DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species 1A, in the reply filed on 01/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6 and 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/08/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to the foreign application JP2022-075205. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign application JP2022-075205 has been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2,5,8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the second semiconductor layer part side" in lines 8 and 9 of claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the term “the second semiconductor layer part side” is understood to mean “a second semiconductor layer part side”.
Examiner notes the limitation is interpreted as lacking antecedent basis because although the second semiconductor layer part has precious antecedent basis, a specific side in relation to the second semiconductor layer part as recited in claim 2 does not have proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes claim 1 as a “Product-by-Process” claim as outlined in MPEP § 2113. Specifically, the limitation recited in lines 13 and 14 of claim 1 that reads “the third semiconductor layer part is directly bonded to the fourth semiconductor layer part”. Examiner notes that the limitation noted above is describing a direct bonding process used to bond the third semiconductor layer part and the fourth semiconductor layer part.
MPEP § 2113 (I) states , “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” Therefore, the prior art used to reject claim 1 does not have to directly disclose the process of directly bonding the third semiconductor layer part and the fourth semiconductor layer part as long as the product of the prior art shares the same structure as implied by the process step outlined in claim 1. Therefore, direct bonding process implies a direct physical contact of the third and fourth semiconductor layer parts, which is shown in the prior art rejection of claim 1 below.
Further, Examiner notes lines 15 and 16 of claim 1 reads “at least one of the third semiconductor layer part or the fourth semiconductor layer part comprises a photonic crystal”. Examiner notes that elected species 1a disclosed in Figs. 1A,2 and 3 only shows the third semiconductor layer part comprising a photonic crystal. Therefore, for the purposes of examination in the instant application, the only interpretation of the optional limitation of lines 15 and 16 of claim 1 that is shown in the elected species 1a is understood to be “the third semiconductor layer part comprises a photonic crystal structure” as shown in the prior art rejection of claim 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,7,9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima et al. (hereinafter Kawashima) (US 20100246625 A1) in view of Wierer et al. (hereinafter Wierer) (US 20050082545 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Kawashima discloses in Fig. 1
A semiconductor laser [100] (Paras. [0029]) comprising:
a first semiconductor layer part [108] (Para. [0030]) comprising a semiconductor layer of a first conductivity type [n-type Fig. 1] (Paras. [0030,0082]);
an active layer [104] (Para. [0030]) disposed on the first semiconductor layer part [108] (Para. [0030]);
a second semiconductor layer part [109] (Para. [0081]) disposed on the active layer [104] (Para. [0030]) and comprising a semiconductor layer of a second conductivity type [p-type] (Para. [0030]);
a third semiconductor layer part [103] (Para. [0030]) disposed on the second semiconductor layer part [109] and comprising a semiconductor layer (Para. [0030,0035]); and
a fourth semiconductor layer part [106] (Para. [0030]) disposed on the third semiconductor layer part [103] and comprising a semiconductor layer (Para. [0030]) containing a second concentration of an impurity (Para. [0045]),
wherein:
the third semiconductor layer part [103] is directly bonded to the fourth semiconductor layer part [106] (See Fig. 1), and
at least one of the third semiconductor layer part [103] or the fourth semiconductor layer part comprises a photonic crystal (Para. [0034]).
Kawashima fails to disclose,
The third semiconductor layer part containing a first concentration of an impurity of the first conductivity type (n-type) and,
The fourth semiconductor layer part containing a second concentration of an impurity of the first conductivity type (n-type)
the second concentration being lower than the first concentration
Wierer discloses in Fig. 2,
a photonic crystal layer [7] (Para. [0035]) doped with an n-type impurity (Para. [0035]) and a tunnel junction structure [1] (Para. [0036]) over a p-type layer [116] (Para. [0035]) disposed on an active region [112] (Para. [0035])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the tunnel junction structure below the photonic crystal structure of Kawashima as shown in Wierer and to n-type dope the layers of Kawashima between the top contact and tunnel junction structure as shown in Wierer for the purpose of more effective current spreading and improved carrier mobility. (Wierer Para. [0042])
Examiner notes that when the tunnel junction structure and n-doping of Wierer is implemented into the device of Kawashima, the interpretation of the third semiconductor layer part is layer [6] of Wierer as a first layer of the third semiconductor layer part comprising a first n-type concentration and layer [101] of Kawashima as a second layer of the third semiconductor layer part comprising a photonic crystal structure.
Therefore, the combination of Wierer and Kawashima discloses the limitation of “the second concentration [concentration of Kawashima 106 Fig. 1] (Kawashima Para. 0045]) being lower than the first concentration [concentration of Wierer 6 Fig. 2] (Wierer Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Kawashima in view of Wierer as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein:
the third semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 101 Fig. 1, Wierer 6 Fig. 2] comprises the photonic crystal (Kawashima Para. [0035]), and upper ends of holes [Kawashima 102] (Kawashima Para. [0035]) constituting the photonic crystal are located in a bonding face [Kawashima 106 to 101 Fig. 1] of the fourth semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 106 Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 7, Kawashima in view of Wierer as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein:
the third semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 103 Fig. 1, Wierer 6 Fig. 2] and the fourth semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 106 Fig. 1] are made of the same material [InGaN materials Kawashima Paras. (0035,0062)] (Wierer Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, Kawashima in view of Wierer as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein:
the first semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 108 Fig. 1] (Kawashima Para. [0082], the second semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 109 Fig. 1] (Kawashima Paras. [0032,0098]), the third semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 101 Fig. 1, Wierer 6 Fig. 2], and the fourth semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 106 Fig. 1] (Kawashima Para. [0062]) are each a nitride semiconductor layer part (Kawashima Para.[0029], Wierer Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 11, Kawashima in view of Wierer as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein:
the first conductivity type is n-type (Kawashima Para. [0030]) and the second conductivity type is p-type (Kawashima Para. [0030]).
Claim 2,4,8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima in view of Wierer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xin et. al (hereinafter Xin) (US 20070029541 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kawashima in view of Wierer as applied to claim 1 above further discloses
wherein:
the third semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 101 Fig. 1, Wierer 6 Fig. 2] (Kawashima Para. [0035]) comprises:
a first layer [Wierer 6 Fig. 2] (Wierer Para. [0036]), which is the semiconductor layer containing the first concentration of the impurity (Wierer Para. [0036]) of the first conductivity type [n-type] (Wierer Para. [0036]), and
a second layer [Kawashima 101 Fig. 1] (Kawashima Para. [0035]), which is a semiconductor layer [Kawashima Para. (0035)] containing a third concentration of the impurity [Kawashima Para. (0045)] of the first conductivity type [n-type] (Wierer Para. [0035]), the third concentration [Kawashima concentration of 101 Fig. 1] being lower than the first concentration [concentration of Wierer 6 Fig. 2], [Kawashima Para. (0045), Wierer Para. [0036]), wherein:
the first layer [Wierer 6 Fig. 2] and the second layer [Kawashima 101 Fig. 1] are disposed successively from the second semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 109 Fig. 1] side (Kawashima Para. [0030]).
Kawashima in view of Wierer fails to disclose,
the third concentration being higher than the second concentration
Xin discloses in Fig. 5,
a top n-type layer [502] (Para. [0037]) with a second concentration (Paras. [0047,0048]) lower than a first concentration of a highly doped n-layer [504] (Paras. [0037,0047,0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the n-type doping level of Xin into the top n-type layer of Kawashima in view of Wierer for the purpose of lowering contact resistance and improving hole injection efficiency. (Xin Para. [0039])
Regarding claim 4, Kawashima in view of Wierer and Xin as applied to claim 2 above further discloses
wherein:
the third semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 101 Fig. 1, Wierer 6 Fig. 2] comprises the photonic crystal (Kawashima Para. [0035]), and upper ends of holes [Kawashima 102] (Kawashima Para. [0035]) constituting the photonic crystal are located in a bonding face [Kawashima 106 to 101 Fig. 1] of the fourth semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 106 Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 8, Kawashima in view of Wierer and Xin as applied to claim 2 above further discloses
wherein:
the third semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 103 Fig. 1, Wierer 6 Fig. 2] and the fourth semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 106 Fig. 1] are made of the same material [InGaN materials Kawashima Paras. (0035,0062)] (Wierer Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, Kawashima in view of Wierer and Xin as applied to claim 2 above further discloses
wherein:
the first semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 108 Fig. 1] (Kawashima Para. [0082], the second semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 109 Fig. 1] (Kawashima Paras. [0032,0098]), the third semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 101 Fig. 1, Wierer 6 Fig. 2], and the fourth semiconductor layer part [Kawashima 106 Fig. 1] (Kawashima Para. [0062]) are each a nitride semiconductor layer part (Kawashima Para.[0029], Wierer Para. [0036]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima in view of Wierer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lipson et al. (hereinafter Lipson) (US 6810056 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Kawashima in view of Wierer disclose the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fail to disclose,
wherein:
lower ends of holes constituting the photonic crystal are located in the second semiconductor layer part.
Lipson discloses in Fig. 3,
A lower end of a hole [316] (Col. 5, lines 59-66) constituting a photonic crystal extending to an active region [306] (Col. 5, lines 59-66)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the photonic crystal depth of Lipson as the depth of the hole constituting the photonic crystal of the modified device of Kawashima for the purpose of varying the modes emitted by the device. (Lipson Col. 5, line 67 and Col. 6, lines 1-3)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner particularly notes (US 20120327966 A1) which discloses a nitride based semiconductor device with a photonic crystal structure in a two-part third semiconductor layer.
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828