DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 seems to be drawn to be a wireless node but also recites an electronic device. The claim limits structure and functionality of the electronic device, which makes claim vague and indefinite. It is not clear whether the claim is an apparatus claim, i.e. drawn to the wireless node device or a system claim which claims and electronic device and a wireless node device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “BSS” which is an acronym. This makes the claim vague and indefinite, since it is unclear what the term BSS could mean.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) ) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190362237 A1herein Choi in view of US 20240163755 A1 herein Tchouankem.
Claim 1, Choi discloses a wireless node device (Fig. 1: 110, wireless access points), comprising:
a first neural network module (0023, memory of the access points includes an instance of the neural network; Fig. 1: 104-3), having a plurality of first trained parameters (0024, weights of the neural network);
a wireless network communication circuit (0021, wireless interfaces in the access point include WLAN adapters); and
a control circuit (0021, processor circuit of the access point), coupled to the first neural network module and the wireless network communication circuit (0021, the access point includes a processor circuit, memory with neural network instances), the control circuit configured to obtain, from the wireless network communication circuit, time-series current state data corresponding to a plurality of time points (0025, training data is collected over a plurality of time intervals, training data such as RSS values), load the time-series current state data into the first neural network module to obtain estimated network data (0029, neural network 104 can take information as vector inputs, for example RSS data; ), and
control the wireless network communication circuit according to the estimated network data (0033, using trained neural network to determine location in runtime operation, i.e. runtime use of NN outputs and message flows between devices and APs).
Choi may not explicitly disclose predicted future network condition data based on temporal dependencies of the time-series current state data; control the wireless network communication circuit according to the estimated network data by proactively selecting a communication channel or radio frequency band based on the predicted future network condition data.
Tchouankem discloses predicted future network condition data based on temporal dependencies of the time-series current state data (0007, obtaining predicted QoS based for one or more channels for a future period of time; 0037, signal strength measurements);
control the wireless network communication circuit according to the estimated network data by proactively selecting a communication channel or radio frequency band based on the predicted future network condition data (0008, trained channel switching agent is able to proactively initiate channel switching based on predictions; 0036, dynamic channel switching; 0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include channel selection based on machine learning as taught by Tchouankem so as to proactively provide predictive channel switching using ML and improved decisions (0004-0009; 0019).
Claim 2, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 1, wherein the current state data comprises time information, signal strength data, network traffic data, network latency data and noise data (0025, time intervals; 0024, RSS values, CSI RTT; 0031, CSI and any other attribute or derived attribute of a wireless signal).
Claim 3, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 1. Choi may not explicitly disclose wherein the estimated network data comprises a channel selection decision.
Tchouankem discloses wherein the estimated network data comprises a channel selection decision (0007, 0016, ML model showing output of a channel selection decision based on predicted QoS). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include channel selection based on machine learning as taught by Tchouankem so as to proactively provide predictive channel switching using ML and improved decisions (0004-0009; 0019).
Claim 4, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless node device is located in a network traffic control system applicable to a multi-AP network (0021, multiple access points providing network connections to multiple user devices and computing systems), the network traffic control system further comprises an electronic device (0021-0023, computing device), and the electronic device has a plurality of second trained parameters (0021-0023, all devices in the network including computing system 101 includes a neural network instance; 0024, weights of the neural network are trained based on the training data 105 of the computing system 101); and the electronic device performs training based on the current state data to obtain a plurality of updated training parameters and updates the second trained parameters according to the updated training parameters (0024, weights of the neural network are trained based on the training data 105 of the computing system 101; 0027, the error propagates backwards to refine the parameters of the neural network 104), the electronic device further transmit the updated training parameters back to the wireless node device such that the wireless node device updates the first trained parameters according to the updated training parameters (Fig. 6: 601-603, PosParamReq, PosParamResp, PosParamUpdate shows parameter updating between computing system and APs; thus transmission for updating of parameters).
Claim 5, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 4, wherein the current state data comprises a network node number in the multi-AP network (0033, indices of APs, i.e. AP k, thus a node number) and network node information of one or more network nodes (0026-0027, locations/distance of APs, geometric cost).
Claim 6, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 5, wherein the network node information comprises physical distance information (0026-0033; 0036, estimated device locations and per-AP distances), topological distance information (0036, equations 4-6, geometric cost functions) and communication capability information of the network node (0024-0031, reliability of computed distances and RSS, CSI, RTT and channel delay profile; 0029, communication bands of 2.4GhZ and 5.0 GHz).
Claim 7, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 6, wherein the communication capability information comprises a radio frequency band number and one or more radio frequency band information (0029, communication bands of 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz).
Claim 14, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 1, wherein the first neural network module comprises a recurrent neural network including a long short-term memory (LSTM) structure (0064, LSTM).
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 14.
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6.
Claim 20,
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of US 20210014911 A1 herein Patil.
Claim 8, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 7. Choi may not explicitly disclose wherein the radio frequency band information comprises a BSS number, an HT capability, a VHT capability, a channel width and a transmitting power.
Patil discloses wherein the radio frequency band information comprises a BSS number (0003), an HT capability, a VHT capability, a channel width (0010) and a transmitting power (0178). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include various capabilities as taught by Patil so as to proactively initiate channel switching based on predictions for quality of service in a wireless network instead of only reacting to deteriorations (0008).
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of US 20240381353 A1 herein Smith.
Claim 9, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 4. Choi may not explicitly disclose wherein the current state data comprises a link number in the multi-AP network and one or more link information.
Smith discloses wherein the current state data comprises a link number (0021-0024, APs with radio/band information along with stations connected to the AP) in the multi-AP network and one or more link information (0021-0024, multiple APs send link information between APs and stations). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include link information and scheduling as taught by Smith so as to may evaluate different schedule proposals and respond with an overriding new proposal that may aim to avoid the conflict (0025).
Claim 10, Choi in view of Cisco discloses The wireless node device according to claim 9. Choi may not explicitly disclose wherein the link information comprises a source node, a target node and a plurality of channel information.
Smith discloses wherein the link information comprises a source node, a target node and a plurality of channel information (0021-0023, APs send information between themselves and stations, “ single band, Simultaneous Transmission and Receive (STR), Enhanced Multi-Link Single Radio (EMLSR), Non-Simultaneous Transmission and Reception (NSTR), etc. The link information may further include radios/bands and an AP each station may be connected to. As each station communicates with an AP, additional link information may be gathered. The additional link information may include, for example, a status of a Multi-User Enhanced Distributed Channel Access (MU-EDCA) control mode used with that station). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include link information and scheduling as taught by Smith so as to may evaluate different schedule proposals and respond with an overriding new proposal that may aim to avoid the conflict (0025).
Claim 11, Choi in view of Smith discloses The wireless node device according to claim 10, wherein the channel information comprises a signal strength, a channel maximum bandwidth, a noise index (0024-0031, RSS, CSI, RTT, frequency bands used; 0031, CSI and any other attribute or derived attribute of a wireless signal). Choi may not explicitly disclose a channel utilization rate corresponding a plurality of channels.
Smith discloses a channel utilization rate corresponding a plurality of channels (0022, MU-EDCA allows for channel utilization, as trigger for scheduling under an AP or a different AP, 0024-0026, transmit opportunities and optimization of transmit opportunities). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include link information and scheduling as taught by Smith so as to may evaluate different schedule proposals and respond with an overriding new proposal that may aim to avoid the conflict (0025).
Claim 12, Choi discloses The wireless node device according to claim 1. Choi may not explicitly disclose wherein the estimated network data comprises an actuation time, a recommendation node and channel recommendation information.
Smith disclose wherein the estimated network data comprises an actuation time, a recommendation node and channel recommendation information (0021-0026, transmission opportunities, scheduling of different APs, and avoiding channel (timeslot/TxOps) conflicts, thus channel recommendation information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include link information and scheduling as taught by Smith so as to may evaluate different schedule proposals and respond with an overriding new proposal that may aim to avoid the conflict (0025).
Claim 13, Choi in view of Smith discloses The wireless node device according to claim 12. Choi may not explicitly disclose wherein the channel recommendation information comprises one or more recommendation connection information (0021-0026, 0021-0026, transmission opportunities, scheduling of different APs, and avoiding channel (timeslot/TxOps) conflicts, thus channel recommendation information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include link information and scheduling as taught by Smith so as to may evaluate different schedule proposals and respond with an overriding new proposal that may aim to avoid the conflict (0025).
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 12.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230354147 A1 - Connectionless mobility management techniques across different wireless technologies are provided. In an embodiment, a method comprises obtaining, by a controller device that comprises a processor and that is part of a communication network employing a relativistic routing protocol (RRP), condition information regarding operating conditions associated with different access point devices, wherein the communication network comprises router agent devices respectively connected to the different access point devices that communicatively couple the different access point devices to a server device via respective communication links to a router device. The method further comprises determining, by the controller device based on the operating condition information, an assignment of the different access point devices to mobile devices for usage as serving nodes for the mobile devices, and controlling, by the controller device, latency settings of the respective communication links for the mobile devices based on the assignment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2419