DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: Amendment filed May 21, 2026. This Action is made Final.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 12 and 18 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (“Cross-Media Keyphrase Prediction: A Unified Framework with Multi-Modality Multi-Head Attention and Image Wordings”, 2020) in view of Jin et al. (hereinafter Jin) U.S. Patent Pub. 2020/0293716 and in further view of Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) U.S. Patent Pub. 2020/0364407.
With respect to independent claim 1, Wang teaches computer-implemented method, the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a text input and contextual data indicative of a predictive category for the text input (see e.g., Section 3 – “we use an open-source toolkit (Smith, 2007) to extract OCR texts in form of a word sequence. It is then appended into the post text with a delimited token hsepi to notify the change of text genres, which is shown to be a simple yet effective design to combine OCR features.”);
generating, by the one or more processors and using a multi-headed composite model, an output embedding for the text input based on the predictive category (see e.g., Section 3.2 – “Our design of multi-head attention is inspired by its prototype in Transformer (Vaswani et al., 2017). We extend it to capture multiple forms of crossmodality interactions for a multimedia post, which is therefore named as M3H-Att, short for MultiModality Multi-Head Attention. Compared to its original use as a self-attention over texts only, we instead operate on three modalities (text, attribute, and vision) in a pairwise co-attention manner.”),
wherein: the multi-headed composite model comprises a model body, a plurality of model heads, and a gate function, the text input is processed with at least one model head of the plurality of model heads (see e.g., Fig. 3 and Section 3.1-3.3 The examiner notes that a “gate function” is a data flow filter function.), and
the gate function is configured to select the at least one model head based on the predictive category for the text input (see e.g., Fig. 2 and Section 3 – “our proposed crossmedia keyphrase prediction model in Figure 2. We first encode a text-image tweet into three modalities: text, attribute, and vision (§3.1), and propose a Multi-Modality Multi-Head Attention (M3H-Att) to capture their intricate interactions (§3.2).”); and
providing, by the one or more processors, a predictive label for the text input based on the output embedding (see e.g., Section 3.1 “It will be fed into a keyphrase classifier and generator for the unified prediction. Notably, this indicates that our M3HAtt’s great potential to serve as a generic module for benefiting other cross-media applications.”).
Wang does not expressly show a plurality of predictive categories of a predictive domain and a first model head of the plurality of model heads corresponds to the first predictive category, wherein the first predictive category is different from a second predictive category of the plurality of predictive categories that corresponds to a second model head of the plurality of model heads and select category corresponding to the first predictive category of the first model head. However, Wang teaches the plurality of model heads (see e.g., Fig. 2 and Section 3 – “our proposed crossmedia keyphrase prediction model in Figure 2. We first encode a text-image tweet into three modalities: text, attribute, and vision (§3.1), and propose a Multi-Modality Multi-Head Attention (M3H-Att) to capture their intricate interactions (§3.2).”). Furthermore, Jin teaches a plurality of text report categories with category specific evaluation output (see e.g. Abstract Para [4]-[6]-“sorting text report categories, including: obtaining a behavior history and personal information of a user after a text report request of the user is received; inputting the behavior history and the personal information of the user to a personalized model, to obtain a personalized evaluation result of each text report category, where the personalized model is a classification model trained using supervised learning techniques on a plurality of user behavior history samples and personal information samples with each associated with a respective label indicating a category of a text report; and determining, based on the personalized evaluation result, an order of different categories of text reports that can be submitted by the user”) Wang as well as Jin are directed towards machine learning. Therefore, Wang as well as Jin are reasonably pertinent analogous art. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Jin by using the model in Wang as the model architecture for the multiple models trained based on different categories in Jin. Jin provides as additional motivation for combination (see e.g., Para [4]-[6] – to provide personalized model based on a specific category). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination.
Wang-Jin does not expressly show the text input is processed with the gate function. However, Lee teaches similar feature (Para [40]-[50] – “a gate mechanism is used so that the small-scale classification task expressed from relatively sufficient data is directly borrowed from the large-scale classification task, and which may be expressed as in Equation 5 below.”). Wang as well as Lee are directed towards machine learning. Therefore, Wang as well as Lee are reasonably pertinent analogous art. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Lee and further modify the modified system of Wang. Lee provides as additional motivation for combination (see e.g., Para [40]-[50] – to share features among category classifiers). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination.
With respect to dependent claim 4, the modified Wang teaches the contextual data is indicative of user input that identifies the first predictive category (see e.g., Fig. 2 and Section 1 and 3.1-3.3 – “We extend it to capture diverse cross-media interactions, named as Multi-Modality Multi-Head Attention (M3H-Att). Moreover, to well align the images’ semantics to texts’, we adopt image wordings and define two forms for that — explicit optical characters (such as “NBA Finals” in post (b)) detected from the optical character reader (OCR) and implicit image attributes (Wu et al., 2006), high-level text labels predicted to summarize the image’s semantic concepts (such as a “cat” label for post (a)).”).
With respect to dependent claim 5, the modified Wang teaches the multi-headed composite model comprises a neural network (see e.g., Section 2).
With respect to dependent claim 6, the modified Wang teaches the model body comprises a first plurality of attention blocks of the neural network and each model head of the plurality of model heads comprises a second plurality of attention blocks of the neural network (see e.g., Fig. 2).
With respect to dependent claim 7, the modified Wang teaches each of the plurality of model heads corresponds to a particular predictive category of a plurality of predictive categories of the predictive domain (see e.g., Fig. 2 and section 3 - “first encode a text-image tweet into three modalities: text, attribute, and vision (§3.1), and propose a Multi-Modality Multi-Head Attention (M3H-Att) to capture their intricate interactions (§3.2). Then, we feed the learned multi-modality representations for either keyphrase classification or generation, followed with a tailored aggregator to combine their outputs (§3.3). Lastly, the entire framework can be jointly trained via multi-task learning (§3.4).”).
With respect to dependent claim 8, the modified Wang teaches generating the output embedding comprises: generating, using the model body, an intermediate output for the text input (see e.g. Section 3 - “We represent each input as a triplet (x, I, y), where x and y are formulated as word sequences x = hx1, ..., xlx i and y = hy1, ..., yly i (lx and ly denote the number of words)”); and generating, using the first model head, the output embedding based on the intermediate output (see e.g., Section 3.2).
Claim 12 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 15 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Claim 16 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claim 17 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claim 18 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 19 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claim 20 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claims 2, 3, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jin, Lee and further in view of Lambert (“MSeg: A Composite Dataset for Multi-domain Semantic Segmentation”, 2020).
With respect to dependent claim 2, Wang does not expressly show the contextual data is indicative of a third-party category for the text input and the first predictive category is based on the third-party category. However, Lambert, in the same field of endeavor, teaches similar feature (Page 1, 3 - "A computer vision professional will likely resort to multiple models, each trained on a different dataset." Each dataset specific domain interpreted as a predictive category corresponding to a respective dataset, each model explicitly trained for the respective domain). Wang as well as Lambert are directed towards machine learning. Therefore, Wang as well as Lambert are reasonably pertinent analogous art. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Lambert by using the model in Wang as the model architecture for the multiple models trained on different domains/datasets in Lambert. Lambert provides as additional motivation for combination (Page 1, 3 - "A computer vision professional will likely resort to multiple models, each trained on a different dataset."). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination.
With respect to dependent claim 3, the modified Wang teaches the predictive category is based on a semantic mapping between a plurality of third-party categories and the plurality of predictive categories (see e.g., Page 1 – “We present MSeg, a composite dataset that unifies semantic segmentation datasets from different domains: COCO [10], ADE20K [11], Mapillary [9], IDD [13], BDD [14], Cityscapes [8], and SUN RGB-D [15]. A naive merge of the taxonomies of the seven datasets would yield more than 300 classes, with substantial internal inconsistency in definitions. Instead, we reconcile the taxonomies, merging and splitting classes to arrive at a unified taxonomy with 194 categories.”).
Claim 13 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Claim 14 is rejected for the similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view Jin, Lee and further in view of Lai (“Ontology-based Interpretable Machine Learning for Textual Data”, 2020).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Wang does not expressly show the predictive label is one of a plurality of predefined ontology agnostic predictive labels. However, Lai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches similar feature (Page 1, 3) Wang as well as Lambert are directed towards machine learning. Therefore, Wang as well as Lai are reasonably pertinent analogous art. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Lai by using the model in Wang as the model architecture for the multiple models trained on different domains/datasets in Lai. Lai provides as additional motivation ontology based machine learning based on textual data (Page 1, 3). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination.
With respect to dependent claim 10, the modified Wang teaches providing the predictive label for the text input based on the output embedding comprises: generating a plurality of label probabilities based on a comparison between the output embedding and a plurality of label embeddings corresponding to the plurality of predefined ontology agnostic predictive labels; and identifying the predictive label based on the plurality of label probabilities (see e.g., Lai P3 - “To learn the local behavior of f in its vicinity (Eq. 1), we approximate L(f, g, φx) by drawing samples based on x, with the proximity indicated by φx. A sample z can be sampled as: z = ∪xi∈x,i6=k,i6=l R(xi) ∪ R({xk, xl}) (3) where R(xi) and R({xk, xl}) are probabilities randomly drawn for each word xi ∈ x(i 6= k, l) and words xk, xl ∈ x together, respectively. If R is greater than a predefined threshold, then the word(s) will be included in z.”).
With respect to dependent claim 11, the modified Wang teaches each of the plurality of label probabilities are indicative of a distance between the output embedding and a respective label embedding of the plurality of label embeddings (see e.g., Lai P3 - “To learn the local behavior of f in its vicinity (Eq. 1), we approximate L(f, g, φx) by drawing samples based on x, with the proximity indicated by φx. A sample z can be sampled as: z = ∪xi∈x,i6=k,i6=l R(xi) ∪ R({xk, xl}) (3) where R(xi) and R({xk, xl}) are probabilities randomly drawn for each word xi ∈ x(i 6= k, l) and words xk, xl ∈ x together, respectively. If R is greater than a predefined threshold, then the word(s) will be included in z.”).
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEI YONG WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141