DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 02/25/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: TANG does not teach the amendments of claim 1 (page 11, Remarks).
Examiner agrees, however claim 1 has been amended with limitations “a scheduling manner, a feedback manner, or a retransmission mechanism” from now canceled dependent claim 22, which Cao was used to reject in conjunction with TANG.
Applicant argues: Cao does not teach the amendments to claim 1 because it is silent on defining a “communication mode” and configuring a “first correspondence” that maps to such a mode to these complex data transmission parameters (page 12, Remarks).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
TANG was relied upon to teach “a communication mode” and “a first correspondence” and this has not been addressed by Applicant. Cao is brought in to modify an uplink data transmission as disclosed by TANG to include the features claimed in the amendments.
Examiner also notes Applicant argues and uplink waveform mode such as OFDM or SC-FDMA cannot encompass the amended limitations (page 11, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cao at para. 0063 teaches OFDMA and SC-FDMA, and also teaches the amended limitations “a scheduling manner, a feedback manner, or a retransmission mechanism” at (para. 0060, Each ED…may be referred to ...as a user equipment (UE); para. 0105, the Tx is an ED 110, retransmission parameters may be semi-statically (e.g., configured grant) or dynamically indicated (e.g., dynamic scheduling) by configuration signaling from the BS 170; para. 0211, In some examples (e.g., in a blind retransmission (“retransmission mechanism”, “scheduling mechanism”) scheme), there may not be any ACK or NACK feedback at all (i.e. “a feedback manner”).
New claims 23-27 are addressed in the Claim Rejections section below, as are all claims which are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-9, 16, 19, 21, 23-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2019/0306863 A1 to TANG in view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0184039 A1 to CAO et al. (“Cao”).
As to claim 1, see similar rejection to claim 16. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 4, see similar rejection to claim 19. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 8, TANG further discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein: a communication mode of the terminal device comprises the first communication mode (TANG, Para. 0062 discloses the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM (i.e. a communication mode and the first communication mode)), wherein: a type of a physical layer function parameter of the first communication mode comprises the data transmission (TANG, para. 0062, For example, when a connection is just established, the uplink waveform configured via the RRC signaling for the terminal device is SC-FDMA; as the channel in which the terminal device is located has an environment change, the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM. The terminal device then switches the uplink waveform from SC-FDMA to OFDM, i.e. performing communication based on DCI physical layer function parameter indicating OFDM mode).
TANG does not expressly disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein: a terminal type of the terminal device is an ultra reliable low latency communication (URLLC) device, and a communication mode of the URLLC comprises the first communication mode and a second communication mode, wherein: a type of a physical layer function parameter of the first communication mode comprises the data transmission, and a configuration manner of the data transmission comprises a configured grant type scheduling manner, a feedback manner in which an acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback is not required, and a retransmission mechanism of blind retransmission; and a type of a physical layer function parameter of the second communication mode comprises the data transmission, and the configuration manner of the data transmission comprises a slot or sub-slot aggregation scheduling manner, a feedback manner of a codeword-level ACK/NACK feedback, and a retransmission mechanism of codeword-level retransmission; or a terminal type of the terminal device is an internet of things (IoT) device, and a communication mode of the IoT device comprises the first communication mode, wherein: and a configuration manner of the data transmission comprises a scheduling manner of dynamic scheduling, a feedback manner in which an acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback is not required, and a retransmission mechanism of blind retransmission; or a terminal type of the terminal device is customer premise equipment (CPE), and a communication mode of the CPE comprises the first communication mode and a second communication mode, wherein: a type of a physical layer function parameter of the first communication mode comprises the data transmission and the CSI measurement feedback, a configuration manner of the data transmission comprises a scheduling manner of dynamic scheduling and a slot or sub-slot aggregation scheduling manner, a feedback manner of a codeword-level ACK/NACK feedback, and a retransmission mechanism of codeword-level retransmission, and a configuration manner of the CSI measurement feedback is a periodic CSI measurement feedback; and a type of a physical layer function parameter of the second communication mode comprises the data transmission and the CSI measurement feedback, the configuration manner of the data transmission comprises a scheduling manner of cross-slot scheduling, a feedback manner of a code block group–level ACK/NACK feedback, and a retransmission mechanism of code block group–level retransmission, and the configuration manner of the CSI measurement feedback is the periodic CSI measurement feedback.
Cao discloses or a terminal type of the terminal device is an internet of things (IoT) device (para. 0060, IoT device), and a communication mode of the IoT device comprises the first communication mode, wherein: a type of a physical layer function parameter of the first communication mode comprises the data transmission , and a configuration manner of the data transmission comprises a scheduling manner of dynamic scheduling (para. 0105, the Tx is an ED 110, retransmission parameters may be semi-statically (e.g., configured grant) or dynamically indicated (e.g., dynamic scheduling) by configuration signaling from the BS 170), a feedback manner in which an acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback is not required (para. 0211, In some examples (e.g., in a blind retransmission scheme), there may not be any ACK or NACK feedback at all), and a retransmission mechanism of blind retransmission (para. 0211, a blind retransmission scheme).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system of Cao
into the invention of TANG. The suggestion/motivation would have been for including the use of product coding in broadcast, multicast or groupcast wireless communications (Cao, para. 0002). Including the system of Cao into the invention of TANG was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
As to claim 9, TANG and Cao further discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein: the communication mode in the first correspondence is an uplink communication mode (TANG, para. 0062, For example, when a connection is just established, the uplink waveform configured via the RRC signaling for the terminal device is SC-FDMA; as the channel in which the terminal device is located has an environment change, the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM. The terminal device then switches the uplink waveform from SC-FDMA to OFDM, i.e. performing communication based on DCI physical layer function parameter indicating OFDM mode) or a downlink communication mode. In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 16, TANG discloses a terminal device (fig. 6, terminal device 200), comprising: one or more processors (para. 0231, processor 210); and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors and storing programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors to cause the terminal device to perform operations comprising (para. 0134-0135, claim 16; terminal device…memory having executable instructions stored thereon…processor configured to):
receiving, by a terminal device, a first correspondence between a communication mode and a physical layer function parameter from a network device, wherein the first correspondence comprises a mapping relationship between a first communication mode and a first physical layer function parameter (para. 0060 discloses “the network device configures a communication parameter via the DCI, the communication parameter may be indicated by using an explicit indication or may be indicated by using an implicit indication” and para. 0061 “N communication parameters include the uplink waveform.”
Para. 0062 discloses “the network device configures the uplink waveform via physical layer signaling (such as DCI) or MAC layer signaling, correspondingly, the terminal device only uses the uplink waveform configured via the physical layer signaling or the MAC layer signaling. Alternatively, when the channel in which the terminal device is located has an unstable state, but the terminal device has a slow moving speed, the network device uses a configuration mode configured via both the RRC signaling and the physical layer signaling (or the MAC layer signaling), correspondingly, the terminal device will replace a previous configuration with a configuration that is most recently received. For example, when a connection is just established, the uplink waveform configured via the RRC signaling for the terminal device is SC-FDMA; as the channel in which the terminal device is located has an environment change, the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM.”
Hence, the DCI (i.e. a first correspondence) configuring the uplink waveform as OFDM (i.e. a communication mode and a first communication mode), and the DCI configuring communication parameters (i.e. one is a physical layer function parameter and a first physical layer function parameter) which include (i.e. a mapping relationship) the uplink waveform, this is a clearly “receiving, by a terminal device, a first correspondence between a communication mode and a physical layer function parameter from a network device, .. . wherein the first correspondence comprises a mapping relationship between a first communication mode and a first physical layer function parameter.”);
Wherein a type of the physical layer function parameter corresponding to the communication mode comprises one or more of : data transmission (para. 0117, N communication parameters include an uplink waveform mode; para. 0062, when a connection is just established, the uplink waveform configured via the RRC signaling for the terminal device is SC-FDMA; as the channel in which the terminal device is located has an environment change, the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM. The terminal device then switches the uplink waveform from SC-FDMA to OFDM, i.e. uplink data transmission; OFDM is known to be a physical layer protocol. As another interpretation, para. 0060 discloses physical layer signaling configures a communication parameter…and may implicitly indicate that the uplink waveform of the terminal device is…OFDM. Hence, as the parameter is configured by physical layer signaling, it is a physical layer function parameter), a channel state information (CSI) measurement feedback, power control, or beam management;
receiving a first identifier from the network device, wherein the first identifier indicates the first communication mode of the terminal device (para. 0060 discloses the network device configures a communication parameter via the DCI (i.e. a first identifier), the communication parameter may be indicated by using an explicit indication or may be indicated by using an implicit indication; Para. 0062 discloses the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM), and the first communication mode corresponds to the first physical layer function parameter used by the terminal device for communication (para. 0060 discloses the network device configures a communication parameter via the DCI, the communication parameter (i.e. a first physical layer function parameter) may be indicated by using an explicit indication or may be indicated by using an implicit indication and para. 0061, N communication parameters (i.e. one is a first physical layer function parameter) include (i.e. corresponds to) the uplink waveform [para. 0062, OFDM] (i.e. the first communication mode);
determining, based on the first identifier and the first correspondence, the first physical layer function parameter corresponding to the first communication mode, wherein the communication mode in the first correspondence comprises the first communication mode (para. 0060, physical layer signaling may be specifically DCI.
When the network device configures a communication parameter (i.e. a
physical layer function parameter/the first physical layer function parameter) via the DCI (i.e. the first identifier), the communication parameter may be indicated by using an explicit indication or may be indicated by using an implicit indication; para. 0060-0061, N communication parameters include the uplink waveform…determining a configuration
mode (i.e. a communication mode/the first communication mode) corresponding (i.e. a
first correspondence) to the uplink waveform);
and performing communication based on the first physical layer function parameter corresponding to the first communication mode (para. 0062, For example, when a connection is just established, the uplink waveform configured via the RRC signaling for the terminal device is SC-FDMA; as the channel in which the terminal device is located has an environment change, the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM. The terminal device then switches the uplink waveform from SC-FDMA to OFDM, i.e. performing communication based on DCI physical layer function parameter indicating OFDM mode).
TANG does not expressly disclose and wherein the data transmission comprises one or more of: a scheduling manner, a feedback manner, or a retransmission manner.
Cao at para. 0063 teaches OFDMA and SC-FDMA, and also teaches the amended limitations “a scheduling manner, a feedback manner, or a retransmission mechanism” at (para. 0060, Each ED…may be referred to ...as a user equipment (UE); para. 0105, the Tx is an ED 110, retransmission parameters may be semi-statically (e.g., configured grant) or dynamically indicated (e.g., dynamic scheduling) by configuration signaling from the BS 170; para. 0211, In some examples (e.g., in a blind retransmission (“retransmission mechanism”, “scheduling mechanism”) scheme), there may not be any ACK or NACK feedback at all (i.e. “a feedback manner”).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system of Cao
into the invention of TANG. The suggestion/motivation would have been for including the use of product coding in broadcast, multicast or groupcast wireless communications (Cao, para. 0002). Including the system of Cao into the invention of TANG was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
As to claim 19, TANG and Cao further discloses the terminal device according to claim 16, wherein the communication mode in the first correspondence is determined based on a terminal type of the terminal device (TANG, para. 0049, mobile (i.e. type) terminal, para. 0062, for a terminal device with an unstable channel condition or a fast moving speed (i.e. mobile), the network device needs to dynamically configure the uplink waveform, for example, the network device configures the uplink waveform via physical layer signaling (such as DCI) or MAC layer signaling, correspondingly, the terminal device (i.e. having a specific type as noted) only uses the uplink waveform configured via the physical layer signaling or the MAC layer signaling…uplink waveform configured is…OFDM (i.e. communication mode)). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 16 applies.
As to claim 21, TANG and Cao further discloses communication method according to claim 8, wherein the first communication mode comprises a first uplink scheduling manner (TANG, Para. 0062 discloses the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM (i.e. a communication mode and the first communication mode)) or a first downlink scheduling manner, and the second communication mode comprises a second uplink scheduling manner or a second downlink scheduling manner [Examiner note that “a second communication mode” was written in the alternative in claim 8, and was not given patentable weight at claim 8, hence “the second communication mode” is not given patentable weight in further limiting claim 21]. In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 8 applies.
As to claim 23, TANG and Cao further discloses the terminal device according to claim 16, wherein the first communication mode comprises a first uplink scheduling manner or a first downlink scheduling manner (TANG, Para. 0062 discloses the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM (i.e. a communication mode and the first communication mode)). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 16 applies.
As to claim 24, TANG does not expressly disclose the terminal device according to claim 16, wherein the first communication mode corresponds to a first feedback manner.
Cao at para. 0063 teaches OFDMA and SC-FDMA, and also teaches at (para. 0060, Each ED…may be referred to ...as a user equipment (UE); para. 0105, the Tx is an ED 110, retransmission parameters may be semi-statically (e.g., configured grant) or dynamically indicated (e.g., dynamic scheduling) by configuration signaling from the BS 170; para. 0211, In some examples (e.g., in a blind retransmission scheme (i.e. “first communication mode”), there may not be any ACK or NACK feedback at all (i.e. “a first feedback manner”).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system of Cao
into the invention of TANG. The suggestion/motivation would have been for including the use of product coding in broadcast, multicast or groupcast wireless communications (Cao, para. 0002). Including the system of Cao into the invention of TANG was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
As to claim 25, TANG does not expressly disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the scheduling manner comprises one or more of: dynamic scheduling, a configured grant type scheduling manner, slot or sub-slot aggregation, or cross-slot scheduling.
Cao at para. 0063 teaches OFDMA and SC-FDMA, and also teaches the amended limitations “a scheduling manner, a feedback manner, or a retransmission mechanism” at (para. 0060, Each ED…may be referred to ...as a user equipment (UE); para. 0105, the Tx is an ED 110, retransmission parameters may be semi-statically (e.g., configured grant) or dynamically indicated (e.g., dynamic scheduling) by configuration signaling from the BS 170; para. 0211, In some examples (e.g., in a blind retransmission (“retransmission mechanism”, “scheduling mechanism”) scheme), there may not be any ACK or NACK feedback at all (i.e. “a feedback manner”).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system of Cao
into the invention of TANG. The suggestion/motivation would have been for including the use of product coding in broadcast, multicast or groupcast wireless communications (Cao, para. 0002). Including the system of Cao into the invention of TANG was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
As to claim 26, TANG does not expressly disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the feedback manner comprises one or more of: no acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback, a codeword-level ACK/NACK feedback, or a code block group-level ACK/NACK feedback.
Cao at para. 0063 teaches OFDMA and SC-FDMA, and also teaches at (para. 0060, Each ED…may be referred to ...as a user equipment (UE); para. 0105, the Tx is an ED 110, retransmission parameters may be semi-statically (e.g., configured grant) or dynamically indicated (e.g., dynamic scheduling) by configuration signaling from the BS 170; para. 0211, In some examples (e.g., in a blind retransmission scheme, there may not be any ACK or NACK feedback at all (i.e. “the feedback manner”).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system of Cao
into the invention of TANG. The suggestion/motivation would have been for including the use of product coding in broadcast, multicast or groupcast wireless communications (Cao, para. 0002). Including the system of Cao into the invention of TANG was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
As to claim 27, TANG does not expressly disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the retransmission mechanism comprises one or more of: blind retransmission, codeword-level retransmission, or code block group-level retransmission.
Cao at para. 0063 teaches OFDMA and SC-FDMA, and also teaches at (para. 0060, Each ED…may be referred to ...as a user equipment (UE); para. 0105, the Tx is an ED 110, retransmission parameters may be semi-statically (e.g., configured grant) or dynamically indicated (e.g., dynamic scheduling) by configuration signaling from the BS 170; para. 0211, In some examples (e.g., in a blind retransmission scheme “blind retransmission”, there may not be any ACK or NACK feedback at all.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system of Cao
into the invention of TANG. The suggestion/motivation would have been for including the use of product coding in broadcast, multicast or groupcast wireless communications (Cao, para. 0002). Including the system of Cao into the invention of TANG was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2019/0306863 A1 to TANG in view of U U.S. Publication No. 2025/0184039 A1 to CAO et al. (“Cao”) and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0045575 A1 to HUANG et al. (“Huang”).
As to claim 3, see similar rejection to claim 18. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 5, see similar rejection to claim 20. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 6, TANG and Cao does not expressly disclose the communication method according to claim 5, wherein: the request information comprises characteristic information, and the characteristic information indicates the communication mode in the first correspondence.
Huang discloses the UE transmitting the uplink RRC message carrying instructions to switch data transmission modes; the uplink RRC message is used to instruct the base station to transmit the uplink interface message to the MME; when the UE is in an idle state, the uplink RRC message can be an RRC Connection Request message; when the UE is in a connected state, the uplink RRC message can be a RRC Connection Re-establishment message (para. 0074).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the UE of Huang
into the invention of TANG and Cao. The suggestion/motivation would have been so that switching can be implemented between different data transmission modes for data transmission between the UE and the network-side, thereby fulfilling QoS requirements for different services and improving data transmission intelligence (Huang, para. 0107). Including the UE of Huang into the invention of TANG and Cao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Huang.
As to claim 18, TANG and Cao further discloses and the type of the physical layer function parameter corresponding to the communication mode comprises the data transmission (TANG, para. 0062, For example, when a connection is just established, the uplink waveform configured via the RRC signaling for the terminal device is SC-FDMA; as the channel in which the terminal device is located has an environment change, the uplink waveform configured by the network device using the DCI for the terminal device is OFDM. The terminal device then switches the uplink waveform from SC-FDMA to OFDM, i.e. performing communication based on DCI physical layer function parameter indicating OFDM mode).
TANG and Cao does not expressly disclose the terminal device according to claim 16, wherein: a terminal type of the terminal device is an ultra reliable low latency communication (URLLC) device, and the type of the physical layer function parameter corresponding to the communication mode comprises the data transmission, the mobility, and the beam management; or a terminal type of the terminal device is an internet of things (IoT) device; or a terminal type of the terminal device is customer premise equipment (CPE), and the type of the physical layer function parameter corresponding to the communication mode comprises the data transmission and the CSI measurement feedback.
Huang discloses NB-IoT (para. 0043) where the UE actively initiates the data transmission mode-switching request so that switching can be implemented between different data transmission modes for data transmission between the UE and the network-side (para. 0107).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the UE of Huang
into the invention of TANG and Cao. The suggestion/motivation would have been so that switching can be implemented between different data transmission modes for data transmission between the UE and the network-side, thereby fulfilling QoS requirements for different services and improving data transmission intelligence (Huang, para. 0107). Including the UE of Huang into the invention of TANG and Cao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Huang.
As to claim 20, TANG and Cao does not expressly disclose the terminal device according to claim 16, wherein: before receiving the first identifier from the network device, the operations further comprise sending request information to the network device, wherein the request information is used to request to switch the communication mode.
Huang discloses NB-IoT (para. 0043) where the UE actively initiates the data transmission mode-switching request so that switching can be implemented between different data transmission modes for data transmission between the UE and the network-side (para. 0107).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the UE of Huang
into the invention of TANG and Cao. The suggestion/motivation would have been so that switching can be implemented between different data transmission modes for data transmission between the UE and the network-side, thereby fulfilling QoS requirements for different services and improving data transmission intelligence (Huang, para. 0107). Including the UE of Huang into the invention of TANG and Cao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Huang.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2019/0306863 A1 to TANG in view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0184039 A1 to CAO et al. (“Cao”) and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0178272 A1 to Khoshnevisian et al. (“Khoshnevisian”).
As to claim 7, TANG and Cao does not expressly disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein: the physical layer function parameter comprises a first parameter field, and the first parameter field indicates a configuration manner of the physical layer function parameter; and the configuration manner comprises a second parameter field, and the second parameter field comprises a configuration parameter of the configuration manner.
Khoshnevisian discloses DCI (i.e. physical layer function parameter) field 515-a (i.e. first parameter field) may point to a single rate match pattern (i.e. configuration manner) or ZP CSI-RS set, which may define rate matching behavior for both the first TRP 105 and the second TRP 105 (e.g., for resource allocations 525-a and 525-b). Alternatively, the baseline configuration and the delta configuration may be configured separately (e.g., by a separate field in a DCI with its own parameters). In such cases, subfield 520-a (i.e. second parameter subfield) of DCI field 515-a may point to the baseline configuration (i.e. configuration parameter of the configuration manner) and subfield 520-b of DCI field 515-a may point to the delta configuration (para. 0130).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the DCI of Khoshnevisian
into the invention of TANG and Cao. The suggestion/motivation would have been for interpreting rate matching behavior (Khoshnevisian, para. 0130). Including the DCI of Khoshnevisian into the invention of TANG and Cao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Khoshnevisian.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2019/0306863 A1 to TANG in view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0184039 A1 to CAO et al. (“Cao”) and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0296763 A1 to Lan et al. (“Lan”).
As to claim 10, TANG and Cao does not expressly disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the communication method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, a timer from the network device, wherein the timer is used by the terminal device to switch the communication mode when the timer expires.
Lan discloses at figs. 1-2, paras. 0005, 0020-0023, an access point (AP) may broadcast a frame (e.g. beacon frame, probe response frame, etc.) to one or more stations (STA) with a MU EDCA Parameter Set of parameters…. STAs receiving the EDCA parameters may use the corresponding parameters to an AC when transmitting data frames having a corresponding quality of service (QoS) setting (e.g. in a high-efficiency (HE) trigger based physical protocol data unit (PPDU) frame), for example upon receipt of a basic trigger frame. The STA may use the MU EDCA parameters for a duration (e.g. timeout value) defined in the HEMUEDCATimer field of the parameter set for the corresponding AC…. if the AP wants the corresponding STA to terminate the use of the current MU EDCA parameters (e.g. to switch to single user (SU) operations), prior to the timeout timer expiration, in typical systems, there may be no way to communicate this command. The STA must wait for the timeout to expire without receiving a trigger, and may not be able to switch to SU mode for transmissions. [i.e. AP communicates timeout value parameter to STA, STA stops operations using MU EDCA parameters for communication after timeout value (uses SU operations instead)]
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the timer of Lan
into the invention of TANG and Cao. The suggestion/motivation would have been for signaling termination of enhanced distributed channel access parameter periods for wireless communications (Lan, para. 0002). Including the timer of Lan
into the invention of TANG and Cao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Lan.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2019/0306863 A1 to TANG in view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0184039 A1 to CAO et al. (“Cao”) and in further view of WO 2017024860 A1 to Liang et al. (“Liang”) [Examiner cites to attached English translation for purposes of Examination].
As to claim 11, TANG and Cao does not expressly disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the communication method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, acknowledgment information to the network device, wherein the acknowledgment information indicates that the terminal device receives the first identifier.
Liang discloses the base station indicates the support retransmission mode by using a second configuration parameter of the high layer signaling, the base station indicates the repeated transmission mode by using a third configuration parameter of
the high layer signaling (page 3), i.e. terminal receives first identifier, the base station configures the transmission mode of the HARQ-ACK of the terminal to be the repeated transmission mode, the base station configures the number of times the HARQ-ACK is repeatedly transmitted and the resources used when the transmission is repeated…the base station instructs the terminal to perform HARQ-ACK retransmission (page 4), i.e. sending acknowledgement.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the signaling of Liang into the invention of TANG and Cao. The suggestion/motivation would have been for transmitting response information (Liang, page 1). Including the signaling of Liang into the invention of TANG and Cao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Liang.
As to claim 12, TANG and Cao does not expressly disclose the communication method according to claim 11, wherein the communication method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, resource indication information from the network device, wherein the resource indication information indicates a transmission resource used when the terminal device sends the acknowledgment information; and sending, by the terminal device, the acknowledgment information to the network device based on the transmission resource.
Liang discloses the base station indicates the support retransmission mode by using a second configuration parameter of the high layer signaling, the base station indicates the repeated transmission mode by using a third configuration parameter of
the high layer signaling (page 3), the base station configures the transmission mode of the HARQ-ACK of the terminal to be the repeated transmission mode, the base station configures the number of times the HARQ-ACK is repeatedly transmitted and the resources used when the transmission is repeated, i.e. receiving resource indication information,…the base station instructs the terminal to perform HARQ-ACK retransmission (page 4), i.e. sending acknowledgement…based on the transmission resource.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the signaling of Liang into the invention of TANG and Cao. The suggestion/motivation would have been for transmitting response information (Liang, page 1). Including the signaling of Liang into the invention of TANG and Cao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Liang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Publication No. US 2023/0361926 A1 to BABAEI discloses paras. 0148-0149: PHY (i.e. physical layer as in TANG)…In some examples, a UE (i.e. UL transmission as in TANG) may report CSI feedback…In some examples, a UE may transmit HARQ feedback (e.g., HARQ ACK/NAK) and CSI feedback (i.e. each are a feedback manner)…. a UE may support blind retransmission (i.e. retransmission manner) of MTCH data with resources scheduled/configured based on MCCH. The UE may not transmit HARQ feedback and may use few retransmissions which may be configured based on upper layer retransmission… a retransmission may be dynamically scheduled (i.e. scheduling manner, retransmission manner) using a downlink control information (e.g., like unicast).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463