DETAILED ACTION
This action is non-final, because the new ground of rejection of claims 26-28 results from extension of examination to species encompassed by cancelled claim 41 and was not necessitated by amendment.
Claim Status
Claims 26-28, 30 and 50 are amended.
Claim 41 is cancelled.
Claims 53-58 are newly added.
Claims 26-28, 30, and 42-58 are pending in the instant application and being examined on the merit.
Objections Withdrawn
All objections to the claims with regard to drawings and specification are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Rejections Withdrawn
Claim 41 is cancelled, rendering all previous rejections moot.
Rejection of claims 26-28, 30, and 41-52 under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) is withdrawn with Applicant amendment of claims.
Rejection of claim 41 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) is withdrawn with Applicant amendment of the claim.
Rejection of claims 26-28, 30, 50, 53, and 56 over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/432,126 in view of Gauthier, Albrecht and Dunphy is withdrawn with Applicant amendment of the claim.
Election/Restrictions
Examination of the Markush-type claims was initially limited to Group II, claims 26-28 and 30, and species election of: methods of treating blood cancer comprising administering to a subject in need thereof the binding protein comprising three polypeptide chains wherein:
the first polypeptide chain is comprised of VL1-CK-Hinge1-(CH2-CH3)A, wherein Hinge1 and (CH2-CH3)A comprises amino acid sequences SEQ ID NOs:74 and 69, respectively;
the second polypeptide chain is comprised of VH1-CH1-Hinge2-(CH2-CH3)B-L1-VH2-CH1-Hinge3, wherein Hinge2, (CH2-CH3)B, L1, and Hinge3 comprise amino acid sequences SEQ ID NOs:75, 70, 76, and 77, respectively;
the third polypeptide chain is comprised of VL2- CK;
wherein (1) the first antigen binding domain against human CD123 comprises VH1 comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:41 comprising CDR H1-H3 comprising SEQ ID NOs:1-3, respectively, and VL1 comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:43 comprising CDR L1-L3 comprising SEQ ID NOs:7-9, respectively; (2) the second antigen binding domain against human NKp46 comprises VH2 comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:45 comprising CDR H1-H3 comprising SEQ ID NOs:13-15, respectively, and VL2 comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:53 comprising CDR L1-L3 comprising SEQ ID NOs:27-29, respectively; and the Fc region binds to a human CD16A (Fc-γ RIII) polypeptide and comprises an N-linked glycosylation at residue N297, elected without traverse in the reply filed on 4/13/2026. This elected species was found to be free of prior art.
In accordance with MPEP §803.02, examination has been extended to nonelected species, wherein the examiner has elected the next species of said binding protein comprising three polypeptide chains wherein:
the first polypeptide chain is comprised of VL1-CK-Hinge1-(CH2-CH3)A, wherein Hinge1 and (CH2-CH3)A comprises amino acid sequences SEQ ID NOs:74 and 69, respectively;
the second polypeptide chain is comprised of VH1-CH1-Hinge2-(CH2-CH3)B-L1-VH2-CH1-Hinge3, wherein Hinge2, (CH2-CH3)B, L1, and Hinge3 comprise amino acid sequences SEQ ID NOs:75, 70, 76, and 77, respectively;
the third polypeptide chain is comprised of VL2- CK;
wherein (1) the first antigen binding domain against human CD123 comprises VH1 comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:42 comprising CDR H1-H3 comprising SEQ ID NOs:4-6, respectively, and VL1 comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:44 comprising CDR L1-L3 comprising SEQ ID NO:10, YAS, and SEQ ID NO:12, respectively; (2) the second antigen binding domain against human NKp46 comprises VH2 comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:46 comprising CDR H1-H3 comprising SEQ ID NOs:13-15, respectively, and VL2 comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:54 comprising CDR L1-L3 comprising SEQ ID NOs:27-29, respectively; and the Fc region binds to a human CD16A (Fc-γ RIII) polypeptide and comprises an N-linked glycosylation at residue N297
Claims 26-28, 30, 42-58 are under review for the Examiner elected species.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-28, 42, 44-46, and 48-50, 53 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier et al (US Patent No.10,113,003 B2, ; hereinafter Gauthier) and further in view of Albrecht et al (US Patent No.10,906,978 B2 hereinafter Albrecht).
Gauthier teaches a multispecific protein comprising a first antigen binding domain and a second antigen binding domain, wherein one of the first or second antigen binding domains binds to a human NKp46 polypeptide and the other binds an antigen of interest, wherein the multispecific protein is capable of directing an NKp46-expressing NK cell to lyse a target cell expressing the antigen of interest, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A, (pg.20, col 2, line 51-pg.21, col 3, line 10; pg.21, col 4, lines 45-50). Gauthier also discloses that the multispecific protein comprises at least a portion of a human Fc domain (pg.21,col 3, lines 8-10), wherein the multispecific protein is designed to retain substantial FcγR binding, and wherein the multispecific protein binds via its Fc domain to a human CD16 or CD16A, CD32A, CD32B and/or CD64 polypeptide (pg.21, col 3, lines 17-41). Gauthier further teaches that the multispecific polypeptide can be used to treat a cancer such as hematopoietic tumors of myeloid lineage, including acute and chronic myelogenous leukemias (pg.49, col 59, lines 4-16).
Gauthier teaches a multispecific protein that has the structure of Format 5 (Figure 2D and also shown below).
Format 5 shows a tripeptide structure and has the structural components described in instant Figure 2B of instant application, wherein:
The top peptide (polypeptide chain I described in instant application) comprises Vκ-Cκ-(CH2-CH3), wherein Cκ corresponds to the constant domain of the kappa light chain, and Vκ corresponds to the variable kappa light chain, wherein Vκ corresponds to instant V1A of the instant application;
The middle peptide (polypeptide chain II described in instant application) comprises VH-CH1-(CH2-CH3)-VH-Cκ, wherein the first VH corresponds to instant V1B and the second VH corresponds to instant V2A of the instant application; and
The bottom peptide (polypeptide chain III described in instant application) comprises a Vκ-CH1 domain, wherein Vκ corresponds to instant V2B of the instant application;
(also see pg.26, col 13, para 4 – col 14, first para). Furthermore, Gauthier teaches that an ABD (e.g. an immunoglobulin variable region) can optionally be linked to a constant domain or Fc domain via a flexible linker (e.g. polypeptide linker) that leads to less structural rigidity or stiffness (pg.40, “Linker” section), optionally, the CH1 and/or Cκ domain are fused via a hinge region to the Fc domain (pg.26, col 14, fourth para).
Gauthier teaches a multispecific protein that has the structure of Format 6 ( shown below) wherein the Fc domain comprises N-linked glycosylation at residue N297 (Kabat EU numbering) (pg.35, col 32, lines 65-67; Figure 2D).
Gauthier teaches that the first and second polypeptide chains are bound by non-covalent bonds and further interchain disulfide bonds, e.g. formed between respective CH1 and Cκ domains and/or between respective hinge domains (pg.25, col 12, lines 21-24). Gauthier also teaches that the second (and third, if present) polypeptide chains will also associate with the central polypeptide chain by CH1-Cκ heterodimerization, forming non-covalent bonds and further interchain disulfide bonds between complementary CH1 and Cκ domains (and interchain disulfide bonds between hinge regions), with a primary multimeric polypeptide being formed so long as CH/Cκ and VH/Vκ domains are chosen to give rise to a preferred dimerization configuration that results preferentially in the desired VH-VL pairings (pg.37, col 35, lines 44-53).
Furthermore, Gauthier teaches that the NKp46-binding ABD comprises a heavy chain variable domain of SEQ ID NO:3 and a light chain variable domain of SEQ ID NO:4 (pg.44, col 49, lines 53-60), which are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs:46 and 54, respectively, as shown in the alignments below. Instant SEQ ID NO:46 comprises CDR H1-H3 of instant SEQ ID NOs:13-15, respectively, and instant SEQ ID NO:54 comprises CDR L1-L3 of instant SEQ ID NOs:27-29, respectively.
Alignment of SEQ ID NO:3 of Gauthier with instant SEQ ID NO:46
Alignment of SEQ ID NO:4 of Gauthier with instant SEQ ID NO:54
However, Gauthier does not teach a binding protein wherein the other ABD binds specifically to human CD123, wherein the CD123 antigen binding domain comprises a heavy chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in instant SEQ ID NO:42 comprising CDR H1-H3 comprising SEQ ID NOs:4-6, respectively, and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in instant SEQ ID NO:44 comprising CDR L1-L3 comprising SEQ ID NO:10, YAS, and SEQ ID NO:12, respectively.
The deficiency is resolved by Albrecht.
Albrecht teaches an antibody-like binding protein specifically binding to CD123 and binding specifically to at least one further antigen, wherein the invention also relates to pharmaceutical compositions comprising the antibody-like binding protein and their use to treat cancer (pg.23, col 1, lines 18-24). Albrecht discloses that the antibody-like binding protein binds to human CD123 (pg.61, col 78, lines 48-49) and has an affinity (KD) for human CD123 of 0.01 nM to 5 nM, (pg.61, col 78, line 66 – pg.62, col 79, line 3). Albrecht also teaches that the CD123-binding domain of the CD123 antibody, 6B10-E4, comprises a heavy chain variable domain of SEQ ID NO:240 and a light chain variable domain of SEQ ID NO:244 (pg.45, col 45, lines 26-53), which are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, as shown in the alignments below. Instant SEQ ID NO:42 comprises CDR H1-H3 comprising instant SEQ ID NO:4-6, respectively, and instant SEQ ID NO:44 comprises CDR L1-L3 comprising instant SEQ ID NO:10, YAS, and instant SEQ ID NO:12, respectively.
Alignment of SEQ ID NO:240 with instant SEQ ID NO:42
Alignment of SEQ ID NO:244 with instant SEQ ID NO:44
Albrecht further teaches hematological cancers associated with CD123 expression, wherein CD123 is a tumor antigen over-expressed in a variety of hematological neoplasms, wherein the majority of AML blasts express surface CD123 and this expression does not vary by subtype of AML (pg.43, col 41, lines 46-50). Albrecht discloses that hematological cancers associated with CD123 expression include leukemias, such as acute myelogenous leukemia and myelodysplasia syndrome (pg.72, col 100, line 65 – pg.73, col 101, line 7; pg.74, col 104, lines 8-22).
Regarding instant claims 26-28, 42, 48-50, 53 and 56, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the CD19 binding domain of the multispecific protein comprising a first antigen binding domain that binds to NKp46 comprising a heavy chain variable domain comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO:3 and a light chain variable domain comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO:4, a second antigen binding domain that binds to CD19, and a Fc domain that binds to human CD16A of Gauthier, with the CD123 binding domain comprising a heavy chain variable domain comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO:240 and a light chain variable domain comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO:244 to treat MDS or AML of Albrecht, wherein the multispecific protein comprises three polypeptide chains that form two ABDs as described in Format 5 (see above or Figure 2D) of the multispecific protein taught by Gauthier. This is obvious because, Gauthier teaches a multispecific protein comprising an antigen binding domain that binds to a human NKp46 polypeptide comprising a heavy chain variable domain of SEQ ID NO:3 and a light chain variable domain of SEQ ID NO:4 which are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs:46 and 54, respectively, an antigen of interest, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A, wherein the multispecific protein comprises the structure of Format 5,
wherein the ABD is linked to a constant domain or Fc domain via a flexible linker (e.g. polypeptide linker), the CH1 and/or Cκ domain are fused via a hinge region to the Fc domain, and wherein the multispecific polypeptide can be used to treat a cancer such as hematopoietic tumors of myeloid lineage, including AML, and Albrecht teaches an antibody-like binding protein specifically binding to CD123, comprising a heavy chain variable domain of SEQ ID NO:240 and a light chain variable domain of SEQ ID NO:244 which are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, and at least one further antigen, wherein the invention also relates to pharmaceutical compositions comprising the antibody-like binding protein and their use to treat cancer, e.g. hematological cancers associated with CD123 expression including leukemias, such as AML and MDS. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant method of treating MDS or AML comprised of administering a multispecific protein comprising a first antigen binding domain that binds humans CD123 comprising a heavy chain variable domain comprising instant SEQ ID NO:42 comprising CDR H1-H3 comprising instant SEQ ID NOs:4-6 and a light chain variable domain comprising instant SEQ ID NO:44 comprising CDR L1-L3 comprising instant SEQ ID NO:10, YAS, and instant SEQ ID NO:12, and a second antigen binding domain that specifically binds to human NKp46 comprising a heavy chain variable domain comprising instant SEQ ID NO:46 comprising CDR H1-H3 comprising instant SEQ ID NOs:13-15 and a light chain variable domain comprising instant SEQ ID NO:54 comprising CDR L1-L3 comprising instant SEQ ID NOs:27-29, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A, wherein the binding protein comprises three polypeptide chains (I), (II), and (III) that form two ABDs, as defined below:
wherein:
V1A and V1B form a binding pair V1 (VH1/VL1);
V2A and V2B form a binding pair V2 (VH2/VL2);
C1A and C1B form a pair C1 (CH1/CL) and C2A and C2B form a pair C2 (CH1/CL) wherein CH1 is an immunoglobulin heavy chain constant domain 1 and CL is an immunoglobulin light chain constant domain;
Hinge1, Hinge2 and Hinge3 are identical or different and correspond to all or part of an immunoglobulin hinge region;
(CH2-CH3)A and (CH2-CH3)B are identical or different, and comprise an immunoglobulin heavy chain constant domain 2 (CH2) and an immunoglobulin heavy chain constant domain 3 (CH3); and
L1 is an amino acid linker.
Regarding instant claims 44 and 46, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of treating hematological cancers comprising administering the multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A as taught by the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht to comprise that the residue N297 of the Fc region, according to EU numbering, comprises a N-linked glycosylation and a disulfide bond wherein the first and second polypeptide chains are bound by disulfide bonds formed between respective CH1 and Cκ domains and/or between respective hinge domains as taught by Gauthier. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht teach a method of treating hematological cancers, such as AML or MDS, comprising administering the multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A, and Gauthier teaches that the Fc domain comprises N-linked glycosylation at residue N297, as shown in Format 6, and disulfide bonds between the first and second polypeptide chains between respective CH1 and Cκ domains and/or between respective hinge domains. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant method of treating blood cancer comprising administering to a subject in need of the instant binding protein comprising a first ABD that binds specifically to human CD123, a second ABD that binds specifically to human NKp46, and all or part of an immunoglobulin Fc region that binds to a human Fc-γ receptor, wherein the residue N297 of the instant Fc region, according to EU numbering, comprises a N-linked glycosylation and the instant binding protein comprises at least two polypeptide chains linked by at least one disulfide bridge.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier et al (US Patent No.10,113,003 B2, ; hereinafter Gauthier) and Albrecht et al (US Patent No.10,906,978 B2 hereinafter Albrecht), as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Dunphy et al (Arch Pathol Lab Med, 2007, 131:748-754).
The combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht do not teach a method of treating a CD64-positive AML comprising administering to a subject in need of a binding protein comprising a human CD123 ABD and human NKp46 ABD, wherein all or part of the immunoglobulin Fc region or variant thereof binds to a human Fc-γ receptor.
The deficiency is resolved by Dunphy.
Dunphy teaches that CD64 was expressed in AML subtypes M0 to M5 in varying intensities (page 748, Abstract; Figure 1).
Regarding instant claim 30, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of treating hematological cancers comprising administering said multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A as taught by the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht to also comprise treating CD64 positive AML as taught by Dunphy. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht teach a method of treating hematological cancers, such as AML or MDS, comprising administering the multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A, and Dunphy teaches that CD64 is expressed in AML subtypes M0 to M5 in varying intensities. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to form the instant method of treating CD64-positive AML comprising administering to a subject in need the instant binding protein comprising a first ABD that binds specifically to human CD123, a second ABD that binds specifically to human NKp46, and all or part of an immunoglobulin Fc region or variant thereof that binds to a human Fc-γ receptor.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier et al (US Patent No.10,113,003 B2; hereinafter Gauthier) and Albrecht et al (US Patent No.10,906,978 B2 hereinafter Albrecht), as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Sun et al (US Patent No. 8,410,043B2; hereinafter Sun), Chang and Moreb (US Patent No. 11,041,021B2; hereinafter Chang), and Humphreys and Peters (US Patent No. 10,221,251B2, hereinafter Humphreys).
The combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht are discussed above. Gauthier also discloses Format 16 of the multispecific protein, wherein the second polypeptide chain comprises of two CH1 domains, which correspond to instant C1B and instant C2A of the instant binding protein, and the immunoglobulin light chain domains are immunoglobulin kappa light chain constant domains, Cκ (Figure 2E, Format 16). Gauthier further teaches three variants of F10 proteins wherein the first and second variants comprised amino acid residues DKTHTCPPCP (SEQ ID NO: 205) in the hinge, which is identical to the instant Hinge1 amino acid sequence comprising instant SEQ ID NO:74 (pg.55, col 71, lines 35-45). Gauthier also teaches the domain structure of a trimeric T5 polypeptide, GA101-T5-Ritux-NKp46, wherein the first polypeptide comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:188 comprises a hinge sequence identical to the instant Hinge2 amino acid sequence instant SEQ ID NO:75 (pg.57, col 75, lines 30). Gauthier also teaches the domain structure of F2 polypeptide, wherein the second polypeptide chain comprises a linker, wherein the DNA sequence coded for a CH3/VH linker peptide having the amino acid sequence STGS was designed in order to insert a specific SaII restriction site at the CH3-VH for cloning, production, and purification purposes (pg.54, col 69, lines 26-34), which is identical to the instant amino acid sequence instant SEQ ID NO:76, which corresponds to instant L1.
However, the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht do not teach the method of treating hematological cancers comprising administering a multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A wherein:
(CH2-CH3)A corresponds to the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:69;
(CH2-CH3)B corresponds to the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:70;
Hinge3 corresponds to the amino acid sequence instant SEQ ID NO:77.
The deficiency is resolved by Sun, Chang, and Humphreys.
Sun teaches svActRIIB, a stabilized activin IIB receptor polypeptides and proteins capable of binding and inhibiting the activities of activin A, myostatin, or GDF-11 (pg.6, col 2, lines 29-33), wherein scActRIIB further comprises a heterologous protein which is a human IgG Fc domain comprising the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:47 (pg.7, col 3, lines 25-39), which is identical to instant SEQ ID NOs:69 and 70, wherein instant SEQ ID NOs:69 and 70 are identical to each other.
To further support Gauthier’s teachings of the amino acid sequences of Hinge1 and Hinge2, Chang also teaches hinge sequences comprising amino acid sequences VEPKSCDKTHTCPPCP (SEQ ID NO:7) and LDKTHTCPPCP (SEQ ID NO:10) (pg.22, col 14, lines 9-44). SEQ ID NO:7 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:75 that corresponds to Hinge2, and SEQ ID NO:10 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:74, that corresponds to Hinge1.
Humphreys teaches symmetric bispecific antibody of the class IgG4, wherein the upper hinge in an IgG4 heavy chain consists of an IgG1-type hinge i.e. EPKSCDKTHTCPPC or a derivative of, such as an amino acid sequence comprising SEQ ID NO:128 (pg.47, col 13), which aligns with the instant amino acid sequence instant SEQ ID NO:77 as shown below.
Regarding instant claim 43, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of treating hematological cancers comprising administering said multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A as taught by the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht to comprise Format16 of Gauthier wherein: (i) (CH2-CH3)A and (CH2-CH3)B comprise amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:47 of Sun; (ii) Hinge1, Hinge2 comprise amino acid sequences SEQ ID NO: 10 and 7, respectively, of Chang; (iii) Hinge3 comprises amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:128 of Humphreys; and (iv) L1 comprises the amino acid sequence STGS for cloning, production, and purification purposes as taught by Gauthier. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht teach a method of treating hematological cancers, such as AML or MDS, comprising administering said multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A, Gauthier teaches Format 16 of the multispecific protein, wherein the second polypeptide chain comprises of two CH1 domains, which correspond to instant C1B and instant C2A of the instant binding protein, and the immunoglobulin light chain domains are immunoglobulin kappa light chain constant domains, Cκ, Sun teaches svActRIIB comprising a heterologous protein which is a human IgG Fc domain comprising the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:47, Chang teaches hinge sequences comprising amino acid sequences SEQ ID NO:7 and SEQ ID NO:10, wherein Gauthier uses these hinge sequences in the domain structure of a trimeric T5 polypeptide, GA101-T5-Ritux-NKp46, and Humphreys teaches symmetric bispecific antibody of the class IgG4, wherein the upper hinge in an IgG4 heavy chain consists of an IgG1-type hinge i.e. EPKSCDKTHTCPPC or a derivative of, such as an amino acid sequence comprising SEQ ID NO:128. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to form the instant method of treating blood cancer comprising administering to a subject in need the instant binding protein comprising a first ABD that binds specifically to human CD123, a second ABD that binds specifically to human NKp46, and all or part of an immunoglobulin Fc region or variant thereof that binds to a human Fc-γ receptor, wherein the instant binding protein comprises the three polypeptide chain as defined below:
, wherein:
Instant C1B is an immunoglobulin heavy chain constant domain 1 (CH1);
Instant C2A is an immunoglobulin heavy chain constant domain 1 (CH1);
Instant CL corresponds to an immunoglobulin kappa light chain constant domain (Cκ);
Instant (CH2-CH3)A corresponds to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69;
Instant (CH2-CH3)B corresponds to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 70;
Instant Hinge1 corresponds to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:74;
Instant Hinge2 corresponds to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:75;
Instant Hinge3 corresponds to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 77; and
Instant L1 corresponds to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 76.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier et al (US Patent No.10,113,003 B2; hereinafter Gauthier) and Albrecht et al (US Patent No.10,906,978 B2 hereinafter Albrecht), as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Wypych et al (J. Biol. Chem, 2008, 283(23):16194-16205; hereinafter Wypych).
Regarding instant claim 47, the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht are discussed above.
However, the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht do not teach the method of treating hematological cancers comprising administering the multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A, wherein the binding protein comprises at least two polypeptide chains linked by at least one disulfide bridge wherein the polypeptide chains (I) and (II) are linked by at least one disulfide bridge between C1A and Hinge2 and/or wherein the polypeptide chains (II) and (III) are linked by at least one disulfide bridge between Hinge3 and C2B.
The deficiency is resolved by Wypych.
Wypych teaches studies of the covalent structure of human IgG2 molecules, wherein Wypych discloses the novel IgG2 structural isoform, IgG2-B and IgG2-A/B, wherein IgG2-B has a structure with both of the Fab arms disulfide bonded to the dimeric hinge through Cys136 in the heavy chains (HCs) and Cys215 in the light chains (LCs), and IgG2-A/B has one Fab arm connected to the dimeric hinge via Cys136 in HC and Cys215 in LC as in isoform IgG2-B, whereas the other Fab arm has the expected HC-LC disulfide linkage as in isoform IgG2-A (Figure 8; pg.16202, left col, second para). Wypych further teaches that although the functional significance of the disulfide bond heterogeneity is not fully known, with respect to the functional aspects of the phenomenon, the disulfide isoforms can, in principle, impact both effector functions and antigen binding affinity/avidity and thereby lead to some level of physiological control (pg.16204, right col, last para).
Regarding instant claim 47, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of treating hematological cancers comprising administering said multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A, wherein the binding protein comprises at least two polypeptide chains linked by at least one disulfide bridge as taught by the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht to comprise that the first and second polypeptide chains are bound by disulfide bonds formed between respective CH1 and Cκ domains as taught by Gauthier, and the second and third polypeptide chains are linked by a disulfide bridge between the hinge and light chain domains, wherein the disulfide bridge between the hinge and light chain domains may impact antigen binding affinity/avidity as taught by Wypych. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht teach a method of treating hematological cancers, such as AML or MDS, comprising administering said multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A, wherein the binding protein comprises at least two polypeptide chains linked by at least one disulfide bridge, and Wypych teaches the novel IgG2 isoform, IgG2-A/B, which has one Fab arm connected to the dimeric hinge via Cys136 in HC and Cys215 in LC as in isoform IgG2-B, whereas the other Fab arm has the expected HC-LC disulfide linkage as in isoform IgG2-A, wherein with respect to the functional aspects of the disulfide isoforms, the disulfide linkage between the hinge and light chain domains may impact both effector functions and antigen binding affinity/avidity and thereby lead to some level of physiological control. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant method of treating blood cancer comprising administering to a subject in need the binding protein comprising a first ABD that binds specifically to human CD123, a second ABD that binds specifically to human NKp46, and all or part of an immunoglobulin Fc region that binds to a human Fc-γ receptor wherein the instant binding protein comprises at least two polypeptide chains linked by at least one disulfide bridge wherein polypeptide chains (II) and (III) are linked by a disulfide bridge between Hinge3 and C2B.
Response to Arguments
Regarding instant claim 30, Applicant argues that the instant application demonstrates surprising and unexpected results with respect to treating CD64-positive AML patient with the claimed binding protein(s) compared to “Reference-1,” which is a “fully humanized monoclonal antibody indicated for the treatment of AML, which targets the alpha chain of CD123 and is optimized for enhanced ADCC via natural killer cells.”
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The showing is not commensurate in scope with instant claim 30, because instant claim 30 encompasses any binding protein having an ABD that binds human CD123, and ABD that binds human NKp46, and an Fc region that binds human Fc-γreceptor, whereas the data relied upon concern a single protein, NKp46-CD123_F25, tested ex vivo against blasts from two CD64 patients, AML#5 and AML#6, using NK cells from healthy donors as effectors. Nothing of record establishes that the result extends to the full genus of binding proteins encompassed by the claim or to the treatment of the subject. See MPEP §716.02(d). Additionally, the comparison is not with the closest prior art. Reference-1 is a monospecific, ADCC-optimized anti-CD123 antibody that lacks an NKp46-binding domain, whereas the closest prior art is the binding protein of Gauthier disclosed in the 103 rejections, which engages both NKp46 and CD16A on NK cells and also carries an ABD against an antigen of interest. See MPEP §716.02(e). Showing that NKp46-CD123_F25 outperforms a monospecific antibody does not show that the claimed method produces a result that would have been unexpected from the combination of Gauthier and Albrecht, which is the rejection of record. Furthermore, the Applicant has not identified what result the person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected or why the observed result departs from the expectation. See MPEP §716.02(b). Based on the teachings of Gauthier and Albrecht, the skilled artisan would have expected an NKp46-engaging protein directed to CD123 to kill AML blasts, because Gauthier teaches an NKp46-mediated activation pathway that does not depend on Fc/CD16 interaction and discloses superior potency over conventional ADCC antibodies. Furthermore, CD64 expression on AML blasts was known in the art as taught by Dunphy, so patients with CD64-positive AML are among the AML patients that Gauthier and Albrecht teach treating with the said multispecific protein that binds CD123 and NKp46.
Accordingly, the rejections of claim 30 are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 26-28, 30, 45, 50, 53 and 56 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, and 14 of copending Application No. 18/283,385 (US20240199750 A1; hereinafter ‘385) and further in view of Gauthier et al (US Patent No.10,113,003 B2, ; hereinafter Gauthier), Albrecht et al (US Patent No.10,906,978 B2 hereinafter Albrecht) and Dunphy et al (Arch Pathol Lab Med, 2007, 131:748-754). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding instant claims 26-28, 30, 45, 50, 53 and 56, claims 1-3 of ‘385 teach a multispecific protein which is capable of binding to an antigen of interest expressed by a target cell, and which is further capable of binding to NKp46, a cytokine receptor and optionally CD16A at the surface of an NK cell, and which multispecific protein is capable of potentiating NK cell cytotoxicity toward a target cell expressing an antigen of interest, the multispecific protein comprising:
an antigen binding domain (ABD) that binds to an antigen of interest;
an ABD that binds to a human NKp46 polypeptide;
an Fc domain, or a portion an Fc domain capable of binding FcRn; and
an ABD that binds a human cytokine receptor present on NK cells,
wherein the ABD that binds to a human NKp46 polypeptide is connected to the Fc domain, optionally via an Ig-derived or non-Ig-derived polypeptide linker, and wherein the ABD that binds a human cytokine receptor is connected, via a polypeptide linker, to the ABD that binds to a human NKp46 polypeptide or to the Fc domain, wherein the protein has only one ABD that binds to an antigen of interest, such that the protein binds to the antigen of interest monovalently, optionally further wherein the protein has only one ABD that binds to a human NKp46 polypeptide, only one ABD that binds a cytokine receptor, and only one Fc domain dimer. Claim 10 of ‘385 teaches that each ABD comprises a VH and/or VL domain or fragment thereof, wherein a VH and/or VL comprises three complementary determining regions (CDR1, CDR2 and CDR-3). Claim 4 of ‘385 teach the multispecific protein described above that comprises the ABD that binds to a human NKp46 polypeptide and the ABD that binds a human cytokine receptor, and optionally further the Fc domain, wherein the ABDs and the Fc domain are positioned within the multispecific protein in series with respect to the N- and C-termini of the multispecific protein. Claims 6-8 of ‘385 also teach that the polypeptide linker comprising the multispecific protein described above comprises less than 15 amino acid residues. Finally, Claim 14 teaches that the multispecific protein is a heterotrimer comprising a first, second, and third polypeptide chain.
However, ‘385 does not teach a multispecific protein wherein the other ABD binds specifically to human CD123. Furthermore, ‘385 does not teach a method of treating blood cancer, such as AML, MDS, or CD64-positive AML, comprising administering to a subject in need of a binding protein comprising a human CD123 ABD comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, and human NKp46 ABD comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:46 and 54, respectively, wherein all or part of the immunoglobulin Fc region or variant thereof binds to a human Fc-γ receptor.
The deficiency is resolved by Gauthier, Albrecht and Dunphy.
The combined teachings of Gauthier, Albrecht and Dunphy are discussed in the 103 rejection. Albrecht further teaches that “CD123” (Cluster of Differentiation 123) is also known as “Interleukin 3 receptor, alpha (IL3RA)” or “IL3R”, “IL3RX”, “IL3RY”, “IL3RAY”, “hIL-3Ra” and denotes an interleukin 3 specific subunit of a heterodimeric cytokine receptor (pg.42, col 40, “Anti CD123 Antibodies” section). Furthermore, Albrecht teaches that the antibody-like protein may induce cytotoxicity by different mechanisms, such as antibody-dependent cell-mediated cytotoxicity or complement-dependent cytotoxicity (pg.61, col 77, line 63-col 78, line 2).
Regarding instant claims 26-28, 30, 45, 50, 53 and 56, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the multispecific protein comprising a first antigen binding domain and a second antigen binding domain, wherein one of the first or second antigen binding domains binds to a human NKp46 polypeptide and the other binds an antigen of interest, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A of ‘385 to comprise a first ABD to specifically bind to human CD123 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, and a second ABD to specifically bind to human NKp46 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:46 and 54, respectively, wherein the multispecific protein is used in a method of treating hematological cancers, such as AML, MDS, or CD64-positive AML as taught by the combined teachings of Gauthier, Albrecht, and Dunphy. This is obvious because ‘385 teaches a multispecific protein which is capable of binding to an antigen of interest expressed by a target cell, and which is further capable of binding to NKp46, a cytokine receptor and optionally CD16A at the surface of an NK cell, and which multispecific protein is capable of potentiating NK cell cytotoxicity toward a target cell expressing an antigen of interest, the multispecific protein comprising:
an antigen binding domain (ABD) that binds to an antigen of interest;
an ABD that binds to a human NKp46 polypeptide;
an Fc domain, or a portion an Fc domain capable of binding FcRn; and
an ABD that binds a human cytokine receptor present on NK cells,
and the combined teachings of Gauthier, Albrecht and Dunphy teach a method of treating hematological cancers, such as AML, CD64-positive AML, or MDS, comprising administering the multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123, a cytokine receptor, comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, wherein the multispecific protein is capable of potentiating NK cell cytotoxicity toward a target cell expressing CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:46 and 54, respectively, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant method of treating blood cancer, such as AML or MDS, comprising administering to a subject in need the instant binding protein comprising a first ABD that binds specifically to human CD123 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, a second ABD that binds specifically to human NKp46 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:46 and 54, respectively, and all or part of an immunoglobulin Fc region or variant thereof that binds to a human Fc-γ receptor. Moreover, a claimed product is obvious over a method comprising the product. Therefore, although the claims at issue are not identical, the instant claims are not patentably distinct from the claims in the copending application.
Claims 26-28 and 30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/432,126 (US20240174748 A1; hereinafter ‘126) and further in view of Gauthier et al (US Patent No.10,113,003 B2, ; hereinafter Gauthier), Albrecht et al (US Patent No.10,906,978 B2 hereinafter Albrecht) and Dunphy et al (Arch Pathol Lab Med, 2007, 131:748-754). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding instant claims 26-28 and 30, claim 1 of ‘126 teach a method of treating a disease in a subject comprising administering to the subject a composition comprising protein or polypeptide comprising an antigen binding domain that binds a human NKp46 polypeptide, wherein the domain comprises a heavy chain variable region (VH) and a light chain variable region (VL) comprising a VH comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:199 (NKp46-1 H1 variable domain, which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:45), and a VL comprising an amino acid sequence of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:201 (NKp46-1 L1 variable domain, which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:53). Claims 2-3, and 9 of ‘126 teach a multispecific antigen binding protein, a protein, or polypeptide comprising an antigen binding domain that binds a human NKp46 polypeptide, wherein the domain comprises a VH comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:199, and a VL comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:201, wherein the multispecific protein is used in a method of treating a disease in a subject comprising administering to the subject the multispecific antigen binding protein, and wherein the multispecific protein further comprises a second antigen binding domain that binds to an antigen of interest, wherein the multispecific protein is capable of directing an NKp46-expressing NK cell to lyse a target cell expressing the antigen of interest. Furthermore, claims 4-5 of ‘126 teach the structures that comprise the multispecific antigen binding protein, comprising multiple polypeptides. Claims 6-8 of ‘126 teach an isolated nucleic acid encoding the multispecific antigen binding protein, a recombinant host cell comprising the nucleic acid, and a method of producing a protein comprising culturing the recombinant host cell under conditions suitable for expression of the protein and recovering the protein.
However, ‘126 does not teach a multispecific protein wherein the other ABD binds specifically to human CD123 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, and human NKp46 ABD, wherein all or part of the immunoglobulin Fc region or variant thereof binds to a human Fc-γ receptor.
The deficiency is resolved by Gauthier, Albrecht and Dunphy.
The combined teachings of Gauthier, Albrecht and Dunphy are discussed in the 103 rejection.
Regarding instant claims 26-28 and 30, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of treating a disease comprising administering to the subject a multispecific antigen binding protein comprising an antigen binding domain that binds a human NKp46 polypeptide, wherein the domain comprises a VH comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:199, and a VL comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:201, and a second antigen binding domain that binds to an antigen of interest, wherein the multispecific protein is capable of directing an NKp46-expressing NK cell to lyse a target cell expressing the antigen of interest of ‘126 to comprise a first ABD to specifically bind to human CD123 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, and a second ABD to specifically bind to human NKp46 wherein the multispecific protein is used in a method of treating hematological cancers, such as AML, MDS, or CD64-positive AML as taught by the combined teachings of Gauthier, Albrecht, and Dunphy. This is obvious because, ‘126 teaches a method of treating a disease comprising administering to the subject a multispecific antigen binding protein comprising an antigen binding domain that binds a human NKp46 polypeptide, wherein the domain comprises a VH comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:199, and a VL comprising amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:201, and a second antigen binding domain that binds to an antigen of interest, wherein the multispecific protein is capable of directing an NKp46-expressing NK cell to lyse a target cell expressing the antigen of interest, and the combined teachings of Gauthier, Albrecht and Dunphy teach a method of treating hematological cancers, such as AML, CD64-positive AML, or MDS, comprising administering a multispecific protein comprising a first ABD that binds to human CD123 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, a cytokine receptor, wherein the multispecific protein is capable of potentiating NK cell cytotoxicity toward a target cell expressing CD123, a second ABD that binds to human NKp46, and an Fc domain that binds to human CD16A. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant method of treating blood cancer, such as AML or MDS, comprising administering to a subject in need of a binding protein comprising a first ABD that binds specifically to human CD123 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:42 and 44, respectively, a second ABD that binds specifically to human NKp46 comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in instant SEQ ID NOs:45 and 53, respectively, and all or part of an immunoglobulin Fc region or variant thereof that binds to a human Fc-γ receptor. Moreover, a claimed product is obvious over a method comprising the product. Therefore, although the claims at issue are not identical, the instant claims are not patentably distinct from the claims in the copending application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 51-52, 54-55, and 57-58 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 26-28, 30, 42-50, 53 and 56 are rejected.
Claims 51-52, 54-55, and 57-58 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
/J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643