DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, 29, 31, 34, 35, and 47-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10, 11, 29, 31, 34, and 37-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/759,456 (reference application) in view of Brinkman (US 2003/0211324).
Co-pending application 18/759,456 teaches the claim limitations except for applying multiple layers of dental adhesive. This is taught by Brinkman [0055]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify 18/759,456 with Brinkman in order to provide a to high quality and durable esthetic alteration.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 29, 34, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudney (US 2017/0119111) in view of Brinkman (US 2003/0211324).
Regarding claim 1, Doudney teaches a method of applying an aesthetic alteration on a tooth surface comprising applying a first layer of dental adhesive to the tooth surface as an initial applied layer of dental adhesive [0006] – [0007]; placing a decal on the first layer of dental adhesive after applying the first layer of dental adhesive to the tooth surface [0008], wherein the decal is placed on the first layer of dental adhesive before the first layer of dental adhesive is cured [0062].
Doudney does not specifically disclose applying at least one additional layer of dental adhesive on top of the decal; and curing the at least one additional layer of dental adhesive. However, Brinkman teaches applying at least one additional layer of dental adhesive on top of the decal; and curing the at least one additional layer of dental adhesive [0055] – [0056], figure 13, element 130. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Doudney with Brinkman in order to protect the decal from damage from foreign objects striking the tooth or biting particles that could possibly dislodge or damage the decal.
Regarding claim 2, Doudney teaches: the step of curing the first layer of dental adhesive after applying the first layer of dental adhesive [0062].
Regarding claim 5, Doudney teaches a resin bond material [0047]; however it does not teach each layer of dental adhesive being a tooth resin bonding material. Brinkman teaches: each layer of dental adhesive is a resin tooth bonding agent [0055] – [0056]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Doudney with Brinkman in order to provide a decal that is non-invasive and easily removable when desired.
Regarding claim 10, Doudney teaches a method of applying an aesthetic alteration. However, Doudney does not teach: the step of removing, by a dental professional, user, or a third party, the esthetic alteration. Brinkman teaches: the step of removing, by a dental professional, user, or a third party, the esthetic alteration [0006]. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that “a dentist, a user or a third party” is broad enough that it encompasses any individual removing an esthetic alteration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Doudney with Brinkman in order to protect the decal from damage from foreign objects striking the tooth or biting particles that could possibly dislodge or damage the decal.
Regarding claim 29, while Doudney teaches a method of applying an aesthetic alteration, it does not teach multiple layers of resin overcoat. Brinkman teaches: the step of applying a resin overcoat on the at least one additional layer of dental adhesive (figure 13, element 130). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Doudney with Brinkman in order to protect the decal from damage from foreign objects striking the tooth or biting particles that could possibly dislodge or damage the decal.
Regarding claim 34, Doudney teaches: applying the esthetic alteration is performed by a dentist, a user, or a third party [0066]. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that “a dentist, a user or a third party” is broad enough that it encompasses any individual applying an esthetic alteration.
Regarding claim 41, Doudney teaches: the method is performed with an esthetic alteration kit comprising the dental adhesive and decal [0033] - [0035].
Claims 3, 4, 38, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudney (US 2017/0119111) and Brinkman (US 2003/0211324), and further in view of Leslie-Martin (US 2013/0078594).
Regarding claim 3, Doudney teaches a cosmetic enhancement containing a pigment [0038] and Brinkman teaches the first layer of dental adhesive is colored adhesive [0055]; however, it does not specifically teach a light-curable adhesive comprising a pigment and/or a color additive. Leslie-Martin teaches a layer comprising a pigment [0037]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Doudney and Brinkman with the pigment-colored light-curable adhesive of Leslie-Martin in order to provide a strong and durable product with a variety of customization options.
Regarding claim 4, Doudney teaches a cosmetic enhancement containing a pigment [0038] and Brinkman teaches the first layer of dental adhesive is colored adhesive [0055]; however, it does not specifically teach a pigment comprising at least one of pearlescent mica, matte mica, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, iron oxide, aluminum oxide, or chromium-cobalt-aluminum oxide, and wherein the color additive comprises Food, Drugs, and Cosmetics (FD&C) and/or Drugs & Cosmetics (D&C) color additives. Leslie-Martin teaches a pigment comprising at least one of pearlescent mica, matte mica, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, iron oxide, aluminum oxide, or chromium-cobalt-aluminum oxide, and wherein the color additive comprises Food, Drugs, and Cosmetics (FD&C) and/or Drugs & Cosmetics (D&C) color additives [0037] (suncroma meets FD&C and D&C standards). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Doudney and Brinkman with the pigment-colored light-curable adhesive taught by Leslie-Martin in order to provide a strong and durable product with a variety of Doudney teaches a cosmetic enhancement containing a pigment [0038] and Brinkman teaches the first layer of dental adhesive is colored adhesive [0055]; however, it does not specifically teach a dental adhesive being combined with the pigment and/or color additive to form a colored dental adhesive. Leslie-Martin teaches a dental adhesive being combined with the pigment and/or color additive to form a colored dental adhesive [0035] - [0037]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Doudney and Brinkman with the pigment-colored light-curable adhesive of Leslie-Martin in order to provide a strong and durable product with a variety of customization options.
Regarding claim 39, Doudney teaches a cosmetic enhancement containing a pigment, Brinkman teaches a colored dental adhesive [0055], and Leslie-Martin discloses a dental adhesive including a pigment [0035] – [0037]. While the references do not specifically teach who is mixing the pigment/color additive, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that someone would be a part of the mixing process. The limitation, “a dentist, a user, or a third-party,” would encompass any person.
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudney (US 2017/0119111) and Brinkman (US 2003/0211324), and further in view of Killian (US 4101545).
Regarding claim 6, Doudney teaches etching a tooth using phosphoric acid [0063]; however, it does not specifically teach etching the tooth surface using a 35% phosphoric acid compound. Killian discloses etching tooth enamel using 35% phosphoric acid (claim 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Doudney and Brinkman with the teachings using a phosphoric acid compound to etch tooth enamel, as taught by Killian, in order to ensure the attachment is firmly secured to the tooth surface.
Regarding claim 11, Brinkman discloses the esthetic alteration is removable; however, it does not specifically teach that the alteration is removable with a high-speed dental handpiece and/or a low-speed dental handpiece. Killian teaches the alteration is removable with a high-speed dental handpiece and/or a low-speed dental handpiece (column 7, lines 27-35 – adhesive removed with dental scaler). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Doudney and Brinkman with using a dental handpiece, as taught by Killian, in order to ensure that there is no need of grinding or damaging the tooth.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudney (US 2017/0119111) and Brinkman (US 2003/0211324), and further in view of Kunstadter (US 5916653).
Regarding claim 35, Brinkman discloses removing an esthetic alteration; however, it does not specifically disclose a user removing an esthetic alteration with a fingernail, toothpick, or a hard surface that will not damage the surface of the tooth. Kunstadter discloses a user removing an esthetic alteration with a fingernail, toothpick, or a hard surface that will not damage the surface of the tooth (the person wearing the dental decal can be peeled off – column 2, line 65 – column 3, line 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Doudney and Brinkman with the peeling off using one’s hands (fingernails) taught by Kunstadter to allow for different designs to be placed on the tooth.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudney (US 2017/0119111) and Brinkman (US 2003/0211324), and further in view of Knutson (US 5803734)
Regarding claim 42, Doudney discloses an esthetic alteration kit with an applicator and an adhesive curing light [0045] – [0049]; however, it does not specifically disclose a tooth isolator. Knutson discloses a tooth isolator (figure 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Doudney and Brinkman with tooth isolator taught by Knutson in order to provide an economical means for isolating a tooth surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 31, and 37, and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art does not teach a decal comprising a paper substrate and a design, wherein the design is visible after placing the decal on the first layer of dental adhesive, and the paper substrate is not visible after placing the decal on the first layer of dental adhesive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855