DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 10/6/2026 has been entered. Claims 2, 5, 16 and 19-20 have been cancelled. The claims 1, 3-15, 17, 18 and 20 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth in the current Office Action.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive.
In Remarks, applicants argued that the role of the histogram-based distribution information in Atsumori should be distinguished from the interval distribution quantification information now expressly recited in the amended claims.
However, the examiner mapped the bins (intervals) of the histogram or the intensity value groups to the interval distribution quantification information as opposed to applicant’s mapping of the histogram to the interval distribution quantification information.
In other words, Atsumori teaches at 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 8 and Paragraph 0067 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 divides the number of pixels of each intensity value group by a total number of pixels of the inner region 212 (the number of pixels constituting the inner region 212). Thus, the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates a ratio (referred to as the intensity value group ratio) of pixels having each intensity value group in the inner region 212 (S122 of FIG. 7). The intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups in the inner region 212 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, first intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 301 shown using black bars as illustrated in FIG. 8.and at Paragraph 0070 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups in the peripheral region 222 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, second intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 302 indicated by hatched bars as illustrated in FIG. 8..
In remarks, applicants argued that Atsumori does not disclose using a number or ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to each of the first and second intervals as quantification information indicating a characteristic or progression of a lesion or finding within the target region. The examiner cannot concur.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0102 that the lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
When the number of pixels characterized by first interval distribution quantification information and the third interval distribution quantification information has been changed, the size of the lesion should be changed accordingly. When the number of pixels characterized by the second interval distribution quantification information and the fourth interval distribution quantification information has been changed, the size of the lesion should be changed accordingly.
Atsumori teaches at 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 8 and Paragraph 0067 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 divides the number of pixels of each intensity value group by a total number of pixels of the inner region 212 (the number of pixels constituting the inner region 212). Thus, the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates a ratio (referred to as the intensity value group ratio) of pixels having each intensity value group in the inner region 212 (S122 of FIG. 7). The intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups in the inner region 212 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, first intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 301 shown using black bars as illustrated in FIG. 8.and at Paragraph 0070 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups in the peripheral region 222 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, second intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 302 indicated by hatched bars as illustrated in FIG. 8..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsumori et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0306604 (hereinafter Atsumori) in view of
Van Breugel et al. US-PGPUB No. 2019/0347788 (hereinafter Breugel);
further in view of different labeling of lesions in a medical image disclosed by Schirman et al. US-PGPUB No. 2019/0188853 (hereinafter Schirman) and Gogin et al. US-PGPUB No. 2022/0346665 (hereinafter Gogin) and the tumor growth/progression of Okuda US-PGPUB No. 2021/0041518 (hereinafter Okuda) and Makin et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0000426 (hereinafter Makin).
Re Claim 1:
Atsumori teaches a medical image diagnosis assistant apparatus comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to (
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 3 and Paragraph 0119 that the described functions may be implemented through software by using a processor such as a CPU 112 to interpret and execute a program for realizing each function and a program may be stored in a storage device such as a memory 111):
acquire information about at least one target region indicating one or more of a lesion, or a finding including a lesion candidate in a medical image (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0028-0029 that an image processing system Z includes a medical image capturing unit M and the image processing apparatus 1 performs lesion highlighting processing of highlighting a lesion in the medical image 201. Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0096 that a place suspected as a lesion is displayed in the region 202 and at Paragraph 0102 that a lesion 431 is highlighted and the lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 of FIG. 14. Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120);
acquire distribution information about a distribution of signal intensity values within the target region (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0031 that the computer 100 includes an image acquisition unit 101, a region setting unit 102, an intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit and an intensity value determination unit 107 and at FIG. 8 and Paragraph 0034 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates histograms 301 and 302 and histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution.
Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120);
generate first assistant information based on a first threshold for the signal intensity values within the target region (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222.
Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120);
wherein the signal intensity values within the target region are classified into a first interval corresponding to a first state and a second interval corresponding to a second state based on the first threshold (
For example, Atsumori teaches at FIG. 6 and FIG. 14 visualizing the inner region based on a first interval distribution information including the intensity values of the pixels of the target lesion region highlighted and second internal distribution information including the intensity values of the pixels of the non-lesion region included in the second assistant information.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0089-0091 that the intensity values in the inner region 212 are grouped into a first intensity value groups with intensity value of 577 or more of pixels of the lesion region and a second intensity value groups with the intensity value group with intensity value of equal to or less than 576 wherein pixels of the non-lesion region having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value 577 are highlighted while the second intensity value groups are not highlighted based on the intensity value threshold 576.
The first intensity value groups are associated with the first interval [577, 1024] and the second intensity value groups are associated with the second interval [32, 576] based on the intensity value threshold 576.
Atsumori not only teaches highlighting a bright place, but also highlighting a dark place. Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0113-0114 that the threshold setting unit 106 sets the threshold in the broken line 331 in FIG. 12 and selects an intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than the threshold and the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected intensity value group.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0114 that the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group and the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222.
Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120); and
generate second assistant information based on the distribution information and the first assistant information (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222.
Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120).
Atsumori at least suggests the claim limitation:
wherein the second [first] assistant information includes first interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the first interval and second interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the second interval,
wherein the first interval distribution quantification information and the second interval distribution quantification information are provided as quantification information indicating one or more of a characteristic of the lesion or the finding within the target region, or a progression of the lesion or the finding within the target region, and
Wherein the diagnostic characteristic of the target region is visualized based on the first interval distribution quantification information and the second interval distribution quantification information (
Atsumori teaches at 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 8 and Paragraph 0067 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 divides the number of pixels of each intensity value group by a total number of pixels of the inner region 212 (the number of pixels constituting the inner region 212). Thus, the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates a ratio (referred to as the intensity value group ratio) of pixels having each intensity value group in the inner region 212 (S122 of FIG. 7). The intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups in the inner region 212 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, first intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 301 shown using black bars as illustrated in FIG. 8.and at Paragraph 0070 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups in the peripheral region 222 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, second intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 302 indicated by hatched bars as illustrated in FIG. 8..
For example, Atsumori teaches at FIG. 6 and FIG. 14 visualizing the inner region based on a first interval distribution information including the intensity values of the pixels of the target lesion region highlighted and second internal distribution information including the intensity values of the pixels of the non-lesion region included in the second assistant information.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0089-0091 that the intensity values in the inner region 212 are grouped into a first intensity value groups with intensity value of 577 or more of pixels of the lesion region and a second intensity value groups with the intensity value group with intensity value of equal to or less than 576 wherein pixels of the non-lesion region having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value 577 are highlighted while the second intensity value groups are not highlighted based on the intensity value threshold 576.
The first intensity value groups are associated with the first interval [577, 1024] and the second intensity value groups are associated with the second interval [32, 576] based on the intensity value threshold 576.
Atsumori not only teaches highlighting a bright place, but also highlighting a dark place. Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0113-0114 that the threshold setting unit 106 sets the threshold in the broken line 331 in FIG. 12 and selects an intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than the threshold and the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected intensity value group.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0114 that the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group and the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222.
Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120).
Breugel teaches the claim limitation:
wherein the second [first] assistant information includes first interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the first interval and second interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the second interval,
wherein the first interval distribution quantification information and the second interval distribution quantification information are provided as quantification information indicating one or more of a characteristic of the lesion or the finding within the target region, or a progression of the lesion or the finding within the target region, and
Wherein the diagnostic characteristic of the target region is visualized based on the first interval distribution quantification information and the second interval distribution quantification information (Breugel teaches at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0021-0026 the first assistant information for first region 110 of interest includes first interval distribution quantification information 122 indicated by first mode 130 representing a number of voxels associated with a first mode voxel 116 wherein each model voxel can correspond to a intensity or intensities of voxels within a range of voxels that is most common for that respective range of voxels and the second assistant information for second region 112 of interest includes second interval distribution quantification information 124 indicated by second mode 132 representing a number of voxels associated with a second mode voxel 118.
Breugel further teaches at FIG. 1 the diagnostic characteristic of the target region 110 and 112 can be generated for each group of voxels and visualized based on the first interval quantification information and second interval quantification information and at Paragraph 0006 that the mode value can be used to identify areas of tissue characteristic of parenchyma and at Paragraph 0023 that the mode voxels can be identified and used to generate regions of interest).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Breugel’s identification of regions of interest for the tumor tissues into Atsumori’s annotating two types of diseases to have distinctly annotating two types of lesions in the same image. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided a lesion annotation system for distinctly annotating two types of lesions.
Gogin teaches at FIGS. 3-10 and Paragraph 0076 that the use of lung reconstruction may result enhancement in lesion detection, evidenced in increase in region corresponding to density 1 as illustrated in FIG. 4 and at Paragraph 0083 that the images 610 may comprise regions (e.g., displayed using different colors in the images) corresponding to a plurality of densities (e.g., density 1 through density 5). The regions may be identified (and thus displayed accordingly—e.g., using a color assigned to the corresponding density), based on processing of the image data using a plurality of range values (e.g., intensity (HU) thresholds) which may be used to define and detect these different densities—that is, with range of values (or any other settings, though not shown) for each the densities (density 1 through density 5).
Schirman teaches at [0033] Each of the plurality of probability distributions represents a different type of change. A non-limiting example may be a first probability distribution estimated from the observed intensity distribution may represent tumor growth, a second probability distribution may represent a transition zone, and a third probability distribution may represent edema. Having estimated these different probability distributions, intensity intervals may be determined which each represent the different type of change. For example, each intensity interval may be selected as being an interval where the respective probability distribution is larger than other probability distributions, denoting that an intensity falling within the intensity range is most likely to be associated with the type of change represented by the particular probability distribution. Having determined the plurality of intensity intervals, the image data in the difference image may be labeled accordingly, in that suitable metadata may be created. It is noted that the labeling may not need to represent a biological interpretation, e.g., whether it is tumor growth, transition zone or edema, but rather merely represent different labeling, e.g., type A, type B and type C, which allows such biological interpretation to be subsequently assigned, e.g., by a radiologist or an automatic classification algorithm. Thus, it can be distinguished between different types of change if a change has been occurred, i.e. the change can be characterized. This characterization of the change can be regarded as a modelling of different classes of change within a “changed” class.
Schirman teaches at Paragraph [0096] FIG. 4 shows a labeled medical image 410 in which a labeling 415 of image data by the system 100 of FIG. 1 is shown in the form of an overlay. The labeled difference image 410 may be generated by the system 100 of FIG. 1 as an output image, e.g., for display to a clinician. The labeling may be performed by determining into which of the plurality of intensity ranges the image data of the difference image falls. Effectively, the pixel or voxel may be labeled to identify to which subpopulation the particular pixel or voxel is estimated to belong. An example of such a labeling is simply type A, type B, type C, etc., or similar neutral labeling. As such, the labels may not directly represent a biological interpretation. Nevertheless, such a biological interpretation may be explicitly or implicitly assigned to the labels, e.g., by a radiologist or an automatic classification algorithm.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Gogin’s characterization of the images with the precise identification of the lesion regions for different acquisition images and/or Schirman’s lesion/tumor progression represented by type A progression, type B progression and type C progression into Atsumori’s method of generating the target lesion region to have performed segmentation of the target region and the background region for the different acquisition images and to have labelled the lesion region as being classified into type A lesion progression, type B lesion progression and/or type C lesion progression based on the different intensity intervals for the different acquisition images. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have performed image segmentation based on the intensity distribution and the first threshold and the second threshold for the different acquisition images.
Additionally, Makin teaches the claim progression of a lesion (Abstract). Makin teaches at FIG. 2B-2Cand Paragraph 0039 calculating a pixel intensity histogram of the selected region and at Paragraph 0044 that the lesions changing in time are determined and displayed and at Paragraph 0008 that pixels having a brightness value below the threshold value are included in the dark regions and at Paragraph 0041 counting the bright pixels in the thresholded image and divding this number by the total number of pixels contained in the region of interest and determining malignant or benign lesion based on the numerical value S2.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Makin’s display of tumor growth/progression into Atsumori’s method of displaying tumor in relation to the number of pixels corresponding to the first intensity interval. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have shown tumor growth over time based on the scans of an organ over time.
Additionally, Okuda teaches the claim progression of a lesion. Okuda teaches at FIG. 9 and Paragraph 0066 using 3D representations of a lesion to identify one or more changes in one or more of the lesion’s characteristics over time and FIGS. 10A-10B and Paragraph 0068 the first 3D representation may be compared to the second 3D representation to identify one or more changes in one or more of the lesion’s characteristics including lesion’s shape, geometry, size, topology, volume, surface area. Okuda teaches that the lesion is identified using the Q-Mat method to extract the medial axis vertices of the segmented contrast enhancing shell of the tumor and at Paragraph 0051-0052 that a 3D distance transform and intensity histogram 744, 844 was then created with the Z axis representing the number of pixels in each transform distance and intensity grid.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Okuda’s display of tumor growth/progression into Atsumori’s method of displaying tumor in relation to the number of pixels corresponding to the first intensity interval. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have shown tumor growth over time based on the scans of an organ over time.
Re Claim 3:
Claim 3 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the second assistant information comprises information for visualizing at least one of first interval distribution information or the second interval distribution information.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the second assistant information comprises information for visualizing at least one of first interval distribution information or the second interval distribution information (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 4:
Claim 4 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 3 except additional claim limitation that the second assistant information further comprises at least one of a first visualization element representative of the first interval distribution information or a second visualization element representative of the second interval distribution information.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the second assistant information further comprises at least one of a first visualization element representative of the first interval distribution information or a second visualization element representative of the second interval distribution information (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 5:
Claim 5 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the second assistant information comprises at least one of first interval distribution quantification information corresponding to the first interval of the signal intensity values within the target region or second interval distribution quantification information corresponding to the second interval of the signal intensity values within the target region.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the second assistant information comprises at least one of first interval distribution quantification information corresponding to the first interval of the signal intensity values within the target region or second interval distribution quantification information corresponding to the second interval of the signal intensity values within the target region (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 6:
Claim 6 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 5 except additional claim limitation that the first interval distribution quantification information comprises at least one of a percentile, maximum value, minimum value, mean value, mode value, or median value of pixels/voxels of signal intensity values within the target region corresponding to the first interval, and wherein the second interval distribution quantification information comprises at least one of a percentile, maximum value, minimum value, mean value, mode value, or median value of pixels/voxels of signal intensity values within the target region corresponding to the second interval.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the first interval distribution quantification information comprises at least one of a percentile, maximum value, minimum value, mean value, mode value, or median value of pixels/voxels of signal intensity values within the target region corresponding to the first interval, and wherein the second interval distribution quantification information comprises at least one of a percentile, maximum value, minimum value, mean value, mode value, or median value of pixels/voxels of signal intensity values within the target region corresponding to the second interval (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 7:
Claim 7 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the processor is further configured to generate at least one of: first overlay visualization information on the medical image for at least one first sub-region within the target region corresponding to the first interval; or second overlay visualization information on the medical image for at least one second sub-region within the target region corresponding to the second interval.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the processor is further configured to generate at least one of: first overlay visualization information on the medical image for at least one first sub-region within the target region corresponding to the first interval; or second overlay visualization information on the medical image for at least one second sub-region within the target region corresponding to the second interval (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 8:
Claim 8 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 7 except additional claim limitation that the processor is further configured to: generate the first overlay visualization information when a user input for the first interval associated with the second assistant information is recognized; and generate the second overlay visualization information when a user input for the second interval associated with the second assistant information is recognized.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the processor is further configured to: generate the first overlay visualization information when a user input for the first interval associated with the second assistant information is recognized; and generate the second overlay visualization information when a user input for the second interval associated with the second assistant information is recognized (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 9:
Claim 9 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 1 except additional claim limitation wherein the first threshold is associated with at least one of a presence/absence, progress, or severity of a disease associated with the target region.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation wherein the first threshold is associated with at least one of a presence/absence, progress, or severity of a disease associated with the target region (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120).
Re Claim 10:
The claim 10 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that information about the target region is segmentation information about a boundary of the target region.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that information about the target region is segmentation information about a boundary of the target region (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 11:
Claim 11 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the target region is a finding region detected in association with a disease or lesion in the medical image.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the target region is a finding region detected in association with a disease or lesion in the medical image (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 12:
Claim 12 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the target region is a region obtained as a result of segmentation of an anatomical structure in the medical image.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the target region is a region obtained as a result of segmentation of an anatomical structure in the medical image (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0058 that FIG. 6 illustrates a medical image 201 related to a brain.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 13:
Claim 13 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the processor is further configured to generate the first assistant information further including a second threshold value for the signal intensity values within the target region, and wherein the signal intensity values within the target region are classified into a first interval corresponding to a first state, a second interval corresponding to a second state, and a third interval corresponding to a third state based on the first threshold and the second threshold.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the processor is further configured to generate the first assistant information further including a second threshold value for the signal intensity values within the target region, and wherein the signal intensity values within the target region are classified into a first interval corresponding to a first state, a second interval corresponding to a second state, and a third interval corresponding to a third state based on the first threshold and the second threshold (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0058 that FIG. 6 illustrates a medical image 201 related to a brain.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 14:
Claim 14 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the distribution information is histogram information corresponding to a distribution of the signal intensity values of pixels/voxels within the target region.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the distribution information is histogram information corresponding to a distribution of the signal intensity values of pixels/voxels within the target region (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
It is noted that the histograms 301 and 302 includes the first interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 301 and the second interval distribution 608/576 of the histogram 302 within the target lesion region. Moreover, the histogram 301 includes the first interval distribution 576 and the second interval distribution 608.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0058 that FIG. 6 illustrates a medical image 201 related to a brain.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0114] that the threshold setting unit 106 may set two thresholds in step S151 of FIG. 4. In this case, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects a first intensity value group having a minimum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than a threshold (for example, “0.95”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a bright pixel) having an intensity value greater than the value of the selected, first intensity value group. The intensity value determination unit 107 also selects a second intensity value group having a maximum percentile rank among intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or lower than another threshold (for example, “0.05”). Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights a pixel (referred to as a dark pixel) having an intensity value smaller than the value of the selected, second intensity value group. Then, the display processing unit 108 highlights the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A. In this way, it is possible to highlight both a bright portion and a dark portion of the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 displaying the intensity value groups to include the intensity value distribution information 301 and 302 the intensity value group 576.
Atsumori teaches that the signal intensity values within the lesion are classified into a first interval (first intensity value group 608/576 of the first histogram 301) corresponding to a first state (the inner region 212) and a second interval (a second intensity value group 608/576 of the second histogram 302) corresponding to a second state (peripheral region 222) based on the set threshold as disclosed in Paragraph 0086.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution, which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222 that have been set.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0087] Subsequently, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts an intensity value group having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Thus, the intensity value determination unit 107 extracts the intensity value to be highlighted on the basis of the threshold set in the ratio difference rank distribution 330b. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, since the threshold is “0.95”, the intensity value group whose percentile rank is in the top 5% is extracted. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, intensity value groups “608” and “576” are extracted as the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold (indicated by white circles 332 in FIG. 12). Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the smallest intensity value group among the extracted intensity value groups. In the example illustrated in FIG. 12, the intensity value group “576” is selected.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 13 and Paragraph 0089 that the intensity value determination unit 107 selects the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. A broken line 341 in FIG. 13 indicates the intensity value group “576” selected as the minimum intensity value group among the intensity value groups having a percentile rank equal to or higher than the threshold. Then, the intensity value determination unit 107 selects an intensity value (that is, an intensity value of “577” or more) that is larger than a value (“576”) of the selected intensity value group “576” in the inner region 212.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0091] FIG. 14 illustrates the medical image (second image) 201A that is the result of lesion highlighting processing according to the present embodiment. In the medical image 201A, pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” selected in FIG. 13 are highlighted as indicated by reference numeral 351. That is, the display processing unit 108 determines the pixel to be highlighted on the basis of the intensity value determined by the intensity value determination unit 107, and displays the medical image 201A in which said pixel is highlighted on the display device 132.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0102] On the screen 430 and the screen 440, a lesion 431 is highlighted. The lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
Atsumori teaches at FIGS. 13-15 and Paragraph 0064 that the histogram 301 shown using black bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the inner region and the histogram 302 shown using hatched bars indicates the intensity value group ratio in the peripheral region 222).
Re Claim 15:
Atsumori teaches a medical image diagnosis assistant apparatus comprising a
processor, wherein the processor is configured to (
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 3 and Paragraph 0119 that the described functions may be implemented through software by using a processor such as a CPU 112 to interpret and execute a program for realizing each function and a program may be stored in a storage device such as a memory 111):
acquire information about at least one first target region indicating one or more of a lesion or a finding including a lesion candidate in a first medical image acquired at a first time for a subject (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0028-0029 that an image processing system Z includes a medical image capturing unit M and the image processing apparatus 1 performs lesion highlighting processing of highlighting a lesion in the medical image 201.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0096 that a place suspected as a lesion is displayed in the region 202 and at Paragraph 0102 that a lesion 431 is highlighted and the lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 of FIG. 14. Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120);
acquire information about at least one second target region in a second medical image acquired at a second time for the subject (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0096 that a place suspected as a lesion is displayed in the region 202 and at Paragraph 0102 that a lesion 431 is highlighted and the lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 of FIG. 14. Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120);
generate first distribution information, wherein signal intensity values within the first target region are classified into a first interval corresponding to a first state and a second interval corresponding to a second state based on a first threshold of the signal intensity values (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0096 that a place suspected as a lesion is displayed in the region 202 and at Paragraph 0102 that a lesion 431 is highlighted and the lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 of FIG. 14. Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
For example, Atsumori teaches at FIG. 6 and FIG. 14 visualizing the inner region based on a first interval distribution information including the intensity values of the pixels of the target lesion region highlighted and second internal distribution information including the intensity values of the pixels of the non-lesion region included in the second assistant information.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0089-0091 that the intensity values in the inner region 212 are grouped into a first intensity value groups with intensity value of 577 or more of pixels of the lesion region and a second intensity value groups with the intensity value group with intensity value of equal to or less than 576 wherein pixels of the non-lesion region having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value 577 are highlighted while the second intensity value groups are not highlighted based on the intensity value threshold 576.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 6 and FIGS. 13-14 that the intensity values of the inner region 211 are classified into a first interval corresponding to the intervals 224/256 and a second interval corresponding to the interval 672/704 and intensity values of the peripheral region 222 are also classified into a third interval corresponding to the intervals 512/544 and a fourth interval corresponding to the intervals 608/640 where the first threshold is applied to both the inner region and peripheral region); and
generate second distribution information, wherein the signal intensity values within the second target region are classified into a third interval corresponding to the first state and a fourth interval corresponding to the second state based on the first threshold (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0096 that a place suspected as a lesion is displayed in the region 202 and at Paragraph 0102 that a lesion 431 is highlighted and the lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 of FIG. 14. Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
Schirman teaches at [0033] Each of the plurality of probability distributions represents a different type of change. A non-limiting example may be a first probability distribution estimated from the observed intensity distribution may represent tumor growth, a second probability distribution may represent a transition zone, and a third probability distribution may represent edema. Having estimated these different probability distributions, intensity intervals may be determined which each represent the different type of change. For example, each intensity interval may be selected as being an interval where the respective probability distribution is larger than other probability distributions, denoting that an intensity falling within the intensity range is most likely to be associated with the type of change represented by the particular probability distribution. Having determined the plurality of intensity intervals, the image data in the difference image may be labeled accordingly, in that suitable metadata may be created. It is noted that the labeling may not need to represent a biological interpretation, e.g., whether it is tumor growth, transition zone or edema, but rather merely represent different labeling, e.g., type A, type B and type C, which allows such biological interpretation to be subsequently assigned, e.g., by a radiologist or an automatic classification algorithm. Thus, it can be distinguished between different types of change if a change has been occurred, i.e. the change can be characterized. This characterization of the change can be regarded as a modelling of different classes of change within a “changed” class.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 6 and FIGS. 13-14 that the intensity values of the inner region 211 are classified into a first interval corresponding to the intervals 224/256 and a second interval corresponding to the interval 672/704 and intensity values of the peripheral region 222 are also classified into a third interval corresponding to the intervals 512/544 and a fourth interval corresponding to the intervals 608/640 where the first threshold is applied to both the inner region and peripheral region.
Moreover, Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. Accordingly, the first inner region of the first lesion are classified into the first interval and second interval and the second inner region of the second lesion can be classified into the third interval and fourth interval using the same threshold).
Atsumori at least suggests the claim limitation:
wherein the first distribution information includes first interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the first interval and second interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the second interval; and
wherein the second distribution information includes third interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the third interval and fourth interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the fourth interval
(Atsumori teaches at 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 8 and Paragraph 0067 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 divides the number of pixels of each intensity value group by a total number of pixels of the inner region 212 (the number of pixels constituting the inner region 212). Thus, the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates a ratio (referred to as the intensity value group ratio) of pixels having each intensity value group in the inner region 212 (S122 of FIG. 7). The intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups (meeting first interval distribution quantification information and second interval distribution quantification information) in the inner region 212 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, first intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 301 shown using black bars as illustrated in FIG. 8.and at Paragraph 0070 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups ((meeting third interval distribution quantification information and fourth interval distribution quantification information))in the peripheral region 222 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, second intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 302 indicated by hatched bars as illustrated in FIG. 8),
wherein the first interval distribution quantification information and the second interval distribution quantification information are provided as quantification information indicating one or more of a characteristic of the lesion or the finding within the first target region, or a progression of the lesion or the finding within the first target region (Atsumori teaches at FIG. 8 and Paragraph 0067 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 divides the number of pixels of each intensity value group by a total number of pixels of the inner region 212 (the number of pixels constituting the inner region 212). Thus, the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates a ratio (referred to as the intensity value group ratio) of pixels having each intensity value group in the inner region 212 (S122 of FIG. 7). The intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups (meeting first interval distribution quantification information and second interval distribution quantification information) in the inner region 212 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, first intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 301 shown using black bars as illustrated in FIG. 8),
wherein the third interval distribution quantification information and the fourth interval distribution quantification information are provided as quantification information indicating one or more of a characteristic of the lesion or the finding within the second target region, or a progression of the lesion or the finding within the second target region (Atsumori teaches at FIG. 8.and at Paragraph 0070 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups ((meeting third interval distribution quantification information and fourth interval distribution quantification information))in the peripheral region 222 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, second intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 302 indicated by hatched bars as illustrated in FIG. 8), and
wherein a change between a first diagnostic characteristic of the first target region and a second diagnostic characteristic of the second target region is visualized based on at least one of:
a first change between the first interval distribution quantification information and the third interval distribution quantification information; or
a second change between the second interval distribution quantification information and the fourth interval distribution quantification information.
(
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0102 that the lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 in FIG. 14.
When the number of pixels characterized by first interval distribution quantification information and the third interval distribution quantification information has been changed, the size of the lesion should be changed accordingly. When the number of pixels characterized by the second interval distribution quantification information and the fourth interval distribution quantification information has been changed, the size of the lesion should be changed accordingly.
Atsumori teaches at 0034 that histograms 301 and 302 are a first intensity value frequency distribution and a second intensity value frequency distribution which are information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value for the inner region 212 and peripheral region 222.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 8 and Paragraph 0067 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 divides the number of pixels of each intensity value group by a total number of pixels of the inner region 212 (the number of pixels constituting the inner region 212). Thus, the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates a ratio (referred to as the intensity value group ratio) of pixels having each intensity value group in the inner region 212 (S122 of FIG. 7). The intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups in the inner region 212 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, first intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 301 shown using black bars as illustrated in FIG. 8.and at Paragraph 0070 that the intensity value group ratio distribution calculation unit 103 calculates the intensity value group ratios for all the target intensity value groups in the peripheral region 222 to calculate the histogram (distribution of intensity value ratios, second intensity value frequency distribution that is information related to distribution of the number of pixels having a predetermined intensity value) 302 indicated by hatched bars as illustrated in FIG. 8..
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0096 that a place suspected as a lesion is displayed in the region 202 and at Paragraph 0102 that a lesion 431 is highlighted and the lesion 431 that is highlighted is a portion corresponding to pixels denoted by reference numeral 351 of FIG. 14. Atsumori teaches at [0115] By highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. The user may add attribute data such as a disease name to the medical image 201A with highlights and store the medical image in the storage device (storage) 120.
The change may be caused by enlarging the medical image (or based on the user delineation of the inner region perceived as the potential lesion region) and processing the enlarged medical image to find the target region (the inner region considered as the potential lesion region) including the actual lesion region and the actual non-lesion region.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0059 that the inner region 212 is set as a region that includes the region 202 considered as the lesion and at Paragraph 0110 that a region range that is selected by a user as corresponding to a lesion is received as an input and the lesion within a designated range is highlighted by simple processing that includes comparing intensity distributions of the selected range and a peripheral region of the selected range.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0089-0091 that the intensity values in the inner region 212 are grouped into a first intensity value groups with intensity value of 577 or more of pixels of the lesion region and a second intensity value groups with the intensity value group with intensity value of equal to or less than 576 wherein pixels of the non-lesion region having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value 577 are highlighted while the second intensity value groups are not highlighted based on the intensity value threshold 576.
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0091 that pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” are highlighted. Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0098 that the user sets the inner line 211 and the region setting unit 102 sets the outer line 221 on the basis of the inner line 211 and the medical image 201A is displayed as a result of performing the lesion highlighting processing. Atsumori teaches at FIG. 15 that enlarging the medical image from the image 410 to the image 420 results in the change of the first interval distribution and the second interval distribution and/or the second interval distribution and third interval distribution such that a different lesion region is highlighted in the medical image due to the change of the first interval and the second interval and/or the third interval and fourth interval for the different regions.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 6 and FIGS. 13-14 that the intensity values of the inner region 211 are classified into a first interval corresponding to the intervals 224/256 and a second interval corresponding to the interval 672/704 and intensity values of the peripheral region 222 are also classified into a third interval corresponding to the intervals 512/544 and a fourth interval corresponding to the intervals 608/640 where the first threshold is applied to both the inner region and peripheral region.
Moreover, Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. Accordingly, the first inner region of the first lesion are classified into the first interval and second interval and the second inner region of the second lesion can be classified into the third interval and fourth interval using the same threshold).
Breugel teaches the claim limitation:
wherein the first distribution information includes first interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the first interval and second interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the second interval; and
wherein the second distribution information includes third interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the third interval and fourth interval distribution quantification information representing a number or a ratio of pixels or voxels corresponding to the fourth interval (
Breugel teaches at Paragraph 0024 one or more of the mode voxels for each histogram and thus teaches first quantification information and second quantification for the first histogram as well as third quantification information and second quantification information for the second histogram and at Paragraph 0008 that the mode voxel can correspond to a bin of the bins having a largest number of assigned voxels for a particular distribution of enhancement values and at Paragraph 0037 that generating multiple regions of interest for multiple model voxels corresponding to the mode of a particular histogram.
Breugel teaches at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0021-0026 the first assistant information for first region 110 of interest includes first distribution information 122 with a first bin and a second bin (or first mode voxel and second mode voxel) within the first histogram 122 representing a number of voxels associated with a first mode voxel and second mode voxels as taught at Paragraph 0024 wherein each model voxel can correspond to an intensity or intensities of voxels within a range of voxels that is most common for that respective range of voxels and the second assistant information for second region 112 of interest includes second distribution quantification 124 with third bin and fourth bin (or a third mode voxel or a fourth mode voxel) representing a number of voxels associated with the histogram 124 (as each histogram has one or more mode voxels).
Breugel further teaches at FIG. 1 the diagnostic characteristic of the target region 110 and 112 can be generated for each group of voxels and visualized based on the first histogram 122 and second histogram 124 and at Paragraph 0006 that the mode value can be used to identify areas of tissue characteristic of parenchyma and at Paragraph 0023 that the mode voxels can be identified and used to generate regions of interest);
wherein the first interval distribution quantification information and the second interval distribution quantification information are provided as quantification information indicating one or more of a characteristic of the lesion or the finding within the first target region, or a progression of the lesion or the finding within the first target region;
wherein the third interval distribution quantification information and the fourth interval distribution quantification information are provided as quantification information indicating one or more of a characteristic of the lesion or the finding within the second target region, or a progression of the lesion or the finding within the second target region (Breugel teaches at Paragraph 0024 one or more of the mode voxels for each histogram and thus teaches first quantification information and second quantification for the first histogram as well as third quantification information and second quantification information for the second histogram and at Paragraph 0008 that the mode voxel can correspond to a bin of the bins having a largest number of assigned voxels for a particular distribution of enhancement values and at Paragraph 0037 that generating multiple regions of interest for multiple model voxels corresponding to the mode of a particular histogram.
Breugel teaches at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0021-0026 the first assistant information for first region 110 of interest includes first distribution information 122 with a first bin and a second bin (or first mode voxel and second mode voxel) within the first histogram 122 representing a number of voxels associated with a first mode voxel and second mode voxels as taught at Paragraph 0024 wherein each model voxel can correspond to an intensity or intensities of voxels within a range of voxels that is most common for that respective range of voxels and the second assistant information for second region 112 of interest includes second distribution quantification 124 with third bin and fourth bin (or a third mode voxel or a fourth mode voxel) representing a number of voxels associated with the histogram 124 (as each histogram has one or more mode voxels).
Breugel further teaches at FIG. 1 the diagnostic characteristic of the target region 110 and 112 can be generated for each group of voxels and visualized based on the first histogram 122 and second histogram 124 and at Paragraph 0006 that the mode value can be used to identify areas of tissue characteristic of parenchyma and at Paragraph 0023 that the mode voxels can be identified and used to generate regions of interest);
wherein a change between a first diagnostic characteristic of the first target region and a second diagnostic characteristic of the second target region is visualized based on at least one of:
a first change between the first interval distribution quantification information and the third interval distribution quantification information; or
a second change between the second interval distribution quantification information and the fourth interval distribution quantification information.
(When the number of voxels characterized by first interval distribution quantification information and the third interval distribution quantification information has been changed, the size of the tumor should be changed accordingly. When the number of voxels characterized by the second interval distribution quantification information and the fourth interval distribution quantification information has been changed, the size of the tumor should be changed accordingly.
Breugel’s display size of the first lesion/tumor region is changed as a function of the number of voxels characterized by the number of voxels within the first bin and second bin, or the number of voxels within the first mode voxel and second mode voxel within the first histogram. Breugel’s display size of the second lesion/tumor region is changed as a function of the number of voxels characterized by the number of voxels within the third bin and fourth bin, or the number of voxels within the third mode voxel and fourth mode voxel for the second histogram.
Breugel teaches at Paragraph 0024 one or more of the mode voxels for each histogram and thus teaches first quantification information and second quantification for the first histogram as well as third quantification information and second quantification information for the second histogram and at Paragraph 0008 that the mode voxel can correspond to a bin of the bins having a largest number of assigned voxels for a particular distribution of enhancement values and at Paragraph 0037 that generating multiple regions of interest for multiple model voxels corresponding to the mode of a particular histogram.
Breugel teaches at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0021-0026 the first assistant information for first region 110 of interest includes first distribution information 122 with a first bin and a second bin (or first mode voxel and second mode voxel) within the first histogram 122 representing a number of voxels associated with a first mode voxel and second mode voxels as taught at Paragraph 0024 wherein each model voxel can correspond to an intensity or intensities of voxels within a range of voxels that is most common for that respective range of voxels and the second assistant information for second region 112 of interest includes second distribution quantification 124 with third bin and fourth bin (or a third mode voxel or a fourth mode voxel) representing a number of voxels associated with the histogram 124 (as each histogram has one or more mode voxels).
Breugel further teaches at FIG. 1 the diagnostic characteristic of the target region 110 and 112 can be generated for each group of voxels and visualized based on the first histogram 122 and second histogram 124 and at Paragraph 0006 that the mode value can be used to identify areas of tissue characteristic of parenchyma and at Paragraph 0023 that the mode voxels can be identified and used to generate regions of interest).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Breugel’s identification of regions of interest for the tumor tissues into Atsumori’s annotating two types of diseases to have distinctly annotating two types of lesions in the same image. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided a lesion annotation system for distinctly annotating two types of lesions.
Gogin teaches at FIGS. 3-10 and Paragraph 0076 that the use of lung reconstruction may result enhancement in lesion detection, evidenced in increase in region corresponding to density 1 as illustrated in FIG. 4 and at Paragraph 0083 that the images 610 may comprise regions (e.g., displayed using different colors in the images) corresponding to a plurality of densities (e.g., density 1 through density 5). The regions may be identified (and thus displayed accordingly—e.g., using a color assigned to the corresponding density), based on processing of the image data using a plurality of range values (e.g., intensity (HU) thresholds) which may be used to define and detect these different densities—that is, with range of values (or any other settings, though not shown) for each the densities (density 1 through density 5).
Schirman teaches at [0033] Each of the plurality of probability distributions represents a different type of change. A non-limiting example may be a first probability distribution estimated from the observed intensity distribution may represent tumor growth, a second probability distribution may represent a transition zone, and a third probability distribution may represent edema. Having estimated these different probability distributions, intensity intervals may be determined which each represent the different type of change. For example, each intensity interval may be selected as being an interval where the respective probability distribution is larger than other probability distributions, denoting that an intensity falling within the intensity range is most likely to be associated with the type of change represented by the particular probability distribution. Having determined the plurality of intensity intervals, the image data in the difference image may be labeled accordingly, in that suitable metadata may be created. It is noted that the labeling may not need to represent a biological interpretation, e.g., whether it is tumor growth, transition zone or edema, but rather merely represent different labeling, e.g., type A, type B and type C, which allows such biological interpretation to be subsequently assigned, e.g., by a radiologist or an automatic classification algorithm. Thus, it can be distinguished between different types of change if a change has been occurred, i.e. the change can be characterized. This characterization of the change can be regarded as a modelling of different classes of change within a “changed” class.
Schirman teaches at Paragraph [0096] FIG. 4 shows a labeled medical image 410 in which a labeling 415 of image data by the system 100 of FIG. 1 is shown in the form of an overlay. The labeled difference image 410 may be generated by the system 100 of FIG. 1 as an output image, e.g., for display to a clinician. The labeling may be performed by determining into which of the plurality of intensity ranges the image data of the difference image falls. Effectively, the pixel or voxel may be labeled to identify to which subpopulation the particular pixel or voxel is estimated to belong. An example of such a labeling is simply type A, type B, type C, etc., or similar neutral labeling. As such, the labels may not directly represent a biological interpretation. Nevertheless, such a biological interpretation may be explicitly or implicitly assigned to the labels, e.g., by a radiologist or an automatic classification algorithm.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Gogin’s characterization of the images with the precise identification of the lesion regions for different acquisition images and/or Schirman’s lesion/tumor progression represented by type A progression, type B progression and type C progression into Atsumori’s method of generating the target lesion region to have performed segmentation of the target region and the background region for the different acquisition images and to have labelled the lesion region as being classified into type A lesion progression, type B lesion progression and/or type C lesion progression based on the different intensity intervals for the different acquisition images. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have performed image segmentation based on the intensity distribution and the first threshold and the second threshold for the different acquisition images.
Additionally, Makin teaches the claim progression of a lesion (Abstract). Makin teaches at FIG. 2B-2Cand Paragraph 0039 calculating a pixel intensity histogram of the selected region and at Paragraph 0044 that the lesions changing in time are determined and displayed and at Paragraph 0008 that pixels having a brightness value below the threshold value are included in the dark regions and at Paragraph 0041 counting the bright pixels in the thresholded image and divding this number by the total number of pixels contained in the region of interest and determining malignant or benign lesion based on the numerical value S2.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Makin’s display of tumor growth/progression into Atsumori’s method of displaying tumor in relation to the number of pixels corresponding to the first intensity interval. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have shown tumor growth over time based on the scans of an organ over time.
Additionally, Okuda teaches the claim progression of a lesion. Okuda teaches at FIG. 9 and Paragraph 0066 using 3D representations of a lesion to identify one or more changes in one or more of the lesion’s characteristics over time and FIGS. 10A-10B and Paragraph 0068 the first 3D representation may be compared to the second 3D representation to identify one or more changes in one or more of the lesion’s characteristics including lesion’s shape, geometry, size, topology, volume, surface area. Okuda teaches that the lesion is identified using the Q-Mat method to extract the medial axis vertices of the segmented contrast enhancing shell of the tumor and at Paragraph 0051-0052 that a 3D distance transform and intensity histogram 744, 844 was then created with the Z axis representing the number of pixels in each transform distance and intensity grid.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Okuda’s display of tumor growth/progression into Atsumori’s method of displaying tumor in relation to the number of pixels corresponding to the first intensity interval. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have shown tumor growth over time based on the scans of an organ over time.
Re Claim 17:
Claim 17 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of Claim 15 except additional claim limitation that the processor is further configured to generate visualization information visualizing at least one of the first change or the second change.
Atsumori further teaches the claim limitation that the processor is further configured to generate visualization information visualizing at least one of the first change or the second change (
Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0091 that pixels having an intensity value equal to or greater than the intensity value “577” are highlighted. Atsumori teaches at Paragraph 0098 that the user sets the inner line 211 and the region setting unit 102 sets the outer line 221 on the basis of the inner line 211 and the medical image 201A is displayed as a result of performing the lesion highlighting processing. Atsumori teaches at FIG. 15 that enlarging the medical image from the image 410 to the image 420 results in the change of the first interval distribution and the second interval distribution and/or the second interval distribution and third interval distribution such that a different lesion region is highlighted in the medical image due to the change of the first interval and the second interval and/or the third interval and fourth interval for the different regions.
Atsumori teaches at FIG. 6 and FIGS. 13-14 that the intensity values of the inner region 211 are classified into a first interval corresponding to the intervals 224/256 and a second interval corresponding to the interval 672/704 and intensity values of the peripheral region 222 are also classified into a third interval corresponding to the intervals 512/544 and a fourth interval corresponding to the intervals 608/640 where the first threshold is applied to both the inner region and peripheral region.
Moreover, Atsumori teaches at Paragraph [0115] that by highlighting the bright pixel and the dark pixel on the same medical image 201A, it is possible to simultaneously highlight lesions caused by two types of diseases. Accordingly, the first inner region of the first lesion are classified into the first interval and second interval and the second inner region of the second lesion can be classified into the third interval and fourth interval using the same threshold).
Re Claim 18:
Claim 18 is in parallel with Claim 1 in a method form. Claim 18 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as Claim 1.
Conclusion
/JIN CHENG WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617