DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Application Status
The amended claims filed September 22, 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 24-30, 36-37, 39-40, 45, and 47 have been canceled. Claims 22, 41-44, and 46 have been amended.
Claims 22-23, 31-35, 38, 41-44, and 46 are pending and under examination herein.
WITHDRAWN OBJECTIONS AND REJECTIONS
All prior objections and/or rejections of claims 24-30, 36-37, 39-40, 45, and 47 are rendered moot by the cancelation of the claims.
The prior grounds of rejection over claim 46 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendments to the preamble of the claim.
The rejection of claims 22-23 and 31-35 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by Young (US 2018/0118808 A1; cited in IDS) is withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendments to claim 22.
NEW REJECTIONS NECESSITATED BY CLAIM AMENDMENT
Claim Objections
Claims 43-44 are objected to for the following informalities: The claims appear to contain a misspelling of “biotinidase” as “bitoinidase” in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46 recites the method of claim 22, wherein “a surface-attached polypeptide comprising a small molecule acceptor peptide further comprises a binding domain specific for a target”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Independent claim 22 also recites “a surface-attached polypeptide comprising a small molecule acceptor peptide”. Based on the construction of the claim, it is unclear whether the “a surface-attached polypeptide” recited in claim 46 is intended to refer to the earlier-recited surface-attached polypeptide in claim 22 or to a separate surface-attached polypeptide. Accordingly, the intended metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 43 recites that the small molecule is biotin, biotinidase-resistant biotin, a biotinylamide, or a “bitotinidase”-resistant biotinylamide, and that the antibody reagent comprises the six CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 4-9. These limitations fail to further limit the claimed subject matter of claim 22, because (1) the independent claim earlier recites that the small molecule is biotin, biotinidase-resistant biotin, a biotinylamide, or a biotinidase-resistant biotinylamide, and (2) by virtue of the antibody reagent comprising the sequences of amino acids 1-119 of SEQ ID NO: 1 and amino acids 1-117 of SEQ ID NO: 2, the respective CDRs corresponding to SEQ ID NOs: 4-9 are contained within those sequences.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23, 31-35, 38, 41-44, and 461 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Lohmueller (Oncoimmunology (2018) 7(1): e1368604; cited in PTO-892) in view of Irvine (US 2020/0230221 A1; cited in PTO-892) and Dengl (FASEB Journal (2015) 29(5): 1763-1779; cited in IDS), as evidenced by RCSB Protein Data Bank (PDB) (Entry for “4S1D” released March 4, 2015; see Office Action Appendix).
Lohmueller teaches that the creation of CARs that bind to common tag molecules (e.g., FITC or biotin, conjugated to TAA-specific antibodies) seeks to address known challenges with the application of CAR therapy, namely, antigen loss by tumors and tumor heterogeneity (e.g., Introduction). Lohmueller describes anti-tag CARs (“AT-CARs”) that bind to tags on tumor-targeting antibodies (e.g., Abstract). Lohmueller discloses, “So-called anti-tag CAR (AT-CAR) therapy would be designed so that patients are infused with a tagged, TAA-specific antibody that binds to tumor cells, followed by T cells expressing AT-CARs that react with the tagged antibodies on tumor cells (Fig. 1A). This approach has the potential to allow for sequential or simultaneous targeting of multiple tumor antigens with different antibodies. Additionally, the activity of AT-CARs can be regulated by altering the concentration of tagged antibodies or halting antibody administration for better control over potential toxicities” (Introduction, page 1).
Lohmueller generated CAR-T cells expressing an affinity-enhanced monomeric streptavidin (mAS2) protein engineered to have high affinity for biotin (i.e., a domain that binds to the small molecule biotin), a CD28 transmembrane/cytoplasmic domain, and a CD3ζ stimulatory domain2 (e.g., pages 1-2; Figure 1), which was co-administered with a biotinylated anti-CD20 antibody (rituximab) or a biotinylated anti-CD19 antibody (FMC63) in vitro to activate the CAR-T cells, inducing cytokine release and tumor lysis (e.g., pages 2-4; Figures 3-4), relevant to claims 22-23, 31-35, and 46. The affinity-enhanced mAS2 protein reads on the instantly claimed synthetic signaling system, while the biotinylated antibodies read on a surface-attached polypeptide comprising a (soluble) small molecule as presently claimed.
Lohmueller discloses that future experiments will include in vivo testing of mSA2 CAR-T cells with differing biotinylated antibody doses and schedules in mice bearing human tumor xenografts, thereby reading on a treatment method that comprises administering cells comprising a small molecule-controlled signaling peptide (mSA2 CAR, pertinent to claims 22-23) and a polypeptide comprising a small molecule (biotin) conjugated to an antibody against a cancer cell-specific antigen (CD19 or CD20) to a subject in need of an immunotherapy, wherein said antibody would be a surface-attached polypeptide upon binding to the surface of a cancer cell expressing the target antigen.
However, Lohmueller does not teach that the binding domain that binds specifically to biotin is an antibody or antibody reagent comprising amino acids 1-119 of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and amino acids 1-117 of instant SEQ ID NO: 2.
Irvine teaches amphiphilic ligand conjugates comprising a CAR ligand (e.g., a tag such as biotin), which activate and induce proliferation of T cells expressing a CAR comprising an antigen-binding domain against said tag (i.e., AT-CAR) and increase their anti-tumor activity (e.g., Abstract; ¶ 0004-0012, 0149-0178). Irvine teaches that the CARs of the invention comprise an antigen-binding domain that is selected from scFv, scFab, and others, containing three heavy chain CDRs and three light chain CDRs (e.g., ¶ 0190-0196), relevant to claims 41-42.
Dengl describes the design of hapten-binding IgGs with an accessible cysteine close to their binding pockets, including a novel anti-biotin antibody corresponding to PDB code: 4S1B, which comprises an engineered Cys at residue 52b/53 (Kabat numbering) (e.g., Abstract; Results). As evidenced by RCSB PDB, the antibody corresponding to 4S1D comprises a heavy chain comprising an amino acid sequence having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and a light chain comprising an amino acid sequence having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 2, relevant to claims 22 and 43-44. Dengl teaches that the cysteine modification allows for covalent coupling of a payload to the antibody, wherein the payloads do not dissociate in vitro or in vivo and are more stable (i.e., cleared from serum less quickly) than non-covalently bound payloads (e.g., Abstract; Results). Dengl discloses, “The coupling technology is applicable to many haptens and hapten binding antibodies (confirmed by automated analyses of the structures of 140 additional hapten binding antibodies) and can be applied to modulate the pharmacokinetics of small compounds or peptides. It is also suitable to link payloads in a reduction-releasable manner to tumor- or tissue-targeting delivery vehicles” (Abstract), including cytotoxic payloads that can be directed to tumor cells to achieve antibody-drug conjugate-like functionalities (e.g., Discussion).
Taken together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the treatment method described by Lohmueller, which comprises administering a cell comprising a small molecule-controlled signaling polypeptide (i.e., a biotin-targeting CAR-T cell) in combination with a surface-attaching polypeptide (i.e., a tumor-targeting antibody) that comprises a soluble small molecule (i.e., wherein the tumor-targeting antibody is biotinylated), such that the mSA2 targeting peptide is substituted with the 4S1D biotin-targeting antibody, based on the further teachings of Irvine and Dengl. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Irvine teaches that AT-CAR constructs activate and induce proliferation of AT-CAR-expressing T cells and enhance their anti-tumor activity. The specific anti-biotin antibody construct described by Dengl would be recognized by the skilled artisan as being advantageous because the antibody comprises a modification that permits the conjugation of a payload to the antibody, which Dengl teaches can be used to modulate the pharmacokinetic properties of small molecules/peptides or to link a cytotoxic payload that can be directed to tumor cells in the tumor microenvironment, achieving an ADC-like effect. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because it was within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to generate and to administer antibodies (with or without a synthetic tag) having specificity for a tumor-associated antigen as well as CAR constructs having specificity for a variety of antigens, including synthetic antigens such as a common tag (e.g., FITC or biotin). Further, it was routine and conventional in the art to use antibody-based reagents (e.g., scFv or scFab) as the antigen-binding domain in CAR constructs.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-23, 31-35, 38, 41-44, and 46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,672,828 in view of Lohmueller (Oncoimmunology (2018) 7(1): e1368604; supra), Irvine (US 2020/0230221 A1; supra), and Dengl (FASEB Journal (2015) 29(5): 1763-1779; supra), as evidenced by RCSB PDB (Entry for “4S1D” released March 4, 2015; see Office Action Appendix).
The reference patent claims a combination comprising (I) a cell or set of cells comprising one or more nucleic acids encoding a small molecule-controlled polypeptide comprising at least a first signaling domain and a polypeptide comprising a domain that binds specifically to a small molecule, and (II) a surface-attached molecule comprising a binding domain specific for a target, and a small molecule acceptor peptide (e.g., patented claims 15-18), relevant to claims 22 and 32. Patented claims 16-18 further recite that the domain that specifically binds to a small molecule binds to biotin and is extracellular, relevant to claims 22, 38, and 43.
The reference patent also claims a synthetic signaling system comprising (1) a small molecule-controlled signaling polypeptide comprising a small molecule acceptor peptide, a transmembrane domain, and a CAR stimulatory domain; (2) a polypeptide comprising a domain that binds specifically to the small molecule (e.g., biotin); and (3) a surface-attached molecule comprising a binding domain specific for a target and a small molecule acceptor peptide; and further comprising a soluble molecule comprising a small molecule (e.g., patented claims 1-14), further relevant to claims 22 and 25. Patented claims 21-23 recite a method of treating a subject in need of immunotherapy by administering an immune cell (T cell) comprising a synthetic signaling system, said system comprising (1) a small molecule-controlled signaling polypeptide comprising a small molecule acceptor peptide and at least a first signaling domain and (2) a polypeptide comprising a domain that binds specifically to a small molecule, pertinent to claims 22-23 and 31.
The reference patent does not teach a small molecule-controlled polypeptide comprising all three of a small molecule-binding domain, a transmembrane domain, and a CAR stimulatory domain, which is administered in a treatment method for a subject in need of immunotherapy, nor that the binding domain that binds specifically to biotin is an antibody or antibody reagent comprising amino acids 1-119 of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and amino acids 1-117 of instant SEQ ID NO: 2. However, these deficiencies are remedied by the teachings of Lohmueller, Irvine, and Dengl as set forth in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the treatment method claimed in the reference patent, which comprises administering a cell comprising a small molecule-controlled signaling peptide comprising a polypeptide having a domain that binds to a small molecule (e.g., biotin), a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular signaling domain, such that the binding domain comprises an antibody comprising amino acids 1-119 of SEQ ID NO: 1 and amino acids 1-117 of SEQ ID NO: 2, and such that said small molecule-controlled signaling peptide is co-administered with a surface-attaching molecule comprising a tumor-targeting antibody and the small molecule to which the signaling peptide binds, based on the further teachings of Lohmueller, Irvine, and Dengl. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Lohmueller and Irvine that AT-CAR-based systems allow for administration of a disease-treating therapeutic cell (e.g., a CAR-T cell) with enhanced anti-tumor functionality, the activity of which can be modulated in vivo to minimize toxic effects. The specific anti-biotin antibody construct described by Dengl would be recognized by the skilled artisan as being advantageous because the antibody comprises a modification that permits the conjugation of a payload to the antibody, which Dengl teaches can be used to modulate the pharmacokinetic properties of small molecules/peptides or to link a cytotoxic payload that can be directed to tumor cells in the tumor microenvironment, achieving an ADC-like effect. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because it was within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to generate and to administer antibodies (with or without a synthetic tag) having specificity for a tumor-associated antigen as well as CAR constructs having specificity for a variety of antigens, including synthetic antigens such as a common tag (e.g., FITC or biotin). Further, it was routine and conventional in the art to use antibody-based reagents (e.g., scFv or scFab) as the antigen-binding domain in CAR constructs.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ELIZABETH A SHUPE/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/Brad Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643
1 The final Office Action mailed on July 13, 2026 previously indicated that claims 44-45 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. This position has been reconsidered in the present Office Action.
2 As evidenced by the instant specification at page 25, CD3ζ is an exemplary CAR stimulatory domain.