DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the term “biasing member” should not be read under 112f. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation in question reads “' wherein the pan includes a push and release system including a protuberance formed on the yoke, a biasing member formed on the protuberance and an opening formed in the receptacle, the push and release system configured to selectively lock the dustpan in the first position or release the dustpan into the second position; wherein to transition the dustpan from the first position to the second position, the biasing member and the protuberance are configured to receive pressure to allow movement of the protuberance and biasing member through the opening”. The term “biasing member” has a nonce term. The functional limitation “wherein to transition the dustpan from the first position to the second position, the biasing member and the protuberance are configured to receive pressure to allow movement of the protuberance and biasing member through the opening” does not contain any structure that is capable of doing the recited function. Thus the phrase is interpreted under 112f. If Applicant does not want the limitations read under 112f, the Examiner suggests changing the “biasing member” to a spring or the desired biasing member type. Please review MPEP 2181 for further details.
Applicant further argues that claim 1 is not disclosed by Liu in view of Alt. Applicant fails to give substantiative remarks explaining why claim 1 is not met by Liu in view of Alt. As shown below, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues claim 13 is not disclosed by Alt. The Examiner agrees with applicant. Thus the previous rejections are withdrawn and new rejections are made herein and made final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the button, discussed in claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“biasing member” in claim 1.
When looking to the specification, a biasing member is defined as being any spring system known, including integrally molded to the protuberance (Paragraph 55 of instant application). As such this is the required structure of the claim, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 14, 18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Gregory (US 2019/0150698).
Regarding claim 13, Gregory discloses a dustpan comprising:
a handle assembly (Item 160); and a
pan coupled to the handle assembly, the pan having a receptacle (Item 110) and a yoke (Item 150), the receptacle rotatable from a first position to a second position with respect to the yoke , the receptacle having an open end, a closed end (best shown in Figure 7), an upper wall (Figure 13), a lower wall, and a pair of sidewalls ((best shown in Figure 6) cooperating together to form an interior, the upper wall including a first portion and a second portion, wherein an inner height of the receptacle at the first portion of the upper wall is less an inner height of the receptacle at the second portion of the upper wall.
wherein an opening is formed in the upper wall intermediate the first portion and the second portion (Figure 13 shows an embodiment with a latch that protrudes through the upper wall between a change in overall height of the receptacle, Figure 15 gives another view that speaks to the claim)
Regarding claim 14, Gregory discloses the dustpan of Claim 13, wherein an outer height of the receptacle at the first portion of the upper wall is less than an outer height of the receptacle at the second portion of the upper wall (figure 15).
Regarding claim 18, Gregory discloses the dustpan of Claim 13, wherein the receptacle includes a retaining mouth formed at the open end thereof, the retaining mouth including a step portion integrally formed with the lower wall of the receptacle (Item 196 Figure 13).
Regarding claim 23, Gregory discloses the dustpan of Claim 13, wherein the yoke includes a protuberance, the protuberance received through the opening when receptacle is in the first position (Figure 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-10, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US D919916S) in view of Alt (US 6,282,745).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a dustpan comprising:
a handle assembly (Annotated Figure 10 Item A, better shown in Figure 11); and
a pan (Figure 1) coupled to the handle assembly, the pan having a receptacle (Item B) and a yoke (Item C), the receptacle rotatable from a first position (Figure 1) to a second position (Figure 10) with respect to the yoke, the yoke having a plurality of teeth (Item D) formed thereon.
Liu fails to explicitly disclose configured for engaging an inner surface of the receptacle to militate against over-rotation of the receptacle (Figure 10 shows the yoke and teeth in a second position, in order to be held in this position, the teeth would need to be in contact with the bottom wall). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the teeth such that the teeth contacted the bottom wall of the receptacle. Such a modification is viewed as a change in size which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Allowing the teeth to contact the bottom surface would allow for two things. First, it would allow for the handle to allow for space for the user to fit their hand around when in the second position. Secondly, by limiting the rotation, it would limit the stresses on the joint between the sidewall and the yoke, thus allowing for the tool to last longer.
Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pan includes a push and release system including a protuberance formed on the yoke, a biasing member formed on the protuberance and an opening formed in the receptacle, the push and release system configured to selectively lock the dustpan in the first position or release the dustpan into the second position; wherein to transition the dustpan from the first position to the second position, the biasing member and the protuberance are configured to receive pressure to allow movement of the protuberance and biasing member through the opening
Alt teaches a dustpan wherein the pan includes a push and release system including a protuberance (Item 46) formed on the yoke, a biasing member formed on the protuberance and an opening formed in the receptacle, the push and release system configured to selectively lock the dustpan in the first position or release the dustpan into the second position; wherein to transition the dustpan from the first position to the second position, the biasing member and the protuberance are configured to receive pressure to allow movement of the protuberance and biasing member through the opening (Column 2 Lines 29-65; deforming the yoke is considered a biasing system based on the 112f interpretation).
Annotated Figure 10
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 1, wherein the handle assembly includes a grip assembly (Item E) and a shaft (Item F) , the grip assembly formed from a first portion and a second portion coupled together.
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 1, wherein the yoke is disposed entirely within the receptacle (best shown in Figure 1 of Liu).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the yoke is flush with an inner surface of the receptacle in the first position (Liu; Figure 8 shows how the transition from the handle to the yoke member is flush to the cutout of the receptacle).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of teeth engage an inner surface of the receptacle in the second position (discussed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 1, wherein the receptacle includes a retaining feature formed in the receptacle, the retaining feature configured to prevent fluid from exiting the receptacle.
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 9, wherein the receptacle includes an open end and a retaining mouth formed at the open end of the receptacle, the retaining mouth including a step portion and a lip portion coupled to the step portion (Annotated Figure 7).
Regarding claim 21, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 1, wherein the biasing member is configured to become substantially planar with an outer surface of the protuberance when pressure is applied to the biasing member (as shown in Annotated Figure 2, the molded projection/biasing member extends from the yoke to the outer surface of the protuberance. When force is applied to the protuberance, the biasing member moves).
Regarding claim 22, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 1, wherein the biasing member is configured as a button that biases outwardly from an outer surface of the protuberance (as shown in Annotated Figure 2, the molded projection/biasing member extends from the yoke to the outer surface of the protuberance).
Annotated Figure 2 - Alt
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US D919916S) in view of Gregory (US 2019/0150698)
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 1. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the dustpan includes a pair of wheels.
Gregory teaches a dustpan wherein the dustpan includes a pair of wheels (Item 180). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the wheels as taught by Gregory. Wheels are known in the art for moving objects by reducing the force required. In this instance it would take les force on the users part to roll the dustpan across the floor than to lift or slide the dustpan. Also, the wheels would prevent the user from scratching the floor by providing means to not drag the dustpan cross the floor.
Regarding claim 12, Liu in view of Alt disclose the dustpan of Claim 1. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the dustpan includes a closed end and a torque assisting portion recessed in an outer surface of the closed end.
Gregory teaches a dustpan wherein the dustpan includes a closed end and a torque assisting portion (Item 184) recessed in an outer surface of the closed end. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the torque assisting portion as taught by Gregory. Such a modification would allow a user to use their hand to help guide the receptacle when emptying the dustpan (Gregory (Paragraph 62).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory (US 2019/0150698) in view of Liu (US D919916S)
Regarding claim 15, Gregory discloses the dustpan of Claim 13. Gregory fails to explicitly disclose wherein the yoke is flush with an inner surface of the receptacle in the first position.
Liu discloses a dustpan wherein the yoke is flush with an inner surface of the receptacle in the first position (Figure 8 shows how the transition from the handle to the yoke member is flush to the cutout of the receptacle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the receptacle such that the receptacle encompasses at least some of the yoke as taught by Liu. Such a modification wis viewed as a change in shape, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). By encompassing part of the yoke, the yoke is held in position better and prevents unwanted movement. This would lead to less stress at the joint of the yoke and the sidewalls, which leads to a longer life of the cleaning tool.
Regarding claim 16, Gregory in view of Liu disclose the dustpan of Claim . Gregory fails to explicitly disclose wherein the yoke includes a plurality of teeth, and the plurality of teeth engaging the inner surface of the receptacle in the second position.
Liu further teaches wherein the plurality of teeth engaging the inner surface of the receptacle in the second position. (Figure 1 shows the teeth, and Figure 10 shows the yoke and teeth in a second position, in order to be held in this position, the teeth would need to be in contact with the bottom wall). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gregory to include the teeth and the length of the teeth such that the teeth contacted the bottom wall of the receptacle. Teeth are known in the art to give a surface to clean the broom of hair and other debris that would become entangled upon the broom bristles. Allowing the teeth to contact the bottom surface would allow for two things. First, it would allow for the handle to allow for space for the user to fit their hand around when in the second position. Secondly, by limiting the rotation, it would limit the stresses on the joint between the sidewall and the yoke, thus allowing for the tool to last longer.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory (US 2019/0150698) in view of Morad (US 7,509,705).
Regarding claim 17, Alt discloses the dustpan of Claim 13. Gregory fails to explicitly disclose wherein a retaining feature is formed in at least one of the sidewalls of the receptacle, the retaining feature is a recess formed in an inner surface of the at least one of the sidewalls.
Morad teaches a dustpan wherein a retaining feature is formed in at least one of the sidewalls of the receptacle, the retaining feature is a recess formed in an inner surface of the at least one of the sidewalls (Item 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the receptacle of Gregory to incorporate the retaining feature of Morad. Such a modification would allow the dust pans to interlock with each other for stacking and display purposes (Morad Column 1 Lines 13-37).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory (US 2019/0150698) in view of Ward (US 2012/0260453).
Regarding claim 19 and 20, Alt discloses the dustpan of Claim 18, wherein a lip portion is coupled to step portion (Item 118), the lip portion including a seal (Gregory Item 146, Paragraph 50). Gregory fails to explicitly disclose the lip portion including a fastener and a seal, the fastener coupling the seal to the step portion.
Ward teaches a dustpan wherein a lip portion (Item 1121) is coupled to step portion (Item 1120), the lip portion including a fastener (Paragraph 34) and a seal (Item 1300; paragraph 49), the fastener coupling the seal to the step portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gregory to include the rubber lip attached by a fastener, as taught by Ward. Ward further discusses the use of adhesive or mechanical fasterners to attach the differeing materials to each other. Both methods are known in the art, that lead to the predictable result of the lip seal being securely held to the dustpan. Mechanical fasteners have the advantage that some fasteners can be removed to do maintenance then reinstalled. This would be beneficial if a user ever wanted to replace the seal.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723