Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0183710 to White.
Claim 1, White discloses a peg support member 100 for enhanced coupling of a peg to a peg board 30 capable of holding a position of a patient during surgery, the peg board including at least a first peg board opening and a second peg board opening, each peg board opening extending from an upper surface to a lower surface thereby defining a predetermined depth, the peg being configured to couple to the first peg 85 board opening (fig. 8), the peg support member defined by a positioning member 200 having a plurality of embodiments that comprise a unitary body including a top offset from a bottom (10A- 10B,12A,12C,13,14A-14C,15B) a post 85 capable of protruding downwardly from said bottom of said unitary body, the post adapted to couple to the second peg board opening (fig. 8); and an opening extending from said top through to said bottom thereby defining a depth, the opening configured to align with said first peg board opening and adapted to receive said peg, wherein in an assembled configuration, said peg passes through and couples to both said opening of said unitary body and to couple to said first peg board opening, wherein said bottom of said unitary body extends across the upper surface of the peg board from the first peg board opening to the second peg board opening; and wherein, in the assembled configuration, the peg is capable of being supported by a combined reactive force provided by the peg board and the positioning member against a moment arm applied by the patient (fig. 9A-9C).
Claim 2, White discloses the peg support member wherein said depth of said opening is substantially equal to said predetermined depth of said first and second peg board openings (fig. 9A-9C).
Claims 3-4, White discloses all of the limitations as stated above, and the method of supporting a peg comprising providing a peg support member; providing a peg board including a first peg board opening and a second peg board opening; lifting a patient, inserting said post of said peg support member into said second peg board opening; inserting said peg into said opening so that said peg support member is pivotably- rotatable about said post and relative to said peg board, to advance or retract the position of said peg relative to said patient; rotating said peg support member to advance said opening to align with said first second peg board opening; and inserting said peg into said first peg board opening.
Claim 5, White discloses all the claimed limitations as stated above wherein the peg support system comprising a peg board (25,30) coupled to a support table (T); a peg 85 for operably coupling to said peg board and a peg support member defined by an additional pegboard 100; a peg pad 200 capable of receiving said peg in a centrally disposed opening (fig. 12AC,12C,13,14); and the peg pad disposed between said peg board and said patient (10A-10B,12A,12C,13,14A-14C,15B).
Claim 7, White discloses the positioning support member wherein the peg board includes a plurality of openings and the positioning support member comprises an additional post 85 protruding downwardly from the bottom of the unitary body, the additional post being capable of coupling to a third peg board opening, wherein said bottom of said unitary body extends across the upper surface of the peg board from the third peg board opening to the first peg board opening and/or the second peg board opening (fig. 13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claims 1-5 and 7, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. Therefore, the words of a claim are generally given their ordinary and customary meaning. Support is customarily defined something that holds up or serves as a foundation or prop. White explicitly discloses that the positioning support member 200 can be used either in combination with an MPPS having a first pegboard and second pegboard or with a conventional full-sized pegboard and supporting a portion of a patient [0047]. Therefore, the positioning member supports a portion of the patient, and the Examiner reads the positioning members support on the Applicant’s broad limitation since the function of supporting a patient is met and performed by an equivalent means. Similarly, the peg is capable of being supported/held up by a combined reactive force provided by the peg board and the positioning member against a moment arm applied by the patient that inherently keeps the peg support member in static equilibrium. It appears that the Applicant continues rely on broad structural language that fails to clearly distinguish the present invention over the prior art of record and does not preclude the Examiner from interpreting the claims as stated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 10,105,274 to Carn discloses a surgical support having a peg board.
U.S. Pat. No. 7,415,741 to Wasley discloses a surgical support having a peg board.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679