DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-4, & 6-19 are pending in the application and are presently examined. Claims 1-4 & 6-19 were rejected in the 2/26/2026 office action. Applicant cancelled claims 2 & 5.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
The 5/26/2026 amendment, in response to the 2/26/2026 office action, has been entered.
Applicant’s claim amendments overcame all objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections.
Claim 5 was allowable in the 2/26/2026 office action. Applicant cancelled claims 2 & 5, and incorporated these claim limitations into claim 1. These claim amendments overcame all 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
The allowable subject matter that was in claim 5, however, and is now in claim 1, is withdrawn due to the newly-cited prior art. The claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Objections and Examiner Amendment
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 1 states “the lithium manganese-based oxide is represented by Formula 1… wherein, M1 is at least one selected from Ni and Mn”. Thus, it seems that Mn is optional in “the lithium manganese-based oxide”, which is indefinite or ambiguous. In a call with the attorney on 6/26/2026, the definition of M1 is amended as follows: “M1 is Mn or M1 is
Formula 1 has some unnecessary complexity due to the recent amendment. Examiner suggests the following amendment:
“wherein the lithium manganese-based oxide is represented by Formula 1 below: [Formula 1] Li(LiaM1xPy)O2-bXb wherein, M1 is Mn or M1 is , and X is a halogen that can substitute for at least some of the oxygen present in the lithium manganese-based oxide, 0<a≤0.7, 0≤b≤0.1, 0<x≤1, 0≤y<1, and 0<x+y≤1,
“ is formed, in which the concentration of phosphorus (P) decreases from the surface portion to the central portion of the secondary particle
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regard as the invention.
Claim 1 states “the concentration”, “the surface portion”, and “the central portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim.
Claims 2-19 are rejected due to their dependance on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 12-15, & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Enhanced electrochemical performance of Al(NO3)3 and NH4H2PO4 co-modified Li1.11(Ni0.19Co0.07Mn0.6)O2” (Qiu) in view of US20220238871A1 (Lee), JP2008521196A machine translation (JP196), and US20140212758A1 (Kawasato).
With regard to claim 1, Qiu teaches the following claim limitations:
A positive electrode active material (abstract: cathode material) comprising
a lithium manganese based oxide (abstract: Li1.11(Ni0.19Co0.07Mn0.6)O2) in which a phase belonging to a C2/m space group and a phase belonging to an R3-m space group (page 9465. page 9467, left column) are dissolved or complexed, in which the lithium manganese-based oxide comprises… a plurality of primary particles (figure 1; page 9465)…
a coating layer comprising a first oxide containing at least one selected from a metal element and a metalloid element (abstract: Al2O3 coating layer) and a second oxide containing phosphorus (P) (abstract; page 9467, left column: NH4H2PO4) is formed on at least a part of the surface of the primary particle
Qiu, however, fails to teach the following claim 1 limitations, which are taught by Lee:
the lithium manganese-based oxide comprises a secondary particle formed by aggregating a plurality of primary particles (paragraph 47),
an average value of the minor axis lengths (paragraph 98) of the primary particles… is 130 nm or more and less than 850 nm (Table 1, Example 1: 0.2 μm = 200 nm)
Lee is directed to a lithium manganese oxide, with specifically-sized primary and secondary particles (paragraph 47; Table 1, Example 1), for a positive electrode (paragraphs 11-12, 33, & 54-56) with improved capacity, rate capability, and cycle characteristics (paragraph 15). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Qiu’s particles to include a secondary particle formed by aggregating primary particles, and for the primary particles to have 200 nm minor axis length, as taught by Lee, for improved capacity, rate capability, and cycle characteristics.
Claim 1 also recites the following method for calculating the primary particle minor axis length:
the primary particles calculated from 20 primary particles selected in order from longest-to-shortest minor axis lengths from the primary particles exposed on a surface of the secondary particle from a SME image of the secondary particle
Claim 1 is an apparatus claim – not a method of measurement or calculation claim. This method of measuring or calculating lengths does not limit this apparatus claim for examination.
Qiu, however, fails to teach the following claim 1 limitations (amended as discussed in the Claim Objections and Examiner Amendment section above):
wherein the lithium manganese-based oxide is represented by Formula 1 below: [Formula 1] Li(LiaM1xPy)O2-bXb wherein, M1 is Mn or M1 is Ni and Mn, and X is a halogen that can substitute for at least some of the oxygen present in the lithium manganese-based oxide, 0<a≤0.7, 0≤b≤0.1, 0<x≤1, 0≤y<1, and 0<x+y≤1
Selecting a=0.2, M1=Mn with x=0.2 and M1=Ni with x=0.8, and y=0, Formula 1 is Li1.2Mn0.2Ni0.8O2. JP196 teaches this formula.
JP196 teaches a cathode active material with the following formula:
“Li1+δ[CoaMnbMcNi1-(a+b+c)]O2 (wherein M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mg, Zn, Ca, Sr, Cu, Zr, P, Fe, Al, Ga, In, Cr, Ge and Sn, 0≤δ≤1/5, 0≤a≤0.5, 0≤b≤0.2, 0≤c≤0.1, and 0≤a+b+c≤0.5” (paragraph 20)
Selecting δ=1/5=0.2, a=0, b=0.2, c=0, this formula is Li1.2Mn0.2Ni0.8O2.
JP196 is directed to positive electrode for high capacity, thermal safety, and high charge density, and long life (abstract). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art for Qiu’s lithium manganese based oxide to be or to include Li1.2Mn0.2Ni0.8O2, as taught by JP196, for a positive electrode for high capacity, thermal safety, and high charge density, and long life.
Qiu fails to teach the following claim 1 limitation, which is taught by Kawasato:
a gradient in which the concentration of phosphorus (P) decreases from the surface portion to the central portion of the secondary particle is formed (paragraph 83)
Kawasato teaches decreasing phosphorus concentration from particle surface to the center, for improved lithium mobility (paragraph 83). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art for phosphorus concentration in Qiu’s particles to decrease from the surface to the center, as taught by Kawasato, for improved lithium mobility.
With regard to claim 3, modified Qiu teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Modified Qiu also teaches the following claim 3 limitation:
the coating layer is formed on at least a part of the surface of the primary particle present in the surface portion of the secondary particle
Qiu’s primary particles, modified by Lee, aggregate into a secondary particle, as discussed above. Because the primary particles form the secondary particle, the primary particles and their coatings would be at a surface of the secondary particle.
With regard to claim 6, modified Qiu teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Qiu also teaches the following claim 6 limitation:
the first oxide is represented by Formula 2 below, [Formula 2] LicM3dOe Wherein, M3 is at least one selected from Ni, Mn, Co, Al, Nb, B, Ti, Zr, Ba, K, Mo, Si, Fe, Cu, Cr, Zn, Na, Ca, Mg, Pt, Au, Eu, Sm, W, V, Ta, Sn, Hf, Ce, Gd and Nd, 0≤c≤10, 0≤d≤8, 0<e≤13, and the case in which c and d are 0 at the same time is excluded
Qiu teaches Al2O3, which meets the requirements of Formula 2 with c=0, M3=Al, d=2, and e=3 (abstract).
With regard to claims 12-14, modified Qiu teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Qiu also teaches the following limitations of claims 12-14 (figure 1; page 9465, left column):
Claim 12
the lithium manganese-based oxide further comprises at least one phase selected from a spinel phase and a spinel-like phase
Claim 13
the spinel phase or spinel-like phase is dissolved or complexed with at least one selected from the primary particle and the coating layer
Claim 14
the spinel phase or spinel-like phase is present at at least a part of an interface between the primary particle and the coating layer
With regard to claim 15, modified Qiu teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Claim 15 states:
when a lithium secondary battery using the positive electrode active material as a positive electrode and a lithium foil as a negative electrode is charged/discharged under the following charge/discharge conditions, [Charge/discharge conditions]
- Cut off voltage : 2.0V - 4.6V
- Charge : 1.0C (CC) / discharge : 1.0C (CC)
In a graph that uses a voltage (V) and a battery capacity (Q) for initial discharging and is plotted by a value (dQ/dV) obtained by differentiating the battery capacity (Q) with respect to the voltage (V), in which the X-axis is the voltage (V) and the Y-axis is the battery capacity (Q), there is a peak in at least one region selected from a first voltage region (3.0V or more and less than 3.3V) and a second voltage region (2.7V or more and less than 3.0V)
Modified Qiu teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1; therefore, the graph of claim 15 would result from using that positive electrode active material.
With regard to claims 18 & 19, modified Qiu teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Modified Qiu also teaches the following limitations of claims 18 & 19 (Qiu abstract: cathode. Lee abstract: positive electrode active material for a secondary battery):
Claim 18
A positive electrode comprising the positive electrode active material according to claim 1.
Claim 19
A lithium secondary battery using the positive electrode of claim 18.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Enhanced electrochemical performance of Al(NO3)3 and NH4H2PO4 co-modified Li1.11(Ni0.19Co0.07Mn0.6)O2” (Qiu) in view of US20220238871A1 (Lee), JP2008521196A machine translation (JP196), and US20140212758A1 (Kawasato), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US20180145323A1 (Yoo).
Qiu fails to teach the following claim 4 limitation, which is taught by Yoo:
a gradient in which a proportion of at least one selected from x and y in Formula 1 changes from the surface portion to the central portion of the secondary particle is formed (paragraphs 56-60)
Yoo is directed to a lithium secondary battery with improved electrical and mechanical reliability and stability (paragraph 8). This battery includes a cathode active material particle with the following formula: LixM1aM2bM3cOy (paragraph 59). Ni, Co, or Mn can be M1 (paragraph 60). M1 (Ni, Co, or Mn) concentration gradient can continuously decrease from particle center to the surface (paragraph 56).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Ni, Co, or Mn in Qiu’s Li1.11Ni0.19Co0.07Mn0.6O2 to have a concentration gradient from particle center to the surface, as taught by Yoo, as part of a battery with improved electrical and mechanical reliability and stability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Enhanced electrochemical performance of Al(NO3)3 and NH4H2PO4 co-modified Li1.11(Ni0.19Co0.07Mn0.6)O2” (Qiu) in view of US20220238871A1 (Lee), JP2008521196A machine translation (JP196), and US20140212758A1 (Kawasato), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US20240047667A1 (Eom).
Modified Qiu also teaches the following claim 7 limitation:
the coating layer is formed on at least a part of the surface of the primary particle present in the surface portion of the secondary particle
Qiu’s primary particles, modified by Lee, aggregate into a secondary particle, as discussed above. Because the primary particles form the secondary particle, the primary particles and their coatings would be at a surface of the secondary particle.
Qiu, however, fails to teach the following claim 7 limitation, which is taught by Eom:
a gradient in which the concentration of M3 (M3=Al as discussed under claim 6 above) decreases from the surface portion to the central portion of the secondary particle is formed (paragraph 79: Al concentration decreases from primary particle’s surface to the center)
Eom teaches that the aluminum concentration gradient improves secondary battery high-temperature characteristics (paragraph 44). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for aluminum in modified Qiu’s secondary particles to have an aluminum concentration gradient, as taught by Eom, for improved high-temperature characteristics.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Enhanced electrochemical performance of Al(NO3)3 and NH4H2PO4 co-modified Li1.11(Ni0.19Co0.07Mn0.6)O2” (Qiu) in view of US20220238871A1 (Lee), JP2008521196A machine translation (JP196), and US20140212758A1 (Kawasato), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US20150024280A1 (Uchiyama).
With regard to claim 8, Qiu fails to teach the following limitation, which is taught by Uchiyama:
the second oxide is represented by Formula 3… LifM4g(PhOi)j Wherein, M4 is at least one selected from Ni, Mn, Co, Al, Nb, B, Ti, Zr, Ba, K, Mo, Si, Fe, Cu, Cr, Zn, Na, Ca, Mg, Pt, Au, Eu, Sm, W, V, Ta, Sn, Hf, Ce, Gd and Nd, 0≤f≤10, 0≤g≤8, 0<h≤4, 0<i≤10, and 0<j≤13
Formula 3 can be Li3PO4 with f=3, g=0, h=1, i=4, and j=1.
In order to reduce interface resistance between active material and electrolyte, Uchiyama coats a positive electrode active material particle with a reaction suppressing layer (paragraphs 8-11). This reaction suppressing layer can be Li3PO4 (paragraph 42).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for aluminum in modified Qiu’s second oxide to include Li3PO4, as taught by Uchiyama, for reduce interface resistance.
Claim 9 states:
the coating layer is formed on at least a part of the surface of the primary particle present in the surface portion of the secondary particle, and a gradient in which at least one of the concentrations of M4 and P decreases from the surface portion to the central portion of the secondary particle is formed
M4 is optional in Formula 3, because the stoichiometric coefficient for M4 can equal zero (g=0). In Uchiyama’s formula, Li3PO4, discussed under claim 8 above, there is no M4 (i.e. g=0). Claim 9 merely further defines optional M4, but does not require M4.
With regard to claim 10, Qiu fails to teach the following limitation, which is taught by Uchiyama:
Qiu teaches the following claim 10 limitation:
the coating layer comprises a first oxide represented by Formula 2… LicM3dOe Wherein, M3 is at least one selected from Ni, Mn, Co, Al, Nb, B, Ti, Zr, Ba, K, Mo, Si, Fe, Cu, Cr, Zn, Na, Ca, Mg, Pt, Au, Eu, Sm, W, V, Ta, Sn, Hf, Ce, Gd and Nd, 0≤c≤10, 0≤d≤8, 0<e≤13, and the case in which c and d are 0 at the same time is excluded,
Qiu teaches Al2O3, which meets the requirements of Formula 2 with c=0, M3=Al, d=2, and e=3 (abstract).
Qiu fails to teach the following claim 10 limitation, which is taught by Uchiyama:
the coating layer comprises… a second oxide represented by Formula 3… LifM4g(PhOi)j Wherein, M4 is at least one selected from Ni, Mn, Co, Al, Nb, B, Ti, Zr, Ba, K, Mo, Si, Fe, Cu, Cr, Zn, Na, Ca, Mg, Pt, Au, Eu, Sm, W, V, Ta, Sn, Hf, Ce, Gd and Nd, 0≤f≤10, 0≤g≤8, 0<h≤4, 0<i≤10, and 0<j≤13
Formula 3 can be Li3PO4 with f=3, g=0, h=1, i=4, and j=1. Uchiyama teaches Li3PO4 for coating a positive electrode active material particle (paragraph 42).
Claim 10 also states:
mole fractions of M3, M4 and P… calculated based on total metal elements excluding lithium by Expression 1 below, in the positive electrode active material is 1.0 to 30.0, [Expression 1] P (mol%)/(M3 (mol%) + M4 (mol%))
For Formula 2, Qiu teaches Al2O3, in which M3=Al. Thus, M3 mol%=2/5. For Formula 3, Uchiyama teaches Li3PO4, in which (a) there is no M4, because g=0; and (b) P mol%=1/8.
E
x
p
r
e
s
s
i
o
n
1
=
1
8
*
5
2
=
0.31
.
Modified Qiu discloses 0.31 mole fraction whereas claim 10 requires 1 to 30 mole fraction. MPEP 2144.05 (I) provides the law for this issue:
“Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985)… ‘The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.’”
Given that there is only a slight difference between modified Qiu’s 0.31 mole fraction and 1 to 30 mole fraction in claim 10, and further given the fact that no criticality is disclosed for the claimed range, the claimed range is an obvious variant of modified Qiu’s range.
Claim 10 also states that the mole fractions of M3, M4 and P are measured by ICP analysis. Claim 10 is an apparatus claim – not a method of measurement claim. This method of measuring does not limit this apparatus claim for examination.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Enhanced electrochemical performance of Al(NO3)3 and NH4H2PO4 co-modified Li1.11(Ni0.19Co0.07Mn0.6)O2” (Qiu) in view of US20220238871A1 (Lee), JP2008521196A machine translation (JP196), US20140212758A1 (Kawasato), and US20150024280A1 (Uchiyama), as applied to claims 1 & 10, and further in view of US20180331362A1 (Niwata).
Claim 11 states:
the coating layer is formed on at least a part of the surface of the primary particle present in the surface portion of the secondary particle
Qiu’s primary particles, modified by Lee, aggregate into a secondary particle, as discussed above. Because the primary particles form the secondary particle, the primary particles and their coatings would be at a surface of the secondary particle.
Claim 11 also states:
a gradient in which at least one of the concentrations of M3, M4 and P decreases from the surface portion to the central portion of the secondary particle is formed
Qiu fails to teach phosphorus for M2. As discussed under claim 10, Uchiyama teaches Li3PO4 for coating a positive electrode active material particle (paragraph 42). Uchiyama, however, fails to teach the phosphorus concentration gradient.
Niwata teaches LixCo1-yMyO2-z, where M can be phosphorus (P), 0≤x≤1, 0<y<0.5, and −0.1≤z≤0.2, as a positive electrode active material (paragraphs 43-44 & claim 1). With M=P, x=1, y=0.4, and z=0, this formula is LiCo0.6P0.4O2. Niwata also teaches a gradient (increase or decrease) of element M from surface to center (paragraph 53). This concentration gradient can improve secondary battery cycle characteristics (paragraphs 5-6).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for phosphorous, in Qiu’s particle modified with Uchiyama’s Li3PO4, to have a decreased concentration from the surface to the center.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Enhanced electrochemical performance of Al(NO3)3 and NH4H2PO4 co-modified Li1.11(Ni0.19Co0.07Mn0.6)O2” (Qiu) in view of US20220238871A1 (Lee), JP2008521196A machine translation (JP196), and US20140212758A1 (Kawasato), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US20250279422A1 (Jeong). Claims 16-17 state:
Claim 16
a proportion of a spinel phase and a spinel-like phase in an entire crystal structure present in the surface portion of the secondary particle is larger than a proportion of a spinel phase and a spinel-like phase in the entire crystal structure present in the central portion of the secondary particle
Claim 17
a gradient in which the proportion of the spinel phase or the spinel-like phase in the entire crystal structure decreases from the surface portion to the central portion of the secondary particle is formed
Qiu teaches a spinel phase (figure 1; page 9465, left column). Qiu, however, fails to teach a spinel gradient.
Jeong teaches a spinel gradient for improved battery initial resistance and storage characteristics (paragraphs 10, 29, 46-47, & 126). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for modified Qiu’s spinel to have a gradient from particle surface to core, as taught by Jeong, for improved battery initial resistance and storage characteristics.
Conclusion
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721