DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present application is being examined under the AIA the first inventor to file provisions.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 05/01/2026, with respect to the 103 art rejections for claims 1-6, and 9-21have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 10, “However, Applicant respectfully submits that the '933 application fails to disclose at least processing circuitry configured to perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest; and in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region, the one or more parts being one or more vessel regions located inside and/or outside of the region of interest, and the one or more parts comprising an increased perfusion signal relative to one or more other parts of the anatomical region, as recited in amended Claim 1. ”
In response the office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language the art by Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) explicitly teaches in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region, the one or more parts being one or vessel regions located inside and/or outside of the region of interest (Fig. 1, Column 7 Lines [0037-43]- Lin discloses in a perfusion calculation step 146, perfusion value and time-to-peak 128 values are calculated for each voxel. The process is repeated 148 until all of the voxels have been analyzed. In an interpolation step 150, the pixels that failed the gamma fit are assigned a perfusion value by interpolating perfusion values of nearby voxels (wherein this occurs in the artery region which is a vessel).),
and the one or more parts comprising an increased perfusion signal relative to one or more other parts of the anatomical region (Fig. 1, Column 6 Lines [0041-44]- Lin discloses Curves that, even though gamma variant in shape, are narrower than a preselected width or which have a slope greater than a preselected shape are removed and replaced with interpolated data. Further in Fig. 1, Column 7 Lines [0037-43]- Lin discloses in a perfusion calculation step 146, perfusion value and time-to-peak 128 values are calculated for each voxel. The process is repeated 148 until all of the voxels have been analyzed. In an interpolation step 150, the pixels that failed the gamma fit are assigned a perfusion value by interpolating perfusion values of nearby voxels.);
Lin fails to explicitly teach perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
However, Wang explicitly teaches perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0134]- Wang discloses the lesion prediction results of the first and second ML/DL computer models 134, 136 are combined to generate a final lesion prediction for the ensemble, while the other ML/DL computer model 132 that generates a prediction of a liver mask provides an output representing the liver and its contour (wherein the determination of the Liver mask is the first masking process and the liver is the region of interest).);
perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest (Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0168]- Wang discloses machine learning computer models, and the like, executed by one or more processors of one or more computing devices and which operates on input volumes of one or more medical image data structures, receives a two-dimensional lesion mask 1101 and performs a distance transform (block 1102) to generate distance map 1111 (wherein the determination of the Lesion mask is the second masking process).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin of a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Wang perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate final images to be obtained, since both Lin and Wang are both systems medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Wang’s system provides an increase in efficiency. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1), Paragraph [0240].
The applicant further argues on page 11, “Thus, the '933 application is silent regarding in-painting the one or more parts of the anatomical region comprising an increased perfusion signal relative to one or more other parts of the anatomical region, as required by amended Claim 1.”
The office does not find this argument persuasive based on the reasons set forth above and in the rejection below.
The applicant further argues on page 12, “However, Applicant respectfully submits that the '066 patent fails to disclose processing circuitry configured to perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest; and in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region, the one or more parts being one or more vessel regions located inside and/or outside of the region of interest, and the one or more parts comprising an increased perfusion signal relative to one or more other parts of the anatomical region, as recited in amended Claim 1.”
The office does not find this argument persuasive based on the reasons set forth above and in the rejection below.
The applicant further argues on page 12, “However, Applicant respectfully submits that the '416 patent fails to disclose processing circuitry configured to perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest; and in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region, the one or more parts being one or more vessel regions located inside and/or outside of the region of interest, and the one or more parts comprising an increased perfusion signal relative to one or more other parts of the anatomical region, as recited in amended Claim 1.“
The office does not find this argument persuasive based on the reasons set forth above and in the rejection below.
The applicant further argues on page 13, “Thus, no matter how the teachings of the '567, '416, and '933 applications and the '066 patent are combined, the combination does not teach or suggest processing circuitry configured to perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest; and in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region, the one or more parts being one or more vessel regions located inside and/or outside of the region of interest, and the one or more parts comprising an increased perfusion signal relative to one or more other parts of the anatomical region, as recited in amended Claim 1.”
The office does not find this argument persuasive based on the reasons set forth above and in the rejection below.
The applicant further argues on page 13, “Independent Claim 18 recites limitations analogous to the limitations recited in Claim 1, and is amended in a manner analogous to the amendment to Claim 1. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of Claim 18 is rendered moot by the present amendment to that claim.”
The office does not find this argument persuasive based on the reasons set forth above and in the rejection below.
The applicant further argues on page 13, “Regarding the rejection of dependent Claims 2-4, 12-17, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant respectfully submits that the '624, '030, '648, '250, '795, and '443 applications fail to remedy the deficiencies of the '567, '416, and '933 applications and the '066 patent, as discussed above. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the rejections of the above-noted dependent claims are rendered moot by the present amendment to Claim 1.“
The office does not find this argument persuasive based on the reasons set forth above and in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning.
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a medical image processing apparatus, comprising processing circuitry configured to (Fig. 1, Column 1 Lines [0026-30]- Lin discloses the sampled data is typically manipulated via appropriate reconstruction processors to generate an image representation of the subject which is displayed in a human-viewable form. Various hardware geometries have been utilized in this process.):
receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject (Fig. 1, Column 4 Lines [0010-16]- Lin discloses the number of images can be more or less, 40 is a balance between factors such as time of scan, radiation dose to the subject, cardiac cycle, and a period of time wherein useful perfusion information can be gathered. Typical present day CT scanners can generate 40 images in about 20-40 seconds, which is a relatively long time that the subject is asked to remain perfectly motionless.);
in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region, the one or more parts being one or vessel regions located inside and/or outside of the region of interest (Fig. 1, Column 7 Lines [0037-43]- Lin discloses in a perfusion calculation step 146, perfusion value and time-to-peak 128 values are calculated for each voxel. The process is repeated 148 until all of the voxels have been analyzed. In an interpolation step 150, the pixels that failed the gamma fit are assigned a perfusion value by interpolating perfusion values of nearby voxels (wherein this occurs in the artery region which is a vessel).),
and the one or more parts comprising an increased perfusion signal relative to one or more other parts of the anatomical region (Fig. 1, Column 6 Lines [0041-44]- Lin discloses Curves that, even though gamma variant in shape, are narrower than a preselected width or which have a slope greater than a preselected shape are removed and replaced with interpolated data. Fig. 1, Column 7 Lines [0037-43]- Lin discloses in a perfusion calculation step 146, perfusion value and time-to-peak 128 values are calculated for each voxel. The process is repeated 148 until all of the voxels have been analyzed. In an interpolation step 150, the pixels that failed the gamma fit are assigned a perfusion value by interpolating perfusion values of nearby voxels.);
Lin fails to explicitly teach perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
However, Wang explicitly teaches perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0134]- Wang discloses the lesion prediction results of the first and second ML/DL computer models 134, 136 are combined to generate a final lesion prediction for the ensemble, while the other ML/DL computer model 132 that generates a prediction of a liver mask provides an output representing the liver and its contour (wherein the determination of the Liver mask is the first masking process and the liver is the region of interest).);
perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest (Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0168]- Wang discloses machine learning computer models, and the like, executed by one or more processors of one or more computing devices and which operates on input volumes of one or more medical image data structures, receives a two-dimensional lesion mask 1101 and performs a distance transform (block 1102) to generate distance map 1111 (wherein the determination of the Lesion mask is the second masking process).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin of a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Wang perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein perform a first masking process to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; perform a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate final images to be obtained, since both Lin and Wang are both systems medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Wang’s system provides an increase in efficiency. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1), Paragraph [0240].
Lin in view of Wang fails to explicitly teach and perform low-pass filtering to remove an artifact due to at least a region located outside the region of interest to generate filtered CT perfusion image data.
However, Stehning explicitly teaches and perform low-pass filtering to remove an artifact due to at least a region located outside the region of interest to generate filtered CT perfusion image data (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0076]- Stehning discloses the contract inversion makes all of the dark areas which would be air pockets, noise from areas outside of the subject and also bone tissue would become very light instead of dark. Further in fig. 1, Paragraph [0078]- Stehning discloses pre-processing of the acquired in-phase images (TE2), e.g. image smoothing, contrast inversion etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang of a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Stehning and perform low-pass filtering to remove an artifact due to at least a region located outside the region of interest to generate filtered CT perfusion image data.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein and perform low-pass filtering to remove an artifact due to at least a region located outside the region of interest to generate filtered CT perfusion image data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a more accurate medical image, since both Lin and Stehning are both systems medical image processing. Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Stehning’s system provides an further increase in image accuracy. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1), Paragraph [0030].
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the one or more parts of the anatomical region prior to in-painting the one or more parts of the anatomical region.
However, Wang explicitly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the one or more parts of the anatomical region prior to in-painting the one or more parts of the anatomical region (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0056]- Wang discloses the anatomical structure of interest detection stage (hereafter referred to as the liver detection stage in accordance with the example embodiment), comprises a machine learning (ML)/deep learning (DL) computer model that is specifically trained and configured to perform computerized medical image analysis to identify portions of input medical images that correspond to the anatomical structure of interest, e.g., a liver (Wherein fig. 1 shows body part detection logic #112 as the first step and inpainting as a later step in Lesion segment logic #140)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Wang wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the one or more parts of the anatomical region prior to in-painting the one or more parts of the anatomical region.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the one or more parts of the anatomical region prior to in-painting the one or more parts of the anatomical region.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate final images to be obtained, since both Lin and Wang are both systems medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Wang’s system provides an increase in efficiency. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1), Paragraph [0240].
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region based on one or more pixels surrounding or neighbouring the one or more parts of the anatomical region.
However, Wang explicitly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region based on one or more pixels surrounding or neighbouring the one or more parts of the anatomical region (Fig. 16, Paragraph [0204]- Wang discloses after calculating this contrast and variance prior to in-painting, the in-painting may be performed with respect to the selected lesion 1611 such that pixels associated with other lesion contours, e.g., 1612, and areas of the anatomical structure representing healthy tissues in the image, are in-painted with an average pixel intensity value of the healthy tissue.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Wang wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region based on one or more pixels surrounding or neighbouring the one or more parts of the anatomical region.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region based on one or more pixels surrounding or neighbouring the one or more parts of the anatomical region.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate final images to be obtained, since both Lin and Wang are both systems medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Wang’s system provides an increase in efficiency. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1), Paragraph [0240].
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the masked one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
However, Wang explicitly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the masked one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0139]- Wang discloses the second ML/DL computer model 620 receives a pre-processed input of 3 slices from the input volume, which have been pre-processed with the liver mask 614 generated by the first ML/DL computer model 610 to identify the portion of the 3 slices that corresponds to the liver mask 614.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Wang wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the masked one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the masked one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate final images to be obtained, since both Lin and Wang are both systems medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Wang’s system provides an increase in efficiency. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1), Paragraph [0240].
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive further CT image data that is representative of the anatomical region the patient or other subject (Fig. 1, Column 4 Lines [0010-16]- Lin discloses the number of images can be more or less, 40 is a balance between factors such as time of scan, radiation dose to the subject, cardiac cycle, and a period of time wherein useful perfusion information can be gathered. Typical present day CT scanners can generate 40 images in about 20-40 seconds, which is a relatively long time that the subject is asked to remain perfectly motionless (wherein the further CT data is the images taken after the first).);
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus of claim 10, Although, Lin teaches the CT perfusion image data and the further CT image data (Fig. 1, Column 4 Lines [0010-16]- Lin discloses the number of images can be more or less, 40 is a balance between factors such as time of scan, radiation dose to the subject, cardiac cycle, and a period of time wherein useful perfusion information can be gathered. Typical present day CT scanners can generate 40 images in about 20-40 seconds, which is a relatively long time that the subject is asked to remain perfectly motionless.); Lin fails to explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the first masking process to mask the region of interest and/or a second masking process to mask the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest based on the CT perfusion image data and the further CT image data.
However, Wang explicitly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the first masking process to mask the region of interest and/or a second masking process to mask the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest based on the CT perfusion image data and the further CT image data (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0134]- Wang discloses by pre-processing the input to the ML/DL computer model with a liver mask 614, the processing by the ML/DL computer model may be focused on the portions of the input slices that correspond to the anatomical structure of interest and not on the “noise” in the input images. The others of the ML/DL computer models, e.g., ML/DL computer model 630, receives the input volume 105 directly without liver masking using the liver mask 614 generated by the first ML/DL computer model 610.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Wang wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the first masking process to mask the region of interest and/or a second masking process to mask the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest based on the CT perfusion image data and the further CT image data.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the first masking process to mask the region of interest and/or a second masking process to mask the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest based on the CT perfusion image data and the further CT image data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate final images to be obtained, since both Lin and Wang are both systems medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Wang’s system provides an increase in efficiency. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1), Paragraph [0240].
Regarding claim 18, Lin teaches a medical image processing method (Fig. 1, Column 2 Lines Paragraph [0023-26]- Lin discloses in accordance with one aspect of the present invention, a method of perfusion is provided. A region of interest of a subject is disposed in an imaging region of a medical imaging apparatus.),
comprising: receiving computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject (Fig. 1, Column 4 Lines [0010-16]- Lin discloses the number of images can be more or less, 40 is a balance between factors such as time of scan, radiation dose to the subject, cardiac cycle, and a period of time wherein useful perfusion information can be gathered. Typical present day CT scanners can generate 40 images in about 20-40 seconds, which is a relatively long time that the subject is asked to remain perfectly motionless.);
in-painting the one or more parts of the anatomical region, the one or more parts being one or vessel regions located inside and/or outside of the region of interest (Fig. 1, Column 7 Lines [0037-43]- Lin discloses in a perfusion calculation step 146, perfusion value and time-to-peak 128 values are calculated for each voxel. The process is repeated 148 until all of the voxels have been analyzed. In an interpolation step 150, the pixels that failed the gamma fit are assigned a perfusion value by interpolating perfusion values of nearby voxels (wherein this occurs in the artery region which is a vessel).),
and the one or more parts comprising an increased perfusion signal relative to one or more other parts of the anatomical region (Fig. 1, Column 6 Lines [0041-44]- Lin discloses Curves that, even though gamma variant in shape, are narrower than a preselected width or which have a slope greater than a preselected shape are removed and replaced with interpolated data. Fig. 1, Column 7 Lines [0037-43]- Lin discloses in a perfusion calculation step 146, perfusion value and time-to-peak 128 values are calculated for each voxel. The process is repeated 148 until all of the voxels have been analyzed. In an interpolation step 150, the pixels that failed the gamma fit are assigned a perfusion value by interpolating perfusion values of nearby voxels.);
Lin fails to explicitly teach performing a first masking to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; performing a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
However, Wang explicitly teaches performing a first masking to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0134]- Wang discloses by pre-processing the input to the ML/DL computer model with a liver mask 614, the processing by the ML/DL computer model may be focused on the portions of the input slices that correspond to the anatomical structure of interest and not on the “noise” in the input images. The others of the ML/DL computer models, e.g., ML/DL computer model 630, receives the input volume 105 directly without liver masking using the liver mask 614 generated by the first ML/DL computer model 610.);
performing a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest (Fig. 11A, Paragraph [0168]- Wang discloses machine learning computer models, and the like, executed by one or more processors of one or more computing devices and which operates on input volumes of one or more medical image data structures, receives a two-dimensional lesion mask 1101 and performs a distance transform (block 1102) to generate distance map 1111 (wherein the determination of the Lesion mask is the second masking process).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin of a medical image processing method, comprising: receiving computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Wang performing a first masking to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; performing a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein performing a first masking to mask a region of interest of the anatomical region; performing a second masking process to mask one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside and/or inside of the region of interest.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate final images to be obtained, since both Lin and Wang are both systems medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Wang’s system provides an increase in efficiency. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1), Paragraph [0240].
Lin in view of Wang fails to explicitly teach performing low-pass filtering to remove an artifact due to at least a region located outside the region of interest, to generate filtered CT perfusion image data.
However, Stehning explicitly teaches performing low-pass filtering to remove an artifact due to at least a region located outside the region of interest, to generate filtered CT perfusion image data (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0076]- Stehning discloses the contract inversion makes all of the dark areas which would be air pockets, noise from areas outside of the subject and also bone tissue would become very light instead of dark. Further in fig. 1, Paragraph [0078]- Stehning discloses pre-processing of the acquired in-phase images (TE2), e.g. image smoothing, contrast inversion etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang of a medical image processing method, comprising: receiving computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Stehning performing low-pass filtering to remove an artifact due to at least a region located outside the region of interest, to generate filtered CT perfusion image data.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein performing low-pass filtering to remove an artifact due to at least a region located outside the region of interest, to generate filtered CT perfusion image data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a more accurate medical image, since both Lin and Stehning are both systems medical image processing. Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Stehning’s system provides an further increase in image accuracy. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1), Paragraph [0030].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning, and Van Rikxoort et al. (US 20210059624 A1) hereafter referenced as Van Rikxoort.
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin in view of Wang fails to explicitly teach wherein the CT perfusion image data received by the processing circuitry comprises perfusion image data obtained from a CT subtraction method or a dual-energy CT method.
However, Van Rikxoort explicitly teaches wherein the CT perfusion image data received by the processing circuitry comprises perfusion image data obtained from a CT subtraction method (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028]- Van Rikxoort discloses the perfusion information is typically provided by an image modality like lung perfusion scintigraphy, Single Photon Computed Tomography (SPECT), dual-energy perfusion CT, contrast CT subtraction imaging, or perfusion based on multi temporal CT imaging. As output, these modalities often provide single perfusion values or 2D/3D/4D images with spatially located perfusion values.)
or a dual-energy CT method (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028]- Van Rikxoort discloses the perfusion information is typically provided by an image modality like lung perfusion scintigraphy, Single Photon Computed Tomography (SPECT), dual-energy perfusion CT, contrast CT subtraction imaging, or perfusion based on multi temporal CT imaging. As output, these modalities often provide single perfusion values or 2D/3D/4D images with spatially located perfusion values.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Van Rikxoort wherein the CT perfusion image data received by the processing circuitry comprises perfusion image data obtained from a CT subtraction method or a dual-energy CT method.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the CT perfusion image data received by the processing circuitry comprises perfusion image data obtained from a CT subtraction method or a dual-energy CT method.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a better image to be created, since both Lin and Van Rikxoort are both systems for medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Van Rikxoort’s system provides an improvement to spatial relation. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Van Rikxoort’s et al. (US 20210059624 A1), Paragraph [0022-23].
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning, and Beck et al. (US 20200312030 A1) hereafter referenced as Beck.
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning is silent to teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region and perform the low-pass filtering sequentially.
However, Beck explicitly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region and perform the low-pass filtering sequentially (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0071]- Beck discloses multiple operations (e.g., a “morphological close” operation, inpainting, median filter, mean filter, and Gaussian blur) may be performed multiple times in series or parallel to eliminate all artifacts from the clean version of the AR workspace image.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Beck wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region and perform the low-pass filtering sequentially.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region and perform the low-pass filtering sequentially.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a better image to be created, since both Lin and Beck are both systems for image processing that cleans the image. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Beck’s system provides an improvement to artifact removal. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Beck’s et al. (US 20200312030 A1), Paragraph [0071-72].
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region and perform the low-pass filtering of at least the region of interest simultaneously.
However, Beck explicitly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region and perform the low-pass filtering of at least the region of interest simultaneously (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0071]- Beck discloses multiple operations (e.g., a “morphological close” operation, inpainting, median filter, mean filter, and Gaussian blur) may be performed multiple times in series or parallel to eliminate all artifacts from the clean version of the AR workspace image.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Beck wherein the processing circuitry is configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region and perform the low-pass filtering of at least the region of interest simultaneously.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the processing circuitry is configured to in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region and perform the low-pass filtering of at least the region of interest simultaneously.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for a better image to be created, since both Lin and Beck are both systems for image processing that cleans the image. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Beck’s system provides an improvement to artifact removal. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Beck’s et al. (US 20200312030 A1), Paragraph [0071-72].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning, and Bruder et al. (US 20110052030 A1) hereafter referenced as Bruder.
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the low-pass filtering using a three-dimensional Gaussian filter function.
However, Bruder explicitly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the low-pass filtering using a three-dimensional Gaussian filter function (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0056]- Bruder discloses this can be effected by convolution with a three-dimensional low pass T, such as e.g. a Gaussian filter.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Bruder wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the low-pass filtering using a three-dimensional Gaussian filter function.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the low-pass filtering using a three-dimensional Gaussian filter function.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater noise reduction in the image, since both Lin and Bruder are both systems for medical image processing that cleans the image. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Bruder’s system provides an reduction to noise in the image. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Bruder’s et al. (US 20110052030 A1), Paragraph [0086].
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning, and Rundo et al. (US 20200184648 A1) hereafter referenced as Rundo.
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning fails to explicitly teach wherein the region of interest comprises lung parenchyma of the patient or other subject.
However, Rundo explicitly teaches wherein the region of interest comprises lung parenchyma of the patient or other subject (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0081]- Rundo discloses a slice image S in the set of slice images retrieved at 120, as exemplified in FIG. 1, may comprise an indication, e.g., provided by a physician such as an oncologist, of an area or region of interest A, e.g., in the lungs parenchyma, comprising a lung lesion L.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Rundo wherein the region of interest comprises lung parenchyma of the patient or other subject.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the region of interest comprises lung parenchyma of the patient or other subject.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater efficiency in processing the image, since both Lin and Rundo are both systems for medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Rundo’s system provides an accuracy increase. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Rundo’s et al. (US 20200184648 A1), Paragraph [0173].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning, Rundo et al. (US 20200184648 A1) hereafter referenced as Rundo, and Ping et al. (CN 113506250 A) hereafter referenced as Ping.
Regarding claim 14, Lin in view of Wang, Stehning, and Rundo teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, Lin in view of Wang, Stehning, and Rundo fail to explicitly teach wherein the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located inside the region of interest comprise one or more vessels of the lung parenchyma.
However, Ping explicitly teaches wherein the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located inside the region of interest comprise one or more vessels of the lung parenchyma (Fig. 1 paragraph Page 9: [0002]- Ping discloses the pulmonary blood vessel can be divided into pulmonary artery blood vessel and pulmonary vein blood vessel, further, according to the position difference of pulmonary blood vessel, can also be divided into the intrapulmonary blood vessel that is located in the lung parenchyma.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang, Stehning, and Rundo a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Ping wherein the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located inside the region of interest comprise one or more vessels of the lung parenchyma.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located inside the region of interest comprise one or more vessels of the lung parenchyma.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater image accuracy, since both Lin and Ping are both systems for medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Ping’s system provides an segmentation accuracy increase. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Ping’s et al. (CN 113506250 A), Page 13: Paragraph [0004].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning, and Ping et al. (CN 113506250 A) hereafter referenced as Ping.
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside the region of interest comprise one or more vessels of a lung and/or a heart of the patient or other subject.
However, Ping explicitly teaches wherein the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside the region of interest comprise one or more vessels of a lung and/or a heart of the patient or other subject (Fig. 2 Page 9: paragraph [0008]- Ping discloses further, a voxel overlapping with the lung parenchyma binary image in the circumscribed cube of the mediastinum may be set to be black (i.e., the overlapped voxel is used as a background), the gray scale of the remaining voxels is retained, the obtained image is the mediastinum image, since the mediastinum image is extracted from the CTPA image, the mediastinum image is also a three-dimensional image, and a cross section of the mediastinum image may be as shown in (b) of fig. 2. Further in Fig. 2 Page 8: Paragraph [0019]- Ping discloses determining the pulmonary aortic vessel assembly in the plurality of communicating assemblies according to the position coordinates of the mediastinum image and the gray value and the position coordinates of each communicating assembly.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Ping wherein the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside the region of interest comprise one or more vessels of a lung and/or a heart of the patient or other subject.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the one or more parts of the anatomical region that are located outside the region of interest comprise one or more vessels of a lung and/or a heart of the patient or other subject.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for greater image accuracy, since both Lin and Ping are both systems for medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Ping’s system provides an segmentation accuracy increase. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Ping’s et al. (CN 113506250 A), Page 13: Paragraph [0004].
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning, and Sawant et al. (US 20200330795 A1) hereafter referenced as Sawant.
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning is silent to explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate a two-dimensional image based on the filtered CT perfusion image data.
However, Sawant explicitly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate a two-dimensional image based on the filtered CT perfusion image data (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0057]- Sawant discloses FIG. 1B is a block diagram that illustrates scan elements in a 2D scan 110, such as one scanned image slice of the volume 124 from the imaging system 121, such as a CT scanner. Further in Fig. 3b paragraph [0068]- Sawant discloses FIG. 3D is an image that illustrates an example of CT images of the 4DCT of FIG. 3C at the different phases of the breathing cycle from one of the imaging systems 121, such as a 4DCT-based ventilation/perfusion imaging system or a SPECT-based ventilation/perfusion system or an MRI-based ventilation/perfusion system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Sawant wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate a two-dimensional image based on the filtered CT perfusion image data.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate a two-dimensional image based on the filtered CT perfusion image data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for better image quality, since both Lin and Sawant are both systems for medical image processing with CT perfusion data. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Sawant’s system an improvement to visualization of data. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Sawant’s et al. (US 20200330795 A1), Paragraph [0119].
Regarding claim 17 Lin in view of Wang, Stehning, and Sawant teaches the apparatus according to claim 16,
Lin in view of Wang and Stehning fails to explicitly teach teaches wherein the two-dimensional image comprises a ventilation-perfusion image.
However, Sawant explicitly teaches wherein the two-dimensional image comprises a ventilation-perfusion image (Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0057]- Sawant discloses FIG. 1B is a block diagram that illustrates scan elements in a 2D scan 110, such as one scanned image slice of the volume 124 from the imaging system 121, such as a CT scanner. Further in Fig. 3D, Paragraph [0052]- Sawant discloses FIG. 3D is an image that illustrates an example of CT images of the 4DCT of FIG. 3C at the different phases of the breathing cycle from one of the imaging systems 121, such as a 4DCT-based ventilation/perfusion imaging system or a SPECT-based ventilation/perfusion system or an MRI-based ventilation/perfusion system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Sawant wherein the two-dimensional image comprises a ventilation-perfusion image.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the two-dimensional image comprises a ventilation-perfusion image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for better image quality, since both Lin and Sawant are both systems for medical image processing with CT perfusion data. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Sawant’s system an improvement to visualization of data. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Sawant’s et al. (US 20200330795 A1), Paragraph [0119].
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning, and Baier-Lowenstein et al. (US 20150216443 A1) hereafter referenced as Baier-Lowenstein.
Regarding claim 19, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches a medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches receiving filtered CT perfusion image data that is representative of the anatomical structure or the organ of the patient or the other subject (Fig. 1, Column 2 Lines [0040-41]- Lin discloses A filtering processor eliminates unwanted and false data.)
from the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1 (Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches);
Lin fails to explicitly teach a method of detecting a defect or an abnormality in an anatomical structure or an organ of the patient or other subject, the method comprising: detecting the defect or the abnormality in the anatomical structure or the organ using at least one of: a trained machine learning model.
However, Wang explicitly teaches a method of detecting a defect or an abnormality in an anatomical structure or an organ of the patient or other subject, the method comprising (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0048]- Wang discloses for purposes of anatomical structure detection and/or lesion detection (where lesions are “anomalies” in medical imaging data), a learning machine may construct a ML/DL computer model of normal structure representations, to detect data points in medical images that deviate from this normal structure representation ML/DL computer model.):
detecting the defect or abnormality in the anatomical structure or organ using at least one of: a trained machine learning model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0063]- Wang discloses a first ML/DL computer model is configured with two loss functions. The first loss function penalizes errors in false negatives, i.e. classifications falsely indicating that there are no lesions present (normal anatomical structure). The second loss function penalizes errors in false positive results, i.e. classifications falsely indicating that there are lesions present (abnormal anatomical structure));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Wang a method of detecting a defect or an abnormality in an anatomical structure or an organ of the patient or other subject, the method comprising: detecting the defect or the abnormality in the anatomical structure or the organ using at least one of: a trained machine learning model.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein a method of detecting a defect or an abnormality in an anatomical structure or an organ of the patient or other subject, the method comprising: detecting the defect or the abnormality in the anatomical structure or the organ using at least one of: a trained machine learning model.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accurate final images to be obtained, since both Lin and Wang are both systems medical image processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Wang’s system provides an increase in efficiency. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1), Paragraph [0240].
Lin in view of Wang and Stehning fails to explicitly teach image processing circuitry configured to detect one or more parts of the anatomical structure or the organ that exhibit perfusion below a threshold that is associated with a predetermined level of perfusion.
However, Baier-Lowenstein explicitly teaches image processing circuitry configured to detect one or more parts of the anatomical structure or the organ that exhibit perfusion below a threshold that is associated with a predetermined level of perfusion (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0063]- Baier-Lowenstein discloses the control and analysis unit is further set up to identify lung areas in which the determined ventilation is above a preset threshold value and the determined perfusion is below another, preset threshold value as dead spaces and to display these in the shown tomogram of the lung.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Baier-Lowenstein image processing circuitry configured to detect one or more parts of the anatomical structure or the organ that exhibit perfusion below a threshold that is associated with a predetermined level of perfusion.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein image processing circuitry configured to detect one or more parts of the anatomical structure or the organ that exhibit perfusion below a threshold that is associated with a predetermined level of perfusion.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accuracy of blood perfusion estimates, since both Lin and Baier-Lowenstein are both systems medical data processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Baier-Lowenstein’s system provides an increase in perfusion identification accuracy. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Baier-Lowenstein’s et al. (US 20150216443 A1), Paragraph [0030].
Regarding claim 20, Lin in view of Wang, Stehning, and Baier-Lowenstein teaches the method of claim 19, Lin further teaches wherein the image processing circuitry is further configured to detect one or more objects or regions in the filtered CT perfusion image data that are formed from two or more connected pixels (Fig. 1, Column 5 Lines [0026-29] Lin discloses More specifically, the maximum intensity processor searches for the maximum enhancement among all voxels in a diagnostician indicated artery region.).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1) hereafter referenced as Lin over in view of Wang et al. (US 20220138933 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang, and Stehning et al. (US 20160054416 A1) hereafter referenced as Stehning, Li et al. (US 20190374183 A1) ) hereafter referenced as Li, and Carmi et al. (US 20180276853 A1) hereafter referenced as Carmi.
Regarding claim 21, Lin in view of Wang and Stehning teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
Although Lin view of Wang and Stehning explicitly teaches in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region Lin in view of Wang and Stehning fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a CT contrast-agent concentration map measured by a dual energy and in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region by determining, based on the CT contrast-agent concentration map, whether each element in the CT perfusion image data is the region of interest.
However, Li explicitly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a CT contrast-agent concentration map measured by a dual energy (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028]- Li discloses Example MECT data may include spectral or dual-energy data, or any other realization of MECT data (e.g. separate single energy scans). Further in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0050]- Li discloses a material decomposition process may be performed on the received or acquired MECT data. In the material decomposition process, one or more material density maps may be generated, such as water density maps, iodine density maps, calcium density maps, and others. Using the generated density maps, one or more ROIs may then be selected),
and determining, based on the CT contrast-agent concentration map, whether each element in the CT perfusion image data is the region of interest (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0050]- Li discloses a material decomposition process may be performed on the received or acquired MECT data. In the material decomposition process, one or more material density maps may be generated, such as water density maps, iodine density maps, calcium density maps, and others. Using the generated density maps, one or more ROIs may then be selected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang and Stehning a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Li wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a CT contrast-agent concentration map measured by a dual energy and in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region by determining, based on the CT contrast-agent concentration map, whether each element in the CT perfusion image data is the region of interest.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a CT contrast-agent concentration map measured by a dual energy and in-paint the one or more parts of the anatomical region by determining, based on the CT contrast-agent concentration map, whether each element in the CT perfusion image data is the region of interest.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accuracy, since both Lin and Li are both systems medical data processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Li’s system provides an increase in accuracy of results. Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Li et al. (US 20190374183 A1), Paragraph [0009].
Lin in view of Wang, Stehning, and Li fails to explicitly teach or pre/post contrast subtraction method
However, Carmi explicitly teaches or pre/post contrast subtraction method (Carmi discloses by applying volumetric spatial registration followed by image subtraction, the contrast agent map is generated, i.e. the post-contrast image minus the pre-contrast image.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Lin in view of Wang, Stehning, Li a medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive computed tomography (CT) perfusion image data that is representative of an anatomical region of a patient or other subject with the teachings of Carmi pre/post contrast subtraction method.
Wherein having Lin’s system for medical image processing wherein pre/post contrast subtraction method.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to allow for more accuracy in diagnostics, since both Lin and Carmi are both systems medical data processing. Wherein Lin’s system provides an increase in quality, while Carmi’s system provides an increase in accuracy of diagnostics . Please see Lin et al. (US 6745066 B1), Column 1 paragraph Lines [56-60] and Carmi et al. (US 20180276853 A1), Paragraph [0002].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered
pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Carmi et al. (US 20200051246 A1)- An image processing system (IPS) and related method. The system comprises an input interface (IN) for receiving an earlier input image (Va) and a later input image (Vb) acquired of an object (OB) whilst a fluid is present within the object (OB). A differentiator (Δ) is configured to form a difference image (Vd) from the at least two input images (Va,Vb). An image structure identifier (ID) is operable to identify one or more locations in the difference image. Based on a respective feature descriptor that describes a respective neighborhood around said one or more locations. An output interface (OUT) outputs a feature map (Vm) that includes the one or more locations...................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Hsieh et al. (US 20230056923 A1)- Techniques are described for automatically detecting scan characteristics of a medical image series. According to an embodiment, a system is provided that comprises a memory that stores computer executable components, and a processor that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory. The computer executable components comprise an image generation component that generates a representative image of a medical image series comprising a plurality of scan images, and a series characterization component that processes the representative image using one or more characteristic detection algorithms to determine one or more characteristics of the medical image series. The system can further tailor the visualization layout for viewing the medical image series based on the one or more characteristics and/or automatically perform various workflow tasks based on the one or more characteristics.....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
/LUCIUS CAMERON GREEN ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673