DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/26/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an average deflection angle of the first soft magnetic metal particles against the winding axis direction of the coil part and an average deflection angle of the second soft magnetic metal particles against the winding axis direction of the coil part are different” as claimed in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0004915 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Park et al., hereinafter referred to as “Park,” teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 7) comprising a core part 50 and a coil part 40 formed by winding a conductor in a coil form, wherein
the coil part is inside of the core part;
the core part comprises a center pole part (magnetic core part inside coil part 40) positioned in an area surrounded by an inner diameter (diameter of inner circumference) of the coil part;
the center pole part comprises a first center pole part (pole part made of magnetic particles 61 or 71 in the center pole part) including first soft magnetic metal particles, and a second center pole part (the other of pole part magnetic particles 61 or 71 in the center pole part, pole part made of magnetic particles 71 surrounds middle pole part made of magnetic particles 61, and pole part made of magnetic particles 71 near coil part 40 surround pole part made of magnetic particles 61) including second soft magnetic metal particles and being arranged around the first center pole part;
the first center pole part comprises at least two opposing faces (left and right faces) opposing each other;
the two opposing faces are parallel to a winding axis direction (T axis direction); and
an average deflection angle (deflection of pole part 61 or 71) of the first soft magnetic metal particles against the winding axis direction of the coil part and an average deflection (deflection of the other of pole part 61 or 71) angle of the second soft magnetic metal particles against the winding axis direction of the coil part are different (paras. [0089]-[0091]).
With respect to claim 3, Park teaches the coil component according to claim 1, wherein
an average value of cos 2θα is larger than an average value of cos 2θβ, in which θα represents deflection angles of the first soft magnetic metal particles against the winding axis direction of the coil part and θβ represents deflection angles of the second soft magnetic metal particles against the winding axis direction of the coil part (para. [0089]).
With respect to claim 4, Park teaches the coil component according to claim 1, wherein
an average value of cos 2θα is larger than an average value of cos 2θγ, in which θα represents deflection angles of the first soft magnetic metal particles against the winding axis direction of the coil part and θγ represents deflection angles of third soft magnetic metal particles included in an area outside of the coil part against the winding axis direction of the coil part (para. [0089]).
With respect to claim 5, Park teaches the coil component according to claim 1, wherein
an average value of cos 2θα is 0.1 or larger, in which θα represents deflection angles of the first soft magnetic metal particles against the winding axis direction of the coil part (para. [0089]).
With respect to claim 6, Park teaches the coil component according to claim 1, wherein an average aspect ratio of the first soft magnetic metal particles included in the first center pole part is 1.1 or larger and 5.0 or smaller (paras. [0052] and [0089]).
With respect to claim 7, Park teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 7) comprising a core part 50 and a coil part 40 formed by winding a conductor in a coil form, wherein
the coil part is inside of the core part;
the core part comprises a center pole part (magnetic core part inside coil part 40) positioned in an area surrounded by an inner diameter (diameter of inner circumference) of the coil part;
the center pole part comprises a first center pole part (pole part made of magnetic particles 61 or 71 in the center pole part) including first soft magnetic metal particles, and a second center pole part (the other of pole part magnetic particles 61 or 71 in the center pole part, pole part made of magnetic particles 71 surrounds middle pole part made of magnetic particles 61, and pole part made of magnetic particles 71 near coil part 40 surround pole part made of magnetic particles 61) including second soft magnetic metal particles and being arranged around the first center pole part;
the first center pole part comprises at least two opposing faces (left and right faces) opposing each other; and
the two opposing faces are parallel to a winding axis direction (T axis direction) (paras. [0089]-[0091]).
With respect to claim 8, Park teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 7) comprising a core part 50 including soft magnetic metal particles 61 and 71, and a coil part formed by winding a conductor in a coil form, wherein
the coil part is inside of the core part;
the core part comprises a center pole part (magnetic core part inside coil part 40) positioned in an area surrounded by an inner diameter (diameter of inner circumference) of the coil part;
an average value of cos 2θ of the soft magnetic metal particles included in the center pole part is 0.1 or larger, in which θ represents deflection angles of the soft magnetic metal particles against the winding axis direction of the coil part; and
an average aspect ratio of the soft magnetic metal particles included in the center pole part is 1.1 or larger (by visual inspection) (paras. [0052], [0089]-[0091]).
With respect to claim 9, Park teaches the coil component according to claim 8, wherein the average aspect ratio of the soft magnetic metal particles included in the center pole part is 1.1 or larger and 5.0 or smaller (by visual inspection) (paras. [0089]).
With respect to claim 10, Park teaches the coil component according to claim 8, wherein the core part comprises a dust core including the soft magnetic metal particles and a resin (para. [0052]).
With respect to claim 11, Park teaches a production method of the coil component according to claim 8 comprising the core part including the soft magnetic metal particles and the coil part formed by winding the conductor in a coil form, in which the coil part is inside the core part; wherein
the production method of the coil component comprises
preparing a center core by pressing; and
arranging the center core so that a pressure applied direction of the center core while pressing and a winding axis direction of the coil part are perpendicular to each other (paras. [0089]-[0091]). Claim 11 is treated as a product-by-process limitation because claim 12 depends on a product claim. Therefore, the process limitations do not carry weight in a claim drawn to structure. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
With respect to claim 12, Park teaches the production method according to claim 11 comprising:
preparing a coil, a base core, and cover core;
arranging the center core, the coil, and the cover core on the base core; and
integrally pressing the base core, the center core, and the cover core (paras. [0089]-[0091]). Claim 12 is treated as a product-by-process limitation because claim 12 depends on a product claim. Therefore, the process limitations do not carry weight in a claim drawn to structure. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Hong et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2016/0293319 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Park teaches the coil component according to claim 1. Park does not expressly teach a shape of the first center pole part is a quadrangular prism shape.
Hong et al., hereinafter referred to as “Park,” teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 1), wherein a shape of the first center pole part 60 is a quadrangular prism shape (para. [0061]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the center pole core shape as taught by Hong to the coil component of Park to facilitate manufacturing while improving inductance (paras. [0058] and [0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837