DETAILED ACTION
Notice
The cross text is not considered by examiner because at least one statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 6-21 and 23-34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As claims 1 and 17, “transmit a feedback to the at least one BS, wherein the feedback comprises at least one of: a feedback for the at least one SCI and at least one identity of the UE;” is not disclose in the specification because the specification does not disclose feedback for each of SCIs comprising SCI and identify of UE because of at least one of A and B will include A, B and A and B.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 5/12/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: ” transmit a feedback to the at least one BS, wherein the feedback comprises at least one of: a feedback for the at least one SCI and at least one identity of the UE” of claims 1 and 17.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 11, 13, 15, 17-21, 23-24, 27, 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini [US 2022/0053433] in view of Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948].
As claims 1 and 17, Abedini [US 2022/0053433] discloses a network-controlled repeater (NCR) [Fig 12, Ref 1204 discloses forwarding and amplifier the signals to at least one of Ref 1202 “base station” and 1206 “UE”, Fig 14] for relaying a plurality of signals to at least one of: at least one base station (BS) and at least one user equipment (UE), the network-controlled repeater (NCR) comprising: a mobile terminal (MT) configured to [Fig 12, Ref 1208 is MT] perform a signaling exchange with the at least one base station (BS) [Fig 14, Fig 39-40 discloses MT of repeater device exchanges the signaling with the base station], wherein in performing the signaling exchanges, the MT of the NCR is configured to transmit at least one signal comprising an indication that the connection is being established by an NCR [Fig 39, Ref 3916 discloses the NCR send a setup complete message to base station to indicate a connection is established by NCR with base station, Par 219, 372, 0434, 0436, 0473-0474], wherein the at least one signal is a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete signal [Fig 39, Ref 3916 discloses the NCR send a setup complete message to base station to indicate a connection is established by NCR with base station, Par. 219, 372, 0434, 0436, 0473-0474] and receive at least one side control information (SCI) from the at least one (BS) [Par. 0219, 0350 disclose Ref 1404 receives side control information from base station such as dynamic configuration, semi-static configuration], wherein the at least one SCI is at least one of ¸[Par. 0219, 0350 disclose Ref 1404 receives side control information from base station such as dynamic configuration, semi-static configuration, Ref 1410-1414]; wherein the at least one SCI is received in a dedicated control channel for the NCR scrambled using a dedicated radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) for the at least one SCI of the NCR [Par. 0219 discloses the base station scrambles the DCI with RU-RNTI] and wherein the at least one SCI comprises at least one of [Par. 0219 discloses TDD configuration, Par. 0347, power control, Par. 0351, 0795 and ON-OFF configuration. Notice], [Fig 14, Ref 1404a and 1404b includes the at least one SCI comprises at least one of a time division duplex (TDD) configuration, a power control configuration, a timing advance (TA) configuration, and an ON-OFF configuration of the NCR, the limitation of the configuration in the at least one SCI comprises at least one beam-index and at least one time-resource, Par. 0219 for resource allocation and 0147 and 0341 for beam index], a radio unit (RU) configured to: receive at least one signal of a first set of signals based on the at least one SCI [Fig 1404a and 1404b for receiving signal from Ref 1402 and 1406 based on Ref 1414, Fig 39-40]; and transmit the at least one signal of the first set of signals based on the at least one SCI [Fig 1404a and 1404b for transmitting signal from Ref 1402 and 1406 based on Ref 1414, Fig 39-40] and transmit a feedback to the at least one BS wherein the feedback comprises at least one of a feedback for the at least one SCI [Par. 0316, 0350 discloses repeater feedback to base station], and at least one identity of the UE [Par. 0315, 0336 discloses UE reports its measurement to access node via repeater which includes UE’s ID]. However, Abedini [US 2022/0053433] fails to fully disclose transmit a feedback to the at least one BS wherein the feedback comprises at least one of a feedback for the at least one SCI and at least one identity of the UE. In the same field of endeavor, Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] discloses transmit a feedback to the at least one BS wherein the feedback comprises a feedback for the at least one SCI and at least one identity of the UE [Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] discloses at Par. 0214-0215, 0224-0226, 0235, 0256 discloses NCR receives DL SCI which includes SRS associated UE from base station and perform a measurement of SRS RSRP and report measured SRS to base station via UL SCI or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] discloses at Fig 9, 912 or Fig 10, 1011 wherein UE reports measured RSRP to Base station which includes UE ID].
Since, Abedini suggests NCR send a feedback after receiving beam configuration or connection request [See Abstract, Fig 39]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for transmitting a feedback to the at least one BS wherein the feedback comprises a feedback for the at least one SCI and at least one identity of the UE as disclosed by Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] into the teaching of Ali [US 2023/0130003]. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claims 2 and 18, Abedini discloses the NCR is configured to receive the at least one signal of the first set of signals from at least one of: the at least one base station (BS) and the at least one user equipment (UE) [Fig 1404a and 1404b for receiving signal from Ref 1402 and 1406 based on Ref 1414].
As claims 3 and 19, Abedini discloses the NCR is configured to transmit the at least one signal of the first set of signals to at least one of: the at least one user equipment (UE) and the at least one base station (BS) [Fig 1404a and 1404b for transmitting signal from Ref 1402 and 1406 based on Ref 1414].
As claims 4 and 20, Abedini discloses the at least one signal of the first set of signals comprises at least one of: a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSB) signals, physical random-access channel (PRACH) signals, channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS), sounding reference signals (SRS), positioning reference signals (PRS), demodulation reference signals (DMRS), phase-tracking reference signals (PTRS) [Par. 0114, 0116, 0122, 0125, 0128 discloses DMRS, SRS, SSB, PRACH, CSI-RS], and data channels, and wherein the data channels comprise at least one of: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Par. 0113, 0115, 0116, 0139 discloses PDCCH, PUCCH, PUSCH, PDSCH].
As claims 5 and 21, Abedini implicitly discloses in performing the signaling exchange, the mobile terminal (MT) of the network-controller repeater (NCR) is configured to: perform the signaling exchange for the at least one of initial access and synchronizing [Fig 14, Ref 1408]; receive a downlink synchronization signal from the at least one base station (BS); transmit an uplink synchronization signal to the at least one base station (BS) [Fig 14, Ref 1404 and 0007-0008 discloses synchronizing signal, Par. 0434]; transmit a radio resource control (RRC) setup request to the at least one base station (BS) for initiating a RRC connection to the at least one base station (BS) [Par. 0434 discloses RRC connection request]; receive an acknowledgement with a radio resource control (RRC) setup signal from the at least one base station (BS) wherein the radio resource control (RRC) setup signal indicates a radio resource control (RRC) connected state of the mobile terminal (MT) with the at least one base station (BS) [Fig 14, Ref 1408 and Par. 0434 discloses RRC connection response].
As claims 7 and 23, Abedini discloses [these claims are not considered by examiner because at least one of the at least one SCI comprises at least one of a beamforming configuration, a time division duplex (TDD) configuration, a power control configuration, a timing advance (TA) configuration, and an ON-OFF configuration of the NCR]
As claims 8 and 24, Abedini discloses in receiving the at least one signal of the first set of signals, the radio unit (RU) of the network-controller repeater (NCR) is configured to amplify the at least one signal of the first set of signals [Fig 13, Ref 1302 for amplifier signal before forwarding the signal].
As claims 11 and 27, Abedini discloses when the radio unit (RU) of the NCR comprises the radio frequency (RF) and L1 layer protocol stack [Fig 12-12 and Par. 0347 is RF and layer-1 stack relay], and in transmitting the at least one signal of the first set of signals, the radio unit (RU) of the NCR is configured to generate the at least one signal of the first set of signals [Fig 14, Ref 1404a for generating a signal for transmitting based on SCI information 1414], wherein in generating the at least one signal of the first set of signals is based on at least one of: the at least one SCI [Fig 14, Ref 1404a for generating a signal for transmitting based on SCI information 1414]; the at least one signal of the first set of signals received at the NCR [Fig 14, Ref 1404a for generating a signal for transmitting based on SCI information 1414]; and at least one signal received at the mobile terminal (MT) of the NCR [Fig 12, Ref 1212], wherein the at least one signal received at the mobile terminal (MT) of the NCR, comprises system information (SI), wherein the SI comprises at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) index [Par. 0400 discloses control signal associated with SSB index].
As claims 13 and 29, Abedini discloses in receiving the at least one SCI as a dynamic configuration [Par. 0219 and 0350], the network-controller repeater (NCR) is configured to: receive the at least one SCI in at least one of: a downlink control information (DCI) in dedicated physical downlink control channels (PDCCH), wherein the downlink control information (DCI) comprises a separate format dedicated for the network-controller repeater (NCR), wherein the separate format of the downlink control information (DCI) is scrambled using the radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) dedicated for the at least one side control information (SCI) [Par. 0219 discloses a DCI format with RU-RNTI used to convey information from base station to repeater, Fig 14] wherein the separate format of the downlink control information (DCI) format comprises fields for a plurality of side-control information applicable at a plurality of time resources [Par. 0219, 0350, 0362 for resource associated with side control information].
As claims 15 and 31, Abedini discloses wherein in transmitting the feedback to the at least one base station (BS), [Par. 0341 discloses ACK or NACK as UCI], the NCR is configured to: transmit the feedback as a part of at least one of: the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Par. 0254 discloses UCI in PUCCH].
As claim 33, Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] discloses the at least one identity is based on the at least one signal of the first set of signal received [Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] discloses at Par. 0214-0215, 0224-0226, 0235, 0256 discloses NCR receives DL SCI which includes SRS associated UE from base station and perform a measurement of SRS RSRP and report measured SRS to base station via UL SCI or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] discloses at Fig 9, 912 or Fig 10, 1011 wherein UE reports measured RSRP to Base station which includes UE ID].
Claim(s) 9 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini [US 2022/0053433] and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Abedini [US 2023/0119750].
As claims 9 and 25, Abedini and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] fails to fully disclose what Abedini [US 2023/0119750] discloses the at least one base station (BS) is configured to determine whether the at least one user equipment (UE) is connected to the NCR [Par. 0083 discloses base station determine if UE connect to base station] by: scheduling the at least one user equipment (UE) to transmit the at least one signal of the first set of signals in a time resource [Par. 0083 discloses UE is scheduled a resources for uplink and downlink at repeater by base station]; signaling an OFF state indication to the NCR)in the time resource [Par. 0083 discloses signaling off when no data in resource of UE]; identifying an index of the at least one user equipment (UE) from which the at least one signal of the first set of signals is received in the time resource [Par. 0083 discloses UE send data to repeater based on resources for uplink and downlink between the base station and UE]; signaling an ON state indication to the NCR in the time resource [Par. 0083 discloses signaling ON based resources]; and determining whether the at least one user equipment (UE) is connected to the network-controller repeater (NCR), based on the at least one signal of the first set of signals received from the at least one user equipment (UE) through the network-controller repeater (NCR) [Par. 0083].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for request the relay and base station for establishing connection between UE and base station via relay by reporting the received RNTI to base station from relay as disclosed by Abedini into the teaching of Abedini and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948]. The motivation would have been to reducing power consumption.
Claim(s) 12 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini [US 2022/0053433] and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Agiwal [US 2022/0132464].
As claims 12 and 28, Abedini [US 2022/0053433] and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] discloses when the radio unit (RU) of the network-controller repeater (NCR) comprises the radio frequency (RF) and the L1 layer protocol stack [Fig 12-12 and Par. 0347 is RF and layer-1 stack relay], and in receiving the at least one signal of the first set of signals, the radio unit (RU) of the NCR is configured to decode the at least one signal of the first set of signals, wherein in decoding the at least one signal of the first set of signals, the radio unit (RU) of the NCR is further configured to: decode at least one signal of the first set of signals received from the at least one user equipment (UE) [Fig 14, Ref 1404b for decoding the signal which is received from UE]. However, Abedini and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] fail to disclose determine an identity of the at least one user equipment (UE); and transmit the identity of the at least one user equipment (UE), in the at least one signal of the first set of signals, to the at least one base station (BS). In the same field of endeavor, Agiwal [US 2022/0132464] discloses determine an identity of the at least one user equipment (UE); and transmit the identity of the at least one user equipment (UE), in the at least one signal of the first set of signals, to the at least one base station (BS) [Par. 0471 and 0473 discloses UE send it RNTI to relay which decodes the message and extract the RNTI and send it to base station, Fig 11-13].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for request the relay and base station for establishing connection between UE and base station via relay by reporting the received RNTI to base station from relay as disclosed by Agiwal into the teaching of Abedini and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948]. The motivation would have been to prevent a loss call.
Claim(s) 14 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini [US 2022/0053433] and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Harada [US 2025/0106665].
As claims 14 and 30, Abedini discloses the at least one side control information (SCI) is at least one of: a static configuration and a semi-static configuration [Par. 0219 and 0350], wherein in receiving the at least one side control information (SCI) as at least one of: the static configuration and the semi-static configuration [Par. 0219 and 0350]. However, Abedini and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] fail to fully disclose the network-controller repeater (NCR) is configured to: receive the at least one side control information (SCI) in a part of data in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). In the same field of endeavor, Harada [US 2025/0106665] discloses the NCR is configured to: receive the at least one SCI in a part of data in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Par. 0120].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for conveying SCI via PDSCH as disclosed by Harada into the teaching of Abedini and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948]. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead signaling.
Claim(s) 16 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini [US 2022/0053433] and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Horn [US 2023/0097862].
As claims 16 and 32, Abedini and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] fail to disclose what Horn [US 2023/00978962] discloses the at least one base station (BS) is configured to determine a location of the at least one user equipment (UE) [Fig 9, Ref 956 and 954 for determining a location of UE] by: receiving the at least one signal of the first set of signals from the network-controller repeater (NCR) [Par. 920 for reporting measurement of PRS]; and determining the position of the at least one user equipment (UE) based on the at least one signal of the first set of signals [Fig 9, Ref 956 and 954 for determining a location of UE] and the at least one side control information (SCI) [Fig 9, Ref Position request] , wherein the at least one signal of the first set of signals comprises at least one of: the sounding reference signals (SRS) [Fig 9, SRS] and the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) carrying measurement report on the positioning reference signals (PRS) from the at least one user equipment (UE) [Par. 9, UL-SRS configuration and activated],
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determining a location of UE based on the measurement report from UE to base station as disclosed by Horn into the teaching of Abedini and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948]. The motivation would have been to save power consumption.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini [US 2022/0053433] and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Luo [US 2023/0084692].
As claim 34, Abedini [US 2022/0053433] and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948] fail to disclose what Luo discloses transmitting the feedback to the at least one BS comprises reporting the UE location at the NCR granularity [Par. 0058].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determining a location of UE based on the measurement report from UE to base station as disclosed by Lou into the teaching of Abedini and Molavianjazi [US 2024/0022931] or Karimidehkordi [US 2025/0088948]. The motivation would have been to prevent loss call.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 26 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As claims 10 and 26, Abedini fails to disclose the at least one base station (BS) is further configured to determine whether the at least one user equipment (UE) is connected to the network-controller repeater (NCR) by: transmitting the at least one signal of first the set of signals in the time resource, wherein the radio unit (RU) of the network-controller repeater (NCR) is in OFF state in the time resource; receiving power measurements in the at least one signal of the first set of signals, from the at least one user equipment (UE); determining a degradation of the power measurements when the at least one user equipment (UE) moves to an edge of a coverage area of the at least one base station (BS); signaling an ON state indication to the network-controller repeater (NCR); transmitting the at least one signal of the first set of signals to the network- controller repeater (NCR), wherein the network-controller repeater (NCR) is configured to receive the at least one signal of the first set of signals from the at least one base station (BS) and to transmit the received at least one signal of the first set of signals to the at least one user equipment (UE); receiving the power measurements in at least one signal of the first set of signals from the at least one user equipment (UE) through the network-controller repeater (NCR); and determining whether the at least one user equipment (UE) is connected to the network-controller repeater (NCR) based on the received power measurements in the at least one signal of the first set of signals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to pages 18-19, the applicant stated that the specification support transmit a feedback to the at least one BS, wherein the feedback comprises at least one of: a feedback for the at least one SCI and at least one identity of the UE. In reply, the specification does not indicated which feedback to comprises at least one of: a feedback for the at least one SCI and at least one identity of the UE or the feedbacks comprises at least one of: a feedback for the at least one SCI and at least one identity of the UE. Since, some feedbacks of the plurality of feedbacks includes at least one of: a feedback for the at least one SCI and at least one identity of the UE and the other feedback may include the at least one SCI or at least one identity of the UE at [Par. 0049, 0067-0069].
In response to pages 19-22, the applicant states that Abedini fails to disclose the transmitted radio resource control (RRC) setup complete signal comprises an indication that the connection is being established by a network-controlled repeater (NCR). In reply, the examiner disagrees with applicant because Abedini clearly discloses transmitted radio resource control (RRC) setup complete signal comprises an indication that the connection is being established by a network-controlled repeater (NCR) as showed in Fig 39, Ref 3904 send a RRC setup complete signal comprising indication that a connection is established by NCR with base station, Ref 3902. See Pars.
[0434] The initial access procedure 3900 may involve the network access node 3902 transmitting synchronization signaling (e.g., SSBs), a PBCH, RMSI, and other information (e.g., an indication that the network access node 3902 supports repeater devices) (e.g., transmitting SS/PBCH/RMSI/RptrSupportInd) to the repeater device 3904 at 3906. This may enable the repeater device 3904 to synchronize to the network access node 3902 and obtain initial access information (e.g., identify the resources to be used for a RACH procedure and determine whether the network access node supports repeater devices). The repeater device 3904 may then transmit a RACH preamble (Msg1) at 3908. In response to the RACH preamble, the network access node 3902 may transmits a random access response (Msg2—RAR) at 3910 to indicate resources for the repeater device 3904 to transmit an RRC connection request (Msg3) (e.g., RRConnRequest {RptrInd}) at 3912. An RRC connection request may be referred to as an RRC setup request. In response to the RRC connection request, the network access node 3902 may transmit an RRC connection (or setup) response (Msg4) (e.g., an RRCConnRsp) at 3914. The RRC connection response may be referred to as an RRC setup. The repeater device 3904 may then transmit an RRC capability response (Msg5) (e.g., RRCCapResp {CodebookMap, Rptrind}) at 3916. An RRC capability response may be referred to as an RRC setup complete. Once the RRC connection is established, the network access node 3902 may, over time, send RRC configuration information (e.g., RRCConfig {TRS, SSBAlloc, BWP, CORESET}) to the repeater device 3904 at 3918.
[0472] At block 4604, the wireless communication device may transmit the first indication to a network access node via at least one of: a first establishment cause message, a first radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, a first capability message, a first RRC message after establishing a first RRC connection with the network access node, a first medium access control (MAC) message, an uplink control information (UCI) message, or a combination thereof. For example, the identification circuitry 4542 together with the communication and processing circuitry 4541, the transceiver 4510, and the antennas/antenna array 4520, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 45, may transmit the indication to a gNB as discussed herein. Furthermore, the identification circuitry 4542 together with the communication and processing circuitry 4541, the transceiver 4510, and the antennas/antenna array 4520, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 45, may provide a means for transmitting the first indication to the network access node via at least one of: the first establishment cause message, the first radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, the first capability message, the first RRC message after establishing the first RRC connection with the network access node, the first medium access control (MAC) message, the uplink control information (UCI) message, or a combination thereof.
[0473] In some examples, the transmitting the first indication to the network access node may include transmitting the first establishment cause message in an RRC setup request message, wherein the first establishment cause message includes the first indication. In some examples, the first establishment cause message may include a bit field that contains a value indicative of a repeater device. In some examples, the transmitting the first indication to the network access node may include transmitting the first RRC setup complete message with a bit field that contains a value indicative of a repeater device.
[0474] In some examples, the transmitting the first indication to the network access node may include transmitting the first capability message with a bit field that contains a value indicative of a repeater device. In some examples, the process 4600 may further include, prior to transmitting the first capability message establishing a second RRC connection with the network access node, wherein the wireless communication device is identified as an integrated access backhaul (IAB) node. In some examples, the establishing the RRC connection with the network access node may include at least one of: using an IAB-specific random access channel (RACH) configuration, transmitting an IAB node indication in a second RRC setup complete message to the network access node, or a combination thereof.
[0497] At block 4902, a network access node may receive a first indication from a first wireless communication device via at least one of: a first establishment cause message, a first radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, a first capability message, a first RRC message after establishing a first RRC connection with the first wireless communication device, a first medium access control (MAC) message, or a combination thereof, wherein the first indication indicates that the first wireless communication device includes repeater device functionality. For example, the identification circuitry 4842 together with the communication and processing circuitry 4841, the transceiver 4810, and the antennas/antenna array 4820, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 48, may receive the first indication from the first wireless communication device via at least one of: the first establishment cause message, the first radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, the first capability message, the first RRC message after establishing the first RRC connection with the first wireless communication device, the first medium access control (MAC) message, or the combination thereof, wherein the first indication indicates that the first wireless communication device includes repeater device functionality. Furthermore, the identification circuitry 4842 together with the communication and processing circuitry 4841, the transceiver 4810, and the antennas/antenna array 4820, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 48, may provide a means for receiving the first indication from the first wireless communication device via at least one of: the first establishment cause message, the first radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, the first capability message, the first RRC message after establishing the first RRC connection with the first wireless communication device, the first medium access control (MAC) message, or the combination thereof, wherein the first indication indicates that the first wireless communication device includes repeater device functionality.
[0499] In some examples, the receiving the first indication from the first wireless communication device may include receiving the first establishment cause message in an RRC setup request message, wherein the first establishment cause message includes the first indication. In some examples, the first establishment cause message may include a bit field that contains a value indicative of a repeater device. In some examples, the receiving the first indication from the first wireless communication device may include receiving the first RRC setup complete message with a bit field that contains a value indicative of a repeater device.
[0500] In some examples, the receiving the first indication from the first wireless communication device may include receiving the first capability message with a bit field that contains a value indicative of a repeater device. In some examples, the process 4900 may further include, prior to receiving the first capability message, establishing a second RRC connection with the first wireless communication device identified as an integrated access backhaul (IAB) node. In some examples, the establishing the second RRC connection with the first wireless communication device may include receiving an IAB node indication in a second RRC setup complete message from the first wireless communication device.
[0510] In some examples, the determining that the wireless communication device includes the repeater device functionality may include receiving a second indication that the wireless communication device includes the repeater device functionality via at least one of: a first radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, a first capability message, a first RRC message after establishing an RRC connection with the wireless communication device, a first medium access control (MAC) message, or a combination thereof, and the process 5000 further may include generating the first RRC establishment cause message from the second indication.
[0511] In some examples, the first indication may include a repeater-device-specific indication, and the transmitting the first indication may include transmitting an initial user equipment (UE) message that includes the first indication. In some examples, the determining that the wireless communication device includes the repeater device functionality may include receiving a second indication that the wireless communication device includes the repeater device functionality via a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, and the process 5000 may further include generating the first indication from the second indication. In some examples, the determining that the wireless communication device includes the repeater device functionality may include receiving a second indication that the wireless communication device includes the repeater device functionality via at least one of: a first establishment cause message, a first capability message, a first RRC message after establishing an RRC connection with the wireless communication device, a first medium access control (MAC) message, or a combination thereof, and the process 5000 may further include generating the first indication from the second indication.
[0874] Aspect 318: A method of wireless communication at a wireless communication device, the method including: generating a first indication that the wireless communication device includes repeater functionality, and transmitting the first indication to a base station via at least one of: a first establishment cause message, a first radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, a first capability message, a first RRC message after establishing a first RRC connection with the base station, a first medium access control (MAC) message, an uplink control information (UCI) message, or a combination thereof.
So, the teaching of Abedini reads on transmitted radio resource control (RRC) setup complete signal comprises an indication that the connection is being established by a network-controlled repeater (NCR).
In response to page 22, the applicant states that Abedini fails to disclose feedback for the at least one side control information. In reply, the examiner disagrees with applicant because Abedini discloses feedback for the at least one side control information [0434] The initial access procedure 3900 may involve the network access node 3902 transmitting synchronization signaling (e.g., SSBs), a PBCH, RMSI, and other information (e.g., an indication that the network access node 3902 supports repeater devices) (e.g., transmitting SS/PBCH/RMSI/RptrSupportInd) to the repeater device 3904 at 3906. This may enable the repeater device 3904 to synchronize to the network access node 3902 and obtain initial access information (e.g., identify the resources to be used for a RACH procedure and determine whether the network access node supports repeater devices). The repeater device 3904 may then transmit a RACH preamble (Msg1) at 3908. In response to the RACH preamble, the network access node 3902 may transmits a random access response (Msg2—RAR) at 3910 to indicate resources for the repeater device 3904 to transmit an RRC connection request (Msg3) (e.g., RRConnRequest {RptrInd}) at 3912. An RRC connection request may be referred to as an RRC setup request. In response to the RRC connection request, the network access node 3902 may transmit an RRC connection (or setup) response (Msg4) (e.g., an RRCConnRsp) at 3914. The RRC connection response may be referred to as an RRC setup. The repeater device 3904 may then transmit an RRC capability response (Msg5) (e.g., RRCCapResp {CodebookMap, Rptrind}) at 3916. An RRC capability response may be referred to as an RRC setup complete. Once the RRC connection is established, the network access node 3902 may, over time, send RRC configuration information (e.g., RRCConfig {TRS, SSBAlloc, BWP, CORESET}) to the repeater device 3904 at 3918.
[0350] The first repeater device 2906 may be located between the network access node 2902 and the first UE 2914. In some aspects, a repeater device may be referred to as a “smart repeater device” if, for example, it is controlled by another device, such as the network access node 2902. The control may afford the smart repeater device with “side control information,” which facilitates the dynamic or semi-static configuration of the smart repeater device with, for example, beamforming information, power control information, and/or transmitter and receiver on/off information in connection with, for example, knowledge of whether a given resource is scheduled for uplink or downlink operation. A smart repeater device may receive the side control information in a closed loop; that is, the network access node 2902 may have direct control over the smart repeater device. As described herein, however, the first repeater device 2906 may receive side control information by capturing the information from over-the-air master information block and system information block parameters, without a need to be directly controlled by the network access node 2902. In this context, the first repeater device 2906 may not be a smart repeater device, but instead the first repeater device 2906 may be an “open loop repeater device” (referred to as the first repeater device 2906 hereinafter).
[0316] In some examples, the process 2700 may further include receiving an acknowledgment from the repeater device indicating whether the first beam configuration is supported by the repeater device. In some examples, the process 2700 may further include receiving a negative acknowledgment from the repeater device indicating that the first beam configuration is not supported by the repeater device. In some examples, the process 2700 may further include selecting a second beam configuration for the repeater device after receiving the negative acknowledgment and transmitting the second beam configuration to the repeater device.
[0341] In some examples, (e.g., if the repeater device does not provide the above information), the network access node (e.g., DU) may determine this information based on repeater device configuration information, signal measurements, or feedback from a repeater device. For example, the network access node may determine based on antenna array information for the repeater device that the base has obtained that a pair of beams are on the same array. As another example, based on RACH messaging, signal measurements, or measurement reports (e.g., as discussed above), a network access node may determine that a particular beam combination is not working or provides poor communication quality (e.g., below a threshold quality). As yet another example, upon receiving a beam configuration from the network access node, the repeater device may send back an acknowledgement indicating whether the configuration is supported (e.g., currently supported) by the repeater device. For example, if the configuration specifies a beam pair for simultaneous transmission and reception that the repeater device has determined is unsuitable for simultaneous transmission and reception, the repeater device may send a negative acknowledgment (NAK) to the network access node. Otherwise, the repeater device may send a positive acknowledgment (ACK) to the network access node. In any of the above cases, upon determining that a beam pair of the repeater device cannot be used for an intended purpose, the network access node may refrain from including that beam pair in a beam configuration for the repeater device.
[0344] In some examples, (e.g., if the repeater device does not provide the above information), the network access node (e.g., DU) may determine this information based on repeater device configuration information, signal measurements, or feedback from a repeater device. For example, the network access node may determine based on antenna array information for the repeater device that the network access node has obtained that a group of beams are on different arrays. As another example, based on RACH messaging, signal measurements, or measurement reports (e.g., as discussed above), a network access node may determine that a particular beam group is not working or provides poor communication quality (e.g., below a threshold quality). As yet another example, upon receiving a beam configuration from the network access node, the repeater device may send back an acknowledgement indicating whether the configuration is supported (e.g., currently supported) by the repeater device. For example, if the configuration specifies a group of beams for simultaneous transmission and reception that the repeater device has determined is unsuitable for simultaneous transmission and reception, the repeater device may send a negative acknowledgment (NAK) to the network access node. Otherwise, the repeater device may send a positive acknowledgment (ACK) to the network access node. In any of the above cases, upon determining that a group of beams of the repeater device cannot be used for an intended purpose, the network access node may refrain from including that group of beams in a beam configuration for the repeater device.
So, Abedini clearly discloses a feedback for SCI based on closed loop.
In response to page 23, the applicant states that Karimidehkordi fails to disclose feedback comprises UE’s ID. In reply, Karimidehkordi discloses feedback comprising UE’s ID by measuring SR access link and report it to based station via SR uplink path [0101] The UE 703 measures the SR access beams and reports one or more best CSI-RS beam ID(s) (and corresponding RSRP values) via the SR uplink path to the gNB 701. The gNB 701 then informs the SR 702 about the best UE-measured CSI-RS beam ID (e.g., CSI-RS #2.2)]; [0124] FIG. 9 illustrates a signaling diagram according to an exemplary embodiment, wherein the reference signal identifier (e.g., CSI-RS beam ID) corresponding to the best SR access beam (spatial filter) is obtained by the access point (e.g., gNB) based on RSRP measurements reported by both the smart repeater and the UE. [0139] In step 912, the at least one UE may transmit a report to the access point to report the second set of measurement results obtained in step 910. In other words, the UE reports the measured spatial filters and the corresponding measured RSRP values (or the offset with respect to the best beam) to the access point through the uplink path amplified by the smart repeater. [0163] In step 1011, the at least one UE may transmit a report to the access point to report the second set of measurement results obtained in step 1010. In other words, the UE may report the measured spatial filters and the corresponding measured RSRP values (or the offset with respect to the best beam) to the access point through the uplink path amplified by the smart repeater.].
So, Karimidehkordi clearly discloses feedback comprises UE’s ID which is relay via repeater.
In response to page 23, the applicant states that Molavianjazi fails to disclose feedback comprises UE’s ID. In reply, Molavianjazi discloses a feedback comprising UE’s ID and SCI [Par. 0213, 0235 discloses after receiving SRS configuration from gNB at NCR. The NVR performs a measurement of SRS from UE and report to gNB].
So, Molavianjazi clearly discloses UE reporting its measurement to gNB via NCR or NCR reports its measurement of the SRES of UE to gNB.
So, the teaching of the prior arts performs the claimed invention such as transmitting a feedback to the at least one base station (BS), wherein the feedback comprises at least one of: (i) a feedback for the at least one side control information (SCI), and (ii) at least one identity of the UE because the examiner only need one of A or B.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414