DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/308800 filed on 06/26/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-11, 15, 17-18 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (U.S 20250168832, May 22, 2025) in view of Chen et al. (US 20230262703, Aug. 17, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Yuan discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, first downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state(page 1, par (0004), line 1-10, a user equipment (UE) receives a downlink control information (DCI) message to the UE indicate a set of resource blocks (RBs), and the UE uses the indicated set of RBs to identify a first set of RBs for the first TCI state);
Yuan discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving second DCI comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set indicator field, wherein the SRS resource set indicator field comprises a value that indicates which one or more TCI states, of among the first TCI state or and the second TCI state, to use for transmission, and wherein transmission using the second TCI state comprises transmitting one or more second layers of the PUSCH transmission; and transmitting, based on the SRS resource set indicator field, layers of the PUSCH transmission corresponding to the indicated one or more TCI states.
Chen is the same field of invention that teaches receiving second DCI comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set indicator field, wherein the SRS resource set indicator field comprises a value that indicates which one or more TCI states, of among the first TCI state or and the second TCI state, to use for transmission(page 26, par(0216), line 1-10, transmitting a second TCI state activation message, the second TCI state activation message: mapping at least a third TCI state, a fourth TCI state, and a second mTRP configuration to a second TCI codepoint, and activating the second TCI codepoint, where the first TCI state activation message, including at least the first TCI codepoint, corresponds to a first DCI format, and the second TCI state activation message, including the at least the second TCI codepoint, corresponds to a second DCI format),
wherein transmission using the first TCI state comprises transmitting one or more first layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (page 13, par(0124), line 1-10, RP SDM for PUSCH is illustrated according to Two layers of OFDM resource grids for a rank combination), and wherein transmission using the second TCI state comprises transmitting one or more second layers of the PUSCH transmission; and transmitting, based on the SRS resource set indicator field, layers of the PUSCH transmission corresponding to the indicated one or more TCI states(page 13, par(0124), line 1-10, RP SDM for PUSCH is illustrated according to Two layers of OFDM resource grids for a rank combination, first layer which correspond to a first TCI state represent a first resource block set transmitted from an antenna array of a first TRP along a first path, a second layer, which correspond to a second TCI state represent a second resource block set transmitted from an antenna array of a second TRP along a second path).
Yuan and Chen analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transmitting, based on the SRS resource set indicator field, the PUSCH transmission the teaching of Yuan to include the first DCI format, and the second TCI state activation message, including the at least the second TCI codepoint, corresponds to a second DCI format the teaching of Chen because it is providing for shared use of a portion of the spectrum without need for a government-granted license.
Regarding Claim 3, Yuan discloses the transmitting the PUSCH transmission comprises transmitting, using the first TCI state, one or more first layers of the PUSCH transmission; or transmitting, using the second TCI state, one or more second layers of the PUSCH transmission(page 11, par (0092), line 1-10, a UE receive a DCI message to the UE that includes an FORA field, the FORA indicate a set of RBs, and the UE use the indicated set of RBs to identify a first set of RBs for a first TCI state and a second set of RBs for a second TCI state, both of which satisfy a threshold for transform precoding).
Regarding Claim 4, Yuan discloses receiving one or more configuration parameters indicating a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme for the PUSCH transmission (page 10, par (0086), line 1-10, the UEs use MIMO communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. referred to as spatial multiplexing).
Regarding Claim 5, Yuan discloses receiving one or more configuration parameters indicating a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) scheme for the PUSCH transmission(page 11, par (0097), line 1-10, the UE multiplex frequency division multiplexing (FDM), the UE perform uplink repetitions (e.g., transmitting a first repetitions of an uplink message on a PUSCH using the first beam and the first panel, and a second repetition of the uplink message on the PUSCH using the second beam and the second panel).
Regarding Claim 8, Yuan discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, first downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state(page 1, par (0004), line 1-10, a user equipment (UE) receives a downlink control information (DCI) message to the UE indicate a set of resource blocks (RBs), and the UE uses the indicated set of RBs to identify a first set of RBs for the first TCI state);
Yuan discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving second DCI comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set indicator field, wherein the SRS resource set indicator field comprises a value that indicates which one or more TCI states, of among the first TCI state or and the second TCI state, to use for transmission, and wherein transmission using the second TCI state comprises transmitting one or more second layers of the PUSCH transmission; and transmitting, based on the SRS resource set indicator field, layers of the PUSCH transmission corresponding to the indicated one or more TCI states.
Chen is the same field of invention that teaches receiving second DCI comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set indicator field, wherein the SRS resource set indicator field comprises a value that indicates which one or more TCI states, of among the first TCI state or and the second TCI state, to use for transmission(page 26, par(0216), line 1-10, transmitting a second TCI state activation message, the second TCI state activation message: mapping at least a third TCI state, a fourth TCI state, and a second mTRP configuration to a second TCI codepoint, and activating the second TCI codepoint, where the first TCI state activation message, including at least the first TCI codepoint, corresponds to a first DCI format, and the second TCI state activation message, including the at least the second TCI codepoint, corresponds to a second DCI format),
wherein transmission using the first TCI state comprises transmitting one or more first layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (page 13, par(0124), line 1-10, RP SDM for PUSCH is illustrated according to Two layers of OFDM resource grids for a rank combination), and wherein transmission using the second TCI state comprises transmitting one or more second layers of the PUSCH transmission; and transmitting, based on the SRS resource set indicator field, layers of the PUSCH transmission corresponding to the indicated one or more TCI states(page 13, par(0124), line 1-10, RP SDM for PUSCH is illustrated according to Two layers of OFDM resource grids for a rank combination, first layer which correspond to a first TCI state represent a first resource block set transmitted from an antenna array of a first TRP along a first path, a second layer, which correspond to a second TCI state represent a second resource block set transmitted from an antenna array of a second TRP along a second path).
Yuan and Chen analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transmitting, based on the SRS resource set indicator field, the PUSCH transmission the teaching of Yuan to include the first DCI format, and the second TCI state activation message, including the at least the second TCI codepoint, corresponds to a second DCI format the teaching of Chen because it is providing for shared use of a portion of the spectrum without need for a government-granted license.
Regarding Claim 10, Yuan discloses receiving one or more configuration parameters indicating a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme for the PUSCH transmission (page 10, par (0086), line 1-10, the UEs use MIMO communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. referred to as spatial multiplexing).
Regarding Claim 11, Yuan discloses receiving one or more configuration parameters indicating a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) scheme for the PUSCH transmission(page 11, par (0097), line 1-10, the UE multiplex frequency division multiplexing (FDM), the UE perform uplink repetitions (e.g., transmitting a first repetitions of an uplink message on a PUSCH using the first beam and the first panel, and a second repetition of the uplink message on the PUSCH using the second beam and the second panel).
Regarding Claim 15, Yuan discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, first downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second TCI state(page 1, par (0004), line 1-10, a user equipment (UE) receives a downlink control information (DCI) message to the UE indicate a set of resource blocks (RBs), and the UE uses the indicated set of RBs to identify a first set of RBs for the first TCI state);
Yuan discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving second DCI comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set indicator field, wherein the SRS resource set indicator field comprises a value that indicates which one or more TCI states, of among the first TCI state or and the second TCI state, to use for transmission, and wherein transmission using the second TCI state comprises transmitting one or more second layers of the PUSCH transmission; and transmitting, based on the SRS resource set indicator field, layers of the PUSCH transmission corresponding to the indicated one or more TCI states.
Chen is the same field of invention that teaches receiving second DCI comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set indicator field, wherein the SRS resource set indicator field comprises a value that indicates which one or more TCI states, of among the first TCI state or and the second TCI state, to use for transmission(page 26, par(0216), line 1-10, transmitting a second TCI state activation message, the second TCI state activation message: mapping at least a third TCI state, a fourth TCI state, and a second mTRP configuration to a second TCI codepoint, and activating the second TCI codepoint, where the first TCI state activation message, including at least the first TCI codepoint, corresponds to a first DCI format, and the second TCI state activation message, including the at least the second TCI codepoint, corresponds to a second DCI format),
wherein transmission using the first TCI state comprises transmitting one or more first layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (page 13, par(0124), line 1-10, RP SDM for PUSCH is illustrated according to Two layers of OFDM resource grids for a rank combination), and wherein transmission using the second TCI state comprises transmitting one or more second layers of the PUSCH transmission; and transmitting, based on the SRS resource set indicator field, layers of the PUSCH transmission corresponding to the indicated one or more TCI states(page 13, par(0124), line 1-10, RP SDM for PUSCH is illustrated according to Two layers of OFDM resource grids for a rank combination, first layer which correspond to a first TCI state represent a first resource block set transmitted from an antenna array of a first TRP along a first path, a second layer, which correspond to a second TCI state represent a second resource block set transmitted from an antenna array of a second TRP along a second path).
Yuan and Chen analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transmitting, based on the SRS resource set indicator field, the PUSCH transmission the teaching of Yuan to include the first DCI format, and the second TCI state activation message, including the at least the second TCI codepoint, corresponds to a second DCI format the teaching of Chen because it is providing for shared use of a portion of the spectrum without need for a government-granted license.
Regarding Claim 17, Yuan discloses transmitting one or more configuration parameters indicating a spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme for the PUSCH transmission (page 10, par (0086), line 1-10, the UEs use MIMO communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. referred to as spatial multiplexing).
Regarding Claim 18, Yuan discloses transmitting one or more configuration parameters indicating a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) scheme for the PUSCH transmission(page 11, par (0097), line 1-10, the UE multiplex frequency division multiplexing (FDM), the UE perform uplink repetitions (e.g., transmitting a first repetitions of an uplink message on a PUSCH using the first beam and the first panel, and a second repetition of the uplink message on the PUSCH using the second beam and the second panel).
Regarding Claim 21, Yuan discloses the second DCI further comprises a first field that indicates the a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) (page 1, par (0004), line 1-10, a user equipment (UE) receives a downlink control information (DCI) message to the UE indicate a set of resource blocks (RBs), and the UE uses the indicated set of RBs to identify a first set of RBs for the first TCI state).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 2 or 6 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 8 would be allowable if (i) claims 9 or 12 are incorporated into the independent claim 8.
Claim 15 would be allowable if (i) claims 16 or 19 are incorporated into the independent claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
TSENG et al. (US 20250105900, Mar. 27, 2025) teaches Method and Apparatus for Network Energy Saving in Wireless Networks.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464