Detailed Action
Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 12/03/2025 for patent application 18/307,778 has been acknowledged. Claims 11-16 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 11 is the independent claim. Claim 11 has been amended. No new claims have been added.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. (a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/268,056, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Accordingly, claims 11-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Because applicant elected Group II, claims 11-16, examiner is currently only examining claims 11-16. Claims 11-16 are not supported by the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/268,056, filed on 4/29/2022. Claims 11-16 are supported by figures 18-26 and paragraphs 00121-00140 in the specification within the application, Application No. 18/307,778, filed on 4/26/2023.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 4/26/2023 are accepted by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/03/2025 with respect to claims 11-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. Claims 13 and 14 recite “wherein the optimization includes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callcut et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0311300 A1, hereinafter, Callcut) in view of Givental et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20210264025 A1, hereinafter, Givental) and further in view of Cheng et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0405623 A1, hereinafter, Cheng) and Mohammed et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0202351 A1, hereinafter, Mohammed).
Regarding Claim 11, Callcut discloses: A computerized method of secure model generation in a sequestered computing node comprising (Callcut, ¶ [0051], “FIG. 1 shows an AI ecosystem 100 that allows for secure, federated computing on private data sets 105a-n (‘n’ represents any natural number), including augmentation of data from data sets 105a-n, algorithm/model 110a-n deployment, algorithm/model 110a-n validation, algorithm/model 110a-n optimization (training/testing), and federated training of algorithms/models 110a-n on multiple data sets 105a-n.”):
receiving an algorithm in a secure computing enclave (Callcut, ¶[0054], “The AI system 205 may be in communication with one or more algorithm developers and is configured to receive one or more algorithms or models.” ¶[0063] “At block 305, a third-party algorithm developer (a first entity) provides one or more algorithms or models to be optimized and/or validated in a new project.”);
Callcut does not explicitly teach the following limitations that Givental teaches:
performing automated multi-model training on the algorithm to generate a plurality of trained models, wherein the multi-model training includes training by applying regressors, decision trees, and neural networks to a single machine learning training problem (Givental, ¶[0027], “The level one training dataset may be used to train the plurality of ML models using a machine learning training process, as is generally known in the art, e.g., supervised or unsupervised machine learning process.”);
generating a leaderboard of the plurality of trained models (Givental, ¶[0040], “In one illustrative embodiment, the ML model selector may be used to generate an ensemble of ML models to be used to process an incoming log data structure. … the counts of the ML models may be used to select a top N number of ML models to include in the ensemble, where N is any integer suitable to the particular implementation desired, e.g., the top 3 ML models.”);
ranking the plurality of trained models in the leaderboard based upon a (Givental, ¶[0032], “Each of these performance factors are scored according to a predetermined range for scoring, and the scores are combined to generate a relative ranking for each of the trained ML models …” ¶[0060], “The trained ML models 130 are then used to make predictions 140 of the classifications of the logs in the level two training dataset 120, e.g., classify each of the logs 122 in the level two training dataset 120 as to whether it should be closed (non-anomalous) or escalated (anomalous). These classifications may be compared, by ML model ranking engine 150, to the corresponding ground truth classifications 123 to determine a loss or error of the corresponding ML model with regard to particular performance factors, such as accuracy, confidence, and risk.”)
selecting a top model from the leaderboard (Givental, ¶[0067], “The counts may then be used by the ensemble generation engine 180 to select the top N number of ML models from the plurality of ML models 130 to be included in the ensemble, where a ML model is a “top” ML model based on having a higher count value than other ML models in the plurality of ML models 130. Thus, if N=3, then the ML models having the 3 highest count values are selected for inclusion in the ensemble 190.”); and
Callcut in view of Givental are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area.” Namely, they pertain to the field of “machine learning models.” It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Callcut with Givental to
“performing automated multi-model training on the algorithm to generate a plurality of trained models, wherein the multi-model training includes training by applying regressors, decision trees, and neural networks to a single machine learning training problem
generating a leaderboard of the plurality of trained models;
ranking the plurality of trained models in the leaderboard based upon a metric calculated by a performance metric, wherein the performance metric includes accuracy for a classification problem;
selecting a top model from the leaderboard;”
because, “It can be appreciated that some ML models operate better for different types of security risks based on the particular training algorithms used to train the ML models and/or the training data used to train the ML models. That is, some ML models, due to their training, may be better predictors and classifiers of particular patterns of input data indicative of particular security threats, anomalies, attacks, etc.” (Givental, ¶[0022]).
performing security processing on the top model to generate a secure model (Cheng, ¶[0081], “The prediction engine 340 is configured to execute user code defining a trained machine learning model. As part of executing the user code to generate model predictions, the processing shard 300 can execute the prediction engine 340 in a sandboxed process, to eliminate potential security issues when running the user code.”).
Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area.” Namely, they pertain to the field of “machine learning models.” It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Callcut in view of Givental with Cheng to
“performing security processing on the top model to generate a secure model”
because, “The disclosure is directed to a query-driven machine learning platform for generating feature attributions and other data for interpreting the relationship between inputs and outputs of a machine learning model.” (Cheng, Abstract)
Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng does not explicitly teach the following limitations that Mohammed teaches:
a hybrid metric calculated by combining an epsilon parameter for each model with a performance metric, wherein the performance metric includes accuracy, F1 score, precision and recall for a classification problem on structured data or DICE score for an image classification (Mohammed, ¶[0056], “The model may be tested using the testing set to provide an unbiased evaluation of a final model fit on the training data set. Differential privacy may be applied, iterated through epsilon (a metric of privacy loss …), and accuracy, F1 score (combining precision and recall of a classifier into a single metric by taking their harmonic mean), recall (fraction of samples from a class which are correctly predicted by the model; …), precision (class-specific performance metric applied when class distribution is imbalanced; …), and AUC score may be measured.”);
Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng and Mohammed are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area.” Namely, they pertain to the field of “machine learning models.” It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng with Mohammed to incorporate
“a hybrid metric calculated by combining an epsilon parameter for each model with a performance metric, wherein the performance metric includes accuracy, F1 score, precision and recall for a classification problem on structured data or DICE score for an image classification”
because, “systems and methods according to embodiments of the present disclosure may provide privacy detection and mitigation in connection with data, models, synthetic data, and/or fed learning.” (Mohammed, ¶[0003])
Regarding Claim 12, Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng and Mohammed teaches: The method of claim 11, wherein the algorithm is a plurality of algorithms received from a plurality of data stewards (Callcut, ¶[0054], “The AI system 205 may be in communication with one or more algorithm developers and is configured to receive one or more algorithms or models.” ¶[0063] “At block 305, a third-party algorithm developer (a first entity) provides one or more algorithms or models to be optimized and/or validated in a new project.”).
Regarding 13, Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng and Mohammed teaches: The method of claim 11, wherein the optimization includes ranking the plurality of trained models (Givental, ¶[0032], “Each of these performance factors are scored according to a predetermined range for scoring, and the scores are combined to generate a relative ranking for each of the trained ML models …”)
by data exfiltration risk (Mohammed, ¶[0054], “With differential privacy, if the effect of making an arbitrary single substitution in the database is small enough, the query result cannot be used to infer much about any single individual, and therefore, provides privacy. Differential privacy may provide a measurable way to balance privacy and data accuracy when publicly releasing aggregate data on private datasets.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng and Mohammed teaches: The method of claim 11, wherein the optimization includes ranking the plurality of trained models by accuracy (Givental, ¶[0061], “Thus, for example, for each data instance (e.g., log entry) 122 in the level two training dataset 120, a loss function-based ranking of each prediction generated by each of the ML models, in the plurality of ML models 130, is formed based on the performance factors (accuracy, confidence, risk) of the loss determination for the corresponding ML model.”).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callcut et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0311300 A1, hereinafter, Callcut) in view of Givental et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20210264025 A1, hereinafter, Givental) and further in view of Cheng et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0405623 A1, hereinafter, Cheng), Mohammed et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0202351 A1, hereinafter, Mohammed), and Chung et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0341851 A1, hereinafter, Chung).
Regarding Claim 15, Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng and Mohammed teaches: The method of claim 11, wherein the security processing (Cheng, ¶[0081], “The prediction engine 340 is configured to execute user code defining a trained machine learning model. As part of executing the user code to generate model predictions, the processing shard 300 can execute the prediction engine 340 in a sandboxed process, to eliminate potential security issues when running the user code.”)
Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng and Mohammed does not explicitly teach the following limitation that Chung teaches:
includes at least one of weight truncation and additional weight addition (Chung, ¶[0034], “During a tuning phase, adjustments can be made in the area of approximate computing by dynamically adjusting the tuning parameters, when the opportunity arises e.g., during a training or production run.” ¶[0035], “For example, adjustments can include: using dropout sparsification to send a quasi-random subset of weights, rolling updates that transmit only a pre-specified subset of weights in a round-robin fashion, variable bit truncations of the weights to be combined, and a combination of the foregoing.”).
Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng, Mohammed, and Chung are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area.” Namely, they pertain to the field of “machine learning models.” It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Callcut in view of Givental and in view of Cheng and Mohammed with Chung to implement security processing to include “at least one of weight truncation and additional weight addition” because, “Optimizing the performance of a machine learning system includes: … dynamically updating the n-dimensional approximate computing configuration space by adjusting the at least one tuning parameter.” (Chung, Abstract)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callcut et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0311300 A1, hereinafter, Callcut) in view of Givental et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20210264025 A1, hereinafter, Givental) and further in view of Cheng et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0405623 A1, hereinafter, Cheng), Mohammed et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0202351 A1, hereinafter, Mohammed), and Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0315930 A1, hereinafter, Kim).
Regarding Claim 16, Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng and Mohammed teaches: The method of claim 11, further comprising:
generating a report on performance of the secure model (Callcut, ¶[0081], “At block 365, one or more reports are generated and delivered to the algorithm developer based on the results of block 360. In some instances, the reports are generated in accordance with the training/testing report requirements and/or validation report requirements defined in block 310.”);
Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng and Mohammed does not explicitly teach the following limitation that Kim teaches:
providing the report to a separate secure report confirmation service; providing protected data to the secure report confirmation service; and validating the report for data exfiltration by comparison to the secure report confirmation service (Kim, ¶[0032], “The cloud data discovery system 100 is a part of a data loss prevention (DLP) system of the company and may be formed of at least one server. The cloud data discovery system 100 accesses user data of the cloud service through a cloud application program interface (API), checks the user data according to a preset DLP policy, and stores and reports a checking result. As necessary, the cloud data discovery system 100 controls leakage of information through warning, the deletion of data, and encryption.”).
Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng, Mohammed, and Kim are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area.” Namely, they pertain to the field of “machine learning models.” It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Callcut in view of Givental and further in view of Cheng and Mohammed with Chung to implement security processing to include
“providing the report to a separate secure report confirmation service; providing protected data to the secure report confirmation service; validating the report for data exfiltration by comparison to the secure report confirmation service”
because, the “invention relates to a cloud data discovery method and system for private information protection and data loss prevention.” (Kim, Abstract)
Conclusion
/EDGAR W XIE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/WASIKA NIPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433