DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the phase in which the maintenance processing is interrupted” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kono (6,183,151) in view of Yoshimura et al. (2003/0063177).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Kono teaches a printing apparatus and method comprising:
a maintenance unit (fig. 1, item 16) capable of executing maintenance processing including a plurality of phases comprised of maintenance operations for well maintaining and recovering liquid ejection from a printing unit configured to print a print medium (col. 5, lines 20-44, note that capping with suction by the pump and capping without suction by the pump can be executed); and
a control unit capable of controlling the maintenance processing and configured to, in a case where the maintenance processing is executed, execute first control to interrupt the maintenance processing in a case where a phase that is being executed includes a process of moving the printing unit (col. 5, lines 20-44, see figs. 2A. 2B, Note that when the carriage drives the switching lever 66 to disengage hole 82c, the pump is driven when the convey roller 36 is rotated reversely. Conversely, when the carriage contacts the lever 66 to engage the hole 82c, the pump is disabled do that capping with pumping is disabled).
Kono does not teach a cover member displaceable between a closed position where an internal constituent of the printing apparatus is blocked from an outside and an open position where the internal constituent is exposed to the outside,
in a case where the cover member is displaced from the closed position to the open position during the maintenance processing, to execute a control operation to interrupt the maintenance processing,
wherein, in a case when the cover member is displaced from the open position to the closed position after an execution of the control operation, the control unit resumes the maintenance processing from a beginning of the phase in which the maintenance processing is interrupted.
Yoshimura teaches this (Yoshimura, [0013]-[0014], [0018], [0021], Note that the controller determines whether to restart maintenance from where it was left off or from the beginning of maintenance altogether depending on the type of maintenance interruped). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add the cover and suction pump functionality disclosed by Yoshimura to the device disclosed by Kono because doing so would allow for pausing suction and other mechanical movements when the interior of the apparatus was exposed to a user, thereby preventing injury to a user, and automatic resumption of such suction and movements upon closing of the cover.
Regarding claim 2, Kono in view of Yoshimura teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the maintenance processing is executed, in a case where the phase that is being executed does not includes the process of moving the printing unit, the control unit executes another control operation to continue the maintenance processing (Kono, col. 5, lines 20-44, Note that when the pumping is enabled, pumping continues).
Regarding claim 3, Kono in view of Yoshimura teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the printing unit ejects liquid while moving in a direction intersecting a direction of conveyance of the print medium by a conveying unit configured to convey the print medium (Kono, see fig. 1), and the control unit executes the first control in a case where the printing unit moves to a predetermined position (fig. 1, position corresponding to cleaning unit 16).
Regarding claim 4, Kono in view of Yoshimura teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein driving force of the conveying unit is transmitted to the maintenance unit based on movement of the printing unit to the predetermined position, and the maintenance unit changes the maintenance operations by the driving force (Kono, col. 5, lines 20-44, see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kono in view of Yoshimura teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the printing apparatus comprises a detection unit configured to detect opening and closing of the cover member (Yoshimura, [0013]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Kono in view of Yoshimura teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 5, further comprising: a regulation unit configured to regulate the movement of the printing unit in a case where the cover member is in the open position (Kono, Note that anything controlling the movement of the printing unit could be said to be such a “regulation unit.” Examiner is mapping the carriage motor, which, when not energized, does not move the printing unit, as the regulation unit).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853