband, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it reasonable to configure the first and second uplink subbands with equal bandwidths, thereby preserving spectral symmetry around the downlink allocation. This alignment-based partitioning provides a motivation for equal UL resource quantities in Huang’s configuration.
Accordingly, even though Huang may not provide a separate explicit statement that NSB1size = NSB2size, the structural and mathematical symmetry of Huang’s UL-DL-UL SBFD yields equal resource block quantities in the first and second uplink frequency domain resources. Thus, claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections over Huang in view of Hao.
Regarding Claim 4-5, 9-10, 14-15 and 19-20, the Examiner acknowledges that while the Bandwidth Part (BWP) field and its subfield locationAndBandwidth provide parameters for defining frequency domain allocation, these parameters do not explicitly identify the quantity of frequency domain resources as required by the claims. The cited reference describes parameters such as initialDownlinkBWP>genericParameters>locationAndBandwidth and initialUplinkBWP>genericParameters>locationAndBandwidth (See NPL ShareTechNote Pg. 9, SIB1 message) which specify location and total occupied bandwidth, but not discrete counts of frequency domain resources. Although bandwidth and resource block quantity are proportional and sometimes used interchangeably in the art, they are not identical parameters for claim interpretation purposes. A further search was conducted for prior art explicitly teaching both first and second field for the quantity of uplink and downlink resources within a single indication message. The pertinent disclosures located describing such combined UL/DL field signaling appear in documents published after the effective filing date of the instant application. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C §103 over Huang in view of 3GPP is withdrawn, and claim 4 is hereby found allowable. Claim 5, which depend from claim 4, is likewise allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 21-24, Huang discloses the first three fields (uplink resource quantity and frequency-domain spacings) while Abotabl teaches the missing fourth field indicating the quantity of downlink resource blocks. The combination would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to achieve symmetric UL/DL configuration signaling and improved spectral efficiency.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6, 8-11,13-16 and 18-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With regards to claim 6, 11 and 16, Huang teaches the UL-DL-UL topology: Huang discloses a sub-band full-duplex slot structure wherein a downlink subband is flanked by uplink subband on both sides (UL-DL-UL arrangement)(See Fig. 6, ¶[0067]). Thus, Huang provides the claimed arrangement of UL-DL-UL. On the other hand, Abotabl discloses a full duplex interlaced configuration in which the uplink and downlink transmissions are symmetrically distributed across frequency. Specifically, ¶[0100] of Abotabl teaches that “when the joint interlaced pattern is symmetric, then the quantity of contiguous resource blocks in the downlink direction and the uplink direction may be the same” and ¶[0122] of Abotabl teaches that “the first gap duration and the second gap duration may be equal durations”. As shown in Fig. 7A, the uplink and downlink resources are arranged with equal spacing and symmetric gaps directly corresponding to “difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource”.
Claim Objections
Claim 4-5, 9-10, 14-15 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 20210320779 A1; citing US Provisional Application 63/008249 for mapping)(hereinafter Huang) in view of Hao et al. (US 20210135833 A1; Provisional Application 62/929853 for mapping)(hereinafter Hao).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses a communication method, comprising: receiving first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates a first uplink frequency domain resource, a second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116. ¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146), and a first downlink frequency domain resource on a carrier (¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116) in a first time period (Fig. 6 600, encompassing 614-615, 602-604, 610-612) and the first time period comprises one or more slots (Fig. 6 600. ¶[0067]: the first UL data resource 610 may occupy a set of subbands of the SB-FD slot 600. The second UL data resource 614 may occupy a different set of subbands of the SB-FD slot 600), wherein a frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource is lower than a frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 614, 602), and a frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource is higher than the frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 602, 610); or a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first uplink frequency domain resource is less than a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first downlink frequency domain resource, and a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the second uplink frequency domain resource is greater than the sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first downlink frequency domain resource; and determining the first uplink frequency domain resource, the second uplink frequency domain resource, and the first downlink frequency domain resource on the carrier based on the first indication information (¶[0067]: the BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 600 via FDD within the component carrier bandwidth. The UL subband bandwidth of the first UL data resource 610 and/or the second UL data resource 614 may be 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 60 MHz, 80 MHz, or other suitable bandwidths. The DL subband bandwidth of the DL data resource 602 may be 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 30 MHz, 40 MHz, or other suitable bandwidths. Other bandwidth values for the UL subband(s) and/or the DL subband(s) are possible. ¶[0077]: The UE 110, upon receiving the indication, may locate the first resource 1150 by adding the first offset 1142 to the starting subband value 1140. ¶[0079]: The UE 110, upon receiving the indication, may locate the third resource 1154 by subtracting the second offset 1146 from the sum of the second subband size 1132 and the second starting subband value 1144. ¶[0033]: The BS 105 may include a configuration component 324 that configures resources allocated to the UE 110); a first uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 610 612 UL, ¶[0067]: first UL data resource 610, first UL control resource 612), first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 602 604 DL, ¶[0067]: DL data resource 602, DL control resource 604) and second uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 614 616 UL, ¶[0067]: second UL data resource 614, and second UL control resource 616).
Huang does not disclose wherein a difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource.
Hao discloses wherein a difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0021]: lower sub-band occupies a bandwidth of the center frequency minus 10 MHz to the center frequency minus 50 MHz. Similarly, the upper sub-band occupies a bandwidth of the center frequency plus 10 MHz to the center frequency plus 50 MHz. In ¶[0021], upper and lower subbands are both offset from the central frequency by identical ranges and thus equal frequency differences and symmetric structure. For example, the lower subband extends from center -50 MHz to center -10 MHz, while the upper subband extends from center + 10 MHz to center + 50 MHz; thus, these equal ± offsets establish that the difference between UL-DL and DL-UL frequency boundaries are equal, corresponding to the equality relationship).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt the symmetric spacing, as taught by Hao, in the system of Huang which teaches a first UL data resource and second UL data resource which occupies a different set of subband. Doing so allows the transmitter to “ reduce uplink latency and increase the energy for the uplink transmissions”(Hao: [¶0016]).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang discloses wherein a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first uplink frequency domain resource is equal to a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0075]: The BS 105 may indicate the selection of the second UL data resource 1014 for UL transmission and a subband size 1030 (of the second UL data resource 1014) to the UE 110. The subband size 1030 may be a number of resource blocks of the second UL data resource 1014 configured for the SB-FD slot 1000. ¶[0079]: the UE 110 may use the equation RBSB2start+NSB2size −1−RBBWoffset2−|rPUCCH/NCS| to compute the UL transmission in the first hop (i.e., in the third resource 1154). The UE 110 may use the equation RBSB1start+RBBWoffset1 +| rPUCCH/NCS| to compute the UL transmission in the second hop (i.e., in the fourth resource 1156. In ¶[0079], mirror image equations are used to calculate resource block indices across the two uplink hops, the symmetry in the mathematical form implies parallel structure in both UL subbands. ¶[0075] explicit signaling of each subband size, allowing equality and the symmetric RB indexing formulas of ¶[0079] supports equal uplink subband).
Claims 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, 18, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Abotabl et al. (US 20220109549 A1; citing US Provisional Application 63/087858)(hereinafter Abotabl).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang discloses a communication method, comprising: determining first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a first uplink frequency domain resource, a second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116. ¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146), and a first downlink frequency domain resource on a carrier in a first time period carrier (¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116),wherein a frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource is lower than a frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 614, 602), and a frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource is higher than the frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 602, 610); or a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first uplink frequency domain resource is less than a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first downlink frequency domain resource, and a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the second uplink frequency domain resource is greater than the sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first downlink frequency domain resource; and sending the first indication information to a terminal device (¶[0033]: The BS 105 may include a configuration component 324 that configures resources allocated to the UE 110). ¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116) a first uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 610 612 UL, ¶[0067]: first UL data resource 610, first UL control resource 612), first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 602 604 DL, ¶[0067]: DL data resource 602, DL control resource 604) and second uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 614 616 UL, ¶[0067]: second UL data resource 614, and second UL control resource 616).
Huang does not disclose wherein a difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource.
Abotabl discloses wherein a difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 7A 710 corresponds to first uplink frequency domain resource wherein UL resource occupies a set of contiguous RBs bounded by a lower (minimum) and upper (maximum) edge) and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 7A 722 corresponds to first downlink frequency domain resource wherein DL resource occupies a set of contiguous RBs bounded by a lower (minimum) and upper (maximum) edge) is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource ((Fig. 7A 712 corresponds to second uplink frequency domain resource wherein UL resource occupies a set of contiguous RBs bounded by a lower (minimum) and upper (maximum) edge. ¶[0100]: The joint interlaced pattern of uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions maybe symmetrical. When the joint interlaced pattern is symmetric, then the quantity of contiguous resource blocks in the downlink direction and the uplink direction may be the same. In ¶[0100], it teaches or suggests that UL and DL resource widths may be equal on both sides, and therefore their maximum and minimum boundaries are equal on both sides. ¶[0122]: the first gap duration and the second gap duration may be equal durations. In ¶[0122], it further teaches or suggests that the first and second gap duration may be equal, which corresponds to the equal spacing between the UL-DL and DL-UL interfaces. ¶[0100] and ¶[0122] together teaches or suggests a symmetric frequency layout. As illustrated in Fig. 7A, the equal spacing between adjacent UL (710/712) and DL (720/722) resources establishes a symmetric frequency-domain relationship in which the UL-DL and DL-UL separations are equal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt the symmetric interlaced structure of Abotabl so that the UL-DL-UL spacing are equal. Doing so allows for “symmetric distribution may be beneficial for providing less overhead signaling” (Abotabl, ¶[0100]) and “improve the spectral efficiency of the RB sets of the sequence” (Abotabl, ¶[0096]).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang discloses wherein a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first uplink frequency domain resource is equal to a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0075]: The BS 105 may indicate the selection of the second UL data resource 1014 for UL transmission and a subband size 1030 (of the second UL data resource 1014) to the UE 110. The subband size 1030 may be a number of resource blocks of the second UL data resource 1014 configured for the SB-FD slot 1000. ¶[0079]: the UE 110 may use the equation RBSB2start+NSB2size −1−RBBWoffset2−|rPUCCH/NCS| to compute the UL transmission in the first hop (i.e., in the third resource 1154). The UE 110 may use the equation RBSB1start+RBBWoffset1 +| rPUCCH/NCS| to compute the UL transmission in the second hop (i.e., in the fourth resource 1156. In ¶[0079], mirror image equations are used to calculate resource block indices across the two uplink hops, the symmetry in the mathematical form implies parallel structure in both UL subbands. ¶[0075] explicit signaling of each subband size, allowing equality and the symmetric RB indexing formulas of ¶[0079] supports equal uplink subband).
Regarding Claim 11, Huang discloses a communication apparatus (Fig. 2 110), comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to (¶[0044]: the UE 110 may include a variety of components, including components such as one or more processors 212 and memory 216) cause the apparatus to: receive first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates a first uplink frequency domain resource, a second uplink frequency domain resource, (¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116. ¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146), and a first downlink frequency domain resource on a carrier (¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116) in a first time period Fig. 6 600, encompassing 614-615, 602-604, 610-612), and the first time period comprises one or more slots (Fig. 6 600. ¶[0067]: the first UL data resource 610 may occupy a set of subbands of the SB-FD slot 600. The second UL data resource 614 may occupy a different set of subbands of the SB-FD slot 600), wherein a frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource is lower than a frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource, (Fig. 6 614, 602), and a frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource is higher than the frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 602, 610); or a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first uplink frequency domain resource is less than a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first downlink frequency domain resource, and a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the second uplink frequency domain resource is greater than the sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first downlink frequency domain resource; and determine the first uplink frequency domain resource, the second uplink frequency domain resource, and the first downlink frequency domain resource on the carrier based on the first indication information (¶[0067]: the BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 600 via FDD within the component carrier bandwidth. The UL subband bandwidth of the first UL data resource 610 and/or the second UL data resource 614 may be 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 60 MHz, 80 MHz, or other suitable bandwidths. The DL subband bandwidth of the DL data resource 602 may be 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 30 MHz, 40 MHz, or other suitable bandwidths. Other bandwidth values for the UL subband(s) and/or the DL subband(s) are possible. ¶[0077]: The UE 110, upon receiving the indication, may locate the first resource 1150 by adding the first offset 1142 to the starting subband value 1140. ¶[0079]: The UE 110, upon receiving the indication, may locate the third resource 1154 by subtracting the second offset 1146 from the sum of the second subband size 1132 and the second starting subband value 1144. ¶[0033]: The BS 105 may include a configuration component 324 that configures resources allocated to the UE 110) a first uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 610 612 UL, ¶[0067]: first UL data resource 610, first UL control resource 612), first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 602 604 DL, ¶[0067]: DL data resource 602, DL control resource 604) and second uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 614 616 UL, ¶[0067]: second UL data resource 614, and second UL control resource 616).
Huang does not disclose wherein a difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource.
Abotabl discloses wherein a difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 7A 710 corresponds to first uplink frequency domain resource wherein UL resource occupies a set of contiguous RBs bounded by a lower (minimum) and upper (maximum) edge) and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 7A 722 corresponds to first downlink frequency domain resource wherein DL resource occupies a set of contiguous RBs bounded by a lower (minimum) and upper (maximum) edge) is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource ((Fig. 7A 712 corresponds to second uplink frequency domain resource wherein UL resource occupies a set of contiguous RBs bounded by a lower (minimum) and upper (maximum) edge. ¶[0100]: The joint interlaced pattern of uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions maybe symmetrical. When the joint interlaced pattern is symmetric, then the quantity of contiguous resource blocks in the downlink direction and the uplink direction may be the same. In ¶[0100], it teaches or suggests that UL and DL resource widths may be equal on both sides, and therefore their maximum and minimum boundaries are equal on both sides. ¶[0122]: the first gap duration and the second gap duration may be equal durations. In ¶[0122], it further teaches or suggests that the first and second gap duration may be equal, which corresponds to the equal spacing between the UL-DL and DL-UL interfaces. ¶[0100] and ¶[0122] together teaches or suggests a symmetric frequency layout. As illustrated in Fig. 7A, the equal spacing between adjacent UL (710/712) and DL (720/722) resources establishes a symmetric frequency-domain relationship in which the UL-DL and DL-UL separations are equal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt the symmetric interlaced structure of Abotabl so that the UL-DL-UL spacing are equal. Doing so allows for “symmetric distribution may be beneficial for providing less overhead signaling” (Abotabl, ¶[0100]) and “improve the spectral efficiency of the RB sets of the sequence” (Abotabl, ¶[0096]).
Regarding Claim 13, Huang discloses wherein a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first uplink frequency domain resource is equal to a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0075]: The BS 105 may indicate the selection of the second UL data resource 1014 for UL transmission and a subband size 1030 (of the second UL data resource 1014) to the UE 110. The subband size 1030 may be a number of resource blocks of the second UL data resource 1014 configured for the SB-FD slot 1000. ¶[0079]: the UE 110 may use the equation RBSB2start+NSB2size −1−RBBWoffset2−|rPUCCH/NCS| to compute the UL transmission in the first hop (i.e., in the third resource 1154). The UE 110 may use the equation RBSB1start+RBBWoffset1 +| rPUCCH/NCS| to compute the UL transmission in the second hop (i.e., in the fourth resource 1156. In ¶[0079], mirror image equations are used to calculate resource block indices across the two uplink hops, the symmetry in the mathematical form implies parallel structure in both UL subbands. ¶[0075] explicit signaling of each subband size, allowing equality and the symmetric RB indexing formulas of ¶[0079] supports equal uplink subband).
Regarding Claim 16, Huang discloses a communication apparatus (Fig. 3 Base Station 105) comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 3 312); and one or more memories (Fig. 3 316) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 3 344) to cause the apparatus to: determine first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a first uplink frequency domain resource, a second uplink frequency domain resource, (¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116. ¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146), and a first downlink frequency domain resource on a carrier (¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116) in a first time period (Fig. 6 600, encompassing 614-615, 602-604, 610-612), wherein a frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource is lower than a frequency of the downlink frequency domain resource, (Fig. 6 614, 602), and a frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource is higher than the frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 602, 610);or a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first uplink frequency domain resource is less than a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first downlink frequency domain resource, and a sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the second uplink frequency domain resource is greater than the sequence number of any frequency domain resource block in the first downlink frequency domain resource; and send the first indication information to a terminal device (¶[0033]: The BS 105 may include a configuration component 324 that configures resources allocated to the UE 110). ¶[0076]: BS 105 may configure the SB-FD slot 1100 having DL data resource 1102, DL control resource 1104, first UL data resource 1110, first UL control resource 1112, second UL data resource 1114, and second UL control resource 1116) a first uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 610 612 UL, ¶[0067]: first UL data resource 610, first UL control resource 612), first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 602 604 DL, ¶[0067]: DL data resource 602, DL control resource 604) and second uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 6 614 616 UL, ¶[0067]: second UL data resource 614, and second UL control resource 616).
Huang does not disclose wherein a difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource.
Abotabl discloses wherein a difference between a maximum frequency of the first uplink frequency domain resource (Fig. 7A 710 corresponds to first uplink frequency domain resource wherein UL resource occupies a set of contiguous RBs bounded by a lower (minimum) and upper (maximum) edge) and a minimum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource (Fig. 7A 722 corresponds to first downlink frequency domain resource wherein DL resource occupies a set of contiguous RBs bounded by a lower (minimum) and upper (maximum) edge) is equal to a difference between a maximum frequency of the first downlink frequency domain resource and a minimum frequency of the second uplink frequency domain resource ((Fig. 7A 712 corresponds to second uplink frequency domain resource wherein UL resource occupies a set of contiguous RBs bounded by a lower (minimum) and upper (maximum) edge. ¶[0100]: The joint interlaced pattern of uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions maybe symmetrical. When the joint interlaced pattern is symmetric, then the quantity of contiguous resource blocks in the downlink direction and the uplink direction may be the same. In ¶[0100], it teaches or suggests that UL and DL resource widths may be equal on both sides, and therefore their maximum and minimum boundaries are equal on both sides. ¶[0122]: the first gap duration and the second gap duration may be equal durations. In ¶[0122], it further teaches or suggests that the first and second gap duration may be equal, which corresponds to the equal spacing between the UL-DL and DL-UL interfaces. ¶[0100] and ¶[0122] together teaches or suggests a symmetric frequency layout. As illustrated in Fig. 7A, the equal spacing between adjacent UL (710/712) and DL (720/722) resources establishes a symmetric frequency-domain relationship in which the UL-DL and DL-UL separations are equal.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt the symmetric interlaced structure of Abotabl so that the UL-DL-UL spacing are equal. Doing so allows for “symmetric distribution may be beneficial for providing less overhead signaling” (Abotabl, ¶[0100]) and “improve the spectral efficiency of the RB sets of the sequence” (Abotabl, ¶[0096]).
Regarding Claim 18, Huang discloses wherein a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first uplink frequency domain resource is equal to a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0075]: The BS 105 may indicate the selection of the second UL data resource 1014 for UL transmission and a subband size 1030 (of the second UL data resource 1014) to the UE 110. The subband size 1030 may be a number of resource blocks of the second UL data resource 1014 configured for the SB-FD slot 1000. ¶[0079]: the UE 110 may use the equation RBSB2start+NSB2size −1−RBBWoffset2−|rPUCCH/NCS| to compute the UL transmission in the first hop (i.e., in the third resource 1154). The UE 110 may use the equation RBSB1start+RBBWoffset1 +| rPUCCH/NCS| to compute the UL transmission in the second hop (i.e., in the fourth resource 1156. In ¶[0079], mirror image equations are used to calculate resource block indices across the two uplink hops, the symmetry in the mathematical form implies parallel structure in both UL subbands. ¶[0075] explicit signaling of each subband size, allowing equality and the symmetric RB indexing formulas of ¶[0079] supports equal uplink subband).
Regarding Claim 22, Huang discloses wherein the first indication information further comprises a first field (¶[0073): the BS 105 may indicate a subband size 930 to the UE 110), a second field (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142), a third field (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of … value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146), the first field indicates the quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first uplink frequency domain resource or the second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0073): the BS 105 may indicate a subband size 930 to the UE 110. The subband size 930 may be a number of resource blocks of the UL subband configured for the SB-FD slot 900. In ¶[0073], subband size directly maps to the UL RB quantity for UL1 or UL2), the second field indicates a first frequency domain spacing (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146. In ¶[0077], the first offset 1142 define spacing from the first starting subband value 1140), the third field indicates a second frequency domain spacing (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146. In ¶[0077], the second offset 1146 define spacing from the second starting subband value 1144),
Huang does not disclose a fourth field, and the fourth field indicates a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first downlink frequency domain resource.
Abotabl discloses a fourth field, and the fourth field indicates a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first downlink frequency domain resource (¶[0102]: the base station may configure the start and/or quantity of resource blocks of the uplink resources or downlink resources via RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, in Huang’s indication, a field indicating the quantity of RBs for the DL resource, as Abotabl teaches expressly signaling the quantity of RBs of the downlink resources. Doing so allows for “symmetric distribution may be beneficial for providing less overhead signaling” (Abotabl, ¶[0100]) and “improve the spectral efficiency of the RB sets of the sequence” (Abotabl, ¶[0096]).
Regarding Claim 23, Huang discloses wherein the first indication information further comprises a first field (¶[0073): the BS 105 may indicate a subband size 930 to the UE 110), a second field (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142), a third field (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of … value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146), the first field indicates the quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first uplink frequency domain resource or the second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0073): the BS 105 may indicate a subband size 930 to the UE 110. The subband size 930 may be a number of resource blocks of the UL subband configured for the SB-FD slot 900. In ¶[0073], subband size directly maps to the UL RB quantity for UL1 or UL2), the second field indicates a first frequency domain spacing (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146. In ¶[0077], the first offset 1142 define spacing from the first starting subband value 1140), the third field indicates a second frequency domain spacing (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146. In ¶[0077], the second offset 1146 define spacing from the second starting subband value 1144),
Huang does not disclose a fourth field, and the fourth field indicates a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first downlink frequency domain resource.
Abotabl discloses a fourth field, and the fourth field indicates a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first downlink frequency domain resource (¶[0102]: the base station may configure the start and/or quantity of resource blocks of the uplink resources or downlink resources via RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, in Huang’s indication, a field indicating the quantity of RBs for the DL resource, as Abotabl teaches expressly signaling the quantity of RBs of the downlink resources. Doing so allows for “symmetric distribution may be beneficial for providing less overhead signaling” (Abotabl, ¶[0100]) and “improve the spectral efficiency of the RB sets of the sequence” (Abotabl, ¶[0096]).
Regarding Claim 24, Huang discloses wherein the first indication information further comprises a first field (¶[0073): the BS 105 may indicate a subband size 930 to the UE 110), a second field (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142), a third field (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of … value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146), the first field indicates the quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first uplink frequency domain resource or the second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0073): the BS 105 may indicate a subband size 930 to the UE 110. The subband size 930 may be a number of resource blocks of the UL subband configured for the SB-FD slot 900. In ¶[0073], subband size directly maps to the UL RB quantity for UL1 or UL2), the second field indicates a first frequency domain spacing (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146. In ¶[0077], the first offset 1142 define spacing from the first starting subband value 1140), the third field indicates a second frequency domain spacing (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146. In ¶[0077], the second offset 1146 define spacing from the second starting subband value 1144),
Huang does not disclose a fourth field, and the fourth field indicates a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first downlink frequency domain resource.
Abotabl discloses a fourth field, and the fourth field indicates a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first downlink frequency domain resource (¶[0102]: the base station may configure the start and/or quantity of resource blocks of the uplink resources or downlink resources via RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, in Huang’s indication, a field indicating the quantity of RBs for the DL resource, as Abotabl teaches expressly signaling the quantity of RBs of the downlink resources. Doing so allows for “symmetric distribution may be beneficial for providing less overhead signaling” (Abotabl, ¶[0100]) and “improve the spectral efficiency of the RB sets of the sequence” (Abotabl, ¶[0096]).
Claims 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Hao and in further view of Abotabl.
Regarding Claim 21, Huang discloses wherein the first indication information further comprises a first field (¶[0073): the BS 105 may indicate a subband size 930 to the UE 110), a second field (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142), a third field (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of … value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146), the first field indicates the quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first uplink frequency domain resource or the second uplink frequency domain resource (¶[0073): the BS 105 may indicate a subband size 930 to the UE 110. The subband size 930 may be a number of resource blocks of the UL subband configured for the SB-FD slot 900. In ¶[0073], subband size directly maps to the UL RB quantity for UL1 or UL2), the second field indicates a first frequency domain spacing (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146. In ¶[0077], the first offset 1142 define spacing from the first starting subband value 1140), the third field indicates a second frequency domain spacing (¶[0077]: The indication may include one or more of a first subband size 1130, a second subband size 1132, a first starting subband value 1140 and a first offset 1142, a second starting subband value 1144, and/or a second offset 1146. In ¶[0077], the second offset 1146 define spacing from the second starting subband value 1144),
Huang in view of Hao does not disclose a fourth field, and the fourth field indicates a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first downlink frequency domain resource.
Abotabl discloses a fourth field, and the fourth field indicates a quantity of frequency domain resource blocks in the first downlink frequency domain resource (¶[0102]: the base station may configure the start and/or quantity of resource blocks of the uplink resources or downlink resources via RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include, in Huang’s indication, a field indicating the quantity of RBs for the DL resource, as Abotabl teaches expressly signaling the quantity of RBs of the downlink resources. Doing so allows for “symmetric distribution may be beneficial for providing less overhead signaling” (Abotabl, ¶[0100]) and “improve the spectral efficiency of the RB sets of the sequence” (Abotabl, ¶[0096]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220116961 A1 teaches a full duplex operation that allows UE to simultaneously transmit on uplink and monitor downlink using an interlace pattern, which enables in-band interleaved communication.
US 20210136696 A1 teaches subband full duplex (SBFD) interference mitigation by configuring first and second subband flexibly and allow DL UE to filter out UE-to-UE interference from the first subband.
The following references are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. However, they are not relied upon as prior art because their effective filing dates are subsequent to the effective filing date of the present application:
US 20250279865 A1 discloses SBFD U-D-U configuration with information elements depicting number of resource block allocated for the frequency resources, illustrated in Fig. 14(b).
US 20250254018 A1 discloses SBFD U-D-U configuration (Fig. 18) and a ‘D RB Set’ for downlink resources and ‘U RB set’ in Fig. 19 and parameters for SBFD capable UE to indicate sets of contiguous RB sets.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30AM-6PM EST.
/P.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2479
/JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479