DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a non-final rejection in response to the communication filed 10/31/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Examiner notes: The claim or claims must commence on a separate physical sheet or electronic page and should appear after the detailed description of the invention. Any sheet including a claim or portion of a claim may not contain any other parts of the application or other material. While there is no set statutory form for claims, the present Office practice is to insist that each claim must be the object of a sentence starting with "I (or we) claim," "The invention claimed is" (or the equivalent). If, at the time of allowance, the quoted terminology is not present, it is inserted by the Office of Data Management. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i). See MPEP 608.01(m).
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses and for using multiple periods in the claims.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
The use of multiple periods and Arabic numerals within a claim makes the claim difficult to read and interpret.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0044549 to Konowalczyk (Konowalczyk) in view of KR 101418924 to Kim (Kim, and based English Machine Translation) in view of EP 2194331 to Albayrak et al. ( Albayrak, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0233604 to Gaspard (Gaspard) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0001087 to Gum (Gum) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0397305 to Holman et al. (Holman) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2001/0048811 to Waithe et al. (Waithe) in view of FR 3089278 to Dirix et al. (Dirix, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2013/0047640 to Nelson et al. (Nelson) and in view of CN 112833554 to Gao (Gao, and based on English Machine Translation).
In Reference to Claim 1
Konowalczyk discloses a system for heating a flow of water (abstract) comprising:
a. a heating circuit (system of Figure 3 for instance) fluidly coupled to a water source (307 for instance) fluidly coupled to a plurality of water fixtures (302 and 303 for instance), the heating circuit comprising:
i. an inlet (at 301 and relative to 307 for instance) configured to accept water (from 307 for instance);
ii. an outlet (at 301 and relative to 360 for instance);
iii. a water containment unit (of 301 for instance) ;wherein the water containment unit (of 301 for instance) is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within (in the system for instance);
iv. an inductor (of the inductive electrical heater of the instantaneous water heater such as 306 for instance, see ¶ [0081], [0062]) operatively coupled to the water containment unit (of 301 for instance) and configured to heat the flow of water (by the heating appliance 301 for instance); and
b. a plurality of sensors (Figs. 3-4, 315 and 317 for instance) comprising pressure sensors, temperature sensors, flow rate sensors, or a combination thereof (temperature, flow and pressure sensors, see ¶ [0054]); and
c. a Smart Appliance (controller and processor 311 for instance) communicatively coupled to the heating circuit (to the system of figure 3 for instance) and the plurality of sensors (315 and 312 for instance), comprising:
i. a processor capable of executing computer-readable instructions (abstract and ¶ [0018])); and
ii. a memory component operatively coupled to the processor, the memory component (abstract and ¶ [0018]));
2. a User Settings module comprising computer-readable instructions (of the control system for instance) for:
a. setting, based on user input, a temperature for the flow of water (¶ [0011], targeted temperature of supply of water for instance);
d. activating, based on user input, a temporary reduction of water, power, or a combination thereof to the heating circuit (¶ [0117], the control of the flow of water for instance); and
f. setting, based on user input, a number and duration of alerts triggered by the Smart Appliance (¶ [0078], information, messages, advice and warnings to the user for instance);
3. a Flow Control Module (¶ [0013], [0014], control of flow in the system for instance) comprising computer-readable instructions for:
activating heating of the water upon activation of one or more water fixtures (¶ [0053] and [0058], activation of the instantaneous water heating system for instance);
b. reducing, in response to an inability to provide the flow of water at the temperature determined by the user input, the flow of water (¶ [0013]-[0014], the control of flow and temperature for instance); and
c. alerting a user in response to reduction of the flow of water in response to the inability to provide the flow of water at the temperature determined by the user input (¶ [0013]-[0014], [0078], the control of flow and the alerting to the user for instance);
4. a Safety Monitor and Control Module comprising computer-readable instructions (¶ [0013], [0014], control of flow in the system for instance);
7. a Communication module comprising computer-readable instructions (controller of the system for instance, abstract) for managing wireless interfaces between the system and one or more external devices (¶ [0041], the connection of the controller and processor to a smart phone or tablet for instance).
Konowalczyk does not teach the water containment unit (of 301 for instance) “... comprising: 1. a shell; 2. one or more plates disposed within the shell; and 3. a plurality of pipes fluidly coupled to the inlet, the one or more plates, and the outlet; wherein the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes comprise a ferromagnetic material; wherein the water containment unit is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes ...,” “... wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes to heat the flow of water ...,” “... v. an electric high-frequency generator operatively coupled to the inductor, wherein the electric high-frequency generator is configured to actuate the inductor ...”; “... wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the inlet, wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the outlet ...,” “... comprising: 1. an artificial intelligence model configured to accept data from the plurality of sensors (300) as input and generating a prediction of potential water system failure as output ...”; “... b. activating, based on user input, an automatic inlet shutoff setting for the heating circuit (200) in response to a leak within the water containment unit ...”; “... c. activating, based on user input, an automatic outlet shutoff setting for the heating circuit in response to a leak within or downstream of the water containment unit, an unusual amount of hot water usage, or a combination thereof ...”; “... e. activating, based on user input, a scalding safety governor to prevent the heating circuit from producing water at a temperature above a set threshold ...”; “... a. activating the electric high-frequency generator upon activation of one or more water fixtures ...” “... a. detecting leaks, blockages, or a combination thereof within, upstream of, or downstream of the water containment unit ...”; “... b. detecting, by the artificial intelligence model, potential water system failure ...”; “... c. detecting excessive water usage ...”; “... d. closing the inlet, the outlet, or both in response to a detected leak, blockage, predicted pipe failure, excessive water usage, or a combination thereof ...”; and “... e. reduce power to the electric high-frequency generator if the heating circuit is producing water at a temperature above the set threshold or if the inlet, outlet, or both are closed; wherein the safety scalding governor automatically runs a diagnostic and alerts the user in response to irregular performance of the heating circuit ...”; does not teach “... 5. a Utility Interface Module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. connecting the system (100) to a utility supplier ...”; “... b. temporarily suspend or reduce operation of the heating circuit to accommodate reductions requested by the utility supplier ...”; “... c. alerting the user in response to temporary suspension or reduction of operation ...”; and “... d. gathering consumption data from the plurality of sensors ...”; does not teach “... 6. a Hot Water Reporting module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. reporting a cost and trend of power used by the heating circuit (200); b. reporting a cost and trend of hot water consumption of the heating circuit (200); c. predicting a future trend of hot water consumption; and d. forecasting a future cost of water and power used by the heating circuit (200) ...”; and does not teach “... 8. an Intelligent Power Supply and Conditioner module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. receiving electric power from a power source; b. cleaning, conditioning, and surge-protecting electric power to the Smart Appliance; and c. regulating power to the electric high-frequency generator; and 9. a Maintenance Monitor module comprising computer- readable instructions for: a. alerting the user for current or predictive maintenance needs; and b. running diagnostics on the heating circuit and one or more modules of the Smart Appliance at a fixed interval ....”
Regarding the limitations a water containment unit “... comprising: 1. a shell; 2. one or more plates disposed within the shell; and 3. a plurality of pipes fluidly coupled to the inlet, the one or more plates, and the outlet; wherein the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes comprise a ferromagnetic material; wherein the water containment unit is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes ..., ” and “... wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes to heat the flow of water ...,”:
Kim is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract and ¶ [0005]), as the claimed invention, and teaches a water containment unit (Figs. 1 and 5, 300 for instance) which comprises a shell (of 300 for instance); and a plurality of pipes (140 for instance) fluidly coupled to an inlet (150), and an outlet (160); wherein the shell; wherein the water containment unit (300) is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes (through pipes 140 for instance).
Albayrak is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches one or more plates (Fig. 2, 19 for instance) disposed within a shell (14 for instance); wherein components of the heating system (¶ [0020], [0031], shell portions, pipe portions and plate portions for instance) comprise a ferromagnetic material (¶ [0020], [0031]); and wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell (¶ [0026]), the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes (¶ [0026) to heat the flow of water (see also ¶ [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk) comprises a shell (as taught by Kim); one or more plates (as taught by Albayrak) disposed within the shell; and a plurality of pipes (as taught by Kim) fluidly coupled to the inlet (of Konowalczyk), the one or more plates (as taught by Albayrak), and the outlet (of Konowalczyk); wherein the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes comprise a ferromagnetic material (as taught by Albayrak); wherein the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk) is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes (as taught by Kim), and wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes to heat the flow of water (as taught by Albayrak), so as to use an art known technique (of water containment units for a system for heating water including ferromagnetic components used in the heating of water as taught by Kim and Albayrak) into the system Konowalczyk and predictably provide the means to heat the water in the system.
Regarding the limitations “... an electric high-frequency generator operatively coupled to the inductor, wherein the electric high-frequency generator is configured to actuate the inductor ...” and “... a. activating the electric high-frequency generator upon activation of one or more water fixtures ...”:
Gaspard is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches an electric high-frequency generator (¶ [0062]) operatively coupled to an inductor (of the induction heating device for instance), wherein the electric high-frequency generator is configured to actuate the inductor (¶ [0062]); and activating the electric high-frequency generator upon demand (the activation of an inductor using a generator, ¶ [0062])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, in the system of Konowalczyk, an electric high-frequency generator operatively coupled to the inductor (as taught by Gaspard), wherein the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by Gaspard) is configured to actuate the inductor (of Konowalczyk) and activating the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by Gaspard) upon activation of one or more water fixtures (of Konowalczyk), so as to use an art known technique (of using a high frequency generator to actuate an inductor as taught b Gaspard) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide a means to actuate the inductor and heat the water on demand.
Regarding the limitations “... wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the inlet, wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the outlet ...”:
Gum is related to a heating control system (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of a plurality of sensors is disposed at an inlet (¶ [0022], last three lines, sensors disposed in inlets and outlets of heating systems and used for control), wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of a plurality of sensors is disposed at an outlet (¶ [0022], last three lines, sensors disposed in inlets and outlets of heating systems and used for control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed (as taught by Gum) at the inlet (of Konowalczyk), wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed (as taught by Gum) at the outlet (of Konowalczyk), so as to use an art known technique (of the control of heating systems using sensors disposed at inlets and outlets of the system as taught by Gum) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide control in the heating system.
Regrading the limitation “... comprising: 1. an artificial intelligence model configured to accept data from the plurality of sensors (300) as input and generating a prediction of potential water system failure as output ...”; “... b. activating, based on user input, an automatic inlet shutoff setting for the heating circuit (200) in response to a leak within the water containment unit (220) ...”; “... c. activating, based on user input, an automatic outlet shutoff setting for the heating circuit (200) in response to a leak within or downstream of the water containment unit (220), an unusual amount of hot water usage, or a combination thereof ...” “... a. detecting leaks, blockages, or a combination thereof within, upstream of, or downstream of the water containment unit (220) ...”; “... c. detecting excessive water usage ...”; “... d. closing the inlet (202), the outlet (204), or both in response to a detected leak, blockage, predicted pipe failure, excessive water usage, or a combination thereof ...”:
Holman is related to the control and operation of a water heating system (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches activating, based on user input (¶ [0037]), an automatic inlet shutoff setting for a heating circuit in response to a leak within a water containment unit (¶ [0112], shut-off of flow in response to leakage in the system for instance); activating, based on user input, an automatic outlet shutoff setting for the heating circuit in response to a leak within or downstream of the water containment unit, an unusual amount of hot water usage, or a combination thereof (¶ [0011], [0112], control of flow from leak in the system for instance); detecting leaks, blockages, or a combination thereof within, upstream of, or downstream of the water containment unit (detection of leak for instance, see ¶ [0011])); detecting excessive water usage (such as leakage, ¶ [0011]); closing of inlets, the outlets, or both in response to a detected leak, blockage, predicted pipe failure, excessive water usage, or a combination thereof (¶ [0112], the shut-off of water for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the system includes activating, based on user input (of Konowalczyk), an automatic inlet shutoff setting (as taught by Holman) for the heating circuit (of Konowalczyk) in response to a leak (as taught by Holman) within the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk); and activating, based on user input (of Konowalczyk), an automatic outlet shutoff setting (as taught by Holman) for the heating circuit (of Konowalczyk) in response to a leak (as taught by Holman) within or downstream of the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk), an unusual amount of hot water usage, or a combination thereof (as taught by Holman); detecting leaks, blockages, or a combination thereof within, upstream of, or downstream (as taught by Holman) of the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk); detecting excessive water usage (as taught by Holman); closing the inlet (of Konowalczyk), the outlet (of Konowalczyk), or both in response to a detected leak, blockage, predicted pipe failure, excessive water usage, or a combination thereof (as taught by Holman), so as to use an art known technique (of providing a leakage detection and control in a heating system as taught by Holman) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide protections within the system.
Regarding the limitations “... e. activating, based on user input, a scalding safety governor to prevent the heating circuit from producing water at a temperature above a set threshold ...”:
Waithe is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the system is configured to activating, based on user input, a scalding safety governor to prevent the heating circuit from producing water at a temperature above a set threshold (see abstract and ¶ [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk a configuration to include activating, based on user input, a scalding safety governor to prevent the heating circuit from producing water at a temperature above a set threshold (as taught by Waithe), so as to use an art known technique (of safety mechanisms in a heating system as taught by Waithe) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide safe use of the heating system.
Regarding the limitations “... b. detecting, by the artificial intelligence model, potential water system failure ...”:
Dirix is related to control of a system for heating water (abstract, ¶ [0002]), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an artificial intelligence model (¶ [0098], [0100]) is configured to detect potential water system failure (¶ [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk a configuration of detecting, by the artificial intelligence model, potential water system failure (as taught by Dirix), so as to use an art known technique (of the control of heating systems and predicating system failures as taught by Dirix) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide control in the heating system including predicting failures.
Regarding the limitations “... e. reduce power to the electric high-frequency generator if the heating circuit is producing water at a temperature above the set threshold or if the inlet, outlet, or both are closed; wherein the safety scalding governor automatically runs a diagnostic and alerts the user in response to irregular performance of the heating circuit ...”:
The prior art teaches wherein water heating systems are capable of being configured to reduce power (as taught by the prior art Waithe, ¶ [0031]) to the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by the prior art Gaspard, ¶ [0062]) if the heating circuit is producing water at a temperature above the set threshold or if the inlet, outlet, or both are closed (as taught by Waithe, ¶ [0031]); wherein the safety scalding governor automatically runs a diagnostic and alerts a user in response to irregular performance of the heating circuit (as taught by Waithe, ¶ [0026], [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the system is configured to reduce power to the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by Waithe) if the heating circuit (of Konowalczyk) is producing water at a temperature above the set threshold or if the inlet, outlet, or both are closed (as taught by Waithe); wherein the safety scalding governor automatically runs a diagnostic and alerts the user in response to irregular performance (as taught by Waithe) of the heating circuit (of Konowalczyk), so as to use an art known technique (of control of the means for heating and fault diagnostic in a heating system as taught by Gaspard and Waithe) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide control and fault detection in the heating system.
Regarding the limitations “... 5. a Utility Interface Module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. connecting the system to a utility supplier; b. temporarily suspend or reduce operation of the heating circuit to accommodate reductions requested by the utility supplier; c. alerting the user in response to temporary suspension or reduction of operation; and d. gathering consumption data from the plurality of sensors ...”:
Nelson is related to a control for a water heating system (abstract), as the claimed invention, wherein a memory component comprises a Utility Interface Module comprising computer-readable instructions (¶ [0024]) for: connecting the system to a utility supplier (¶ [0003], using a switching device for instance); temporarily suspend or reduce operation of a heating circuit to accommodate reductions requested by the utility supplier (¶ [0003], such as during a brown out for instance); alerting a user in response to temporary suspension or reduction of operation (¶ [0006]); and gathering consumption data from a plurality of sensors (¶ [0010], the monitoring of supplied power for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the memory component (of Konowalczyk) comprises a Utility Interface Module comprising computer-readable instructions (as taught by Nelson) for: connecting the system to a utility supplier (as taught by Nelson); temporarily suspend or reduce operation of the heating circuit to accommodate reductions requested by the utility supplier (as taught by Nelson); alerting a user in response to temporary suspension or reduction of operation (as taught by Nelson); and gathering consumption data from the plurality of sensors (as taught by Nelson), so as to use an art known technique (of control of a water heating system including a utility interface as taught by Nelson) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide further control of the water heating system.
Regarding the limitations “... 6. a Hot Water Reporting module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. reporting a cost and trend of power used by the heating circuit (200); b. reporting a cost and trend of hot water consumption of the heating circuit (200); c. predicting a future trend of hot water consumption; and d. forecasting a future cost of water and power used by the heating circuit (200) ...”:
Gao is related to control of a water heater and water consumption prediction model (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a memory component comprises a Hot Water Reporting module comprising computer-readable (¶ [0044], [0045], control system for instance) instructions for reporting a cost and trend of power used by the heating circuit (¶ [0031], as part of optimizing power for instance); reporting a cost and trend of hot water consumption of the heating circuit (¶ [0031], as part of the lowering of coast for instance); predicting a future trend of hot water consumption (¶ [0031], the prediction model for instance); and forecasting a future cost of water and power used by the heating circuit (¶ [0031], the use of prediction models to optimize operation of the water heater system for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the memory component (of Konowalczyk) comprises a Hot Water Reporting module comprising computer-readable instructions (as taught by Gao) for: reporting a cost and trend of power used by the heating circuit (as taught by Gao); reporting a cost and trend of hot water consumption of the heating circuit (as taught by Gao); predicting a future trend of hot water consumption (as taught by Gao); and forecasting a future cost of water and power used by the heating circuit (as taught by Gao), so as to use an art known technique (of using a control system in the control of water heater system and the use of prediction models for optimized control as taught by Gao) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably optimize the operation of the water heating system.
Regarding the limitations “... 8. an Intelligent Power Supply and Conditioner module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. receiving electric power from a power source; b. cleaning, conditioning, and surge-protecting electric power to the Smart Appliance; and c. regulating power to the electric high-frequency generator; and 9. a Maintenance Monitor module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. alerting the user for current or predictive maintenance needs; and b. running diagnostics on the heating circuit and one or more modules of the Smart Appliance at a fixed interval ...”
The prior art teaches wherein water heating systems are capable of comprising an Intelligent Power Supply and Conditioner module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. receiving electric power from a power source (power for controlling a power generator for instance, as taught by Gaspard, ¶ [0062]-[0063]); cleaning, conditioning, and surge-protecting electric power to the Smart Appliance (protection of a heating circuitry for instance, as taught by Waithe, ¶ [0027]); and regulating power to the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by Waithe, ¶ [0027], and Gaspard, ¶ [0063]); and a Maintenance Monitor module comprising computer-readable instructions (diagnosing of a water heating system as taught by Waithe for instance, ¶ [0009]) for: alerting the user for current or predictive maintenance needs (the prediction of water system failure as taught by Dirix for instance, ¶ [0107]); and running diagnostics on the heating circuit and one or more modules of the Smart Appliance (400) at a fixed interval (such as each time the system is operated as taught by Waithe for instance, ¶ [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, in the system of Konowalczyk, an Intelligent Power Supply and Conditioner module comprising computer-readable instructions (of Konowalczyk) for: receiving electric power from a power source (as taught by Gaspard); cleaning, conditioning, and surge-protecting electric power to the Smart Appliance (as taught by Waithe); and regulating power to the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by Waithe and Gaspard); and a Maintenance Monitor module comprising computer-readable instructions (as taught by Waithe) for: alerting the user for current or predictive maintenance needs (as taught by Dirix); and running diagnostics on the heating circuit and one or more modules of the Smart Appliance at a fixed interval (as taught by Waithe), so as to use an art known technique (of control modules for control of heating systems as taught by Gaspard, Waithe and Dirix) into the system Konowalczyk and predictably provide control of the water heating system.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0044549 to Konowalczyk (Konowalczyk) in view of KR 101418924 to Kim (Kim, and based English Machine Translation) in view of EP 2194331 to Albayrak et al. (Albayrak, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0233604 to Gaspard (Gaspard) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0001087 to Gum (Gum) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2001/0048811 to Waithe et al. (Waithe).
In Reference to Claim 2
Konowalczyk discloses a system for heating a flow of water (abstract) comprising:
a. a heating circuit (system of Figure 3 for instance) disposed at a water source (307 for instance) fluidly coupled to a plurality of water fixtures (302 and 303 for instance) comprising:
i. an inlet (at 301 and relative to 307 for instance) configured to accept water (from 307 for instance);
ii. an outlet (at 301 and relative to 360 for instance);
iii. a water containment unit (of 301 for instance), wherein the water containment unit (of 301 for instance) is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within (in the system for instance);
iv. an inductor (of the inductive electrical heater of the instantaneous water heater such as 306 for instance, see ¶ [0081], [0062]) operatively coupled to the water containment unit (of 301 for instance) and configured to heat the flow of water (by the heating appliance 301 for instance); and
b. a plurality of sensors (Figs. 3-4, 315 and 317 for instance) comprising pressure sensors, temperature sensors, flow rate sensors, or a combination thereof (temperature, flow and pressure sensors, see ¶ [0054]); and
c. a Smart Appliance (controller and processor 311 for instance) communicatively coupled to the heating circuit (to the system of figure 3 for instance) and the plurality of sensors (315 and 312 for instance), capable of monitoring, operating, regulating (abstract and ¶ [0021], the control of the system based on demands and sensors for instance).
Konowalczyk does not teach the water containment unit (of 301 for instance) “... comprising: 1. a shell; 2. one or more plates disposed within the shell; and 3. a plurality of pipes fluidly coupled to the inlet, the one or more plates, and the outlet; wherein the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes comprise a ferromagnetic material; wherein the water containment unit is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes ...,” “... wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes to heat the flow of water ...,” “... v. an electric high-frequency generator operatively coupled to the inductor, wherein the electric high-frequency generator is configured to actuate the inductor ...”; “... wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the inlet, wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the outlet ...,” or “... running diagnostics on the heating circuit automatically or in response to user input ...”.
Regarding the limitations a water containment unit “... comprising: 1. a shell; 2. one or more plates disposed within the shell; and 3. a plurality of pipes fluidly coupled to the inlet, the one or more plates, and the outlet; wherein the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes comprise a ferromagnetic material; wherein the water containment unit is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes ..., ” and “... wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes to heat the flow of water ...,”:
Kim is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract and ¶ [0005]), as the claimed invention, and teaches a water containment unit (Figs. 1 and 5, 300 for instance) which comprises a shell (of 300 for instance); and a plurality of pipes (140 for instance) fluidly coupled to an inlet (150), and an outlet (160); wherein the shell; wherein the water containment unit (300) is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes (through pipes 140 for instance).
Albayrak is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches one or more plates (Fig. 2, 19 for instance) disposed within a shell (14 for instance); wherein components of the heating system (¶ [0020], [0031], shell portions, pipe portions and plate portions for instance) comprise a ferromagnetic material (¶ [0020], [0031]); and wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell (¶ [0026]), the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes (¶ [0026) to heat the flow of water (see also ¶ [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk) comprises a shell (as taught by Kim); one or more plates (as taught by Albayrak) disposed within the shell; and a plurality of pipes (as taught by Kim) fluidly coupled to the inlet (of Konowalczyk), the one or more plates (as taught by Albayrak), and the outlet (of Konowalczyk); wherein the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes comprise a ferromagnetic material (as taught by Albayrak); wherein the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk) is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes (as taught by Kim), and wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes to heat the flow of water (as taught by Albayrak), so as to use an art known technique (of water containment units for a system for heating water including ferromagnetic components used in the heating of water as taught by Kim and Albayrak) into the system Konowalczyk and predictably provide the means to heat the water in the system.
Regarding the limitations “... an electric high-frequency generator operatively coupled to the inductor, wherein the electric high-frequency generator is configured to actuate the inductor ...”:
Gaspard is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches an electric high-frequency generator (¶ [0062]) operatively coupled to an inductor (of the induction heating device for instance), wherein the electric high-frequency generator is configured to actuate the inductor (¶ [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, in the system of Konowalczyk, an electric high-frequency generator operatively coupled to the inductor (as taught by Gaspard), wherein the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by Gaspard) is configured to actuate the inductor (of Konowalczyk), so as to use an art known technique (of using a high frequency generator to actuate an inductor as taught b Gaspard) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide a means to actuate the inductor.
Regarding the limitations “... wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the inlet, wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the outlet ...”:
Gum is related to a heating control system (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of a plurality of sensors is disposed at an inlet (¶ [0022], last three lines, sensors disposed in inlets and outlets of heating systems and used for control), wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of a plurality of sensors is disposed at an outlet (¶ [0022], last three lines, sensors disposed in inlets and outlets of heating systems and used for control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed (as taught by Gum) at the inlet (of Konowalczyk), wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed (as taught by Gum) at the outlet (of Konowalczyk), so as to use an art known technique (of the control of heating systems using sensors disposed at inlets and outlets of the system as taught by Gum) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide control in the heating system.
Regarding the limitation “... running diagnostics on the heating circuit automatically or in response to user input ...”:
Waithe is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the system is configured to running diagnostics on a heating circuit automatically or in response to user input (abstract and ¶ [0009], ¶ [0030], the automatic checking of the system for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk a configuration to include running diagnostics (as taught by Waithe) on the heating circuit (of Konowalczyk) automatically or in response to user input (as taught by Waithe), so as to use an art known technique (of fault diagnostic in a heating system as taught by Waithe) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide fault detection in the heating system.
In Reference to Claim 3
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum and Waithe, discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the Smart Appliance comprises a processor capable of executing computer-readable instructions, and a memory component operatively coupled to the processor (Konowalczyk, abstract and ¶ [0018]).
In Reference to Claim 10
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum and Waithe, discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the system is communicatively coupled to one or more external devices (Konowalczyk ¶ [0041], the connection of the controller and processor to a smart phone or tablet for instance).
In Reference to Claim 11
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum and Waithe, discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the one or more external devices comprise a smartphone, a server, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, or a combination thereof (Konowalczyk ¶ [0041], a smart phone or tablet for instance).
In Reference to Claim 12
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum and Waithe, discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the memory component comprises a Communication module comprising computer-readable instructions for managing wireless interfaces between the system and the one or more external devices (Konowalczyk ¶ [0031]).
Claim(s) 4, 6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0044549 to Konowalczyk (Konowalczyk) in view of KR 101418924 to Kim (Kim, and based English Machine Translation) in view of EP 2194331 to Albayrak et al. (Albayrak, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0233604 to Gaspard (Gaspard) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0001087 to Gum (Gum) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2001/0048811 to Waithe et al. (Waithe) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of FR 3089278 to Dirix et al. (Dirix, and based on English Machine Translation).
In Reference to Claim 4
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum and Waithe, discloses the system of claim 3, including using artificial intelligence model (Konowalczyk ¶ [0119], a neural network for instance), but does not teach, “... wherein the memory component further comprises an artificial intelligence model configured to accept data from the plurality of sensors as input and generating a prediction of potential water system failure as output ....”
Dirix is related to control of a system for heating water (abstract, ¶ [0002]), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an artificial intelligence model (¶ [0098], [0100]) is configured to accept data from the plurality of sensors (¶ [0098]) as input and generating a prediction of potential water system failure as output (¶ [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the memory component (of Konowalczyk) comprises an artificial intelligence model (as taught by Dirix) configured to accept data from the plurality of sensors (of Konowalczyk) as input and generating a prediction of potential water system failure as output (as taught by Dirix), so as to use an art known technique (of the control of heating systems and predicating system failures as taught by Dirix) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide control in the heating system including predicting failures.
In Reference to Claim 6
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum, Waithe and Dirix, discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the memory component comprises a Flow Control Module (Konowalczyk ¶ [0013], [0014], control of flow in the system for instance) comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. activating the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by Gaspard, the activation of an inductor using a generator, ¶ [0062]) upon activation of one or more water fixtures (Konowalczyk ¶ [0053] and [0058], activation of the instantaneous water heating system for instance); b. reducing, in response to an inability to provide the flow of water at the temperature determined by the user input, the flow of water (Konowalczyk ¶ [0013]-[0014], the control of flow and temperature for instance); c. alerting a user in response to reduction of the flow of water in response to the inability to provide the flow of water at the temperature determined by the user input (Konowalczyk ¶ [0013]-[0014], [0078], the control of flow and the alerting to the user for instance).
In Reference to Claim 13
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum, Waithe and Dirix, discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the memory component comprises an Intelligent Power Supply and Conditioner module comprising computer-readable instructions for receiving electric power from a power source (power for controlling a power generator for instance, as taught by Gaspard, ¶ [0062]-[0063]); cleaning, conditioning, and surge-protecting electric power to the Smart Appliance (protection of a heating circuitry for instance, as taught by Waithe, ¶ [0027]); and regulating power to the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by Waithe, ¶ [0027], and Gaspard, ¶ [0063]).
In Reference to Claim 14
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum, Waithe and Dirix, discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the memory component comprises a Maintenance Monitor module comprising computer-readable instructions (diagnosing of a water heating system as taught by Waithe for instance, ¶ [0009]) for: alerting a user for current or predictive maintenance needs (the prediction of water system failure as taught by Dirix for instance, ¶ [0107]); and running diagnostics on the heating circuit and one or more modules of the Smart Appliance on a fixed interval (such as each time the system is operated as taught by Waithe for instance, ¶ [0009]).
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0044549 to Konowalczyk (Konowalczyk) in view of KR 101418924 to Kim (Kim, and based English Machine Translation) in view of EP 2194331 to Albayrak et al. (Albayrak, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0233604 to Gaspard (Gaspard) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0001087 to Gum (Gum) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2001/0048811 to Waithe et al. (Waithe) and in view of FR 3089278 to Dirix et al. (Dirix, and based on English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0397305 to Holman et al. (Holman).
In Reference to Claim 5
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum, Waithe and Dirix, discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the memory component comprises a User Settings module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. setting, based on user input, a temperature for the flow of water (Konowalczyk, ¶ [0011], targeted temperature of supply of water for instance); d. activating, based on user input, a temporary reduction of water, power, or a combination thereof to the heating circuit (Konowalczyk, ¶ [0117], the control of the flow of water for instance); e. activating, based on user input, a scalding safety governor to prevent the heating circuit from producing water at a temperature above a set threshold (Konowalczyk, ¶ [0150], and as taught by Waithe for instance, see abstract and ¶ [0026]); and f. setting, based on user input, a number and duration of alarms triggered by the Smart Appliance (Konowalczyk, ¶ [0078], information, messages, advice and warnings to the user for instance).
It is not taught “... b. activating, based on user input, an automatic inlet shutoff setting for the heating circuit (200) in response to a leak within the water containment unit (220) ...”; “... c. activating, based on user input, an automatic outlet shutoff setting for the heating circuit (200) in response to a leak within or downstream of the water containment unit (220), an unusual amount of hot water usage, or a combination thereof ...”;
Holman is related to the control and operation of a water heating system (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches activating, based on user input (¶ [0037]), an automatic inlet shutoff setting for a heating circuit in response to a leak within a water containment unit (¶ [0112], shut-off of flow in response to leakage in the system for instance); activating, based on user input, an automatic outlet shutoff setting for the heating circuit in response to a leak within or downstream of the water containment unit, an unusual amount of hot water usage, or a combination thereof (¶ [0011], [0112], control of flow from leak in the system for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the system includes activating, based on user input (of Konowalczyk), an automatic inlet shutoff setting (as taught by Holman) for the heating circuit (of Konowalczyk) in response to a leak (as taught by Holman) within the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk); and activating, based on user input (of Konowalczyk), an automatic outlet shutoff setting (as taught by Holman) for the heating circuit (of Konowalczyk) in response to a leak (as taught by Holman) within or downstream of the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk), an unusual amount of hot water usage, or a combination thereof (as taught by Holman), so as to use an art known technique (of providing a leakage detection and control in a heating system as taught by Holman) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide protections within the system.
In Reference to Claim 7
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum, Waithe, Dirix and Holman, discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the memory component further comprises a Safety Monitor and Control Module comprising computer-readable instructions (Konowalczyk ¶ [0013], [0014], control of flow in the system for instance) for: a. detecting leaks, blockages, predicted pipe failure, or a combination thereof within, upstream of, or downstream of the water containment unit (detection of leak as taught by Holman for instance, see ¶ [0011]); b. detecting excessive water usage (such as leakage as taught by Holman, ¶ [0011]); c. closing the inlet, the outlet, or both in response to a detected leak, blockage, predicted pipe failure, excessive water usage, or a combination thereof (as taught by Holman, ¶ [0112], the shut-off of water for instance)...”; and d. reduce power (as taught by Waithe, ¶ [0031]) to the electric high-frequency generator (as taught by Gaspard, ¶ [0062]) if the heating circuit is producing water at a temperature above the set threshold or if the inlet, outlet, or both are closed (as taught by Waithe, ¶ [0031]); wherein the safety scalding governor automatically runs a diagnostic and alerts a user in response to irregular performance of the heating circuit (as taught by Waithe, ¶ [0026], [0027]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0044549 to Konowalczyk (Konowalczyk) in view of KR 101418924 to Kim (Kim, and based English Machine Translation) in view of EP 2194331 to Albayrak et al. (Albayrak, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0233604 to Gaspard (Gaspard) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0001087 to Gum (Gum) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2001/0048811 to Waithe et al. (Waithe) and in view of FR 3089278 to Dirix et al. (Dirix, and based on English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2013/0047640 to Nelson et al. (Nelson).
In Reference to Claim 8
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum, Waithe and Dirix, discloses the system of claim 4, but does not teach “... wherein the memory component comprises a Utility Interface Module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. connecting the system to a utility supplier; b. temporarily suspend or reduce operation of the heating circuit to accommodate reductions requested by the utility supplier; c. alerting a user in response to temporary suspension or reduction of operation; and d. gathering consumption data from the plurality of sensors ....”
Nelson is related to a control for a water heating system (abstract), as the claimed invention, wherein a memory component comprises a Utility Interface Module comprising computer-readable instructions (¶ [0024]) for: connecting the system to a utility supplier (¶ [0003], using a switching device for instance); temporarily suspend or reduce operation of a heating circuit to accommodate reductions requested by the utility supplier (¶ [0003], such as during a brown out for instance); alerting a user in response to temporary suspension or reduction of operation (¶ [0006]); and gathering consumption data from a plurality of sensors (¶ [0010], the monitoring of supplied power for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the memory component (of Konowalczyk) comprises a Utility Interface Module comprising computer-readable instructions (as taught by Nelson) for: connecting the system to a utility supplier (as taught by Nelson); temporarily suspend or reduce operation of the heating circuit to accommodate reductions requested by the utility supplier (as taught by Nelson); alerting a user in response to temporary suspension or reduction of operation (as taught by Nelson); and gathering consumption data from the plurality of sensors (as taught by Nelson), so as to use an art known technique (of control of a water heating system including a utility interface as taught by Nelson) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide further control of the water heating system.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0044549 to Konowalczyk (Konowalczyk) in view of KR 101418924 to Kim (Kim, and based English Machine Translation) in view of EP 2194331 to Albayrak et al. (Albayrak, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0233604 to Gaspard (Gaspard) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0001087 to Gum (Gum) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2001/0048811 to Waithe et al. (Waithe) and in view of FR 3089278 to Dirix et al. (Dirix, and based on English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of CN 112833554 to Gao (Gao, and based on English Machine Translation).
In Reference to Claim 9
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak, Gaspard, Gum, Waithe and Dirix, discloses the system of claim 4, except, “... wherein the memory component comprises a Hot Water Reporting module comprising computer-readable instructions for: a. reporting a cost and trend of power used by the heating circuit; b. reporting a cost and trend of hot water consumption of the heating circuit; c. predicting a future trend of hot water consumption; and d. forecasting a future cost of water and power used by the heating circuit ....”
Gao is related to control of a water heater and water consumption prediction model (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a memory component comprises a Hot Water Reporting module comprising computer-readable (¶ [0044], [0045], control system for instance) instructions for reporting a cost and trend of power used by the heating circuit (¶ [0031], as part of optimizing power for instance); reporting a cost and trend of hot water consumption of the heating circuit (¶ [0031], as part of the lowering of coast for instance); predicting a future trend of hot water consumption (¶ [0031], the prediction model for instance); and forecasting a future cost of water and power used by the heating circuit (¶ [0031], the use of prediction models to optimize operation of the water heater system for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the memory component (of Konowalczyk) comprises a Hot Water Reporting module comprising computer-readable instructions (as taught by Gao) for: reporting a cost and trend of power used by the heating circuit (as taught by Gao); reporting a cost and trend of hot water consumption of the heating circuit (as taught by Gao); predicting a future trend of hot water consumption (as taught by Gao); and forecasting a future cost of water and power used by the heating circuit (as taught by Gao), so as to use an art known technique (of using a control system in the control of water heater system and the use of prediction models for optimized control as taught by Gao) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably optimize the operation of the water heating system.
Claim(s) 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0044549 to Konowalczyk (Konowalczyk) in view of KR 101418924 to Kim (Kim, and based English Machine Translation) in view of EP 2194331 to Albayrak et al. (Albayrak, and based on English Machine Translation) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0233604 to Gaspard (Gaspard).
In Reference to Claim 15
Konowalczyk discloses a device for heating a flow of water (Fig. 3, 301 for instance) comprising a heating circuit (system of Figure 3 for instance) disposed at a water source (307 for instance) fluidly coupled to a plurality of water fixtures (302 and 303 for instance), the heating circuit (301 for instance) comprising:
a. an inlet (at 301 and relative to 307 for instance) configured to accept water from 307 for instance);
b. an outlet (at 301 and relative to 360 for instance);
c. a water containment unit (of 301 for instance), wherein the water containment unit (of 301 for instance) is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within (in the system for instance);
d. an inductor (210) operatively coupled to the water containment unit (220), wherein actuating the inductor (of the inductive electrical heater of the instantaneous water heater such as 306 for instance, see ¶ [0081], [0062]) is configure to heat the flow of water (by the heating appliance 301 for instance).
Konowalczyk does not teach the water containment unit (of 301 for instance) “comprising: “... i. a shell; ii. one or more plates disposed within the shell; and iii. a plurality of pipes fluidly coupled to the inlet, the one or more plates, and the outlet ...”; “... wherein the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes comprise a ferromagnetic material; wherein the water containment unit is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes ...”; “... wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes to heat the flow of water ...”; or “... e. an electric generator operatively coupled to the inductor, wherein the electric generator is configured to actuate the inductor ...”.
Regarding the limitations a water containment unit “... comprising: i. a shell; ii. one or more plates disposed within the shell; and iii. a plurality of pipes fluidly coupled to the inlet, the one or more plates, and the outlet; wherein the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes comprise a ferromagnetic material; wherein the water containment unit is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes ..., ” and “... wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes to heat the flow of water ...,”:
Kim is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract and ¶ [0005]), as the claimed invention, and teaches a water containment unit (Figs. 1 and 5, 300 for instance) which comprises a shell (of 300 for instance); and a plurality of pipes (140 for instance) fluidly coupled to an inlet (150), and an outlet (160); wherein the shell; wherein the water containment unit (300) is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes (through pipes 140 for instance).
Albayrak is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches one or more plates (Fig. 2, 19 for instance) disposed within a shell (14 for instance); wherein components of the heating system (¶ [0020], [0031], shell portions, pipe portions and plate portions for instance) comprise a ferromagnetic material (¶ [0020], [0031]); and wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell (¶ [0026]), the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes (¶ [0026) to heat the flow of water (see also ¶ [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk) comprises a shell (as taught by Kim); one or more plates (as taught by Albayrak) disposed within the shell; and a plurality of pipes (as taught by Kim) fluidly coupled to the inlet (of Konowalczyk), the one or more plates (as taught by Albayrak), and the outlet (of Konowalczyk); wherein the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes comprise a ferromagnetic material (as taught by Albayrak); wherein the water containment unit (of Konowalczyk) is configured to allow the flow of water to travel within and between the plurality of pipes (as taught by Kim), and wherein actuating the inductor induces magnetic eddy currents in the ferromagnetic material of the shell, the one or more plates, and the plurality of pipes to heat the flow of water (as taught by Albayrak), so as to use an art known technique (of water containment units for a system for heating water including ferromagnetic components used in the heating of water as taught by Kim and Albayrak) into the system Konowalczyk and predictably provide the means to heat the water in the system.
Regarding the limitations “... an electric generator operatively coupled to the inductor, wherein the electric generator is configured to actuate the inductor ...”:
Gaspard is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches an electric generator (¶ [0062]) operatively coupled to an inductor (of the induction heating device for instance), wherein the electric generator is configured to actuate the inductor (¶ [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, in the system of Konowalczyk, an electric generator operatively coupled to the inductor (as taught by Gaspard), wherein the electric generator (as taught by Gaspard) is configured to actuate the inductor (of Konowalczyk), so as to use an art known technique (of using a high frequency generator to actuate an inductor as taught b Gaspard) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide a means to actuate the inductor.
In Reference to Claim 16
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak and Gaspard, discloses the device of claim 15 further comprising a plurality of sensors (Konowalczyk, Figs. 3-4, 315 and 317 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 17
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak and Gaspard, discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the plurality of sensors (Konowalczyk, Figs. 3-4, 315 and 317 for instance) comprise pressure sensors, temperature sensors, flow rate sensors, or a combination thereof (temperature, flow and pressure sensors, see ¶ [0054] of Konowalczyk for instance).
In Reference to Claim 19
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak and Gaspard, discloses the device of claim 15, wherein the electric generator comprises a high-frequency generator (as taught by Gaspard for instance, see ¶ [0062]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0044549 to Konowalczyk (Konowalczyk) in view of KR 101418924 to Kim (Kim, and based English Machine Translation) in view of EP 2194331 to Albayrak et al. (Albayrak, and based on English Machine Translation) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0233604 to Gaspard (Gaspard) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0001087 to Gum (Gum).
In Reference to Claim 18
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak and Gaspard, discloses the device of claim 17, except, “... wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the inlet, wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed at the outlet ....”
Gum is related to a heating control system (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of a plurality of sensors is disposed at an inlet (¶ [0022], last three lines, sensors disposed in inlets and outlets of heating systems and used for control), wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of a plurality of sensors is disposed at an outlet (¶ [0022], last three lines, sensors disposed in inlets and outlets of heating systems and used for control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Konowalczyk wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed (as taught by Gum) at the inlet (of Konowalczyk), wherein at least one pressure sensor, at least one temperature sensor, and at least one flow rate sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed (as taught by Gum) at the outlet (of Konowalczyk), so as to use an art known technique (of the control of heating systems using sensors disposed at inlets and outlets of the system as taught by Gum) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide control in the heating system.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0044549 to Konowalczyk (Konowalczyk) in view of KR 101418924 to Kim (Kim, and based English Machine Translation) in view of EP 2194331 to Albayrak et al. (Albayrak, and based on English Machine Translation) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0233604 to Gaspard (Gaspard) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2001/0048811 to Waithe et al. (Waithe).
In Reference to Claim 20
Konowalczyk, as modified by Kim, Albayrak and Gaspard, discloses the device of claim 15, except, “... further comprising a Smart Appliance communicatively coupled to the heating circuit capable of monitoring, operating, regulating, and running diagnostics on the heating circuit automatically or in response to user input ....”
Waithe is related to a system for heating a flow of water (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a Smart Appliance is communicatively coupled to the heating circuit capable of monitoring, operating, regulating, and running diagnostics on the heating circuit automatically or in response to user input (abstract and ¶ [0009], ¶ [0030], system for control of the heating system and the automatic checking of the system for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, in the system of Konowalczyk, a Smart Appliance (as taught by Waithe) communicatively coupled to the heating circuit (of Konowalczyk) capable of monitoring, operating, regulating, and running diagnostics (as taught by Waithe) on the heating circuit (of Konowalczyk) automatically or in response to user input (as taught by Waithe), so as to use an art known technique (of control of the heating system to include fault diagnostic in the heating system as taught by Waithe) into the system of Konowalczyk and predictably provide control and fault detection in the heating system.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show water heating systems including intelligent control, and induction systems for water heating systems.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745