DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 02/12/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 11/17/2025. Claims 1, 6, 9, 11, 14, 31 and 39 have been amended. Claims 1-18 and 31-42 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/ are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Main argument(s):
… For example, FREDA does not disclose "receive, from the UE, a message indicating beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell performed according to the configuration," as recited in amended claim 1.
… In contrast, as discussed during the interview, FREDA does not teach or suggest performing "beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell."
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the amendment(s) made on the independent claims, the Office no longer relies on Freda and instead introduces Josan et al. (US 2020/0267711). Josan’s invention, “Beam Management on a Deactivated Cell”, through Figs. 3, 13 and 14, describe beam management on a deactivated cell, where a base station transmits a configuration for a cell, where the cell is deactivated and is configured with one or more base station beams to the UE, the UE performs measurements and beam management based on the configured base station beams, and transmits a measurement report including an indication of which of the configured base station beams are being measured back to the base station. Therefore, Freda, in combination in Josan, teach and/or disclose the amended features of the independent claims. This response applies to both arguments filed 02/12/2026 and further extends to all dependent claims which depend on the independent claims of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11, 14-17, 31, 34-37 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda et al. (US 2025/0142427), Freda hereinafter, and further in view of Josan et al. (US 2020/0267711), Josan hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Freda teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: (Fig. 1A, 1C-1D & ¶0178);
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration associated with beam-based measurement reporting for a candidate cell set, (Fig. 2 & ¶0088 - The example illustrated in FIG. 2 may consider the different modelings of a cell configuration at a WTRU 202 in, for example, a new radio (NR) network. The network may include a base station 214. ¶0093 - A WTRU may receive configuration information associated with one or more candidate cells. The configuration information may be associated with one or more physical layer measurements for one or more candidate cells … The WTRU may perform beam measurements on a subset of the candidate cells);
wherein the candidate cell set is configured for layer 1 (L1)/layer 2 (L2) mobility, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0093 - For example, a WTRU may receive a set of RRC configurations for candidate cells for L1/L2 mobility. ¶0094 - To support lower layer (L1/L2) mobility, the WTRU may receive a set of RRC configurations for a group of neighbor cell candidates for a given (e.g., current) serving cell. Each RRC configuration may apply to one of the neighbor cells or multiple of the neighbor cells);
and wherein the candidate cell set includes a deactivated cell; (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0087 - The WTRU may apply that RRC configuration, and/or indicate that the cell is in a deactivated state. For example, indicating that a cell is in the deactivated state, may allow the WTRU to perform beam measurements on beams associated with non-serving cells, which may be used (e.g., by the network) to trigger L1/L2 mobility);
Yet, Freda does not explicitly teach receiving, from the UE, a message indicating beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell performed according to the configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Josan explicitly teaches receiving, from the UE, a message indicating beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell performed according to the configuration (Fig. 3, 13-14 & ¶0153 - At 1405, the UE may receive, from a base station, a configuration for a cell, where the cell is deactivated and is configured with one or more base station beams. ¶0154 - At 1410, the UE may identify an allocation of beam management resources for performing beam management based on the configured base station beams. ¶0157 - At 1425, the UE may transmit a measurement report including an indication of which of the configured base station beams are being measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Josan to the teaching of Freda. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications, and more specifically to beam management on a deactivated cell (¶0002, Josan).
Re. Claims 2 and 40, Freda and Josan teach Claims 1 and 39.
Freda further teaches included in the candidate cell set, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0005 - When the WTRU undergoes a mobility event, the WTRU may indicate to the network the identity of the subset of candidate cells on which it is performing beam measurements);
using L1/L2 signaling. (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0004 - The WTRU may implement physical layer-based techniques for inter-cell beam management, including physical layer/layer 1 (PHY/L1) measurement reporting and beam indication signaling);
Yet, Freda does not explicitly teach the message indicating the beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell is received via an activated serving cell,
However, in the analogous art, Josan explicitly teaches the message indicating the beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell is received via an activated serving cell, (Fig. 3, 13-14 & ¶0005 - In some examples, the beam management resources include resources for transmitting or receiving one or more reports indicating a quality of the configured base station beams. The UE may then perform beam management to track one or more UE beams corresponding to the configured base station beams. The UE may transmit to the base station, on an active cell and while the cell is deactivated, a measurement report corresponding to beam management at the UE);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Josan to the teaching of Freda. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications, and more specifically to beam management on a deactivated cell (¶0002, Josan).
Re. Claim 5, Freda and Josan teach Claim 1.
Freda further teaches the candidate cell set includes a set of active serving cells and a set of non- serving cells, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0004 - For example, a WTRU may be configured to maintain configurations for multiple candidate cells to allow fast application of the configurations for candidate cells when a mobility procedure is initiated. The WTRU may use dynamic switching mechanism(s) among candidate serving cells (e.g., primary cells (PCell, SpCell) and/or secondary cells (SCells) based on L1 (e.g., physical layer) and/or L2 (e.g., medium access control (MAC), radio link control (RLC), packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), and/or radio resource control (RRC)) signaling. ¶0087 - For example, indicating that a cell is in the deactivated state, may allow the WTRU to perform beam measurements on beams associated with non-serving cells, which may be used (e.g., by the network) to trigger L1/L2 mobility);
and wherein the configuration indicates that L1/L2 measurement reporting is performed for the set of active serving cells (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0006 - The WTRU may be configured by RRC with a measurement criteria for one or more (e.g., or each) of the candidates cell. ¶0008 - The WTRU may determine the subset of candidate serving cells for neighbor cell beam management. In some scenarios, the WTRU may determine the subset of candidate cells (e.g., serving cells) based on the configured measurement criteria, WTRU capabilities, and/or the number of configured serving cells being utilized by the WTRU).
Re. Claim 6, Freda and Josan teach Claim 1.
Freda further teaches the configuration indicates that L1/L2 measurement reporting includes one or more of: (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of”);
one or more beams per each cell, of the candidate cell set, included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting,
a quantity of beam-based -reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0004 - The WTRU may implement physical layer-based techniques for inter-cell beam management, including physical layer/layer 1 (PHY/L1) measurement reporting and beam indication signaling. ¶0006 - The WTRU may be configured by RRC with a measurement criteria for one or more (e.g., or each) of the candidates cell. For example, the measurement criteria may include a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold associated with the candidate cell);
a quantity of signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratios included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting,
a quantity of filtered measurements across multiple beams for a cell, of the candidate cell ]set, included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting,
or differential reporting with respect to a largest value across each cell, of the candidate cell set, included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting.
Re. Claims 7, 15 and 35, Freda and Josan teach Claims 1, 11 and 31.
Freda further teaches the candidate cell set includes a set of active serving cells associated with an active status and a set of non-serving cells associated with a candidate status, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0004 - The WTRU may use dynamic switching mechanism(s) among candidate serving cells (e.g., primary cells (PCell, SpCell) and/or secondary cells (SCells) … ¶0008 - In some scenarios, the WTRU may determine the subset of candidate cells (e.g., serving cells) based on the configured measurement criteria, WTRU capabilities, and/or the number of configured serving cells being utilized by the WTRU. ¶0011 - Upon receiving and/or performing a beam switch from a beam in first cell (e.g., a current serving cell) to a beam of a second cell (e.g., a non-serving cell), the WTRU may change the serving cell to the second cell associated with the new beam. The WTRU may remove the second cell from the subset of candidate cells, for example. The WTRU may add the first cell (e.g., the old serving cell) to the subset of candidate cells);
wherein the deactivated cell is associated with a deactivated status, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0087 - The WTRU may apply that RRC configuration, and/or indicate that the cell is in a deactivated state);
and wherein the configuration indicates one or more beam-based measurement events associated with modifying a status associated with a cell (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0087 - The WTRU may be configured to switch beams utilized for transmission and/or reception. For example, upon receiving and/or performing a beam switch from a beam in first cell (e.g., a current serving cell) to a beam of a second cell (e.g., a non-serving cell), the WTRU may change its serving cell to the second cell associated with the new beam).
Re. Claims 8, 16 and 36, Freda and Josan teach Claims 7, 15 and 35.
Freda further teaches the one or more beam-based measurement events include one or more of: (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of”);
a measurement associated with a non-serving cell, of the set of non-serving cells, satisfying a first threshold, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0008 - For example, the subset of candidate cells (e.g., neighbor cells) may be selected to be all candidate cells that are determined to have RSRP above a threshold, for example assuming the number of candidates that meet the criteria do not exceed the processing capabilities of the WTRU … The subset of the plurality of candidate cells may include all candidate cells above the RSRP threshold. ¶0087 - …may allow the WTRU to perform beam measurements on beams associated with non-serving cells, which may be used (e.g., by the network) to trigger L1/L2 mobility. ¶0143 - A3-like events may involve multiple cells. An A3-like event may compare a neighbor cell to a serving cell. Alternatively, or additionally, the A3-like event may trigger an event when the neighbor cell exceeds a threshold and/or exceeds a value associated with the serving cell);
a measurement associated with an active serving cell, of the set of active serving cells, satisfying a second threshold, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0139 - A WTRU may be configured with a condition (e.g., a single condition) for a serving cell, and/or a condition (e.g., a single condition) for one or more (e.g., a set or all) candidate cells associated with a serving cell … In some examples, events may include one or more of the following: the serving cell quality falls below a threshold, the candidate cell quality exceeds a serving cell quality threshold, the candidate cell quality exceeds a threshold, or any combination thereof);
a measurement associated with the deactivated cell being at least a preconfigured amount different from a measurement associated with a primary cell, of the set of active serving cells,
or the measurement associated with the primary cell satisfying a third threshold and the measurement associated with the deactivated cell satisfying a fourth threshold.
Re. Claims 9, 17 and 37, Freda and Josan teach Claims 1, 11 and 31.
Freda further teaches the configuration indicates one or more measurement events associated with updating a cell, of a set of activated serving cells, included in the candidate cell set, wherein the cell is configured as a primary cell for the UE (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0004 - a WTRU may be configured to maintain configurations for multiple candidate cells to allow fast application of the configurations for candidate cells when a mobility procedure is initiated. The WTRU may use dynamic switching mechanism(s) among candidate serving cells (e.g., primary cells (PCell, SpCell) … based on L1 … and/or L2 … signaling. ¶0137 - The WTRU may be configured with one or more measurement events (e.g., similar to CHO to perform conditional anchor cell change). The one or more measurement events may be related to the current anchor cells, the current serving cell, and/or any of the candidate serving cells. The WTRU may be configured with a new/updated set of events for conditional anchor cell change. For example, the new/updated set of events may be based on any of the events described for adding a PLMT cell).
Re. Claim 11, Freda teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: (Fig. 1B & ¶0036);
receive a configuration associated with beam-based measurement reporting for a candidate cell set, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0088 - The example illustrated in FIG. 2 may consider the different modelings of a cell configuration at a WTRU 202 in, for example, a new radio (NR) network. ¶0093 - A WTRU may receive configuration information associated with one or more candidate cells. The configuration information may be associated with one or more physical layer measurements for one or more candidate cells … The WTRU may perform beam measurements on a subset of the candidate cells);
wherein the candidate cell set is configured for layer 1 (L1)/layer 2 (L2) mobility, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0093 - For example, a WTRU may receive a set of RRC configurations for candidate cells for L1/L2 mobility. ¶0094 - To support lower layer (L1/L2) mobility, the WTRU may receive a set of RRC configurations for a group of neighbor cell candidates for a given (e.g., current) serving cell. Each RRC configuration may apply to one of the neighbor cells or multiple of the neighbor cells);
and wherein the candidate cell set includes a deactivated cell (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0087 - The WTRU may apply that RRC configuration, and/or indicate that the cell is in a deactivated state. For example, indicating that a cell is in the deactivated state, may allow the WTRU to perform beam measurements on beams associated with non-serving cells, which may be used (e.g., by the network) to trigger L1/L2 mobility);
Yet, Freda does not explicitly teach perform beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell according to the configuration; and transmit a message indicating the beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell according to the configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Josan explicitly teaches perform beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell according to the configuration (Fig. 3, 13-14 & ¶0077 - For example, the UE 115-b may track which of the UE beams is best suited for communication with one or more of the configured base station beams of the deactivated cell … In some cases, the UE 115-b may perform the beam management while the cell is deactivated);
and transmit a message indicating the beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell according to the configuration (Fig. 3, 13-14 & ¶0153 - At 1405, the UE may receive, from a base station, a configuration for a cell, where the cell is deactivated and is configured with one or more base station beams. ¶0154 - At 1410, the UE may identify an allocation of beam management resources for performing beam management based on the configured base station beams. ¶0157 - At 1425, the UE may transmit a measurement report including an indication of which of the configured base station beams are being measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Josan to the teaching of Freda. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications, and more specifically to beam management on a deactivated cell (¶0002, Josan).
Re. Claims 14 and 34, Freda and Josan teach Claims 11 and 31.
Freda further teaches the configuration indicates that L1/L2 measurement reporting includes one or more of: (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of”);
one or more beams per each cell, of the candidate cell set, included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting,
a quantity of L1-reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0006 - The WTRU may be configured by RRC with a measurement criteria for one or more (e.g., or each) of the candidates cell. For example, the measurement criteria may include a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold associated with the candidate cell);
a quantity of signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratios included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting,
a quantity of filtered measurements across multiple beams for a cell, of the candidate cell ]set, included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting,
or differential reporting with respect to a largest value across each cell, of the candidate cell set, included in the L1/L2 measurement reporting.
Re. Claim 31, Freda teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0100 - An example method for implementing L1/L2 mobility may comprise configuring a WTRU with a set of radio resource control (RRC) configurations for each of a group of neighbor cell candidates that neighbor a serving cell, wherein each configuration of the set of configurations comprises a measurement criteria and a transition time period);
receiving a configuration associated with beam-based measurement reporting for a candidate cell set, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0088 - The example illustrated in FIG. 2 may consider the different modelings of a cell configuration at a WTRU 202 in, for example, a new radio (NR) network. The network may include a base station 214. ¶0093 - A WTRU may receive configuration information associated with one or more candidate cells. The configuration information may be associated with one or more physical layer measurements for one or more candidate cells … The WTRU may perform beam measurements on a subset of the candidate cells);
wherein the candidate cell set is configured for layer 1 (L1)/layer 2 (L2) mobility (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0093 - For example, a WTRU may receive a set of RRC configurations for candidate cells for L1/L2 mobility. ¶0094 - To support lower layer (L1/L2) mobility, the WTRU may receive a set of RRC configurations for a group of neighbor cell candidates for a given (e.g., current) serving cell. Each RRC configuration may apply to one of the neighbor cells or multiple of the neighbor cells);
and wherein the candidate cell set includes a deactivated cell (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0087 - The WTRU may apply that RRC configuration, and/or indicate that the cell is in a deactivated state. For example, indicating that a cell is in the deactivated state, may allow the WTRU to perform beam measurements on beams associated with non-serving cells, which may be used (e.g., by the network) to trigger L1/L2 mobility);
Yet, Freda does not explicitly teach performing beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell according to the configuration; and transmitting a message indicating the beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell according to the configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Josan explicitly teaches performing beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell according to the configuration; (Fig. 3, 13-14 & ¶0077 - For example, the UE 115-b may track which of the UE beams is best suited for communication with one or more of the configured base station beams of the deactivated cell … In some cases, the UE 115-b may perform the beam management while the cell is deactivated);
and transmitting a message indicating the beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell according to the configuration (Fig. 3, 13-14 & ¶0153 - At 1405, the UE may receive, from a base station, a configuration for a cell, where the cell is deactivated and is configured with one or more base station beams. ¶0154 - At 1410, the UE may identify an allocation of beam management resources for performing beam management based on the configured base station beams. ¶0157 - At 1425, the UE may transmit a measurement report including an indication of which of the configured base station beams are being measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Josan to the teaching of Freda. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications, and more specifically to beam management on a deactivated cell (¶0002, Josan).
Re. Claim 39, Freda teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0100 - An example method for implementing L1/L2 mobility may comprise configuring a WTRU with a set of radio resource control (RRC) configurations for each of a group of neighbor cell candidates that neighbor a serving cell, wherein each configuration of the set of configurations comprises a measurement criteria and a transition time period);
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration associated with beam-based measurement reporting for a candidate cell set, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0088 - The example illustrated in FIG. 2 may consider the different modelings of a cell configuration at a WTRU 202 in, for example, a new radio (NR) network. The network may include a base station 214. ¶0093 - A WTRU may receive configuration information associated with one or more candidate cells. The configuration information may be associated with one or more physical layer measurements for one or more candidate cells … The WTRU may perform beam measurements on a subset of the candidate cells);
wherein the candidate cell set is configured for layer 1 (L1)/layer 2 (L2) mobility, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0093 - For example, a WTRU may receive a set of RRC configurations for candidate cells for L1/L2 mobility. ¶0094 - To support lower layer (L1/L2) mobility, the WTRU may receive a set of RRC configurations for a group of neighbor cell candidates for a given (e.g., current) serving cell. Each RRC configuration may apply to one of the neighbor cells or multiple of the neighbor cells);
and wherein the candidate cell set includes a deactivated cell; (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0087 - The WTRU may apply that RRC configuration, and/or indicate that the cell is in a deactivated state. For example, indicating that a cell is in the deactivated state, may allow the WTRU to perform beam measurements on beams associated with non-serving cells, which may be used (e.g., by the network) to trigger L1/L2 mobility);
Yet, Freda does not explicitly teach receiving, from the UE, a message indicating beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell performed according to the configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Josan explicitly teaches receiving, from the UE, a message indicating beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell performed according to the configuration (Fig. 3, 13-14 & ¶0153 - At 1405, the UE may receive, from a base station, a configuration for a cell, where the cell is deactivated and is configured with one or more base station beams. ¶0154 - At 1410, the UE may identify an allocation of beam management resources for performing beam management based on the configured base station beams. ¶0157 - At 1425, the UE may transmit a measurement report including an indication of which of the configured base station beams are being measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Josan to the teaching of Freda. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications, and more specifically to beam management on a deactivated cell (¶0002, Josan).
Claims 10, 18, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda and Josan, and further in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 2024/0397394), Ramachandra hereinafter.
Re. Claims 10, 18 and 38, Freda and Josan teach Claims 9, 17 and 37.
Yet, Freda and Josan do not explicitly teach the one or more measurement events include one or more of: a measurement associated with the primary cell satisfying a first threshold, or a measurement associated with another cell, of the set of activated serving cells, satisfying a second threshold, wherein the other cell is configured as a candidate primary cell for the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Ramachandra explicitly teaches the one or more measurement events include one or more of: (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of”);
a measurement associated with the primary cell satisfying a first threshold, (Fig. 1, 6-8, 11-12 & ¶0031 - In this disclosure, the NR serving cells are the most relevant. As defined above, serving cells comprise the SpCell, which is the Primary Cell (in case the UE is not in Multi-Radio Dual Connectivity). ¶0043 - An NR UE in RRC_CONNECTED is required to perform serving cell measurements … The purpose is to enable the network to configure the UE with measurement events (e.g. A3) wherein the serving cell quality (e.g. RSRP, RSRQ, SINR) is compared with an absolute threshold and/or with the quality of another neighbour cell (for possibly triggering an inter-frequency/intra-frequency handover—called in NR an Master Cell Group (MCG) reconfiguration with sync). The procedure is defined in TS 38.331, v16.2.0).
or a measurement associated with another cell, of the set of activated serving cells, satisfying a second threshold, wherein the other cell is configured as a candidate primary cell for the UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ramachandra to the teachings of Freda and Josan. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication systems and more specifically to serving cell measurements in the context of L1/L2-centric mobility (¶0002, Ramachandra).
Claims 3-4, 12-13, 32-33 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda and Josan, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2024/0373304), Zhang hereinafter.
Re. Claims 3, 12, 32 and 41, Freda and Josan teach Claims 1, 11, 31 and 39.
Yet, Freda does not explicitly teach the beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell includes one or more of an L1 reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement associated with the deactivated cell or an L1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) measurement associated with the deactivated cell.
However, in the analogous art, Josan explicitly teaches the beam-based measurement for the deactivated cell (Fig. 3, 13-14 & ¶0077 - For example, the UE 115-b may track which of the UE beams is best suited for communication with one or more of the configured base station beams of the deactivated cell … In some cases, the UE 115-b may perform the beam management while the cell is deactivated);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Josan to the teaching of Freda. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications, and more specifically to beam management on a deactivated cell (¶0002, Josan).
Yet, Freda and Josan do not explicitly teach includes one or more of an L1 reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement associated with the deactivated cell or an L1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) measurement associated with the deactivated cell.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly teaches includes one or more of an L1 reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement associated with the deactivated cell or an L1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) measurement associated with the deactivated cell (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0019 - The L1 measurement configuration comprises a threshold for L1 Reference Signal Received Power (“RSRP”) measurements of serving cell to control the L1 measurement for the candidate cell or neighbor cell. ¶0089 - For the event triggered type, the triggering event may be established as a new event based on L1 measurements. For example, the L1 measurements of a neighbor cell becomes better than threshold value (e.g. an A4event, RSRP, RSRQ and/or SINR value). Please also see ¶0106. (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang to the teachings of Freda and Josan. The motivation would be because the invention relates to methods, systems, and devices for Layer 1 and/or Layer 2 (L1/L2) signaling for a user equipment (UE) moving between cells in a network (¶0003, Zhang).
Re. Claims 4, 13, 33 and 42, Freda and Josan teach Claims 1, 11, 31 and 39.
Yet, Freda and Josan do not explicitly teach the configuration indicates that the beam-based measurement reporting comprises one or more of periodic beam-based measurement reporting, semi-persistent beam- based measurement reporting, aperiodic downlink control information (DCI) triggered L1 measurement reporting, or aperiodic measurement triggered beam-based measurement reporting.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly teaches the configuration indicates that the beam-based measurement reporting comprises one or more of periodic beam-based measurement reporting, semi-persistent beam- based measurement reporting, aperiodic downlink control information (DCI) triggered L1 measurement reporting, or aperiodic measurement triggered beam-based measurement reporting (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0104 - In block 706, the L1/L3 measurements related to neighbor cells (including candidate cells) are reported by the UE to the NW … The UE can trigger the L1/L3 measurement report upon meeting the condition/event for the configured report type (e.g. aperiodic, semiPersistent, periodic, or event triggered). For the aperiodic type, upon reception of a DCI trigger for L1 measurement report request, the UE shall send aperiodic L1 measurement reports (e.g. CSI report) on PUSCH. For a semiPersistent type, upon reception of a DCI trigger for L1 measurement report request, the UE may send semi-persistent L1 measurement reports (e.g. CSI report) on PUSCH. For a semiPersistent type, upon reception of a MAC CE for L1 measurement report request, the UE shall send a semi-persistent L1 measurement reports (e.g. CSI report) on PUCCH. For a periodic type, the UE shall send periodic L1 measurement reports (e.g. CSI report) on PUCCH according to the configured/defined periodicity. (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one or more of”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang to the teachings of Freda and Josan. The motivation would be because the invention relates to methods, systems, and devices for Layer 1 and/or Layer 2 (L1/L2) signaling for a user equipment (UE) moving between cells in a network (¶0003, Zhang).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465