Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15, and 29-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, 11, 15-17, 20, 23, 25, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (US 20250167859 A1, hereinafter, "LIN") in view of MAO et al. (US 20250211307 A1, hereinafter, "MAO") and RINGH et al. (WO 2023208474 A1, hereinafter, "RINGH").
Regarding claim 1, LIN teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (paragraph
0249; figure 1, terminal device: 1), comprising:
a memory;
LIN writes, “The information handled in these devices is transitorily stored in a Random-Access-Memory
(RAM) while being processed. Thereafter, the information is stored in various types of Read-Only-
Memory (ROM) such as a Flash ROM and a Hard-Disk-Drive (HDD), and when necessary, is read by the
CPU to be modified or rewritten” (paragraph 0249).
and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
LIN writes, “Each of a program running on the base station device 3 and the terminal device 1 according
to an aspect of the present invention may be a program that controls a Central Processing Unit (CPU)
and the like, such that the program causes a computer to operate in such a manner as to realize the
functions of the above-described embodiment according to the present invention” (paragraph 0249).
receive one or more channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RSs);
LIN writes, “The base station device 3 may transmit a reference signal. The reference signal may be a
CSI-RS or a SS/PBCH block. The terminal device 1 may receive the reference signal” (paragraph 0242).
the compressed CSI report being compressed using a machine learning model
LIN writes, “The CSI report with the machine learning-based CSI compression may be referred to as
Type-III codebook, enhanced Type-II codebook, or a terminology referring to a new codebook type
compared to the Type-I codebook and Type-II codebook” (paragraph 0239).
LIN fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and transmit a compressed CSI report via
layer 2 signaling,” and “and being based at least in part on an estimation of reconstruction of the compressed CSI report.”
However, in analogous art, MAO teaches and transmit a compressed CSI report via layer 2
signaling,
MAO writes, “...a CSI report may also be understood as: the transmit end generates the CSI report; or
the transmit end performs CSI compression based on a channel detection result (or a channel estimation
result), compresses a quantity of pieces of CSI from M to N, and obtains the CSI report based on
compressed CSI; or the transmit end performs channel detection based on a reference signal to obtain
M pieces of CSI, compresses the M pieces of CSI to N pieces of CSI by using a CSI compression method
based on a modified DFT matrix, and obtains the CSI report based on the N pieces of CSI” (paragraph
0159). MAO adds, “...the CSI report may be included in a CSI frame at a media access control (media
access control, MAC) layer. For example, in this embodiment of this application, a CSI report field (CSI
report field) of a WLAN physical layer packet may be used to support a function of sending CSI from a
transmit end (for example, a beamformee) to a receive end (for example, a beamformer) in a CSI frame
at the MAC layer in an explicit feedback manner (paragraph 0166).” MAO explains the CSI report is
based on compressed CSI. Further, MAO states the CSI report may be included in a CSI frame at a MAC
layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN to include aspects described by MAO
that “relates to the field of communication technologies, and in particular, to a channel state
information (channel state information, CSI) processing method and apparatus.” MAO provides the
motivation for modification stating, “Embodiments of this application provide a CSI processing method
and apparatus, which can not only effectively reduce CSI feedback overheads, but also effectively
improve accuracy of CSI compression” (paragraph 0244).
LIN and MAO fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and being based at least in part on an estimation of reconstruction of the compressed CSI report.”
However, in analogous art, RINGH teaches and being based at least in part on an estimation of reconstruction of the compressed CSI report.
RINGH writes, “The use of the AE is here in the context of CSI compressing where a UE provides CSI feedback to a radio access network node by sending a CSI report that include a compressed and encoded version of the estimated downlink channel, or of important features thereof” (page 7, lines 22-25). RINGH adds, “Obtain one or more third compressed channel feature codeword, indicative of one or more third estimated channels and/or one or more third estimated channel features, reconstruct the one or more third estimated channels and/or one or more third estimated channel features by using the training model, calculate, based on the reconstructed one or more third channels and/or reconstructed one or more third channel features and/or an output of the training model, a reconstruction loss using the loss function, and train the training model to provide any one or more out of: the one or more preferred precoders maximizing the SNR received by the second wireless node, the one or more reconstructed estimated channels and the one or more reconstructed estimated channel features, by using machine learning, based on the calculated reconstruction loss, to minimize the loss function” (page 15, lines 3-14). RINGH states the CSI report includes compressed and encoded version of the estimated downlink channel, or of important features. RINGH explains that to minimize loss function that the one or more reconstructed estimated channels and the one or more reconstructed estimated channel features, by using machine learning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN and MAO to include aspects described by RINGH that “relate to a first wireless node, an operator node and methods therein. In some aspects, they relate to determining one or more precoders and/or training a training model for providing one or more out of one or more preferred precoders maximizing a Signal-to-Noise Ratio received by a second wireless node, one or more reconstructed estimated channels and one or more reconstructed estimated channel features.” RINGH provides the motivation for modification stating, “Embodiments bring the advantage of an efficient mechanism improving the performance in the wireless communications network. This is achieved by using a training model and determine one or more preferred precoders that maximizes the SNR received by a second wireless node based at least on the training model. This e.g., leads to an increased downlink throughput, and results in an improved the performance in the wireless communications network” (page 15, lines 23-28).
Regarding claim 2, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 1,
Additionally, LIN teaches wherein the machine learning model comprises a first machine
learning model,
LIN writes, “A terminal device comprising: reception circuitry configured to receive a reference signal, a
first machine learning model, and a second machine learning model that is different from the first
machine learning model; and transmission circuitry configured to transmit a CSI report; wherein a CSI
related data is at least obtained from the reference signal; wherein the CSI related data is compressed
into a first compressed CSI data and a second compressed CSI data, by the first machine learning model
and the second machine learning model, respectively; wherein the CSI report includes the first
compressed CSI data and the second compressed CSI data” (claim 1). LIN specifies in the first claim, “…a
first machine learning model…”
wherein the machine learning model is associated with a second machine learning model at a
network node,
LIN writes, “A base station device comprising: transmission circuitry configured to transmit a reference
signal, a first machine learning model, and a second machine learning model that is different from the
first machine learning model; reception circuitry configured to receive a CSI report; wherein a CSI
related data is at least obtained from the reference signal; wherein the CSI related data is compressed
into a first compressed CSI data and a second compressed CSI data, by the first machine learning model
and the second machine learning model, respectively; wherein the CSI report includes the first
compressed CSI data and the second compressed CSI data” (claim 2). LIN specifies in the second claim
that the base station device comprises, “…a second machine learning model …”
and wherein association of the second machine learning model to the first machine learning
model supports reconstruction of the compressed CSI report.
LIN writes, “FIG. 14 is a diagram showing an example of CSI compression and decompression with
multiple machine learning models according to an aspect of the present embodiment. In FIG. 14, the
base station device 3 configures ML model 1401 and ML 1402 to the terminal device 1. The terminal
device 1 receives ML model 1401 and ML model 1402. CSI data compression unit 1400 may include ML
model 1401 and ML model 1402. The terminal device 1 may obtain a CSI related data from a reference
signal. The terminal device 1 may compress the CSI related data into a first compressed CSI data and a
second compressed CSI data, by ML model 1401 and ML model 1402, respectively. The terminal device 1
may include the first compressed CSI data and the second compressed CSI data in the CSI report. The
terminal device 1 may transmit the CSI report via an uplink transmission (for example, a PUCCH or a
PUSCH). The base station device 3 may receive/detect/decode the CSI report via the uplink transmission.
The base station device 3 may decompress the first compressed CSI data and the second compressed CSI
data into a first decompressed CSI data and a second decompressed CSI data, respectively” (paragraph
0247; figure 14). LIN indicates multiple ML models and that the CSI report may consist of a first
compressed CSI data and a second compressed CSI data. LIN further explains that the base station may
decompress the first compressed CSI and the second compressed CSI data. Therefore, LIN indicates the
second machine learning model and the first machine learning model support reconstruction of the
compressed CSI report.
Regarding claim 3, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 1,
Additionally, LIN teaches wherein the compressed CSI report comprises one or more of: an
encoder output that indicates a precoder associated with receiving the one or more CSI -RSs, a
channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank index (RI), an indication of the machine learning model, or an
indication of one or more CSI-RS occasions associated with the compressed CSI report.
LIN writes, “The channel state information may include at least part of or all a channel quality indicator
(CQI), a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI). CQI is an indicator related to channel
quality (e.g., propagation quality) or physical channel quality, and PMI is an indicator related to a
precoder. RI is an indicator related to transmission rank (or the number of transmission layers)”
(paragraph 0097). LIN adds, “The terminal device 1 may include one or more compressed CSI data in the
CSI report” (paragraph 0243). LIN continues, “In this specification, ML (machine learning) models are
considered for compressing data. For example, autoencoder models may be used for CSI data
compression or decompression” (paragraph 0235). LIN states the CSI may include at least part or all a
CQI, a PMI, and a RI. LIN explains the compressed CSI report consists of compressed CSI data, thereby,
indicating the compressed CSI report consists of at least part or all a CQI, a PMI, and a RI.
Regarding claim 6, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 3,
Additionally, LIN teaches wherein one or more of the CQI or the RI is associated with the estimation of reconstruction of the compressed CSI report.
LIN writes, “The terminal device 1 may quantize channel estimations into CQI indices and report the CQI
indices” (paragraph 0229). LIN continues, “A CSI related data is obtained at least based on channel
estimation. The base station device 3 may decompress the compressed CSI data into a decompressed
CSI data by using the ML model 1201. The compressed CSI data is inputted into the layer 1212 and the
decompressed CSI data is outputted by the layer 1213 (output layer) in the ML model 1201” (paragraph
0240). LIN states the terminal device may quantize channel estimations into CQI indices and the CQI
indices may be reported. LIN goes on to explain the CSI related data is obtained at least based on
channel estimation. Thus, the CQI indices are in part associated with the reconstruction of the
compressed CSI.
Regarding claim 9, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 3,
Additionally, LIN teaches wherein the indication of the machine learning model comprises an
indication of the machine learning model from a set of candidate machine learning models.
LIN writes, “FIG. 13 is a diagram showing an example of CSI compression and decompression with
multiple machine learning models according to an aspect of the present embodiment. In FIG. 13, the
base station device 3 configures ML model 1301, ML model 1302, and ML 1303 to the terminal device 1
(paragraph 0245; figure 13).
Regarding claim 11, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 1,
Additionally, LIN teaches wherein the compressed CSI report is a periodic or semi-persistent
compressed CSI report.
LIN writes, “The time domain behavior is indicated by a higher-layer parameter reportConfigType and
may be set to ‘aperiodic’, ‘semiPersistentOnPUCCH’, ‘semiPersistentOnPUSCH’, or ‘periodic’. A higher-
layer parameter CodebookConfig included in the higher-layer parameter CSI-ReportConfig may contain
configuration parameters for Type-I, Type-II, Enhanced Type II CSI, or a machine learning-based type
CSI” (paragraph 0226).
Claims 15-17, 20, 23, and 25 are apparatus claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 1-3,
6, 9, and 11 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the
rejection of claims 1-3, 6, 9, and 11. Claims 15-17, 20, 23, and 25-27 are rejected under the same
rational as claims 1-3, 6, 9, and 11.
Claims 29-30 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 1 and 15 that have
already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1 and 15.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1 and 15.
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN, MAO, and RINGH as applied to claims 3 and 17 above, and further in view of GUAN et al. (US 20250260449 A1, hereinafter, "GUAN") and TOSATO et al. (US 20250226867 A1, hereinafter, "TOSATO").
Regarding claim 4, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 3,
LIN, MAO, and RINGH fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the encoder output comprises a set of blocks of information,”, “the set of blocks of information having a quantity that is based at least in part on a number of subbands and a number of layers associated with the one or more CSI-RSs,”, and “and wherein each block of the set of blocks of information is associated with a compressed precoder for one CSI subband on one layer.”
However, in analogous art, GUAN teaches wherein the encoder output comprises a set of
blocks of information,
GUAN writes, “The terms ‘a compression method’ may refer to at least one of the following parameters:
a compression ratio (CR), the number of compressed bits, the number of quantization bits, output or
input dimension of encoder, output or input dimension of decoder, the number of layers in an encoder
or decoder, dimension or size of each layer, activation function, and so on” (paragraph 0036). GUAN
adds, “In this embodiment, the terminal device 110 may determine the compression method based on
frequency-domain information. The frequency-domain information may comprise one or more
frequency-domain parameters” (paragraph 0145). GUAN continues, “...a frequency-domain parameter
may comprise the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) in a configured bandwidth part (BWP)”
(paragraph 0146). GUAN informs the reader “a compression method” may refer to output or input
dimensions of encoder. GUAN explains the compression method may be based on frequency-domain
information that may comprise one or more frequency-domain parameters. GUAN concludes a
frequency-domain parameter may comprise the number of PRBs in a configured BWP.
the set of blocks of information having a quantity that is based at least in part on a number of
subbands and a number of layers associated with the one or more CSI -RSs,
GUAN writes, “Supported input dimension of encoder, in other words, supported number of ports for
auto-encoder based CSI feedback, support number of subbands for auto-encoder based CSI feedback,
support size of subbands for auto-encoder based CSI feedback, support bandwidth for auto-
encoder based CSI feedback; Other parameters and hyper-parameters to describe AI/ML model (or, to
align encoder/decoder) including a number or a maximum number of layers, a number or a maximum
number of hidden layers, layer types, layer shapes (i.e., filter size, a number of channels/filters), a
number and a maximum number of neurons per each layer, a number and a maximum number of
neurons, and connections between layers, learning rate, loss function, cost function, activation function,
mini-batch size, number of training iterations, momentum, number of hidden units, weight decay,
activation sparsity, nonlinearity, weight initialization, regularization constant, number of epochs,
number of branches in a decision tree, number of clusters in a clustering algorithm and any other hyper-
parameters” (paragraph 0081-0082). GUAN indicates the input dimension of the encoder supports,
number of subbands for auto-encoder based CSI feedback, size of subbands for auto-encoder based CSI
feedback, number or a maximum number of layers, a number or a maximum number of hidden layers,
layer types, and layer shapes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN, MAO, and RINGH to include aspects described by GUAN that “ relate to the field of telecommunication, and in particular, to methods, devices and computer storage media of communication for an artificial intelligence (AI) or machine learning (ML) based channel state information (CSI) feedback.” GUAN provides the motivation for modification stating, “A network device determines the compression method based on the configuration and recoveries CSI based on the compression method and the compressed CSI. In this way, a dynamic compression method may be applied to obtain compressed CSI based on a configuration from a network device. Accordingly, CSI feedback overhead and compression performance may be balanced” (paragraph 0035). GUAN mentions, "In this solution, a terminal device determines a compression method based on a configuration from a network device to compress CSI, and transmit the compressed CSI to a network device" (paragraph 0034).
LIN, MAO, RINGH and GUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and wherein each block of the set of blocks of information is associated with a compressed precoder for one CSI subband on one layer.”
However, in analogous art, TOSATO teaches and wherein each block of the set of blocks of
information is associated with a compressed precoder for one CSI subband on one layer.
TOSATO writes, “For instance, a time domain information may be a subband time information”
(paragraph 0116). TOSATO continues, “According to an exemplary embodiment of the method
according to the first exemplary aspect and/or the apparatus according to the third exemplary aspect,
the TRS based time domain and/or Doppler domain information are reported for a respective (e.g. each)
layer of precoder matrix indicator reported in the CSI” (paragraph 0117). TOSATO states TRS based time
domain and/or Doppler domain information are reported for a respective (e.g. each) layer of precoder
matrix indicator reported in the CSI. Further, a time domain information may be a subband time
information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN, MAO, RINGH, and GUAN to include aspects described by TOSATO that “relate to communication networks, such as wireless radio networks comprising base stations and mobile devices or user devices (aka user equipment (UE)), communicating with each other. Specifically, various example embodiments according to the present disclosure relate to systems, apparatuses, and methods for channel state information (CSI) compression in time domain.” TOSATO provides the motivation for modification stating, “Various example embodiments according to the present disclosure may enable time domain channel tracking and/or enable adding time-domain correlation and/or Doppler-domain information to a legacy Type-I/eType-II CSI report, e.g. without the need to measure multiple CSI-RS occasions and without requiring changes to the combination coefficients in the legacy CSI reporting. Various example embodiments may thus enable improved signalling” (paragraph 0038).
Claim 18 is an apparatus claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 4 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 18 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 4.
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN, MAO, RINGH, GUAN, and TOSATO as applied to claims 4 and 18 above, and further in view of PARK et al. (US 20250096974 A1, hereinafter, "PARK").
Regarding claim 5, LIN, MAO, RINGH, GUAN, and TOSATO teach the UE of claim 4, wherein the encoder output comprises the set of blocks ordered based at least in part on:
LIN, MAO, RINGH, GUAN, and TOSATO fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “a layer identifier, or a subband identifier.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches a layer identifier, or a subband identifier.
PARK writes, “In addition, in the present disclosure, the method may further include reporting, to the
base station, a start layer index to which the predefined method is applied or an order of layers to which
the predefined method is applied” (paragraph 0012). PARK adds, “Each CSI -RS resource is identified by a
CSI-RS resource ID” (paragraph 0425).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN, MAO, RINGH, GUAN, and TOSATO to include aspects described by PARK that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more specifically, to a method and device for transmitting and receiving channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system.” PARK provides the motivation for modification stating, “...according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, system performance can be improved by effectively performing CSI calculation reflecting the time domain/Doppler domain CSI compression method” (paragraph 0014).
Claim 19 is an apparatus claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 5 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 19 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 5.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN, MAO, and RINGH as applied to claims 3 and 17 above, and further in view of CHENG et al. (US 20150049702 A1, hereinafter, "CHENG").
Regarding claim 7, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 3,
LIN, MAO, and RINGH fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the CQI includes quality information for one or more of: a wideband frequency band, or subbands of the wideband frequency band.”
However, in analogous art, CHENG teaches wherein the CQI includes quality information for one or more of: a wideband frequency band, or subbands of the wideband frequency band.
CHENG writes, “According to some embodiments of the invention, the at least one CQI further includes
a wide-band CQI, and, therefore the higher layer-configured sub-band CQIs, when being transmitted to
the network side, are represented by values obtained through encoding respective sub-band CQI of the
higher layer-configured sub-band CQIs differentially with the wide-band CQI” (paragraph 0062).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN, MAO, and RINGH to include aspects described by CHENG that “relates to communication systems, and more particularly to a method, a user equipment, and a computer-readable storage medium for reporting Channel State Information (CSI) feedbacks to a network side, for example, to a Transmission Point (TP).” CHENG provides the motivation for modification stating, “With particular embodiments of the techniques described in this specification, the network side can be notified of a plurality of CSI feedbacks with each one associated with one CSI-RS resource. As a result, the CoMP scheme can use the CSI feedbacks to coordinate DL transmissions, which improve system performance” (paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 8, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 7,
Additionally, CHENG teaches wherein a number of subbands of the wideband frequency band
is less than or equal to a number of subbands indicated with the encoder output.
CHENG writes, “According to some embodiments of the invention, the at least one CQI further includes
a wide-band CQI, and, therefore the higher layer-configured sub-band CQIs, when being transmitted to
the network side, are represented by values obtained through encoding respective sub-band CQI of the
higher layer-configured sub-band CQIs differentially with the wide-band CQI” (paragraph 0062). CHENG
indicates that the wide-band CQI may be a single band and is therefore less than or equal to the higher
layer-configured sub-band CQIs.
Claims 21 and 22 are apparatus claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 7 and 8 that have
already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 7 and 8.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under the same rational as claims 7 and 8.
Claim(s) 10 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN, MAO, and RINGH as applied to claims 3 and 17 above, and further in view of KANG et al. (US 20220200767 A1, hereinafter, "KANG").
Regarding claim 10, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 3,
LIN, MAO, and RINGH fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the indication of one or more CSI-RS occasions associated with the compressed CSI report comprises one or more of: an
indication of a slot and subframe number of a CSI-RS occasion associated with the compressed CSI
report, or an indication of a slot and subframe number of a first CSI -RS occasion used to generate the
compressed CSI report after CSI reports are activated.”
However, in analogous art, KANG teaches wherein the indication of one or more CSI-RS
occasions associated with the compressed CSI report comprises one or more of: an indication of a slot
and subframe number of a CSI-RS occasion associated with the compressed CSI report, or an
indication of a slot and subframe number of a first CSI-RS occasion used to generate the compressed
CSI report after CSI reports are activated.
KANG writes, “At this time, the transmission occasion (i.e. a transmission time unit) (i) for PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS and/or PRACH may be defined by a slot index (n_s) in a frame of a system frame number
(SFN), a first symbol (S) in a slot, the number (L) of consecutive symbols, and the like” (paragraph 0265).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN, MAO, and RINGH to include aspects described by KANG that “relates to a wireless communication system, and to a method for transmitting channel state information and a device therefor.” KANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “The present disclosure has an effect that performance can be improved by maintaining orthogonality between respective layers in transmitting type 2 channel state information (CSI)” (paragraph 0024).
Claim 24 is an apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 10 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 10. Claim 24 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 10.
Claim(s) 12-14 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN, MAO, and RINGH as applied to claims 11 and 25 above, and further in view of PARK.
Regarding claim 12, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 11,
LIN, MAO, and RINGH fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the compressed CSI report is activated based at least in part on activation or configuration of periodic or semi-persistent CSI-RSs.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches wherein the compressed CSI report is activated based
at least in part on activation or configuration of periodic or semi-persistent CSI-RSs.
PARK writes, “For SP CSI in a short/long PUCCH, periodicity and a slot offset are configured by RRC and a
CSI report is activated/deactivated by separate MAC CE/DCI” (paragraph 0174). PARK continues, “For SP
CSI in a PUSCH, periodicity of SP CSI reporting is configured by RRC, but a slot offset is not configured by
RRC and SP CSI reporting is activated/deactivated by DCI (format 0_1)” (paragraph 0175).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN, MAO, and RINGH to include aspects described by PARK that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more specifically, to a method and device for transmitting and receiving channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system.” PARK provides the motivation for modification stating, “...according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, system performance can be improved by effectively performing CSI calculation reflecting the time domain/Doppler domain CSI compression method” (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 13, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 11,
LIN, MAO, and RINGH fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the compressed CSI report is activated via an activation indication that is separate from an activation or configuration of periodic or semi-persistent CSI-RSs.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches wherein the compressed CSI report is activated via an
activation indication that is separate from an activation or configuration of periodic or semi-persistent
CSI-RSs.
PARK writes, “For SP CSI in a short/long PUCCH, periodicity and a slot offset are configured by RRC and a
CSI report is activated/deactivated by separate MAC CE/DCI” (paragraph 0174). PARK continues, “For SP
CSI in a PUSCH, periodicity of SP CSI reporting is configured by RRC, but a slot offset is not configured by
RRC and SP CSI reporting is activated/deactivated by DCI (format 0_1)” (paragraph 0175).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN, MAO, and RINGH to include aspects described by PARK that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more specifically, to a method and device for transmitting and receiving channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system.” PARK provides the motivation for modification stating, “...according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, system performance can be improved by effectively performing CSI calculation reflecting the time domain/Doppler domain CSI compression method” (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 14, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the UE of claim 13,
LIN, MAO, and RINGH fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the activation indication indicates one or more layer 2 CSI reports to activate or deactivate.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches wherein the activation indication indicates one or
more layer 2 CSI reports to activate or deactivate.
PARK writes, “For SP CSI in a short/long PUCCH, periodicity and a slot offset are configured by RRC and a
CSI report is activated/deactivated by separate MAC CE/DCI” (paragraph 0174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN, MAO, and RINGH to include aspects described by PARK that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more specifically, to a method and device for transmitting and receiving channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system.” PARK provides the motivation for modification stating, “...according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, system performance can be improved by effectively performing CSI calculation reflecting the time domain/Doppler domain CSI compression method” (paragraph 0014).
Claims 26-27 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 12-13 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 12-13. Claims 26-27 are rejected under the same rational as claims 12-13.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN, MAO, and RINGH as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20160142115 A1, hereinafter, "ZHANG").
Regarding claim 28, LIN, MAO, and RINGH teach the network node of claim 15,
LIN, MAO, and RINGH fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the one or more
processors are further configured to: reconstruct the compressed CSI report to produce a reconstruction of a precoder.”
However, in analogous art, ZHANG teaches wherein the one or more processors are further
configured to: reconstruct the compressed CSI report to produce a reconstruction of a precoder.
ZHANG writes, “...the eNB 102 can reconstruct either the DL MIMO channel or the precoder W”
(paragraph 0207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LIN, MAO, and RINGH to include aspects described by ZHANG that “relates generally to partially precoding CSI-RS antenna ports associated with multiple transmit antennas. Such two dimensional arrays are associated with a type of multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) system often termed “full-dimension” MIMO (FD-MIMO) or massive MIMO or 3D-MIMO.” ZHANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “In order to meet the high growth in mobile data traffic and support new applications and deployments, improvements in radio interface efficiency and coverage is of paramount importance” (paragraph 0003). ZHANG mentions, "In addition, CSI-RS resources are expensive and must be managed efficiently. It is therefore desirable to reduce the number of CSI-RS resources per UE in addition to improving CSI-RS coverage" (paragraph 0111).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 10/7/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475