DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/308,662 filed on 04/27/2023, in which Claims 1 – 20 were filed for examination.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 16 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) and Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/27/2023 and 12/19/2023 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Title of the Invention
37 C.F.R. 1.72(a) states: "The title of the invention may not exceed 500 characters in length and must be as short and specific as possible" (emphasis added). Thus, the title of the invention is not sufficiently descriptive. A new title is required that is more clearly and more specifically indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 16 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sinur at al. (US 2022/0381459).
Regarding Claim 1, Sinur teaches a ventilation control apparatus (See Sinur’s par 0063 and par 0075), comprising:
a storage, being configured to store a plurality of first historical sensing data corresponding to a plurality of first time intervals and an activation condition (Sinur in par 0065 – 0066, teaches that the first networking layer 108 may store in memory, access, and execute programming to maintain application programming interfaces (API) for operating a mobile application 114 and user interface 116 instantiated on the one or more user devices 112. Additionally, the first networking layer 108 may operate to prompt user input of information regarding the air quality management ecosystem 104 for a particular application of the air quality management system 100. Additionally, the first networking layer 108 may store information associating particular ones of the air quality management devices 106 with the one or more air quality management ecosystems 104. A number of suitable communications and control protocols (or Internet of Things Platforms) may be utilized by the second networking layer to monitor and direct the air quality management devices 1.Sinur in par 0078, further teaches that a second hysteresis threshold monitors whether an air quality value is above a second conditional threshold. However, the second hysteresis threshold is updated based on settled air quality values observed within the air quality management ecosystem 104. A deactivation hysteresis threshold represents 95% of the activation threshold. Thus, if the activation threshold is adjusted via sensor sensitivity adjustment, then the deactivation threshold is similarly adjusted. Sinur in par 0087 and Fig. 13A, further teaches that the graphical representation 582 graphically displays measurement levels of a selected one or more of the air quality attributes 578 over a selected one of the time periods 580);
a ventilation apparatus, wherein the ventilation apparatus corresponds to the activation condition (Sinur in par 0063, teaches that the air quality management devices 106 may include ventilation devices, sensors and/or fresh air system devices. Sinur in par 0074, further teaches that the bath fan function block 204 is executed for each bath fan device presently controlled by the air quality management ecosystem 104. Sinur in par 0079, further teaches that for example, if a current humidity level is 30%, the derivative threshold for the slope to activate an associated bath fan device may be 7.5%/minute, but if the current humidity level is 50% then the threshold is lowered to 3.75%/minute); and
a processor, being electrically connected to the storage and the ventilation apparatus (Sinur in par 0089, further teaches that computing device(s) and networks implementing the system and/or method 100 may be, for example, desktop computers, mobile computers, voice-controlled or voice activate devices, mobile devices (e.g., a smartphone or personal digital assistant), or any other devices having appropriate processor, memory, and communications capabilities for implementing the control method 102 and presenting the user interface 116 to one or more users), and being configured to perform operations comprising:
calculating a plurality of deviation values corresponding to the first time intervals based on the first historical sensing data (Sinur in par 0034, teaches a method of operating at least one air quality management device includes steps of identifying an air quality measurement, setting an air quality measurement threshold, monitoring an air quality measurement, comparing the monitored air quality measurement to the air quality measurement threshold, maintaining a hysteresis value for the comparing step, wherein an amount of time during which the comparing step results in the monitored air quality measurement exceeding the air quality measurement threshold is cumulated during a preselected time period, and establishing a hysteresis threshold for evaluating the hysteresis value via comparison. Sinur in par 0079, further teaches an average humidity check 282 compares the current humidity against a long-term average or exponential moving average. The average humidity may be determined using the current humidity and a previous average humidity value);
determining an adjustment parameter based on the deviation values (Sinur in par 0035, further teaches that the air quality measurement threshold is adjusted in response to the comparison of the hysteresis value to the hysteresis threshold. Sinur in par 0079, further teaches that a current humidity measurement and the previous humidity average are used to calculate a new humidity average, with a greater weighting value applied to the previous humidity average. If a relative humidity is within 5% from a relative humidity limit, then the sensitivity of a humidity sensor may be decreased by 10% (or 4% or another suitable relative quantity), at register update step 284, in order to lower a humidity threshold);
updating the activation condition based on the adjustment parameter Sinur in par 0078, further teaches that the second hysteresis threshold monitors whether an air quality value is above a second conditional threshold. However, the second hysteresis threshold is updated based on settled air quality values observed within the air quality management ecosystem 104. A deactivation hysteresis threshold represents 95% of the activation threshold. Thus, if the activation threshold is adjusted via sensor sensitivity adjustment, then the deactivation threshold is similarly adjusted. The threshold values for the derivatives of absolute thresholds are also adjustable based on current measurements for each sensor. Sinur in par 0079, further teaches that derivative threshold may be adjusted to account for the current humidity level (e.g., instead of a fixed threshold for the humidity's slope/derivative, the current humidity measurements are used to adjust the derivative threshold). For example, if a current humidity level is 30%, the derivative threshold for the slope to activate an associated bath fan device may be 7.5%/minute, but if the current humidity level is 50% then the threshold is lowered to 3.75%/minute); and
transmitting a first control signal corresponding to the adjustment parameter to the ventilation apparatus to instruct the ventilation apparatus to operate based on the activation condition (Sinur in par 0079, further teaches that derivative threshold may be adjusted to account for the current humidity level (e.g., instead of a fixed threshold for the humidity's slope/derivative, the current humidity measurements are used to adjust the derivative threshold). For example, if a current humidity level is 30%, the derivative threshold for the slope to activate an associated bath fan device may be 7.5%/minute, but if the current humidity level is 50% then the threshold is lowered to 3.75%/minute. Sinur in par 0087 and Fig(s) 13A – 18B, further teaches that the air quality management system 100 does not have a CO2 range such that CO2 can become low to a point that the system 100 would implement an action. Instead, CO2 levels only trigger actions when the measured levels thereof are too high. The first and second thresholds 592, 594 may be interpreted by the air quality control system 100 as triggers for more than one reaction. For example, exceeding the first threshold 592 for particulate matter may warrant remediation by a single fan located in a kitchen).
Regarding Claim 2, Sinur teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 1. Sinur further teaches:
wherein each of the first historical sensing data corresponds to a highest gas values in each of the first time intervals (Sinur in par 0087 and Fig(s). 13A, 17A and 17B, further teaches that the graphical representation 582 graphically displays measurement levels of a selected one or more of the air quality attributes 578 over a selected one of the time periods 580. The graphical representation 582 may also display indications of threshold levels. Threshold level indicators may be specific to the air quality attributes 578 and the unique measurement thereof. Figures 17A and 17B depict the user interface configurations 554, 556, 558 for interaction with and monitoring of a particulate matter attribute. First and second thresholds 592, 594 are shown in graphical representations of the user interface configurations 554, 556, 558 to signify when a particulate matter attribute level exceeds first and second limits. The first and second thresholds 592, 594 may be interpreted by the air quality control system 100 as triggers for more than one reaction. For example, exceeding the first threshold 592 for particulate matter may warrant remediation by a single fan located in a kitchen. However, exceeding the second threshold 594 may warrant a response by more of the air quality management devices 106 than a kitchen fan).
Regarding Claim 3, Sinur teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 1. Sinur further teaches:
wherein the deviation values indicate a difference between the first historical sensing data and a standard gas threshold (Sinur in par 0034, teaches a method of operating at least one air quality management device includes steps of identifying an air quality measurement, setting an air quality measurement threshold, monitoring an air quality measurement, comparing the monitored air quality measurement to the air quality measurement threshold, maintaining a hysteresis value for the comparing step, wherein an amount of time during which the comparing step results in the monitored air quality measurement exceeding the air quality measurement threshold is cumulated during a preselected time period, and establishing a hysteresis threshold for evaluating the hysteresis value via comparison. Sinur in par 0079, further teaches that an average humidity check 282 compares the current humidity against a long-term average or exponential moving average. In an example, the average humidity may be determined using the current humidity and a previous average humidity value).
Regarding Claim 4, Sinur teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 1. Sinur further teaches:
wherein the activation condition corresponds to an activation threshold, and the adjustment parameter corresponds to a threshold adjustment value (Sinur in par 0079, further teaches that derivative threshold may be adjusted to account for the current humidity level (e.g., instead of a fixed threshold for the humidity's slope/derivative, the current humidity measurements are used to adjust the derivative threshold). For example, if a current humidity level is 30%, the derivative threshold for the slope to activate an associated bath fan device may be 7.5%/minute, but if the current humidity level is 50% then the threshold is lowered to 3.75%/minute), and the processor is further configured to perform following operations:
transmitting the first control signal corresponding to the threshold adjustment value to the ventilation apparatus to instruct the ventilation apparatus to operate based on the activation threshold (Sinur in par 0079, further teaches that derivative threshold may be adjusted to account for the current humidity level (e.g., instead of a fixed threshold for the humidity's slope/derivative, the current humidity measurements are used to adjust the derivative threshold). For example, if a current humidity level is 30%, the derivative threshold for the slope to activate an associated bath fan device may be 7.5%/minute, but if the current humidity level is 50% then the threshold is lowered to 3.75%/minute. Sinur in par 0087 and Fig(s) 13A – 18B, further teaches that the air quality management system 100 does not have a CO2 range such that CO2 can become low to a point that the system 100 would implement an action. Instead, CO2 levels only trigger actions when the measured levels thereof are too high. The first and second thresholds 592, 594 may be interpreted by the air quality control system 100 as triggers for more than one reaction. For example, exceeding the first threshold 592 for particulate matter may warrant remediation by a single fan located in a kitchen).
Regarding Claim 5, Sinur teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 1. Sinur further teaches:
wherein the activation condition corresponds to an activation time, the adjustment parameter corresponds to a time adjustment value (Sinur in par 0074, further teaches that the bath fan function block 204 is executed for each bath fan device presently controlled by the air quality management ecosystem 104. Sinur in par 0079, further teaches that for example, if a current humidity level is 30%, the derivative threshold for the slope to activate an associated bath fan device may be 7.5%/minute, but if the current humidity level is 50% then the threshold is lowered to 3.75%/minute), and the processor is further configured to perform following operations:
transmitting the first control signal corresponding to the time adjustment value to the ventilation apparatus to instruct the ventilation apparatus to operate based on the activation time (Sinur in par 0087, further teaches that he code ventilation process 600 allows the air quality management system 100 to trigger entry of the system 100 into either a basic routine 602 or an advanced routine 604 for complying with EPA recommendations and/or codes for ventilation requirements. A basic routine may ventilate are for a period of time each hour (or another suitable interval) without regarding for the ventilation history of the air quality management system 100 or measurements of the air quality monitors reading information on air quality attributes into the air quality management system 100).
Regarding Claim 6, Sinur teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 1. Sinur further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to perform following operations:
receiving a plurality of second historical sensing data corresponding to a second time interval from the ventilation apparatus (Sinur in par 0073, teaches that the air quality function 202 may query the air quality management devices 106 for air quality measurement values and identification of the air quality management devices 104. The air quality function 202 may be called frequently within operation of the air quality management system 100, e.g., every 10 seconds. Sinur in par 0087 and Fig. 13A, further teaches that the graphical representation 582 graphically displays measurement levels of a selected one or more of the air quality attributes 578 over a selected one of the time periods 580. The graphical representation 582 may also display indications of threshold levels. Threshold level indicators may be specific to the air quality attributes 578 and the unique measurement thereof); and
generating a second control signal based on the second historical sensing data, wherein the second control signal is configured to determine an air volume of the ventilation apparatus (Sinur in par 0070, further teaches that when only range hood devices and bath fan devices are available for assignment as the whole house ventilation device, then a selection may be made based on which device is capable of producing a higher maximum cubic feet per minute (CFM) rate of air flow/ventilation. Sinur in par 0074, further teaches that the air quality management function 202 enters the bath fan function block 204 and checks, at decision step 212, whether an incremental counter 214 is greater than a number of bath fans present amongst the air quality management devices 106 in the presently controlled air quality management ecosystem 104. If the number of bath fans is greater than the incremental counter 214 than this function executes steps 216, 218 wherein sensor update functions are called, which updates sensor information received from the current bath fan. If the incremented bath fan is not in a “do not disturb” mode, then a bath fan control function/process 230 is called to operate the bath fan in accordance with any inputs or other directives of the air quality management system 100. After the bath fan control function 230 has been called, the incremental counter 214 is incremented and the function returns to decision step 212. Once the incremental counter 214 exceeds the number of bath fans present within the example air quality management ecosystem 104, then the air quality management function 202 moves to the next functional block. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 8, the air quality management function 202 moves from the bath fan function block 204, to the range hood function block 206, followed by the air quality sensor function block 208).
Regarding Claim 8, Sinur teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Sinur further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to perform following operations:
receiving a plurality of second historical sensing data corresponding to a second time interval from the ventilation apparatus (Sinur in par 0073, teaches that the air quality function 202 may query the air quality management devices 106 for air quality measurement values and identification of the air quality management devices 104. The air quality function 202 may be called frequently within operation of the air quality management system 100, e.g., every 10 seconds. Sinur in par 0087 and Fig. 13A, further teaches that the graphical representation 582 graphically displays measurement levels of a selected one or more of the air quality attributes 578 over a selected one of the time periods 580. The graphical representation 582 may also display indications of threshold levels. Threshold level indicators may be specific to the air quality attributes 578 and the unique measurement thereof); and
generating a third control signal based on the second historical sensing data, wherein the third control signal is configured to adjust an air volume of the ventilation apparatus (Sinur in par 0076 – 0078 and Fig. 9A, further teaches that in the currently-off bath fan function block 236, a maximum speed capability of the bath fan device is observed at step 240. If the bath fan has a first speed and a second speed, then the function enters step 242 whereat a second conditional threshold for entry of the bath fan device into the second speed is observed. Typically, the second speed is faster than the first speed and is associated with a higher conditional threshold compared to the first speed, which would have a correspondingly lower conditional threshold. If the second conditional threshold is not met, then the bath fan process 230 proceeds to step 244 whereat a first conditional threshold for entry of the bath fan device into the first speed is observed. Once the start delay variable 248 surpasses value 3 at step 252, the conditional threshold for the second speed of the bath fan device has persisted for a sufficient length of time that the bath fan device state should be updated to “2”. This feature ensures that the bath fan device is not turned on for a spike in data, but instead for the true and consistent presence of an air quality attribute that exceeds the conditional threshold. The bath fan device state is updated to “2” at step 254, and the bath fan device is directed to operate at the second speed).
Regarding Claim 9, Sinur teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 8. Sinur further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to perform following operations:
calculating an integral value of the second historical sensing data in a third time interval (Sinur in par 0073, teaches that the air quality function 202 may query the air quality management devices 106 for air quality measurement values and identification of the air quality management devices 104. The air quality function 202 may be called frequently within operation of the air quality management system 100, e.g., every 10 seconds. Sinur in par 0087 and Fig. 13A, further teaches that the graphical representation 582 graphically displays measurement levels of a selected one or more of the air quality attributes 578 over a selected one of the time periods 580. The graphical representation 582 may also display indications of threshold levels. Threshold level indicators may be specific to the air quality attributes 578 and the unique measurement thereof); and
comparing the integral value with a standard gas threshold to generate the third control signal (Sinur in par 0073, further teaches he air quality management system 100 operates the one or more air quality management devices 106 to monitor air quality, maintain air quality, and comply with air circulation and quality requirements of one or more building codes or residential/commercial building ventilation standards, e.g., ASHRAE 62.2/62.1, Canada Standards Association (CSA) F326—Residential Mechanical Ventilation Systems, International Energy Conservation Code® (IECC), ANSI/ASHRAE/IESNA Standard 90.1, etc. The goal of the air quality management system 100 operating to comply with a standard may be to meet ventilation/airflow standards or to maintain an air quality such that indoor air pollutants are below recommended levels).
Regarding Claim 10, Sinur teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Sinur further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to perform following operations:
receiving a plurality of second historical sensing data corresponding to a second time interval from the ventilation apparatus (Sinur in par 0073, teaches that the air quality function 202 may query the air quality management devices 106 for air quality measurement values and identification of the air quality management devices 104. The air quality function 202 may be called frequently within operation of the air quality management system 100, e.g., every 10 seconds. Sinur in par 0087 and Fig. 13A, further teaches that the graphical representation 582 graphically displays measurement levels of a selected one or more of the air quality attributes 578 over a selected one of the time periods 580. The graphical representation 582 may also display indications of threshold levels. Threshold level indicators may be specific to the air quality attributes 578 and the unique measurement thereof); and
generating a second control signal and a third control signal based on the second historical sensing data, wherein the second control signal is configured to determine an air volume of the ventilation apparatus (Sinur in par 0070, further teaches that when only range hood devices and bath fan devices are available for assignment as the whole house ventilation device, then a selection may be made based on which device is capable of producing a higher maximum cubic feet per minute (CFM) rate of air flow/ventilation. Sinur in par 0074, further teaches that after the bath fan control function 230 has been called, the incremental counter 214 is incremented and the function returns to decision step 212. Once the incremental counter 214 exceeds the number of bath fans present within the example air quality management ecosystem 104, then the air quality management function 202 moves to the next functional block. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 8, the air quality management function 202 moves from the bath fan function block 204, to the range hood function block 206, followed by the air quality sensor function block 208), and the third control signal is configured to adjust the air volume of the ventilation apparatus (Sinur in par 0076 – 0078 and Fig. 9A, further teaches that in the currently-off bath fan function block 236, a maximum speed capability of the bath fan device is observed at step 240. If the bath fan has a first speed and a second speed, then the function enters step 242 whereat a second conditional threshold for entry of the bath fan device into the second speed is observed. Typically, the second speed is faster than the first speed and is associated with a higher conditional threshold compared to the first speed, which would have a correspondingly lower conditional threshold. If the second conditional threshold is not met, then the bath fan process 230 proceeds to step 244 whereat a first conditional threshold for entry of the bath fan device into the first speed is observed. Once the start delay variable 248 surpasses value 3 at step 252, the conditional threshold for the second speed of the bath fan device has persisted for a sufficient length of time that the bath fan device state should be updated to “2”. This feature ensures that the bath fan device is not turned on for a spike in data, but instead for the true and consistent presence of an air quality attribute that exceeds the conditional threshold. The bath fan device state is updated to “2” at step 254, and the bath fan device is directed to operate at the second speed).
Regarding Claim 11, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 1. Accordingly, Sinur discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 11, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 2. Accordingly, Sinur discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 12, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 3. Accordingly, Sinur discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 13, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 4. Accordingly, Sinur discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 14, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 15, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 5. Accordingly, Sinur discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 15, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 16, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 6. Accordingly, Sinur discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 16, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 8. Accordingly, Sinur discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 18, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 9. Accordingly, Sinur discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 19, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 10. Accordingly, Sinur discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 20, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinur in view of Bartlett et al. (US 2005/0156052) (hereinafter, Bartlett).
Regarding Claim 7, Sinur teaches the limitation contained in parent Claim 6. Sinur further teaches:
wherein the second historical sensing data comprises a real-time sensing data (Sinur in par 0077 and Fig. 9, further teaches that if the second conditional threshold is met at step 242, then the bath fan process 230 updates the start delay variable 248 at increment step 250. The start delay variable 248 operates to delay a state change of the bath fan device until the conditional threshold has been surpassed for a certain length of time. In this example, timer start delay is measured in passes through the bath fan control process 230 (i.e., by incrementing the start delay variable 248 until the start delay variable 248 surpasses integer value 3. Given that the bath fan control process 230 is called by the air quality management function 202, which, in turn, is called about every ten seconds, the start delay variable surpasses the integer value “3” after about thirty seconds of a persistent air quality attribute exceeding the conditional threshold. Once the start delay variable 248 surpasses value 3 at step 252, the conditional threshold for the second speed of the bath fan device has persisted for a sufficient length of time that the bath fan device state should be updated to “2”. This feature ensures that the bath fan device is not turned on for a spike in data, but instead for the true and consistent presence of an air quality attribute that exceeds the conditional threshold), and the processor is further configured to perform following operations:
Sinur in par 0073, further teaches he air quality management system 100 operates the one or more air quality management devices 106 to monitor air quality, maintain air quality, and comply with air circulation and quality requirements of one or more building codes or residential/commercial building ventilation standards, e.g., ASHRAE 62.2/62.1, Canada Standards Association (CSA) F326—Residential Mechanical Ventilation Systems, International Energy Conservation Code® (IECC), ANSI/ASHRAE/IESNA Standard 90.1, etc. The goal of the air quality management system 100 operating to comply with a standard may be to meet ventilation/airflow standards or to maintain an air quality such that indoor air pollutants are below recommended levels.
However, Sinur is not specifically calculating a ratio, thus, Sinur does not specifically disclose calculating a ratio between the real-time sensing data and a standard gas threshold to generate the second control signal.
Bartlett teaches a method for meeting a fresh air ventilation threshold in a controlled space (See Bartlett’s Abstract). Bartlett in par 0028 and Fig. 3, further teaches that an amount of information may be input or manipulated to allow the system to determine a desired amount of ventilation for a particular structure. For example, the information may include such items as total space volume, floor space, HVAC system capacities, and/or other information including user preferences. During initialization, a desired ventilation rate is selected. The desired ventilation rate may be, for example, 10 minutes per hour. In order to achieve the desired ventilation rate, an estimated ratio R is selected. The ratio R is equal to the amount of ventilation desired divided by the amount of circulation expected, where circulation occurs whenever there is a call for operation of a circulation fan for non-fresh-air-ventilation reasons. Barlett in par 0033, further teaches that the method may run for an hour or some other period of time, where the ratio R is used to open and close an fresh air ventilation (FAV) damper during normal HVAC system operation.
Bartlett in par 0040, further teaches that an FAV goal may be met by using a ratio factor R. When R is less than one, R is used to open and close an FAV damper during ordinary HVAC circulation fan operation. If R is one, then the FAV damper is opened during all circulation fan operations. If R is greater than one, the method includes extending ordinary circulation cycles by keeping the circulation fan on while keeping the FAV damper open, where the circulation cycles are extended by a ratio of R.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Bartlett with the teachings as in Sinur to calculate a ratio with the data of Sinur as disclosed in Bartlett. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively calculate a ratio and using the ratio to control the ventilation, thus effectively controlling the air quality in a desired area (See Bartlett’s par 0020 and 0036).
Regarding Claim 17, this Claim merely recites a ventilation control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a ventilation apparatus, and the ventilation control method comprises steps as similarly recited in Claim 7. Accordingly, Sinur in view of Bartlett discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 17, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ARIEL MERCADO-VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118