Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The Applicant’s recitations “the opening comprises a first diameter, and the first and second peg board openings comprise a second diameter, the first diameter being wider than the second diameter” and “a third peg board opening and the peg support member comprises an additional post protruding downwardly from the bottom of the unitary body, the additional post being configured to couple to the third peg board opening, wherein said bottom of said unitary body extends across the upper surface of the peg board from the third peg board opening to the first peg board opening and/or the second peg board opening” were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Therefore, since the subject matter of a first diameter being wider than the second diameter, a third peg board opening, an additional post and said bottom of said unitary body extending across the upper surface of the peg board from the third peg board opening to the first peg board opening and/or the second peg board opening was not described in the specification at the time the application was filed and fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0183710 to White.
Claim 1, White discloses a peg support member 100 for enhanced coupling of a peg to a peg board 30 capable of holding a position of a patient during surgery, the peg board including at least a first peg board opening and a second peg board opening, each peg board opening extending from an upper surface to a lower surface thereby defining a predetermined depth, the peg being configured to couple to the first peg 85 board opening (fig. 8), the peg support member 200 having a plurality of embodiments that comprise a unitary body including a top offset from a bottom (10A-10B,12A,12C,13,14A-14C,15B); a post 85 capable of protruding downwardly from said bottom of said unitary body, the post adapted to couple to the second peg board opening (fig. 8); and an opening extending from said top through to said bottom thereby defining a depth, the opening configured to align with said first peg board opening and adapted to receive said peg, wherein in an assembled configuration, said peg passes through and couples to both said opening of said unitary body and to couple to said first peg board opening, wherein said bottom of said unitary body extends across the upper surface of the peg board from the first peg board opening to the second peg board opening; and wherein, in the assembled configuration, the peg is supported by a combined reactive force provided by the peg board and the peg support member against a moment arm applied by the patient (fig. 9A-9C).
Claim 2, White discloses the peg support member wherein said depth of said opening is substantially equal to said predetermined depth of said first and second peg board openings (fig. 9A-9C).
Claims 3-4, White discloses all of the limitations as stated above, and the method of supporting a peg comprising providing a peg support member; providing a peg board including a first peg board opening and a second peg board opening; lifting a patient, inserting said post of said peg support member into said second peg board opening; inserting said peg into said opening so that said peg support member is pivotably-rotatable about said post and relative to said peg board, to advance or retract the position of said peg relative to said patient; rotating said peg support member to advance said opening to align with said first second peg board opening; and inserting said peg into said first peg board opening.
Claim 5, White discloses all the claimed limitations as stated above wherein the peg support system comprising a peg board (25,30) coupled to a support table (T); a peg 85 for operably coupling to said peg board and a peg support member 100; a peg pad 200 capable of receiving said peg in a centrally disposed opening (fig. 12AC,12C,13,14); and the peg pad disposed between said peg board and said patient (10A-10B,12A,12C,13,14A-14C,15B).
Claim 6, White, as best understood, discloses the peg support member wherein the opening comprises a first diameter, and the first and second peg board openings comprise a second diameter.
Claim 7, as best understood the peg support member wherein the peg board includes a plurality of openings and the peg support member comprises an additional post 85 protruding downwardly from the bottom of the unitary body, the additional post being configured to couple to a third peg board opening, wherein said bottom of said unitary body extends across the upper surface of the peg board from the third peg board opening to the first peg board opening and/or the second peg board opening (fig. 13).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0089239 to Whiteside discloses a peg board assembly.
U.S. Pat. No. 8,393,329 to Snow et al. discloses a patient support device.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679