DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/27/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 9, 14, 17, 21, 29, and 30 have been amended. Claims 8 are canceled. Claims 31 are added in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 10/27/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims under rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/28/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 17, 21-22, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (WO2022233694A1) hereinafter Abraham in view of Chen (CN110881058A), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding Claim 1,
Abraham teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Fig. 14 and page 34, row 15 – 30, FIG. 14 illustrates an apparatus 1400, which may be an apparatus such as, or comprised in, a terminal device or a MUSIM device ... The processor 1410 is coupled to a memory 1420)):
obtain a configuration associated with a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM) and a configuration associated with a second USIM (page 20, row 7-10, A UE 210 comprises at least a first USIM and a second USIM)
transmit a request for a gap pattern associated with the first USIM or the second USIM (page 2, row 15-25, transmit, to a first base station associated with a first universal subscriber identity module, a first message comprising a first gap request) corresponds to a respective activity of one or more activities that are to be performed by the UE (page 18, row 20-26, MUS1M device may request gaps from its connected network corresponding to one US1M to perform activities such as idle mode monitoring in the idle or inactive network corresponding to its other US1M and (page 26 row 10-25) fig. 8, gaps requested ...by UE-A for ... measurements ... in UE-B are partially accepted 805 by NWK-A, i.e. the network provides a gap configuration with reduced gaps for the measurements in UE-B. UE-B may then divide 807, or share, the available gaps among at least some of its carriers (i.e. carrier frequencies) and/or neighbour cells and fig. 12(page 4 row 14-27), second message indicates a reduced gap pattern with a reduced gap length and/or a reduced gap periodicity compared to a requested gap length and/or a requested gap periodicity indicated in the first gap request. One or more portions of the reduced gap pattern is allocated 1203 to one or more carriers and/or one or more cells);
receive an indication of the gap pattern (page 31 row 23-31, UE-B may then receive 1002 an indication, for example comprising a gap portion ... from NWK-B indicating how to allocate the reduced gaps);
and selectively communicate or measure according to the gap pattern (page 31, row 23-31, UE-B may then receive 1002 an indication, for example comprising a gap portion ... from NWK-B indicating how to allocate the reduced gaps).
Abraham does not explicitly teach wherein the request comprises a request to partition a gap period associated with the gap pattern into a plurality of sub-gap periods, wherein each sub-gap period of the plurality of sub-gap periods.
Chen teaches wherein the request comprises a request to partition a gap period associated with the gap pattern into a plurality of sub-gap periods, wherein each sub-gap period of the plurality of sub-gap periods (fig. 2, and page 1, If the first system resource meets a preset condition, the target partition bound to the first processing server is split into multiple sub-partitions, so that each of the second system resources occupied by the data processing request of each sub-partition tend to balance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Chen to the teaching of Abraham. The motivation for such an addition would be to avoid triggering the limit of the processing capacity of (page 5, Chen).
Regarding to claim 10,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request to skip one or more gap pattern occurrences (page 27 row 24 – page 28 row 2, UE-B then divides 807, or shares, the available gaps indicated by the gap configuration by giving a higher priority to the identified one or more cells and/or the identified one or more carriers. For example, UE-B may utilize a higher portion of the gaps to higher priority radio measurements, and reduce the gap portion utilized for lower priority radio measurements. The gap portion for the lower priority radio measurements may even be reduced down to 0%, which results in skipping some low priority radio measurements for some carriers and/or neighbor cells, if it determines that the probability of those carriers and/or neighbor cells being the next serving cell and/or carrier is zero, or at least close to zero).
Regarding Claim 21
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 17,
Abraham teaches wherein the indication of the gap pattern comprises an indication of ... for the period associated with the gap pattern (page 31 row 23-31, UE-B may then receive 1002 an indication, for example comprising a gap portion ... from NWK-B indicating how to allocate the reduced gaps).
Abraham does not explicitly teach the plurality of sub-gap periods .
Chen further teaches the plurality of sub-gap periods (fig. 2, page 1, If the first system resource meets a preset condition, the target partition bound to the first processing server is split into multiple sub-partitions, so that each of the second system resources occupied by the data processing request of each sub-partition tend to balance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Chen to the teaching of Abraham. The motivation for such an addition would be to avoid triggering the limit of the processing capacity of (page 5, Chen).
Claims [17 and 22] “apparatus at network node”, and [29] “method at UE”, and [30] “method at network node”, are rejected under the same reasoning as claims [1 and 10] “apparatus”, where Abraham teaches both method and apparatus at UE and network node (page 2 row 10-25 and page 3 row 4-11 and fig. 1).
Claims 2-7, 9, 12, 16, 18-20, 24, 28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham and Chen and further in view of Lee (US20230048297A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding Claim 2,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for an initial gap pattern or to transmit a request for a modified gap pattern that is associated with the initial gap pattern.
Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for an initial gap pattern ([0193] The request message may include assistance information to request a time gap for the MUSIM operation. In some implementations, the assistance information may indicate a preferred starting SFN of the time gap and a preferred starting subframe of the time gap) or to transmit a request for a modified gap pattern that is associated with the initial gap pattern.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding Claim 3,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for a gap pattern associated with the first USIM, and wherein the one or more processors, to selectively communicate or measure, are configured to selectively communicate or measure according to the gap pattern and using the second USIM.
Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for a gap pattern associated with the first USIM, and wherein the one or more processors, to selectively communicate or measure, are configured to selectively communicate or measure according to the gap pattern and using the second USIM (fig . 6 and [0191 – 0195] In action 604, the UE may transmit a request message to the first network. The request message may include assistance information to request a time gap for the MUSIM operation. In action 608, in a case that the UE receives the first-time gap configuration, the UE may switch to a second network (e.g., NWB), while keeping a connection to the first network, during the first configured time gap according to the first-time gap configuration. The second network may be associated with a second USIM of the plurality of USIMs ... The UE may perform certain activities with the second network during the first time gap).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding Claim 4,
Abraham and Chen and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 3,
Abraham further teaches wherein, during the gap pattern associated with the first USIM, the first USIM is in a connected state and the second USIM is in an idle state or an inactive state (Fig. 5 and page 23 row 9 – 15, the UE may be a MUSIM device comprising two or more USIMs. In FIG. 5, UE-A 511 and UE-B 512 denote the protocol stacks of the UE for the first USIM and the second USIM ... UE-A is in RRC connected mode 501 with a first base station of a first network (NWK-A) 520. UE-B is in RRC idle mode 502 (or RRC inactive mode) with a second base station of a second network (NWK-B) 530).
Regarding Claim 5,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to selectively communicate or measure according to the gap pattern, are configured to measure a camped cell synchronization signal block (SSB) for paging reception, receive physical downlink control channel information or physical downlink shared channel information, or measure an SSB associated with a certain frequency.
Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors, to selectively communicate or measure according to the gap pattern, are configured to measure a camped cell synchronization signal block (SSB) for paging reception, receive physical downlink control channel information or physical downlink shared channel information, or measure an SSB associated with a certain frequency ([0097] After the cell reselection, the UE may camp on a new cell of NWB with a different Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) burst configuration (e.g., different subcarrier spacing or different periodicity/sequence for SSB configuration). Therefore, the UE may need to ask for a new gap pattern/gap configuration for performing measurements based on the new SSB burst. A serving cell may provide one or two SSB Measurement Timing Configurations (SMTCs) (e.g., for power saving purposes), and a new gap configuration(s) may be required).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding claim 6,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for two or more alternating gap period durations .
Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for two or more alternating gap period durations ([0098] In some implementations, a UE may send a switching request message to ask for parameter(s) update/changing for an existing gap pattern/gap configuration).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding claim 7,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for a gap period having a modified duration
Lee further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for a gap period having a modified duration ([0098] In some implementations, a UE may send a switching request message to ask for a (longer or shorter) duration update for a periodic gap pattern/gap configuration while the periodic gap pattern/gap configuration cannot satisfy the UE's requirement).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding claim 9,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to selectively communicate or measure according to the gap pattern, are configured to communicate or measure during a first sub-gap period of the plurality of sub-gap periods, not communicate or measure during a second sub-gap period of the plurality of sub-gap periods, and communicate or measure during a third sub-gap period of the plurality of sub-gap periods.
Chen further teaches sub-gap periods (fig. 2, and page 1, If the first system resource meets a preset condition, the target partition bound to the first processing server is split into multiple sub-partitions, so that each of the second system resources occupied by the data processing request of each sub-partition tend to balance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Chen to the teaching of Abraham. The motivation for such an addition would be to avoid triggering the limit of the processing capacity of (page 5, Chen).
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to selectively communicate or measure according to the gap pattern, are configured to communicate or measure during a first gap period of the plurality of gap periods, not communicate or measure during a second gap period of the plurality of gap periods, and communicate or measure during a third gap period of the plurality of gap periods.
Lee further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to selectively communicate or measure according to the gap pattern, are configured to communicate or measure during a first gap period of the plurality of gap periods, not communicate or measure during a second gap period of the plurality of gap periods, and communicate or measure during a third gap period of the plurality of gap periods (Fig. 2, [0150-0151] Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 200 ... that includes ... Gi fields (e.g., G0, G1, G2, and G3 in FIG. 2 ) ... the Gi field may indicate the activation/deactivation status of the gap pattern(s)/gap configuration #i, where i is an index ranked based on an ascending order (or a descending order) of those gap patterns/gap configurations considered/identified/configured as periodic gap patterns/gap configurations).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding Claim 12
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit the request for the gap pattern based at least in part on a carrier aggregation mode of the UE, a dual connectivity mode of the UE, or a frequency band that is being used by the UE
Lee further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit the request for the gap pattern based at least in part on a carrier aggregation mode of the UE, a dual connectivity mode of the UE, or a frequency band that is being used by the UE ([0174-0175] UE may need to send a Gap Deactivation MAC CE to deactivate the gap pattern/gap configuration whose starting time is later while two aperiodic/periodic gaps overlap. In some implementations, the UE may transmit the MAC CE (to activate/de-activate the configured gap(s)) to either the master node or to the secondary node while Multi-Radio Dual Connectivity (MR-DC) configuration is applied in the UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding claim 16,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the gap pattern includes at least one periodic gap period.
Lee further teaches wherein the gap pattern includes at least one periodic gap period ([0008] receiving a second time gap configuration from the first network in a case that the type of the time gap requested by the UE is periodic).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding to claim 24,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 17,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit downlink control information, a medium access control message, or a radio resource control message associated with confirming the gap pattern, activating the gap pattern, or deactivating the gap pattern.
Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit downlink control information, a medium access control message, or a radio resource control message associated with confirming the gap pattern, activating the gap pattern, or deactivating the gap pattern ([0057] while a UE is connected to Network A (NWA), e.g., the UE is in an RRC connected state (or RRC_CONNECTED state) on NWA, the UE may also need to perform some periodic and/or aperiodic activities on Network B (NWB). The activities may include …monitoring paging Downlink Control Information (DCI)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Claims [18-20, and 28] “apparatus at network node” and [31] “method at UE” are rejected under the same reasoning as claims [2-7,9,12, and 16] “apparatus”, where Abraham teaches both method and apparatus at UE and network node (page 2 row 10-25 and page 3 row 4-11 and fig. 1 )
Claim 11 and 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Abraham and further in view of Fan (US 20230171734 A1) hereinafter Fan.
Regarding to claim 11,
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit uplink control information, a medium access control message, or a radio resource control message that includes an indication of the request for the gap pattern.
Fan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit uplink control information, a medium access control message, or a radio resource control message that includes an indication of the request for the gap pattern ([0046] In this embodiment, the multi-card UE has at least a first SIM card and a second SIM card. It can be understood that the first SIM card may be a SIM card or USIM card of the multi-card UE and [0052] In a specific implementation, a dual card UE may request the transmission time gap through RRC signaling. The transmission time gap may also be requested through a control element (CE) or Uplink Control Information (UCI) of the Medium Access Control (MAC) layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Fan to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the utilization efficiency of the multi-card UE system ([0030] Fan).
Claim 23 “apparatus network” is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 11 “apparatus UE”, where Abraham teaches both method and apparatus at UE and network node (page 2 row 10-25 and page 3 row 4-11 and fig. 1 )
Claims 13 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham and Chen and further in view of Ou (US20200396591A1) hereinafter Ou.
Regarding Claim 13
Abraham and Chen teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Abraham and Chen do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for a plurality of gap patterns, and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the gap pattern, are configured to receive an indication of one or more gap patterns of the plurality of gap patterns.
Ou teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request for the gap pattern, are configured to transmit a request for a plurality of gap patterns, and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the gap pattern, are configured to receive an indication of one or more gap patterns of the plurality of gap patterns ([0326] In one embodiment, the UE provides one or more preferred time domain patterns in the request (e.g., the request is indicative of the one or more preferred time domain patterns)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Ou to the teaching of Abraham and Chen. The motivation for such an addition would be improved efficiency of multi-USIM device communication ([0377] Ou).
Claims [25] apparatus is rejected under the same reasoning as claims [13] apparatus, where Abraham teaches both method and apparatus at UE and network node (page 2 row 10-25 and page 3 row 4-11 and fig. 1 )
Claims 14-15, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham and Chen and Ou and further in view of Lee .
Regarding Claim 14,
Abraham and Chen and Ou teach the apparatus of claim 13,
Abraham and Chen and Ou do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to activate or deactivate a select gap pattern of the one or more gap patterns
Lee further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to activate or deactivate a select gap pattern of the one or more gap patterns (Fig. 2, [0150-0151] Activation/ Deactivation MAC CE 200 ... that includes ... Gi fields (e.g., G0, G1, G2, and G3 in FIG. 2) ... the Gi field may indicate the activation/deactivation status of the gap pattern(s)/gap configuration #i, where i is an index ranked based on an ascending order (or a descending order) of those gap patterns/gap configurations considered/identified/configured as periodic gap patterns/gap configurations).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen and Ou. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding Claim 15,
Abraham and Chen and Ou teach the apparatus of claim 13,
Abraham and Chen and Ou do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to switch between a first gap pattern of the one or more gap patterns and a second gap pattern of the one or more gap patterns.
Lee further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to switch between a first gap pattern of the one or more gap patterns and a second gap pattern of the one or more gap patterns ([0062] In some implementations, a switching gap may be a periodic gap or an aperiodic gap. The types of a switching gap may include a periodic gap and an aperiodic gap. In some implementations, a UE may be configured with one or more switching gap configurations (or switching gap patterns), e.g., for different situations or for different networks, where different switching gap configuration(s)/pattern(s) may be configured with different parameters).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen and Ou. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee).
Regarding Claim 26,
Abraham and Chen and Ou teach the apparatus of claim 25,
Abraham and Chen and Ou do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication that a select gap pattern of the one or more gap patterns has been activated or deactivated.
Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication that a select gap pattern of the one or more gap patterns has been activated or deactivated (Fig. 2, [0150-0151] Activation/ Deactivation MAC CE 200 ... that includes ... Gi fields (e.g., G0, G1, G2, and G3 in FIG. 2) ... the Gi field may indicate the activation/deactivation status of the gap pattern(s)/gap configuration #i, where i is an index ranked based on an ascending order (or a descending order) of those gap patterns/gap configurations considered/identified/configured as periodic gap patterns/gap configurations).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Abraham and Chen and Ou. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the efficiency of the MUSIM operation ([0202] Lee ).
Claim [27] apparatus is rejected under the same reasoning as claims [14-15] apparatus, where Abraham teaches both method and apparatus at UE and network node (page 2 row 10-25 and page 3 row 4-11 and fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465