Response to Amendment / Status of the Claims
Applicant is thanked for their 1/29/26 response to the Office Action dated 10/29/25. The amendment has been entered and, accordingly:
Claims 1 and 7 are amended.
Claims 21-22 are new.
Claims 11-14 are cancelled.
Claims 1-10 and 15-22 are pending.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previously set forth interpretation under 112(f) so that interpretation is withdrawn accordingly.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's remarks, see Pgs. 9-10, with respect to the reference marked as not considered in
the Information Disclosure Statement, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the
rejection has been withdrawn and the reference considered.
Applicant’s remarks with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (JP 3443836 B2, hereinafter Takano) in view of Henke (DE 19607110 A1) and Inaba (US20140360215A1).
Reference is made to the attached German to English machine translation of Henke ‘110.
Regarding claim 1, Takano discloses a vehicle seat air-conditioning device (Par. 0001, “seat air conditioner…for conditioning the space around a vehicle seat”) for use in a seat (Fig. 1, seat 50) of a vehicle (Par. 0001, “vehicle”), the vehicle seat air-conditioning device comprising:
a blower (Fig. 7, blower fan 74);
a ventilation path selection switch (Fig. 7, second damper 233);
a first ventilation path (annotated Fig. A, first ventilation path) that leads air drawn in from a first inlet (Fig. 7, second suction port 223) by the blower to the ventilation path selection switch, the first inlet being provided in a seating surface (Fig. 7, top surface of seating portion 50) on a seating portion of the seat (Fig. 7, seating portion 50), the seating portion of the seat being a portion of the seat configured for a person to sit thereon (Par. 0007, “the seating portion on which a seated person is seated”), the seating surface being a surface for the person to sit (Fig. 7, top surface of seating portion 50 and Par. 0007, “the seating portion on which a seated person is seated”);
a second ventilation path (Fig. 7, branch duct 217, specifically the portion leading from second suction ports 203 to second damper 233 when first damper 231 is blocking flow from second suction port 223) that leads air drawn in from a second inlet (Fig. 7, suction ports 203) by the blower to the ventilation path selection switch, the second inlet being different from the first inlet and provided in a portion of the seat other than the seating surface (Fig. 1); and
a third ventilation path (annotated Fig. A, third ventilation path) that leads at least one of the air led through the first ventilation path by the blower or the air led through the second ventilation path by the blower from the ventilation path selection switch to an outlet (Fig. 7, duct 70 and Par. 0028, “It is blown out from the air outlet 72 via the duct 70. The blown air flows down from the head of the occupant toward the feet.”) provided in the seat,
wherein the first inlet opens toward an interior of a cabin of the vehicle (Fig. 7, vehicle interior space 126), the first inlet and the second inlet are provided vertically below the outlet (Fig. 7),
at least the first inlet, the second inlet, and the outlet are provided in the seat, and at least the first ventilation path, a portion of the second ventilation path, the ventilation path selection switch, the blower, and the third ventilation path are provided inside of the seat (Fig. 7),
the ventilation path selection switch has modes for leading air to the third ventilation path, the modes including:
a first mode in which the first ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path (Figs. 1 and A, when second damper 233 blocks flow from branch duct 217, air can only flow from the first ventilation path to the third ventilation path);
a second mode in which the second ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path (Figs. 1 and A, when second damper 233 blocks flow from the first ventilation path and when first damper 231 is blocking flow from second suction port 223, air can only flow from branch duct 217 (i.e., the second ventilation path) to the third ventilation path); and
a third mode in which the first ventilation path and the second ventilation path are connected to the third ventilation path (Fig. 1, when second damper 233 is angled such that neither the first ventilation path or branch duct 217 (i.e., second ventilation path) are blocked, air can flow from both the first ventilation path and branch duct 217 (i.e., second ventilation path) to the third ventilation path).
[AltContent: textbox (First
ventilation path)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Third ventilation path)]
Fig. A: Annotated copy of Fig. 7 from Takano showing location of prior art elements labeled with applicant’s terminology.
However, Takano does not explicitly disclose the seating portion being separate from a seat back of the seat,
the second inlet is provided at a portion of the seating portion other than the seating surface,
a controller that controls the ventilation path selection switch; and
the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of the modes from among the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode.
Henke discloses a vehicle seat air-conditioning device (Par. 0001, “car seats” and Par. 0004, “seating…connected to an external ventilation system”) similar to the present invention and Henke further discloses it is known to have a first ventilation path that leads air drawn in from a first inlet (Figs. 2 and 4, hole 3 arranged in the middle of seat surface 7), the first inlet being provided in a seating surface (Fig. 4, top surface of seat surface 7) on a seating portion of the seat (Fig. 4, horizontal portion of the seat and Par. 0003, “The object of the invention is to propose a seating or reclining device”), the seating portion of the seat being a portion of the seat configured for a person to sit thereon (Fig. 4, when a person is seated, their thighs will rest on the horizontal portion of the seat; therefore the horizontal portion of the seat is configured for a person to sit thereon) and being separate from a seat back of the seat (Fig. 4, backrest 8), the seating surface being a surface for the person to sit (Fig. 4, when a person is seated, their thighs will rest on the top surface of seat surface 7; therefore the top surface of seat surface 7 is configured for a person to sit thereon);
a second ventilation path that leads air drawn in from a second inlet (Fig. 4, connection to external ventilation system 4), the second inlet being different from the first inlet and provided in a portion of the seat other than the seating surface (Fig. 4); and
a third ventilation path (Fig. 4, connection to hole 2 in backrest 8) that leads the air led through the second ventilation path (Fig. 4, connection to external ventilation system 4) to an outlet provided in the seat (Fig. 4, hole 2),
wherein the first inlet opens toward an interior of a cabin of the vehicle (Fig. 4, space above hole 3), the first inlet and the second inlet are provided vertically below the outlet (Fig. 4),
at least the first inlet, the second inlet, and the outlet are provided in the seat, and at least the first ventilation path, a portion of the second ventilation path, and the third ventilation path are provided inside of the seat (Fig. 4), and
the second inlet is provided at a portion of the seating portion other than the seating surface (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle seat air-conditioning device of Takano to include the second inlet as taught by Henke in order to move more air for increased user comfort. To elaborate, moving more air through the seat can help prevent sweat buildup and thereby keep the cabin fresher and/or reduce the frequency with which the seat needs to be cleaned.
Inaba discloses a vehicle air conditioner (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Inaba further discloses it is known to have a controller (Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) that controls a ventilation path selection switch (Fig. 1, air mix door 34 and Par. 0068, “The air mix door 34 is driven by a servo motor (not shown) which is operated by a control signal output from the air conditioning controller 40.”) and
the controller switches between modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of multiple modes (Par. 0111, “The control signal to be output to the servo motor of the air mix door 34 is determined such that the air mix door 34 closes an air passage of the interior condenser 12, and that the whole volume of air having passed through the interior evaporator 17 can pass through the cool air bypass passage 35”, which discloses the controller switches the air mix door 34 (i.e., ventilation path selection switch) to a mode in which air passes through cool air bypass passage 35 and Par. 0131, “The control signal output to the servo motor of the air mix door 34 is determined such that the air mix door 34 closes the cool air bypass passage 35, and that the whole volume of air having passed through the interior evaporator 17 can pass through the air passage of the interior condenser 12”, which discloses the controller switches the air mix door 34 (i.e., ventilation path selection switch) to another mode in which air passes through interior condenser 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle seat air-conditioning device of Takano to include the controller as disclosed by Inaba in order to have a controller that controls the ventilation path selection switch and the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of the modes from among the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode to adjust the temperature of the conditioned air more efficiently, effectively, and/or conveniently.
NOTE: It’s understood that modified Takano would result in the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of the modes from among the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode, as claimed. To elaborate, Takano discloses a ventilation path selection switch that switches between a first mode, second mode, and third mode and Inaba discloses it is known for a controller to switch a ventilation path selection switch between different modes. Therefore, modified Takano would read on the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of the modes from among the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode, as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of first inlets (From Takano: Fig. 7, second suction ports 223. Examiner notes three instances of second suction ports 223 are shown) are provided, the plurality of first inlets each being the first inlet, and the plurality of first inlets are provided in a center portion (From Takano: Fig. , middle instance of second suction ports 223) and an outer edge portion (From Takano: Fig. 7, front and rear instance of second suction ports 223) of the seating surface (From Takano: Fig. 7, top surface of seating portion 50).
Regarding claim 9, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 8, wherein the outer edge portion (From Takano: Fig. 7, front and rear instance of second suction ports 223) is at least one of a rear portion (From Takano: Fig. 7, rear portion of top surface of seating portion 50) or a front edge portion (From Takano: Fig. 7, front portion of top surface of seating portion 50) of the seating surface (From Takano: Fig. 7, top surface of seating portion 50).
Regarding claim 10, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 1.
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose wherein one outlet is provided, the one outlet being the outlet (From Takano: Fig. 7, duct 70 and Par. 0028, “It is blown out from the air outlet 72 via the duct 70. The blown air flows down from the head of the occupant toward the feet.”), and
the one or more outlets are provided at one or more of positions corresponding to a head, a neck, a shoulder, a back, and a waist of a person (From Takano: Par. 0028, “It is blown out from the air outlet 72 via the duct 70. The blown air flows down from the head of the occupant toward the feet”. Given the air flows from the head of the occupant toward the feet and a person’s heads, neck, shoulder, back, and waist are in between a person’s head and feet, it’s the Examiner’s position that the outlet corresponds to a person’s head, neck, shoulder, back and waist. If Applicant disagrees and has support for a structural difference from this interpretation in the as-filed disclosure, Applicant is recommended to claim it.).
Regarding claim 21, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 1 wherein the second inlet (From Henke: Fig. 4, connection to external ventilation system 4) is provided in a lower portion of the seating portion (From Takano: Fig. 7, seating portion 50. Examiner notes this limitation is necessarily met after the modification with Henke explained in claim 1. To elaborate, given the second inlet of Henke is provided in a lower portion of the horizontal portion of the seat (i.e., seating portion), the second inlet of modified Takano must necessarily be provided in a lower portion of the seating surface as well) opposing the seating surface (From Takano: Fig. 7, top surface of seating portion 50).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (JP 3443836 B2, hereinafter Takano) in view of Henke (DE 19607110 A1) and Inaba (US20140360215A1) and further in view of Schuller et al. (US 5921314 A, hereafter Schuller).
Regarding claim 2, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 1, comprising:
a first temperature sensor (From Takano: Par. 0040, “indoor temperature sensor”) that detects a temperature in the cabin of the vehicle (From Takano: Par. 0040, “indoor temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of the air taken in by the suction port 60”. Examiner notes “The air in the vehicle interior space 126 is sucked in through the suction port 60” (Par. 0029), which necessarily means the indoor temperature sensor detects a temperature of the cabin/interior of the vehicle);
wherein the controller (From Inaba: Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch (From Takano, Fig. 7, second damper 233 whose associated modes are explained in claim 1), based on information indicating a first temperature (From Takano: Par. 0040, “temperature of the air taken in by the suction port 60”) detected by the first temperature sensor (From Takano: Par. 0040, “an indoor temperature sensor…are provided, and inputs from them are provided. The opening degree of the air mix damper 82 or the first to third dampers may be adjusted based on the signal.”).
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose a second temperature sensor that detects a surface temperature of a person seated in the seat, and
wherein the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch, based on information indicating a first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor and information indicating a second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor.
Schuller discloses a conditioned seat for a vehicle (Col. 3, lines 32-33) similar to the present invention and Schuller further discloses it is known to have a temperature sensor (Fig. 1, temperature sensor 28 and Col. 3, lines 57-60, “The actual temperature in the region of the seat contact surface of the seat part 24 is detected, for example, by an NTC temperature sensor 28 and a corresponding temperature signal is entered in the microprocessor 20”) that detects a surface temperature of a person seated in the seat (Examiner notes temperature sensor 28 detects a temperature of a person seated in the seat because temperature sensor 28 detects the temperature of the seat surface that the seated person is in contact with. If Applicant disagrees and has support for a structural difference from this interpretation in the as-filed disclosure, Applicant is recommended to claim it), and
wherein a controller (Fig. 2, microprocessor 20) controls an air-conditioning device (Fig. 2, air-conditioning device 18), based on information indicating a temperature (Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28”) detected by the temperature sensor (Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “The electrical heating element 26, the fans 50 and 54 and the Peltier element 42 are in connection with the microprocessor 20 and are regulated by this in dependence on the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28 connected to the input side of the microprocessor and on the pre-set desired temperature.
When the conditioning device is put into operation by the passenger in the seat by switching on the on-off switch 10 and the appropriate desired temperature has been set at the climatic condition controller, the temperature sensor 28 supplies a temperature signal corresponding to the initial temperature in the region of the seat contact surface 31 to the microprocessor 20….
the microprocessor 20 controls the air-conditioning device 18 so that the seat temperature, that is, the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor, corresponds to the desired temperature set at the controller”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle seat air-conditioning device of Takano, as modified above, to include the temperature sensor as disclosed by Inaba in order to have a temperature sensor that detects a surface temperature of a person seated in the seat and thereby decrease how much and/or for how long the user is sweating (As suggested by Col. 6, lines 5-11, “A brief cooling effect is achieved by this, which allows a rapid heat dissipation from the body, thus suppressing a tendency to sweat that would otherwise occur. Moreover, the brief cooling effect has the advantage that the passenger in the seat notices the effectiveness of the conditioning device. Since the duration of the noticeable cooling is very short, any health risk for the passenger in the seat is avoided.”)
NOTE: It’s understood that modified Takano would result in a second temperature sensor that reads on the claimed limitations. To elaborate, Takano discloses a first temperature sensor, therefore modified Takano would have a second temperature sensor due to the addition of the temperature sensor disclosed by Schuller.
Claims 6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (JP 3443836 B2, hereinafter Takano) in view of Henke (DE 19607110 A1) and Inaba (US20140360215A1) and further in view of Sawada et al. (US 20080288185 A1, hereafter Sawada).
Regarding claim 6, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 1, comprising:
a first temperature sensor (From Takano: Par. 0040, “indoor temperature sensor”) that detects a temperature in the cabin of the vehicle (From Takano: Par. 0040, “indoor temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of the air taken in by the suction port 60”. Examiner notes “The air in the vehicle interior space 126 is sucked in through the suction port 60” (Par. 0029), which necessarily means the indoor temperature sensor detects a temperature of the cabin/interior of the vehicle), and a target temperature (Par. 0040, “a temperature setting device for the passenger to set a desired temperature”)
wherein the controller (From Inaba: Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40):
switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch (From Takano, Fig. 1, second damper 233 whose associated modes are explained in claim 1), according to the target discharge temperature calculated (Par. 0040, “a temperature setting device for the passenger to set a desired temperature, etc. are provided, and inputs from them are provided. The opening degree of the air mix damper 82 or the first to third dampers may be adjusted based on the signal.”).
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose wherein the controller obtains information indicating the temperature in the cabin detected by the first temperature sensor and information indicating a target temperature that is preset; and
calculates a target discharge temperature based on a difference between the temperature in the cabin and the target temperature indicated by the information; and
Sawada discloses a vehicular air-conditioning system (Par. 0004) similar to the present invention and Sawada further discloses it is known to have a controller (Par. 0051, “Next, in the present embodiment, the control processing executed by the electrical control part 100 will be explained based on the flow chart of FIG. 3 to 4.“) to obtain information indicating a temperature in the cabin (Par. 0055, “cabin temperature (inside air temperature) Tr”) detected by a first temperature sensor (Par. 0057, “Tr: inside air temperature detected by inside air sensor 122”) and information indicating a target temperature (Par. 0055, “set temperature Tset”) that is preset (Par. 0055, “set temperature Tset set by the temperature setting switch of the air-conditioner operation switches SW”); and
calculates a target discharge temperature (Par. 0055, “the target discharge temperature TAO”) based on a difference between the temperature in the cabin and the target temperature indicated by the information (Par. 0055, “Note that the target discharge temperature TAO is calculated by the following formula F1 based on the fluctuation of the air conditioning heat load, cabin temperature (inside air temperature) Tr, and set temperature Tset set by the temperature setting switch of the air-conditioner operation switches SW:
”); and
switches between the modes of the actuators (Par. 0054, “at step S3, the control states of the various types of actuators for control of the air-conditioning (air-conditioning control devices) 9, 12, etc. are determined”), according to the target discharge temperature calculated (Par. 0054, “at step S3, the control states of the various types of actuators for control of the air-conditioning (air-conditioning control devices) 9, 12, etc. are determined. Specifically, the powered state is determined as the control signal to the electromagnetic clutch 9. Further, the target discharge temperature TAO is calculated and this TAO used to determine the control voltage Vfan supplied to an electric motor of the blower fan 12”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of Takano, as modified above, to include the capabilities of the controller of Sawada as disclosed above in order for the controller to switch between modes of the ventilation path selection switch based on the target discharge temperature and thereby automatically control the ventilation path selection switch in response to user input (As suggested by Par. 0032 of Sawada: “There, the air-conditioner control part 100a controls the vehicular air-conditioning system as a whole based on sensor detection signals of the group of air-conditioning sensors 121 to 125 and operation signals from the various types of air-conditioner operation switches SW provided at an air-conditioning control panel 126 arranged near the instrument panel in the front of the cabin.”) for increased user convenience, satisfaction, and/or comfort.
Regarding claim 17, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 1.
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose an outlet temperature sensor electrically connected to the controller, and provided in a vicinity of the outlet, wherein the controller controls the blower according to a temperature detected by the outlet temperature sensor.
Sawada discloses a vehicular air-conditioning system (Par. 0004) similar to the present invention and Sawada further discloses it is known to have an outlet temperature sensor (Par. 0029, “an evaporator temperature sensor 124 comprised of a thermistor detecting the discharge air temperature right after passing through the evaporator 6 is provided”) electrically connected to the controller (Par. 0032-0033, “There, the air-conditioner control part 100a controls the vehicular air-conditioning system as a whole based on sensor detection signals of the group of air-conditioning sensors 121 to 125…an evaporator temperature sensor 124 arranged at the air discharge part of the evaporator 6 and detecting the evaporator discharge air temperature Te”), and provided in a vicinity of the outlet (Par. 0029, “an evaporator temperature sensor 124…detecting the discharge air temperature right after passing through the evaporator 6”), and
a temperature (Par. 0029, “the discharge air temperature”) is detected by the outlet temperature sensor (Par. 0029, “an evaporator temperature sensor 124…detecting the discharge air temperature right after passing through the evaporator 6”), and
the controller controls the blower according to a target discharge temperature (Par. 0054, “target discharge temperature TAO is calculated and this TAO used to determine the control voltage Vfan supplied to an electric motor of the blower fan 12.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle seat air-conditioning device of Takano, as modified above, to include the outlet temperature sensor as disclosed by Sawada in order to have an outlet temperature sensor electrically connected to the controller, and provided in a vicinity of the outlet and thereby operate the vehicle seat air-conditioning device more efficiently and/or effectively (As suggested by Par. 0032 of Sawada: “the air-conditioner control part 100a controls the vehicular air-conditioning system as a whole based on sensor detection signals of the group of air-conditioning sensors 121 to 125 and operation signals from the various types of air-conditioner operation switches SW provided at an air-conditioning control panel 126 arranged near the instrument panel in the front of the cabin”)
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose the controller controls the blower according to the outlet temperature.
Inaba further discloses the controller (Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) controls a blower (Pars. 0082-0084, “In step S5, a blowing capacity (air blowing volume) of the blower 32 is determined…in step S5, a blower motor voltage to be applied to the electric motor and corresponding to the volume of air from the blower 32 is determined with reference to the control map (control characteristics) pre-stored in the air conditioning controller 40 based on the target air outlet temperature TAO calculated in step S4.
More specifically, in this embodiment, the blower motor voltage is set to a high level close to the maximum in an ultra-low temperature range and an ultra-high temperature range of the target air outlet temperature TAO, whereby the volume of air from the blower 32 is controlled to be at about the maximum level. As the target air outlet temperature TAO is increased from the ultra-low temperature range to an intermediate temperature range, the blower motor voltage is decreased with increasing target air outlet temperature TAO to thereby decrease the volume of the air from the blower 32.
As the target air outlet temperature TAO is decreased from the ultra-high temperature range to the intermediate temperature range, the blower motor voltage is decreased with decreasing target air outlet temperature TAO to thereby decrease the volume of air from the blower 32. When the target air outlet temperature TAO enters a predetermined intermediate temperature range, the blower motor voltage is minimized to thereby minimize the volume of air from the blower 32.) according to an outlet temperature (Par. 0082, “a blower motor voltage to be applied to the electric motor and corresponding to the volume of air from the blower 32 is determined with reference to the control map (control characteristics) pre-stored in the air conditioning controller 40 based on the target air outlet temperature TAO calculated in step S4.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of Takano, as modified above, to include the capabilities of the controller of Inaba as disclosed above in order to have the controller controls the blower according to the outlet temperature and thereby increase energy efficiency (As suggested by the Abstract of Inaba: “the energy of the vehicle air conditioner can be effectively prevented from being wasted.”).
Regarding claim 18, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 17, wherein the controller (From Inaba: Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40):
sets an air volume of the blower (From Takano: Fig. 7, blower fan 74) to a first air volume (From Inaba: Par. 0083, “volume of air from the blower 32 is controlled to be at about the maximum level”) when the temperature (From Sawada: Par. 0029, “the discharge air temperature”) detected by the outlet temperature sensor (From Sawada: Par. 0029, “an evaporator temperature sensor 124…detecting the discharge air temperature right after passing through the evaporator 6”) is higher than or equal to a threshold (From Inaba: Par. 0083, “an ultra-high temperature range of the target air outlet temperature TAO”); and
sets the air volume of the blower (From Takano: Fig. 7, blower fan 74) to a second air volume (From Inaba: Par. 0084, “the blower motor voltage is minimized”) when the temperature (From Sawada: Par. 0029, “the discharge air temperature”) detected by the outlet temperature sensor (From Sawada: Par. 0029, “an evaporator temperature sensor 124…detecting the discharge air temperature right after passing through the evaporator 6”) is lower than the threshold (From Inaba: Par. 0084, “When the target air outlet temperature TAO enters a predetermined intermediate temperature range”), the second air volume (From Inaba: Par. 0084, “the blower motor voltage is minimized”) being smaller than the first air volume (From Inaba: Par. 0083, “volume of air from the blower 32 is controlled to be at about the maximum level”).
Regarding claim 19, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 17, wherein the controller (From Inaba: Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) controls the blower (From Takano: Fig. 7, blower fan 74) based on the temperature (From Sawada: Par. 0029, “the discharge air temperature”) detected by the outlet temperature sensor (From Sawada: Par. 0029, “an evaporator temperature sensor 124…detecting the discharge air temperature right after passing through the evaporator 6”) when the ventilation path selection switch (From Takano: Fig. 7, second damper 233) maintains one of the modes (From Takano: Figs. 1 and A, the first mode is when second damper 233 blocks flow from branch duct 217, air can only flow from the first ventilation path to the third ventilation path) for a first predetermined period (From Takano: Par. 0033, “For example, in the case of a room temperature of 30 ° C. or higher in midsummer, the backrest 52 side is cooled intensively, and after some time elapses. After the inside of the vehicle is cooled as a whole, adjustment such as stopping the introduction of the conditioned air to the seating portion introduction duct 221 may be performed.” Examiner notes stopping the introduction of conditioned air to the seating portion introduction duct 221 correlates with the first mode. Examiner further notes a predetermined period is the completion of an action or period that is predetermined or determined beforehand, therefore the cited disclosure from Par. 0033 comprises a ‘predetermined period’ because once the vehicle has been cooled as a whole (i.e., completion of an action or period), the introduction of conditioned air to the seating portion introduction duct 221 is stopped (i.e., an action that is predetermined or determined beforehand). If Applicant disagrees and has support for a structural difference from this interpretation in the as-filed disclosure, Applicant is recommended to claim it).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (JP 3443836 B2, hereinafter Takano) in view of Henke (DE 19607110 A1) and Inaba (US20140360215A1) and further in view of Haubner et al. (US 5948297 A, hereafter Haubner).
Regarding claim 7, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 1, wherein the controller (From Inaba: Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch (From Takano, Fig. 7, second damper 233 whose associated modes are explained in claim 1).
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch, based on a table showing a correlation between a temperature in the cabin and an elapsed time during which a vehicle air-conditioning device provided in the vehicle keeps discharging conditioned air.
Haubner discloses a seat heating apparatus for a vehicle (Abstract. Examiner notes Par. 0052 of the Applicant’s as-filed disclosure discloses the vehicle air-conditioning device performs a heating operation, therefore it’s the Examiner’s position the seat heating apparatus of Haubner is similar to the present invention) similar to the present invention and Haubner further discloses it is known for a controller (Claim 8, microprocessor) to switch between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch, based on a table (Claim 8, “the microprocessor including a non-volatile memory;
installing in the memory a plurality of look-up tables or curves”) showing a correlation between a temperature in the cabin (Claim 8, “given heat-up temperature condition” and Claim 1 “the power supply to the seat heated takes place in accordance with the selected curves or table, and
wherein operating data such as inside temperature…are recorded and taken into account for the selection of the curves or tables”) and an elapsed time (Claim 8, “given heat-up time interval is elapsed “)
during which a vehicle air-conditioning device provided in the vehicle keeps discharging air (Claim 8,“the microprocessor including a non-volatile memory;
installing in the memory a plurality of look-up tables or curves, each of the tables or curves determining the electric heating power as a function of time; installing in the microprocessor a program for selecting one of the tables or curves stored in the memory;
first applying, in a heat-up phase, a maximum available electric heating power until a given heat-up temperature condition is reached or a given heat-up time interval is elapsed;
then selecting, according to at least one parameter, one of the tables or curves; and
controlling the electric heating power according to the selected one of the tables or curves.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of Takano, as modified above, to include the capabilities of the controller of Haubner as disclosed above in order to control the controller based on a table showing a correlation between a temperature in the cabin and an elapsed time during which a vehicle air-conditioning device provided in the vehicle keeps discharging conditioned air and thereby increase user convenience, satisfaction, and/or comfort by increasing the ability of the vehicle seat air-conditioning device to meet different user preferences (As suggested by Col. 3, lines 31-40 of Haubner: ” Another embodiment favorably provides for the microprocessor selecting the characteristic curve or the table, respectively, as a function of a desired temperature preset by a user. This allows for the fact that individuals are differently sensitive to heat, there being the possibility to preset an individual temperature in a manner known per se by an input device.
Particular convenience is ensured in that the microprocessor selects the curve or table, respectively, in dependence on a stored coding individually entered for the respective user. Once a user has preset his optimal temperature or temperature distribution, it will set in whenever this person uses the vehicle. Advantageously, the selected curves or tables are combined with a coding related to the individual's seat position. This makes use of the fact that in a lot of vehicles, provision is made for the seat position to be set by servomotors in dependence on a user coding.”).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (JP 3443836 B2, hereinafter Takano) in view of Henke (DE 19607110 A1) and Inaba (US20140360215A1) and further in view of Sakane et al. (US 20150266404 A1, hereafter Sakane).
Regarding claim 15, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 1.
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose a fin that is provided at the outlet and leads, in a predetermined direction, air blown out from the outlet.
Sakane discloses an air-circulation apparatus for vehicle seats (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Sakane further discloses it is known to have a fin (Figs. 5 and 6, seat side louver 22. A fin is designed to direct airflow, therefore seat side louver 22 is a ‘fin’ because it directs airflow out of seat outlet ports 10 and 11) that is provided at an outlet (Fig. 6, seat outlet ports 10 and 11) and leads, in a predetermined direction, air blown out from the outlet (Par. 0059, “The seat side louver 22 (FIG. 5) that controls the direction of the wind blown out of the seat outlet ports 10 and 11 is disposed in each of the seat outlet ports 10 and 11.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outlet of Takano, as modified above, to include the fin as disclosed by Sakane in order to have a fin that is provided at the outlet and leads, in a predetermined direction, air blown out from the outlet and thereby create a comfortable vehicle seat and/or interior environment (As suggested by Par. 0064 of Sakane: “The seat side louver 22 and the louver drive device 23 may be used as the air flow switching device. Therefore, the occupant seated in each of the seat 1 and 2 is comforted by ventilation of the seat skin 17. At the same time, as illustrated in FIG. 8, a comfortable air A1 present in the front area of the vehicle flows to the rear area of the vehicle as a circulating air A2, and a comfortable vehicle interior environment having no air retention can be created as an air A3 that has reached the rear area of the vehicle.”)
Regarding claim 16, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 15, wherein the fin (From Sakane: Figs. 5 and 6, seat side louver 22, as explained in claim 15 above) is provided vertically above a center of the outlet (From Takano: Fig. 7, duct 70 and Par. 0028, “It is blown out from the air outlet 72 via the duct 70. The blown air flows down from the head of the occupant toward the feet.”) in a height direction (From Sakane: Figs. 5 and 6, at least the top instance of seat side louver 22 is provided vertically above a center of outlets 10, 11 in a height direction).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art references Takano et al. (JP 3443836 B2, hereinafter Takano), Inaba (US20140360215A1), Schuller et al. (US 5921314 A, hereafter Schuller), and Migneco (US 20210354611 A1, hereafter Migneco) represent the closest prior art of record to the applicant' s claimed invention as recited in claims 3-5 and 20.
Regarding claim 3, Takano, as modified above, discloses the controller (From Inaba: Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) causes the ventilation path selection switch (From Takano: Fig. 1, second damper 233) to execute the second mode (From Takano: Figs. 1 and A, when second damper 233 blocks flow from branch duct 217 (i.e., first ventilation path), air can only flow from the second ventilation path to the third ventilation path),
the first temperature (From Takano: Par. 0040, “temperature of the air taken in by the suction port 60”) detected by the first temperature sensor (From Takano: Par. 0040, “indoor temperature sensor”), and
the second temperature (From Schuller: Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28”) detected by the second temperature sensor (From Schuller: Fig. 1, temperature sensor 28 and Col. 3, lines 57-60, “The actual temperature in the region of the seat contact surface of the seat part 24 is detected, for example, by an NTC temperature sensor 28 and a corresponding temperature signal is entered in the microprocessor 20”).
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose wherein the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the second mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a first surface temperature.
Schuller further discloses it is known for the controller (Fig. 2, microprocessor 20) to execute a second mode (Fig. 3 and Col. 6, lines 52-63, “Curve 2 shows the thermal control of the seat with a very high initial temperature of about 60.degree. C. By means of the air-conditioning device 18 the temperature of the seat is rapidly lowered to a temperature of about 28.degree. C., in order obtain the above-mentioned "cooling-down effect” “. Examiner notes Curve 1 is the ‘first mode’, making Curve 2 the ‘second mode’) when a temperature (Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28”) detected by a temperature sensor (Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “The electrical heating element 26, the fans 50 and 54 and the Peltier element 42 are in connection with the microprocessor 20 and are regulated by this in dependence on the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28 connected to the input side of the microprocessor and on the pre-set desired temperature”) is higher than or equal to a first surface temperature (Fig. 3 and Col. 6, lines 52-63, “Once the desired temperature T.sub.set has been reached, the temperature of the seat and moisture removal from the seat is controlled by means of the air-conditioning device 18 so that the temperature remains in the region of the desired temperature T.sub.set”). However, the second mode of Schuller is different from “a second mode in which the second ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path” as claimed in base claim 1 and Schuller does not disclose wherein the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the second mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a first surface temperature.
Migneco discloses it is known for a controller (Par. 0039, ECU 60) to execute a second mode (Par. 0039, “For example and without limitation, if an interior temperature and/or an exterior temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., relatively warm/hot, such as above about 75 degrees Fahrenheit), the ECU 60 may operate the temperature control unit 150 in a cooling and/or venting mode, which may reduce a temperature proximate the seat 30 and/or at or about the seating surface 30A”) when a first temperature (Par. 0039, “interior temperature”) is higher than a set cabin temperature (Par. 0039, “first temperature threshold”). However, the second mode of Migneco is different from “a second mode in which the second ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path” as claimed in base claim 1 and Migneco does not disclose wherein the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the second mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a first surface temperature.
At the time of this writing, Examiner hasn’t found a prior art teaching that has the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the second mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a first surface temperature. In addition, any design choice rejection regarding these limitations in lieu of a prior art teaching would result in an unreasonable hindsight rejection and reconstruction of the Applicant’s claimed invention. Therefore, the limitation “the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the second mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a first surface temperature”, when combined with the other limitations of the claim, distinguishes the claim from the prior art.
Regarding claim 4, Takano, as modified above, discloses the controller (From Inaba: Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) causes the ventilation path selection switch (From Takano: Fig. 1, second damper 233) to execute the third mode (From Takano: Fig. 1, when second damper 233 is angled such that neither the branch duct 217 (i.e., first ventilation path) or second ventilation path are blocked, air can flow from both the branch duct 217 (i.e., first ventilation path) and second ventilation path to the third ventilation path),
the first temperature (From Takano: Par. 0040, “temperature of the air taken in by the suction port 60”) detected by the first temperature sensor (From Takano: Par. 0040, “indoor temperature sensor”), and
the second temperature (From Schuller: Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28”) detected by the second temperature sensor (From Schuller: Fig. 1, temperature sensor 28 and Col. 3, lines 57-60, “The actual temperature in the region of the seat contact surface of the seat part 24 is detected, for example, by an NTC temperature sensor 28 and a corresponding temperature signal is entered in the microprocessor 20”).
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the third mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is lower than a first surface temperature and is higher than or equal to a second surface temperature that is lower than the first surface temperature.
Although Schuller and Migneco disclose a controller that adjusts a mode of an air-conditioning system in response to measurements from temperature sensors, neither discloses the air-conditioning systems has a third mode of operation.
At the time of this writing, Examiner hasn’t found a prior art teaching that has the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the third mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is lower than a first surface temperature and is higher than or equal to a second surface temperature that is lower than the first surface temperature. In addition, any design choice rejection regarding these limitations in lieu of a prior art teaching would result in an unreasonable hindsight rejection and reconstruction of the Applicant’s claimed invention. Therefore, the limitation “the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the third mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is higher than or equal to a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is lower than a first surface temperature and is higher than or equal to a second surface temperature that is lower than the first surface temperature.”, when combined with the other limitations of the claim, distinguishes the claim from the prior art.
Regarding claim 5, Takano, as modified above, discloses the controller (From Inaba: Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) causes the ventilation path selection switch (From Takano: Fig. 1, second damper 233) to execute the first mode (From Takano: Figs. 1 and A, when second damper 233 blocks flow from the second ventilation path, air can only flow from branch duct 217 (i.e., first ventilation path) to the third ventilation path),
the first temperature (From Takano: Par. 0040, “temperature of the air taken in by the suction port 60”) detected by the first temperature sensor (From Takano: Par. 0040, “indoor temperature sensor”), and
the second temperature (From Schuller: Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28”) detected by the second temperature sensor (From Schuller: Fig. 1, temperature sensor 28 and Col. 3, lines 57-60, “The actual temperature in the region of the seat contact surface of the seat part 24 is detected, for example, by an NTC temperature sensor 28 and a corresponding temperature signal is entered in the microprocessor 20”).
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the first mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is lower than a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is lower than a second surface temperature and is higher than or equal to a third surface temperature that is lower than the second surface temperature.
Schuller further discloses it is known for the controller (Fig. 2, microprocessor 20) to execute a first mode (Fig. 3 and Col. 6, lines 42-51, “Curve 1 in FIG. 3 shows warming of the seat where the initial temperature is -20.degree. C. At the time t.sub.H, at which the seat is heated to the desired temperature, only the electrical sheet-type heating element is effective and is operated at full power. Subsequently, up to the time t.sub.HK, the temperature of the seat is maintained in the region of the desired temperature T.sub.set by means of the electrical heating element and the air-conditioning device. From the time t.sub.HK only the air-conditioning device is effective to remove moisture and maintain the temperature of the seat“) when a temperature (Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28”) detected by a temperature sensor (Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “The electrical heating element 26, the fans 50 and 54 and the Peltier element 42 are in connection with the microprocessor 20 and are regulated by this in dependence on the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28 connected to the input side of the microprocessor and on the pre-set desired temperature”) is lower than to a first surface temperature (Fig. 3, which shows Curve 1 starts out at a lower temperature than T.sub.set and Col. 6, lines 52-63, “Once the desired temperature T.sub.set has been reached, the temperature of the seat and moisture removal from the seat is controlled by means of the air-conditioning device 18 so that the temperature remains in the region of the desired temperature T.sub.set”). However, the first mode of Schuller is different from the “first mode in which the first ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path” claimed in base claim 1 and Schuller does not disclose the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the first mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is lower than a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is lower than a second surface temperature and is higher than or equal to a third surface temperature that is lower than the second surface temperature.
Migneco discloses it is known for a controller (Par. 0040, ECU 60) to execute a first mode (Par. 0040, “if an interior temperature and/or the exterior temperature is below a second temperature threshold (e.g., relatively cool/cold, such as below about 55 degrees Fahrenheit), the ECU 60 operate the temperature control unit 150 in a heating mode.”) when a first temperature (Par. 0040, “interior temperature”) is lower than a set cabin temperature (Par. 0039, “second temperature threshold”). However, the first mode of Migneco is different from the “first mode in which the first ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path” claimed in base claim 1 and Migneco does not the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the first mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is lower than a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is lower than a second surface temperature and is higher than or equal to a third surface temperature that is lower than the second surface temperature.
At the time of this writing, Examiner hasn’t found a prior art teaching that has the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the first mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is lower than a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is lower than a second surface temperature and is higher than or equal to a third surface temperature that is lower than the second surface temperature. In addition, any design choice rejection regarding these limitations in lieu of a prior art teaching would result in an unreasonable hindsight rejection and reconstruction of the Applicant’s claimed invention. Therefore, the limitation “the controller causes the ventilation path selection switch to execute the first mode when the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor is lower than a set cabin temperature, and the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor is lower than a second surface temperature and is higher than or equal to a third surface temperature that is lower than the second surface temperature”, when combined with the other limitations of the claim, distinguishes the claim from the prior art.
Regarding claim 20, Takano, as modified above, discloses the vehicle seat air-conditioning device according to claim 2, wherein the controller (From Inaba: Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) switches the ventilation path selection switch (From Takano: Fig. 7, second damper 233) to the second mode (From Takano: Figs. 1 and A, when second damper 233 blocks flow from the first ventilation path and when first damper 231 is blocking flow from second suction port 223, air can only flow from branch duct 217 (i.e., the second ventilation path) to the third ventilation path), the first temperature (From Takano: Par. 0040, “the temperature of the air taken in by the suction port 60”) detected by the first temperature sensor (From Takano: Par. 0040, “indoor temperature sensor”) and the second temperature (From Schuller: Col. 3, lines 57-60, “The actual temperature in the region of the seat contact surface of the seat part 24”) detected by the second temperature sensor (From Schuller: Fig. 1, temperature sensor 28 and Col. 3, lines 57-60, “The actual temperature in the region of the seat contact surface of the seat part 24 is detected, for example, by an NTC temperature sensor 28 and a corresponding temperature signal is entered in the microprocessor 20”).
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose the controller temporarily switches the ventilation path selection switch to the second mode, when the ventilation path selection switch is in one of the modes other than the second mode, and a change in the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor and a change in the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor are in a predetermined temperature range for a second predetermined period.
Schuller further discloses it is known for the controller (Fig. 2, microprocessor 20) to execute a second mode (Fig. 3 and Col. 6, lines 52-63, “Curve 2 shows the thermal control of the seat with a very high initial temperature of about 60.degree. C. By means of the air-conditioning device 18 the temperature of the seat is rapidly lowered to a temperature of about 28.degree. C., in order obtain the above-mentioned "cooling-down effect” “. Examiner notes Curve 1 is the ‘first mode’, making Curve 2 the ‘second mode’) when a temperature (Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28”) detected by a temperature sensor (Col. 5, line 23 thru Col. 6, line 15, “The electrical heating element 26, the fans 50 and 54 and the Peltier element 42 are in connection with the microprocessor 20 and are regulated by this in dependence on the actual temperature measured by the temperature sensor 28 connected to the input side of the microprocessor and on the pre-set desired temperature”) is at a predetermined temperature (Fig. 3 and Col. 6, lines 52-63, “Once the desired temperature T.sub.set has been reached, the temperature of the seat and moisture removal from the seat is controlled by means of the air-conditioning device 18 so that the temperature remains in the region of the desired temperature T.sub.set”). However, the second mode of Schuller is different from “a second mode in which the second ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path” as claimed in base claim 1 and Schuller does not disclose wherein the controller temporarily switches the ventilation path selection switch to the second mode, when the ventilation path selection switch is in one of the modes other than the second mode, and a change in the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor and a change in the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor are in a predetermined temperature range for a second predetermined period.
Migneco discloses it is known for a controller (Par. 0039, ECU 60) to execute a second mode (Par. 0039, “For example and without limitation, if an interior temperature and/or an exterior temperature is above a first temperature threshold (e.g., relatively warm/hot, such as above about 75 degrees Fahrenheit), the ECU 60 may operate the temperature control unit 150 in a cooling and/or venting mode, which may reduce a temperature proximate the seat 30 and/or at or about the seating surface 30A”) when a first temperature (Par. 0039, “interior temperature”) is at a predetermined temperature (Par. 0039, “first temperature threshold”). However, the second mode of Migneco is different from “a second mode in which the second ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path” as claimed in base claim 1 and Migneco does not disclose wherein the controller temporarily switches the ventilation path selection switch to the second mode, when the ventilation path selection switch is in one of the modes other than the second mode, and a change in the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor and a change in the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor are in a predetermined temperature range for a second predetermined period.
At the time of this writing, Examiner hasn’t found a prior art teaching that has the controller temporarily switches the ventilation path selection switch to the second mode, when the ventilation path selection switch is in one of the modes other than the second mode, and a change in the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor and a change in the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor are in a predetermined temperature range for a second predetermined period. Therefore, the limitation “the controller temporarily switches the ventilation path selection switch to the second mode, when the ventilation path selection switch is in one of the modes other than the second mode, and a change in the first temperature detected by the first temperature sensor and a change in the second temperature detected by the second temperature sensor are in a predetermined temperature range for a second predetermined period” (emphasis added), when combined with the other limitations of the claim, distinguishes the claim from the prior art.
Claim 22 is allowed.
Prior art references Takano et al. (JP 3443836 B2, hereinafter Takano), Inaba (US20140360215A1), Kishimoto (JP 2004268773 A), Sakane et al. (US 20150266404 A1, hereafter Sakane), Kano et al. (US 20220312862 A1, hereafter Kano), and Higashihara (US 20180222364 A1) represent the closest prior art of record to the applicant' s claimed invention as recited in claim 22.
Regarding claim 22, Takano discloses a vehicle seat air-conditioning device (Par. 0001, “seat air conditioner…for conditioning the space around a vehicle seat”) for use in a seat (Fig. 1, seat 50) of a vehicle (Par. 0001, “vehicle”), the vehicle seat air-conditioning device comprising:
a blower (Fig. 7, blower fan 74);
a ventilation path selection switch (Fig. 7, second damper 233);
a first ventilation path (annotated Fig. A, first ventilation path) that leads air drawn in from a first inlet (Fig. 7, second suction port 223) by the blower to the ventilation path selection switch, the first inlet being provided in a seating surface (Fig. 7, top surface of seating portion 50) of the seat, the seating surface being a surface for a person to sit (Par. 0007, “the seating portion on which a seated person is seated”);
a second ventilation path (Fig. 7, branch duct 217, specifically the portion leading from second suction ports 203 to second damper 233 when first damper 231 is blocking flow from second suction port 223) that leads air drawn in from a second inlet (Fig. 7, suction ports 203) by the blower to the ventilation path selection switch, the second inlet being different from the first inlet and provided in a portion of the seat other than the seating surface (Fig. 1); and
a third ventilation path (annotated Fig. A, third ventilation path) that leads at least one of the air led through the first ventilation path by the blower or the air led through the second ventilation path by the blower from the ventilation path selection switch to an outlet (Fig. 7, duct 70 and Par. 0028, “It is blown out from the air outlet 72 via the duct 70. The blown air flows down from the head of the occupant toward the feet.”) provided in the seat,
wherein the first inlet opens toward an interior of a cabin of the vehicle (Fig. 7, vehicle interior space 126), the first inlet and the second inlet are provided vertically below the outlet (Fig. 7),
at least the first inlet, the second inlet, and the outlet are provided in the seat, and at least the first ventilation path, a portion of the second ventilation path, the ventilation path selection switch, the blower, and the third ventilation path are provided inside of the seat (Fig. 7),
the ventilation path selection switch has modes for leading air to the third ventilation path, the modes including:
a first mode in which the first ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path (Figs. 1 and A, when second damper 233 blocks flow from branch duct 217, air can only flow from the first ventilation path to the third ventilation path);
a second mode in which the second ventilation path is connected to the third ventilation path (Figs. 1 and A, when second damper 233 blocks flow from the first ventilation path and when first damper 231 is blocking flow from second suction port 223, air can only flow from branch duct 217 (i.e., the second ventilation path) to the third ventilation path); and
a third mode in which the first ventilation path and the second ventilation path are connected to the third ventilation path (Fig. 1, when second damper 233 is angled such that neither the first ventilation path or branch duct 217 (i.e., second ventilation path) are blocked, air can flow from both the first ventilation path and branch duct 217 (i.e., second ventilation path) to the third ventilation path),
a driver seat (Fig. 7, seat 50. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand this is a ‘driver seat’ because it is positioned in front of a steering wheel) includes a seat back (Fig. 7, backrest 52), the driver seat being the seat (Par. 0001, “vehicle seat”) of the vehicle (Par. 0001, “vehicle”), and
a second inlet (), and
a front surface being in contact with a person seated in the driver seat (Fig. 7, front surface of backrest 52), a side surface (Fig. 7, side surface of backrest 52), a back surface (Fig. 7, back surface of backrest 52), and a corner portion (Fig. 7, corner portion of backrest 52) being included in the seat back (Fig. 7, backrest 52),
the second inlet (Fig. 7, suction ports 203) is provided with a cover (Par. 0010, “the surface of the cushion material 56 is covered with a skin 54 made of leather or cloth”) that is air-permeable (Examiner notes given Fig. 7 shows suction ports 203 are behind skin 54 and Par. 0010 discloses cushion material 56 is covered with skin 54, skin 54 must necessarily be at least partially air-permeable, otherwise air would not be able to enter first suction port 203 as disclosed. See Par. 0030, “The conditioned air sucked through the first suction port 152 203”).
However, Takano does not explicitly disclose a controller that controls the ventilation path selection switch; and
the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of the modes from among the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode,
a driver seat and a front passenger seat each include a seat back, the driver seat and the front passenger seat each being the seat and
the second inlet is provided in:
one of a side surface of the driver seat that faces the front passenger seat, a back surface on an opposite side from a front surface, or a corner portion stretching from a portion of the side surface to a portion of the back surface of the driver seat, the front surface being in contact with a person seated in the driver seat, the side surface, the back surface, and the corner portion being included in the seat back; or
one of a side surface of the front passenger seat that faces the driver seat, a back surface on an opposite side from a front surface, or a corner portion stretching from a portion of the side surface to a portion of the back surface of the front passenger seat, the front surface being in contact with a person seated in the front passenger seat, the side surface, the back surface, and the corner portion being included in the seat back, and
the second inlet is provided in the corner portion and the cover is provided over the corner portion, and air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the side surface included in the corner portion is higher than air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the back surface included in the corner portion.
Inaba discloses a vehicle air conditioner (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Inaba further discloses it is known to have a controller (Fig. 1, air conditioning controller 40) that controls a ventilation path selection switch (Fig. 1, air mix door 34 and Par. 0068, “The air mix door 34 is driven by a servo motor (not shown) which is operated by a control signal output from the air conditioning controller 40.”) and
the controller switches between modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of multiple modes (Par. 0111, “The control signal to be output to the servo motor of the air mix door 34 is determined such that the air mix door 34 closes an air passage of the interior condenser 12, and that the whole volume of air having passed through the interior evaporator 17 can pass through the cool air bypass passage 35”, which discloses the controller switches the air mix door 34 (i.e., ventilation path selection switch) to a mode in which air passes through cool air bypass passage 35 and Par. 0131, “The control signal output to the servo motor of the air mix door 34 is determined such that the air mix door 34 closes the cool air bypass passage 35, and that the whole volume of air having passed through the interior evaporator 17 can pass through the air passage of the interior condenser 12”, which discloses the controller switches the air mix door 34 (i.e., ventilation path selection switch) to another mode in which air passes through interior condenser 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle seat air-conditioning device of Takano to include the controller as disclosed by Inaba in order to have a controller that controls the ventilation path selection switch and the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of the modes from among the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode to adjust the temperature of the conditioned air more efficiently, effectively, and/or conveniently.
NOTE: It’s understood that modified Takano would result in the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of the modes from among the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode, as claimed. To elaborate, Takano discloses a ventilation path selection switch that switches between a first mode, second mode, and third mode and Inaba discloses it is known for a controller to switch a ventilation path selection switch between different modes. Therefore, modified Takano would read on the controller switches between the modes of the ventilation path selection switch by selecting one of the modes from among the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode, as claimed.
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose a driver seat and a front passenger seat each include a seat back, the driver seat and the front passenger seat each being the seat and
the second inlet is provided in:
one of a side surface of the driver seat that faces the front passenger seat, a back surface on an opposite side from a front surface, or a corner portion stretching from a portion of the side surface to a portion of the back surface of the driver seat, the front surface being in contact with a person seated in the driver seat, the side surface, the back surface, and the corner portion being included in the seat back; or
one of a side surface of the front passenger seat that faces the driver seat, a back surface on an opposite side from a front surface, or a corner portion stretching from a portion of the side surface to a portion of the back surface of the front passenger seat, the front surface being in contact with a person seated in the front passenger seat, the side surface, the back surface, and the corner portion being included in the seat back.
Kishimoto discloses an air conditioning system for a vehicle (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Kishimoto further discloses it is known to have a driver seat (Fig. 1, driver’s seat 72A) and a front passenger seat (Fig. 1, passenger’s seat 70A) each include a seat back (Fig. 1, back of driver’s seat 72A and passenger’s seat 70A), the driver seat and the front passenger seat each being the seat and
the inlet (Par. 0072, “provide a driver's seat inlet”) is provided in:
one of a side surface of the driver seat that faces the front passenger seat (Par. 0072, “provide a driver's seat inlet on the side of the driver's seat on the passenger seat side”), a front surface being in contact with a person seated in the driver seat (Fig. 1, front surface of back of driver’s seat 72A), the side surface (Fig. 1, side surface of back of driver’s seat 72A on the passenger’s seat side), a back surface (Fig. 1, back surface of back of driver’s seat 72A), and a corner portion (Fig. 1, corner portion of back of driver’s seat 72A) being included in the seat back (Fig. 1, back of driver’s seat 72A); or
the inlet (Par. 0072, “passenger seat inlet 70“) is provided in:
one of a side surface of the front passenger seat that faces the driver seat (Par. 0072, “In the above embodiment, the air shutter unit 60 is provided with a passenger seat inlet 70 on the side of
the driver's seat of the passenger seat“), a front surface being in contact with a person seated in the front passenger seat (Fig. 1, front surface of back of passenger’s seat 70A), the side surface (Fig. 1, front surface of back of passenger’s seat 70A on the driver’s seat side), a back surface (Fig. 1, back surface of back of passenger’s seat 70A), and a corner portion (Fig. 1, corner portion of back of passenger’s seat 70A) being included in the seat back (Fig. 1, back of passenger’s seat 70A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle of Takano, as modified above, to include a passenger seat as disclosed by Kishimoto in order to provide more seating and thereby allow more people to sit in the car for increased energy efficiency. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 VI-B. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed a new and unexpected result for the claimed limitation.
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second inlet of Takano, as modified above, to be on a side surface of a driver seat that faces a front passenger seat or on a side surface of the front passenger seat that faces the driver seat as disclosed by Kishimoto, since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed second inlet was significant. MPEP 2144.04 VI-C. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (i.e. second inlet in a side surface of a driver seat that faces a front passenger seat or on a side surface of the front passenger seat that faces the driver seat, second inlet on front surface of seat back). One could have expected the second inlet to perform substantially equally well, whether at the front of the seat back or in its original position.
NOTE: It is the examiner’s position that an inlet provided with a cover that is air-permeable well known in the art, as indicated by Par. 0054 of Sakane et al. (US 20150266404 A1) referenced in the rejection to claim 15.
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose the second inlet is provided in the corner portion and the cover is provided over the corner portion, and air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the side surface included in the corner portion is higher than air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the back surface included in the corner portion.
Sakane discloses an air-circulation apparatus for vehicle seats (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Sakane further discloses it is known to have a port (Fig. 22, set outlet port 10) provided in a corner portion (Fig. 22, corner portion facing other seat) and the cover is provided over the corner portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second inlet and cover of Takano, as modified above, to be in a corner portion of the seat as disclosed by Sakane in order to promote airflow between the front and rear rows of seats (As suggested by Par. 0066 of Sakane: “The seat outlet ports 10 and 11 draw air in the front area of the vehicle and produce an air flow toward the rear area of the vehicle by blowing air to the rear area of the vehicle or diagonally toward the rear area of the vehicle.”) and thereby create a comfortable environment for both the front and back passengers because it minimizes air retention (As suggested by the Abstract of Sakane: ”This makes it possible to circulate a comfortable air rearward of the seat to create a vehicle interior environment having no air retention.”)
NOTE: One of ordinary skill in the art would understand airflow out of set outlet port 10 of Sakane could be reversed, such that in flows in through the port, especially in light of the evidence provided by Par. 0072 of Kishimoto: “Furthermore, the other air outlets and air inlets may be arranged in the opposite order to those in the above embodiment. That is, the right pillar inlet 64, the roof inlet 66, and the left pillar inlet 68 may each be an outlet, and the driver's seat outlet 72, the passenger seat outlet 74, and the instrument panel outlet 76 may each be an inlet.” It’s the Examiner’s position that Sakane’s disclosed benefits of promoting airflow between the front and rear rows of seats would be true regardless of the direction of airflow through port 10 because the airflow would still be generated whether it was due to a suction or blowing force.
However, Takano, as modified above, does not disclose the air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the side surface included in the corner portion is higher than air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the back surface included in the corner portion.
Kano discloses a solution to the problem of how to use a blower fan to maintain a comfortable environment in a garment (Abstract), similar to the problem of using a blower to maintain a comfortable environment in a vehicle in the present invention. Kano further discloses it is known for the air-permeability of a portion of a cover to be higher than air-permeability of a portion of another section of the cover (Par. 0033, “By making the air permeability of the air inlet higher than that of the fabric of the garment body, the outside air can be efficiently taken into the garment. From the viewpoint of design, it is preferable to use a material having higher air permeability than the fabric of the basic portion (garment body) constituting the garment.”). Although a rationale to modify Tanako, as modified above, with Kano is to efficiently take air into the inlet, Kano does not disclose the air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the side surface included in the corner portion is higher than air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the back surface included in the corner portion.
Higashihara discloses a vehicle seat (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Higashihara further discloses it is known for the air-permeability of a portion of a cover to be higher (Par. 0007, “a main air permeable portion, which is set to a predetermined void ratio and through which a majority of the airflow generated by the airflow generating device passes”) than the air-permeability of a portion of another section of the cover (Par. 0007, “an auxiliary air permeable portion that is set to a void ratio that is lower than that of the main air permeable portion and whose air permeability is lower than that of the main air permeable portion”). Although a rationale to modify Tanako, as modified above, with Higashihara is to efficiently take air into the inlet, Higashihara does not disclose the air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the side surface included in the corner portion is higher than air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the back surface included in the corner portion.
At the time of this writing, Examiner hasn’t found a prior art teaching that has the air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the side surface included in the corner portion is higher than air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the back surface included in the corner portion. In addition, any design choice rejection regarding these limitations in lieu of a prior art teaching would result in an unreasonable hindsight rejection and reconstruction of the Applicant’s claimed invention. Therefore, the limitation “the air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the side surface included in the corner portion is higher than air-permeability of a portion of the cover covering the portion of the back surface included in the corner portion”, when combined with the other limitations of the claim, distinguishes the claim from the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fujii et al. (US2019047449A1) discloses a second inlet is provided at a portion of the seating portion other than the seating surface.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762