The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-10 have been elected in response to the Requirement for Restriction.
Amendment to the Speciation
The amendment to the specification dated 01/20/2026 is entered.
Drawing
The drawing replacement sheet filed on 07/11/2023 is entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “displaying a sub-menu” is unclear. The context of a sub-menu is ambiguous and it is not associate with any menu that be might be related to hierarchical display.
The scope of the clause authentication is unclear/vague and it lacking which entities/objects the authentication is targeting.
The limitation “performing a NOP-operation is unclear/ambiguous. Examiner suggests Applicant to clarify the scope of the limitation by amending the claim to capture “NOP-operation may be used
when an action does not make sense, e.g., when activating a display element "serial number", where (e.g.) an updating does not bring another result” as recited in paragraph of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brooks et al (hereinafter Brooks) US Publication No 20040073404.
As per claim 1, Brooks teaches:
A method for providing a controlling frontend for an operating device configured for operating a field device by utilizing operating elements of the field device, the method comprising:
providing an operational frame, wherein the operational frame serves as a generic user interface and is based on a companion specification;
(Fig, 125 and 127b and paragraphs [0077], [0080]-[0082], [0085] and [0889], wherein specification matching the selected component are obtained and paragraph [0092], wherein control mechanical component is the operation frame as recited in paragraph [0011] of the instant specification)
reading a field device specification from a database, wherein the field device specification comprises a structured set of field device attributes, which are related to the operating elements;
(Paragraphs [0724] and [0108], wherein operating characteristics (i. e temperature) is the attribute as recited in paragraph [0010] of the instant specification)
and generating, based on the field device specification and the operational frame, a structured set of display elements for the controlling frontend, wherein at least some of the display elements of the controlling frontend are connected to the operating elements of the field device.
(Fig, 125 and 127b and paragraphs [0077], [0080]-[0082] and [0084]- [0085] and [0700], wherein specification template matching component is obtained/generated)
As per claim 2, Brooks teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the operating elements are at least one of:
a sensor, an actuator, and/or a register entry.
(Paragraphs [0026] and [0042])
As per claim 3, Brooks teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the companion specification comprises a specification of a layout and/or of a graphical style of the display elements, and/or further elements of a company style.
(Paragraphs [0082], [0084]-[0085], wherein specification temple icon is matched component icon)
As per claim 4, Brooks teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the display elements are hierarchically structured.
(Fig. 8, 14 and paragraph [0911] and [0925] and [1374])
As per claim 7, Brooks teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein activating one of the display elements is related to a display element action, wherein the display element action comprises at least one of: displaying a sub-menu, steering an operating element of the field device, performing an authentication, and/or performing a NOP-operation.
(Fig. 8, 14 and paragraph [0911] and [0925] and [1374])
As per claim 8, Brooks teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the display elements of the controlling frontend being connected to the operating elements of the field device requires an authorization of the controlling frontend and/or of the operating device.
(Paragraph [1125])
As per claim 9, Brooks teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the operating device is a smartphone, a tablet, a laptop, a specialized device, or another type of mobile device, a stationary device, or a server.
(Paragraph [0028])
As per claim 10, Brooks teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the database is located on the field device, on the operating device, on a server, or on an aggregation server.
(Paragraph [0089] and [0243])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brooks in view of Maksumov et al (hereinafter Maksumov) US Publication No. 20160127514.
As per claim 5, Brooks does not explicitly teach an address space of the device is compliant with a companion specification according to OPC 30081, OPC 10000-100, OPC Unified Architecture for IEC61850, MDIS OPC UA Companion Specification, OPC Unified Architecture for Analyzer Devices (ADI) and/or another companion specification and/or is compliant with an aggregated service, however in analogous art of content management, Maksumov teaches:
an address space of the device is compliant with a companion specification according to OPC 30081, OPC 10000-100, OPC Unified Architecture for IEC61850, MDIS OPC UA Companion Specification, OPC Unified Architecture for Analyzer Devices (ADI) and/or another companion specification and/or is compliant with an aggregated service.
(Paragraphs [0056], [0068] and [0071])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Brooks and Maksumov by incorporating the teaching of Maksumov into the method of Brooks. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Maksumov into the system of Brooks for the purpose of managing industrial control and improving communication to/from various device using different protocols.
As per claim 5, Brooks does not explicitly teach at least a part of the field device specification and/or the field device attributes is compliant with a Unified Architecture of Open Platform Communications, OPC UA, however in analogous art of content management, Maksumov teaches:
at least a part of the field device specification and/or the field device attributes is compliant with a Unified Architecture of Open Platform Communications, OPC UA.
(Paragraphs [0056], [0068] and [0071])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Brooks and Maksumov by incorporating the teaching of Maksumov into the method of Brooks. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Maksumov into the system of Brooks for the purpose of managing industrial control and improving communication to/from various device using different protocols.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tarek Chbouki whose telephone number is 571-2703154. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached at 571-2701760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TAREK CHBOUKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 3/10/2026