DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the short side" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4 and 8 recite the term “from one short side”, lines 3. It is unclear if this is the same “from one short side” lines 11-12 of parent claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmura (US 4,032,752) in view of Kwon (US 2020/0016956).
Regarding claim 1, Ohmura discloses a heater element for heating a vehicle interior (any place having air heating “These heating elements can be used for a hair dryer, air heater, or clothes dryer and are very commercially useful.” (column 7, lines 30-40)), comprising:
a honeycomb structure (“Heating elements comprising a ceramic article of a honeycomb structure having a positive temperature coefficient of electric resistance and composed of barium titanate are provided with channels” emphasis added (abstract)) comprising:
an outer peripheral wall (end face of 1); and
a partition wall (coating 4 and or to include ceramic portion sidewall of 1) disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall (as shown in figures 3 and 4), the partition wall defining a plurality of cells (2) each forming a flow path (space therebetween, see figures 3 and 4, as disclosed above “channels” of air movement (abstract)) from a first end face (at level of 6/7, see figure 4) to a second end face (at level of 6’/7’, see figure 4), the outer peripheral wall and the partition wall comprising a material having a PTC property (PCT of heating structure as disclosed above (abstract)); and
a pair of electrodes (6/6’ or conductive material 7 contacting ceramic PTC 1) provided on the first end face and the second end face (as shown in figures 3 and 4), and
wherein the heater element for heating the vehicle interior further comprises a pair of connectors (subject of electrode connectors/leads 5/5’, see figure 2 “”), each of the connectors being connected to the electrode from one
Ohmura is silent regarding wherein each of the first end face and the second end face of the honeycomb structure is rectangular having a short side.
However Kwon teaches wherein each of the first end face (first side of airflow 101a) and the second end face (second side of airflow 101a) of the honeycomb structure (101a/100) is rectangular having a short side (as shown in figure 4).
The advantage of wherein each of the first end face and the second end face of the honeycomb structure is rectangular having a short side, is to position one or add multiple/varied heat heaters to a packaging space of a vehicles HVAC system (see confines of vehicle HVAC 20 figure 2, “The at least one ceramic element may include a plurality of ceramic elements in which different PTC elements are arranged. The first ceramic element of the plurality of ceramic elements may include only the first PTC element, and the second ceramic element of the plurality of ceramic elements includes the first PTC element and the second PTC element. Each of the first PTC element and the second PTC element may have a heating operation temperature that is changeable according to an amount of the air (i.e., air volume). The at least one ceramic element may include a plurality of the first PTC elements and a plurality of the second PTC elements. The second PTC element may have a low resistance value changeable at approximately 25° C. less than a low resistance value of the first PTC element.” [0016-0019], the finite space available for HVAC within a vehicle providing further obvious to optimize dimensions thereto, see MPEP 2144.05 B. II. Routine Optimizaton).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ohmura and Kwon before him or her, to modify the circular profile of Ohmura to include the rectangular profile of Kwon because a rectangular profile may fit airflow devices designed for vehicle spaces and or enhance stickability to a space, the plurality stack providing varied/more heat output.
Regarding claim 2, Ohmura as modified teaches the heater element for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 1, Ohmura as already modified teaches wherein the first end face and the second end face have a ratio of a length of the short side to a length of the long side of from 1:2 to 1:10 (see Ohmura having a 1/1 circular ratio of heating transfer substrate 1 in figure 4, in view of Kwon as already modifying shape to optimization of space within finite area of vehicle (MPEP 2144.05 B. II.), providing heat transfer portion 101a having square passages numbers greatly over 10 wide by 1 high as ratio evidence, see figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Ohmura as modified teaches the heater element for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 1, Ohmura as already modified teaches wherein the honeycomb structure is a honeycomb joined body having a plurality of honeycomb segments and joining layers (where 1 provides spaces therebetween for “channels” as disclosed in abstract cited in claim 1, see figure 4) for joining the plurality of honeycomb segments to each other.
Regarding claim 4, Ohmura as modified teaches the heater element for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 1, Ohmura as already modified teaches wherein the pair of electrodes have extending portions (5/5’) each extending outwardly in the same direction (as shown in figure 2) from one short side (short side as already modified by Kwon (see figure 4 having electrode receptacle 107 on short side of PTC heater 100), additionally Ohmura anticipates electrodes to any peripheral “lead electrodes 5 and 5' are soldered at one or more portions on said ohmic electrodes 4 and 4' or as shown in FIG. 4,” (column 2, lines 55-63) of each of the first end face and the second end face (as shown in figure 2 of Ohmura), and the extending portions and the connectors are connected to each other (as shown in figure 2 and 4 of Ohmura having “electrode leads” 5,5’/6,6’ as means to connect to voltage source to PTC).
Regarding claim 5, Ohmura as modified teaches the heater element for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 1, Ohmura as already modified teaches wherein the honeycomb structure has a thickness of the partition wall of 0.125 mm or less, a cell density of 93 cells/cm2 or less, and a cell pitch of 1.0 mm or more. (optimization of airflow heat transferring PTC cells anticipated “the term "honeycomb structure" shall be understood to mean a structure having a multiplicity of parallel channels extending therethrough with each of said channels being bounded by a partition wall which is substantially uniform in thickness, and having a surface-to-volume ratio in the range of 10 to 60 cm.sup.2 /cm.sup.3.” (column 1, lines 17-23) The wall thickness may be a balance between electrical resistance of material and strength, the cell pitch may be a balance between air flow restriction and surface area for heat transfer, the density being determined by the wall thickness and cell pitch as combination, because providing thicker walls of a cell predictably increases strength and reduces resistance and increasing cell pitch increases air flow while decreasing surface area contact to heat exchange medium, it would be an obvious matter of Routine Optimization (see MPEP 2144.05 II.A.) to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to optimize wall thickness and cell pitch and therefore cell density because the results of which are predictable to tuning features of a PTC heater).
Regarding claim 7, Ohmura as modified teaches the heater element for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 1, Ohmura as already modified teaches wherein the pair of electrodes comprise:
electrode layers (7,7’) provided on the first end face and the second end face (as shown in figures 3/4); and electrode plates (portion of 5,5’ / 6,6’ contacting electrode layer 7,7’, see figures 2/3/4) provided on the electrode layers.
Regarding claim 8, Ohmura as modified teaches the heater element for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 7, Ohmura as already modified teaches wherein the electrode plates have extending portions (5,5’ / 6,6’ extending beyond 7,7’ see figure 2/4) each extending outwardly in the same direction from one short side (short side of already modified Kwon or being any perimeter position as already disclosed previously by Ohmura (column 2, lines 55-63)) of each of the first end face and the second end face (as shown in figure 2/4), and the extending portions are connected to the connectors (nature of providing electric current path to electrical PCT resistors 1).
Regarding claim 9, Ohmura as modified teaches a heater unit for heating a vehicle interior, comprising two or more of the heater elements for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 1,
Ohmura as already modified teaches wherein the heater elements for heating the vehicle interior are stacked and arranged such that surfaces of the outer peripheral walls of the honeycomb structures, including long sides of the first end faces and the second end faces (long side as already modified by Kwon, see rectangular shape of figure 4), are opposed to each other (as already modified by Kwon, see figure 4 haivng parallel flow stacked arrangements of PCT 100).
Regarding claim 10, Ohmura as modified teaches the heater unit for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 9, Ohmura as already modified teaches wherein insulating materials (Kwon as already modifying provides insulator 103 to stacked PCT portions (see figure 4) having current there at “an insulating material 103 to insulate positive(+) power” Kwon [0067]) are arranged between the heater elements for heating the vehicle interior stacked and arranged (insulation providing electrical circuit isolation as disclosed above Kwon [0067]).
Regarding claim 11, Ohmura as modified teaches a heater system for heating a vehicle interior, comprising: the heater unit for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 9;
Ohmura as already modified teaches an inflow pipe (Kwon as already modifying provides inlet duct 26 or portion leading thereto, see figure 2) for communicating an outside air introduction portion or a vehicle interior with an inflow port (heater 100 exists between air introduction portion 26 and outlets 22/23/24, see Kwon figures 2/3) of the heater unit for heating the vehicle interior (Kwon air flow path to vehicle interior “the HVAC device 20 may include a first outlet 22, a second outlet 23, a third outlet 24, a fourth outlet 25, a duct 26, an antibacterial filter 27, a motor 28, and the evaporator 21. The first outlet 22 is formed to discharge air toward a windshield of the body 2. The second outlet 23 is formed to discharge air toward a chest of a driver or passenger. The third outlet 24 is formed to discharge air toward back seats of the vehicle through a pipe. The fourth outlet 25 is formed to discharge air toward feet of a user who sits on a driver seat or passenger seat. The duct 26 is formed to receive indoor air of the indoor space of the body 2.” Kwon [0059]);
a battery (Kwon HVAC anticipated to electric vehicle “the electric vehicle is generally designed to use the PTC heater 100 as a main heating system.” [0064], power source of electric vehicle being a battery system “The drive device may include an engine to generate rotational force by burning fossil fuels or a motor to generate rotational force upon receiving power from a battery (not shown).” Kwon [0053]) for applying a voltage to the heater unit for heating the vehicle interior (PTC voltage/electric heater as disclose above Kwon [0064,0053]); and an outflow pipe (where outlets 22-23 exit 20 or plumb to further discharge areas as disclosed above, Kwon [0059]) for communicating an outflow port of the heater unit for heating the vehicle interior with the vehicle interior (as disclosed above, Kwon [0059]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmura in view of Kwon and in further view of Kahr (US 2009/0212041).
Regarding claim 6, Ohmura as modified teaches the heater element for heating the vehicle interior according to claim 1, Ohmura as already modified teaches wherein the outer peripheral wall and the partition wall are made of a material that contains barium titanate as a main component (“On both end surfaces a PTC ceramic article of a honeycomb structure having a diameter of 38 mm and a thickness of 7 mm and composed of barium titanate having a Curie temperature of 200.degree. C., at which the resistance is rapidly increased” (column 4, lines 22-26)).
Ohmura is silent regarding wherein the outer peripheral wall and the partition wall are substantially free of lead.
However Kahr teaches lead free construction of heating systems ”In one aspect, the invention specifies an environmentally friendly heating element. A heating element with a ceramic body that has PTC properties is disclosed. (PTC stands for "positive temperature coefficient"). The heating element has electrodes that are arranged on the ceramic body. Both the ceramic body and the electrodes are lead-free.” [0003-0004].
The advantage of heater components being lead free, is to enhance environmentally conscious disposal at end life of product “With the preferred heating element it is possible to essentially avoid environmental stressors connected with disposal of heavy metals.” [0005].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ohmura and Kahr before him or her, to modify the construction materials of Ohmura with the lead free construction materials of Kahr, because a lead free construction reduces environmental stressors of heavy metals at product end life/disposal.
Conclusion
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761