DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the one or more values of the internal delay" in lines 3-5. Claims 18-19 recites the limitation "the one or more values of the internal delay" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that the parent claim 15 recites “one or more values…associated with the internal delay”. Since the scopes of “values of the internal delay” and “values associated with the internal delay” are different and there is no other preceding recitation of “one or more values of the internal delay” in claims 17-19, the limitation "the one or more values of the internal delay" in claims 17-19 lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 15-18, 20-25 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2023/0353305) in view of Qin (US 2020/0163097).
Liu discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a first network entity (see relay device in Fig. 1) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (see Memory 1704 in Fig. 17); and
at least one processor (see Processor 1701 in Fig. 17) coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
perform a forwarding timing advance procedure (see “uplink forwarding timing advance” recited in paragraph [0151]), wherein to perform the forwarding timing advance procedure, the at least one processor is configured to:
determine a first time for receiving a transmission from a second network entity (see “host device” shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, Fig. 8 and paragraph [0150]) based on forwarding timing advance information (see Fig. 8 and paragraph [0150], wherein the host device uses a timing advance to adjust the timing of the relay device that results in the uplink sending timing and downlink receiving timing shown in Fig. 8), wherein the forwarding timing advance information is based on an internal delay of the first network entity, and wherein a target of the transmission is a third network entity (see terminal in Fig. 1 and “terminal” recited in paragraph [0168] that receives signal from the relay device during the downlink signal receive window);
receive the transmission from the second network entity at the first time (see downlink receiving time of the relay device in Fig. 8); and
forward the transmission to the third network entity at a second time (see “the relay device obtains a symbol on which uplink amplification is performed and a symbol on which downlink amplification is performed, and may determine the uplink forwarding time window and the downlink forwarding time window by using the uplink forwarding timing advance” recited in paragraph [0168]).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the forwarding timing advance procedure is based on a timing advance value associated with a DL or an UL transmission from the first network entity to the third network entity (see Fig. 1-4, wherein the relay device transmits downlink signal to a terminal/low-level node; and see “may determine the uplink forwarding time window and the downlink forwarding time window by using the uplink forwarding timing advance” recited in paragraph [0168], wherein the timing advance being used to determine the downlink transmission window towards the terminal).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a forwarding configuration from the second network entity or the third network entity via L1, L2, or L3 signaling, wherein to forward the transmission, the at least one processor is configured to forward the transmission based on the forwarding configuration (see Fig. 6, wherein the relay device receives the first information from the host device and performs relay forwarding accordingly, and see “the host device may send the first information by using semi-static signaling such as RRC signaling and MAC layer signaling, or may send the first information by using dynamic signaling such as DCI” recited in paragraph [0118], wherein RRC is signaling being a L3 signaling, and MAC layer signaling being a L2 signaling).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the forwarding configuration comprises an indication of an UL forwarding window or a DL forwarding window associated with the forwarding timing advance procedure, and wherein the UL forwarding window or the DL forwarding window represents a time window configured for receiving the transmission and forwarding the transmission (see “After the relay device obtains a TDD configuration of uplink-downlink transmission, the relay device performs uplink amplification and forwarding in an uplink slot (or symbol), and performs downlink amplification and forwarding in a downlink slot (or symbol)” recited in paragraph [0121]).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the indication comprises a first value or a first range associated with a start time of the UL forwarding window or the DL forwarding window and a second value or a second range associated with an end time of the UL forwarding window or the DL forwarding window, the start time being earlier than the second time (see “a start position of a time domain resource used for uplink transmission in a first periodicity, an end position of a time domain resource used for uplink transmission in the first periodicity, a start position of a time domain resource used for downlink transmission in the first periodicity, and an end position of a time domain resource used for downlink transmission in the first periodicity” recited in paragraph [0133]).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the forwarding advance timing procedure is based on a timing advance value associated with a DL transmission or an UL transmission from the first network entity to the third network entity (see “the relay device obtains a symbol on which uplink amplification is performed and a symbol on which downlink amplification is performed, and may determine the uplink forwarding time window and the downlink forwarding time window by using the uplink forwarding timing advance” recited in paragraph [0168]), and wherein the start time is earlier than a start time of the DL transmission or the UL transmission based on the timing advance value by a third value (see “the relay device starts to perform uplink forwarding at a moment t1−T,” recited in paragraph [0161], wherein the start of the transmission is T earlier than the indicated start time t1) and the end time is later than an end of the DL transmission or the UL transmission by a fourth value (see “an uplink receive time window of the relay device is t1−T to t1−T+5Td” recited in paragraph [0161], wherein the indicated end time (t1+5Td) is T later than the actual end of the receive window (t1−T+5Td)).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the third value or the fourth value is associated with a channel type of the transmission, a beam associated with receiving or forwarding the transmission, or a set of time or frequency resources associated with the transmission (see “an uplink receive time window of the relay device is t1−T to t1−T+5Td” recited in paragraph [0161], wherein the T, representing the third and fourth value being associated with the 5 symbols (5Td), which represents a set of time/frequency resources with the transmission).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the channel type is one of: a PUSCH; a PUCCH; a PDSCH; a PDCCH; a PRACH; a SRS; a SSB; a CSI-RS; or a PRS (see “SSB…PDCCH…SRS…PDSCH…” recited in paragraph [0190] included in a specific signal, which is transmitted using the amplify-and-forward function as shown in paragraph [0188], which is associated with the use of the timing advance as shown in paragraph [0024] and [0168]).
Regarding claim 15, transmit an indication representing one or more values, one or more accuracies, or one or more uncertainty ranges associated with the internal delay or the second network entity or third network entity (see “the host device may send second information to the relay device. The second information indicates at least one of the following information: a start position of uplink transmission in the first periodicity, an end position of uplink transmission in the first periodicity, a start position of downlink transmission in the first periodicity, and an end position of downlink transmission in the first periodicity” recited in paragraph [0135], wherein the start and end position being the claimed “values” or “uncertainty ranges”, the range is an uncertainty range as paragraph [0134] discloses that a device may or may not use the time domain resource to perform transmission; the second information is “associated with” the internal delay as Qin as applied to the rejection of claim 1 shows that the forwarding node accounts for a digital processing latency such that any transmission including the forwarding/relay node would be associated with an internal delay such as the digital processing latency taught in Qin; the second information is also associated with the second or third network entity as paragraph [0135] shows the second information being transmitted by the host device and being used for the UL/DL transmission that must involve the claimed second/third network entity) via L1, L2, or L3 signaling (see “RRC signaling and MAC layer signaling…DCI” recited in paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the indication representing the one or more uncertainty ranges is an index (see “symbol index” recited in paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the first network entity corresponds to a repeater or at least one component of the repeater, wherein the second network entity corresponds to a UE or at least one component of the UE, wherein the third network entity corresponds to a base station or one or more components of the base station (see base station host device, relay device and terminal UE in Fig. 1), and wherein the forwarding timing advance procedure is an UL forwarding timing advance procedure (see “uplink forwarding” recited in paragraph [0004] and “uplink forwarding timing advance” recited in paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 21, wherein the first network entity corresponds to a repeater or at least one component of the repeater, wherein the second network entity corresponds to a UE or at least one component of the UE, wherein the third network entity corresponds to a base station or one or more components of the base station (see base station host device, relay device and terminal UE in Fig. 1), and wherein the forwarding timing advance procedure is a DL forwarding timing advance procedure (see “downlink amplification and forwarding” recited in paragraph [0009] and see “the uplink forwarding advance indicates an advance of a frame timing for performing uplink forwarding by the relay device relative to a frame timing for performing downlink forwarding by the relay device” recited in paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 23, a first network entity for wireless communication (see “host device” shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 18 and paragraph [0150]), comprising:
a memory (see memory 1803 in Fig. 18); and
at least one processor (see Processor 18041 in Fig. 18) coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
provide, to a second network entity (see relay device in Fig. 1), a forwarding configuration (see step S602 in Fig. 6, wherein the first information is sent to the relay device), wherein the forwarding configuration is configured to enable the second network entity to determine a first time for receiving a transmission from the first network entity or a third network entity and determine a second time for forwarding the transmission to the first network entity or the third network entity (see Fig. 8 and paragraph [0150], wherein the host device uses a timing advance to adjust the timing of the relay device that results in the uplink sending timing and downlink receiving timing shown in Fig. 8; and step S603 in Fig. 6 wherein the relay device performs relay forwarding based on the first information); and
perform one of:
a provision of the transmission to the second network entity; or
a reception of the transmission from the second network entity (see bi-directional communication between the host device and the relay device in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the forwarding configuration comprises an indication of an UL forwarding window or a DL forwarding window, and wherein the UL forwarding window or the DL forwarding window represents a time window configured for receiving the transmission and forwarding the transmission at the second network entity and forwarding the transmission from the second network entity (see “After the relay device obtains a TDD configuration of uplink-downlink transmission, the relay device performs uplink amplification and forwarding in an uplink slot (or symbol), and performs downlink amplification and forwarding in a downlink slot (or symbol)” recited in paragraph [0121]).
Regarding claim 25, wherein the indication comprises a first value or a first range associated with a start time of the UL forwarding window or the DL forwarding window and a second value or a second range associated with an end time of the UL forwarding window or the DL forwarding window, the start time being earlier than the second time (see “a start position of a time domain resource used for uplink transmission in a first periodicity, an end position of a time domain resource used for uplink transmission in the first periodicity, a start position of a time domain resource used for downlink transmission in the first periodicity, and an end position of a time domain resource used for downlink transmission in the first periodicity” recited in paragraph [0133]).
Regarding claim 28, receive an indication representing one or more values, one or more accuracies, or one or more uncertainty ranges associated with the internal delay or the second network entity or third network entity (see “the host device may send second information to the relay device. The second information indicates at least one of the following information: a start position of uplink transmission in the first periodicity, an end position of uplink transmission in the first periodicity, a start position of downlink transmission in the first periodicity, and an end position of downlink transmission in the first periodicity” recited in paragraph [0135], wherein the start and end position being the claimed “values” or “uncertainty ranges”, the range is an uncertainty range as paragraph [0134] discloses that a device may or may not use the time domain resource to perform transmission; the second information is “associated with” the internal delay as Qin as applied to the rejection of claim 1 shows that the forwarding node accounts for a digital processing latency such that any transmission including the forwarding/relay node would be associated with an internal delay such as the digital processing latency taught in Qin; the second information is also associated with the second or third network entity as paragraph [0135] shows the second information being transmitted by the host device and being used for the UL/DL transmission that must involve the claimed second/third network entity) via L1, L2, or L3 signaling (see “RRC signaling and MAC layer signaling…DCI” recited in paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 29, a method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity (see relay device in Fig. 1), comprising: performing a forwarding timing advance procedure (see “uplink forwarding timing advance” recited in paragraph [0151]) comprising: determining a first time for receiving a transmission from a second network entity (see “host device” shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, Fig. 8 and paragraph [0150]) based on forwarding timing advance information (see Fig. 8 and paragraph [0150], wherein the host device uses a timing advance to adjust the timing of the relay device that results in the uplink sending timing and downlink receiving timing shown in Fig. 8), wherein the forwarding timing advance information is based on an internal delay of the first network entity, and wherein a target of the transmission is a third network entity (see terminal in Fig. 1 and “terminal” recited in paragraph [0168] that receives signal from the relay device during the downlink signal receive window); receiving the transmission from the second network entity at the first time (see downlink receiving time of the relay device in Fig. 8); and forwarding the transmission to the third network entity at a second time (see “the relay device obtains a symbol on which uplink amplification is performed and a symbol on which downlink amplification is performed, and may determine the uplink forwarding time window and the downlink forwarding time window by using the uplink forwarding timing advance” recited in paragraph [0168]).
Regarding claim 30, a method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity (see “host device” shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 18 and paragraph [0150]), comprising: providing, to a second network entity (see relay device in Fig. 1), a forwarding configuration (see step S602 in Fig. 6, wherein the first information is sent to the relay device), wherein the forwarding configuration is configured to enable the second network entity to determine a first time for receiving a transmission from the first network entity or a third network entity and determine a second time for forwarding the transmission to the first network entity or the third network entity (see Fig. 8 and paragraph [0150], wherein the host device uses a timing advance to adjust the timing of the relay device that results in the uplink sending timing and downlink receiving timing shown in Fig. 8; and step S603 in Fig. 6 wherein the relay device performs relay forwarding based on the first information); and performing one of: a provision of the transmission to the second network entity; or a reception of the transmission from the second network entity (see bi-directional communication between the host device and the relay device in Fig. 1).
Liu does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1, 23 and 29-30, wherein the forwarding timing advance information is based on an internal delay of the first network entity; regarding claim 3, wherein the forwarding timing advance information is equal to the timing advance value plus the internal delay; regarding claim 17, wherein the indication further indicates the internal delay is based on whether the transmission is an UL transmission or a DL transmission, and wherein a first value of the one or more values of the internal delay is associated with the transmission being the UL transmission and a second value of the one or more values of the internal delay is associated with the transmission being the DL transmission; regarding claim 18, wherein the indication further indicates that the one or more values of the internal delay are based on a direction or a set of antennas associated with the transmission; regarding claim 22, wherein the internal delay is a delay of the first network entity accounting for a propagation delay and a processing delay associated with forwarding the transmission.
Chen discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1, 23 and 29-30, wherein the forwarding timing advance information is based on an internal delay of the first network entity (see “processing delay” in paragraph [0181] and Fig. 8A, which shows that the processing delay is also accounted for the delay in uplink/downlink transmission.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the forwarding timing advance information is equal to the timing advance value plus the internal delay (see paragraph [0013] and [0018], which shows that the difference between the gNB and the repeater includes TTA , which represents the timing advance, and T1, which represents the delay that includes the processing delay as shown in paragraph [0181]).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the indication further indicates the internal delay is based on whether the transmission is an UL transmission or a DL transmission, and wherein a first value of the one or more values of the internal delay is associated with the transmission being the UL transmission and a second value of the one or more values of the internal delay is associated with the transmission being the DL transmission (see “As shown in FIG. 8A, there is a delay T1 between downlink reception and downlink forwarding of the repeater; there is also a delay T2 between uplink reception and uplink forwarding. Here, take T1 being equal to T2 as an example, which are collectively referred as T1. This delay can be a processing delay, that is, a hardware processing time. The value of T1. can be predefined or reported to the base station by the UE capability report. In addition, the delay may also be indicated by the base station (for example, indicated by RRC, MAC CE or DCI)” recited in paragraph [0181]).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the indication further indicates that the one or more values of the internal delay are based on a direction or a set of antennas associated with the transmission (see “As shown in FIG. 8A, there is a delay T1 between downlink reception and downlink forwarding of the repeater; there is also a delay T2 between uplink reception and uplink forwarding. Here, take T1 being equal to T2 as an example, which are collectively referred as T1. This delay can be a processing delay, that is, a hardware processing time. The value of T1. can be predefined or reported to the base station by the UE capability report. In addition, the delay may also be indicated by the base station (for example, indicated by RRC, MAC CE or DCI)” recited in paragraph [0181]; wherein reporting to the base station or receiving indication from the base station require different direction of the antennas associated with the transmission).
Regarding claim 22, wherein the internal delay is a delay of the first network entity accounting for a propagation delay and a processing delay associated with forwarding the transmission (see paragraph [0013] and [0018], which shows that the difference between the gNB and the repeater includes TTA , which is based on the timing advance that is based on the propagation delay as shown in Liu, and T1, which represents the delay that includes the processing delay as shown in paragraph [0181]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of Liu using features, as taught by Chen, in order to account for the delay between the receiving and forwarding of the repeater (see paragraph [0180] of Chen).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Chen as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Qin (US 2020/0163097).
Liu and Chen disclose the features as shown above.
Liu does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 10, transmit a request for the third value or the fourth value to the second network entity or the third network entity via the L1, L2, or L3 signaling.
Qin discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 10, transmit a request for the third value or the fourth value to the second network entity or the third network entity (see Fig. 11, paragraph [0088], [0277], wherein a relay device sends a timing advance request to a network device, wherein the timing advance represents the claimed third/fourth value as shown in the rejection of claim 7 above) via the L1, L2 (see “the first relay device may send a system message or a message (Message, Msg) 3 to the network device, and add the TA request to the system message or the Msg3” recited in paragraph [0284]), or L3 signaling (see paragraph [0258], which shows the use of RRC layer and MAC layer for communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of Liu and Chen using features, as taught by Qin, in order to improve signal transmission efficiency (see paragraph [0280] of Qin).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473