DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s response dated 9/30/25. Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 9-11, 14-24 have been examined. Claims 3, 5-6, 8, and 12-13 have been cancelled.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
As per Applicant’s amendment, the objection of Claims 2, 7, 13, and 16 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
As per Applicant’s amendment, the rejection of Claims 7, 12, and 16 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 9-11, 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Cheng (US 2018/0234524).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended),
A method for identifying remote terminal service, comprising:
receiving, by a relay terminal, a first message from a first remote terminal, wherein the first message does not comprise a user equipment identifier (UE ID) and a bearer identifier of the first remote terminal [Cheng: 0078; the packet header may include a special identifier used to create virtual radio bearers, where each virtual radio bearer maps to a corresponding bearer (e.g., SRB, DRB, etc.); this may be implemented using additional signaling over the relay link(s), but may provide a finer degree of differentiation between bearers and, when appropriate, bearers for different remote UEs; 0079; a transmitting device (which could be the remote UE, the relay UE, and/or the base station, depending on the situation) may identify a particular packet for transmission on the relay link, the packet belonging to a first bearer; the transmitting device may configure a header of the packet (e.g., a L2 header that is processed by the relay UE) to carry or otherwise convey an indication of the QoS parameter set. The transmitting device transmits the packet and the receiving device (which could be the remote UE, relay UE, and/or base station, depending upon the situation) may use the QoS information in the header to identify the first bearer and/or otherwise treat the packet according to the QoS parameter set; 0023; receiving, on the relay wireless communication link, a packet including a header processed by a relay wireless device that is configured to convey an indication of a QoS parameter set];
Note:
A packet header has a special identifier, and not a UE ID and a bearer identifier.
determining, by the relay terminal, a relay bearer channel for forwarding the first message; and forwarding, by the relay terminal, a second message to a network-side device over the relay bearer channel [Cheng: relay bearer channel == virtual radio bearer; 0099; the transmitting device may configure a header of a packet for transmission on the relay wireless communication link; additionally or alternatively, the transmitting device may identify a bearer mapping configuration associated with the relay link; the transmitting device may identify a packet for transmission on the relay link, the packet belonging to a first bearer; the transmitting device may use the bearer mapping configuration to select an identifier associated with a first virtual radio bearer; the first virtual radio bearer may correspond to the first bearer and the relay link may correspond to a radio bearer; the transmitting device may configure, according to the bearer mapping configuration, a header of the packet that is processed by the relay wireless device to include an identifier. The identifier may carry or otherwise convey information associated with the first bearer … a receiving device may receive the packet and determine that the identifier is associated with the first virtual radio bearer; the receiving device may identify the first bearer based at least in part on the identifier; 0108; the eNB may also determine the radio bearer to send the packet based on the remote UE context; in this particular example, the remote UE may be associated with the relay UE, and therefore, the packets may be sent via a radio bearer of the relay UE associated with this remote UE, or the EPS bearer of this remote UE; 0098],
wherein the second message carries the UE ID and the bearer identifier of the first remote terminal [Cheng: bearer identifier == identifier associated with a virtual radio bearer; UE ID == identifier to differentiate packets of different remote UEs; 0099; the transmitting device may use the bearer mapping configuration to select an identifier associated with a first virtual radio bearer; the first virtual radio bearer may correspond to the first bearer and the relay link may correspond to a radio bearer; the transmitting device may configure, according to the bearer mapping configuration, a header of the packet that is processed by the relay wireless device to include an identifier; the identifier may carry or otherwise convey information associated with the first bearer; 0108; the eNB may also determine the radio bearer to send the packet based on the remote UE context; in this particular example, the remote UE may be associated with the relay UE, and therefore, the packets may be sent via a radio bearer of the relay UE associated with this remote UE, or the EPS bearer of this remote UE; the packet sent via the relay UE's radio bearer may carry the QCI and ARP value in the adaptation (or PDCP) header and the relay UE 115-b may process each packet accordingly; the bit rate metrics for the packet (e.g., AMBR, GBR, maximum bitrate (MBR), etc.) may be managed or selected by base station 105-a, rather than by the relay UE 115-b; the adaptation layer may include an identifier to differentiate packets of different remote UEs; 0115; for example; in the downlink example for the PC5 radio interface, the relay UE 115-b may map the identifier to the corresponding link 210 with the remote UE 115-a];
wherein the bearer identifier is used for determining that a type of the first message is signaling radio bearer 0 (SRB0) [Cheng: bearer identifier == identifier associated with a virtual radio bearer; 0099; the transmitting device may use the bearer mapping configuration to select an identifier associated with a first virtual radio bearer; the first virtual radio bearer may correspond to the first bearer and the relay link may correspond to a radio bearer; : 0078; the packet header may include a special identifier used to create virtual radio bearers, where each virtual radio bearer maps to a corresponding bearer (e.g., SRB, DRB, etc.); 0120; when a second approach is used for virtual radio bearer identifier, the eNB or relay UE could use a special identifier to represent the signaling bearers and the RRC Connection Reconfiguration message can carry some special IEs just for virtual SRB binding].
Regarding Claim 4 (Currently Amended),
wherein the UE ID comprises one of the following: unique index of remote terminal on relay terminal; or unique index of remote terminal on network-side device; [Cheng: 0115; the eNB may inform the remote UE of the identifier to use via an RRC connection reconfiguration message directly or via the relay UE; this identifier allows the bearer of the remote UE to be transferred within the radio bearer of the relay UE as a virtual radio bearer; the adaptation (or PDCP) layer header may include an identifier for each of the EPS bearers, DRBs, etc.; the relay UE 115-b may map the identifier to the corresponding EPS bearer/DRB(s) and their corresponding QoS profiles or parameters; the base station 105-a may configure the relay UE 115-b with a bearer mapping for the virtual bearers (e.g., QCI, ARP, etc.) in a RRC connection reconfiguration message, for example; in the downlink example for the PC5 radio interface, the relay UE 115-b may map the identifier to the corresponding link 210 with the remote UE 115-a; for each remote UE, the relay UE 115-b may setup a virtual link whenever it receives a RRC connection reconfiguration message for the virtual DRB(s) over the Uu radio interface].
Regarding Claim 7 (Currently Amended),
further comprising: receiving, by the relay terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) setup message from the network-side device, wherein the RRC setup message carries the UE ID assigned by the network-side device to the first remote terminal [Cheng: 0115; in a downlink example of the Uu radio interface, the identifier may support using more than a predetermined number of virtual bearers, e.g., more than eight; for example, when a bearer, e.g., EPS bearer is setup for the remote UE, signaling from the MIME may inform the eNB (or base station) regarding the QoS profile and bearer identifications, e.g. the E-RAB ID. As the eNB is aware of the association of the remote UE and relay UE, it understands the need to carry the corresponding bearer of the remote UE in a relay UE's radio bearer; after identified the corresponding radio bearer of the relay UE, the eNB may send a RRC connection reconfiguration message to inform the relay UE of such arrangement, and the corresponding identifier to be used in the L2 header of the packets for this bearer, EPS bearer]
Regarding Claim 9 (Currently Amended),
wherein an adaptation layer header of the second message carries the terminal identifier of the first remote terminal and the bearer identifier of the first remote terminal [Cheng: 0099; the transmitting device may use the bearer mapping configuration to select an identifier associated with a first virtual radio bearer; the first virtual radio bearer may correspond to the first bearer and the relay link may correspond to a radio bearer; the transmitting device may configure, according to the bearer mapping configuration, a header of the packet that is processed by the relay wireless device to include an identifier; the identifier may carry or otherwise convey information associated with the first bearer; 0108; the eNB may also determine the radio bearer to send the packet based on the remote UE context; in this particular example, the remote UE may be associated with the relay UE, and therefore, the packets may be sent via a radio bearer of the relay UE associated with this remote UE, or the EPS bearer of this remote UE; the packet sent via the relay UE's radio bearer may carry the QCI and ARP value in the adaptation (or PDCP) header and the relay UE 115-b may process each packet accordingly; the bit rate metrics for the packet (e.g., AMBR, GBR, maximum bitrate (MBR), etc.) may be managed or selected by base station 105-a, rather than by the relay UE 115-b; the adaptation layer may include an identifier to differentiate packets of different remote UEs; 0115; for example; in the downlink example for the PC5 radio interface, the relay UE 115-b may map the identifier to the corresponding link 210 with the remote UE 115-a].
Regarding Claims 10-11, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 1 and 4 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1 and 4 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 14 (Currently Amended),
further comprising: transmitting, by the network-side device, a radio resource control (RRC) setup message to the relay terminal, wherein the RRC setup message carries the UE ID assigned by the network-side device to the first remote terminal [Cheng: 0108; the eNB may also determine the radio bearer to send the packet based on the remote UE context; in this particular example, the remote UE may be associated with the relay UE, and therefore, the packets may be sent via a radio bearer of the relay UE associated with this remote UE, or the EPS bearer of this remote UE; the packet sent via the relay UE's radio bearer may carry the QCI and ARP value in the adaptation (or PDCP) header and the relay UE 115-b may process each packet accordingly; the bit rate metrics for the packet (e.g., AMBR, GBR, maximum bitrate (MBR), etc.) may be managed or selected by base station 105-a, rather than by the relay UE 115-b; the adaptation layer may include an identifier to differentiate packets of different remote UEs; 0115; for example; in the downlink example for the PC5 radio interface, the relay UE 115-b may map the identifier to the corresponding link 210 with the remote UE 115-a;0148; header configuration manager 735 may configure, according to the bearer mapping configuration, a header of the packet that is processed by a relay wireless device to include an identifier, the identifier conveying information associated with the first bearer; header configuration manager 735 may configure the header to include a set of identifiers, each identifier conveying information associated with a corresponding bearer; 0149; mapping manager 740 may configure, according to the bearer mapping configuration, the header of the packet to include an identifier that conveys an indication of the first bearer; in some cases, the mapping is identified according to a RRC configuration message exchanged during the connection establishment procedure; 0115; for example, when a bearer, e.g., EPS bearer is setup for the remote UE, signaling from the MIME may inform the eNB (or base station) regarding the QoS profile and bearer identifications, e.g. the E-RAB ID. As the eNB is aware of the association of the remote UE and relay UE, it understands the need to carry the corresponding bearer of the remote UE in a relay UE's radio bearer; after identified the corresponding radio bearer of the relay UE, the eNB may send a RRC connection reconfiguration message to inform the relay UE of such arrangement, and the corresponding identifier to be used in the L2 header of the packets for this bearer, EPS bearer].
Regarding Claims 15-17, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 1, 4, and 9 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1, 4, and 9 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 18, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claim 1 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 1 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 19, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claim 15 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 15 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 20, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claim 10 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 10 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 21 (New),
wherein the first message and the second message are both RRC setup request messages [Cheng: 0115; after identified the corresponding radio bearer of the relay UE, the eNB may send a RRC connection reconfiguration message to inform the relay UE of such arrangement, and the corresponding identifier to be used in the L2 header of the packets for this bearer, EPS bearer. The RRC connection reconfiguration message may also inform the relay UE regarding the QoS profile of this particular bearer … for each remote UE, the relay UE 115-b may setup a virtual link whenever it receives a RRC connection reconfiguration message for the virtual DRB(s) over the Uu radio interface. This may use a PC5 signaling protocol (PC5-SP) that includes a mechanism to allow the relay UE 115-b triggered link setup; 0116; in an uplink example of Uu radio interface, the remote UE 115-a may maintain a mapping of the virtual link of the PC5 interface and its own DRBs; the QoS profile associated with the virtual link may be configured by the base station 105-a or negotiated with the relay UE 115-b during the link setup over the PC5 interface; 0149; mapping manager 740 may configure, according to the bearer mapping configuration, the header of the packet to include an identifier that conveys an indication of the first bearer; in some cases, the mapping is identified according to a RRC configuration message exchanged during the connection establishment procedure; 0143; Fig. 7; wireless device 705 may be an example of aspects of a wireless device 605 or a UE 115 or base station 105 as described herein].
Regarding Claim 22, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 21 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 21 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 23, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 9 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 9 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 24, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 21 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 21 is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Hong (WO 2019/059638; included in IDS).
Regarding Claim 2,
wherein the determining, by the relay terminal, a relay bearer channel for forwarding the first message comprises:
determining, by the relay terminal, a type of the first message based on a PC5 logical channel identifier corresponding to the first message, an SRB0 identifier of the first message, or an end-to-end bearer identifier of the first remote terminal [Cheng: 0120; for SRBs of the remote UE, some default configuration of the QoS treatment can be provided to the eNB or default QoS handling can be standardized. In this case, the packets that is used for carrying the signaling message could carry the corresponding QoS indication, e.g. other than the normal QCI value or ARP value; similarly, when a second approach is used for virtual radio bearer identifier, the eNB or relay UE could use a special identifier to represent the signaling bearers and the RRC Connection Reconfiguration message can carry some special IEs just for virtual SRB binding]; and
Cheng teaches that the type of the first message is SRB0 message [Cheng: 0078; 0079].
However, Cheng does not teach the limitation, which recites … determining, by the relay terminal, that the relay bearer channel for forwarding the first message is a first default radio link control channel.
Hong teaches:
in a case that the type of the first message is SRB0 message, determining, by the relay terminal, that the relay bearer channel for forwarding the first message is a first default radio link control channel [Hong: Fig. 18; p. 25; the control unit 1810 may control the adapter entity to generate header information including at least one of a relay node identifier, a remote node identifier, a DRB identifier, an SRB identifier, and a logical channel identifier … in addition, the control unit 1810 may control the adapter entity to perform a linking process by separating the RLC entity bearer or RB bearer signal into the RLC bearer; Fig. 16; p. 17; the message header layer header includes a terminal identifier for identifying the UE, a bearer identifier (e.g., a radio bearer identifier (drb-Identity) or a signaling bearer identifier (srb-Identity, SRB0, SRB1, SRB2 ), Logical channel identification information associated with the QoS information (logicalChannelIdentity), and eps-BearerIdentity); p. 14; here, the RLC bearer indicates the channel between the RLC entity of the relay node and the RLC entity of the base station to be peered; for convenience of description, the RLC bearer is referred to as a radio bearer, but this can be replaced by an RLC bearer or an RLC channel],
or in a case that the type of the first message is not SRB0 message, determining, by the relay terminal based on mappings between radio bearer data types and radio link control channels, that the relay bearer channel for forwarding the first message is a radio link control channel having a mapping to the type of the first message.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cheng and Hong in order to provide reachability to a remote node in the network [Hong: p. 2].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1 on pages 12-13 of the Remarks section that in Cheng a receiving device receives a packet including a header processed by a relay wireless device, and such packet cannot be deemed as the first message sent from the first remote terminal to the relay terminal, which has not been processed by the relay terminal yet. The processing of the header at the relay terminal does not indicate whether a message from the remote terminal carries the UE ID and the bearer identifier. Therefore, Cheng fails to teach the feature “the first message does not comprise a UE ID and bearer identifier of the first remote terminal.”
Examiner’s Response:
For purposes of brevity, please see the mapping in the Office Action above.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1 on page 13 of the Remarks section that Cheng does not teach determining a relay bearer channel for forwarding the packet. Moreover, it fails to disclose that the identifier included in the header processed by the relay device is the UE ID and the bearer identifier of the remote terminal, where the identifier is used for determining a type of the first message is SRB0.
Examiner’s Response:
For purposes of brevity, please see the mapping in the Office Action above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468