DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what structure is being claimed for the following part of claim 12: “wherein the shredder blades are arranged such that performance of the device is improved”.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “slow” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slow” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “Slow” is a relative term and it is unclear what a “slow speed” entails.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2792232 A1, hereinafter referred to as “EP”.
Regarding claim 1, EP discloses a device (10; Fig. 1) for accelerating decomposition, incineration, or bio digesting of a deceased animal (intended use) comprising:
a bucket (100; Fig. 1) comprising a cavity (see annotated Figure 1), the bucket configured to be mounted to a vehicle (20; Fig. 1);
a first rotor (Fig. 2) rotatably mounted within the cavity of the bucket (par. 24; Fig. 1), the first rotor comprising a first rotor bar (106; Fig. 2) having a length and a plurality of shredder blades (107; Fig. 2) mounted along the length of the first rotor bar;
and a coupler comprising a first end configured to engage the first rotor bar and a second end configured to engage a moving element of the vehicle (see annotated Figure 2).
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Annotated Figure 1 Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 13, EP discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the bucket has a width that is scalable to animal size (par. 23).
Regarding claim 14, EP discloses the device of claim 13 wherein each shredder blade has a width that is scalable based on the width of the bucket and a desired flesh sizing (par. 23; Fig .2).
Regarding claim 15, EP discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the first rotor is configured to operate at a slow RPM (par. 17) (The rotor of EP can rotate at a slow RPM. No structure is claimed that precludes EP from operating at a slow RPM).
Regarding claim 16, EP discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the first rotor has an axis of rotation, and wherein the first rotor may be rotated around the axis of rotation in a forward or backward direction (Fig. 3 – the rotor may be rotated in both directions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2792232 A1 in further view of CN 105638257 A, hereinafter referred to as “CN”.
Regarding claim 2, EP discloses the device of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein each shredder blade comprises two plates wherein a first tip of the plates is connected with a first bar and a second tip of the plates is connected with a second bar. However, CN teaches a shredder blade that comprises two plates (CN: 803, par. 31; Figs. 7, 8) wherein a first tip of the plates is connected with a first bar (CN: 804, par. 31; Fig. 7) and a second tip of the plates is connected with a second bar (CN: par. 31; Figs. 7, 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, as disclosed by EP, by providing the shredder blade, as taught by CN, in order to shear material (CN: par. 31).
Regarding claim 3, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 2 but fails to disclose wherein each shredder blade further comprises a first cutting edge formed in a concave curve near the first tip of the plates and a second cutting edge formed in a concave curve near the second tip of the plates. However, a separate part of CN teaches a shredder blade further comprises a first cutting edge formed in a concave curve near the first tip (CN: Fig. 5; par. 31 – note “arc-shaped inner side of the arc-shaped upper portion 904…”) of the plates and a second cutting edge formed in a concave curve near the second tip of the plates (CN: Fig. 5; par. 31 – note “arc-shaped inner side of the arc-shaped upper portion 904…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shredder blades, as disclosed by CN, by providing the curved shape blade, as taught by a different part of CN, in order to shear material (CN: par. 31).
Regarding claim 4, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 3 further comprising one or more teeth (CN: 804; Fig. 7) disposed on each of the first cutting edge and the second cutting edge (CN: Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 2 wherein each shredder blade further comprises an opening (CN: 10; Fig. 8) formed at the approximate center of the plates.
Claims 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2792232 A1 in view of CN 105638257 A, as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of CN 109078720 A, hereinafter referred to as “CN 2”.
Regarding claim 6, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 5 but fails to disclose wherein the opening comprises a generally hexagonal shaped hole. However, CN 2 teaches an opening that comprises a generally hexagonal shaped hole (CN 2: par. 29; Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shredder blade, as disclosed by EP (as modified), by providing the hexagonal shaped hole, as taught by CN 2, in order to connect the driven blades (knives) to a rotating (driving) shaft (CN 2: par. 29).
Regarding claim 7, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 6 wherein the generally hexagonal shaped hole is rotated relative to a horizontal line connecting the first and second tips of the plates among various shredder blades such that the shredder blades can be mounted to the first rotor bar in a staggered configuration (CN 2: par. 29; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 7 wherein the hole of a first shredder blade is mounted in a 30 degree position, the hole of a second shredder blade is mounted in a 45 degree position, the hole of a third shredder blade is mounted in a 60 degree position, and the hole of a fourth shredder blade is mounted in a 75 degree position (CN 2: par. 29 – note that CN 2 states, “The connecting line of the teeth on all the blades 22 on the driving knife group 2 and the driven knife group 7 has an angle of 15 degrees with the axis of the driving shaft 5.”).
Regarding claim 9, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 8 wherein the first shredder blade, second shredder blade, third shredder blade, and fourth shredder blade are mounted sequentially on the first rotor bar (CN 2: par. 29; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 9 wherein at least one additional set of first shredder blade, second shredder blade, third shredder blade, and fourth shredder blade are mounted sequentially on the first rotor bar such that a series of shredder bars each rotated 15 degrees relative to adjacent shredder bars span the length of the first rotor bar (CN 2: par. 29; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 6 wherein the shredder blades are arranged in a single or double helix configuration (CN 2: par. 29; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 6 wherein the shredder blades are arranged such that performance of the device is improved (EP: par. 17 – note that the advantages of the feed rollers improve the performance of the device).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2792232 A1.
Regarding claim 17, EP discloses the device of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the device further comprising a second rotor rotatably mounted within the cavity of the bucket, the second rotor comprising a second rotor bar having a length and a plurality of shredder blades mounted along the length of the second rotor bar. However, a further embodiment of EP teaches a second rotor (Fig. 4) rotatably mounted within the cavity of the bucket (Fig. 4), the second rotor comprising a second rotor bar (309; Fig. 4) having a length and a plurality of shredder blades (310; Fig .4) mounted along the length of the second rotor bar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, as disclosed by EP, by providing the second rotor, as taught by a further embodiment of EP, in order to guide material through the device (EP: par. 29).
Regarding claim 18, EP (as modified) discloses the device of claim 17 [wherein] the first rotor and the second rotor are independently sized and controlled such that the first rotor and second rotor may operate at matching or different RPMs, directions of rotation, or tip speeds (par. 35).
Conclusion
/A.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725