DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "20" and "40" have both been used to designate cabin (figures 2 and 4). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “40” has been used to designate both controller and cabin (paragraph 26 and figure 4). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “50” has been used to designate both heat pump (figure 5) and pump (paragraph 27). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The limitation of “flow coolant from the water cooled condenser to the circuit until a temperature of the traction battery is less than a battery temperature or a temperature of the coolant is greater than a coolant threshold temperature” (claim 6) is not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 6, the limitation of “flow coolant from the water cooled condenser to the circuit until a temperature of the traction battery is less than a battery temperature or a temperature of the coolant is greater than a coolant threshold temperature” renders the scope of the claim indefinite. Applicant discloses (figure 6, step 67) that the coolant is to flow from the water condenser to warm battery until the temperature of the traction battery is greater than a coolant threshold temperature or a temperature of the coolant is less than a coolant threshold temperature”. However, applicant is claiming the opposite in claim 6. Therefore, it is not clear whether applicant is claiming as it described in the specification or as what it stated in the claim, which is not supported by the specification. Furthermore, the flow coolant is to flow to the circuit to warm the battery, it is not clear if the condition to stop the warming of the battery or the flow is to have the battery temperature to be less than a threshold temperature or higher than a threshold temperature.
Claims 6-11 are further rejected as can be best understood by the examiner.
Claims 6,7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jalalabad et al. (US 2017/0358833). Regarding claim 6, Jalalabad et al. discloses (figures 2-4) a vehicle comprising a cabin; a heat pump system (52, paragraph 21) including an evaporator ( 60 or 62) and a water cooled condenser (90) in thermal communication with the evaporator; a traction battery (24); a circuit (54) arranged to exchange heat with the traction battery (24); and a controller (100) programed to, while operating the evaporator to remove heat from air in the cabin (in the cabin cooling mode) and during absence of request to heat the cabin and the traction battery (in the battery mode), flow coolant from the water cooled condenser (90) to the circuit (54) until a temperature of the traction battery is less than a battery threshold temperature. (temperature of the battery is less than a threshold temp, No- in step 202, figure 4 or No- in step 152, figure 3). Regarding claim 7, Jalalabad further (figure 3 and paragraph 26) discloses that the controller (100) is further programed to flow the coolant past the temperature sensor (110 or 112)) for a predefined duration of time prior to measuring the temperature of the coolant.
Regarding claim 10, Jalalabad et al further discloses (figure 3) that the controller is programed to, in response to the evaporator no longer operating to remove the heat from the air in the cabin, discontinue the flow. (cabin AC is on -NO, step 154)
Regarding claim 11, Jalalabad further discloses (figure 3) that the heat pump system further includes a refrigerant and wherein the water cooled condenser is in thermal communication with the evaporator via the refrigerant.
Claims 1-2, 5, 6,7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 20190118757A). Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (figure 4, paragraphs 57 and 63) an automotive system comprises a method including a controller (46) programed to responsive to an evaporator of an automobile heat pump system operating to remove heat from air in a cabin (cooling mode) and absence of requests to heat the cabin (in a cooling mode) and a traction battery (B), flowing coolant from a water cooled condenser (26) in thermal communication with the evaporator (19) to a circuit (25) arranged to exchange heat with the traction battery (B) for as long as a temperature of the traction battery is less than a battery threshold temperature and a temperature of the coolant is greater than a coolant threshold temperature. (paragraph 63 and 64 or paragraphs 81-82). Regarding claim 5, Kim further discloses (paragraph 137) that responsive to the evaporator no longer operating to remove the heat from the air in the cabin, discontinuing the flowing. (the air conditioner if turned off, the battery cooling device is also completely turned off).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. discloses (figure 4, paragraphs 57 and 63) a vehicle comprising a cabin; a heat pump system (12) including an evaporator ( 19) and a water cooled condenser (26) in thermal communication with the evaporator; a traction battery (B); a circuit (25) arranged to exchange heat with the traction battery (B); and a controller (46) programed to, while operating the evaporator to remove heat from air in the cabin (in cooling mode) and during absence of request to heat the cabin and the traction battery (in the cooling mode), flow coolant from the water cooled condenser (26) to the circuit (25) until a temperature of the traction battery is less than a battery threshold temperature. (paragraph 63 and 64 or paragraphs 81-82). Regarding claim 7, Kim further (paragraph 62) discloses that the controller (46) is further programed to flow the coolant past the temperature sensor (44) for a predefined duration of time prior to measuring the temperature of the coolant.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Kim et al further discloses (paragraph 137) that the controller is programed to, in response to the evaporator no longer operating to remove the heat from the air in the cabin, discontinue the flow. (the air conditioner if turned off, the battery cooling device is also completely turned off).
Regarding claim 11, Kim further discloses (figure 4 and paragraphs 5 and 8) that the heat pump system (12) further includes a refrigerant and wherein the water cooled condenser (26) is in thermal communication with the evaporator (19) via the refrigerant.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Kim further (paragraph 62) discloses a step flowing the coolant past a temperature sensor (44) for a predefined duration of time prior to measuring the temperature of the coolant
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jalalabad et al. (US 2017/0358833) in view of Liang Yi Chao (CN 113135081A1). Jalalabad et al. substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the coolant threshold temperature is greater than the battery threshold temperature. Liang et al. discloses a thermal management system that has a battery threshold temperature and a water threshold temperature, wherein the water threshold temperature is higher than the battery threshold temperature for a purpose of exchanging heat with the battery by using the battery loop circuit as desired. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liang’s teaching in Jalalabad’s device for a purpose of exchanging heat with the battery by using the battery loop circuit as desired
Claims 4,9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20190118757A) in view of Liang Yi Chao (CN 113135081A1). Kim et al. substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the coolant threshold temperature is greater than the battery threshold temperature. Liang et al. discloses a thermal management system that has a battery threshold temperature and a water threshold temperature, wherein the water threshold temperature is higher than the battery threshold temperature for a purpose of cooling or heating the battery by using the battery loop circuit as desired. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liang’ s teaching in Kim’s device for a purpose of cooling or heating the battery by using the battery loop circuit as desired.
Claims 3 , 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kim et al. (KR 20190118757A) in view of Mazaira et al. (US 2023/0074313A1). Kim substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the controller is further programed to, in response to heat the cabin, discontinue the flow. Mazaira discloses (figure 2 and figure 3) a heating and cooling system comprises a controller (78) that is programed to in response to heat the cabin (step 204, answer yes), discontinue the flow from the battery (24) to the water cooled condenser (chiller 76) by a bypass valve (66) and flowing the coolant of the battery loop (59) to the cabin heating loop (61) for a purpose of heating the cabin and/or the battery (heating mode 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Mazaira’s teaching in Kims’ device for a purpose of heating the cabin and/or the battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shrivastava et al. (US 20200171916A1) discloses an A/C compressor control using refrigerant pressure.
Porras et al. (US 20180215231A1) discloses a method to control battery cooling using the battery coolant pump.
Lambert Steven (US 20170309976A1) discloses a battery thermal management system.
Porras et al. (US 20170106724A1) discloses an electrified vehicle cabin heating.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763