DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 11/12/2025. Claims 1-5, 7-20 are pending in the application. Claims 12-20 have been withdrawn, claim 6 has been cancelled, and claims 1-5, 7-11 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The rejection of claim 6 is obviated by Applicant's cancellation.
All rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US 20220118128 A1) in view of Bellec et al. (US 20140265039 A1) and Liu et al. (US 20220296747 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Qiu teaches a system [abstract] comprising: a power supply [0018]; a light (Fig. 2, 200) coupled to the power supply [0018] and comprising a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (Fig. 2, 110, 112, 114, 116); wherein the plurality of LEDs comprises a first LED that has a first wavelength (Fig. 1, UVA LEDs 116 emit at 405 nm, [0013]), a second LED that has a second wavelength that is different from the first wavelength (second LEDs = 114, which emit at different wavelength than UV-A); a third LED that has the first wavelength (Fig. 1, 116), and a fourth LED that has the second wavelength (Fig. 1, 114), and wherein the first wavelength is a violet wavelength in a first wavelength range of 400-450 nm (Fig. 1, UV-A LEDs 116 emit at 405 nm which is partially in the visible spectrum = understood to be violet as [0013]).
Qiu teaches wherein the second LED is configured to provide red light ([0014]) but does not teach wherein the second wavelength is an infrared wavelength in a second wavelength range of 800-1000 nm.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned if the plurality of UV-A light sources alone would be sufficient to sterilize a target, motivating one to turn towards Bellec. Bellec teaches a decontamination device for producing a sterile container [abstract] wherein the device comprises means for generating UV-A radiation [00,31 0112] and a second component capable of producing infrared radiation between 780-1000 nm [0128], wherein that wavelength is specifically chosen to kill molds [0034]. Bellec teaches wherein the combination of UV-A/UV-C radiation and infrared radiation provides a synergistic sterilizing effect [0131].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the red LED light sources as taught by Qiu to include the infrared light sources as taught by Bellec since Bellec teaches the infrared light to combine with UV-A light to provide a more effective sterilizing effect [0131] and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and 2143(I)(G).
Modified Qiu teaches control circuitry that can selectively control the plurality of LEDs including a first set of LEDs having a first wavelength and a second set of LEDs having a second wavelength different than the first wavelength (Qiu, [0017]). Modified Qiu also contemplates the usage of sensors to assist in controlling the light system (Qiu, [0082-0083]) and teaches switches to control the actuation of the LED light sources (Qiu, [0017-0018]) in specific duty cycles but does not teach a temperature sensor that is configured to sense a temperature of a target object or a surrounding of the target object and generate a sensing signal, and actuation of the LED light sources based on the sensed temperature.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with regulating heat and preventing damage to the UV LEDs, motivating one to turn towards Liu. Liu teaches a device for disinfecting medical equipment comprising an enclosure, a plurality of UV LEDs positioned into the enclosure, an acquisition module which acquires temperature information from one or more sensors located in the disinfection enclosure adjacent the UVC LEDs; and an alarm module configured to issue an abnormality alarm when the temperature information acquired by the acquisition module indicates an abnormal condition present in the disinfecting enclosure [0031-0035]. Liu teaches the intensity of the UV LEDs to be attenuated by a processor [0093] when the temperature threshold is met inside the device [0111] to prevent damage to the LEDs and maintain sterilization efficiency [0096].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Modified Qiu to include the temperature sensors, acquisition module, and processor as taught by Liu since Liu teaches these components to sense when a threshold temperature is reached in a target area and attenuate the intensity of UV radiation emitted by UV LEDs to prevent damage to the LEDs and maintain sterilization efficiency [0096] and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and 2143(I)(G).
The Examiner notes the following language recited in claim 1 fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art because it describes the functional recitation of the apparatus rather than structure (MPEP 2114(II)): “wherein the first switch is turned on with the sensing signal having a first value and turned off with the sensing signal having a second value, and the second switch is turned off with the sensing signal having the first value and turned on with the sensing signal having the second value; wherein, with the first switch being turned on, the first LED and the second LED are turned on, and the third LED and the fourth LED are turned off; wherein, with the second switch being turned on, the first LED and the second LED are turned off, and the third LED and the fourth LED are turned on; wherein a first ratio of light intensity emitted by the first LED with respect to the second LED is one to three (1:3), and a second ratio of light intensity emitted by the third LED with respect to the fourth LED is three to one (3:1).”
A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963). Because the system of Modified Qiu contains control circuitry (including a plurality of switches, Qiu, [0017-0018]) connected to and capable of selectively activating/deactivating two different pluralities of light sources that emit two different wavelengths of light, it is understood to contain the presently defined claim structure and could perform the functions recited in the claim. Modified Qiu also contains control circuitry capable of attenuating the intensity a plurality of LEDs (Qiu, [0017-0018]) based on a temperature threshold sensed by a temperature sensor (Liu, processor controls acquisition unit which modulates intensity, [0093], [0111]), and is therefore understood contain the presently defined claim structure and could perform the functions at the specified ratios recited in the claim
Regarding claim 2, Modified Qiu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein a first number of the first LED is greater than a second number of the second LED (Qiu, Fig. 2, UV-A to red LEDs ratio is 3:1).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Qiu teaches the system of claim 2, wherein a ratio of the first number and the second number is three to one (Qiu, Fig. 2, UV-A to red LEDs ratio is 3:1).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Qiu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second LED is turned off based on the temperature being greater than a threshold temperature (Benner, [0064, 0069-0070] thermal sensor understood to be capable of detecting motion based off temperature threshold; Qiu, control circuitry capable of selectively activating light sources [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Qiu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of LEDs has a substantially similar power rating (Qiu, [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Qiu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the light is capable of emitting a combined light of the first wavelength and the second wavelength at a varying ratio based on an operating condition or an application (Qiu, circuitry 102 can emit combined wavelength based on user input understood to be an application, [0023]).
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US 20220118128 A1) in view of Bellec et al. (US 20140265039 A1) and Liu et al. (US 20220296747 A1), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Benner et al. (US 20230248862 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Qiu teaches the system of claim 1 including control circuitry that can selectively control the plurality of LEDs including a first set of LEDs having a first wavelength and a second set of LEDs having a second wavelength different than the first wavelength (Qiu, [0017]). Modified Qiu also contemplates the usage of sensors to assist in controlling the light system (Qiu, [0082-0083]) and teaches a switch to control the actuation of the LED light sources (Qiu, [0018]) but does not teach a distance sensor configured to sense a distance from the light to a target object, and wherein the light has a third switch that is turned on or off based on the distance.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with accidentally exposing a user of the system to potentially harmful UV-A radiation, motivating one to turn towards Benner. Benner teaches a light disinfection control system [abstract] comprising a plurality of UV light sources (Fig. 2, 20) connected to control circuitry (understood to include a switch, [0046-0048]) and a plurality of sensors (40, 42) connected to both the sources and circuitry. Benner further teaches wherein the sensors may be distance sensors configured to sense a distance between the light sources and an occupant in the target space and are configured to control operation of the UV light sources to prevent exposing the occupant to harmful radiation [0069-0070].
Benner is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to disinfection systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control circuitry as taught by Qiu with the control circuitry and distance sensor as taught by Benner since Benner teaches the circuitry and sensor to provide a safety interlock for the lights and prevent accidentally exposing an occupant to harmful radiation [0069-0070] and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and 2143(I)(G).
The Examiner notes the following language recited in claim 4 fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art because it describes the functional recitation of the apparatus rather than structure (MPEP 2114(II)): “wherein a first subset of the plurality of LEDs is turned on with the third switch being turned on, and a second subset of the plurality of LEDs is turned on with the third switch being turned off, and wherein a first third ratio of the first LED with respect to the second LED that are turned on with the third switch being turned on is different from a second fourth ratio of the first LED with respect to the second LED that are turned on with the third switch being turned off.”
A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963). Because the system of Modified Qiu contains control circuitry (including a switch) connected to and capable of selectively activating/deactivating two different plurality of light sources that emit two different wavelengths of light, it is understood to contain the presently defined claim structure and could perform the functions recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Modified Qiu teaches the system of claim 4, wherein light intensity of the light is varied based on the distance sensed by the distance sensor (Benner, control circuitry can reduce UV irradiance below dose limit based on distance sensor [0069-0070]).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US 20220118128 A1) in view of Bellec et al. (US 20140265039 A1) and Liu et al. (US 20220296747 A1), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Barron et al. (US 20190321501 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Qiu teaches the system of claim 1 comprising a plurality of LEDs (Qiu, Fig. 2, 110, 112, 114, 116) but does not teach wherein each of the plurality of LEDs is a chip-on-board (COB) diode.
Barron teaches a disinfecting light device [abstract] including an embodiment of a light emitter (Fig. 6, [0045]) with a single light emitting diode (LEDs) mounted thereon (Fig. 6, 62), wherein the emitter is understood to be arranged in a chip-on-board arrangement [0079]. Barron teaches this embodiment to contain a light converting material 64 to help facilitate conversion of non-ultraviolet-visible-infrared (UV-VIS-IR) forms of energy (such as electricity) into ultraviolet-visible-infrared energy [0063].
Barron is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to lighting systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute each of the plurality of LEDs as taught by Qiu with the chip-on-board LED arrangement as taught by Barron since Barron recognizes the arrangement as suitable for the same purpose of Qiu (emitting UV and infrared [IR] radiation) ([0063], see also MPEP 2144.07) and because this involves the combination of elements (each of the LEDs of Qiu with the LEDs arrangement of Barron) to yield a predictable result (emitting UV and infrared radiation) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Modified Qiu teaches the system of claim 1 comprising a plurality of LEDs (Qiu, Fig. 2, 110, 112, 114, 116) but does not teach wherein the light comprises a single chip-on-board (COB) diode on which the plurality of LEDs is formed.
Barron teaches a disinfecting light device [abstract] including an embodiment of a light emitter (Fig. 8, [0047]) with an array of light emitting diodes (LEDs) mounted thereon, wherein the LEDs are understood to be arranged in a single chip-on-board arrangement with a plurality of LEDs formed thereon [0079]. Barron teaches this embodiment to contain a light converting material 84 to help facilitate conversion of non-ultraviolet-visible-infrared (UV-VIS-IR) forms of energy (such as electricity) into ultraviolet-visible-infrared energy [0063].
Barron is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to lighting systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute each of the plurality of LEDs as taught by Qiu with the chip-on-board LED arrangement as taught by Barron since Barron recognizes the arrangement as suitable for the same purpose of Qiu (emitting UV and infrared [IR] radiation) ([0063], see also MPEP 2144.07) and because this involves the combination of elements (each of the LEDs of Qiu with the LEDs arrangement of Barron) to yield a predictable result (emitting UV and infrared radiation) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
In the arguments presented on page 7 of the amendment, filed 11/12/2025, the Applicant argues that neither Qiu nor Benner teach a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of a target object, and that Benner contrarily discloses a thermal imagining sensor that can detect a motionless person with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102.
This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the art Liu (US 20220296747 A1). See rejection above.
In the arguments presented on pages 7-8 of the amendment, filed 11/12/2025, the Applicant argues that neither Qiu nor Benner teach "wherein the light has a first switch and a second switch, the first switch is turned on with the sensing signal having a first value and turned off with the sensing signal having a second value, and the second switch is turned off with the sensing signal having the first value and turned on with the sensing signal having the second value"; "wherein the plurality of LEDs comprises ... a third LED that has the first wavelength, and a fourth LED that has the second wavelength"; "wherein, with the first switch being turned on, the first LED and the second LED are turned on, and the third LED and the fourth LED are turned off'; "wherein, with the second switch being turned on, the first LED and the second LED are turned off, and the third LED and the fourth LED are turned on"; and wherein a first ratio of light intensity emitted by the first LED with respect to the second LED is one to three (1:3), and a second ratio of light intensity emitted by the third LED with respect to the fourth LED is three to one (3:1). with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102.
This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the art Liu (US 20220296747 A1). See rejection above.
In the arguments presented on pages 8-10 of the amendment, filed 11/12/2025, the Applicant argues that none of Qiu, Benner, Bellec, or Barron teach a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of a target object, and that Benner contrarily discloses a thermal imagining sensor that can detect a motionless person with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the art Liu (US 20220296747 A1). See rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758