DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to Amendments filed 4/14/2026.
Claims 5, 8, 15, and 18 are currently cancelled.
Claims 1, 6, 10-11, 16, and 20 are currently amended.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200351099 A1 hereinafter “Whitcomb” in view of US 20230261876 A1 hereinafter “Kumar” and further in view of US 2019305959 A1 hereinafter “Reddy”.
With regards to claim 1, Whitcomb teaches
A computing system for implementing a confidential code execution environment for a code transparency service, the computing system (Whitcomb [0012], "a system 100 configured to provide and maintain irrefutable proof of the building, testing, deployment and release of a software product according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As used herein, the term "software product" encompasses any software that is built, tested, deployed and/or released in any form, including a downloadable software application and software stored and delivered on a computer readable medium.") comprising:
a processor and a storage device containing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to: (Whitcomb [0019], “may use any known processor technology, including but not limited to graphics processors and multi-core processors. Input device 204 may be any known input device technology, including but not limited to a keyboard (including a virtual keyboard), mouse, track ball, and touch sensitive pad or display. Bus 212 may be any known internal or external bus technology, including but not limited to ISA, EISA, PCI, PCI Express, NuBus, USB, Serial ATA or FireWire. Computer-readable medium 210 may be any medium that participates in providing instructions to processor(s) 202 for execution, including without limitation, non-volatile storage media (e.g., optical disks, magnetic disks, flash drives, etc.), or volatile media (e.g., SDRAM, ROM, etc.").
receive code data from a producer; (Whitcomb [0028], "An API may define one or more parameters that are passed between a calling application and other software code ( e.g., an operating system, library routine, function) that provides a service, that provides data, or that performs an operation or a computation")
store a code identity artifact comprising the code data on a ledger, (Whitcomb [0047-53], "The type of data that may be managed in the blocks 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 within the ledger 410 could be: The initial SHA (secure hash algorithm) identifier of the source code from the Git repository. The secure hash of the build artifact. The location of the artifact. The timestamp of the start and end of each transaction. The unique identifier of the build, deploy and release requester. Secure hashes of intermediate listings of build and deployment specifics and the locations of the listings."). [Examiner Note: The block is the code identity artifact] wherein the ledger is updatable by an authorized party; (Whitcomb [0036], "In one example embodiment, the electronic ledger may be implemented using cryptography such as e.g., digital hashing and digital signatures, which may form the backbone of the desired security and identification features. In one embodiment, the ledger may be implemented using blockchain or similar technologies. As such, a software product may be built, tested, deployed and released with confidence that software artifacts were not tampered with and that each participant in release cycle was the expected participant (i.e., a members only network).")
Whitcomb does not teach: store an acceptance policy artifact on the ledger, wherein the acceptance policy artifact describes a policy that is enforced on the code identity artifact;
receive the code identity endorsement from an auditor for the stored code identity artifact, wherein the code identity endorsement indicates that the code identity artifact adheres to the policy described in the acceptance policy artifact, wherein the auditor is an approved auditor designated by a relying party, and wherein the relying party comprises a user or a customer of the code transparency service; and
store a code identity endorsement artifact on the ledger, wherein the code identity endorsement artifact represents the code identity endorsement from the auditor.
However, in an analogous art Kumar teaches store an acceptance policy artifact on the ledger, wherein the acceptance policy artifact describes a policy that is enforced on the code identity artifact; (Kumar [0025-27], “The project management artifacts comprise artifacts that are generated during a project management phase such as, e.g., user cases/stories (artifact which describe what the program should do in specific, technical terms), criteria artifacts which specify requirements of the software product and project … As further shown in FIG. 2, various stages generate respective artifacts 210, 211, 212, and 213 associated with transactions/activities that are performed during the various stages of the software development life cycle 200, wherein the respective artifacts 210, 211, 212, and 213 are stored as immutable records in an immutable digital ledger 220 (e.g., blockchain ledger).”)
receive the code identity endorsement from an auditor for the stored code identity artifact, wherein the code identity endorsement indicates that the code identity artifact adheres to the policy described in the acceptance policy artifact, (Kumar [0028], “the requirements gathering stage 201, and the architecture stage 202 generate artifacts 210 such as requirement documents, architecture documents, and sign-off/approval documents by the stakeholders that perform such stages. The design stage 203 and the code implementation stage 204 generate artifacts 211 such as code-related artifacts. The testing stage 212 generates artifacts 212 related to test procedures and test results. The acceptance stage 206 and release stage 207 generate artifacts 213 such as quality assurance sign-offs/approvals by stakeholders to indicate that the given software product meets specified standards for quality and performance, documents related to the release and deployment of a software product into a production environment, and associated release sign-offs/approvals by stakeholders with regard to the release and deployment of the software product.”) wherein the auditor is an approved auditor designated by a relying party, and wherein the relying party comprises a user or a customer of the code transparency service; (Kumar [0019], “Within the SDLC management system 130, the front end and API layer 140 provides user interfaces and associated APIs that allow the users 110 to access the various services and tools that are implemented by the SDLC management system 130 for developing and delivering software products. For example, the front end and API layer 140 provides a login portal to allows users 110 to login to the SDLC management system 130 and provide credentials for a user authentication/verification process. In some embodiments, the login portal comprises different user interfaces to support connectivity with different type of devices, e.g., mobile devices, desktop computers, servers, etc., and different types of HTML-based browsers. In addition, the front end and API layer 140 comprises an API gateway which provides a single-entry point for users 110 to issue API requests for tools and services that that are provided by the SDLC management system 130. Moreover, the front end and API layer 140 comprises a state management layer to (i) handle actions generated by users 100, (ii) fetch and update data”) and
store a code identity endorsement artifact on the ledger, wherein the code identity endorsement artifact represents the code identity endorsement from the auditor. (Kumar [0040], “In accordance with exemplary embodiments discussed herein, the implementation of an immutable digital ledger such as a blockchain for software development provides a mechanism to provide a trusted and immutable chain of custody for requirements of a software product at every stage of the software development life cycle. In some embodiments, requirements of a software product are represented as digital assets to enable clear ownership, traceability and immutability for tamper-proof artifacts [store a code identity endorsement artifact on the ledger]. More specifically, in some embodiments, digital asset tokens are utilized to represent any requirement, ownership, stakeholders, and their agreed sign-off details [wherein the code identity endorsement artifact represents the code identity endorsement from the auditor]. The digital asset tokens, distributed ledgers, and smart contracts accurize the requirements. Also, each requirement is delivered by enabling an end-to-end tracking of the requirement from a requirements phase to a release phase.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Kumar into the teachings of Adams This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of providing trust and traceability of the software development life cycle with a permissioned blockchain system for a ledger that works in conjunction with software requirements delivery lifecycle (Kumar [0018]).
The combination of Whitcomb and Kumar does not teach: before receiving a code identity endorsement, transmit instructions to an archiving service for storing a copy of the code identity artifact on an external system outside a control of the computing system;
However, in an analogous art Reddy teaches before receiving a code identity endorsement, transmit instructions to an archiving service for storing a copy of the code identity artifact on an external system outside a control of the computing system; (Reddy [0073-74], "In some cases, these transactions may read or write records [transmit instructions for storing], for instance, trust assertions in the below-described trust records, indicative of functionality invoked by or performed by the various illustrated components, including configuration supplied by the components, identifiers of the components, reports on outputs of the components, timestamps of when functionality is invoked or a record is output, identifiers of inputs to the components, identifiers of computing devices or operating systems in which the component executes, identifiers of users invoking functionality of the components, identifiers of entities making the components, identifiers of organizations of users, and the like. In some cases, the identifiers may be cryptographic hash digests of some or all of comprehensive descriptions of the respective thing being described, like a cryptographic hash of a set of configuration settings, an executable file of a test application, a source code format file of a software asset, or the like [a copy of the code identity artifact]. In some embodiments, the development environment 72 may include the applications that operate upon software assets before those software assets are refined for purposes of testing or releasing the production, in some cases operating upon software assets encoded in source code format. In some embodiments, the development environment includes applications executed by developer computing devices and hosted services accessed by those computing devices to define source code, including a development repository 82, a test application 84, development tools 86, and code reviewer computing devices 88. In some embodiments, the development repository 82 may include a Git repository or other version control system [to an archiving service] by which a developer, by operation of their computing device, checks out a software asset, forms a branch version of the software asset, and submits a request to merge the software asset back into a mainline branch, for instance along with a record showing a set of differences between the merged version and the existing version.") and (Reddy [0081], "In some embodiments, the decentralized computing platform 80 may be a peer-to-peer computing network in which no single computing device serves as a central authority to control the operation of the other computing devices in the peer-to-peer computing network. In some embodiments, the decentralized computing platform combines a Turing complete scripting language with a blockchain implementation. In some embodiments, the decentralized computing platform is an implementation of Ethereum¹, Hyperledger Fabric¹, CardanoᵀM, NEOTM or the like, or a combination thereof [on an external system outside a control of the computing system].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Reddy into the teachings of Whitcomb in view of Kumar. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar, wherein the code data is stored as an external copy in an external data source prior to the endorsement or verification, as in Reddy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of publishing a software asset to a decentralized computing platform configured to store configuration/cryptographic keys subsequent to eventual verification or endorsement for release of the software to production (Reddy [0230-238]).
With regards to claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Whitcomb further teaches wherein the external system is operated by a party designated by a relying party (Whitcomb [0060], "As illustrated, the software release cycle flows from left to right in the pipeline 600, starting with the build services 620 and ending with the release services 650. Depending upon the complexity of the software being released, the pipeline 600 could consist of multiple test and deployment steps. The illustrated pipeline 600 consists of various build, test, deployment and release services available in the market place. It should be appreciated that any of these could be combined to construct a software release system. As such, and as explained above, it is critical to provide a way to track and audit the release process. As can be appreciated, the ledger 610 ensures the actors, artifacts and flow of the release process is what was intended")
Claim 11 is directed to a method corresponding to the system limitations as disclosed in
claim 1. Thus, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 6, 12-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitcomb in view of Kumar in view of Reddy as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of in view of US 1178062 B2 hereinafter "Lounsberry".
With regards to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
The combination of Whitcomb, Kumar, and Reddy does not teach: wherein the auditor comprises a machine learning model that provides the code identity endorsement.
However, in an analogous art Lounsberry teaches wherein the auditor comprises a machine learning model that provides the code identity endorsement. (Lounsberry Column 39 Lines 7-40, "the score is precomputed and stored with the secret, while in others the score is generated on-demand based on current or historic context from a secret risk-generation system or oracle (e.g., a secret store, a machine learning model) 1308 modulate access based on at least one secret risk score 410; performed computationally; since a risk score 410 is an example of secret risk metadata 302, step 1308 is an example of step 1310 which effects a modulation 600 reporting an attack in a text message, email, generated-voice message, printout, alert, screen display, or other communication to an administrator or to security personnel or both, (b) triggering defense, e.g., by making a remote procedure call, or by sending a message, signal, or other digital action or communication to a tool such as an intrusion prevention system, firewall, or exfiltration prevention tool in order to request (as a possible action or as a command) that the triggered tool impose an access restriction, () imposing an access restriction, (d) locking an account, (e) blocking a location e.g., an IP address or device or geolocation, (f) requiring additional authentication before permitting access, e.g., a one-time password (OTP) sent by text message or email or generated by an authenticator app, or a biometric credential such as a fingerprint scan result, voiceprint, face recognition, or iris scan result, or a verified presence of a hardware token, or a digital token or certificate")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lounsberry into the teachings of Whitcomb in view of Kumar and further in view of Reddy. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar, wherein the code data is stored as an external copy in an external data source prior to the endorsement or verification, as in Reddy, wherein all code is verified with the aid of machine learning for the author to provide authorization, as in Lounsberry. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of protecting data against intrusion and unwanted access (Lounsberry, Column 3 Lines 31-36).
With regards to claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
The combination of Whitcomb, Kumar, and Reddy does not teach: wherein the machine learning model reviews portions of the code data
However, in an analogous art Lounsberry teaches wherein the machine learning model reviews portions of the code data, (Lounsberry Column 39 Lines 47-63, "1402 receive a risk score 410 or risk score component data from a machine learning model; performed computationally 1404 machine learning model; may be based on super-vised or unsupervised learning; may be used, e.g., to calculate a risk score 410 or to determine whether to change 1406 access requirements 1406 change access requirement; performed computationally not manually 1408 access requirement, e.g., authentication or authorization credentials required or procedures that must be completed successfully to gain access to an asset computationally employ secrets-risk-metadata based functionality, e.g., secret risk metadata 302, scoring procedure 1412, or modulation procedure 1414 1412 secrets risk scoring procedure, e.g., software which produces a risk score 410")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lounsberry into the teachings of Whitcomb in view of Kumar and further in view of Reddy. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar, wherein the code data is stored as an external copy in an external data source prior to the endorsement or verification, as in Reddy, wherein all code is verified with the aid of machine learning for the author to provide authorization, as in Lounsberry. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of protecting data against intrusion and unwanted access (Lounsberry, Column 3 Lines 31-36).
With regards to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Whitcomb further teaches transmit a receipt of the received endorsement to the relying party. (Whitcomb [0057], "The notification can be provided to the other members of the peer-to-peer network established for the system 100, if desired and or agreed upon by the members. As such, the method 500 (at step 510) can confirm that the transaction was accepted via the notification").
The combination of Whitcomb, Kumar, and Reddy does not teach: wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: receive a verification request from the relying party;
However, in an analogous art Lounsberry teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: receive a verification request from a relying party; (Lounsberry Column 40 Lines 54-59, "a request for access to an asset, e.g., a login request, a request for authentication or authorization or both, a request for digital signing or validation of a digital signature; may be performed by or via an API, network transmission, or other computing system communication")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lounsberry into the teachings of Whitcomb in view of Kumar and further in view of Reddy. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar, wherein the code data is stored as an external copy in an external data source prior to the endorsement or verification, as in Reddy, wherein all code is verified with the aid of machine learning for the author to provide authorization, as in Lounsberry. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of protecting data against intrusion and unwanted access (Lounsberry, Column 3 Lines 31-36).
Claims 12-13 and 16 are directed to a method corresponding to the system limitations as disclosed on claims 2-3, and 6 respectively. Thus, claims 12-13 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2-3 and 6.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitcomb in view of Kumar in view of Reddy and further in view of Lounsberry, as applied to claims 2 and 12 respectively above, and further in view of US 20200026510 A1 hereinafter "Adams".
With regards to claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
The combination of Whitcomb, Kumar, Reddy, and Lounsberry does not teach: wherein the machine learning model is implemented on the computing system
However, in an analogous art Adams teaches wherein the machine learning model is implemented on the computing system (Adams [0038], “Along with reporting on software artifacts, data from the software development life cycle, or SDLC, may be leveraged to support the control systems such as approval systems or automated deployment systems. This may be achieved by either providing comprehensive reporting to the approver, or by creating auto-approval systems based on the solution. For example, minimum standards for risk and quality scan results, or performance test results, may be used to support any control decisions. In one embodiment, control systems may base decisions on adherence to other corporate policies, such as the particular source code repositories or build systems being used to produce the data, as well as machine learning.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Adams into the teachings of Whitcomb in view of Kumar in view of Reddy and further in view of Lounsberry. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar, wherein the code data is stored as an external copy in an external data source prior to the endorsement or verification, as in Reddy, wherein all code is verified with the aid of machine learning for the author to provide authorization, as in Lounsberry and wherein the artifact and the endorsement/verification are stored on the code execution system accordingly, as in Adams. One of ordinary in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of linking multiple tools and systems that can provide full visibility into the software supply chain (e.g. plan, develop, compile, build, scan, test, deploy, release, run (Adams [0028]).
Claim 14 is directed to a method corresponding to the system as disclosed in claim 4. Claim 14 further discloses the ledger which is also anticipated and disclosed in claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1 and 4.
Claims 7, 9, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitcomb in view of Kumar in view of Reddy as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Adams.
With regards to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
The combination of Whitcomb, Kumar, and Reddy does not teach: wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:
store a reproducible build service artifact associated with the code identity artifact;
receive a reproducible build service endorsement from the auditor;
store a reproducible build service endorsement artifact on the ledger, wherein the reproducible build service endorsement artifact is associated with the reproducible build service artifact.
However, in an analogous art Adams teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:
store a reproducible build service artifact associated with the code identity artifact; (Adams [0036], "All of these repositories have the ability to store both software and artifact data (e.g., details of what version of the tool that was used) and may be leveraged as data stores.") [Examiner’s Note: Adams teaches a metadata store that stores metadata artifacts which are reusable/reproducible.]
receive a reproducible build service endorsement from the auditor; (Adams [0034], “ In order to be able to guarantee the validity of any artifact, the metadata stored may be signed by the source of the data. Digital signing requires each system producing data to have its own certificate that can identify the system. Code signing utilizes public key cryptography to create a digital signature that can uniquely identify an artifact and its originating owner. This digital signature may be provided as an additional piece of metadata to the data store.”) and
store a reproducible build service endorsement artifact on the ledger, (Adams [0036], "All of these repositories have the ability to store both software and artifact data (e.g., details of what version of the tool that was used) and may be leveraged as data stores.") [Examiner Note: Data/metadata stores can be implemented via ledgers (see Paragraph [0012])] wherein the reproducible build service endorsement artifact is associated with the reproducible build service artifact. (Adams [0035], "Organizations often have a number of software data repositories for software artifacts. Data stores are generally built around the very specific needs of the software system that holds the data. For example, there are standard repositories offering common reusable components distributed by language specific dependency management solutions such as Maven for Java, NPM for node.js and NuGet for Net applications. Common software package formats for installing packages also have repository solutions offering package dependency management, such as Yellowdog Updater, Modified (YUM) for RPM and Advanced Package Tool (APT) for Debian packages. Further software repository types containing full Virtual Machine Images and more latterly container images also exist.") [Examiner’s Note: software data repositories have artifacts that are tailored to provide information/metadata in association with software requirements including their endorsement.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Adams into the teachings of Whitcomb in view of Kumar and further in view of Reddy. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar, wherein the code data is stored as an external copy in an external data source prior to the endorsement or verification, as in Reddy, and wherein the artifact and the endorsement/verification are stored on the code execution system accordingly, as in Adams. One of ordinary in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of linking multiple tools and systems that can provide full visibility into the software supply chain (e.g. plan, develop, compile, build, scan, test, deploy, release, run (Adams [0028]).
With regards to claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
The combination of Whitcomb, Kumar, and Reddy does not teach: wherein the code identity artifact is stored on a public ledger on the external system
However, in an analogous art Adams teaches wherein the code identity artifact is stored on a public ledger on the external system (Adams [0065], "In one embodiment, all metadata may be written to metadata store 130. Metadata store 130 may be permissioned and private, or it may be public and un-permissioned") [Examiner Note: Data/metadata stores can be implemented via ledgers (see Paragraph [0012])]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Adams into the teachings of Whitcomb in view of Kumar and further in view of Reddy. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar, wherein the code data is stored as an external copy in an external data source prior to the endorsement or verification, as in Reddy, and wherein the artifact and the endorsement/verification are stored on the code execution system accordingly, as in Adams. One of ordinary in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of linking multiple tools and systems that can provide full visibility into the software supply chain (e.g. plan, develop, compile, build, scan, test, deploy, release, run (Adams [0028]).
Claims 17 and 19 are directed to a method corresponding to the system limitations as disclosed in claims 7 and 9 respectively. Thus, claims 17 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 7 and 9.
With regards to claim 20, Whitcomb teaches
A computing system for implementing a confidential code execution environment for a code transparency service, (Whitcomb [0012], "a system 100 configured to provide and maintain irrefutable proof of the building, testing, deployment and release of a software product according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As used herein, the term "software product" encompasses any software that is built, tested, deployed and/or released in any form, including a downloadable software application and software stored and delivered on a computer readable medium.") the computing system comprising:
a set of processors; and
a set of storage devices storing: (Whitcomb [0019], "may use any known processor technology, including but not limited to graphics processors and multi-core processors. Input device 204 may be any known input device technology, including but not limited to a keyboard (including a virtual keyboard), mouse, track ball, and touch-sensitive pad or display. Bus 212 may be any known internal or external bus technology, including but not limited to ISA, EISA, PCI, PCI Express, NuBus, USB, Serial ATA or FireWire. Computer-readable medium 210 may be any medium that participates in providing instructions to processor(s) 202 for execution, including without limitation, non-volatile storage media (e.g., optical disks, magnetic disks, flash drives, etc.), or volatile media (e.g., SDRAM, ROM, etc.").
a ledger; (Whitcomb [0011], "A computing device creates an electronic ledger that may be stored in a database accessible over one or more networks. In one embodiment, the ledger is implemented as a plurality of electronic blocks linked together via cryptography such as e.g., hashing and digital signatures. In one embodiment, the ledger may be implemented using block chain or similar technologies. The computing device or one or more additional computing devices, when performing a transaction/activity related to the software release cycle, may access the electronic ledger to record the transaction/activity performed and when it was performed")
and instructions that, when executed, cause the set of processors to:
receive code data from a producer; (Whitcomb [0028], "An API may define one or more parameters that are passed between a calling application and other software code ( e.g., an operating system, library routine, function) that provides a service, that provides data, or that performs an operation or a computation")
store a code identity artifact comprising the code data on a ledger, (Whitcomb [0047-53], "The type of data that may be managed in the blocks 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 within the ledger 410 could be: The initial SHA (secure hash algorithm) identifier of the source code from the Git repository. The secure hash of the build artifact. The location of the artifact. The timestamp of the start and end of each transaction. The unique identifier of the build, deploy and release requester. Secure hashes of intermediate listings of build and deployment specifics and the locations of the listings."). [Examiner Note: The block is the code identity artifact] wherein the ledger is updatable by an authorized party; (Whitcomb [0036], "In one example embodiment, the electronic ledger may be implemented using cryptography such as e.g., digital hashing and digital signatures, which may form the backbone of the desired security and identification features. In one embodiment, the ledger may be implemented using blockchain or similar technologies. As such, a software product may be built, tested, deployed and released with confidence that software artifacts were not tampered with and that each participant in release cycle was the expected participant (i.e., a members only network).")
Whitcomb does not teach: store an acceptance policy artifact on the ledger, wherein the acceptance policy artifact describes a policy that is enforced on the code identity artifact;
receive the code identity endorsement from the auditor module for the stored code identity artifact, wherein the code identity endorsement indicates that the code identity artifact adheres to the policy described in the acceptance policy artifact, wherein the auditor module is an approved auditor designated by a relying party, and wherein the relying party comprises a user or a customer of the code transparency service; and
store a code identity endorsement artifact on the ledger, wherein the code identity endorsement artifact represents the code identity endorsement from the auditor module.
However, in an analogous art Kumar teaches store an acceptance policy artifact on the ledger, wherein the acceptance policy artifact describes a policy that is enforced on the code identity artifact; (Kumar [0025-27], “The project management artifacts comprise artifacts that are generated during a project management phase such as, e.g., user cases/stories (artifact which describe what the program should do in specific, technical terms), criteria artifacts which specify requirements of the software product and project … As further shown in FIG. 2, various stages generate respective artifacts 210, 211, 212, and 213 associated with transactions/activities that are performed during the various stages of the software development life cycle 200, wherein the respective artifacts 210, 211, 212, and 213 are stored as immutable records in an immutable digital ledger 220 (e.g., blockchain ledger).”)
receive the code identity endorsement from the auditor module for the stored code identity artifact, wherein the code identity endorsement indicates that the code identity artifact adheres to the policy described in the acceptance policy artifact, (Kumar [0028], “the requirements gathering stage 201, and the architecture stage 202 generate artifacts 210 such as requirement documents, architecture documents, and sign-off/approval documents by the stakeholders that perform such stages. The design stage 203 and the code implementation stage 204 generate artifacts 211 such as code-related artifacts. The testing stage 212 generates artifacts 212 related to test procedures and test results. The acceptance stage 206 and release stage 207 generate artifacts 213 such as quality assurance sign-offs/approvals by stakeholders to indicate that the given software product meets specified standards for quality and performance, documents related to the release and deployment of a software product into a production environment, and associated release sign-offs/approvals by stakeholders with regard to the release and deployment of the software product.”) wherein the auditor module is an approved auditor designated by a relying party, and wherein the relying party comprises a user or a customer of the code transparency service; (Kumar [0019], “Within the SDLC management system 130, the front end and API layer 140 provides user interfaces and associated APIs that allow the users 110 to access the various services and tools that are implemented by the SDLC management system 130 for developing and delivering software products. For example, the front end and API layer 140 provides a login portal to allows users 110 to login to the SDLC management system 130 and provide credentials for a user authentication/verification process. In some embodiments, the login portal comprises different user interfaces to support connectivity with different type of devices, e.g., mobile devices, desktop computers, servers, etc., and different types of HTML-based browsers. In addition, the front end and API layer 140 comprises an API gateway which provides a single-entry point for users 110 to issue API requests for tools and services that that are provided by the SDLC management system 130. Moreover, the front end and API layer 140 comprises a state management layer to (i) handle actions generated by users 100, (ii) fetch and update data”) and
store a code identity endorsement artifact on the ledger, wherein the code identity endorsement artifact represents the code identity endorsement from the auditor module. (Kumar [0040], “In accordance with exemplary embodiments discussed herein, the implementation of an immutable digital ledger such as a blockchain for software development provides a mechanism to provide a trusted and immutable chain of custody for requirements of a software product at every stage of the software development life cycle. In some embodiments, requirements of a software product are represented as digital assets to enable clear ownership, traceability and immutability for tamper-proof artifacts [store a code identity endorsement artifact on the ledger]. More specifically, in some embodiments, digital asset tokens are utilized to represent any requirement, ownership, stakeholders, and their agreed sign-off details [wherein the code identity endorsement artifact represents the code identity endorsement from the auditor module]. The digital asset tokens, distributed ledgers, and smart contracts accurize the requirements. Also, each requirement is delivered by enabling an end-to-end tracking of the requirement from a requirements phase to a release phase.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Kumar into the teachings of Adams This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of providing trust and traceability of the software development life cycle with a permissioned blockchain system for a ledger that works in conjunction with software requirements delivery lifecycle (Kumar [0018]).
The combination of Whitcomb and Kumar does not teach: before receiving a code identity endorsement, transmit instructions to an archiving service for storing a copy of the code identity artifact on an external system outside a control of the computing system;
However, in an analogous art Reddy teaches before receiving a code identity endorsement, transmit instructions to an archiving service for storing a copy of the code identity artifact on an external system outside a control of the computing system; (Reddy [0073-74], "In some cases, these transactions may read or write records [transmit instructions for storing], for instance, trust assertions in the below-described trust records, indicative of functionality invoked by or performed by the various illustrated components, including configuration supplied by the components, identifiers of the components, reports on outputs of the components, timestamps of when functionality is invoked or a record is output, identifiers of inputs to the components, identifiers of computing devices or operating systems in which the component executes, identifiers of users invoking functionality of the components, identifiers of entities making the components, identifiers of organizations of users, and the like. In some cases, the identifiers may be cryptographic hash digests of some or all of comprehensive descriptions of the respective thing being described, like a cryptographic hash of a set of configuration settings, an executable file of a test application, a source code format file of a software asset, or the like [a copy of the code identity artifact]. In some embodiments, the development environment 72 may include the applications that operate upon software assets before those software assets are refined for purposes of testing or releasing the production, in some cases operating upon software assets encoded in source code format. In some embodiments, the development environment includes applications executed by developer computing devices and hosted services accessed by those computing devices to define source code, including a development repository 82, a test application 84, development tools 86, and code reviewer computing devices 88. In some embodiments, the development repository 82 may include a Git repository or other version control system [to an archiving service] by which a developer, by operation of their computing device, checks out a software asset, forms a branch version of the software asset, and submits a request to merge the software asset back into a mainline branch, for instance along with a record showing a set of differences between the merged version and the existing version.") and (Reddy [0081], "In some embodiments, the decentralized computing platform 80 may be a peer-to-peer computing network in which no single computing device serves as a central authority to control the operation of the other computing devices in the peer-to-peer computing network. In some embodiments, the decentralized computing platform combines a Turing complete scripting language with a blockchain implementation. In some embodiments, the decentralized computing platform is an implementation of Ethereum¹, Hyperledger Fabric¹, CardanoᵀM, NEOTM or the like, or a combination thereof [on an external system outside a control of the computing system].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Reddy into the teachings of Whitcomb in view of Kumar. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar wherein the code data is stored as an external copy in an external data source prior to the endorsement or verification, as in Reddy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of publishing a software asset to a decentralized computing platform configured to store configuration/cryptographic keys subsequent to eventual verification or endorsement for release of the software to production (Reddy [0230-238]).
The combination of Whitcomb, Kumar, and Reddy does not teach: an auditor module comprising a code review machine learning model;
However, in an analogous art Adams teaches an auditor module comprising a code review machine learning model; (Adams [0038], “Along with reporting on software artifacts, data from the software development life cycle, or SDLC, may be leveraged to support the control systems such as approval systems or automated deployment systems. This may be achieved by either providing comprehensive reporting to the approver, or by creating auto-approval systems based on the solution. For example, minimum standards for risk and quality scan results, or performance test results, may be used to support any control decisions. In one embodiment, control systems may base decisions on adherence to other corporate policies, such as the particular source code repositories or build systems being used to produce the data, as well as machine learning.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Adams into the teachings of Whitcomb in view of Kumar and further in view of Reddy. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a system to receive code data that updates a ledger, as in Whitcomb, wherein the ledger contains digital endorsement from a certified auditor for acceptance of a software product, as in Kumar, wherein the code data is stored as an external copy in an external data source prior to the endorsement or verification, as in Reddy, and wherein the artifact and the endorsement/verification are stored on the code execution system accordingly, as in Adams. One of ordinary in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of linking multiple tools and systems that can provide full visibility into the software supply chain (e.g. plan, develop, compile, build, scan, test, deploy, release, run (Adams [0028]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-17, and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.V.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2191
/WEI Y MUI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191