DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Gagala (US 3930517).
Regarding Claim 1, Gagala discloses a valve for a gas tank (Figures 1-4; Col 1, lines 12-19). The valve comprising:
a body (10 generally) comprising:
an engaging portion (20) for sealingly engaging with a gas tank (at 18),
a gas inlet (56),
a gas outlet (36), and
a gas passage fluidly connecting the gas inlet and the gas outlet (Figure 2);
a shut-off device (42) in the gas passage (Figure 2);
a check-valve (65 and 80) comprising:
a check-valve seat (65) in the gas passage (Figure 2);
a check-valve obturator (80) configured for contacting the check-valve seat (Figure 3);
wherein the check-valve seat (65) is resiliently urged against the body (via 64; Figure 3);
but fails to expressly disclose where the check valve obturator is configured to contact the check valve seat to close the gas passage in the presence of a refill gas flow from the gas outlet to the gas inlet; wherein the check-valve seat is configured to move away from the body so as to open the gas passage when subjected solely to a refill differential pressure reaching a predetermined threshold.
However, Gagala discloses where the check valve seat is configured to close the gas passage in the presence of a refill gas flow from the gas outlet to the gas inlet (shown in Figure 2); wherein the check-valve obturator is configured to move away from the check valve seat so as to open the gas passage when subjected solely to a refill differential pressure reaching a predetermined threshold (Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the locations of the check valve seat and check valve obturator to be reversed since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an optimal arrangement of the valve parts based on user defined criteria, such as accommodating the bias or providing a bias to the optimal strength.
Regarding Claim 2, Gagala discloses where the gas passage extends longitudinally in the body (from 42 to 84), but fails to expressly disclose where the check-valve seat being configured for opening the gas passage in a radial direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas passage to extend in the radial direction since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an optimal arrangement of the gas passage based on user defined criteria, such as accommodating dispersion of the gas to the sides of the gas tank.
Regarding Claim 3, Gagala discloses where the check-valve seat (65) is movable longitudinally (Figures 3-4).
Regarding Claim 4, Gagala discloses where the check-valve seat (65) comprises a cylindrical sleeve (Figure 3) slidingly received in a housing (54) attached to the body (at 24; Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Gagala discloses wherein the check-valve (65 and 80) comprises a spring (64) located in the housing (54) and resiliently urging the check-valve seat against the body (Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Gagala discloses where the check-valve seat (65) comprises a hole forming the gas passage through the check-valve seat (and into which check valve obturator 80 sits as seen in Figure 3), to be closed by the check-valve obturator (80; Figure 3).
Claim(s) 6-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagala (US 3930517) in view of Brinkley et al (US 4,077,422).
Regarding Claim 6, Gagala discloses where the housing (54) comprises a cylindrical wall (Figure 3) but fails to expressly disclose radial passages for the refill gas flow.
Brinkley et al teach a check valve (60 generally) with a housing (62) where the housing comprises a cylindrical wall (65) with radial passages for the refill gas flow (between 65; Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gagala with the housing as taught by Brinkley et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (the housing of Brinkley et al with the system of Gagala) to yield predictable results (to allow fluid communication between the gas inlet and the gas outlet).
Regarding Claim 7, Brinkley et al teach where the radial passages are closed by the cylindrical sleeve (via the seals at 88) when the check-valve seat is against the body (Figure 4) and are opened when the check-valve seat is moved away from the body (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Brinkley et al disclose where the cylindrical wall of the housing (28) comprises a thread engaging with a corresponding thread on the body (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Gagala disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the check-valve seat comprises a gasket contacting in a gas tight fashion an inner surface of the body, when the check-valve seat is resiliently urged against the body, the gasket being away from the inner surface of the body when the check-valve seat is moved away from the body.
Brinkley et al teach where the check-valve seat (60) comprises a gasket (70) contacting in a gas tight fashion an inner surface of the body (Figure 2), when the check-valve seat is resiliently urged against the body (by 66), the gasket being away from the inner surface of the body when the check-valve seat is moved away from the body (Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gagala with the gasket as taught by Brinkley et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (the gasket of Brinkley et al with the system of Gagala) to yield predictable results (to close fluid communication between the gas inlet and the gas outlet).
Regarding Claim 11, Gagala disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the check-valve seat comprises an outer surface with longitudinal recesses extending from the gasket towards the shut-off device.
Brinkley et al teach where the check-valve seat (58) comprises an outer surface with longitudinal recesses (72) extending from the gasket towards the shut-off device (within 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gagala with the system as taught by Brinkley et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (the check valve of Brinkley et al with the system of Gagala) to yield predictable results (to allow interaction between the shut-off valve and the tank).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagala (US 3930517) in view of Carter (US 2005/0103382).
Regarding Claim 16, Gagala disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but is moot to where the predetermined threshold is comprised between 8 and 17 bar.
Carter teaches a gas cylinder (Figure 1) with a pressure range of between 8 and 17 bar (¶ 6 teaches 7 to 350 bar which encompasses the entirety of the claimed range and therefore reads on the limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gagala with the system as taught by Carter for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (the pressure range of Carter with the system of Gagala) to yield predictable results (to provide operation of the gas system).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753