DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 14, and 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0227383) in view of Yu et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0093049) in view of Inada (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0221797).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu et al. teach a light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33), having a light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38) and comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) located in the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38),
wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) is configured to emit light of different colors (Figure 4, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 41);
wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) comprises at least one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) adjacent to an edge (Seen in Figure 6) of the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38), and a first light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 42. Paragraph 47) adjacent to one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) of the at least one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47), wherein the edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) is configured to emit light of a first color (Element Red. Paragraph 41), and the first light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 42. Paragraph 47) is configured to emit light of a second color (Element Green. Paragraph 41) different from the first color (Element Red. Paragraph 41);
wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements comprises a second light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) not adjacent to the edge (Seen in Figure 6) of the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38) and configured to emit light of a same color as one of the at least one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47),
wherein a plurality of repeated units (Figures 9 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row of light-emitting areas (Element 91). Paragraph 58) arranged along a second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) is provided in the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38), each repeated unit of the plurality of repeated units (Figures 9 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row of light-emitting areas (Element 91). Paragraph 58) comprises a plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.),
wherein one repeated unit of the plurality of repeated units (Figures 9 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row of light-emitting areas (Element 91). Paragraph 58) comprises: a first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) and a second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) arranged that are arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.), wherein each of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) and the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) comprises at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) being arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.); and
wherein along a direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) is shifted from a first distance d1 along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58);
wherein along the direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) is shifted a second distance d2 along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58); and
the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) intersects the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.).
Wu et al. is silent with regards to wherein the one of the at least one edge light-emitting element has a driving current smaller than a driving current of the second light-emitting element; and where d1≠d2.
Yu et al. teach wherein the one of the at least one edge light-emitting element (Figure 1, Element 121. Paragraph 58) has a driving current smaller (Seen in Figure 7) than a driving current (Figure 7, Element 71. Paragraph 90) of the second light-emitting element (Figure 1, Element 122. Paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Wu et al. with the driving currents of Yu et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu et al. with the teachings of Yu et al. is to provide an anti-peeping mode, as taught by Yu et al. (Paragraphs 4 – 6).
Inada teaches wherein in a direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) is shifted from a first distance d1 (Figure 6, Element not labeled, but is the R sub-pixel as shifted between the first and second rows (Shown as a shift of two sub-pixels) of subpixels. Paragraph 56) along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43); and
along the direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) is shifted a second distance d2 (Figure 6, Element not labeled, but is the R sub-pixel as shifted between the third and fourth rows (Shown as a shift of one sub-pixel) of subpixels. Paragraph 56) along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43), where d1≠d2 (Seen in Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Wu et al. and the driving currents of Yu et al. with the pixel arrangement of Inada. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu et al. and Yu et al. with the teachings of Inada is to suppress a color shift when using an inversion scheme, as taught by Inada (Paragraph 14).
Regarding Claim 2, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 1 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein the first light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 42. Paragraph 47) is adjacent to the edge (Seen in Figure 6) of the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 2 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein:
each of the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) comprises a plurality of light-emitting element sub-groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the columns of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) arranged along a first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.), and
each of the plurality of light-emitting element sub-groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the columns of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) comprises at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66) of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) that are arranged along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.), wherein one of the at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66) is configured to emit a color distinct from a color of light emitted by another one of the at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 3 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein one of two adjacent light-emitting elements of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) that are respectively located in two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) and that are arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) is configured to emit light of a color different from a color of light emitted by another one of the two adjacent light-emitting elements (Figures 9 – 11. Paragraph 66).
Regarding Claim 6, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 1 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein the one repeated unit of the plurality of units (Figures 9 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row of light-emitting areas (Element 91). Paragraph 58) further comprises a third repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) located between the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) and the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) and adjacent to each of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) and the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58),
wherein the third repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) comprises at least one light-emitting element group of the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69),
wherein along the direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58), a first one of the at least one light-emitting element group of the third repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) is shifted from a first distance d1 along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a last one of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58), and
wherein along the direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58), a first one of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) is shifted from a second distance d2 along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a last one of the at least one light-emitting element group of the third repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58).
Regarding Claim 7, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 4 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein each two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) are shifted from each other with a distance d along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 1 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38) comprises a first region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the inner sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) and a second region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the outermost sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) adjacent to the first region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the inner sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33), wherein the second region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the outermost sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) is located at a side of the first region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the inner sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) close to the edge (Seen in Figure 6) of the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38), and
wherein the edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) is disposed in the second region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the outermost sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33), and the first light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 42. Paragraph 47) is disposed in the first region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the inner sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33).
Regarding Claim 9, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 8 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) comprises a second light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) located in the first region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the inner sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) and not adjacent to the edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47), wherein the edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) and the second light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) are configured to emit light of a same color (Element Red. Paragraph 47).
Regarding Claim 10, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 9 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) comprises at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66) located in the first region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the inner sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) and configured to emit light of N1 colors, wherein the edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) is spaced apart from one light-emitting element of the at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66) that is configured to emit light of a same color (Paragraph 45) as the edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47), by at least N2 light-emitting elements emitting lights of the at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66) that are configured to emit light of a color different from the color of light emitted by the edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47), and N2=N1-1, where N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 3 (Seen in Figures 5 – 11).
Regarding Claim 11, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 8 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein a plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) is arranged in the first region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the inner sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) along a second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.),
wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) comprises light-emitting element sub-groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the columns of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) arranged along a first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.), and
wherein each of the light-emitting element sub-groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the columns of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) comprises at least two light-emitting elements (Figure 4, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 41) of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) that are arranged along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) and that are configured to emit light of different colors (Figure 4, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 41), the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) intersecting the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.), and
wherein at least two of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) respectively located in each two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) are configured to emit light of a same color (Paragraph 45) and arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.).
Regarding Claim 12, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 11 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein the at least one edge light-emitting element comprises a plurality of edge light-emitting elements (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) located in the second region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the outermost sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33), wherein the plurality of edge light-emitting elements (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) comprises at least two edge light-emitting elements (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and configured to emit light of a same color (Paragraph 45).
Regarding Claim 13, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 11 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38) further comprises a third region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the outermost sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33), wherein the first region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the inner sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) and the third region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the outermost sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) are arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.), and
wherein another at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66) of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) are configured to emit light of a different color (Paragraph 45) from one another, and are arranged in the third region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the outermost sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.).
Regarding Claim 14, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 13 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein at least one light-emitting element of the another at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66) in the third region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the outermost sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) and at least one light-emitting element of the light-emitting elements in the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) in the first region (Figures 5 - 11, Element not labeled, but are the inner sub-pixels of the substrate (Element 21). Paragraph 33) are configured to emit light of a same color (Paragraph 45) and are arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.).
Regarding Claim 16, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) according to claim 1 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) comprises a first color light-emitting element (Element Red. Paragraph 41), a second color light-emitting element (Element Green. Paragraph 41), and a third color light-emitting element (Element Blue. Paragraph 41).
Regarding Claim 17, Wu et al. teach a display device, comprising:
a backlight module (Figure 14, Element 20. Paragraph 80); and
a liquid crystal display panel (Figure 14, Element 23. Paragraph 80) located at a light-exiting side of the backlight module (Figure 14, Element 20. Paragraph 80),
wherein the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) has a light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38) and comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) located in the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38),
wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) is configured to emit light of different colors (Figure 4, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 41);
wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) comprises at least one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) adjacent to an edge (Seen in Figure 6) of the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38), and a first light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 42. Paragraph 47) adjacent to one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) of the at least one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47), wherein the edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) is configured to emit light of a first color (Element Red. Paragraph 41), and the first light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 42. Paragraph 47) is configured to emit light of a second different from the first color (Element Red. Paragraph 41),
wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements comprises a second light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) not adjacent to the edge (Seen in Figure 6) of the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38) and configured to emit light of a same color as one of the at least one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47),
wherein a plurality of repeated units (Figures 9 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row of light-emitting areas (Element 91). Paragraph 58) arranged along a second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) is provided in the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38),
wherein one repeated unit of the plurality of repeated units (Figures 9 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row of light-emitting areas (Element 91). Paragraph 58) comprises: a first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) and a second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) arranged that are arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.), wherein each of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) and the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) comprises at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) being arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.); and
wherein along a direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) is shifted from a first distance d1 along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58);
wherein along the direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) is shifted a second distance d2 along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58); and
the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) intersects the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.).
Wu et al. is silent with regards to wherein the one of the at least one edge light-emitting element has a driving current smaller than a driving current of the second light-emitting element; and where d1≠d2.
Yu et al. teach wherein the one of the at least one edge light-emitting element (Figure 1, Element 121. Paragraph 58) has a driving current smaller (Seen in Figure 7) than a driving current (Figure 7, Element 71. Paragraph 90) of the second light-emitting element (Figure 1, Element 122. Paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Wu et al. with the driving currents of Yu et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu et al. with the teachings of Yu et al. is to provide an anti-peeping mode, as taught by Yu et al. (Paragraphs 4 – 6).
Inada teaches wherein in a direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) is shifted from a first distance d1 (Figure 6, Element not labeled, but is the R sub-pixel as shifted between the first and second rows (Shown as a shift of two sub-pixels) of subpixels. Paragraph 56) along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43); and
along the direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) is shifted a second distance d2 (Figure 6, Element not labeled, but is the R sub-pixel as shifted between the third and fourth rows (Shown as a shift of one sub-pixel) of subpixels. Paragraph 56) along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43), where d1≠d2 (Seen in Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Wu et al. and the driving currents of Yu et al. with the pixel arrangement of Inada. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu et al. and Yu et al. with the teachings of Inada is to suppress a color shift when using an inversion scheme, as taught by Inada (Paragraph 14).
Regarding Claim 18, Wu et al. teach a method for driving a display device, wherein the display device comprises a backlight module (Figure 14, Element 20. Paragraph 80) and a liquid crystal display panel (Figure 14, Element 23. Paragraph 80) located at a light-exiting side of the backlight module (Figure 14, Element 20. Paragraph 80), wherein the backlight module (Figure 14, Element 20. Paragraph 80) comprises a light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33), wherein the light-emitting substrate (Figure 14, Element 21. Paragraph 33) has a light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38) and comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements located in the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38), wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) comprises at least one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) adjacent to an edge (Seen in Figure 6) of the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38), and a first light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 42. Paragraph 47) adjacent to one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) of the at least one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47), wherein the edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) is configured to emit light of a first color (Element Red. Paragraph 41), and the first light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 42. Paragraph 47) is configured to emit light of a second color (Element Green. Paragraph 41) different from the first color (Element Red. Paragraph 41), wherein the liquid crystal panel comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (Figure 13, Elements 126. Paragraph 70), and
wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements comprises a second light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47) not adjacent to the edge (Seen in Figure 6) of the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38) and configured to emit light of a same color as one of the at least one edge light-emitting element (Figures 6 - 11, Element 41. Paragraph 47),
wherein the method comprises:
charging (Figure 16, Element grey level. Paragraph 86) one sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels (Figure 13, Elements 126. Paragraph 70), and after the charging (Figure 16, Element grey level. Paragraph 86) of the sub-pixel finishes, and
controlling one light-emitting element of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) in the backlight module (Figure 14, Element 20. Paragraph 80) corresponding to the sub-pixel to emit light,
wherein a plurality of repeated units (Figures 9 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row of light-emitting areas (Element 91). Paragraph 58) arranged along a second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) is provided in the light-emitting region (Figure 3, Element 21. Paragraph 38),
wherein one repeated unit of the plurality of repeated units (Figures 9 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row of light-emitting areas (Element 91). Paragraph 58) comprises: a first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) and a second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) arranged that are arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.), wherein each of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) and the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) comprises at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the plurality of light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) being arranged along the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.); and
wherein along a direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) is shifted from a first distance d1 along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58);
wherein along the direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58) is shifted a second distance d2 along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the rows of the area 91. Paragraphs 66 - 69) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 9 - 11, Element 91. Paragraph 58); and
the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) intersects the second direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.).
Wu et al. is silent with regards to wherein the one of the at least one edge light-emitting element has a driving current smaller than a driving current of the second light-emitting element; and where d1≠d2.
Yu et al. teach wherein the one of the at least one edge light-emitting element (Figure 1, Element 121. Paragraph 58) has a driving current smaller (Seen in Figure 7) than a driving current (Figure 7, Element 71. Paragraph 90) of the second light-emitting element (Figure 1, Element 122. Paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Wu et al. with the driving currents of Yu et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu et al. with the teachings of Yu et al. is to provide an anti-peeping mode, as taught by Yu et al. (Paragraphs 4 – 6).
Inada teaches wherein in a direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) is shifted from a first distance d1 (Figure 6, Element not labeled, but is the R sub-pixel as shifted between the first and second rows (Shown as a shift of two sub-pixels) of subpixels. Paragraph 56) along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43); and
along the direction that is parallel to the second direction (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the column direction.) and points from the first repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) to the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43), a later light-emitting element group of each two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) is shifted a second distance d2 (Figure 6, Element not labeled, but is the R sub-pixel as shifted between the third and fourth rows (Shown as a shift of one sub-pixel) of subpixels. Paragraph 56) along the first direction (Figures 3 - 11, Element not labeled, but is the row direction.) with respect to a prior light-emitting element group of the two adjacent light-emitting element groups of the at least two light-emitting element groups (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but is a row in the set of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43) of the second repeated sub-unit (Figures 2 - 11, Element not labeled, but are sets of three pixel circuits (Element 6). Paragraph 43), where d1≠d2 (Seen in Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Wu et al. and the driving currents of Yu et al. with the pixel arrangement of Inada. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu et al. and Yu et al. with the teachings of Inada is to suppress a color shift when using an inversion scheme, as taught by Inada (Paragraph 14).
Claims 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0227383) in view of Yu et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0093049) in view of Inada (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0221797) in view of Chang et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2007/0164978).
Regarding Claim 19, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada teach the method according to claim 18 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein the liquid crystal display panel (Figure 14, Element 23. Paragraph 80) has M display partitions (Figures 12 - 15, Element not labeled, but is a row of pixels (Elements 126). Paragraph 70), and at least two sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels (Figure 13, Elements 126. Paragraph 70) are provided in each of the display partitions (Figures 12 - 15, Element not labeled, but is a row of pixels (Elements 126). Paragraph 70), M being an integer greater or equal to 4 (Seen in Figures 12 – 15); at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66) of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) are provided in each of the M backlight partitions (Figures 3 - 11 and 14, Element not labeled, but is a row of LEDs. Paragraph 38), the at least two light-emitting elements (Figures 9 - 11, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 66) being configured to emit light of different colors (Figure 4, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 41);
an image display frame (Figure 7. Paragraph 50) of the display device comprises at least two sub-frames (Figure 7, Elements red light, green light, and blue light. Paragraph 50);
said charging (Figure 16, Element grey level. Paragraph 86) the sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels (Figure 13, Elements 126. Paragraph 70), and after the charging (Figure 16, Element grey level. Paragraph 86) of the sub-pixel finishes, said controlling the light-emitting element of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figure 3, Element 22. Paragraph 38) in the backlight module (Figure 14, Element 20. Paragraph 80) corresponding to the sub-pixel to emit light comprise:
during a current sub-frame of the at least two sub-frames (Figure 7, Elements red light, green light, and blue light. Paragraph 50), charging (Figure 16, Element grey level. Paragraph 86) each display partition of the M display partitions (Figures 12 - 15, Element not labeled, but is a row of pixels (Elements 126). Paragraph 70),
after the charging (Figure 16, Element grey level. Paragraph 86) of the display partition (Figures 12 - 15, Element not labeled, but is a row of pixels (Elements 126). Paragraph 70) with a voltage corresponding to the current sub-frame (Figure 7, Elements red light, green light, and blue light. Paragraph 50) finishes, controlling one backlight partition of the M backlight partitions (Figures 3 - 11 and 14, Element not labeled, but is a row of LEDs. Paragraph 38) corresponding to the display partition to emit light of a color (Paragraph 86) corresponding to the current sub-frame (Figure 7, Elements red light, green light, and blue light. Paragraph 50); and
after the backlight partition (Figures 3 - 11 and 14, Element not labeled, but is a row of LEDs. Paragraph 38) emits light of the color (Paragraph 86) corresponding to the current sub-frame (Figure 7, Elements red light, green light, and blue light. Paragraph 50), charging (Figure 16, Element grey level. Paragraph 86) the display partition (Figures 12 - 15, Element not labeled, but is a row of pixels (Elements 126). Paragraph 70) corresponding to the backlight partition (Figures 3 - 11 and 14, Element not labeled, but is a row of LEDs. Paragraph 38) with a voltage corresponding to a next sub-frame of the at least two sub-frames (Figure 7, Elements red light, green light, and blue light. Paragraph 50),
wherein the backlight partition (Figures 3 - 11 and 14, Element not labeled, but is a row of LEDs. Paragraph 38) is configured to emit light of different colors (Figure 4, Elements 41 - 43. Paragraph 41) in two adjacent sub-frames of the at least two sub-frames (Figure 7, Elements red light, green light, and blue light. Paragraph 50).
Wu et al. is silent with regards to the light-emitting substrate has M backlight partitions that are in one-to-one correspondence with the M display partitions, and at least during the charging of the display partition, the backlight partition corresponding to the display partition is in a dark state; and periods during which at least two adjacent backlight partitions of the M backlight partitions are in the dark state partially overlap.
Chang et al. teach the light-emitting substrate has M backlight partitions (Figure 1, Elements 108a – 108d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) that are in one-to-one correspondence (Seen in Figure 1) with the M display partitions (Figure 1, Elements 102a – 102d. Paragraphs 29 – 31), and at least during the charging (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but are the display blocks periods. Paragraphs 29 – 31 and 8 – 9) of the display partition (Figure 1, Elements 102a – 102d. Paragraphs 29 – 31), the backlight partition (Figure 1, Elements 108a – 108d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) corresponding to the display partition (Figure 1, Elements 102a – 102d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) is in a dark state (Figure 4, Element X. Paragraphs 29 – 31 and 8 – 9); and periods during which at least two adjacent backlight partitions (Figure 1, Elements 108a – 108d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) of the M backlight partitions (Figure 1, Elements 108a – 108d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) are in the dark state (Figure 4, Element X. Paragraphs 29 – 31 and 8 – 9) partially overlap (Seen in Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Wu et al. and the driving currents of Yu et al. with the driving method of Chang et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu et al. and Yu et al. with the teachings of Chang et al. is to enhance the quality of a dynamic image displayed, as taught by Chang et al. (Paragraph 14).
Regarding Claim 20, Wu et al. in view of Yu et al. in view of Inada in view of Chang et al. teach the method according to claim 19 (See Above). Wu et al. teach wherein after the charging (Figure 16, Element grey level. Paragraph 86) of the display partition (Figures 12 - 15, Element not labeled, but is a row of pixels (Elements 126). Paragraph 70) with the voltage corresponding to the current sub-frame (Figure 7, Elements red light, green light, and blue light. Paragraph 50) finishes, said controlling the backlight partition of the M backlight partitions (Figures 3 - 11 and 14, Element not labeled, but is a row of LEDs. Paragraph 38) corresponding to the display partition to emit light (Paragraph 51) of the color corresponding to the current sub-frame (Figure 7, Elements red light, green light, and blue light. Paragraph 50).
Wu et al. is silent with regards to after a first waiting period after the charging of the display partition with the voltage corresponding to the current sub-frame finishes, controlling the backlight partition corresponding to the display partition to emit light of the color corresponding to the current sub-frame, wherein, during the first waiting period, the backlight partition corresponding to the display partition is in the dark state, or after the backlight partition emits light of the color corresponding to the current sub-frame, said charging the display partition corresponding to the backlight partition with the voltage corresponding to the next sub-frame comprises: after a second waiting period after the light-emitting of the backlight partition with the color corresponding to the current sub-frame finishes, charging the display partition corresponding to the backlight partition with the voltage corresponding to the next sub-frame, wherein during the second waiting period, the backlight partition corresponding to the display partition is in the dark state.
Chang et al. teach said controlling the backlight partition of the M backlight partitions (Figure 1, Elements 108a – 108d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) corresponding to the display partition (Figure 1, Elements 102a – 102d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) to emit light of the color corresponding to the current sub-frame comprises:
after a first waiting period (Seen in Figure 4) after the charging (Figure 4, Element not labeled, but are the display blocks periods. Paragraphs 29 – 31 and 8 – 9) of the display partition (Figure 1, Elements 102a – 102d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) with the voltage corresponding to the current sub-frame (Figure 4, Element Clock Cycle. Paragraph 29) finishes, controlling the backlight partition (Figure 1, Elements 108a – 108d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) corresponding to the display partition (Figure 1, Elements 102a – 102d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) to emit light of the color corresponding to the current sub-frame (Figure 4, Element Clock Cycle. Paragraph 29), wherein, during the first waiting period (Seen in Figure 4), the backlight partition (Figure 1, Elements 108a – 108d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) corresponding to the display partition (Figure 1, Elements 102a – 102d. Paragraphs 29 – 31) is in the dark state (Figure 4, Element X. Paragraphs 29 – 31 and 8 – 9), or
after the backlight partition emits light of the color corresponding to the current sub-frame, said charging the display partition corresponding to the backlight partition with the voltage corresponding to the next sub-frame comprises:
after a second waiting period after the light-emitting of the backlight partition with the color corresponding to the current sub-frame finishes, charging the display partition corresponding to the backlight partition with the voltage corresponding to the next sub-frame, wherein during the second waiting period, the backlight partition corresponding to the display partition is in the dark state.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Wu et al. and the driving currents of Yu et al. with the driving method of Chang et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu et al. and Yu et al. with the teachings of Chang et al. is to enhance the quality of a dynamic image displayed, as taught by Chang et al. (Paragraph 14).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that Yu et al. fails to disclose “wherein the one of the at least one edge light-emitting element has a driving current smaller than a driving current of the second light-emitting element” of at least Claim 1. The applicant argues that Yu et al. does not discloses that the edge light-emitting element emits light of the same color as the light-emitting element not adjacent to the edge. The examiner notes that Yu et al. is not relied upon to teach this limitation. Instead, Wu et al. discloses “In addition, each light-emitting area 91 includes at least one red LED 41, at least one green LED 42, and at least one blue LED 43 (Paragraph 66. Emphasis Added).” Yu et al. discloses “As shown in FIGS. 4 and 5, the light bar 432 includes a plurality of LED lamp beads 4321, and the plurality of LED lamp beads are divided into a number N of lamp groups 45, and the N lamp groups 45 provide backlights for the N backlight subareas in a one-to-one correspondence. As shown in FIG. 5, the display device 11 further includes a circuit chip 46, and the circuit chip 46 is used to control the driving current of the LED lamp beads 4321. (Paragraph 73. Emphasis added).” Yu et al. further discloses “In this example, as shown in FIG. 7, when the display device is in the normal display mode, the driving current of the LED lamp beads 4321 in the N lamp groups 45 is shown by the second curve 72, and the equation for the second curve 72 is the second curve equation above. The driving current of the LED lamp beads 4321 in the lamp group 452 with a sequence number 8 is the same as the driving current of the LED lamp beads 4321 in the lamp group 453 with a sequence number 9 in the first direction F1, and both are a first driving current I1. In the first direction F1, the driving current of the LED lamp beads 4321 in the lamp group 451 with a sequence number 1 is the same as the driving current of the LED lamp beads 4321 in the lamp group 454 with a sequence number 16, and both are a third driving current I3, where the third driving current I3 is higher than the first driving current I1 (Paragraph 82. Emphasis Added).” Wu et al. teach the light emitting area with the color LED’s and Yu et al. teach the different LED driving voltages being used across the display. Therefore Wu et al., as modified by Yu et al. teach the above limitation with the argued color LED’s. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s argument and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are found moot in light of the above rejection and/or the response to the first argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Uno et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0210129) teaches a display device that contains LEDs to emit different colors across a back light.
Qin et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0413342) teaches light structure of smaller sizes on the peripheral of a backlight.
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625