DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowl (US 1,474,707), in view of Alexander (US 1,074,538).
Regarding the claims, Crowl discloses the following:
1. (Currently Amended) A device for collecting marine sediments using a remotely operated vehicle (intended use), comprising: a handle (any of 23, 16, 21, and/or 20); a central body (1) comprising a cylindrical body (1) having an opening (fig. 1) at a lower end (6) of the central body (1); a drive mechanism (including 8); and a cover (2, 3) comprising a hingeable structure (4) attached to the lower end (6) of the central body (1), the hingeable structure connected (via any of 9, 10, 11, 12) to the drive mechanism (including 8); wherein the drive mechanism (including 8) is configured to connect to an ROV drive system (intended use); wherein the drive mechanism (including 8) is configured to pivot the cover (2, 3) between an open position (fig. 1) and a closed position (fig. 3); and wherein in the closed position (fig. 3), the cover (2, 3) is disposed over the opening so as to prevent the marine sediments from exiting the opening.
Crowl does not disclose that the opening is a chamfered opening.
However, chamfering was old, well-known, and common in the mechanical arts, providing the known benefits of increased safety, e.g. by eliminating sharp edges, increased durability, e.g. by removing the most vulnerable point of a 90-degree edge and thereby preventing chipping or wear, better aesthetics, e.g. via a clean, finished appearance, and/or easier assembly, e.g. by allowing mating parts to be guided together. Alexander teaches the use of a chamfer (i.e., ends of sides 3 are disclosed as chamfered or beveled at 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of effective filing to use a chamfered edge, which was old and well-known and/or as taught by Alexander, for the cylindrical opening disclosed by Crowl, for the expected advantage of increased safety, increased durability, better aesthetics, and/or easier assembly.
The combination meets the remaining limitations as follows (mapping to Crowl unless otherwise stated):
2. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 1, wherein the handle (any of 23, 16, 21, and/or 20) is attached to an upper part (figs. 1, 3) of the central body (1).
3. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 1 wherein the handle (any of 23, 16, 21, and/or 20) has a "T" shape (fig. 1 shows 20, 21 with shape of upside down “T”; or 16, 20 as a “T”), and comprises one or more vertical rods (20) attached (i.e., directly or indirectly) to the central body (1).
5. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 1, wherein the central body (1) comprises an internal space for storing the marine sediments (page 1, column 1, lines 47-51).
6. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 1, wherein the chamfered opening (as combined) is configured to be driven into a surface (page 2, col. 1, lines 3-28).
7. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 1, wherein the drive mechanism (including 8) is attached to an upper part (figs. 1, 3) of the central body (1).
9. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 1, wherein the ROV drive system comprises a hydraulic system or a pneumatic system (intended use).
10. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 1, wherein the cover (2, 3) is attached to the central body (1) through the hingeable structure (4).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowl (US 1,474,707) and Alexander (US 1,074,538), in view of Lynch (US 5,540,005).
Crowl does not disclose that the drive mechanism comprises at elast one hydraulic cylinder or at least one pneumatic cylinder.
Lynch teaches a dredging apparatus which makes use of a drive mechanism comprising at least one hydraulic cylinder (any of 80, 82, 84, 86). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of effective filing to use the hydraulic actuators of Lynch in combination with the structure of Crowl, for the expected advantage of increasing the closing and/or holding force of the jaws.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly amended limitations have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/T. SCOTT FIX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618