DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The present office action is made in response to the amendment filed by applicant on 03/16/2026. It is noted that in the amendment, applicant has made changed to the claims. There is not any change being made to the abstract, the drawings and the specification.
Regarding the claims, applicant has amended claims 1, 5 and 11, and added a new claim, i.e., claim 12, into the application.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to the claims as provided in the amendment of 03/16/2026, and applicant's arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, pages 5-6, have been fully considered and resulted the following conclusions.
5a) Regarding the claims, the following conclusions are made:
5a1) because applicant has added claim 12 into the application and has not canceled any claim from the application, thus the pending claims are claims 1-12; and
5a2) a review of the newly-added claim 12 has resulted that the scope of the new claim is similar to that of the examined claim 1, thus claim 12 is examined with the claims 1-11 in the present office action.
5b) Regarding the rejection of claims1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Patent No. 11,754,252, of record, hereafter, Lee et al ‘252) in view of Yamazaki et al (US Patent No. 7,226,187, of record) and Lee et al (US Publication No. 2018/0149325, hereafter, Lee et al ‘325) set forth in the office action of 01/15/2026, the amendment to the claims as provided in the amendment of 03/16/2026, and applicant’s arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, pages 55-6, have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim is rejected because the disclosure, as originally filed, does not provide support for a trim element having a first layer, a decorative element, a first light source, a power supply circuit and a second layer wherein the first layer has an outer surface, the decorative element formed on a surface opposite to the outer surface of the first layer and the first light source and the power supply circuit are arranged on the first layer as recited in the claim.
Applicant is respectfully invited to review the trim element as described in paragraph [0052] and fig. 3 of the substitute specification as filed on 10/02/2025, the disclosure, as originally filed, discloses that the decorative element (3) is formed/arranged on the surface (15) of the first layer (1) which surface (15) is opposite to the outer surface (14) of the first layer, and the first light source (5) and the power supply circuit (6) are formed on a surface of the decorative element (3) which surface is opposite to the surface (15) of the first layer. Thus, the first light source and the power supply circuit are not formed/arranged on the first layer as claimed on lines 6-8 of the new claim 12.
8. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claim is rejected because the disclosure does not provide support for a trim element having a first layer, a decorative element, a first light source, a power supply circuit and a second layer wherein the first layer has an outer surface, the decorative element formed on a surface opposite to the outer surface of the first layer and the first light source and the power supply circuit are arranged on the first layer as recited in the claim.
Applicant is respectfully invited to review the trim element as described in paragraph [0052] and fig. 3 of the substitute specification as filed on 10/02/2025 which disclosure discloses that the decorative element (3) is formed/arranged on the surface (15 of the first layer (1) which surface (15) is opposite to the outer surface (14) of the first layer and the first light source (5) and the power supply circuit (6) are formed on a surface of the decorative element (3) which surface is opposite to the surface (15) of the first layer. Thus, the first light source and the power supply circuit are not formed/arranged on the first layer as claimed on lines 6-8 of the new claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Patent No. 11,754,252, hereafter, Lee et al ‘252, of record) in view of Sato (US Publication No. 2013/0107568) and Lee et al (US Publication No. 2018/0149325, hereafter, Lee et al ‘325, of record)
Lee et al ‘252 discloses a lighting module for use in a vehicle, see column 1.
a) Regarding present claims 1 and 11, the lighting module as described in columns 4-10 and shown in fig. 2 comprises the following features:
a1) a first layer (11) having a first outer surface, i.e., the bottom surface of the substrate (11), and a second surface, i.e., the upper surface of the substrate (11), opposite to the first surface;
a2) a first light source (21, 22) and a power supply circuit for the first light source which are arranged on the first layer (11), see columns 5-6 for the “<Substrate 11>” and columns 7-8 for “<Light sources 21 and 22>”; and
a3) a light director (31) for directing light from the first light source (21. 22) towards a second outer surface (Sc) or the side surfaces (Sa, Sb) of the light director for directing light which surfaces (Sa, Sb, Sc) each is a surface other than the first outer surface wherein the light director (31) for directing light from the first light source (21, 22) comprises a transparent second layer, see columns 6-7 for the “<Resin Layer 31>”, which discloses that the second layer (31) has a transparent characteristic, which is at least partially coating the first light sources (21, 22).
There are two features missing from the lighting module provided by Lee et al ‘252 as follow: First, Lee et al ‘252 does not disclose that the lighting module comprises a decorative element arranged on the outer surface of the first layer, and Second, Lee et al ‘252 does not disclose that the first layer (11) is a transparent/translucent layer made by polymer.
First, regarding the first feature missing from the lighting module provided by Lee et al ‘252, a lighting module having a layer for guiding light from light sources, a reflective layer attached to its lower surface for reflecting light and a decorative layer arranged on an outer surface of the reflective layer is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the lighting module provided by Sato. In particular, Sato discloses a lighting module (5) having a substrate/light guide (25) for guiding light from a light source (6) and a reflective layer (27) attached to the lower surface of the substrate (25) for reflecting light and teaches that the panel comprises a decorative layer (46) positioned/located adjacent an outer/exterior surface of the reflective layer, see Sato in paragraphs [0081]-[0083] and fig. 8. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting module provided by Lee et al by using a decorative element formed on the outer surface of the first layer (11) in the lighting module provided by Lee et al as suggested by Sato for the purpose of proving an advertising, decoration, information.
It is noted that while Sato does not positively disclose that the decorative layer (46) is arranged on the outer/exterior surface of the reflective layer (27) in the embodiment showing in fig. 8; however, in the embodiment as shown in fig. 31, the decorative layer (46) is arranged on an outer surface of the reflective layer (5). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to attach the decoration layer (46) to the reflective layer (27) for the purpose of reducing the weight and prevent external elements such as dust, moisture, … from entering the product.
Second, regarding the second feature regarding the material of the first layer, i.e., a transparent/translucent layer made by a polymer, it is noted that Lee et al ‘252 discloses that the first layer (11) is a resin-based printed circuit board (PCB), see <Substrate 11> in column 5 on lines 63-65. While Lee et al ‘252 does not positively disclose that the so-called “resin-based” PCB is a transparent/translucent PCB; however, a lighting module having a plurality of light sources formed/attached to a transparent circuit board made by polymer material is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the lighting module provided by Lee et al ‘325. In particular, Lee et al ‘325 discloses a lighting module having a light emitting module (120), a light guiding member (130) and a transparent printed circuit board (110) wherein a plurality of light emitting elements of the light emitting module are formed/attached, see paragraphs [0017]-[0034] and figs. 1-7 wherein the transparent PCB is mase by polymer material, see paragraph [0023]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the resin-based PCB in the lighting module provided by Lee et al ‘252 by using a resin-based PCB made by transparent polymer material as suggested by Lee et al ‘325 to meet a particular application. Applicant should note that when a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of that work.
b) Regarding present claim 2, the light director (31) for directing light from the first light sources (21, 22) is configured to direct light from the first light sources (21, 22) towards the second outer surface (Sc) of the light transmitting element (41) of the lighting module which second outer surface (Sc) is opposite to the first outer surface of the lighting module, see fig. 2.
c) Regarding present claim 3, the light director (31) for directing light from the first light sources (21, 22) is configured to direct light from the first light sources (21, 22) towards the second outer surface (Sa, Sb) which second outer surface is adjacent to the first outer surface of the substrate (11), see fig. 2.
d) Regarding present claims 4-5, the light director (31) for directing light from the first light sources (21, 22) further comprises a reflective layer (15)arranged on the first layer, see column 13, which discloses the first layer (1) with surfaces (11 (or F1) and 12 (or F2)) wherein a reflective layer is formed on the surface F2 of the first layer (1) which reflective layer is arranged on the first layer (11) wherein the reflective layer (15) extends facing the second layer (31) along a direction parallel to the first layer (1).
e) Regarding present claims 6-7, the reflective layer (15) is either in contact with the first layer, i.e., the substrate (11) or in distance from the upper surface of the first layer, see column 6 for the “<Reflective Layer 15>”, thus the reflective layer (15) is at a distance from the second layer (31) at least a portion of the thickness of the second layer (31) or in contact with the second layer 931) at a contact surface extending over at least a portion of the thickness of the second layer wherein the contact surface is adjacent to the first surface of the first layer.
f) Regarding present claims 8-9, the second outer surface (Sc) is in contact with the light transmitting layer (41) which comprises one or more layers in which a layer is a light diffuser, see column 5 and column 8 for the “<First Light Transmitting Layer 41>”.
Regarding present claim 10, the arrangement of the light diffuser with respect to the second layer as claimed is merely that of a preferred embodiment and not criticality has been disclosed. The support for that conclusion is found in the present claim 9 which claims that the light diffuser is in contact with the second layer. Thus, absent any showing of criticality, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to arrange the light diffuser and the second layer in any suitable arrangement including an arrangement of the light diffuser away/spaced from a surface of the second layer to meet a particular application.
12. Claim 12, as best as understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Patent No. 11,754,252, hereafter, Lee et al ‘252, of record) in view of Sato (US Publication No. 2013/0107568) and Lee et al (US Publication No. 2018/0149325, hereafter, Lee et al ‘325, of record)
Lee et al ‘252 discloses a lighting module for use in a vehicle, see column 1.
a) Regarding present claims 1 and 11, the lighting module as described in columns 4-10 and shown in fig. 2 comprises the following features:
a1) a first layer (11) having a first outer surface, i.e., the bottom surface of the substrate (11), and a second surface, i.e., the upper surface of the substrate (11), opposite to the first surface;
a2) a first light source (21, 22) and a power supply circuit for the first light source which are arranged on the first layer (11), see columns 5-6 for the “<Substrate 11>” and columns 7-8 for “<Light sources 21 and 22>”; and
a3) a light director (31) for directing light from the first light source (21. 22) towards a second outer surface (Sc) or the side surfaces (Sa, Sb) of the light director for directing light which surfaces (Sa, Sb, Sc) each is a surface other than the first outer surface wherein the light director (31) for directing light from the first light source (21, 22) comprises a transparent second layer, see columns 6-7 for the “<Resin Layer 31>”, which discloses that the second layer (31) has a transparent characteristic, which is at least partially coating the first light sources (21, 22).
There are two features missing from the lighting module provided by Lee et al ‘252 as follow: First, Lee et al ‘252 does not disclose that the lighting module comprises a decorative element arranged on the outer surface of the first layer, and Second, Lee et al ‘252 does not disclose that the first layer (11) is a transparent/translucent layer made by polymer.
First, regarding the first feature missing from the lighting module provided by Lee et al ‘252, a lighting module having a layer for guiding light from light sources, a reflective layer attached to its lower surface for reflecting light and a decorative layer arranged on an outer surface of the reflective layer is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the lighting module provided by Sato. In particular, Sato discloses a lighting module (5) having a substrate/light guide (25) for guiding light from a light source (6) and a reflective layer (27) attached to the lower surface of the substrate (25) for reflecting light and teaches that the panel comprises a decorative layer (46) positioned/located adjacent an outer/exterior surface of the reflective layer, see Sato in paragraphs [0081]-[0083]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting module provided by Lee et al by using a decorative element formed on the outer surface of the first layer (11) in the lighting module provided by Lee et al as suggested by Sato for the purpose of proving an advertising, decoration, information.
It is noted that while Sato does not positively disclose that the decorative layer (46) is arranged on the outer/exterior surface of the reflective layer (27) in the embodiment showing in fig. 8; however, in the embodiment as shown in fig. 31, the decorative layer (46) is arranged on an outer surface of the reflective layer (5). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to attach the decoration layer (46) to the reflective layer (27) for the purpose of reducing the weight and prevent external elements such as dust, moisture, … from entering the product.
Regarding the feature that the decorative layer is located on a surface of the first layer which surface is opposite to the outer surface of the first layer as recited in the claim, such feature is merely that of a preferred embodiment and no criticality has been disclosed. The support for that conclusion is found in the present claims 1 and 11 which recites that the decorative layer is located/arranged on the outer surface of the first layer, see claims 1 and 11 on lines 4-5 of each claim. Thus, absent showing of criticality, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to rearrange the positions of the reflective layer and the decorative layer with respect to the first layer (11) in the combined product provided by Lee et al ‘252 and Sato by arranging the decorative layer on the inner surface of the first layer to meet a particular application.
Second, regarding the second feature regarding the material of the first layer, i.e., a transparent/translucent layer made by a polymer, it is noted that Lee et al ‘252 discloses that the first layer (11) is a resin-based printed circuit board (PCB), see <Substrate 11> in column 5 on lines 63-65. While Lee et al ‘252 does not positively disclose that the so-called “resin-based” PCB is a transparent/translucent PCB; however, a lighting module having a plurality of light sources formed/attached to a transparent circuit board made by polymer material is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the lighting module provided by Lee et al ‘325. In particular, Lee et al ‘325 discloses a lighting module having a light emitting module (120), a light guiding member (130) and a transparent printed circuit board (110) wherein a plurality of light emitting elements of the light emitting module are formed/attached, see paragraphs [0017]-[0034] and figs. 1-7 wherein the transparent PCB is mase by polymer material, see paragraph [0023]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the resin-based PCB in the lighting module provided by Lee et al ‘252 by using a resin-based PCB made by transparent polymer material as suggested by Lee et al ‘325 to meet a particular application. Applicant should note that when a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of that work.
Conclusion
/THONG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872