DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to applicant’s amendment of claim 1 filed on 03/05/2026. Accordingly, claims 1-6 remain pending and are claims addressed and examined below.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 03/05/2026 has been approved. Accordingly, the double patenting rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 12/11/2025 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yushin et al. (US 20200235420 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Yushin teaches a Lithium-metal-oxy-halide solid electrolyte that that reads on the solid electrolyte comprising Li; M (metal); O: and X (halide) (¶ 0085). Yushin teaches that M (metal) may include Ta (¶ 0085), and the X (halide) may comprise Cl or other halogens such as F or Br (¶ 0085). Although Yushin teaches examples of the solid electrolyte that may include sulfur, Yushin also teaches examples that do not include sulfur and therefore read on the solid electrolyte material being free of sulfur (¶ 0085).
Yushin does not specifically teach the solid electrolyte material has, in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by X-ray diffraction measurement using a Cu-Ka ray, a first peak positioned within a range of a diffraction angle 20 from 13.490 to 13.590 and a second peak positioned within a range of the diffraction angle 20 from 14.820 to 14.920, and an intensity ratio of the first peak to the second peak is 0.50 or more and 4.50 or less.
However, the electrolyte Yushin teaches comprises all the elements of the claimed electrolyte. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the solid electrolyte taught by Yushin would inherently have, in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained X-ray diffraction measurement using a Cu-Ka ray, a first peak positioned within a range of a diffraction angle 2Θ from 13.490° to 13.590° and a second peak positioned within a range of the diffraction angle 2Θ from 14.82° to 14.92°, and an intensity ratio of the first peak to the second peak is 0.50 or more and 4.50 or less, since a material and its properties are inseparable. NOTE: Where … the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 USC § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 USC § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. In re Best, 562 F2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-4 (CCPA 1977).
With regards to claim 2, Yushin teaches the solid electrolyte material according to claim 1, wherein the X includes Cl (¶ 0085).
With regards to claim 3, Yushin teaches the solid electrolyte material according to claim 1, wherein the M (metal) includes Ta (¶ 0085).
With regards to claim 5, Yushin teaches the solid electrolyte material according to claim 1. Yushin does not specifically teach the solid electrolyte material wherein the intensity ratio is 0.70 or more and 1.72 or less. However, as discussed earlier, the electrolyte Yushin teaches comprises all the elements of the claimed electrolyte. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the solid electrolyte taught by Yushin would inherently have, in an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained X-ray diffraction measurement using a Cu-Ka ray, a first peak positioned within a range of a diffraction angle 2Θ from 13.490° to 13.590° and a second peak positioned within a range of the diffraction angle 2Θ from 14.82° to 14.92°, and an intensity ratio of the first peak to the second peak is 0.50 or more and 4.50 or less, since a material and its properties are inseparable. NOTE: Where … the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 USC § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 USC § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. In re Best, 562 F2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-4 (CCPA 1977).
With regards to claim 6, Yushin teaches battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (¶ 0015). Yushin teaches that at least the positive electrode includes the solid electrolyte material according to claim 1 (¶ 0015).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yushin et al. (US 20200235420 A1) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Kajdos et al. (US 20170170515 A1).
With regards to claim 4, Yushin teaches the solid electrolyte material according to claim 1. Yushin does not teach the solid electrolyte material wherein a molar ratio of the Li to the M is 1.2 or more and 1.4 or less.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kajdos teaches a solid electrolyte material comprising Li, M, O, and X wherein the M is at least one selected from the group consisting of Nb and Ta, the X is at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I (¶ 0014). Kajdos goes on to teach an example of a solid electrolyte material wherein a molar ratio of the Li to the M is 1.2 or more and 1.4 or less (¶ 0014 and ¶ 0043).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try a ratio of Li to M within the broader range taught by Kajdos through routine experimentation. Applying this ratio to the solid electrolyte taught by Yushin would predictably yield an effective electrolyte that has exhibits good ionic conductivity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743