DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 and 8-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. “mathematical relationships” which the court has identified as abstract) without significantly more. Claims 1, 9 and 16 are directed to the abstract idea of generate a series of covariance matrices for DAS data from the φ-OTDR, determine acoustic events based upon the covariance matrices and a machine learning network, localize subsets of channels in time for corresponding acoustic events. These limitations fall under mathematical concepts. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the only additional elements are an optical fiber; a phase-sensitive optical time domain reflectometer (b-OTDR) coupled to the optical fiber; and a processor cooperating with the φ-OTDR; which are conventional equipment and generating an acoustic event report from the acoustic events; which is considered an extra solution activity such as outputting data (i.e. generating a report). The claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
The data processing are recited so generically (no details whatsoever are provided other than e.g., “determining acoustic events based upon the covariance matrices and a machine learning network”) that it represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a computer. It can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exceptions to the technological environment of a computer. Noting MPEP 2106.04(d)(I): “It is notable that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in Step 2A Prong Two. As the Supreme Court explained in Alice Corp., mere physical or tangible implementation of an exception does not guarantee eligibility. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 224, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014) ("The fact that a computer ‘necessarily exist[s] in the physical, rather than purely conceptual, realm,’ is beside the point")”.
Thus, under Step 2A, prong 2 of the analysis, even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claims are directed to the judicial exception. No specific practical application is associated with the claimed system. For instance, nothing is done with the generated acoustic event report.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as described above, merely amount to a general purpose computer system that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment, limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use, and/or merely insignificant extra-solution activity. Such insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering and output, when re-evaluated under Step 2B is further found to be well-understood, routine, and conventional See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-15 and 17-22 merely expand upon the abstract idea further defining the abstract steps of claims 1 and 20 respectively, and therefore stand rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 12, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 12 and 19, the term "respective optimizers" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term " respective optimizers" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5, 13 and 20 are dependent from, and inherit the limitations of claims 4, 12 and 19 respectively. Thus, 5, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 112 second paragraph for at least the same reasons specified above with respect to claims 4, 12 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 15-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farhadiroushan et al. (US 2014/0025319, hereinafter Far) and further in view of Ba et al. (US 2023/0251646, hereinafter Ba).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 16, Far discloses a distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) method/system and device comprising:
an optical fiber (see abstract);
a phase-sensitive optical time domain reflectometer (φ-OTDR) coupled to the optical fiber (see para. 0052); and
a processor cooperating with the φ -OTDR (see para. 0026 and 0057) and configured to
generate a series of covariance matrices for DAS data from the φ -OTDR (see para. 0103),
determine acoustic events based upon the covariance matrices (see para. 0020),
localize subsets of channels in time for corresponding acoustic events (see para. 0015-0016), and
generate an acoustic event report from the acoustic events (see para. 0022, 0121).
However, Far fails to expressly disclose that the acoustic events are determined based upon the covariance matrices and a machine learning network.
Ba discloses the use of machine learning and covariance matrixes to determine anomaly events (see para. 0073, 0076 and 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Far’s invention to incorporate machine learning as described in Ba for the benefit of detecting an anomaly in the process.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 17, Far in view of Ba discloses the DAS method/system and device of claims 1, 9 and 16 respectively, wherein the machine learning network comprises a Variational Autoencoder (VAE) network. (The Examiner takes official notice noting that machine learning networks can comprise a variational autoencoder network since introduced in 2013).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 18, Far in view of Ba discloses the DAS system of claims 1, 9 and 16 respectively, wherein the machine learning network comprises a Long Short Term Memory (LSTM) network (see Ba para. 0076 and 0099).
Claim(s) 6, 14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Far, Ba, and further in view of Peters et al. US 2022/0076044, hereinafter Pete).
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 21, Far in view of Ba discloses the DAS method/system and device of claims 1, 9 and 16 respectively.
However, Far in view of Ba fail to disclose the DAS method/system and device of claims 1, 9 and 16 respectively, wherein the processor is further configured to select a subset of the covariance matrices from which to determine the acoustic events based upon comparing the series of covariance matrices with a corresponding Toeplitz matrix.
Pete discloses training a flow system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-12, obtaining data from a sensor 30 (e.g. para. 0105, 0116; Figure 3); a processor 45 (e.g. a processor; para.0114) cooperating with the sensor; generating a series of covariance matrices for the data (e.g. paragraph [0142]); comparing the series of covariance matrices with a corresponding Toeplitz matrix (e.g. para 0093 and 0046). (See, para. 0011 to 0070 and 0088 to 0151).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability to employ comparing the series of covariance matrices with a corresponding Toeplitz matrix as suggested by Pete to the system of Far in view of Ba in order to have the ability to map the weights of convolutional layer to a 2-D matrix and provide a multivariate normal distribution as an identity matrix. (See para. 0093 and 0142 of Pete).
Regarding claims 8, 15 and 22, Far in view of Ba discloses the DAS system of claims 1, 9 and 16 respectively, wherein the processor is further configured to classify different regions within the DAS data using different respective acoustic event classes (see para. 0049.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims are patentable under 101 and are geared towards a practical application with structure of an optical fiber.
In response the Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to the rejection above. The claims don’t recite any practical application but merely generate an acoustic event report which is simply outputting data. The structural limitations such as a processor, an optical fiber and a time domain reflectometer are conventional equipment and not novel. Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as described above, merely amount to a general purpose computer system that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment, limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use, and/or merely insignificant extra-solution activity (outputting an acoustic report).
Applicant argues that the claims are geared towards an improvement of operation of a DAS system.
In response, the examiner disagrees and submits that the claimed language does not reflect the alleged improvement to the operation of a DAS system and the alleged improvements mentioned is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h) and as such is not indicative of a practical application of the abstract idea.
Conclusion
/MANUEL A RIVERA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857