DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 04/27/2023, 07/05/2024, 07/05/2024, 10/15/2024, 10/15/2024, 10/21/2024, 10/21/2024, 08/22/2025 and 08/22/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it comprises more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-29 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 26, the limitation “an electric machine from a machine unit” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which machine(s) recited in claims 18-19 the limitation is referring to.
Regarding claims 27 and 37, the claims fail to provide adequate antecedence basis for the limitation “the switchable couplings”.
Regarding claims 28-29, the claims are indefinite because they are directly or indirectly depend on claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-20, 22-23, 25, 27-28, 31 and 33-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tarasinski et al. (US 2011/0042155 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Tarasinski discloses a drive system (e.g. Fig. 1: 10 & [0046]) for driving or being driven by a machine (e.g. [0047]: tractor) coupled with the drive system, the drive system comprising:
an output configured for at least one of driving or being driven by the coupled machine (e.g. [0047]: output interface 18 coupled to tractor);
a first machine unit comprising at least one first electric machine (e.g. Fig. 1: 20, 22, 24) for at least one of driving or being driven by the output (e.g. Fig. 1: machines coupled to output 18 via gears, such as 56, 106, 108); and
a second machine unit comprising at least one second electric machine (e.g. Fig. 1: 20, 22, 24) for at least one of driving or being driven by the output (e.g. Fig. 1: machines coupled to output 18 via gears, such as 56, 106, 108);
wherein at least one of:
a) the first machine unit comprises a transmission gear (e.g. Fig .1: 58) arranged to at least one of be driven by the first electric machine or to drive the first electric machine, and the drive system comprises a first switching device (e.g. Fig. 1: clutch 82, 86, or [0059]: electronic converter 150A-150C—converter is broadly interpreted as switching device for switching power supply to machine or receive power supply to electronic control unit when machine operates as generator) configured such that:
in a first operating state of the first switching device, the transmission gear (e.g. Fig. 1: 58) of the first machine unit and the output (e.g. Fig. 1: 108, 18) are operatively mechanically connected in a torque-transmitting manner (e.g. [0051-0053]), and
in a second operating state of the first switching device, the operative connection between the transmission gear of the first machine unit and the output is interrupted (e.g. [0051-0053]: when clutch 82 disengaged); or b) the drive system has a second switching device configured such that:
in a first operating state of the second switching device, one of the first or second electric machines and at least one of a power supply or an energy storage device are electrically connected, and in a second operating state of the second switching device, the connection to the at least one of a power supply or an energy storage device is electrically disconnected and an active short-circuit of the first or second electric machines is effected.
Regarding claim 19, Tarasinski discloses at least one of:
a) the second machine unit (e.g. Fig. 1: 22, 24) comprises a transmission gear (Fig. 1: 50, 54) adapted to at least one of be driven by the second electric machine or to drive the second electric machine, and the drive system comprises a third switching device (e.g. Fig. 1: gear shifting point 48, 78) configured such that:
in a first operating state of the third switching device, the transmission gear of the second machine unit and the output are operatively connected in a torque- transmitting manner (e.g. [0049-0052]), and
in a second operating state of the third switching device, the operative connection between the transmission gear of the second machine unit and the output is interrupted (e.g. [0049-0052]: gear shifting point 48, 78 and clutch 82 not connected or engaged); or
b) the drive system comprises a fourth switching device configured such that: in a first operating state of the fourth switching device, the other of the first or second electric machines is electrically connected with at least one of a power supply or an energy storage device, and in a second operating state of the fourth switching device, the connection to the at least one of a power supply or energy storage device is disconnected and an active short-circuit of the other of the first or second electrical machines is effected.
Regarding claim 20, Tarasinski discloses the drive system is configured such that at least one of:
A) in at least one operating state of the drive system, the first switching device has its first operating state and the second switching device has its first operating state (e.g. [0031]: at least 2 machines are in operating mode, i.e. first operating state), and
in at least one other operating state of the drive system:
the first switching device has its second operating state and the second switching device has its first operating state (e.g. [0031]: at least 1 machine in generating mode, i.e. not connecting to output to provide power), or
the first switching device has its first operating state and the second switching device has its second operating state, or
the first switching device has its second operating state and the second switching device has its second operating state;
B) in at least one operating state of the drive system, the first switching device has its first operating state and the third switching device has its first operating state, andin at least one other operating state of the drive system: the first switching device has its second operating state and the fourth switching device has its first operating state, or the first switching device has its first operating state and the fourth switching device has its second operating state., or the first switching device has its second operating state and the fourth switching device has its second operating state; or
C) in at least one operating state of the drive system, the second switching device has its first operating state and the fourth switching device has its first operating state, and in at least one other operating state of the drive system: the second switching device has its second operating state and the fourth switching device has its first operating state, or the second switching device has its first operating state and the fourth switching device has its second operating state, or the second switching device has its second operating state and the fourth switching device has its second operating state.
Regarding claim 22, Tarasinski discloses at least one of the first or third switching devices has at least one selectively switchable clutch (e.g. Fig. 1: 82).
Regarding claim 23, Tarasinski discloses at least one of:
at least one of the transmission gears and/or the output comprises at least one of:
at least one spur gear, or
at least one planetary gear (e.g. [0050]); or
at least one of the transmission gears and/or the output is configured such that an input speed of the coupled electric machine is converted into either a smaller output speed or a larger output speed on the output side.
Regarding claim 25, Tarasinski discloses at least one of the second or fourth switching devices comprises power electronics, in particular of a frequency converter, or is integrated into power electronics (e.g. [0059]: electronic converter).
Regarding claim 27, Tarasinski discloses a controller (e.g. Fig. 1: 146) configured for at least one of:
controlling at least one of the electrical machines (e.g. [0059]);
switching at least one of the switchable couplings; or
switching at least one of the switching devices.
Regarding claim 28, Tarasinski discloses at least one of:
controlling at least one of the electrical machines comprises controlling on the basis of a state of at least one of the drive system or the coupled machine (e.g. [0059]); or
switching at least one of the switchable couplings or switching devices comprises switching on the basis of a state of at least one of the drive system or the coupled machine.
Regarding claim 31, Tarasinski discloses a machine system (e.g. Fig. 1), comprising: a drive system according to claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18); and a machine coupled with the drive system such that the machine at least one of drives the drive system, or is driven by the drive system (e.g. Fig. 1 & [0059]).
Regarding claim 33, Tarasinski discloses a method of operating a machine system (Abstract & Fig. 1: the machine system inherently discloses the operating method), the method comprising:
obtaining a machine system according to claim 31 (see rejection of claim 31); and
at least one of:
jointly driving the output with at least the first electric machine and the second electric machine in a motor operating state of the drive system, wherein at least one of the first switching device or the second switching device is in the first operating state (e.g. [0031]: at least 2 machines are in operating mode, i.e. first operating state); or
jointly driving at least the first electric machine and the second electric machine with the output in a generator operating state of the drive system, wherein at least one of the first switching device or the second switching device is in the first operating state.
Regarding claim 34, Tarasinski discloses at least one of:
the motor operating state of the drive system is a full-load operating state;
in the motor operating state of the drive system, the output is further driven by an electric machine of a further machine unit, jointly with the first electric machine and the second electric machine (e.g. Fig. 2 & [0063]: machines 10, 22, 24 are operated as motors);
the generator operating state of the drive system is a full-load operating state; or
in the generator operating state of the drive system, the electric machine of the further machine unit is further driven by the output, jointly with the first electric machine and the second electric machine.
Regarding claim 35, Tarasinski discloses at least one of:
switching from a first motor operating state to a second, different motor operating state of the drive system (e.g. [0061-0068]: different operation modes), wherein at least one of the machine units continues to drive the output, by at least one of
a) transferring at least one of the first or third switching devices from the first operating state to the second operating state (e.g. [0061-0068]), or
b) transferring at least one of the second or fourth switching devices from the first operating state to the second operating state; or
switching from a first generator operating state to a second, different generator operating state of the drive system, wherein at least one machine unit is driven by the output, by at least one of
a) transferring at least one of the first or third switching devices from the first operating state to the second operating state, or
b) transferring at least one of the second or fourth switching devices from the first operating state to the second operating state.
Regarding claim 36, Tarasinski discloses at least one of the second motor operating state or the second generator operating state is a partial load operating state (e.g. [0061-0068]: at least one motor is operated as generator; thus, partial load operating state).
Regarding claim 37, Tarasinski discloses at least one of:
at least one of the electrical machines is controlled on the basis of at least one of a state of the drive system or a state of the coupled machine (e.g. [0059]: based on control mode, such as being motor or generator);
at least one of the switchable couplings is switched on the basis of at least one of a state of the drive system or a state of the coupled machine; or
at least one of the switching devices is switched on the basis of at least one of a state of the drive system or a state of the coupled machine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 24, 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarasinski et al. (US 2011/0042155 A1) in view of Murata et al. (US 2017/0264229 A1).
Regarding claims 24 and 26, Tarasinski fails to disclose, but Murata teaches at least one of the second or fourth switching devices in the second operating state is adapted to short-circuit terminals of the respective electric machine, thereby causing an active short-circuit of the electric machine (e.g. Abstract & [0074]: short-circuit the motor when inverter has a failure).
Since Tarasinski discloses the switching devices could be converter, e.g. inverter, for providing power to the machines, i.e. motor, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tarasinski with the teachings of Murata to short-circuit the machine when converter has a failure so as to protect the system from being damaged.
Regarding claim 21, Murata teaches at least one of the first or third switching devices has at least one freewheel (e.g. Fig. 2: freewheel diode in switching devices of inverter).
Regarding claim 29, Murata teaches the state of at least one of the drive system or the coupled machine is detected by sensors (e.g. [0039]).
Claim(s) 30 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarasinski et al. (US 2011/0042155 A1).
Regarding claims 30 and 32, Tarasinski discloses the general aspect of the claimed invention except a drive power of the coupled machine of at least 0.5MW.
According to paragraph [0106] of the specification of the instant application, the claimed 0.5MW is particularly advantageous in heavy duty vehicle operation, such as “PTI-PTO (PowerTakeIn-PowerTakeOff) application”.
Although Tarasinski does not disclose the power is 0.5MW, Tarasinski discloses its invention is for power take-off drive (PTO) (e.g. [0005]).
Since applicant does not provide any reasons for choosing 0.5MW as the drive power, other than it is suitable for power take-off drive, the examiner is taking Official notice that it is known in the art to utilize any suitable power in the field of PTO as drive power since discovering optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/KAWING CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846