DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “the conductive terminal structure moves from bottom to top under the assembly hole so that a terminal body is assembled into the assembly hole” and “outer walls of the connecting portions are in contact with and welded with inner walls of the connecting grooves, so that the conductive terminal structure is fixedly connected to the top cover plate.” It is unclear how the conductive terminal structure is able to move when it is fixedly connected to the top cover plate. Claims 2-10 are similarly rejected because they are dependent on claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the limiting portions” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Ming (CN 110993839 A, machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. teaches a power battery top cover structure (paragraph 0051 and Fig. 1, top cap assembly 100), comprising:
a top cover plate (paragraph 0054 and Fig. 1, top cap plate 10) and a conductive terminal structure (paragraph 0054 and Fig. 1, terminal assembly 20), and
the conductive terminal structure being fitted in a terminal mounting position (paragraph 0091 and Fig. 12, portion E) on the top cover plate;
wherein the terminal mounting position comprises an assembly hole (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, assembly hole) and connecting grooves (paragraphs 0071 and 0095 and Fig. 4, first sink portion 12 to connect to terminal assembly 20) arranged continuously or at intervals,
the assembly hole is arranged on the top cover plate in a penetrating manner (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, assembly hole penetrating top cap plate 10), and
connecting portions arranged continuously or at intervals are formed on a bottom peripheral wall of the conductive terminal structure (paragraph 0093 and see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, connecting portions at the end of first connection portion 232), and
the connecting portions are in a protruding state on the bottom peripheral wall of the conductive terminal structure (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, first connection portion 232 extending away from the terminal plate 21); and
the connecting portions are positioned in the connecting grooves (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below and Fig. 4, connecting portions and connecting grooves), and
an outer peripheral wall of the terminal body of the conductive terminal structure is arranged in contact with an inner peripheral wall of the assembly hole (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, outer peripheral wall of terminal assembly 20 is arranged in contact with an inner wall of the assembly hole), and
outer walls of the connecting portions are in contact with and welded with inner walls of the connecting grooves, so that the conductive terminal structure is fixedly connected to the top cover plate (paragraph 0095, welding between first connection portion 232 and first sink portion 12).
Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13
Chen et al. does not teach that the connecting grooves are formed by recessing a portion of the top cover plate located at a bottom surface of the assembly hole inwards, the connecting grooves are formed at an edge of a lower port of the assembly hole, the connecting grooves are arranged in communication with the assembly hole, and the conductive terminal structure moves from bottom to top under the assembly hole so that a terminal body is assembled into the assembly hole.
Ming teaches connecting grooves formed by recessing a portion of the top cover plate located at a bottom surface of the assembly hole inwards (Fig. 1, connecting grooves in pole ring 12 and assembly hole 11), the connecting grooves are formed at an edge of a lower port of the assembly hole (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 below), the connecting grooves are arranged in communication with the assembly hole (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 below), and the conductive terminal structure moves from bottom to top under the assembly hole so that a terminal body is assembled into the assembly hole (Fig. 1).
Ming Annotated Fig. 4
Chen et al. and Ming are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power battery top cover structure of Chen et al. to incorporate the teachings of Ming so that the connecting grooves are formed by recessing a portion of the top cover plate located at a bottom surface of the assembly hole inwards, the connecting grooves are formed at an edge of a lower port of the assembly hole, and the connecting grooves are arranged in communication with the assembly hole, and the conductive terminal structure moves from bottom to top under the assembly hole so that a terminal body is assembled into the assembly hole. Changing the direction of assembly of the terminal body and the orientation of connecting grooves would not modify the operation of the power battery top cover structure. Relocation of these connecting grooves from the top surface of the cover plate to the bottom surface amounts to rearrangement of parts of the terminal assembly, which would have been a matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Ming (CN 110993839 A), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Deng et al. (US 2014/0106209 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chen teaches the power battery top cover structure according to claim 1, and Chen et al. further teaches:
wherein the conductive terminal structure comprises a terminal fixture (Chen et al. Fig 13, second fixing component 23), a terminal (Chen et al. Fig 13, terminal plate 21), a sealing ring (Chen et al. Fig 13, seal component 24), and an insulator (Chen et al. Fig 13, first fixing component 22);
the terminal fixture comprises a ring bottom (Chen et al. Fig 13, first connection portion 232) and a ring wall (Chen et al. Fig 13, transition portion 231) formed on a top surface of the ring bottom;
a terminal fixing cavity in communication with a positioning hole on the ring bottom is formed between the top surface of the ring bottom and the ring wall (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, terminal fixing cavity and positioning hole), and
a position between an outer peripheral wall of the ring wall and an outer peripheral wall of the ring bottom forms the connecting portions (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, connecting portions);
both the terminal and the sealing ring are placed in the terminal fixing cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, terminal plate 21 and seal component 24 placed in terminal fixing cavity);
a terminal fixing portion of the terminal (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, terminal fixing portion);
the sealing ring is located between the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and an inner bottom surface of the terminal fixing cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, seal component 24 between terminal fixing portion and inner bottom surface of terminal fixing cavity);
the insulator (Chen et al. paragraph 0037, first fixing component 22 is an insulator) is arranged to at least partially cover the terminal and is at least partially located between an outer peripheral wall of a terminal portion of the terminal and an inner peripheral wall of the ring wall (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, first fixing component 22 located between terminal portion and transition portion 231); and
the insulator and the terminal fixing portion of the terminal are arranged in concave-convex fit (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, first fixing component 22 and terminal fixing portion in concave-convex fit),
a first restricting portion on the ring wall is in fit with a second restricting portion on the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, first restricting portion and second connection portion 233),
so that the insulator, the sealing ring and the terminal are all fixedly connected in the terminal fixing cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, first fixing component, seal component 24, and terminal plate 21 all fixedly connected in terminal fixing cavity), and
a top surface of the terminal portion of the terminal is higher than a top surface of the top cover plate and is exposed to the outside (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, top surface of terminal portion).
Chen et al. does not teach that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring and an outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner peripheral wall of the sealing ring.
Deng et al. teaches a terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring and an outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal arranged in contact with an inner peripheral wall of the sealing ring (see Deng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 below).
Deng et al. Annotated Fig. 4
Deng et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the power battery top cover structure as taught by modified Chen with the teachings of Deng et al. using known methods so that a terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring and an outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal arranged in contact with an inner peripheral wall of the sealing ring, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing good sealing between the terminal and sealing ring. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Ming (CN 110993839 A), further in view of Deng et al. (US 2014/0106209 A1) as applied to claim 2, further in view of Yang et al. (WO 2020063584 A1, machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Chen teaches the power battery top cover structure in claim 2, and Chen et al. further teaches:
wherein a concave cavity is formed on an inner wall of the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, concave cavity),
convex portions arranged continuously or at intervals are formed on the terminal fixing portion of the terminal along a circumference of the outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, first flange 211 formed on terminal portion),
the convex portions are embedded in the concave cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, first flange 211 embedded in concave cavity).
Chen et al. does not teach that positioning convexes are formed on an inner wall of the concave cavity, positioning concaves are formed on the convex portions, and the positioning convexes are correspondingly embedded in the positioning concaves.
Yang et al. teaches that positioning convexes are formed on an inner wall of the concave cavity (see Yang et al. Annotated Fig. 3 below, positioning convexes formed on upper insulating member 17), positioning concaves are formed on the convex portions (see Yang et al. Annotated Fig. 3 below, positioning concaves formed on electrode terminals 151 and 152), and the positioning convexes are correspondingly embedded in the positioning concaves (Yang et al. Fig. 1).
Yang et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the power battery top cover structure as taught by modified Chen to with the teachings of Yang et al. using known methods so that positioning convexes are formed on an inner wall of the concave cavity, positioning concaves are formed on the convex portions, and the positioning convexes are correspondingly embedded in the positioning concaves, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of securing the insulator and terminal together. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Yang et al. Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding claim 4, modified Chen teaches the power battery top cover structure in claim 3, and Chen et al. further teaches:
wherein a stepped surface is formed on the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, stepped surface),
the stepped surface is the first restricting portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above), and
a riveting body is formed on a top of the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, second connecting portion 233), and
the riveting body is pressed on the stepped surface of the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above),
so that the terminal and the sealing ring are fixedly connected in the terminal fixing cavity of the terminal fixture (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, terminal plate 21 and seal component 24 are fixedly connected in the terminal fixing cavity); and
the riveting body is the second restricting portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, second connection portion 233), and
an outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixture is arranged in contact with the inner peripheral wall of the assembly hole (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, second fixing component 23 and assembly hole).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chen teaches the power battery top cover structure in claim 4, and Chen et al. further teaches:
wherein the sealing ring comprises a sealing ring sheet and a sealing ring body formed on a bottom surface of the sealing ring sheet (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 below, seal component 24 comprising sealing ring sheet and sealing ring body);
an outer wall of the sealing ring body is in contact with an inner wall of the positioning hole on the ring bottom (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 below, sealing ring body and positioning hole);
the sealing ring sheet is in a compressed state (paragraph 0051, seal component between third flange 17 and terminal plate 21 may be compressed).
Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3
Chen et al. does not teach that the sealing ring sheet is located between the convex portions and the ring bottom, a convex ring is formed on the top surface of the ring bottom, a ring groove is formed on the bottom surface of the sealing ring sheet, and the convex ring is embedded in the ring groove; and the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring sheet, and the outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner hole wall of the sealing ring sheet, so that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and the ring bottom are sealed.
Ming teaches that the sealing ring sheet is located between the convex portions and the ring bottom (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 above, sealing ring sheet located between convex portions and support ring 3), a convex ring is formed on the top surface of the ring bottom (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 above, convex ring), a ring groove is formed on the bottom surface of the sealing ring sheet (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 above, ring groove), and the convex ring is embedded in the ring groove (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 above).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power battery top cover structure as taught by modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Ming so that the sealing ring sheet is located between the convex portions and the ring bottom, a convex ring is formed on the top surface of the ring bottom, a ring groove is formed on the bottom surface of the sealing ring sheet, and the convex ring is embedded in the ring groove; and the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring sheet. Doing so would allow the various components of the power battery top cover structure to be firmly assembled together (Ming paragraph 0042).
The combination of modified Chen in view of Ming does not teach that the outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner hole wall of the sealing ring sheet, so that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and the ring bottom are sealed.
Deng et al. teaches that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring sheet (see Deng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 above, terminal fixing portion and sealing ring sheet), and the outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner hole wall of the sealing ring sheet, so that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and the ring bottom are sealed (see Deng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 above, terminal fixing portion and sealing ring sheet).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the power battery top cover structure as taught modified Chen in view of Ming with the teachings of Deng et al. using known methods so that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring sheet, and the outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner hole wall of the sealing ring sheet, so that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and the ring bottom are sealed, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing good sealing between the terminal and sealing ring to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen teaches the power battery top cover structure in claim 5, and Chen et al. further teaches:
further comprising a lower plastic part (paragraph 0035 and Fig. 1, lower insulation component 40 that may be made of a plastic material),
wherein the lower plastic part is fixed on a bottom surface of the top cover plate (Fig. 13), and
the top cover plate is provided with an electrolyte injection port (Fig. 1, injection hole 15) and an explosion-proof valve (paragraph 0032 and Fig. 1, vent assembly 16 that may be provided with an explosion-proof sheet);
a through hole positionally corresponding to the positioning hole on the ring bottom, an electrolyte injection hole positionally corresponding to the electrolyte injection port and a vent hole positionally corresponding to the explosion-proof valve are formed on the lower plastic part (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 1 below, through hole, electrolyte injection hole, and vent hole); and
an annular convex is formed by extending an upper port edge of the through hole upwards (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 1 below, annular convex), and
the annular convex is placed in the positioning hole on the ring bottom (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, annular convex and positioning hole).
Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 1
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Ming (CN 110993839 A), further in view of Deng et al. (US 2014/0106209 A1) as applied to claim 2, further in view of Yang et al. (WO 2020063584 A1), further in view of Wang et al. (CN 210778796 U, machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chen teaches the power battery top cover structure in claim 6, and Chen et al. further teaches:
wherein the insulator is preformed, or the insulator is formed by performing injection molding and encapsulation treatment on the terminal (paragraph 0062, first fixing component 22 made by integral injection molding)
a pressure is applied to the terminal, so that the ring wall is bent toward the terminal when the ring wall is in a compressed state to form the riveting body (paragraph 0070 and Fig. 3, second connection portion 233 may extend toward the terminal plate 21), and
the riveting body is at least partially located above the convex portions (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, second connection portion 233 located above first flange 211).
Chen et al. does not teach limiting portions are convexly formed on the outer peripheral wall of the insulator; and the inner peripheral wall of the ring wall is recessed to form limiting grooves, and the limiting portions are fitted in the limiting grooves to radially limit the insulator and the terminal fixture.
Wang et al teaches that limiting portions are convexly formed on the outer peripheral wall of the insulator (paragraph 0066 and Fig. 7, multiple support claws 320); and the inner peripheral wall of the ring wall is recessed to form limiting grooves (paragraphs 0077 and 0080, gaps between multiple support claws 320 and vertical ring 220 filled with injection molded part 400, which is whole with fixed disc 200), and the limiting portions are fitted in the limiting grooves to radially limit the insulator and the terminal fixture (paragraph 0078, insulating ring 300 and injection molded part 400 form a whole with torsional resistance and anti-movement performance).
Wang et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power battery top cover structure as taught by modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. so that limiting portions are convexly formed on the outer peripheral wall of the insulator; and the inner peripheral wall of the ring wall is recessed to form limiting grooves, and the limiting portions are fitted in the limiting grooves to radially limit the insulator and the terminal fixture. Doing so would result in a ring wall and insulator with good bonding strength, torsional resistance, and anti-movement performance (Wang et al. paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chen teaches the power battery top cover structure in claim 6, and Chen et al. further teaches:
a pressure is applied to the terminal, so that the insulator is injection molded when the sealing ring is in the compressed state (paragraph 0062, first fixing component 22 made by integral injection molding);
the insulator comprises a terminal covering portion, a ring wall covering portion, and a riveting body covering portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, first fixing component 22 comprising terminal covering portion, ring wall covering portion, and riveting body covering portion),
a locking cavity is formed among an outer wall of the terminal covering portion, an inner wall of the ring wall covering portion and an inner wall of the riveting body covering portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, locking cavity);
the outer wall of the terminal covering portion is recessed to form a fixing concave (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, fixing concave);
an inner bottom surface of the fixing concave is used as the stepped surface (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, fixing concave and stepped surface), and
the ring wall and the riveting body are embedded in the locking cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, transition portion 231 and second connection portion 233 embedded in locking cavity);
the riveting body is embedded in the fixing concave (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, second connection portion 233 embedded in fixing concave),
so that the terminal covering portion is located between the terminal and the inner peripheral wall of the ring wall (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, terminal covering portion located between terminal plate 21 and transition portion 231);
the ring wall covering portion is covered on the outer peripheral wall of the ring wall (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, ring wall covering portion covered on outer peripheral wall of transition portion 231), and
the terminal portion of the terminal is at least partially covered by an inner peripheral wall of the terminal covering portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, terminal portion and terminal covering portion), and
an outer peripheral wall of the ring wall covering portion is arranged in contact with the inner peripheral wall of the assembly hole (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, ring wall covering portion and assembly hole); and
the concave cavity is formed on the inner peripheral wall of the terminal covering portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, concave cavity and terminal covering portion); and
the terminal covering portion, the ring wall covering portion, and the riveting body covering portion are combined to form an integral insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 3 above, terminal covering portion, ring wall covering portion, and riveting body covering portion combined to form first fixing component 22).
Chen et al. does not teach wherein a plurality of limiting grooves are formed on the ring wall; the insulator further comprising limiting portions fitted in the limiting grooves; the limiting portions are formed on the inner wall of the ring wall covering portion, and the terminal covering portion, the ring wall covering portion, the riveting body covering portion and the limiting portions are combined to form an integral insulator.
Wang et al. teaches wherein a plurality of limiting grooves are formed on the ring wall (paragraphs 0077 and 0080, gaps between multiple support claws 320 and vertical ring 220 filled with injection molded part 400, which is whole with fixed disc 200); the insulator further comprising limiting portions fitted in the limiting grooves (paragraph 0066 and Fig. 7, multiple support claws 320); the limiting portions are formed on the inner wall of the ring wall covering portion, and the terminal covering portion, the ring wall covering portion, the riveting body covering portion and the limiting portions are combined to form an integral insulator (paragraph 0078 and Fig. 4, injection molded part 400 and insulator 300 including support claws 320 form a whole).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power battery top cover structure as taught by modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. so that a plurality of limiting grooves are formed on the ring wall; the insulator further comprises limiting portions fitted in the limiting grooves; the limiting portions are formed on the inner wall of the ring wall covering portion, and the terminal covering portion, the ring wall covering portion, the riveting body covering portion and the limiting portions are combined to form an integral insulator. Doing so would result in a ring wall and insulator with good bonding strength, torsional resistance, and anti-movement performance (Wang et al. paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chen teaches the power battery top cover structure in claim 7, and Chen et al. further teaches wherein a plurality of recesses are formed on an inner wall of the terminal fixing cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, recesses), a plurality of protrusions are formed on an outer wall of the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, protrusions), and the protrusions are correspondingly embedded in the recesses (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above).
Regarding claim 10, modified Chen teaches the power battery top cover structure in claim 7. Chen et al. does not teach wherein a plurality of flanges are formed on the outer peripheral wall of the ring wall, a plurality of depressions are formed on the inner peripheral wall of the assembly hole, and the flanges are embedded in the depressions.
Ming teaches wherein a plurality of flanges are formed on the outer peripheral wall of the ring wall (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 above, flange), a plurality of depressions are formed on the inner peripheral wall of the assembly hole (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 above, depression), and the flanges are embedded in the depressions (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 above).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the power battery top cover structure as taught by modified Chen with the teachings of Ming using known methods so that a plurality of flanges are formed on the outer peripheral wall of the ring wall, a plurality of depressions are formed on the inner peripheral wall of the assembly hole, and the flanges are embedded in the depressions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of securing the ring wall and top cover plate. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 5 January 2026