DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the submission filed on 9/23/2026.
Claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Claims 17-27 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “simulating a performance of a magneto-optical trap (MOT) that comprises two coils based on the shape of the magnetic coil”. The claims previously refer to a single magnetic coil, then recites two coils, then recites a single coil again. It is unclear which ‘two coils’ is being referred to, and if they are two of the same from the singular ‘magnetic coil’ that was designed. It is also unclear if the simulation itself is ‘based on the shape of magnetic coil’. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasoning.
Claim 8 recites “a MOT”. All acronyms should be spelled out before use.
Claim 10 recites “the magnetic fields of the shape and the MOT” which lacks antecedent support. There was previously only a ‘magnetic field generated by the shape’ and a ‘desired magnetic field for the MOT”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. To determine if a claim is directed to patent ineligible subject matter, the Court has guided the Office to apply the Alice/Mayo test, which requires:
1. Determining if the claim falls within a statutory category;
2A. Determining if the claim is directed to a patent ineligible judicial exception consisting of a law of
nature, a natural phenomenon, or abstract idea; and
2B. If the claim is directed to a judicial exception, determining if the claim recites limitations or elements
that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.(See MPEP 2106).
Step 1: With respect to claims 1-16, applying step 1, the preambles of independent claims 1 and 8 claim a method and a method. As such these claims fall within the statutory categories of process and process.
Step 2A, prong one: In order to apply step 2A, a recitation of claim 1 is copied below. The limitations of the claim that describe an abstract idea are bolded.
A method, comprising:
providing a constraint for designing a magnetic coil; and
generating a shape of the magnetic coil that satisfies the constraint by iteratively (mental process/drawing with pen and paper –observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion):
calculating a magnetic field generated by the shape (Mathematical concepts - Mathematical Calculation – MPEP 2106.04{a}{2}{1}{C} (i-vi)),
determining, using an objective function, a closeness between the magnetic field generated by the shape and a desired magnetic field (Mathematical concepts - Mathematical Calculation – MPEP 2106.04{a}{2}{1}{C} (i-vi)), and
adjusting the shape based on the closeness and to satisfy the constraint (mental process/drawing with pen and paper –observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
The limitations as analyzed include concepts directed to the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III). The claim involves generating a shape and adjusting the shape. The steps are simple enough/broadly claimed that they could be performed mentally or with pen and paper and drawing the shape of the magnetic coil. Thus, limitations noted above also fall into the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas.
The limitations as analyzed include concepts directed to the "Mathematical Concepts" grouping of abstract ideas (including mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I). A claim that recites a mathematical calculation, when the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping. A mathematical calculation is a mathematical operation (such as multiplication) or an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable or number, e.g., performing an arithmetic operation such as exponentiation (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(1)(C). The claim involves calculating and determining using an objective function. Thus, limitations noted above also fall into the "Mathematical Concepts" groupings of abstract ideas.
Step 2A, prong two: Under step 2A prong two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional claim limitations outside the abstract idea only present insignificant extra-solution activity. In particular, the claim recites the additional limitations: “providing a constraint for designing a magnetic coil” (insignificant extra-solution activity - mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Moving on to step 2B of the analysis, the Examiner must consider whether each claim limitation individually or as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. This analysis includes determining whether an inventive concept is furnished by an element or a combination of elements that are beyond the judicial exception. For limitations that were categorized as "apply it" or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, the analysis is the same. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations is considered directed towards data gathering. See MPEP 2106.04(d) referencing MPEP 2106.05(h). Furthermore, as Berkheimer evidence that the claim element “providing a constraint for designing a magnetic coil” are Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional, MPEP § 2106.05(d) (II) provides support that mere data collecting is well understood, routine, and conventional: "The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well- understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra- solution activity:
• Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather
data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary
computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d
607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image
transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d
1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google,
Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives
and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P.,
773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
• Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP
Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788
F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93
• Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115
USPQ2d at 1092-93
For the foregoing reasons, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, and is rejected as not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The same conclusion is reached for the dependent claims 2-7.
Claims 2-7 are further directed towards concepts directed to the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III). The claims involve generating a shape and simulating a performance. The steps are simple enough/broadly claimed that they could be performed mentally or with pen and paper and drawing the shape of the magnetic coil. Thus, limitations noted above also fall into the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional claim limitations outside the abstract idea only present insignificant extra-solution activity. In particular, the claim recites the additional limitations: “inputting the closeness”. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations is considered directed towards data gathering. See MPEP 2106.04(d) referencing MPEP 2106.05(h). Furthermore, as Berkheimer evidence that the claim element “providing a constraint for designing a magnetic coil” are Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional see above cited court cases.
Step 2A, prong one: In order to apply step 2A, a recitation of claim 8 is copied below. The limitations of the claim that describe an abstract idea are bolded.
A method, comprising:
providing a constraint for designing a magnetic coil for a MOT; and
generating a shape of the magnetic coil that satisfies the constraint by comparing a magnetic field generated by the shape to a desired magnetic field for the MOT (mental process/drawing with pen and paper –observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
The limitations as analyzed include concepts directed to the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III). The claim involves generating a shape by comparing a magnetic field. The steps are simple enough/broadly claimed that they could be performed mentally or with pen and paper and drawing the shape of the magnetic coil. Thus, limitation noted above falls into the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas.
Step 2A, prong two: Under step 2A prong two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional claim limitations outside the abstract idea only present insignificant extra-solution activity. In particular, the claim recites the additional limitations: “providing a constraint for designing a magnetic coil for a MOT” (insignificant extra-solution activity - mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Moving on to step 2B of the analysis, the Examiner must consider whether each claim limitation individually or as an ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. This analysis includes determining whether an inventive concept is furnished by an element or a combination of elements that are beyond the judicial exception. For limitations that were categorized as "apply it" or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, the analysis is the same. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations is considered directed towards data gathering. See MPEP 2106.04(d) referencing MPEP 2106.05(h). Furthermore, as Berkheimer evidence that the claim element “providing a constraint for designing a magnetic coil for a MOT” are Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional, MPEP § 2106.05(d) (II) provides support that mere data collecting is well understood, routine, and conventional: "The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well- understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra- solution activity:
• Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather
data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary
computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d
607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image
transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d
1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google,
Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives
and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P.,
773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
• Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP
Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788
F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93
• Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115
USPQ2d at 1092-93
For the foregoing reasons, claim 8 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, and is rejected as not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The same conclusion is reached for the dependent claims 9-16.
Claims 9-16 are further directed towards concepts directed to the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III). The claims involve comparing, generating shapes, adjusting shapes and simulating a performance. The steps are simple enough/broadly claimed that they could be performed mentally or with pen and paper and drawing the shape of the magnetic coil. Thus, limitation noted above falls into the "mental process" groupings of abstract ideas. Under step 2A prong two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no additional claim limitations outside the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no additional limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210398706 A1 (“Fromhold”).
Regarding claim 1, Fromhold teaches:
A method, comprising:
providing a constraint for designing a magnetic coil (Fromhold: para [0038], “The method may further comprise setting a design constraint for a design parameter”; para [0156], “Once a performance target and/or constraints are defined, the optimisation process may be started from initial design parameters for the system (of at least one coil)”); and
generating a shape of the magnetic coil that satisfies the constraint by iteratively (Fromhold: para [0009], “ii) determining initial design parameters for the at least one coil”; para [0010], “iii) modelling performance with the current design parameters to determine a simulated performance against each of the performance targets”; para [0011], “iv) calculating a penalty function based on the difference between the simulated performance and the performance targets”; para [0012] “v) modifying the design parameters in order to reduce the penalty function”; para [0013] “vi) iterating steps iii) to v) until the penalty function or simulated performance has met an acceptance condition”):
calculating a magnetic field generated by the shape (Fromhold: para [0008], “i) setting a performance target comprising: a target magnetic field”; para [0010], “iii) modelling performance with the current design parameters to determine a simulated performance against each of the performance targets”;),
determining, using an objective function, a closeness between the magnetic field generated by the shape and a desired magnetic field (Fromhold: para [0011], “iv) calculating a penalty function based on the difference between the simulated performance and the performance targets”; para [0147], “The optimisation process starts with step 501, with defining a performance target for the system (the system comprising one or more coils), that is defined in terms of both the target field and other performance factors…Each or any of these targets may be expressed in terms of a target range that must be achieved by the design, or as something to be maximised (or minimised). For example, the target field may be specified as a uniform magnetic field over a specific region within a specific RMS error (i.e. a target range, such as 2% RMS error or better), or the target field may be specified as an objective to achieve with the minimum RMS error”), and
adjusting the shape based on the closeness and to satisfy the constraint (Fromhold: para [0012] “v) modifying the design parameters in order to reduce the penalty function”).
Regarding claim 5, Fromhold teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the constraint corresponds to a required field strength of the magnetic coil (Fromhold: para [0147], “achieve the target field”).
Regarding claim 7, Fromhold teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising, after generating the shape of the magnetic coil:
simulating a performance of a magneto-optical trap (MOT) that comprises two coils based on the shape of the magnetic coil (Fromhold: para [0157], “The simulated performance obtained in this way is compared to the performance targets at step 504, and a penalty function determined, for example using a weighted sum of the errors between the simulated performance and the performance targets”; para [0050], “The modelling of the performance may be based on the first and second coils being connected together in series”).
Regarding claim 8, Fromhold teaches:
A method, comprising:
providing a constraint for designing a magnetic coil for a MOT (Fromhold: para [0038], “The method may further comprise setting a design constraint for a design parameter”; para [0156], “Once a performance target and/or constraints are defined, the optimisation process may be started from initial design parameters for the system (of at least one coil)”; para [0073], “The system or MOT may further comprise a support for holding the first and second coil spaced apart and co-axial”); and
generating a shape of the magnetic coil that satisfies the constraint by comparing a magnetic field generated by the shape to a desired magnetic field for the MOT (Fromhold: para [0011], “iv) calculating a penalty function based on the difference between the simulated performance and the performance targets”; para [0147], “The optimisation process starts with step 501, with defining a performance target for the system (the system comprising one or more coils), that is defined in terms of both the target field and other performance factors…Each or any of these targets may be expressed in terms of a target range that must be achieved by the design, or as something to be maximised (or minimised). For example, the target field may be specified as a uniform magnetic field over a specific region within a specific RMS error (i.e. a target range, such as 2% RMS error or better), or the target field may be specified as an objective to achieve with the minimum RMS error”).
Regarding claim 9, Fromhold teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein comparing the magnetic field generated by the shape to the desired magnetic field for the MOT is performed using an objective function that indicates a closeness between the magnetic field generated by the shape and the desired magnetic field for the MOT (Fromhold: para [0012] “v) modifying the design parameters in order to reduce the penalty function”; para [0011], “iv) calculating a penalty function based on the difference between the simulated performance and the performance targets”; para [0147], “The optimisation process starts with step 501, with defining a performance target for the system (the system comprising one or more coils), that is defined in terms of both the target field and other performance factors…Each or any of these targets may be expressed in terms of a target range that must be achieved by the design, or as something to be maximised (or minimised). For example, the target field may be specified as a uniform magnetic field over a specific region within a specific RMS error (i.e. a target range, such as 2% RMS error or better), or the target field may be specified as an objective to achieve with the minimum RMS error”).
Regarding claim 10, Fromhold teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein the objective function compares the magnetic fields of the shape and the MOT in a region where atoms are trapped by the MOT (Fromhold: para [0011], “iv) calculating a penalty function based on the difference between the simulated performance and the performance targets”; para [0147], “The optimisation process starts with step 501, with defining a performance target for the system (the system comprising one or more coils), that is defined in terms of both the target field and other performance factors…Each or any of these targets may be expressed in terms of a target range that must be achieved by the design, or as something to be maximised (or minimised). For example, the target field may be specified as a uniform magnetic field over a specific region within a specific RMS error (i.e. a target range, such as 2% RMS error or better), or the target field may be specified as an objective to achieve with the minimum RMS error”).
Regarding claim 16, Fromhold teaches:
The method of claim 8, further comprising, after generating the shape of the magnetic coil:
simulating a performance of the MOT that comprises two coils based on the shape
of the magnetic coil (Fromhold: para [0157], “The simulated performance obtained in this way is compared to the performance targets at step 504, and a penalty function determined, for example using a weighted sum of the errors between the simulated performance and the performance targets”; para [0050], “The modelling of the performance may be based on the first and second coils being connected together in series”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210398706 A1 (“Fromhold”) in view of “Genetic-Algorithm-Based Optimization of a 3D Transmitting Coil Design with a Homogeneous Magnetic Field Distribution in a WPT System” (“Bilandzija”).
Regarding claim 2, Fromhold does not teach but Bilandzija does teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the shape comprises:
inputting the closeness into a metaheuristic algorithm to deform the shape (Bilandzija: page 3, 3. TX Coil Optimization, “In order to enlarge the homogeneous area of the charging plane and achieve a higher average magnetic field intensity within the homogeneous area, an optimization of the design of the TX coil based on a GA was performed. Metaheuristic optimization methods, unlike mathematical optimization methods (programming), allow the specification of arbitrary cost functions (including non-continuous, non-differentiable functions). There is no exact analytical function that relates our specific TX coil geometry and magnetic field
intensity. For approximate calculations of the magnetic field intensity, the Biot–Savart
law could be applied, but for more realistic results, Ansys Maxwell software was used to
calculate magnetic field intensity. In our case, since there was no exact analytical function to
define the cost function, the simulation of the magnetic fields was performed. The GA was
applied because it is the only type of metaheuristic method available in the Ansys Maxwell
Optimetrics tool”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fromhold (directed to designing a magnetic coil) and Bilandzija (directed to using metaheuristic algorithms) and arrived at designing a magnetic coil using metaheuristic algorithms. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination “To achieve a homogeneous magnetic field distribution with a high magnetic field value and a low profile of the 3D coil structure” (Bilandzija: Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Fromhold does not teach but Bilandzija does teach:
The method of claim 8, wherein generating the shape of the magnetic coil comprises:
adjusting the shape during each iteration using a metaheuristic algorithm (Bilandzija: page 3, “3. TX Coil Optimization In order to enlarge the homogeneous area of the charging plane and achieve a higher average magnetic field intensity within the homogeneous area, an optimization of the design of the TX coil based on a GA was performed. Metaheuristic optimization methods, unlike mathematical optimization methods (programming), allow the specification of arbitrary cost functions (including non-continuous, non-differentiable functions). There is no exact analytical function that relates our specific TX coil geometry and magnetic field
intensity. For approximate calculations of the magnetic field intensity, the Biot–Savart
law could be applied, but for more realistic results, Ansys Maxwell software was used to
calculate magnetic field intensity. In our case, since there was no exact analytical function to
define the cost function, the simulation of the magnetic fields was performed. The GA was
applied because it is the only type of metaheuristic method available in the Ansys Maxwell
Optimetrics tool”).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210398706 A1 (“Fromhold”) in view of “Multiparameter optimisation of a magneto-optical trap using deep learning” (“Tranter”).
Regarding claim 3, Fromhold does not teach but Tranter does teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the shape comprises:
inputting the closeness into a machine learning algorithm to adjust the shape (Tranter: page 2, “Machine learning design”, “The elongated shape provides the high OD required for such
quantum memory experiments and is achieved via 2D elongated trapping coils38,39 and additional capping coils for axial confinement”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fromhold (directed to designing a magnetic coil) and Tranter (directed to using machine learning) and arrived at designing a magnetic coil using machine learning. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination “to optimise the magneto-optic cooling and trapping of neutral atomic ensembles” (Tranter: Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Fromhold does not teach but Tranter does teach:
The method of claim 8, wherein generating the shape of the magnetic coil comprises:
adjusting the shape during each iteration using a machine learning algorithm (Tranter: page 2, “Machine learning design”, “The elongated shape provides the high OD required for such
quantum memory experiments and is achieved via 2D elongated trapping coils38,39 and additional capping coils for axial confinement”).
Claims 4, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210398706 A1 (“Fromhold”) in view of “Design of Magneto-Optical Traps for Additive Manufacture by 3D Printing” (“Zhou”).
Regarding claim 4, Fromhold does not teach but Zhou does teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the constraint corresponds to a volume or a spacing of a container that will contain the magnetic coil (Zhou: page 5, “The size and density of the trapped atom clouds depend strongly on the magnetic field and trapping efficiency. Suppose that the trap volume is VT = l3…”; page 3, “Compared to the twisted bar design in Fig.2(b), this structure better satisfies the three design criteria specified in Section III. It is smaller, makes better use of space around the atom cloud, and all the current flows contribute positively to the desired field profile.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fromhold (directed to designing a magnetic coil) and Zhou (directed to constraining spacing of magnetic coil) and arrived at designing a magnetic coil and constraining spacing of magnetic coil. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination “to reduce the power consumption and simplify the production of the MOT itself” (Zhou: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Fromhold does not teach but Zhou does teach:
The method of claim 10, wherein the objective function considers power efficiency by incorporating a winding length of the magnetic coil (Zhou: page 3, “To change the gradient ratio in the three directions, one may easily adjust the length of the conducting prongs”).
Regarding claim 14, Fromhold does not teach but Zhou does teach:
The method of claim 8, wherein the constraint corresponds to a volume or a spacing of a vacuum chamber of the MOT (Zhou: page 5, “The size and density of the trapped atom clouds depend strongly on the magnetic field and trapping efficiency. Suppose that the trap volume is VT = l3…”; page 3, “Compared to the twisted bar design in Fig.2(b), this structure better satisfies the three design criteria specified in Section III. It is smaller, makes better use of space around the atom cloud, and all the current flows contribute positively to the desired field profile.”).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210398706 A1 (“Fromhold”) in view of US 20130048846 A1 (“Du”).
Regarding claim 6, Fromhold does not teach but Du does teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the constraint corresponds to a field geometry and alignment with respect to laser beams (Du: para [0028], “The configuration differs from the conventional configuration in that two (of three) pairs of trapping laser beams in the disclosed 2D MOT setup do not follow the symmetry axis of the quadruple magnetic field, but instead are aligned with a large non-zero degree angles. In one non-limiting example, an alignment of 45.degree. is selected as an optimal alignment, with the optimal alignment used as a target alignment”; para [0030], “a dark-line 2D MOT system is implemented. This configuration includes (a) an atom source, (b) a bakeable ultra-high vacuum cell, (c) a two-dimensional quadruple magnetic field, (d) at least 6 trapping laser beams; and (e) two orthogonal repumping laser beams with a dark line crossover at center along the longitudinal axis”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fromhold (directed to designing a magnetic coil) and Du (directed to constraining field geometry and laser alignment) and arrived at designing a magnetic coil with constraining field geometry and laser alignment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because “The zero magnetic field along the longitudinal axis allows the cold atoms maintain a long ground-state coherence time without switching off the MOT magnetic field, which makes it possible to operate the MOT at a high repetition rate and a high duty cycle” (Du: Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Fromhold does not teach but Du does teach:
The method of claim 8, wherein the constraint corresponds to a field geometry and alignment with respect to laser beams in the MOT (Du: para [0028], “The configuration differs from the conventional configuration in that two (of three) pairs of trapping laser beams in the disclosed 2D MOT setup do not follow the symmetry axis of the quadruple magnetic field, but instead are aligned with a large non-zero degree angles. In one non-limiting example, an alignment of 45.degree. is selected as an optimal alignment, with the optimal alignment used as a target alignment”; para [0030], “a dark-line 2D MOT system is implemented. This configuration includes (a) an atom source, (b) a bakeable ultra-high vacuum cell, (c) a two-dimensional quadruple magnetic field, (d) at least 6 trapping laser beams; and (e) two orthogonal repumping laser beams with a dark line crossover at center along the longitudinal axis”).
Additional References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited in the attached PTOL-892.
Conclusion
/NITHYA J. MOLL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2189