DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-12, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al. (Pub. No. US2018/0375881) in view of DUSSAUME et al. (Pub. No. US20240313989) and further in view of Chu et al. (Pub. No. US20070104114)
As per claim 1, Wada discloses a computer-implemented method for processing data associated with a transmitter and/or receiver (fig.5, receiver 110/transmitter 150) device for a serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30), the method comprising the following steps:
a) exchanging first data using data frames of a first type (paragraph 140, line 7, the first-type frame) via the serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30);
b) exchanging second data using data frames of a second type (paragraph 140, line 6, the second-type frame), with at least one network coupling element. (fig.5, ECU 100) and (paragraph 201, lines 4-5, a network where a plurality of ECUs perform communication.)
Wada discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the network coupling element is an Ethernet switch wherein the method is used for at least temporarily avoiding intermediate software-based processing of data frames of the second type. However, DUSSAUME discloses this, (paragraph 94, lines 7-9, the Ethernet type directly on the gateway or via a switch 1 itself connected to the gateway by a wired link of the Ethernet type. a strategy to avoid exceeding the limit by switching to the consumption of local private non-renewable energy (e.g. internal batteries of the equipment or of the home), or by directly modifying the consumption of the equipment by temporarily shutting down the equipment or some of its hardware and/or software components, or by putting them into total or partial standby mode as further cited in paragraph 270)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of DUSSAUME with the teaching of Wada so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to reduces network congestion and supports higher data transfer speeds to make system more efficient, thus enhance the system performance.
Wada in view of Dussaume discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose processing of data frames of the second type that are embedded in at least one of the data frames of the first type. However, Chu discloses this (paragraph 19, a capability list is embedded in a payload of a packet or frame according to any of the protocols listed above to enable easy exchange across different types of transports.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chu with the teaching of Wada in view of Dussaume so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to yield the predicatable result so as to control efficiently, thus enhance the system performance.
As per claim 2, Wada discloses wherein the exchanging of the first data includes: exchanging the first data using data frames associated with the bus system, wherein the bus system is a bus system of a CAN type, and wherein the data frames of the first type are CAN data frames. (paragraph 63, lines 2-7, Each ECU transmits and receives a frame over bus 30 in accordance with the CAN protocol.)
As per claim 3, Wada discloses wherein the exchanging of the second data includes: exchanging the second data using data frames associated with the at least one network coupling element, wherein the network coupling element is an Ethernet network coupling element, and wherein the data frames of the second type are Ethernet data frames. (paragraph 195, lines 8-9, a network over which ECUs transmit and receive communication data include Ethernet)
As per claim 4, Wada discloses wherein the exchanging of the second data includes: exchanging the second data directly with the network coupling element via a media-independent, first interface. (paragraph 9, an information processing device connected to a network where a plurality of electronic control units perform communication.)
As per claim 5, Wada discloses the method further comprising: exchanging third data with at least one further unit via a second interface, wherein the second interface is different from the first interface. (paragraph 9, an information processing device connected to a network where a plurality of electronic control units perform communication.)
As per claim 6, Wada discloses the method further comprising: receiving a data frame of a first type via the serial bus system; ascertaining whether the data frame of the first type includes at least one data frame of the second type; based on the ascertainment that the ascertainment shows that the data frame of the first type includes at least one data frame of the second type, extracting the at least one data frame of the second type from the data frame of the first type. (paragraph 36, lines 6-11, a specific operation is predetermined in consideration of a predetermined relationship such that a result of the specific operation performed on value X indicated by a specific data of the content of the frame and value A indicated by the sensor information corresponding to a result of sensing of the first sensor)
As per claim 7, Wada discloses the method further comprising at least one of the following elements: a) analyzing the at least one data frame of the second type before the extraction and/or after the extraction, b) based on the analysis, for example, discarding the at least one data frame of the second type and/or the data frame of the first type (paragraph 102, lines 10-13, in a case where receiver 110 receives an error frame, that is, receiver 110 interprets a frame received as an error frame from a value contained in the frame, receiver 110 discards the frame thereafter.), c) based on the analysis, outputting the at least one data frame of the second type to the network coupling element directly via a first interface, d) based on the analysis, outputting the at least one data frame of the second type to a further unit via a second interface. (paragraph 36, lines 6-11, a specific operation is predetermined in consideration of a predetermined relationship such that a result of the specific operation performed on value X indicated by a specific data of the content of the frame and value A indicated by the sensor information corresponding to a result of sensing of the first sensor)
As per claim 8, Wada discloses wherein the analysis includes: ascertaining a target address associated with the at least one data frame of the second type. (paragraph 75, a data frame in the format with standard ID specified in the CAN protocol)
As per claim 9, Wada discloses the method further comprising: receiving fourth data to be sent via the bus system from the at least one network coupling element in the form of at least one data frame of the second type via a first interface; transmitting the fourth data via the bus system in the form of at least one data frame of the first type. (paragraph 36, lines 6-11, a specific operation is predetermined in consideration of a predetermined relationship such that a result of the specific operation performed on value X indicated by a specific data of the content of the frame and value A indicated by the sensor information corresponding to a result of sensing of the first sensor)
As per claim 10, Wada discloses wherein the transmitting includes: embedding the fourth data in at least one data frame of the first type. (paragraph 36, lines 6-11, a specific operation is predetermined in consideration of a predetermined relationship such that a result of the specific operation performed on value X indicated by a specific data of the content of the frame and value A indicated by the sensor information corresponding to a result of sensing of the first sensor)
As per claim 11, Wada discloses wherein the transmitting of the fourth data to the further is via a second interface, the transmitting includes: i) using at least one data frame of the first type, and/or ii) using at least one data frame of the second type, and/or iii) using another form or another type of data frame and/or data format. (paragraph 36, lines 6-11, a specific operation is predetermined in consideration of a predetermined relationship such that a result of the specific operation performed on value X indicated by a specific data of the content of the frame and value A indicated by the sensor information corresponding to a result of sensing of the first sensor)
As per claim 12, Wada discloses an apparatus for processing data associated with a transmitter and/or receiver device (fig.5, receiver 110/transmitter 150) for a serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30), the apparatus configured to:
a) exchange first data using data frames of a first type (paragraph 140, line 7, the first-type frame) via the serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30);
b) exchange second data using data frames of a second type (paragraph 140, line 6, the second-type frame), with at least one network coupling element (fig.5, ECU 100) and (fig.5, ECU 100 and paragraph 201, lines 4-5, a network where a plurality of ECUs perform communication.)
Wada discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the network coupling element is an Ethernet switch wherein the method is used for at least temporarily avoiding intermediate software-based processing of data frames of the second type. However, DUSSAUME discloses this, (paragraph 94, lines 7-9, the Ethernet type directly on the gateway or via a switch 1 itself connected to the gateway by a wired link of the Ethernet type. a strategy to avoid exceeding the limit by switching to the consumption of local private non-renewable energy (e.g. internal batteries of the equipment or of the home), or by directly modifying the consumption of the equipment by temporarily shutting down the equipment or some of its hardware and/or software components, or by putting them into total or partial standby mode as further cited in paragraph 270)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of DUSSAUME with the teaching of Wada so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to reduces network congestion and supports higher data transfer speeds to make system more efficient, thus enhance the system performance.
Wada in view of Dussaume discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose processing of data frames of the second type that are embedded in at least one of the data frames of the first type. However, Chu discloses this (paragraph 19, a capability list is embedded in a payload of a packet or frame according to any of the protocols listed above to enable easy exchange across different types of transports.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chu with the teaching of Wada in view of Dussaume so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to yield the predicatable result so as to control efficiently, thus enhance the system performance.
As per claim 15, Wada discloses wherein the apparatus is a control unit for a motor vehicle. (paragraph 44, the plurality of electronic control units, and the first sensor may be mounted on a vehicle, and the network may be an in-vehicle network.)
As per claim 16, Wada discloses a serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30) for a vehicle (fig.1, vehicle 20), comprising:
an apparatus for processing data associated with a transmitter and/or receiver device (fig.5, receiver 110/transmitter 150) for the serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30), the apparatus configured to:
a) exchange first data using data frames of a first type (paragraph 140, line 7, the first-type frame) via the serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30);
b) exchange second data using data frames of a second type (paragraph 140, line 6, the second-type frame), with at least one network coupling element (fig.5, ECU 100) and (fig.5, ECU 100 and paragraph 201, lines 4-5, a network where a plurality of ECUs perform communication.)
Wada discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the network coupling element is an Ethernet switch wherein the method is used for at least temporarily avoiding intermediate software-based processing of data frames of the second type. However, DUSSAUME discloses this, (paragraph 94, lines 7-9, the Ethernet type directly on the gateway or via a switch 1 itself connected to the gateway by a wired link of the Ethernet type. a strategy to avoid exceeding the limit by switching to the consumption of local private non-renewable energy (e.g. internal batteries of the equipment or of the home), or by directly modifying the consumption of the equipment by temporarily shutting down the equipment or some of its hardware and/or software components, or by putting them into total or partial standby mode as further cited in paragraph 270)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of DUSSAUME with the teaching of Wada so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to reduces network congestion and supports higher data transfer speeds to make system more efficient, thus enhance the system performance.
Wada in view of Dussaume discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose processing of data frames of the second type that are embedded in at least one of the data frames of the first type. However, Chu discloses this (paragraph 19, a capability list is embedded in a payload of a packet or frame according to any of the protocols listed above to enable easy exchange across different types of transports.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chu with the teaching of Wada in view of Dussaume so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to yield the predicatable result so as to control efficiently, thus enhance the system performance.
As per claim 17, Wada discloses a communications system for a vehicle (fig.1, vehicle 20), comprising:
an apparatus for processing data associated with a transmitter and/or receiver device (fig.5, receiver 110/transmitter 150) for a serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30), the apparatus configured to:
a) exchange first data using data frames of a first type (paragraph 140, line 7, the first-type frame) via the serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30);
b) exchange second data using data frames of a second type (paragraph 140, line 6, the second-type frame), with at least one network coupling element (fig.5, ECU 100) and (fig.5, ECU 100 and paragraph 201, lines 4-5, a network where a plurality of ECUs perform communication.)
Wada discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the network coupling element is an Ethernet switch wherein the method is used for at least temporarily avoiding intermediate software-based processing of data frames of the second type. However, DUSSAUME discloses this, (paragraph 94, lines 7-9, the Ethernet type directly on the gateway or via a switch 1 itself connected to the gateway by a wired link of the Ethernet type. a strategy to avoid exceeding the limit by switching to the consumption of local private non-renewable energy (e.g. internal batteries of the equipment or of the home), or by directly modifying the consumption of the equipment by temporarily shutting down the equipment or some of its hardware and/or software components, or by putting them into total or partial standby mode as further cited in paragraph 270)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of DUSSAUME with the teaching of Wada so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to reduces network congestion and supports higher data transfer speeds to make system more efficient, thus enhance the system performance.
Wada in view of Dussaume discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose processing of data frames of the second type that are embedded in at least one of the data frames of the first type. However, Chu discloses this (paragraph 19, a capability list is embedded in a payload of a packet or frame according to any of the protocols listed above to enable easy exchange across different types of transports.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chu with the teaching of Wada in view of Dussaume so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to yield the predicatable result so as to control efficiently, thus enhance the system performance.
As per claim 18, Wada discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (paragraph 199, line 5, a ROM, a RAM) on which are stored commands for processing data associated with a transmitter and/or receiver (fig.5, receiver 110/transmitter 150) device for a serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30), the commands, when executed by a computer (fig.5, processor 140), causing the computer to perform following steps:
a) exchanging first data using data frames of a first type (paragraph 140, line 7, the first-type frame) via the serial bus system (fig.1, bus 30);
b) exchanging second data using data frames of a second type (paragraph 140, line 6, the second-type frame), with at least one network coupling element (fig.5, ECU 100) and (fig.5, ECU 100 and paragraph 201, lines 4-5, a network where a plurality of ECUs perform communication.)
Wada discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the network coupling element is an Ethernet switch wherein the method is used for at least temporarily avoiding software-based processing of data frames of the second type. However, DUSSAUME discloses this, (paragraph 94, lines 7-9, the Ethernet type directly on the gateway or via a switch 1 itself connected to the gateway by a wired link of the Ethernet type. a strategy to avoid exceeding the limit by switching to the consumption of local private non-renewable energy (e.g. internal batteries of the equipment or of the home), or by directly modifying the consumption of the equipment by temporarily shutting down the equipment or some of its hardware and/or software components, or by putting them into total or partial standby mode as further cited in paragraph 270)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of DUSSAUME with the teaching of Wada so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to reduces network congestion and supports higher data transfer speeds to make system more efficient, thus enhance the system performance.
Wada in view of Dussaume discloses all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose processing of data frames of the second type that are embedded in at least one of the data frames of the first type. However, Chu discloses this (paragraph 19, a capability list is embedded in a payload of a packet or frame according to any of the protocols listed above to enable easy exchange across different types of transports.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chu with the teaching of Wada in view of Dussaume so as to allow devices to communicate directly so as to yield the predicatable result so as to control efficiently, thus enhance the system performance.
As per claim 19, Wada discloses wherein the method is used for at least one of the following elements: a) exchanging data, b) enabling direct communication of the transmitter and/or receiver device with at least one network coupling element, c) purely hardware-based transfer of at least one data frame of the second type between the bus system and at least one network coupling element, d) at least temporarily avoiding software-based processing of data frames of the second type, e) increasing efficiency with regard to processing data frames of the second type in connection with carrying the data frames of the second type via the bus system, f) directly transferring at least one Ethernet data frame, which is embedded in a CAN XL data frame or extracted from a CAN XL data frame, from a CAN XL transceiver to a network coupling element. (paragraph 201, lines 4-5, a network where a plurality of ECUs perform communication.)
3. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al. (Pub. No. US2018/0375881) in view of DUSSAUME et al. (Pub. No. US20240313989) and further in view of Chu et al. (Pub. No. US20070104114) and further in view of Zeh et al. (Pub. No. US2021/0271739)
As per claim 13, Wada in view of DUSSAUME disclose all the limitations as the above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is a CAN XL transceiver. However, Zeh discloses this. (paragraph 13, CAN extra large (CAN XL))
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zeh with the teaching of Wada in view of DUSSAUME and further in view of Chu so as to provide the faster data rates so as to yield the predicatable result so as to control efficiently, thus enhance the system performance.
Response to Amendment
4. Applicant's amendment filed on 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Labiste et al. [Pub. No. US2017/0134183] discloses The communication method according to the invention, for a voltage regulator (36) of a motor vehicle alternator on an onboard network of the vehicle, consists of exchanging information frames on a serial bus (43) according to one or more different proprietary protocols compatible with a standardized protocol.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIM T HUYNH whose telephone number is (571)272-3635 or via e-mail addressed to [kim.huynh3@uspto.gov]. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 7.00AM- 4:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tsai Henry can be reached at (571)272-4176 or via e-mail addressed to [Henry.Tsai@USPTO.GOV].
The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned are (571)273-8300 for regular communications and After Final communications. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571)272-2100.
/K. T. H./
Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184