DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8 and 13 remain withdrawn.
In the reply filed 12/5/25, Applicant maintains the traversal of the restriction requirement between subspecies A-C. Applicant argues on pg. 8 that the examination burden for searching for an anchor with a single anchor point (subspecies A) and an anchor with multiple anchor points (subspecies B-C) would be minimal.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. However, upon further consideration, the restriction requirement between subspecies A-C has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam.” This means all of the stress isolation structures are between the first anchor region and the one claimed cantilever beam.
However, as shown above, each of the cantilever beams 7a-d is respectively between each of the stress isolation structures 6a-d and the first anchor region 5, which is contrary to what is recited.
Accordingly, claim 1 contains new matter.
Claim 18 contains new matter for substantially the same reasons as claim 1.
Claims 2-7, 9-12, 14-16, and 19-20 contain new matter for depending from one of claims 1 and 18.
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the accelerometer further comprises a plurality of stress isolation structures, each of the stress isolation structures is configured to connect the cantilever beam to the first anchor region;
wherein each stress isolation structure corresponds to one cantilever beam, and the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam corresponding to the each stress isolation structure;
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number, and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically distributed on the first axis accelerometer.”
As shown in fig. 3 above, each of the stress isolation structures 6a-d individually connects a different one of a plurality of cantilever beams 7a-d to the first anchor region 5. Claim 1 has only positively recited one cantilever beam, and only provides proper antecedent basis in the claim for one cantilever beam (see line 4). Therefore, it is unclear how plural stress isolation structures connect the one cantilever beam to the first anchor region, and how “each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam corresponding to the each stress isolation structure.” The cited portion of the claim also makes it unclear how many stress isolation structures are required by the claim, so the limitations “wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number, and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically distributed on the first axis accelerometer” are indefinite.
For the purpose of examination, it will be interpreted that claim 1 includes an interpretation in which the cited portion of the claim means “wherein the accelerometer further comprises a stress isolation structure, the stress isolation structure is configured to connect the cantilever beam to the first anchor region;
wherein the stress isolation structure corresponds to the cantilever beam, and the stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam corresponding to the stress isolation structure;
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structure is a number, and the quantity of the stress isolation structures is on the first axis accelerometer.”
Alternatively, it may be interpreted that there is a plurality of cantilever beams and a matching number of stress isolation structures.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam.” This means all of the stress isolation structures are between the first anchor region and the one claimed cantilever beam.
However, as shown above, each of the cantilever beams 7a-d is respectively between each of the stress isolation structures 6a-d and the first anchor region 5, which is contrary to what is recited.
Accordingly, claim 1 is indefinite since it is unclear how the isolation structures can be located as recited with respect to the beams.
Claim 18 is indefinite for substantially the same reasons as claim 1, and will be interpreted similarly for the purpose of examination.
Claims 2-7, 9-12, 14-16, and 19-20 are indefinite for depending from one of claims 1 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 20190064203 A1).
As to claim 1, Tanaka teaches an accelerometer (fig. 29; ¶101 and ¶252-253 teach that fig. 29 shows an accelerometer), comprising an upper cover layer 10, a first axis accelerometer (fig. 29), and a substrate layer 2, wherein the first axis accelerometer is located between the upper cover layer and the substrate layer (fig. 2), wherein
[AltContent: textbox (CB2)][AltContent: textbox (CB1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (SIS1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (SIS2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
the first axis accelerometer comprises a first anchor region 511, a cantilever beam CB1 (being a segment of spring 54 in fig. 29 above; note that element CB2 in fig. 29 above is a second cantilever beam), a first proof mass 52, a first movable electrode 611, a second movable electrode 621, a first fixed electrode 412, a second fixed electrode 422, a second anchor region 413a, and a third anchor region 423a;
one end of the cantilever beam is connected to the first anchor region, the other end thereof is connected to the first proof mass, and the first proof mass is supported by the cantilever beam and suspended above the substrate layer (fig. 2);
the first movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the first fixed electrode is connected to the second anchor region, and the first movable electrode and the first fixed electrode form a first capacitor (¶148 and ¶253);
the second movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the second fixed electrode is connected to the third anchor region, and the second movable electrode and the second fixed electrode form a second capacitor (¶148 and ¶253); and
the first anchor region, the second anchor region, and the third anchor region are each connected to the substrate layer (¶117 and fig. 2; ¶127 and fig. 2; ¶133 and fig. 2) and/or the upper cover layer (at least indirectly in the case of the upper cover layer), and the first anchor region is located at a central position of the first axis accelerometer (fig. 29),
wherein the accelerometer further comprises a plurality of stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 (fig. 29 above; the stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 are part of element 51X, which provides physical separation between the springs 53-54 and potential stress from the anchor region 511), each of the stress isolation structures is configured to connect the cantilever beam (i.e., respectively connect the cantilever beams CB1-CB2; see the 112b rejection(s) of this claim above for the Examiner’s interpretation of this portion of the claim) to the first anchor region;
wherein each stress isolation structure corresponds to one cantilever beam (i.e. elements CB1-CB2 are two cantilever beams, and there are two stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2), and the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the (respective) cantilever beam corresponding to the each stress isolation structure;
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number, and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically (at least substantially symmetrically) distributed on the first axis accelerometer (see fig. 29).
As to claim 2, Tanaka (fig. 29) teaches wherein the second anchor region and the third anchor region are located on a symmetry axis of the first axis accelerometer.
As to claim 3, Tanaka teaches wherein the second anchor region and the third anchor region are located on two sides of the first anchor region, respectively.
As to claim 4, Tanaka teaches wherein a distance between the second anchor region and the first anchor region is the same (at least approximately the same) as a distance between the third anchor region and the first anchor region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20200182903 A1, hereinafter Tseng) in view of Tanaka (US 20190064203 A1).
As to claim 1, Tseng teaches an accelerometer, comprising an upper cover layer 10 (made of silicon - ¶19), a first axis accelerometer (comprising at least proof mass 20a – see fig. 1), and a substrate layer 40, wherein the first axis accelerometer is located between the upper cover layer and the substrate layer, wherein
[AltContent: textbox (24C2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (AR2)][AltContent: textbox (AR3)][AltContent: textbox (24C)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (AR2)][AltContent: textbox (AR3)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
the first axis accelerometer comprises a first anchor region 23, a cantilever beam 24C (fig. 1 above; note that there is another cantilever beam 24C2 in fig. 1 above), a first proof mass 20a, a first movable electrode 321b, a second movable electrode 321c, a first fixed electrode 322b, a second fixed electrode 322c, a second anchor region AR2 (fig. 2, ¶11 and ¶19), and a third anchor region AR3 (fig. 2, ¶11 and ¶19);
one end of the cantilever beam is connected (indirectly) to the first anchor region, the other end thereof is connected to the first proof mass, and the first proof mass is supported by the cantilever beam and suspended above the substrate layer (¶20);
the first movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the first fixed electrode is connected to the second anchor region (¶11 and figs. 1-2), and the first movable electrode and the first fixed electrode form a first capacitor (¶26);
the second movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the second fixed electrode is connected to the third anchor region (¶11 and figs. 1-2), and the second movable electrode and the second fixed electrode form a second capacitor (¶26); and
the first anchor region, the second anchor region, and the third anchor region are each connected to the substrate layer and/or the upper cover layer, and the first anchor region is located at a central position of the first axis accelerometer (fig. 2).
Tseng does not explicitly teach wherein the accelerometer further comprises a plurality of stress isolation structures, each of the stress isolation structures is configured to connect the cantilever beam to the first anchor region;
wherein each stress isolation structure corresponds to one cantilever beam, and the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam corresponding to the each stress isolation structure;
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number, and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically distributed on the first axis accelerometer.
Tanaka teaches an acceleration sensor (fig. 29 and ¶44, ¶101 and ¶253) wherein the accelerometer comprises a plurality of stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 (fig. 29 above; the stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 are part of element 51X, which provides physical separation between the springs 53-54 and potential stress from the anchor region 511), each of the stress isolation structures is configured to connect a respective one of spring elements 53-54 to a first anchor region 511;
wherein each stress isolation structure respectively corresponds to one of the springs elements, and the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the spring element corresponding to the each stress isolation structure;
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number (i.e., 2), and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically distributed (i.e. at least substantially symmetrically distributed – fig. 29) on the first axis accelerometer 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Tseng to be configured with stress isolation structures between the springs elements (24 of Tseng) and the first anchor region as taught by Tanaka since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of connecting springs to an anchor region for another for the predictable result that acceleration is still successfully detected.
Tseng as modified teaches wherein the accelerometer further comprises a plurality of stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 (Tanaka), each of the stress isolation structures is configured to (respectively) connect the cantilever beam (i.e. the plurality of cantilever beams 24C, 24C2 marked in fig. 29 above; see the 112b rejection(s) of this claim above for the Examiner’s interpretation of this portion of the claim) to the first anchor region;
wherein each stress isolation structure corresponds to one cantilever beam (i.e., the number of stress isolation structures is 2 and Tseng’s cantilever beams 24C, 24C2 together are two cantilever beams), and the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam (i.e., the cantilever beams, respectively; see the 112b rejection(s) of this claim above for the Examiner’s interpretation of this portion of the claim) corresponding to the each stress isolation structure (as a result of the modification in view of Tanaka);
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number, and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically distributed on the first axis accelerometer (in the manner taught by Tanaka).
As to claim 5, Tseng teaches wherein the first fixed electrode is surrounded by the first proof mass, and/or the second fixed electrode is surrounded by the first proof mass (fig. 1).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng in view of Tanaka as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fujii et al. (US 20080290490 A1, hereinafter Fujii).
As to claim 6, Tseng teaches wherein all of the first anchor region, the second anchor region, and the third anchor region are connected to the upper cover layer (note that ¶19 teaches that conductive contacts 11b are electrically connected with fixed electrodes and that conductive contact 11a is connected with the movable electrodes; it is also noted that ¶19 teaches that substrate 10 is a silicon substrate).
Tseng does not teach wherein
the upper cover layer comprises a first conductive column, a second conductive column, and a third conductive column; and
the accelerometer further comprises:
a first bonding electrode, configured to connect the first conductive column to the first anchor region;
a second bonding electrode, configured to connect the second conductive column to the second anchor region; and
a third bonding electrode, configured to connect the third conductive column to the third anchor region, wherein
the first conductive column, the second conductive column, and the third conductive column are connected to respectively different electrodes.
Fujii teaches an accelerometer (figs. 7A-8B; ¶79 teaches that the device of fig. 1 measures acceleration; ¶83 teaches that figs. 2A-6B illustrate the manufacture of the device of fig. 1, and ¶84-86 teach that figs. 7A-8B illustrate a modification of the device of figs. 1-6B, meaning figs. 7A-8B illustrate an accelerometer) comprising
a substrate 22 and an upper cover layer C10,
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (BEf)][AltContent: textbox (BEm)][AltContent: textbox (Af)][AltContent: textbox (Am)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
an anchor region Am (fig. 8A above) for a movable electrode Em (¶57, fig. 7A and fig. 8A teach that portion Bs1 comprises a movable electrode Em and anchor therefor) and another anchor region Af (fig. 8A above) for a fixed electrode Es (¶57, fig. 7A and fig. 8A teach that portion Bs2 comprises a fixed electrode Es and anchor therefor),
the upper cover layer comprises a conductive column Ce1 connected to the movable electrode Em and another conductive column Ce2 connected to the fixed electrode (¶50; figs. 9A-B and ¶86 show the column shape of the conductive columns); and
the accelerometer further comprises:
a bonding electrode BEm (fig. 8A above; ¶88 teaches that the electrode BEm is conductive and is bonded) for the anchor region supporting the movable electrode, configured to connect the first conductive column Ce1 to the first anchor region;
another bonding electrode BEf (fig. 8A above; ¶88 teaches that the electrode BEf is conductive and is bonded) for the another anchor region supporting the fixed electrode, configured to connect the another conductive column Ce2 to the another anchor region; and
wherein
the conductive column and the another conductive column are connected to respectively different electrodes (see ¶50; note that ¶49 teaches that conductive columns Ce are electrically insulated from each other; also note that ¶52 teaches that the device layer portions Bs1-Bs2 are insulated from each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Tseng to use a substrate providing electrical communication through conductive columns connected to fixed portions through bonding electrodes as taught by Fujii, since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of providing electrical communications to the device layer for another for the predictable results of keeping size and cost to a minimum (¶54 - Fujii).
Tseng as modified teaches the upper cover layer comprises a first conductive column Ce1 (Fujii), a second conductive column (like Fujii’s column Ce2, but for Tseng’s second anchor region AR2), and a third conductive column (like Fujii’s column Ce2, but for Tseng’s third anchor region AR3); and
the accelerometer further comprises:
a first bonding electrode BEm (Fujii), configured to connect the first conductive column to the first anchor region (in view of Fujii);
a second bonding electrode (like Fujii’s electrode BEf, but for the second anchor region of Tseng), configured to connect the second conductive column to the second anchor region (in view of Fujii); and
a third bonding electrode (like Fujii’s electrode BEf, but for the third anchor region of Tseng), configured to connect the third conductive column to the third anchor region (in view of Fujii), wherein
the first conductive column, the second conductive column, and the third conductive column are connected to respectively different electrodes (¶49-50 and ¶52 of Fujii teach that the conductive columns are electrically isolated from each other and communicate with different electrically isolated portions of the device layer; accordingly, in the modified Tseng, the conductive columns are connected to respectively different movable and fixed electrodes).
As to claim 7, Tseng as modified teaches wherein the first conductive column, the second conductive column, and the third conductive column are separately manufactured by using a through silicon via process (in Fujii, figs. 3A-5D and ¶63, ¶69 and ¶72 teach that the conductive columns are formed from a silicon substrate 30, meaning the conductive columns are through silicon vias; the through silicon vias are separate from each other, meaning they were separately manufactured by using a through silicon via process; alternatively, it can be considered that the prior art through silicon vias are able to have been made at separate timings using a through silicon via process).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merassi (US 20140252509 A1) in view of Tseng et al. (US 20200182903 A1, hereinafter Tseng).
As to claim 1, Merassi teaches an accelerometer (¶101 and fig. 9, which teaches that the acceleration detection sections 1, 1’, 1” are aligned along axis Ax; alternatively, ¶103 teaches wherein the acceleration detection sections 1, 1’ and 1” can instead be aligned along axis Ay), comprising a first axis accelerometer 1, and a substrate layer 2, wherein
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (16Z)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (15X)][AltContent: textbox (IS1)][AltContent: textbox (IS2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (15Y)][AltContent: arrow]
the first axis accelerometer comprises a first anchor region 16, a cantilever beam 15X (fig. 9 above; note there is also a second cantilever beam 15Y in fig. 9 above), a first proof mass 8, a first movable electrode 12 (at the upper side of fig. 9), a second movable electrode 12 (at the lower side of fig. 9), a first fixed electrode 18 (upper side of fig. 9), a second fixed electrode 18 (lower side of fig. 9), a second anchor region 19 (upper side of fig .9), and a third anchor region 19 (lower side of fig. 9);
one end of the cantilever beam is connected to the first anchor region, the other end thereof is connected to the first proof mass (see fig. 9), and the first proof mass is supported by the cantilever beam and suspended above the substrate layer (fig. 3);
the first movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the first fixed electrode is connected to the second anchor region, and the first movable electrode and the first fixed electrode form a first capacitor (¶61);
the second movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the second fixed electrode is connected to the third anchor region, and the second movable electrode and the second fixed electrode form a second capacitor (¶61); and
the first anchor region, the second anchor region, and the third anchor region are each connected to the substrate layer (for the first anchor region, see ¶71 and fig. 3; for the second and third anchor regions, see ¶59 and fig. 3), and the first anchor region is located at a central position of the first axis accelerometer,
wherein the accelerometer further comprises a plurality of stress isolation structures IS1-IS2 (fig. 9 above; ¶55 teaches that body 14, having the stress isolation structures, is suspended above the substrate; body 14 provides physical separation between the cantilever elements 15 and potential stress from the first anchor region 16), each of the stress isolation structures is configured to connect the cantilever beam to the first anchor region;
wherein each stress isolation structure corresponds to one cantilever beam (i.e., respectively to the cantilever beams 15X-15Y - see the 112b rejection(s) of this claim above for the Examiner’s interpretation of this portion of the claim), and the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam (that is, the cantilever beams, respectively - see the 112b rejection(s) of this claim above for the Examiner’s interpretation of this portion of the claim) corresponding to the each stress isolation structure;
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number, and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically distributed on the first axis accelerometer.
Merassi does not teach an upper cover layer, wherein the first axis accelerometer is located between the upper cover layer and the substrate layer.
Tseng teaches a plurality of accelerometer structures (fig. 1) for detecting acceleration along multiple axes (abstract) and sandwiched between a cover layer 40and substrate layer 10, wherein a proof mass 20a and at least in-plane fixed electrodes 322b-c are fixed to the cover layer 40 (see ¶11, ¶19 and fig. 2), wherein the accelerometer structures are between the substrate layer 10 and cover layer 40 (when Merassi is modified in view of Tseng, Merassi’s accelerometers 1, 1’ and 1” will be covered by a cover layer), and
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (20bX)]
wherein the upper cover layer is supported on an internal frame 20bX (figs. 1-2 above) containing the detection structures (comprising at least proof mass 20a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Merassi to have a cover layer supported on an internal frame containing the detection structures as taught by Tseng to protect the accelerometer structures (¶19, Tseng).
Merassi as modified teaches an accelerometer, comprising an upper cover layer 2 (Merassi; the accelerometer can be oriented with Merassi’s layer 2 on top so as to cover the sensing structures), a first axis accelerometer 1 (Merassi), and a substrate layer 40 (Tseng; Tseng’s layer 40 has fixed and movable sensor portions fixed to it, meaning it can be considered a substrate), wherein the first axis accelerometer is located between the upper cover layer and the substrate layer, wherein
the first axis accelerometer comprises a first anchor region 16 (Merassi), a cantilever beam 15 (Merassi), a first proof mass 8 (Merassi), a first movable electrode 12 (at the upper side of fig. 9 of Merassi), a second movable electrode 12 (at the lower side of fig. 9 in Merassi), a first fixed electrode 18 (upper side of fig. 9 of Merassi), a second fixed electrode 18 (lower side of fig. 9 in Merassi), a second anchor region 19 (upper side of fig .9 in Merassi), and a third anchor region (lower side of fig. 9 in Merassi);
one end of the cantilever beam is connected to the first anchor region, the other end thereof is connected to the first proof mass (see fig. 9, Merassi), and the first proof mass is supported by the cantilever beam and suspended above the substrate layer (fig. 3, Merassi);
the first movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the first fixed electrode is connected to the second anchor region, and the first movable electrode and the first fixed electrode form a first capacitor (¶61, Merassi);
the second movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the second fixed electrode is connected to the third anchor region, and the second movable electrode and the second fixed electrode form a second capacitor (¶61, Merassi); and
the first anchor region, the second anchor region, and the third anchor region are each connected to the substrate layer (for the first anchor region, see ¶71 and fig. 3 in Merassi; for the second and third anchor regions, see ¶59 and fig. 3 in Merassi), and the first anchor region is located at a central position of the first axis accelerometer.
Claim(s) 6, 9-12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merassi in view of Tseng as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fujii et al. (US 20080290490 A1, hereinafter Fujii).
As to claim 6, Merassi teaches wherein all of the first anchor region, the second anchor region, and the third anchor region are connected (either directly or indirectly) to the upper cover layer.
Merassi as modified does not explicitly teach that the upper cover layer comprises a first conductive column, a second conductive column, and a third conductive column; and
the accelerometer further comprises:
a first bonding electrode, configured to connect the first conductive column to the first anchor region;
a second bonding electrode, configured to connect the second conductive column to the second anchor region; and
a third bonding electrode, configured to connect the third conductive column to the third anchor region, wherein
the first conductive column, the second conductive column, and the third conductive column are connected to respectively different electrodes.
Fujii teaches an accelerometer (figs. 7A-8B; ¶79 teaches that the device of fig. 1 measures acceleration; ¶83 teaches that figs. 2A-6B illustrate the manufacture of the device of fig. 1, and ¶84-86 teach that figs. 7A-8B illustrate a modification of the device of figs. 1-6B, meaning figs. 7A-8B illustrate an accelerometer) comprising
a substrate 22 and an upper cover layer C10 (fig. 7A),
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (BEf)][AltContent: textbox (BEm)][AltContent: textbox (Af)][AltContent: textbox (Am)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
an anchor region Am (fig. 8A above) for a movable electrode Em (¶57, fig. 7A and fig. 8A teach that portion Bs1 comprises a movable electrode Em and anchor therefor) and another anchor region Af (fig. 8A above) for a fixed electrode Es (¶57, fig. 7A and fig. 8A teach that portion Bs2 comprises a fixed electrode Es and anchor therefor),
the upper cover layer comprises a conductive column Ce1 connected to the movable electrode Em and another conductive column Ce2 connected to the fixed electrode (¶50; figs. 9A-B and ¶86 show the column shape of the conductive columns); and
the accelerometer further comprises:
a bonding electrode BEm (fig. 8A above; ¶88 teaches that the electrode BEm is conductive and is bonded) for the anchor region supporting the movable electrode, configured to connect the first conductive column Ce1 to the first anchor region;
another bonding electrode BEf (fig. 8A above; ¶88 teaches that the electrode BEf is conductive and is bonded) for the another anchor region supporting the fixed electrode, configured to connect the another conductive column Ce2 to the another anchor region; and
wherein
the conductive column and the another conductive column are connected to respectively different electrodes (see ¶50; note that ¶49 teaches that conductive columns Ce are electrically insulated from each other; also note that ¶52 teaches that the device layer portions Bs1-Bs2 are insulated from each other; it is also noted that, in Fujii, electrical connections are formed on the cover layer C10 side; similarly, in Merassi, electrical connections are formed on the cover layer 2 side – see at least figs. 2-3 of Merassi; accordingly, when Merassi is further modified in view of Fujii, Merassi’s layer 2 will be modified to have conductive columns).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Merassi as modified such that the layer proximate with the electrical connections is configured to provide electrical communication through conductive columns connected to fixed portions (i.e. the anchorage portions 16, 19, and 22 of Merassi) through bonding electrodes, wherein the conductive columns are connected to different electrodes, as taught by Fujii, since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of providing electrical communications to the device layer for another for the predictable results of keeping size and cost to a minimum (¶54 - Fujii).
Merassi as modified teaches the upper cover layer comprises a first conductive column Ce1 (Fujii), a second conductive column (like Fujii’s column Ce2, but for Merassi’s second anchor region 19 on the upper side of fig. 9 of Merassi), and a third conductive column (like Fujii’s column Ce2, but for Merassi’s third anchor region 19 on the lower side of fig. 9 in Merassi); and
the accelerometer further comprises:
a first bonding electrode BEm (Fujii), configured to connect the first conductive column to the first anchor region (in view of Fujii);
a second bonding electrode (like Fujii’s electrode BEf, but for the second anchor region of Merassi), configured to connect the second conductive column to the second anchor region (in view of Fujii); and
a third bonding electrode (like Fujii’s electrode BEf, but for the third anchor region of Merassi), configured to connect the third conductive column to the third anchor region (in view of Fujii), wherein
the first conductive column, the second conductive column, and the third conductive column are connected to respectively different electrodes (¶49-50 and ¶52 of Fujii teach that the conductive columns are electrically isolated from each other and communicate with different electrically isolated portions of the device layer; accordingly, in the modified Merassi, the conductive columns are connected to respectively different movable and fixed electrodes).
As to claim 9, Merassi as modified teaches a second axis accelerometer 1’ (fig. 9 of Merassi), wherein a sensitive axis of the second axis accelerometer 1’ is orthogonal to a sensitive axis of the first axis accelerometer 1 (¶102), and structures of the second axis accelerometer and the first axis accelerometer are the same (at least substantially the same – see ¶82 and fig. 9).
As to claim 10, Merassi as modified teaches at least one third axis accelerometer 1” (¶102 and fig. 9 - Merassi), wherein the at least one third axis accelerometer comprises a fourth anchor region 16Z (fig. 9 of Merassi above), a torsion beam 15 (¶99 and ¶94 in Merassi teach that springs 15 of accelerometer 1” are torsion beams), a second proof mass 8 (fig. 9 - Merassi), and a fixed electrode 18 (Merassi; see ¶96-97 of Merassi which discuss accelerometer 1” having the fixed electrode 18); and
the fourth anchor region 16Z (Merassi) is connected to the substrate layer and/or the upper cover layer 2 (Merassi: note that Merassi’s substrate layer 2 was reinterpreted as the cover layer after the teachings of Tseng were applied), the torsion beam is connected to the fourth anchor region and is connected to the second proof mass (fig. 9 of Merassi), a centroid of the second proof mass deviates from the fourth anchor region (¶94 - Merassi), and the second proof mass and the fixed electrode form a third capacitor (¶90, Merassi).
As to claim 11, Merassi as modified teaches wherein the fourth anchor region 16Z (Merassi) is connected (either directly or indirectly) to the upper cover layer 2 (Merassi), and the fixed electrode 18 (of Merassi’s accelerometer 1”) is located on the upper cover layer 2 (Merassi: see ¶96); and
the upper cover layer further comprises a fourth conductive column (like conductive column Ce1 of Fujii, but for connecting to Merassi’s fourth anchor region 16Z, the accelerometer further comprises a fourth bonding electrode (like bonding electrode BEm of Fujii but for connection with the fourth anchor region 16Z of Merassi), the fourth bonding electrode is configured to connect the fourth conductive column to the fourth anchor region (in the manner taught by Fujii), and the fixed electrode and the fourth conductive column are connected to different electrodes, respectively (the different electrodes are not positively recited as part of the claimed apparatus; accordingly, the fixed electrode and the fourth conductive column are capable of having different electrodes connected to them).
As to claim 12, Merassi as modified teaches wherein the fourth conductive column (like column Ce1 of Fujii, but for the fourth anchor region 16Z of Merassi) is manufactured by using a through silicon via process (in Fujii, figs. 3A-5D and ¶63, ¶69 and ¶72 teach that the conductive columns are formed from a silicon substrate 30, meaning the conductive columns are through silicon vias; accordingly, the fourth conductive column of the modified Merassi is a through silicon via, which is inherently made through a through silicon via process).
As to claim 16, Merassi as modified teaches an internal frame 20bX (Tseng), wherein the internal frame is provided with at least one fifth anchor region (a portion that fixes the internal frame of Tseng to the substrate layer and/or upper cover layer), the fifth anchor region is connected to the substrate layer and/or the upper cover layer, and at least one of the first axis accelerometer, the second axis accelerometer, and the at least one third axis accelerometer is disposed in the internal frame (in light of Tseng’s teachings).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merassi in view of Tseng and Fujii as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Frangi et al. (US 20120000287 A1, hereinafter Frangi).
As to claim 14, Merassi as modified teaches the limitations of the claim except wherein the torsion beam is of a foldable structure.
Frangi teaches a torsion beam 8a (note that both torsion beams 8a-b are folded beams) that is of a foldable structure (fig. 1; ¶30 teaches that springs 8a-b only allow rotation despite being of the folded type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Merassi as modified such that the torsion beams are of a foldable structure as taught by Frangi since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one kind of torsion beams for another for the predictable result that acceleration is still successfully detected.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merassi in view of Tseng and Fujii as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 103645342 A, hereinafter Wang).
As to claim 15, Merassi teaches the limitations of the claim except wherein the at least one third axis accelerometer comprises at least two third axis accelerometers, a quantity of the at least two third axis accelerometers is an even number, and at least two of the at least two third axis accelerometers are symmetrically disposed on two sides of the second axis accelerometer.
Wang teaches an acceleration sensing apparatus comprising an XY acceleration sensing portion 1a that detects acceleration in the X and Y axes (see fig. 1, fig. 6, ¶45 and ¶54), and at least two third axis accelerometers 1b-1c (¶54 and ¶58), a quantity of the at least two third axis accelerometers is an even number, and at least two of the at least two third axis accelerometers are symmetrically disposed on two sides of the XY acceleration sensing portion 1a along the X axis direction (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Merassi as modified (wherein the acceleration detection sections 1, 1’, 1” of Merassi are aligned along the axis Ay as taught by the alternative embodiment of Merassi in ¶103) such that there are two third axis accelerometers, and the two third axis accelerometers are symmetrically disposed on two sides of the second axis accelerometer along the X axis direction, as taught by Wang to “basically eliminate the change in detection capacitance caused by substrate warping” (¶60 – Wang).
Merassi as modified teaches wherein the at least one third axis accelerometer comprises at least two third axis accelerometers (in view of Wang), a quantity of the at least two third axis accelerometers is an even number (in view of Wang), and at least two of the at least two third axis accelerometers are symmetrically disposed on two sides of the second axis accelerometer (in view of Wang).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20200182903 A1, hereinafter Tseng) in view of Tanaka (US 20190302142 A1, hereinafter Tanaka2), Maeda et al. (US 20130340524 A1, hereinafter Maeda) and Tanaka (US 20190064203 A1).
As to claim 18, Tseng teaches an accelerometer (fig. 1), wherein
the accelerometer is configured to obtain linear acceleration of a motion object (¶28; note that the motion object is not recited as part of the claimed IMU, and can be an object that the accelerometer is capable of being attached to in order to measure the acceleration thereof);
wherein the accelerometer, comprising an upper cover layer 10 (made of silicon - ¶19), a first axis accelerometer (comprising at least proof mass 20a – see fig. 1), and a substrate layer 40, wherein the first axis accelerometer is located between the upper cover layer and the substrate layer, wherein
the first axis accelerometer comprises a first anchor region 23, a cantilever beam 24C (fig. 1 above), a first proof mass 20a, a first movable electrode 321b, a second movable electrode 321c, a first fixed electrode 322b, a second fixed electrode 322c, a second anchor region AR2 (fig. 2, ¶11 and ¶19), and a third anchor region AR3 (fig. 2, ¶11 and ¶19);
one end of the cantilever beam is connected (indirectly) to the first anchor region, the other end thereof is connected to the first proof mass, and the first proof mass is supported by the cantilever beam and suspended above the substrate layer (¶20);
the first movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the first fixed electrode is connected to the second anchor region (¶11 and figs. 1-2), and the first movable electrode and the first fixed electrode form a first capacitor (¶26);
the second movable electrode is connected to the first proof mass, the second fixed electrode is connected to the third anchor region (¶11 and figs. 1-2), and the second movable electrode and the second fixed electrode form a second capacitor (¶26); and
the first anchor region, the second anchor region, and the third anchor region are each connected to the substrate layer and/or the upper cover layer, and the first anchor region is located at a central position of the first axis accelerometer (fig. 2).
Tseng does not teach an inertial measurement unit IMU, comprising the accelerometer, a gyroscope, and a signal processing chip,
the gyroscope is configured to obtain a rotation signal of the motion object; and
the signal processing chip is configured to:
determine linear motion information of the motion object based on the linear acceleration, and determine rotation information of the motion object based on the rotation signal,
wherein the accelerometer further comprises a plurality of stress isolation structures, each of the stress isolation structures is configured to connect the cantilever beam to the first anchor region;
wherein each stress isolation structure corresponds to one cantilever beam, and the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam corresponding to the each stress isolation structure;
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number, and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically distributed on the first axis accelerometer.
Tanaka2 teaches an electronic device 3000 comprising an inertial measurement unit IMU (at least element 3100 – fig. 29), comprising an accelerometer 3110, a gyroscope 3120, and a signal processing section (at least element 3200),
the gyroscope is configured to obtain a rotation signal of the motion object (¶120); and
the signal processing section is configured to:
determine linear motion information of the motion object based on the linear acceleration, and determine rotation information of the motion object based on the rotation signal (see ¶120; it is noted that the determination of the attitude in ¶120 indicates the determination, by the signal processing section, of rotation information of the motion object, which is a vehicle as taught in ¶120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the accelerometer of Tseng to be used as part of an IMU that further comprises a gyroscope and a signal processing section, wherein the gyroscope is configured to obtain a rotation signal of the motion object, and the signal processing section is configured to determine linear motion information of the motion object based on the linear acceleration, and determine rotation information of the motion object based on the rotation signal, wherein the IMU is part of an electronic device, as taught by Tanaka2, for the benefit of providing a reliable vehicle positioning apparatus (¶125, Tanaka2) which can help a driver avoid getting lost.
Tseng as modified still does not teach wherein the signal processing section is a chip.
Maeda teaches wherein a signal processing section, that processes information from an accelerometer 1 and an angular velocity sensor 2, is a chip C (¶42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the signal processing section of Tseng as modified as a chip as taught by Maeda, since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of providing a signal processing section for another for the predictable result that chips are a well-known and compact way of providing a signal processing section.
As to the claimed stress isolation structures,
Tanaka teaches an acceleration sensor (fig. 29 and ¶44, ¶101 and ¶253) wherein the accelerometer comprises a plurality of stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 (fig. 29 above; the stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 are part of element 51X, which provides physical separation between the springs 53-54 and potential stress from the anchor region 511), each of the stress isolation structures is configured to connect a respective one of spring elements 53-54 to a first anchor region 511;
wherein each stress isolation structure respectively corresponds to one of the springs elements, and the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the spring element corresponding to the each stress isolation structure;
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number (i.e., 2), and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically distributed (i.e. at least substantially symmetrically distributed – fig. 29) on the first axis accelerometer 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Tseng as modified to be configured with stress isolation structures between the springs elements (24 of Tseng) and the first anchor region as taught by Tanaka since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of connecting springs to an anchor region for another for the predictable result that acceleration is still successfully detected.
Tseng as modified teaches wherein the accelerometer further comprises a plurality of stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 (Tanaka), each of the stress isolation structures is configured to (respectively) connect the cantilever beam (i.e. the plurality of cantilever beams 24C, 24C2 marked in fig. 29 above; see the 112b rejection(s) of this claim above for the Examiner’s interpretation of this portion of the claim) to the first anchor region;
wherein each stress isolation structure corresponds to one cantilever beam (i.e., the number of stress isolation structures is 2 and Tseng’s cantilever beams 24C, 24C2 together are two cantilever beams), and the each stress isolation structure is distributed between the first anchor region and the cantilever beam (i.e., the cantilever beams, respectively; see the 112b rejection(s) of this claim above for the Examiner’s interpretation of this portion of the claim) corresponding to the each stress isolation structure (as a result of the modification in view of Tanaka);
wherein a quantity of the stress isolation structures is an even number, and the even quantity of the stress isolation structures is symmetrically distributed on the first axis accelerometer (in the manner taught by Tanaka).
As to claim 19, Tseng as modified teaches an electronic device 3000 (Tanaka2), comprising the IMU according to claim 18 and a processor 3600 (¶123 of Tanaka2), wherein the IMU is configured to obtain linear motion information and rotation information of a motion object (because the IMU comprises the accelerometer of Tseng and angular velocity sensor of Tanaka2), and the processor is configured to determine information about a position (¶123) and a posture (e.g. due to inclination of the ground - ¶123) of the motion object based on the linear motion information and the rotation information (via at least element 3200 – see ¶120 and ¶123).
As to claim 20, Tseng as modified teaches a global positioning system module (comprising at least elements 3300, 3400, 3500 - ¶121), configured to obtain position information of the motion object in a terrestrial coordinate system (¶121); and
the processor is configured to: determine the information about the position and the posture of the motion object based on the linear motion information, the rotation information, and the position information in the terrestrial coordinate system (¶123).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/5/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 10 that Tanaka does not disclose a "plurality of stress isolation structures" wherein "each of the stress isolation structures is configured to connect the cantilever beam to the first anchor region" and "each stress isolation structure corresponds to one cantilever beam".
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Tanaka teaches a plurality of stress isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 wherein each of the stress isolation structures is configured to connect the cantilever beam CB1/CB2 to the first anchor region 511 and each stress isolation structure corresponds to one cantilever beam (collectively, beams CB1-CB2 are two beams and there are two isolation structures SIS1-SIS2).
Applicant argues on pg. 10 that “While the Examiner identified slits (51X) within this member, a slit is a void and cannot "connect" components as claimed” and “Furthermore, Tanaka's Fixed Member 51 is a shared monolithic structure supporting multiple components; it does not comprise discrete isolation structures that exist in a one-to-one correspondence with the cantilever beams. Therefore, the combination of Tseng and Tanaka fails to teach or suggest the specific structural arrangement defined in amended claim 1.”
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Tanaka’s element 51X is a bar (¶255), not a slit.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Monolithic structure)][AltContent: textbox (Instant fig. 3)]
Applicant’s argument regarding “a shared monolithic structure supporting multiple components” is confusing since Applicant’s isolation structures 6a-d are similarly formed as part of a shared monolithic structure supporting multiple components. If Applicant’s argument is persuasive, which the Examiner does not admit, then the discloses isolation structures are also not isolation structures because they are part of a shared monolithic structure supporting multiple components. In such a scenario, 112a and 112b rejections of all the pending elected claims would be necessary because, according to Applicant’s reasoning, the instant isolation structures cannot be isolation structures. If Applicant’s argument regarding “it does not comprise discrete isolation structures that exist in a one-to-one correspondence with the cantilever beams” suggests that the claim requires the isolation structures not to be integrally formed with each other, then the Examiner disagrees because claims 1 and 18 do not require such a limitation.
Nevertheless, the isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 of Tanaka read on the isolation structures as claimed. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a limitation in which the isolation structures cannot be part of a shared monolithic structure supporting multiple components; discrete isolation structures) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
If Applicant’s argument regarding “it does not comprise discrete isolation structures that exist in a one-to-one correspondence with the cantilever beams” suggests that the claim requires one isolation structure for each cantilever beam, then Tanaka’s device teaches such a concept. Tanaka’s beams CB1, CB2 are two beams and the isolation structures SIS1-SIS2 are two isolation structures, so one isolation structure is paired to each of the beams CB1-CB2.
Applicant argues on pg. 10 that “Fuji does not rectify the above identified deficiencies of Tseng with respect to amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 1 and its dependent claims, including claims 6-7, are allowable over the combination of Tseng and Fuji.”
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Fujii was not relied on to modify Tseng to reject claim 1.
Applicant argues on pg. 11 that “Tanaka2 and Maeda do not rectify the above identified deficiencies of Tseng with respect to amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 1 and its dependent claims, including claims 18- 20, are allowable over the combination of Tseng, Fuji and Maeda.”
Applicant’s arguments regarding Tanaka2 and Maeda, and regarding all pending elected claims, are unpersuasive since Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 11
“Claims 1, 9-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Merassi (US 20140252509, hereinafter "Merrasi") in view of Tseng. Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection.
The Office Action does not allege that Merassi discloses or suggests "wherein the first axis accelerometer further comprises a stress isolation structure, and the stress isolation structure is configured to connect the cantilever beam to the first anchor region" as recited in claim 17, which is now incorporated in amended claim 1. Moreover, as described above, the Office Action acknowledged that claim 17 is not disclosed by Tseng. Thus, amended claim 1 is not disclosed or suggested by the combination of Merassi and Tseng.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Merassi in view of Tseng as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Fujii et al. (US 20080290490, hereinafter "Fujii"). Applicant traverses this rejection.
Fujii does not rectify the above identified deficiencies of Merrasi and Tseng with respect to amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 1 is allowable over the combination of Merrasi, Tseng and Fujii.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Merassi in view of Tseng as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Frangi et al. (US 20120000287, hereinafter "Frangi"). Applicant traverses this rejection.
Frangi does not rectify the above identified deficiencies of Merrassi and Tseng with respect to amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 1 is allowable over the combination of Merrasi, Tseng and Frangi.”
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Merassi teaches the claimed isolation structures, as shown in the rejection above, in which Merassi is the primary reference.
Applicant’s argument with respect to Fujii is not persuasive since Merassi teaches the claimed isolation structures.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Frangi are not persuasive since Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102 rejections under Tseng have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) for rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.C.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853