DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Claims 11-20) in the reply filed on 02-13-2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04-27-2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR102037202B1 hereinafter Woo.
Regarding Claim 11, Woo teaches a battery pack (see figure 15), the battery pack comprising: a plurality of battery cells, each battery cell comprises a battery cell body and an electrode lead protruding forward from the battery cell body, the plurality of battery cells being disposed in a transverse direction; and a bus bar [100] coupled to the electrode leads, wherein the bus bar [100] comprises a bus bar body (plate), a plurality of bus bar coupling parts [111] respectively coupled to the electrode leads of the plurality of battery cells, a bus bar connection part [110] disposed between the bus bar coupling parts, and an elongated hole (rib) [113] formed on the bus bar connection part (see annotated figure 16 shown below).
Woo further teaches that the elongated hole (rib) [113] is formed on the bus bar connection part and protrudes from a surface the bus bar connection part (see figure 16 above and paragraphs 78, 110).
Regarding Claims 12-14, Woo teaches that the elongated hole (rib) [113] comprises a convex rib protruding from the front surface of the bus bar plate and transverse rib wing extending in the transverse direction (see figure 16 above and as evidence by the figure shown below for an elongated hole).
Regarding Claim 15, Woo teaches that the electrode lead is coupled to the bus bar by welding (paragraphs 32-33).
Regarding Claim 16, Woo teaches that the electrode lead passes through a bus bar slit [112] formed in the bus bar coupling part [11] and protrudes from the bus bar slit, and wherein the electrode lead is coupled to the bus bar along the bus bar slit by welding (paragraph 86 teaches that any welding method can be employed and such includes wobble type welding).
Regarding Claims 17-18, Woo teaches that the bus bar comprises a reinforcement hole (elongated hole) [113] formed in the bus bar connection part, wherein the reinforcement hole passes through the bus bar plate in a thickness direction of the bus bar plate (see figure 16 above), and wherein the length of the hole is equal to a thickness of the bus bar plate (paragraphs 78, 110).
Regarding Claims 19-20, Woo teaches that the elongated hole (rib) [113] comprises a wing (protrusion or projection) that surrounds a body of the rib (see figure 16 above).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752