DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 29, 32, 33, 37, 38 – 42, 46, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al (US 2020/0288175, hereafter Chang).
As per claim 21, Chang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform an encoding method comprising:
determining whether a current block in a current picture is coded with an intra block copy (IBC) mode (¶ 248; Section 7.3.4.1; Chang shows a flag sps_ibc_enabled_flag would indicate whether the IBC mode is being used);
setting a size of an index for a candidate list of vector predictors of the current block (i) a maximum number of merge mode candidates when the current bloc is not coded with IBC mode and (ii) a maximum number of IBC candidates when the current block is coded with the IBC mode, the index having a value that does not exceed the size of index, the index indicating a vector predictor used to encode the current block (¶ 252 and 253);
constructing the candidate list of vector predictors of the current block;
encoding the current block in accordance with the vector predictor from the candidate list of vector predictors; encoding the index in a video bitstream; and transmitting the encoded video bitstream (¶ 250 - 253).
As per claim 29, Chang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the current block is not coded with the IBC mode and the size of the index is set to the maximum number of merge mode candidates when the current block is coded with the IBC mode (¶ 250 - 253).
As per claim 30, Chang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the current block is coded with the IBC mode and the size of the index is set to the maximum number of IBC candidates (¶ 250 - 253)
As per claim 32, Chang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the video bitstream includes the maximum number of IBC candidates for the current block (¶ 253).
As per claim 33, Chang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the maximum number of IBC candidates is set to 6 when the maximum number of merge mode candidates is not signaled for the current block (¶ 253).
As per claim 37, Chang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the index is a merge index indicated by a syntax element merge_idx (¶ 168 and 169).
Regarding claim 38, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 21 are applicable for claim 38.
Regarding claim 39, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 29 are applicable for claim 39.
Regarding claim 40, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 30 are applicable for claim 40.
Regarding claim 41, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 32 are applicable for claim 41.
Regarding claim 42, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 33 are applicable for claim 42.
Regarding claim 46, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 37 are applicable for claim 46.
Regarding claim 47, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 21 are applicable for claim 47.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34 – 36 and 43 - 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of KO et al (US 2022/0053206, hereafter KO).
As per claim 34, Chang discloses the method of claim 21.
However, Chang does not explicitly teach wherein the format rule specifies that whether the maximum number of merge mode candidates is signaled is determined based on whether a slice type of the current block is I, P, or B.
In the same field of endeavor, KO teaches wherein the format rule specifies that whether the maximum number of merge mode candidates is signaled is determined based on whether a slice type of the current block is I, P, or B (¶ 359).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chang in view of KO. The advantage is improving video coding.
As per claim 35, Chang discloses the method of claim 34.
However, Chang does not explicitly teach wherein the format rule specifies that the maximum number of merge mode candidates is signaled when the slice type of the current block is P or B.
In the same field of endeavor, KO teaches wherein the format rule specifies that whether the maximum number of merge mode candidates is signaled is determined based on whether a slice type of the current block is I, P, or B (¶ 359).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chang in view of KO. The advantage is improving video coding.
As per claim 36, Chang discloses the method of claim 34.
However, Chang does not explicitly teach wherein the format rule specifies that the maximum number of merge mode candidates is not signaled when the slice type of the current block is I.
In the same field of endeavor, KO teaches wherein the format rule specifies that the maximum number of merge mode candidates is not signaled when the slice type of the current block is I (¶ 359).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chang in view of KO. The advantage is improving video coding.
Regarding claim 43, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 34 are applicable for claim 43.
Regarding claim 44, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 35 are applicable for claim 44.
Regarding claim 45, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 36 are applicable for claim 45.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487