DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-12) in the reply filed on April 24th 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden among the invention groups. This is not found persuasive because:
It is expressed that each invention group required different structural limitation; each different structural limitation required different search queries that not every invention group required to search, such that constituted search burden.
Furthermore, Invention group of system and Invention group of method even with similar cited limitation would still require different interpretation and patentable weight on cited limitation, therefore different search queries and different field of search is needed, such that would constitute search burden, and the different interpretation would also constitute examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims Status:
Claims 1-12, 15-27 and 30-33 are pending.
Claims 13-14 and 28-29 are cancelled.
Claims 15-27 and 30-33 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-12 are examined as follow:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
In claim 7, the limitation “…the magnetic field reduction comprises a design of a pair of induction heating circuits twisted around a central axis, wherein the pair of induction heating circuits have opposite current directions, and wherein a first induction heating circuit of the pair of induction heating circuits comprises the conductor and the susceptor…”, there is no drawing discloses that a magnetic field reduction has a pair of induction heating circuits, opposite current direction, and conductor or susceptor.
The cited limitation(s) above must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim limitation “magnetic field reduction” in claims 1 has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it does not use any placeholder and only with functional language “configured to reduce …” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, there is not any structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is unclear the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “magnetic field reduction" has been described in Paragraph 0047 cited: “…magnetic field reduction 218 comprises shielding 228 surrounding susceptor 216 …”, as some kind of layered shielding material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 7, the limitation of “…the magnetic field reduction comprises a design of a pair of induction heating circuits twisted around a central axis, wherein the pair of induction heating circuits have opposite current directions, and wherein a first induction heating circuit of the pair of induction heating circuits comprises the conductor and the susceptor…” is not described in the specification at all.
Claim 8-9 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is indefinite, the limitation “magnetic field reduction” invokes 112f in claim 1 as a layer of shielding material, but in claim 7 is cited as something that is has circuits, conductor, susceptor and even electrical current flowing different direction in it such as “…the magnetic field reduction comprises a design of a pair of induction heating circuits twisted around a central axis, wherein the pair of induction heating circuits have opposite current directions, and wherein a first induction heating circuit of the pair of induction heating circuits comprises the conductor and the susceptor…”, furthermore there is lack of disclosure of cited structure in the specification for “magnetic field reduction”, it is unclear how to interpretate this claim limitation. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, with the best understand of specification and drawing, as a person skilled in the art, Examiner assumed that such limitation is merely intended to be what the magnetic field reduction “a shielding layered material” is surrounding.
Claims 8-9 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazemi et al (US2018/0270909A1) herein set forth as Kazemi.
Regarding claim 1, Kazemi discloses an induction heating system (conductor #1 and #2, core #3 and #4, web/spacer #5 and wire #60 in fig.7A and B) comprising:
a conductor (conductor #1 fig.7 A);
a susceptor (cores #3, fig.7A) surrounding the conductor (conductor #1 fig.7 A), the susceptor (cores #3, fig.7A) having a Curie temperature (refer as “PTC material” in Paragraph 0042 cited: “…The cores 3 and 4 may be made from a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) conductive polymer material…”, Examiner note: Curie temperature is a primary defining feature of PTC material); and
magnetic field reduction (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) configured to reduce magnetic fields escaping the induction heating system (heater cable #50, fig.7A and B) when the susceptor (cores #3, fig.7A) is at the Curie temperature (refer as “PTC material” in Paragraph 0042 cited above) independent of a layout of the induction heating system (heater cable #50, fig.7A and B) within an induction heating device (heater cable #50 fig.7A and B).
Regarding claim 2, Kazemi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Kazemi further discloses wherein the magnetic field reduction (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) is shielding surrounding (refer to wire #60 surrounding core #3 in fig.7A) the susceptor (cores #3, fig.7A).
Regarding claim 3, Kazemi discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 2, Kazemi further discloses wherein the shielding (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) comprises a spiral (refer to the one or more wire #60 spiral setting on heater cable #50 in fig.7B) of conductive metal (refer to Paragraph 0059 cited: “The wire 60, for example, may be formed from electrically conductive metal”).
Regarding claim 4, Kazemi discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 2, Kazemi further discloses wherein the shielding (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) comprises a braid (refer to the terms of “one or more” in one or more wire #60 on heater cable #50 in fig.7B) of conductive metal (refer to Paragraph 0059 cited: “The wire 60, for example, may be formed from electrically conductive metal”).
Regarding claim 5, Kazemi discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 2, Kazemi further discloses wherein the shielding (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) comprises a foil (refer to Paragraph 0059 cited: “…may include one or more wires 60 wrapped on cores 3 and 4 instead of other conductive material options (e.g., conductive foil or conductive ink)…”) of conductive metal (refer to Paragraph 0059 cited: “The wire 60, for example, may be formed from electrically conductive metal”).
Regarding claim 6, Kazemi discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 2, Kazemi further discloses wherein the shielding (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) comprises copper or aluminum (refer to paragraph 0043 cited: “The conductive material 6 may, for example, be a conductive wire (e.g., copper wire, nickel coated copper wire, or any other applicable conductive wire), conductive foil (e.g., aluminum foil or any other applicable conductive, metal foil), or patterned conductive ink (e.g., which may be film-forming)”).
Regarding claim 10, Kazemi discloses an induction heating circuit (conductor #1 and #2, core #3 and #4, web/spacer #5 and wire #60 in fig.7A and B) comprising:
a conductor (conductor #1 fig.7 A);
a susceptor (cores #3, fig.7A) having a Curie temperature (refer as “PTC material” in Paragraph 0042 cited: “…The cores 3 and 4 may be made from a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) conductive polymer material…”, Examiner note: Curie temperature is the primary defining feature of PTC material) surrounding the conductor (conductor #1 fig.7 A); and
a shielding (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) of conductive metal surrounding the susceptor (cores #3, fig.7A) and the conductor (conductor #1 fig.7 A) configured to reduce magnetic fields escaping the induction heating circuit (conductor #1 and #2, core #3 and #4, web/spacer #5 and wire #60 in fig.7A and B) when the susceptor (cores #3, fig.7A) is at the Curie temperature (refer as “PTC material” in Paragraph 0042 cited: “…The cores 3 and 4 may be made from a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) conductive polymer material…”, Examiner note: Curie temperature is the primary defining feature of PTC material).
Regarding claim 11, Kazemi discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 10, Kazemi further discloses wherein the shielding (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) comprises a spiral (refer to the one or more wire #60 spiral setting on heater cable #50 in fig.7B) of conductive metal (refer to Paragraph 0059 cited: “The wire 60, for example, may be formed from electrically conductive metal”).
Regarding claim 12, Kazemi discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 10, Kazemi further discloses wherein the shielding (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) comprises a braid (refer to the terms of “one or more” in one or more wire #60 on heater cable #50 in fig.7B) of conductive metal (refer to Paragraph 0059 cited: “The wire 60, for example, may be formed from electrically conductive metal”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazemi et al (US2018/0270909A1) herein set forth as Kazemi.
Regarding claim 7, Kazemi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Kazemi further discloses wherein the magnetic field reduction (one or more wires #60, fig. 7A and B) comprises a design of a pair of induction heating circuits (referring to #1-5 in fig. 7A) twisted around a central axis (refer to the axis where #5 located), wherein the pair of induction heating circuits (referring to #1-5 in fig. 7A) have voltage potential (refer to paragraph 0003 cited:” … The bus wires are coupled to differing voltage supply levels to create a voltage potential between the bus wires…”), and wherein a first induction heating circuit (refer to #1 and #3 in fig. 7A) of the pair of induction heating circuits (referring to #1-5 in fig. 7A) comprises the conductor (conductor #1, fig.7A) and the susceptor (core #3, fig. 7A).
Kazemi does not specifically discloses the opposite current direction.
However, since Kazemi teaches the bus wires are coupled to differing voltage supply levels to create a voltage potential between the bus wires.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have try one of the voltage supply level that is having current that are different direction, because the possible combination of creating a voltage difference between two bus wire. In order to generate the desired voltage level that meet the requirement.
Regarding claim 8, Kazemi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 7, Kazemi further discloses wherein the induction heating system (conductor #1 and #2, core #3 and #4, web/spacer #5 and wire #60 in fig.7A and B) comprises a bend (web #5, fig.7A) such that the pair of induction heating circuits (refer to conductor #1 and core #3 in fig.7A) is formed of the conductor (conductor #1, fig.7A) and the susceptor (core #3, fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 9, Kazemi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 7, Kazemi further discloses wherein the pair of induction heating circuits (conductor #1 and #2, core #3 and #4, in fig.7A) further comprises a second induction heating circuit (refer to conductor #2 and core #4 in fig. 7A) comprising a second conductor (conductor #2, fig. 7A) and a second susceptor (core #4, fig. 7A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jenkins et al (US11956865B2) discloses a heating cable may teach all the limitation cited in the independent claims.
Jenkins (US2020/0187308A1) discloses another heating cable that may teach all the limitation cited in the independent claims.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 May 22th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761