DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-15, 19-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schreiner: 20170223429 hereinafter Sch further in view of “Information Technology – High Efficiency Coding and Media Delivery in Heterogeneous Environments” (available at least July 2014 and hereinafter 23008 as cited by Applicant in IDS filed 11/22/2023 and copy provided by Applicant 04/23/2018 in parent application) and further in view of “On multiple MPEG-H 3D Audio streams” (available at least July 2014 and hereinafter 34266 as cited by Applicant in IDS filed 11/22/2023 and copy provided by Applicant 04/23/2018 in parent application).
Regarding claim 1
Sch teaches:
A transmission device comprising: processing circuitry (Sch: Abstract: an audio data processor comprising a receiver and operable to generate an output data stream) configured to:
generate a predetermined format container (Sch: Abstract; ¶ 85-90, 93-99, 116-121; Fig 6: data stream generator outputs a particular container comprising plural audio substreams of encoded audio data each among the substreams optionally comprising plural channels and/or objects and additionally comprising interaction control and other metadata),
the container including a predetermined number of audio streams for carrying a plurality of group encoded data (Sch: ¶ 85-90, 93-99, 116-121; Fig 5, 6: a plurality of streams each comprising groupwise associated encoded data encapsulating packetized elementary streams; each of the plural streams, sub-streams, etc. thereof associated upon an outgoing stream said outgoing stream comprising the plural streams, etc. each/any among which optionally comprise plural channels and/or objects for transport over a network);
insert attribute information indicating an attribute of each of the plurality of group encoded data into a layer of the container (Sch: Abstract; ¶ 85-91, 93-99; Fig 4, 5: configuration information in the form of user control data inserted into an outgoing stream; the user control data inserted into output stream and/or by which the output stream is encoded and/or decoded based on first, second, etc. user control, configuration, etc. data associated with a first, second, etc. incoming stream and directive of output parameters inserted into, decoded upon, etc. the outgoing stream);
and
insert stream correspondence information indicating an audio stream including group encoded data into the layer of the container (Sch: ¶ 12-17, 41-51; 142-192: a group ID identifies particular sub-streams/channels/objects operated upon by configuration data including: group number, an element group, a groupwise on/off status for each/any group, a position/gain for all groups, as well as groupwise object and/or element modifications; together these amount to control the particular output of particular channels, a preset configuration),
wherein the predetermined number of audio streams, the attribute information, and the stream correspondence information are simultaneously present within the container following insertion of the attribute information and insertion of the stream correspondence information (Sch: ¶ 85-90, 93-99, 116-121; 126-135, 140-192; Fig 5, 6: system operates to embed metadata into a stream for transmission to a downstream device, the metadata including the plurality of audio streams, inserted attribute information in the form of the user interaction data and stream correspondence information corresponding to both the streams and the determined interactions therewith directive of output into a particular user configuration, specific preset, etc.; in this regard the attribute information, metadata may be inserted and stream correspondence information may also be inserted and use cases exist where both are extant),
wherein the stream correspondence information is different from an object metadata associated with the group encoded data (Sch: 42, 81, etc.: manipulations of audio data for output either by a collection of loudspeakers or as a stream directed to a downstream device comprise adjusting a stream correspondences in the form of channel or object manipulation as directed to particular output channels and/or devices and adjustment of attributes of the audio, streams thereof in the form of adjustments to a loudness or dynamic range of a stream or streams; an output language for a stream the presence of a plurality of these comprises the presence of different information).
Sch teaches a preset collection of groups of encoded data at least in the form of the user configuration data (Sch: ¶ 41-51; 142-192: a group interactivity status allows a user to select a particular track, object etc. from a plurality of grouped objects, tracks, etc. or other preset groups, switch groups, etc.) but Sch is silent regarding the composition of the configuration fields for each of the plural incoming streams; In Sch each stream additionally comprises stream specific configuration and/or preset data which identifies a corresponding audio stream of the plurality of audio streams in which a group of encoded data identified by an associated group identifier is included.
Thus Sch teaches an incoming stream in a predetermined format container comprising a payload, bearing audio streams, substreams, channels, objects, etc.; and additionally comprising metadata including attribute information (Sch: ¶ 7, 12-14: metadata which describes at least the volume level(s) by which a group of audio streams, comprising substreams, channels, objects, etc. are rendered to speakers) said metadata additionally comprising stream correspondence information (Sch: ¶ 7, 12-14, 142; fig 6, 8: metadata which describes how audio stream data, etc. form an audio scene that is rendered to loudspeakers). That is, Sch acquires a predetermined format container such as an MPEG stream, said stream comprising substreams, attributes, and stream correspondence information, and appends additional attribute information, interaction data, etc. thereto in the form of user control data (Sch: ¶ 7, 12-14, 73-77, 95, 142, etc.; Fig 2, 4, 5, etc.) wherein the user control data, interaction data, etc. comprises attributes which enable one or more downstream reception devices to acquire particular portions of a plurality of the group encoded data; said group encoded data in the form of audio stream data, etc.; said attribute information comprising the relevant encoding data of said audio stream data, etc.; and said correspondence information additionally comprising user configuration data (Sch: ¶ 23-29, 45-51, 73-77, 95, 108, 109, 142-192; etc.; Fig 2, 4, 5, etc.: a group interactivity status allows a user to select a particular track, object, stream, substream, etc. etc. from a plurality of grouped objects, tracks, etc. or other preset groups, switch groups, etc. and deliver an output container with particular stream, mapping or layout thereof, group information based thereon), together these data are used by the system to generate an output stream of determined format (Sch: such as depicted in figure 6), such as the MPEG-H, MHAS, etc. stream sent to a rendering device (Sch: such as in figure 8). Generally, Sch discloses a system, method, etc. operable which complies with the MPEG-4, MPEG-H set of specifications (Sch: ¶ 46, 95, etc.) said rendering device thereby operates to receive a stream comprising substreams, etc. and the relevant attribute metadata and correspondence metadata such that the system overall operates to select particular portions of the group encoded data to thereby direct streams, substreams, etc. to particular loudspeakers in a local setup such as at particular volume levels. Sch additionally teaches the utility of a switch group such that a reception device may selectively acquire a second set of group encoded data (Sch: ¶ 145-150: an interaction mode enables the user to freely choose which groups to play back and to interact with all of them such as to adjust attribute and correspondence metadata).
Thus, Sch is considered to teach simultaneous presence of the recited information as it encompasses an embodiment wherein both attribute information and stream correspondence information may be inserted, included, etc. into a container, data structure, etc., which would have them be simultaneously present with any audio streams included therein. As such, Sch discloses a system, method, etc. operable within the bounds of the MPEG-4 set of specifications (Sch: ¶ 46, 95, etc.). Perhaps a volume matrix by which the Sch changes may be effected is insufficiently “different,” to operate Applicant’s invention. Sch is silent regarding the composition of the configuration fields for each of the plural incoming streams; each stream additionally comprising stream specific configuration and/or preset data which identifies a corresponding audio stream of the plurality of audio streams in which a group of encoded data identified by an associated group identifier is included and Schreiner strongly suggests enabling a reception device to selectively acquire a group encoded data of the plurality of group encoded data from the predetermined format container. Sch does not explicitly teach the device, method, container, etc. wherein the attribute information and the stream correspondence information are configured to enable a reception device to selectively acquire a group encoded data of the plurality of group encoded data from the predetermined format container, on a basis of both the attribute information and the stream correspondence information.
In a related field of endeavor the MPEG 23008 documentation teaches:
A stream container comprising plural group information metadata; each piece of the pieces of group information indicating a correspondence between a corresponding group of encoded data from the groups of encoded data (23008: pp 30-62, 303-315: a stream comprises a plurality of groupings or hierarchies of objects such as a numGroups and numSwitchGroups data indicative of groupings of a main stream and additional streams and operable to render data included in the stream the data including specific channel(s), object(s), etc. and/or groups thereof to a specific speaker(s) and/or groups thereof), and an audio stream of the plurality of audio streams includes the corresponding group, by including (i) a group identifier identifying the corresponding group of encoded data from the plurality of groups of encoded data (23008: pp 30-62, 303-315, tables 142, 144: a stream comprises a number of possible groupwise encodings, such as a signal group type or signal switch group type wherein each of a plurality of the groupwise encoding types enumerates a particular set of channels/objects for the stream including substreams, that is, a stream comprises a metadata groupwise type designation of channel(s), object(s), etc. defined as a signal group type for a respective stream and/or set of additional streams, said groups including gain and frequency based rendering matrices),
and (ii) an audio stream identifier identifying an audio stream comprising a plurality of audio stream signals in which the corresponding group of encoded data is included (23008: pp 30-62, 299-315, tables 142, 144: a stream comprises groupwise encoding type identifiers indicative of additional streams available to/with a main stream; when a signal group type or switch group type delineates a particular group type the stream contains a corresponding group of channels, objects, etc. wherein separate substreams which comprise an audio stream are assigned a unique MHASPacketLabel).
23008 further teaches that a single stream bearing the disclosed data is received at a decoder (please see 23008: fig 1). Thus the received stream must be considered to comprise the plural streams, and appropriate metadata.
23008 further discloses that in addition to a rendering, volume, etc. matrix as described above the encoded stream additionally bears attribute information such as dynamic range control (DRC) and loudness metadata which is decoded at the rendering system (23008: pp 84) the DRC and/or loudness metadata is borne as a metadata extension and enumerates particular types of decoding (23008: pp 84-94) and as such are considered distinct and hence difference from the rendering matrices upon both insertion into a stream and decoding therefrom.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine well known metadata such as a group type identifier associated with a particular encoded stream such as that taught in relation to the MPEG container of 23008 with the Sch taught system and method and to thereby populate, insert and/or extend the configuration fields of the Sch taught streams to contain the 23008 metadata. The average skilled practitioner would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of incorporating the 23008 metadata to describe each/any of the 23008 taught substreams which compose a Sch or 23008 taught stream or main stream and would have expected predictable results therefrom.
The 23008 specification treats of how the streams may be accessed by processing at devices configured to encode or decode said payload data such as by including attribute information by which the group encoded data is to be processed; such as a group identifier identifying the corresponding group of encoded data from the plurality of groups of encoded data and an additional group, a switch group, which may be selectably delivered in additive concert therewith and/or in its stead (23008: pp 30-62, 303-315, tables 142, 144: a stream comprises a number of possible groupwise encodings, such as a signal group type or signal switch group type wherein each of a plurality of the groupwise encoding types enumerates a particular set of channels/objects for the stream including substreams, that is, a stream comprises a metadata groupwise type designation of channel(s), object(s), etc. defined as a signal group type for a respective stream and/or set of additional streams, said groups including gain and frequency based rendering matrices); and an audio stream identifier identifying an audio stream comprising a plurality of audio stream signals in which the corresponding group of encoded data is included (23008: pp 30-62, 299-315, tables 142, 144: a stream comprises groupwise encoding type identifiers indicative of additional streams available to/with a main stream; when a signal group type or switch group type delineates a particular group type the stream contains a corresponding group of channels, objects, etc. wherein separate substreams which comprise an audio stream are assigned a unique MHASPacketLabel). The identifiers of 23008 allow a system such as that of Sch to selectively acquire a group encoded data of the plurality of group encoded data from the predetermined format container (23008: 30-62, 303-315, tables 142, 144: such as by access of a particular stream, payload thereof, bearing a groupID and numGroups metadata and encoded in concert with the 23008 specification) wherein the container comprises a plurality of groups of data such as an enumerated group and one or more enumerated switchGroup(s) (id.) These data, datum, etc. allow access of streamed payload information in such a way as to allow particular decoding such as that detailed in Sch such as based on encapsulating attribute information, stream correspondence information and audio data with user interaction data which selectively acquires and maps portions of the group encoded data, audio data, streams, substreams, etc. for particular output such as in a rendering setup particular to a user or determined by a creator and selectively next acquires and maps portions of the switchGroup encoded data, substreams, etc. for particular output in the particular rendering setup.
The container, metadata thereof, of Sch in view of 23008 is considered to teach or suggest the recited wherein the attribute information and the stream correspondence information are configured to enable the processing circuity to selectively acquire a group encoded data of the plurality of group encoded data from the predetermined format container, on a basis of both the attribute information (23008: pp 30-62: such as groups and switchgroups of channels, objects, etc. and volume, equalization, positioning, etc. values, matrices of values thereof); and the stream correspondence information (23008: pp 30-62, : such as groups, switchgroups, etc. of channels, objects, etc. and upmix, downmix, output information thereof with respect to output preset information thereof) and thereby configure a stream with such data for output to a rendering device such as that of Sch in view of 23008.
As evidence consider 34266 which discloses the manner in which the groups of streams and switch groups of streams addressed by 23008 are borne within a single stream and are instantiable automatically under control of metadata or selectably by a user (34266: § 2.2, 2.2.1, 2.2.3: single stream delivery and/or packaged stream delivery wherein the streams of the switch groups are merged into one outgoing stream); the streams therein are considered grouped by attribute (34266: § 2.2: figure) which results in groups, switch groups which comprise plural different additional stream attributes and stream correspondence information such as volume matrices and metadata attributes relevant to the delivery of the streams; (34266: § 2.2.4, 3.1: multiple information streams, configuration structures a such as stream correspondence, channel bed, etc. information and attribute information, such as but not limited to the recited audio description of stream #N packaged into different frames, etc. of an outgoing stream; as also discussed abundantly in 23008) and wherein the stream also transports stream correspondence information (34266: § 2.1, 2.2, 2.2.2, 3.1: an MPEG H stream such as bearing parameters discussed in 23008 and coded for output such as in Sch: Fig 8, 9) and attribute information (34266: § 2.1, 2.2, 2.2.2, 3.1: an MPEG H stream such as bearing parameters discussed in 23008 and coded for output such as in Sch: Fig 8, 9); 34266 also discusses the generation of an outgoing package comprising stream correspondence and attribute information (34266: § 2.2.4, 3.1: thus outgoing stream comprises packaged metadata comprising correspondence and attribute information; again as discussed in 23008). As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize Sch in view of 23008 to create an outgoing stream comprising stream correspondence information such as comprising preset information with respect to upmix, downmix, and target output configurations of groups and switch groups therein (as also detailed variously in the cited portions of Sch and 23008) and additionally comprising attribute information in the form of stream identifiers of groups and switch groups for control of output parameters of the identified streams (as also detailed variously in the cited portions of Sch and 23008) and to package the stream data, correspondence data and attribute information for output by the Sch in view of 23008 system, method, etc. such as by incorporating additional correspondence and attribute information as detailed in 34266 for at least the purpose of utilizing particular functionalities of an MPEG-4 audio stream and/or MPEG H (MHAS) audio stream; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom without undue experimentation thereon.
Regarding claim 3
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the stream correspondence information is information indicating a correspondence between a group identifier for identifying each of the plurality of group encoded data and a stream identifier for identifying each of the predetermined number of audio streams Sch teaches a preset collection of groups of encoded data at least in the form of the user configuration data (Sch: ¶ 41-51; 142-192: a group interactivity status allows a user to select a particular track, object etc. from a plurality of grouped objects, tracks, etc. or other preset groups, switch groups, etc.); (23008: pp 30-62, 303-315: a stream comprises a plurality of groupings or hierarchies of objects such as a numGroups and numSwitchGroups data indicative of groupings of a main stream and additional streams and operable to render data included in the stream the data including specific channel(s), object(s), etc. and/or groups thereof to a specific speaker(s) and/or groups thereof). The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 and 34266 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch, 23008, and/or 34266 to the modified device of Sch, 23008, and 34266; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 4
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The transmission device according to claim 3, wherein the information insertion unit further inserts stream identifier information indicating a stream identifier of each of the predetermined number of audio streams, into the layer of the container (Sch: ¶ 85-91, 93-99; Fig 4, 5: configuration information in the form of user control data inserted into an outgoing stream; the user control data inserted into output stream in concert with first, second, etc. configuration data associated with a first, second, etc. incoming stream inserted into the outgoing stream). The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 and 34266 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch, 23008, and/or 34266 to the modified device of Sch, 23008, and 34266; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 5
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The transmission device according to claim 4, wherein the container is an MPEG2-TS, and the information insertion unit inserts the stream identifier information into an audio elementary stream loop corresponding to each of the predetermined number of audio streams existing under a program map table. Examiner has taken official notice which Applicant has failed to timely and explicitly traverse and it is thus accepted as Admitted Prior Art (AAPA: Please see MPEP 2144.03) that the utility of MPEG coding, including coding of MPEG-TS container, would have been obvious to include in an embodiment of a streaming audio and metadata system, codec, , etc. method such as is claimed for at least the purpose of directing a coded multi-channel signal to a plurality of output channels in a local rendering system (please see MPEG-TS documentation provided by Applicant 4/23/18 in parent Application ). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom without undue experimentation thereon. The average skilled practitioner would have been further motivated to adopt functionality of the MPEG-TS layer such as a program map and/or other information corresponding to each/any of the channels, objects, sub-streams, etc. as such aspects comprise well-known, routine and conventional utility of an MPEG-TS stream. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom without undue experimentation thereon.
Regarding claim 6
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The transmission device according to claim 2, wherein the stream correspondence information is information indicating a correspondence between the group identifier for identifying each of the plurality of group encoded data and a packet identifier to be attached during packetizing of each of the predetermined number of audio streams (Sch: ¶ 41-51; 142-192: a group interactivity status allows a user to select a particular track, object etc. from a plurality of grouped objects, tracks, etc. or other preset groups, switch groups, etc.) (23008: pp 30-62, 303-315: a stream comprises a plurality of groupings or hierarchies of objects such as a numGroups and numSwitchGroups data indicative of groupings of a main stream and additional streams and operable to render data included in the stream the data including specific channel(s), object(s), etc. and/or groups thereof to a specific speaker(s) and/or groups thereof). The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch and/or 23008 to the modified device of Sch and 23008. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom without undue experimentation thereon.
Further, Examiner has taken official notice which Applicant has failed to timely and explicitly traverse and it is thus accepted as Admitted Prior Art (AAPA: Please see MPEP 2144.03) that the utility of MPEG-TS encoding, including coding of MPEG-TS container, would have been an obvious embodiment of a codec such as the one claimed for at least the purpose of directing a coded multi-channel signal to a plurality of output channels in a local rendering system (please see MPEG-TS documentation provided by Applicant 4/23/18 in parent Application ). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom without undue experimentation thereon.. The average skilled practitioner would have been further motivated to adopt functionality of the MPEG-TS layer such as a program map, packet identification, and/or other information corresponding to each/any of the channels, objects, sub-streams, etc. as such aspects comprise well-known, routine and conventional utility of an MPEG-TS stream. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom without undue experimentation thereon.
Regarding claim 7
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The transmission device according to claim 2, wherein the stream correspondence information is information indicating a correspondence between the group identifier for identifying each of the plurality of group encoded data and type information indicating a stream type of each of the predetermined number of audio streams (Sch: ¶ 41-51; 142-192: a group interactivity status allows a user to select a particular track, object etc. from a plurality of grouped objects, tracks, etc. or other preset groups, switch groups, etc.) (23008: pp 30-62, 303-315: a stream comprises a plurality of groupings or hierarchies of objects indicative of groupings of a main stream and additional streams and operable to render data included in the stream the data including specific channel(s), object(s), etc. and/or groups thereof to a specific speaker(s) and/or groups thereof). The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 and 34266 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch, 23008, and/or 34266 to the modified device of Sch, 23008, and 34266; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 8
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The transmission device according to claim 2, wherein the container is an MPEG2-TS, and the information insertion unit inserts the attribute information and the stream correspondence information, into an audio elementary stream loop corresponding to any one audio stream of the predetermined number of audio streams existing under the program map table. Examiner has taken official notice which Applicant has failed to timely and explicitly traverse and it is thus accepted as Admitted Prior Art (AAPA: Please see MPEP 2144.03) that the utility of MPEG coding, including coding of MPEG-TS container, would have been obvious to include in an embodiment of a streaming audio and metadata system, codec, , etc. method such as is claimed for at least the purpose of directing a coded multi-channel signal to a plurality of output channels in a local rendering system (please see MPEG-TS documentation provided by Applicant 4/23/18 in parent Application ). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom without undue experimentation thereon. The average skilled practitioner would have been further motivated to adopt functionality of the MPEG-TS layer such as a program map, packet identification, and/or other information corresponding to each/any of the channels, objects, sub-streams, etc. as such aspects comprise well-known, routine and conventional utility of an MPEG-TS stream. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom without undue experimentation thereon.
Regarding claim 9
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of group encoded data includes either or both of channel encoded data and object encoded data (Sch: ¶ 7, 188, etc.; Table 7: container comprises group types including channels, objects, HOA, etc.). The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 and 34266 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch, 23008, and/or 34266 to the modified device of Sch, 23008, and 34266; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 10, 11, 15—the claims are considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 1 and are similarly rejected particularly in as much as Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests a transmission and/or reception device operable to receive and decode the encoded stream as discussed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The reception device according to claim 12, wherein the processing unit selectively performs decoding processing to an audio stream including group encoded data holding an attribute conforming to a speaker configuration and user selection information, on the basis of the attribute information and the stream correspondence information (Sch: ¶ 85-90, 93-99, 116-121; 126-135, 140-192; Fig 5, 6: system operates to embed metadata into a stream for transmission to a downstream device, the metadata including the plurality of audio streams, inserted attribute information in the form of the user interaction data and stream correspondence information corresponding to both the streams and the determined interactions therewith directive of output into a particular user configuration, specific preset, etc. which the downstream device decodes and renders); (Sch: Fig 5: (23008: pp 30-62, 303-315, tables 142, 144: a stream comprises a number of possible groupwise encodings, such as a signal group type or signal switch group type wherein each of a plurality of the groupwise encoding types enumerates a particular set of channels/objects for the stream including substreams, that is, a stream comprises a metadata groupwise type designation of channel(s), object(s), etc. defined as a signal group type for a respective stream and/or set of additional streams, said groups including gain and frequency based rendering matrices). The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 and 34266 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch, 23008, and/or 34266 to the modified device of Sch, 23008, and 34266; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 14 – the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 9 supra and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 19
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The reception device of Claim 11, wherein the predetermined number of audio streams are present within the container upon receipt (please see claim 1 supra; Sch: ¶ 74; Fig 2: system receives encoded audio data and related metadata wherein the metadata includes correspondence information, in the form of rendering and volume information; and attribute information in the form of additional processing information distance from the rendering and volume information). The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 and 34266 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch, 23008, and/or 34266 to the modified device of Sch, 23008, and 34266; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 20
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The reception device of Claim 11, wherein the predetermined number of audio streams are simultaneously present within the container upon receipt. Examiner takes official notice that the multiplexing of audio streams and audio metadata such that all are simultaneously present in a received container was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention and would have comprise an obvious inclusion for at least the purpose of transmitting media to a user in a manner more robust to temporal distortions or dropouts. The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 and 34266 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch, 23008, and/or 34266 to the modified device of Sch, 23008, and 34266; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 21
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The reception device of Claim 11, wherein the predetermined number of audio streams, the attribute information, and the stream correspondence information are present within the container upon receipt (please see claim 1 supra; Sch: ¶ 74; Fig 2: system receives encoded audio data and related metadata wherein the metadata includes correspondence information, in the form of rendering and volume information; and attribute information in the form of additional processing information distance from the rendering and volume information). The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 and 34266 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch, 23008, and/or 34266 to the modified device of Sch, 23008, and 34266; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 22
Sch in view of 23008 in view of 34266 teaches or suggests:
The reception device of Claim 11, wherein the predetermined number of audio streams, the attribute information, and the stream correspondence information are simultaneously present within the container upon receipt. Examiner takes official notice that the multiplexing of audio streams and audio metadata such that all are simultaneously present in a received container was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention and would have comprise an obvious inclusion for at least the purpose of transmitting media to a user in a manner more robust to temporal distortions or dropouts. The claim is considered obvious over Sch as modified by 23008 and 34266 as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Sch, 23008, and/or 34266 to the modified device of Sch, 23008, and 34266; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in concert with claim amendments filed 2/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that no combination of Schreiner, Info Tech, and Audio Streams teaches or suggests, at least, the feature wherein the attribute information and the stream correspondence information are configured to enable a reception device to selectively acquire a group encoded data of the plurality of group encoded data from the predetermined format container, the on a basis of both the attribute information and the stream correspondence information.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEG 4, H, etc. as represented in part by the cited art supra is directed towards a technology which improves reception side processing of streams containing a plurality of different content data (please see at least Sch: Fig 8, 9: a first reception side device, such as a set top box receives an information stream comprising plural streams, stream groups, switch groups, etc. in concert with correspondence and attribute metadata, repackages said stream to bear correspondence and attribute metadata appropriate to a local environment and forwards same to downstream devices). In this regard Figures 8, 9, or Schreiner depict a process by which group division an audio stream comprises a primary stream organized into sub streams on a basis of stream identifiers, the contents of these streams are shown organized into groups on a basis of the attributes of the contents of the sub streams (please see at least Sch: Fig 8, 9; and the example cited in 34266: pp 5, 6: which depicts that manner in which the Sch coding resolves the claimed subject matter). Thus the prior art rejection describes audio which would not be desired for simultaneous playback, as the depicted stream comprises switch groups, and/or preset groups (see at least Sch: ¶ 42, 145, 147, 190; 34266: § 2.1-2.2.4, 3.1: a map table is considered at least one manner of depicting a preset group, and the switch groups comprise selections of program; please see also 23008: pp 30-62, 303-315: a reference layout, audio channel layout of an incoming stream is re-written such as by Sch and/or 34266 to correspond to a target layout and in this way this comprises correspondence information, such as a map of streams to output channels, and configuration information such as denoting which streams, groups thereof, are to be activated, or switched in, the timing of such switching and the parameters activated by such switching). In this way the prior art combination allows for language audio and other properties to be selected by a user without the other associated audio being changed, this preset association being present in the audio stream itself by way of the Preset Group metadata. Thus the prior art combination is considered to clearly teach that there are various Group IDs, such as preset and switch group(s), stream and substream identifiers, and attribute information such as Channel Data and Object Language Data. In this way the prior art combination details associations between various groups/streams such as using stream correspondence information indicating correspondences between a group ID and a stream identifier. It is this stream correspondence information, in combination with the attribute information, which may then be used by a reception device to selectively acquire a group encoded data of the plurality of group encoded data. Thus the argument is not considered persuasive.
Examiner next argues that SwitchGroups cannot be considered equivalent to the stream correspondence information of the claimed invention because stream correspondence information is explicitly configured to associate Group IDs with streams and is therefore a higher-level piece of metadata than the Group IDs themselves as the use of a SwitchGroup to selectively acquire a group encoded data of the plurality of group encoded data from the predetermined format container cannot be extrapolated to teach selective acquisition on a basis of both the attribute information and the stream correspondence information because neither Info Tech nor Audio Streams teach the use of attribute information in selective acquisition. At best, these references can be relied upon to teach that in an audio stream which has mutually "exclusive" audio such as two different languages, if these audio streams are associated with a switch group, that SwitchGroup can be used to selectively acquire only the desired one of the language audio.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The "stream correspondence" information of the claimed invention is considered equivalent to the data stored within the metadata of 23006 (23006: pp30-67: again the manner by which streams and/or channel within a transmission are ultimately converted, upmixed; and/or downmixed; mapped generally; and ultimately rendered to a target layout) and 34266 (34266: § 2.2.3, 3.1: incoming stream 1 comprises a chosen channel group of channel bed and effect channels as a main stream; at a point in time a switch group may be substituted these have group ID’s and comprise a group of streams with a layout or channel map and a number of streams (such as disclosed 23006:pp 30-33) such that a group ID is chosen from among a plurality of incoming groups) in this way the incoming stream bears attribute data which and identifies streams, including substreams, channels, objects, therein as well as correspondence data which identifies the manner in which streams within an identified group of streams are mapped to loudspeakers. Thus the argument is not considered persuasive.
Applicant next argues that “the mere use of a SwitchGroup to selectively acquire a group encoded data of the plurality of group encoded data from the predetermined format container cannot be extrapolated to teach selective acquisition on a basis of both the attribute information and the stream correspondence information because neither Info Tech nor Audio Streams teach the use of attribute information in selective acquisition. At best, these references can be relied upon to teach that in an audio stream which has mutually "exclusive" audio such as two different languages, if these audio streams are associated with a switch group, that SwitchGroup can be used to selectively acquire only the desired one of the language audio.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and invites Applicant to consider that the taught standard encodes multiple distinct portions of a larger work such as a verse, chorus, intro, output, bridge, etc. portions of a song; scenes of a movie; etc. As discussed in the art rejection supra the prior art combination teaches or suggests that a container for such a work must be flexible with regard to attribute information as the elements therein are dynamic not merely of content; such as when a new instrument emerges in the work, or a helicopter appears in the scene; but also of the playback parameters of the streams, substreams, channels, objects, etc. such as volume, frequency coefficients, and spatial location. As detailed supra this in turn maps upon and into correspondence information of an output map or layout. As such the selective acquisition of audio for output as discussed supra with regard to the prior art combination can and should be extrapolated on such a selective acquisition as the channels and their output are dynamic over time. Further the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim as recited in no way requires such a construal. Thus the argument is not considered persuasive.
Applicant next argues for the limitation of a program map table to a construal preferred by Applicant.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The program map table of claims 5, 8 and 34266 indeed comprises stream and packet identifiers but also comprises optional metadata, said optional metadata is considered to comprise metadata similar to that discussed in the prior art combination supra which is considered an obvious inclusion. Thus the argument is not considered persuasive. As such Applicant’s arguments are not considered persuasive and no claims currently stand allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL C MCCORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692